Skip to main content

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of the state of Connecticut : a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation"

See other formats











Historian of the New England Historic-Genealogical Society ; Librarian Emeritus of 
Wobnrn Public Library; Author of "The Cutter Family," "History of Arlington," 
"Bibliography of Woburn," etc., etc. 

Editor "Boston Transcript," 1881-1906. 


Dean of Berkeley Divinity School ; President of Connecticut Historical Society. 


Registrar Connecticut Society, Colonial Dames; Member Connecticut Historical Society, 
and New England Historic-Genealogical Society. 


Librarian and Life Member of New Haven Colony Historical Society; Member Connecticut 
Historical Society. 


Ex-Secretary of State, N. H. ; Member Fitchburg Historical Society, American Antiquarian 
Society, New England Historic-Genealogical Society, New Hampshire State Histori- 
cal Society, Corresponding Member Minnesota State Historical Society. 




191 1 





Founded by Rev. Thomas Hooker. 


THE present work, "Genealogical and Family History of the State of 
Connecticut," presents in the aggregate an amount and variety of 
genealogical and personal information and portraiture unequalled by any 
kindred publication. No similar work concerning Connecticut Families has ever 
before been presented, and it contains a vast amount of ancestral history never 
before printed. The object, clearly defined and well digested, is threefold : 

First. To present in concise form the history of Connecticut Families of 
the Colonial Days. 

Second. To preserve a record of the prominent present-day people of the 

Third. To present through personal sketches the relation of its prominent 
families of all times to the growth, singular prosperity and wide-spread influence 
of Connecticut. 

There are numerous voluminous histories of the State, making it unneces- 
sary in this work to even outline its annals. What has been published, however, 
relates principally to civic life. The amplification necessary to complete the 
picture of the State, old and nowaday, is what is supplied by these Genealogical 
and Family Memoirs. In other words, while others have written of "the times," 
the province of this work is to be a chronicle of the people who have made Con- 
necticut what it is. 

Unique in conception and treatment, this work constitutes, it is believed, one 
of the most original and permanently valuable contributions ever made to the 
social history of an American commonwealth. In it are arrayed in a lucid and 

dignified manner all 
the important facts re- 
garding the ancestry, 
personal careers and 
matrimonial alliances 
of those who, in each 
succeeding generation, 
have been accorded 
leading positions in 
the social, professional 
and business life of the 
State. It is not based 
upon, neither does it 
minister to, aristo-. 
cratic prejudices and 
assumptions. On the 
contrary, its fundamental ideas are thoroughly American and democratic. The 
work everywhere conveys the lesson that distinction has been gained only by hon- 
orable public service, or by usefulness in private station, and that the development 

New North College, Wesleyan University. 


and prosperity of the State of which it treats have been dependent upon the char- 
acter of its citizens, and in the stimulus which they have given to commerce, to 
industry, to the arts and sciences, to education and religion — to all that is com- 
prised in the highest civilization of the present day — through a continual progres- 
sive development. 

The inspiration underlying the present work is a fervent appreciation of the 
truth so well expressed by Sir Walter Scott, that "there is no heroic poem in the 
world but is at the bottom the life of a man." And with this goes a kindred 
truth, that to know a man, and rightly measure his character, and weigh his 
achievements, we must know whence he came, from what forbears he sprang. 
Truly as heroic poems have been written in human lives in the paths of peace as 
in the scarred roads of war. Such examples, in whatever line of endeavor, are 
of much worth as an incentive to those who come afterward, and as such were 
never so needful to be written of as in the present day, when pessimism, forgetful 
of the splendid lessons of the past, withholds its effort in the present, and views 
the future only with alarm. 

Every community with such ample history as Connecticut should see that it 
be worthily supplemented by Genealogical and Personal Memoirs of its leading 
families and prominent citizens. Such a work is that which is now presented. 
And, it should be admitted, the undertaking possesses value of the highest import- 
ance — in its historic utility as a memorial of the development and progress of the 
community from its very founding, and in the personal interest which attaches to 
the record made by the individual. On both these accounts it will prove a highly 
useful contribution to literature, and a valuable legacy to future generations. Out 
of these considerations the authors and publishers have received the assistance of 
authorities of the highest standing as genealogists, historians and litterateurs. 

In the production of this work, no pains have been spared to ensure absolute 
truth — that quality upon which its value in every feature depends. The material 
comprising the genealogical and personal records of the active living, as well as 
of the honored dead, have been gathered by men and women experienced in such 
work and acquainted with local history and ancestral families. These have ap- 
pealed successfully to the custodians of family records concerning the useful men 
of preceding generations, and of their descendants who have lived useful and hon- 
orable lives. Such custodians, who have availed themselves of this opportunity 
of having this knowledge placed in preservable and accessible form, have per- 
formed a public service in rendering honor to whom honor is due, in preserving 
the distinction which rightfully belongs to the Colonial Families, and which dis- 
tinguishes them from later immigrations ; and in inculcating the most valuable 
and enduring lessons of patriotism and good citizenship. 

Than Connecticut, no other State or region offers so peculiarly interesting a 
field for such research. Its sons — "native here, and to the manner born," and of 
splendid ancestry — have attained distinction in every field of human effort. An ad- 
ditional interest attaches to the present undertaking in the fact that, while dealing 
primarily with the history of native Connecticut, this work approaches the dignity 
of a national epitome of genealogy and biography. Owing to the wide dispersion 
throughout the country of the old families of the State, the authentic account here 
presented of the constituent elements of her social life, past and present, are of 
far more than merely local value. In its special field it is, in an appreciable degree, 
a reflection of the development of the country at large, since hence went out rep- 
resentatives of historical families, in various generations, who in far remote places 


— beyond the Mississippi and in the Far West — were with the vanguard of civi- 
lization, building up communities, creating new commonwealths, planting, 
wherever they went, the church, the school house and the printing press, leading 
into channels of thrift and enterprise all who gathered about them, and proving a 
power for ideal citizenship and good government. 

These records are presented in a series of independent genealogical and per- 
sonal sketches relating to lineal family heads, and the most conspicuous represen- 
tatives in the present generation. There is an entire avoidance of the stereotyped 
and unattractive manner in which such data is usually presented. The past is 
linked to the present in such style as to form a symmetrical narrative exhibiting 
the lines of descent, and the history of distinguished members in each generation, 
thus giving to it a distinct personal interest. That these ends have been consci- 
entiously and faithfully conserved is assured by the cordial -personal interest and 
recognized capability of the supervising editors, of prominent connection with the 
leading patriotic societies, all of whom have long pursued genealogical investiga- 
tions with intelligence and enthusiasm. The results of the combined labors of 
editors, writers and publishers make these volumes fitting companions to their 
preceding works relating to Massachusetts, Boston and Vicinity, the Hudson-Mo- 
hawk Valleys, and various others, all of which have been given most favorable 
commendation by leading libraries, genealogical societies and journals, antiqua- 
rians and litterateurs. 

If, in any case, a narrative is incomplete or faulty, the shortcoming is usually 
ascribable to the paucity of data obtainable, many families being without exact 
records in their family line ; while, in some cases, representatives of a given fam- 
ily are at disagreement as to the names of some of their forbears, important 
dates, etc. 

It is believed that the present work, in spite of the occasional fault which at- 
taches to such undertakings, will prove a real addition to the mass of annals con- 
cerning the historic families of Connecticut, and that, without it, much valuable 
information would be inaccessible to the general reader, or irretrievably lost, 
owing to the passing away of custodians of family records, and the consequent 
disappearance of material in their possession. 

The Publishers. 









Dwight is an English surname 
DWIGHT of considerable antiquity, de- 
rived from the place-name 
thwaite, meaning clearing in a forest. The 
coat-of-arms is : On a field ermine, a lion pas- 
sant ; on a chief gules, a crescent, or : in base, 
a cross crosslet. Crest : On a wreath a demi- 
lion rampant resting on an esquire's helmet. 
(I) John Dwight, the immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England, and came in 1634 or 
1635 from Dedham, England, to Dedham, 
Massachusetts, after staying a short time at 
Watertown, Massachusetts. He was present 
at the first town meeting, September 1, 1635, 
one of twelve of the signers of the famous 
Dedham Compact. He brought with him his 
wife Hannah, daughter Hannah, sons John and 
Timothy, and his brother Timothy, of Dedham 
and Medfield, came about the same time. He 
was of some wealth and standing, second on 
the tax-list ; one of the founders of the church ; 
selectman sixteen years between 1639 and 
1655. He was admitted a freeman May 2, 
1638. He was one of the citizens of Dedham 
who voted to establish the first free-school in 
the country, in 1644, and was one of the five 
trustees placed in charge of it by the town. 
He is described in the town records of Ded- 
ham as "having been publicly useful" and "a 
great peace-maker." His wife Hannah died 
September 5, 1656, and he married (second) 
January 20, 1657-8, Elizabeth, widow of Wil- 
liam Ripley, and previously of Thomas Thax- 
ter. She died July 17, 1660. His will, dated 
June 16, 1658, proved January 24, 1660. be- 
queathed to wife Elizabeth, son Timothy, 
daughters Hannah Whiting, Mary Phillips, 
and Sarah Reynolds : sons-in-law Nathaniel 
Whiting, Henry Phillips and Nathaniel Rey- 
nolds. Children of first wife : 1. Hannah, born 
in England, 1625; married Nathaniel Whiting, 
ancestor of the Whitins of Whitinsville. 2. 
Captain Timothy, born 1629, mentioned below. 
3. John, born 1632, died March 24, 1638. 4. 
Mary, born at Dedham, July 25, 1635, the 

first child born in Dedham ; married Henry 
Phillips. 5. Sarah, born at Dedham, June 
17, 1638, married Nathaniel Reynolds. 

(II) Captain Timothy, son of John Dwight, 
was born in England in 1629. He came to 
this country with his father ; was admitted a 
freeman, 1655; was town clerk ten years; se- 
lectman twenty-five years (1664-89) ; repre- 
sentative to general court 1691-2. It is re- 
corded of him that "he inherited the estate 
and virtues of his father and added to both." 
He is thus described in the old church records : 
"Timothy Dwight, Esq., a gentleman truly 
serious and godly, one of excellent spirits, 
peaceable, generous, charitable, and a great 
promoter of the true interests of the church 
and town, deceased Jan. 31, 171 7, in the 88th 
year of his age." 

He was cornet of a troop in his younger 
days and afterwards captain. He went out 
ten times against the Indians, nine of whom 
he killed or took prisoners — such was the con- 
stant guerilla warfare they kept up against the 
town. He represented the town in the nego- 
tiations with King Philip for the Indian title 
to the land. He and Captain Fisher brought 
to the selectmen seven Indian deeds that had 
been in their custody until 1681, four from the 
Indians at Petumtuck, one from Philip, one 
from Nehoiden and one from Magus ; and a 
receipt from Philip. These writings were 
ordered deposited in a box kept by Deacon 
Aldis ; the deeds were never recorded and 
are now lost. He deeded land in 1707 to son 
Michael, attempting to entail it in the deed ; he 
gave property to his sons May 12, 1710, vir- 
tually settling his estate. His tomb is to be 
seen in the Dedham burial ground. He died 
January 31, 1718, aged eighty-eight. He mar- 
ried, November 11, 1631, Sarah Sibley (ac- 
cording to his father's will, but Sarah Perman, 
according to town records, and she was proba- 
bly a widow). She died May 29, 1652, and he 
married (second) May 3, 1653, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Michael Powell. She died June 2"]. 


1664, and he married (third) January 9, 
1664-5, Anna Flint, born September 11, 1643, 
died January 29, 1685-6, daughter of Rev. 
Henry and Margery (Hoar) Flint, of Brain- 
tree. He married (fourth) January 7, 1686-7, 
Mary Edwind, of Reading, a widow, who died 
August 30, 1688. He married (fifth) July 
31, 1690, Esther, daughter of Daniel Fisher. 
She died January 30, 1690-1. He married 
(sixth) February 1, 1691-2, Bethiah Moss, 
who died February 6, 17 17-8. Children of 
second wife: 1. Timothy, born November 26, 
1654, a goldsmith in Boston; died January 2, 

1692. 2. Sarah, born April 2, 1657; died Feb- 
ruary 9, 1659. 3. John, born Atay 31, 1662, 
married December 3, 1696, Elizabeth Hard- 
ing. 4. Sarah, born June 25, 1664; died July 

10, 1664. Children of third wife : 5. Josiah, 
born October 6, 1665, died young. 6. Na- 
thaniel, born November 20, 1666, died No- 
vember 7. 171 1. 7. Samuel, born December 
2, 1668, died young. 8. Rev. Josiah, born Feb- 
ruary 8, 1670-71, died 1748. 9. Seth, born 
July 9, 1673, died January 22, 1731. 10. Anna, 
born August 12, 1675, died October 15, 1675. 

11. Captain Henry, born December 19, 1676, 
died March 26, 1732. 12. Michael, born Jan- 
uary 10, 1679-80, died 1761. 13. Daniel, born 
September 22, 1681, died young. 14. Jabez, 
born September 1, 1683, died June 15, 1685. 

(Ill) Justice Nathaniel, son of Timothy 
Dwight, was born in Dedham, November 20, 

lie re roved to Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
and afterwards (about 1695) to Northampton, 
where he spent the rest of his life. He was a 
trader and farmer, justice of the peace, and 
surveyor of land on a large scale. His real 
estate was appraised at eight hundred and 
fifty-five pounds. He married, December 9, 

1693, Mehitable, daughter of Colonel Samuel 
Partridge, of Hatfield, and Mehitable (Crow). 
She was born August 26, 1675, and died Oc- 
tober 19, 1756. He died November 7, 171 1, at 
West Springfield, and was buried there. His 
grave is the oldest in the old burying ground 
of that place. Children: 1. Colonel Timothy, 
born October 19, 1694, mentioned below. 2. 
Captain Samuel, born June 28, 1696; died Oc- 
tober 3, 1763. 3. Mehitable, born November 
11, 1697; died December 22, 1697. 4. Rev. 
Daniel, born April 28, 1699, died March 28, 
1748. 5. Seth, born March 3, 1702-3, died 
September 12, 1703. 6. Elihu (twin) born 
February 17, 1704, died June 8, 1727. 7. 
Abiah, twin with Elihu, died February 23, 
1748-9. 8. Mehitable, born November 2, 1705, 
died November 20. 1767. 9. Jonathan, born 
March 14, 1707-8, died in Halifax, Nova Sco- 
tia. 10. Anna, born July 2, 1710. 11. Captain 

Nathaniel, born June 20, 1712, died March 30, 

(IV) Colonel Timothy, son of Nathaniel 
Dwight, was born at Hatfield, October 19, 
1694. He lived and died at Northampton. 
He was a lawyer and surveyor, a man held 
in high esteem for his talents and his worth, 
and much engaged in matters of public and 
private business. He was for several years a 
selectman in the town, judge of probate and 
judge of the county court of Hampshire county 
_( 1737-41 and 1748-57) being some of the time 
its chief justice. He was also for many years 
a representative of the town at the general 
court. In the old French war he was captain 
of a company, and was stationed for a time at 
"No. 4," now Charlestown, New Hampshire. 
In 1724 he superintended the erection of Fort 
Dummer, at Vernon ( Brattleboro, Ver- 
mont), built by order of the Massachusetts 
legislature for protection against the Indians. 
He was the first commander of the fort, a 
position which he occupied until the close of 
the year 1726. There his son Major Timothy 
Dwight was born in May, 1726. In 1726 he 
superintended also the erection of another fort 
at Northfield and was busy during the next 
year surveying land. During his life, he was 
much employed in surveying and plotting 
towns in this section of the country, to such an 
extent that he was often called "Surveyor 
Dwight." In 1724 he is styled Lieutenant and 
later Colonel. He was a very extensive land- 
holder in various places, and at his death left 
an estate worth nine thousand pounds. His 
house, which was in Market street, is said to 
have been the handsomest one in Hampshire 
county. He married, August 16, 1716, Ex- 
perience King, daughter of Lieutenant John, 
Jr. (of Northampton) and Mehitable Pomery. 
She was born April 17, 1693, an d died De- 
cember 15, 1763. He died April 30, 1771. 
Children: 1. Eleanor, born August 20, 1717; 
married General Phineas Lyman, died April, 
1777. 2. Gamaliel, born December 19, 1718, 
died January 7, 1719. 3. Gamaliel, born De- 
cember 20, 1719, died young. 4. Major Tim- 
othy, born May 27, 1726, mentioned below. 

(V) Major Timothy, son of Colonel Tim- 
othy Dwight, was born at Fort Dummer, Ver- 
mont, May 27, 1726, and graduated at Yale in 
1744. He was a man of large bodily frame, 
six feet four inches in height, of great physical 
strength and fine proportions. His hair and 
complexion were light, eyes hazel, and features 
rather large. He was a merchant at North- 
ampton, and was many years in succession 
selectman (1760-74), town recorder (1760- 
75), register of probate and judge of common 
pleas (1758-74). He was also for many years 


a representative of the town to the general 
court. When the revolution broke out he re- 
mained a loyalist on principle (having sworn 
allegiance to the British government in accept- 
ing his office as judge), and yet thoroughly 
patriotic in his feelings. It was in order to 
solve his political difficulties that he purchased 
largely of the Crown Grant at Natchez, Mis- 
sissippi, and set out in the spring of 1776 with 
his sons Sereno and Jonathan and his widowed 
sister, Mrs. Lyman and her children, in order 
to found there a religious and industrial col- 
ony. The hardships of travel and of experi- 
ences in a new land were so severe, however, 
that his health broke down, and he died June 
10, 1777. Both he and his sister, who had 
died two months before, were buried there. 
He left some three thousand acres of land in 
Northampton, besides other valuable property, 
to his family. His title papers concerning the 
Natchez grant were destroyed by the Span- 
iards. His real estate was appraised at four 
thousand four hundred thirty-three pounds, 
and his personal at one hundred thirty-four. 
He married, November 8, 1 750, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Rev. Jonathan and Sarah (Pierpont) 
Edwards. She was born April 1, 1734, and 
died February 28, 1807. She was so small 
that her husband would sometimes carry her 
around the room in his open palm held at 
arm's length, yet the smallest of her eight sons 
was five feet,' eight inches and a half tall, and 
weighed two hundred pounds. She was of 
attractive appearance and strong character, as 
might be expected of a daughter of the most 
famous minister of the Puritan church in his 
day. She possessed remarkable intellectual 
gifts and executive ability. Left a widow at 
the age of forty-two with thirteen children, 
she brought them up and to a large extent 
educated in her own home. To increase her 
burdens of sorrow and trouble the townspeo- 
ple treated her and her family with malicious 
cruelty, burning her crops and making out- 
casts of the children on account of the politi- 
cal faith of their dead father. Children: 1. 
Timothy, born May 14, 1752, mentioned be- 
low. 2. Sereno (M. D.), December 10, 1754. 
3. Erastus, September 13, 1756. 4. Jonathan 
Edwards, January 29, 1759. 5. Sarah, May 
13, 1761. 6. Mary, January 9, 1763. 7. Hon. 
Theodore, M. C, December 15, 1764. 8. Mau- 
rice William, M. D., December 15, 1766. 9. 
Fidelia, August 7, 1768. 10. Rev. Nathaniel, 
M. D.. January 31, 1770. 11. Elizabeth, Jan- 
uary 29, 1772. 12. Colonel Cecil, June 10, 
1774. 13. Henry Edwin, September 20, 1776. 
(VI) President Timothy D wight, S. T. D., 
LL. D., son of Major Timothy Dwight, was 
born at Northampton, May 14, 1752. From 

early youth he was a precocious student and 
fond of books. His first instruction was given 
him by his mother and aunt, and he used to 
say that all his knowledge of history and geog- 
raphy came from his mother, with whom he 
read such books as Josephus, Rollin and 
Pndeaux. He spent one year at Middletown, 
Connecticut, preparing for college under Rev. 
Enoch Huntington, and graduated from Yale 
College at the age of seventeen. During the 
next two years he taught the Hopkins gram- 
mar school at New Haven, and from 1771 to 
1777 he was a tutor in Yale College. During 
this time he studied philosophy and law with 
the expectation of becoming a lawyer. Not- 
withstanding the political views of his father 
he took a decided stand for the independence 
of the colonies, and his earnest expression of 
his views was an important influence in shap- 
ing public sentiment in the critical days just 
before and after the beginning of the revolu- 
tionary war. In 1774 he appears to have 
turned his thoughts to the ministry and joined 
the church. In June, 1777, he was licensed to 
preach, and in September following was ap- 
pointed a chaplain in Gen. Parsons's brigade, 
and remained in the service until March, 1779, 
when, on account of the death of his father 
and the needs of his mother and her younger 
children, he resigned, and aided the family by 
farming, teaching and preaching. He kept a 
day school for both sexes, and preached in 
Deerfield, Williamsburgh, Hadley and West- 
field. In 1782 he was a representative to the 
general court of Massachusetts, and during 
the session was urged by a committee of rep- 
resentatives from his own county to accept a 
nomination for congress, but he declined. 
While in the legislature he advocated and se- 
cured a grant for Harvard College. He was 
afterward invited to settle in the ministry at 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, and also at Bev- 
erly, Massachusetts, and was promised in con- 
nection with the latter call a professorship in 
Harvard, but finally decided to accept a call 
to the church at Greenfield Hill, Fairfield 
county, Connecticut, and in November, 1783, 
began a pastorate that lasted twelve happy and 
useful years. He continued to teach school, 
and during that period instructed more than 
a thousand pupils from all parts of the coun- 
try. In addition to the duties of school and 
pulpit he cultivated a farm of six acres, and 
it is interesting to note that he is credited with 
being the first to cultivate strawberries in his 
garden in this country. His success as a 
teacher, writer and preacher brought him into 
prominence, and in 1795 he was elected presi- 
dent of Yale College, succeeding Dr. Ezra 
Stiles. From 1795 to 1805 he was professor 


of theology, elected from year to year, and 
after that he held the chair for the remainder 
of his life. His influence in the church and in 
educational methods grew year by year. He 
was progressive, and constantly suggested new 
ideas and organized new agencies for the pro- 
motion of education and Christianity. He was 
among the few active founders of the Ameri- 
can Board, and one of the nine members of 
the first corporate board of that organization. 
He was one of the founders of the American 
Home Missionary Society and a prime mover 
in the American Bible Society. He also first 
proposed and brought about the union of Con- 
gregational and Presbyterian churches, and 
was the organizer of the first theological 
schools of the country. As president of the 
college he entertained in his home an almost 
continuous procession of guests from all parts 
of the country; he was professor of divinity, 
chaplain of the college, professor of rhetoric, 
professor of logic and metaphysics and of 
moral philosophy, and during the twenty-one 
years of his arduous and brilliant service the 
college grew in usefulness, numbers and in- 
fluence. He became unquestionably the most 
conspicuous man in New England — a popular 
poet and hymn writer, an eloquent and influ- 
ential preacher, a learned author of many use- 
ful books, and a distinguished college profes- 
sor and president. His political opponents 
acknowledged his power by nicknaming him 
"Old Pope Dwight." The students all but 
worshiped him, and in later years men were 
proud of having studied under him. He re- 
ceived the degree of Master of Arts from 
Yale in 1772, of S. T. D. from the College of 
New Jersey in 1787, and LL. D. from Har- 
vard in 1 8 10. He wrote the famous epic 
poem, "Conquest of Canaan," dedicated to 
Washington, when he was nineteen years old ; 
his pastoral poem, "Greenfield Hill" in 1794; 
"Theology Explained and Defended," five vol- 
umes, 1818 (London 1819; second American 
edition 1846). The latter work contains 173 
of his best sermons, and went through a score 
of editions in this country and at least a hun- 
dred in England. He versified thirty-three of 
the Psalms, and more hymns that were gen- 
erally accepted by the church, than any other 
writer before his time. His unpublished man- 
uscripts would fill many volumes. 

Sparks says of him : "He came upon the 
stage of action at the end of a long and strong 
swell of revolutionary excitement, when great 
questions were agitating all hearts ; when 
men's minds were everywhere at white heat 
with interest in passing events ; and when 
there was a sound in the air itself of coming 
changes of high import in church and state. 

His soul was charged to the full with the spirit 
of the hour. He must speak and write his 
own earnest thoughts to others. Great men 
were all around him, and he was foremost 
among the greatest. His temperament was 
ardent ; his will strong ; his consciousness of 
inward power continual ; and his aspirations 
for usefulness were high and mastering. These 
elements of mind and character, guided by 
habits of profound reflection and diligent ob- 
servation, and accompanied by abounding in- 
dustry and a spirit of profound prayerfulness, 
made a man of vast influence for good. Truth- 
fulness of feeling, purity of motive, faithful- 
ness of spirit, comprehensiveness of view and 
largeness of liberality constituted the moving 
forces of his heart and life." 

During all his active life, he was unable to 
make much use of his eyes, which were weak- 
ened during an attack of small pox in his 
youth, and he employed an amanuensis to do 
his writing. He died January 11, 181 7. 

He married, March 3, 1777, Mary Woolsey, 
born April 11, 1754, daughter of Benjamin 
and Esther (Isaacs) Woolsey. Her father 
was of Dosoris, Long Island, her mother of 
Norwalk, Connecticut. Great and constant de- 
mands were made at all times throughout her 
married life of forty years, upon her good 
sense, energy, self-government, tact and skill; 
and well were they met with gentle strength 
and beauty to the end of her long life. Wid- 
owed when she was sixty-three, she spent 
twenty-eight years in the home of her eldest 
son Timothy, at New Haven, and died there 
October 5, 1845. Esther Isaacs was daughter 
of Ralph Isaacs, a converted Jew, and Mary, 
daughter of Benjamin Rumsey. Children of 
Dr. Dwight: 1. Timothy, March 29, 1778, at 
Stratford, Connecticut. 2. Benjamin Woolsey, 
M. D., born at Northampton, February 10, 
1780. 3. James, September 1, 1784; men- 
tioned below. 4. John (twin of James). 5. 
Rev. Sereno Edwards, D. D., May 18, 1786. 
6. Son, died in infancy. 7. Rev. William 
Theodore, D. D., June 15, 1795. 8. Henry 
Edwin, born at New Haven, April, 1797. 

(VII) James Dwight, son of President 
Timothy Dwight, was born at Greenfield Hill. 
September 1, 1784, and died March 24, 1863. 
He entered Yale College in the class of 1804, 
leaving at the end of his second year to engage 
in the hardware business with his brother Tim- 
othy in New Haven. He was afterward a 
hardware merchant at Petersburg, Virginia, 
for ten years or more, then in New York City, 
where he established the firm of James & 
George A. Dwight. In later life he spent some 
years in Columbus, Georgia, as a merchant. 
In 1854 he retired and spent his last years in 


New Haven. He married, March 13, 181 I, 
Aurelia Darling, born January 11, 1788, 
daughter of Dr. Joseph and Aurelia (Mills) 
Darling. She died September 17, 181 3, and 
he married (second) August 8, 1815, Susan 
Breed, born in Norwich, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 17, 1785, died August 29, 1851, daughter 
of John McLaren and Rebecca (Walker) 
Breed. She was energetic and full of enthus- 
iasm, and an inspiration to all her family. He 
was tall, strong and vigorous, though suffer- 
ing from birth from lameness. He was fond 
of reading, and a lifelong student of useful 
books. He joined the Presbyterian church at 
Petersburg in 1824. Children: 1. Elizabeth 
Smith, born July 20, 1812; married Rensselaer 
Nicholl Havens. By his second wife : 2. Au- 
relia, July 31, 1 816; married Rev. Richard 
Hooker. 3. Timothy, June 20, 1820; died 
young. 4. John Breed, born at Norwich, De- 
cember 8, 1821, a tutor in Yale College; died 
October 20, 1843. 5- James McLaren Breed, 
born August 11, 1825 ; graduate of Yale, 1846; 
practiced law in New York ; married Cora 
Charlesina Tallmadge. 6. President Timothy, 
mentioned below. 

(VIII) President Timothy Dwight, son of 
James Dwight, was born at Norwich, Novem- 
ber 16, 1828. -He was graduated from Yale 
College in the class of 1849, and from 185 1 to 
1855 was a tutor in that institution. He 
studied divinity at the New Haven Theological 
School from 1850 to 1853, and spent two 
years, from 1856 to 1858, in study in Germany 
at the universities of Bonn and Berlin. In 
1858 he was appointed professor of Sacred 
Literature and New Testament Greek in Yale, 
and filled this chair until he resigned in 1886. 
He was for some years editor of the New 
Englandcr, and in 1870-1 published in that 
magazine a notable series of articles on "The 
True Ideal of an American University," af- 
terward published in book form. He pub- 
lished a translation of "Godet's Commentary 
on John's Gospel," with additional notes, and 
edited with additional notes several volumes 
of "Meyer's Commentaries on the New Tes- 
tament ;" a volume of sermons entitled 
"Thoughts of and for the Inner Life ;" also 
various articles and addresses on educational 
and other subjects. He was a member of the 
committee for the revision of the English Bible 
from 1872 until its completion in 1885. He 
preached frequently in the college pulpit and 
elsewhere throughout his connection with the 
college. In 1886 Professor Dwight was elected 
president of Yale College, and served with 
great ability and success in that office until 
1899, when he resigned. The name of the in- 
stitution was changed to Yale University in 

the early days of his administration. Since 
then he has been living in retirement in New 
Haven. His administration was marked by a 
period of great development in the curriculum 
and growth in student membership. The uni- 
versity kept pace with the leading institutions 
of learning of the world, and under his guid- 
ance acquired additional prestige and influence 
in the educational world. In 1903 he published 
"Memories of Yale Life and Men." At the 
celebration of the Hicentennial of Yale in 
1 90 1, Dr. Dwight was president of the gen- 
eral bicentennial committee. 

He married, December 31, 1866, Jane Wake- 
man Skinner, daughter of Roger Sherman and 
Mary Lockwood (DeForest) Skinner, of New 
Haven. Children: 1. Helen Rood, born De- 
cember 8, 1868, died October 20, 1909; 2. Win- 
throp Edwards, born December 23, 1872 ; 
graduate of Yale in the class of 1893 ; now 
an attorney at law in New York City. 

Clement English, the first of 
ENGLISH the name in America, lived in 

Salem, Massachusetts, where 
he married, August 27, 1667, Mary Waters, 
of the same place. He is spoken of as a mer- 
chant, a man of wealth and high consideration. 
He died December 23, 1682. Children: Mary, 
born February 18, 1669; Elizabeth, February 
19, 167 1 ; Joseph, born March 12, 1673; Ben- 
jamin, October 19, 1678, mentioned below; 
Abigail, born December 6, 1680; Clement, 
March 7, 1683. 

(II) Benjamin, son of Clement English, 
was born in Salem, October 19, 1678, and re- 
moved to New Haven, Connecticut, about 
1700. He married (first) at Salem, June 8, 
1699, Sarah Ward, who died December 9, 
1700; (second), April 21, 1703, Rebecca 
Brown, of East Haven, who died May 6, 1768. 
Child of first wife: A son, born May 19, 1700. 
Children of second wife : Sarah, born Febru- 
ary 7, 1704-05; Benjamin, October 8, 1705, 
mentioned below; Mary, February 10, 1707- 
08; Joseph, 1709; Mary, 1714; Clement, Oc- 
tober, 1716. 

(III) Benjamin (2), son of Benjamin (1) 
English, was born October 8, 1705. was killed 
bv a British soldier while sitting- in his own 
house in New Haven, situated on Water street, 
east of Brown street, July 5, 1779. He mar- 
ried, September 25, 1735, Sarah Dayton, born 
July 27, 1716, died July 29, 1769. Children: 
Sarah, born August 27, 1738; Abigail, April 
8, 1741 ; Benjamin, December 16, 1742: Mary, 
September 29, 1744; Hannah, November 29, 

(IV) Benjamin (3). son of Benjamin (2) 
English, was born December 16, 1742, and 


was for many years a shipmaster of vessels in shipping clerk for the New Haven Clock Com- 
the New Haven, West India and other for- pany, of which his uncle was president. He 
eign commerce. In 1801 he was appointed by embarked in the lumber business on his own 
Jefferson a custom house officer in New Haven account in 1861 in partnership with John P. 
and held the office till his death, April 19, Tuttle, their place of business being on Water 
1809. He married, November 17, 1768, Abi- street, and there they continued with marked 
gail, born December 14, 1749, died October success until 1878, when he was called to the 
24, 1794, daughter of Isaac and Sarah (Todd) management of the extensive real estate inter- 
Doolittle. Children : Benjamin, born January ests of James E. English, his uncle, and after 
5, 1770; Sarah, November 3, 1771 ; John the death of his uncle in 1890 he continued to 
Todd, August 3, 1773; Abigail, February 1, have charge of the property. Various other 
1776; Mary, January 12, 1778; Hannah Re- trusts of a similar nature came to him from 
becca, January 5, 1780; Isaac, March 9, 1782; time to time, and he is deemed one of the fore- 
James, July 26, 1784, mentioned below; Aaron, most authorities in real estate in the city. His 
November 25, 1786; Eli, March 9, 1789; Na- judgment as to values and the management of 
than Frederick, April 9, 1792. property has been sought by banks and other 

(V) James, son of Benjamin (3) English, institutions as well as by individuals. Mr. 
was born July 26, 1784, died December 2, 1850. English has been a prominent figure in public 
He married, March 29, 1806, Nancy, born Au- as well as business life. His first public office 
gust 16, 1786, died August 3, 1867, daughter was that of fire commissioner of New Haven 
of Samuel and Lucy (Phipps) Griswold. and he served as president of the board. In 
Children : Hannah Eliza, born August 26, 1883 he was elected by an overwhelming ma- 
1807; Benjamin, January 24, 1809; John, Sep- jority to the board of selectmen, and became 
tember 28, 1810; James Edward, (q. v.), president also of this board. In 1885 Presi- 
March 13, 1812; Charles Leverett, August 5, dent Cleveland appointed him postmaster of 
1814; Henry, September 4, 1816, mentioned New Haven and he served with ability and 
below ; George Doolittle, April 14, 1819; Eliza- faithfulness until 1890. In politics he was a 
beth Hannah, November 23, 1820; Nancy Democrat. 

Maria, February 14, 1823 ; Caroline Beers, A mark of the public confidence in his in- 

September 15, 1828. tegrity and ability was given in June,. 1899, 

(VI) Henry, son of James English, was when he was made a member of the committee 
born September 4, 1816, died July 5, 1847. He to investigate the irregularities in the town 
was educated in the public schools of his na- agent's office. He also served the same year 
tive place, and early in life engaged in busi- on a committee of three in charge of the mu- 
ness as a carriage dealer. Subsequently he nicipal sinking fund. For a period of four- 
was very successful in the lumber business, teen years he was clerk of the New Haven 
though his death cut short in the prime of life school district. He was a director of the pub- 
a very promising career. He was an able man lie library and at present is treasurer. He is 
of high character. He married, September 16, vice-president of the First National Bank and 
1839, Grace Emeline, born April, 1817, died of the New Haven Trust Company; senior 
February 21, 1889, daughter of Timothy Fow- trustee of the Connecticut Savings Bank; trus- 
ler, a descendant of one of the early pioneers tee of the bishop's fund ; trustee and treasurer 
of Connecticut and of many of the prominent of the fund for the aged and infirm clergy ; 
families of the colony. His son, Benjamin trustee and treasurer of the clergymen's retir- 
Rice, is mentioned below. ing fund; trustee and treasurer of the Ever- 

(VII) Benjamin Rice, son of Henry Eng- green cemetery fund and director and secre- 
lish, was born in New Haven, February 26, tary of the Evergreen cemetery. He is also a 
1842. He received his early education in the director of the New Haven County Historical 
private schools of the Misses Bakewell and Society; treasurer of the Connecticut Civil 
Miss Bunnell, the Lancasterian School, and in Service Association and of the Florence Crit- 
the Collegiate and Commercial Institute of tenton Mission. He is an Episcopalian and 
General Russell, then a large and flourishing serves as warden of St. Paul's Church. He 
school at New Haven. In "1856 he began his belongs to the Quinnipiack Club, the Improved 
business career at the age of fourteen, as an Order of Red Men, the Sons of the American 
errand boy for Alden & Huntington, dry goods Revolution, the Church Club of Connecticut 
dealers, at the usual modest salary of a hun- and of the Chamber of Commerce. 

dred dollars a year. The following year he In his younger days he was active in the 

received twenty-five dollars more, and on ac- state militia. In February, 1863, he joined the 

count of the panic he left this concern at the New Haven Grays, Company F, Second Regi- 

end of the second year. In 1858 he became ment, and was elected corporal of his com- 


pany. He was promoted to the rank of 
sergeant, but declined further promotion. Dur- 
ing the draft riots of the civil war he did 
guard duty with a squad, July 16, 20, 31, and 
August 3 at the armory. He was on duty 
July 30, 1863, to guard conscripts from the 
camp at Grape Vine Point to the steamboat. 
After five years of service he was honorably 
discharged in 1868. In 1876 he joined the 
Centennial Grays, a company formed to rep- 
resent the state of Connecticut, one of the 
original states, at the centennial parade in 
Philadelphia. He was treasurer of the com- 
pany and managed the business of the trip so 
carefully that he had left a balance of three 
hundred dollars. He served on important 
committees also at the bicentennial celebra- 
tion of New Haven, at the dedication of the 
soldiers' monument and was chief marshal at 
the consecration of Bishop Chauncey B. Brew- 
ster in October, 1897. 

A New Haven newspaper not long ago said 
of him : "Can you not see the man ? Courte- 
ous, dignified, yet affable, a keen business 
mind, joined with a refined disposition that fits 
him to worthily represent his city in ceremonial 
functions ; like Matthew of old, he has conse- 
crated his ability to higher ends than the mere 
raking together of lifeless metal. In his wide 
range of interests, embracing finance, politics, 
education, literature, charity and church, he 
stands for a high type of American citizenship, 
the cultured Christian business man." 

He married, May 17, 1866, Teresa Henri- 
etta, daughter of John S. and Polly Farren. 
Children: James Edward, born September 17, 
1868, mentioned below; Benjamin Farren, 
June 25, 1873, married August J., daughter 
of Constant A. Moeller, of New Haven ; two 
children : Augusta T., born June 3, 1905, Ben- 
jamin, August 19, 1906; Grace Louisa, born 
September 5, 1877, died December 5, 1895. 

(VIII) James Edward, son of Benjamin 
Rice English, was born September 17, 1868, 
died February 2, 1907. He married, Decem- 
ber, 1895, Gertrude M., born August 4, 1868, 
daughter of Paul Worth, of Brooklyn, New 
York. Children : Worth and Grace Atherton 
(twins), born May 27, 1900; Benjamin Worth, 
November 20, 1902. 

(VI) James Edward, son of 
ENGLISH James (q. v.) and Nancy 
(Griswold) English, was born 
in New Haven, Connecticut, March 13, 1812, 
died at his home in New Haven, March 2, 
1890. In his boyhood he exhibited singular 
self-reliance, a trait of character that ever re- 
mained with him. At the age of sixteen he 
was apprenticed to the trade of a carpenter. 

and began his first work June 2j, 1827, on the 
old Lancasterian school house. His appren- 
ticeship closed on his twenty-first birthday. 
He never worked as a journeyman at his trade, 
but at once became a contractor and followed 
this occupation until twenty-three years of age, 
by which time he became a possessor of a mod- 
erate capital. Having natural architectural 
tastes, he designed and erected in this short 
experience a number of creditable buildings in 
New Haven. For the following twenty years 
he was engaged in the lumber business, cover- 
ing a period when commercial enterprises of 
every kind were subject to great fluctuations, 
a period of general financial embarrassment, 
when many men found it difficult and often 
impossible to avoid commercial disaster. Far- 
seeing and always looking beyond the present, 
he avoided speculation, never being sanguine 
nor despondent. He branched out in his lum- 
ber business, buying and building vessels, en- 
gaged in shinning clocks to Philadelphia, and 
returning with coal and general merchandise 
to New Haven and other ports, and in this was 
successful. Next he became identified with 
the manufacture of clocks, having successfully 
re-organized the former Chauncey Jerome 
works under the name of the New Haven 
Clock Company. In this enterprise he was 
associated with Harmanus M. Welch, after- 
ward president of the First National Bank, 
and for several years a partner with him in 
the lumber business ; also with Hiram Camp, 
these three purchasin8 r the clock plant. In a 
few years they made this company not onlv a 
success, but one of the largest clock manufac- 
turing concerns in existence. Mr. English, 
about this time, became prominentlv identified 
with the First National Bank of New Haven, 
and also with the Connecticut Savings Bank, 
having been at the head of the latter institu- 
tion from its organization in 18^7. He was 
largelv interested in various manufacturing 
and commercial industries in this and other 
states, being also associated with the manage- 
ment of the Adams Express Company. Emi- 
nently successful in accumulating property, by 
iudicions investments in real estate, he finally 
bernme the owner of nrobablv more business 
buildings than any other individual in New 
Haven. He was a man of the strictest in- 
tegrity, taking no advantages of the great 
opportunities that arose during the war by 
changes in the financial policy of the govern- 
ment, which greatly affected commercial val- 
ues, of which some men of high station availed 
themselves. Not a dollar of his great fortune 
came from speculation. His business sagacity 
made it all. "If T have been successful as a 
business man, it is because I have been content 


with reasonable profits, for I know that enor- servers that the question of general emancipa- 

mous gains soon invite ruinous competition." tion must be met sooner or later, and Mr. 

Politically Mr. English was reared a Demo- English made up his mind to take the hazard 
crat, and "ever remained faithful to the con- and incur the odium of voting with his politi- 
viction of a lifetime, that only by adherence to cal opponents whenever, in his view, it became 
the principles and policy of genuine Jeffer- a political necessity. More than a year before 
soman Democracy could the State reach the the final passage of the bill providing for the 
full proportions of a free and prosperous com- necessary constitutional amendment, the posi- 
munity." He held many public trusts, cover- tion of Mr. English was well understood in 
ing a period of forty-one years, 1836-77. He Washington. When the bill was first intro- 
was selectman of his town from 1836 to 1848; duced into the House by Mr. Ashley, of Ohio, 
a member of the common council in 1848-49; he was assured of Mr. English's support in 
representative in the state legislature in 1855- case it was needed. But when it was found 
56; state senator from 1856 to 1859; member that the Administration party were not united 
of congress from 1861 to 1865 '■> governor of on the measure, Mr. Ashley advised Mr. Eng- 
Connecticut from 1867 to 1869, and again in lish not to vote in its favor, as it was sure not 
1870; and United States senator by appoint- to pass. With a very practical conviction of 
ment from 1875 to 1877. "The municipal the folly of striking when there is a certainty 
trusts of his early manhood were those im- that nothing will be hit, Mr. English acted 
posed upon him by the general conviction of upon this advice, but with the emphatic assur- 
his fellow citizens, irrespective of party, that ance to Mr. Ashley that whenever it was nec- 
their interests might be safely confided to his essary he might rely upon his vote. When 
recognized integrity, capacity and public informed a year later that the bill would be 
spirit." "His services in both branches of the put to vote the next day, Mr. English was in 
legislature were generally marked by attention New Haven, in attendance upon his sick wife, 
to the business rather than to the political as- Traveling all night, he reached Washington 
pects of the legislation in which he was called in time to listen to a part of the exciting de- 
to act. When, subsequently, he became gov- bate, and to hear his name called among the 
ernor of the State, the practical cast of his first of the ten War Democrats who, as it was 
mind was conspicuously manifested in the em- hoped, would vote for the bill, and whose votes 
phasis which he gave in his messages to the were necessary for its passage. When his ring- 
cause of free public school education, and in ing 'Yes' was heard in the crowded gathering 
the advocacy of which he was ultimately there was general applause. To a New Haven 
successful. friend who was in Washington a day or two 

But that which specially and honorably marks afterward he said: 'I suppose I am publicly 
Mr. English's public career is the course he ruined, but that day was the happiest day of 
pursued while a representative in Congress, niy life.' Mr. English's position at this time 
His term of service, extending from 1861 to was a very exceptional one. The number of 
1865, covered that period in our history dur- War Democrats in Congress was small, and 
ing which slavery ceased to disgrace the Na- most of them very timid. But there was never 
tion, and the constitutional amendment pro- any doubt from the first where Mr. English 
hibiting involuntary servitude became the su- stood or how he would vote when the final 
premelaw of the land. Mr. English went to crisis came. While thousands of men in our 
Washington a pronounced War Democrat, be- country have been examples of conspicuous 
lieving that the great national exigency de- success in business, in political life, and in 
manded every sacrifice to prevent our great generous benefactions, few have had the op- 
republic from being divided into perpetually portunity, and fewer still the sagacity and the 
contending and contemptible fragments. While courage to appreciate a great political emer- 
as a Democrat he fully recognized the consti- gency. where duty calls for a sacrifice of the 
tutional right of the Southern States to the ties which ordinarily bind a man in public life 
possession of their slaves, he also felt that to act in harmony with the party to which he 
slavery was a monstrous injustice, and there- is attached. It is sometimes a great thing to 
fore had no regret when, as a war measure, have the courage of one's convictions, and the 
he found himself at liberty to record alike his favorable mention of his name at one time as a 
abhorrence of slavery and his sense of justice candidate for the Presidency of the United 
toward the owners of slaves in the District of States was an honorable recognition of the 
Columbia, by voting for the bill which united public appreciation of his vote, as having been 
the emancipation of the slave with compensa- dictated by conscience and a sense of duty." 
tion to the master. Long before the close of Blessed with abundant means, Mr. English 
the war it became evident to all thoughtful ob- gave liberally to many institutions and objects. 


Several years ago he gave $10,000 to the Law 
School of Yale College to establish a library 
fund, and also $20,000 to the Sheffield Sci- 
entific School to found a chair in mathematics. 
He later contributed the sum of $21,000 to 
build the English Drive in East Rock Park-, 
and also made numerous generous donations 
to the General Hospital and to various other 
charities. St. Paul's Episcopal Church, where 
be regularly attended for over forty years, 
bears him in grateful remembrance. 

Mr. English married (first) January 25, 
1837, Caroline Augusta Fowler, of New 
Haven and of their four children, three sons 
and one daughter, the youngest, Henry Fow- 
ler, alone survives. Mrs. English died October 
23, 1874, at the age of sixty-two years. Mr. 
English married (second) October 7, 1885, 
Anna R. Morris, of New York, daughter of 
Lucius S. and Letitia C. Morris. 

(VII) Henry Fowler, son of James Ed- 
ward and Caroline Augusta (Fowler) Eng- 
lish, was born in New Haven, Connecticut, 
June 5, 1851. He acquired his preliminary 
education at General Russell's Collegiate and 
Commercial Institute at New Haven and under 
the preceptorship of the late Horace Day, re- 
maining a pupil of Mr. Day for a period of 
two years. The knowledge thus obtained was 
supplemented by a special course of study at 
the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale, and by 
attendance at the Yale Law School, graduat- 
ing therefrom with the class of 1874. He was 
admitted to the county bar the year of his 
graduation, and at once established himself in 
the practice of his profession, also devoting 
considerable time and attention to the man- 
agement of real estate. He possesses the 
characteristics of self-reliance, determination 
to succeed in whatever he undertakes, and per- 
sistent application to each and every duty re- 
quired of him. In addition to his professional 
interests, Mr. English is serving in the ca- 
pacity of vice-president and trustee of the Con- 
necticut Savings Bank, trustee in the New 
Haven Trust Company, trustee of the Young 
Men's Christian Association, director of the 
First National Bank, director in the New 
Haven Clock Company and chairman of its 
executive committee, director and vice-presi- 
dent in the Bristol Brass Company, director in 
the Bristol Manufacturing Company, director 
in the New Haven Dispensary and General 
Hospital Society, director in the New Haven 
Colony Historical Society. He is a member 
of the New Haven commission of public parks, 
and has been its secretary and treasurer since 
1887. In 1903 he was appointed a member 
of the State police commission. He is an at- 
tendant of St. Paul's Episcopal Church at New 

Haven. He leans towards the principles of 
the Democratic party, but casts his vote for 
the candidate who in his opinion is best quali- 
fied for office, irrespective of party affiliation. 
He holds membership in the fraternity of 
Delta Psi at Yale, Graduate Club, New Haven 
Country Club, New Haven Lawn Club, and 
the Oqoussoc Angling Association of Maine. 
From his early boyhood he has been fond of 
outdoor sports, especially along the line of 
athletics, fond of books, and possessing a keen 
los r e of nature, inheriting the latter two traits 
from his mother.' 

Mr. English is public-spirited to a notable 
degree and is willing at all times to unite in 
any niovement calculated to advance the com- 
mon gqod or promote the material welfare of 
the community at large. His career is well 
worthy of emulation, and his extensive and 
varied experience should lend value to his fol- 
lowing words of advice to young men about 
to enter upon the active duties of life : "What 
is termed success in life is due mainly to 
earnest and persistent effort by the individual. 
This effort must be governed by motives of 
integrity and liberality and by the recognition 
of the rights of others. Learn to think and 
act for yourself but at the same time be ever 
ready to accept sound counsel." "Be self- 
reliant and yet willing to accept advice ; when 
a man depends always upon others he must 
ever play a secondary role in life; yet if his 
self-reliance degenerates into conceit, and he 
refuses to accept the advice of others, he learns 
many of life's most valuable lessons only after 
bitter experience and often after it is too late 
to use to advantage the knowledge he might 
have acquired easily by accepting the counsel 
of those who are in a position to know." 

Mr. English married, June 5, 1888, Alice 
Nancy Kimball, of Boston, Massachusetts. 
Children: Harold Kimball, born August 2, 
1891 ; Philip Henry, January 31, 1893: Alice 
Marian, September 12, 1894. 

The name of Ingalls is sup- 
INGALLS posed to be of Scandinavian 

origin, derived from Ingialld. 
During the ninth century the Scandinavian 
pirates often descended upon the east coast of 
Great Britain and in after years many of this 
nationality settled here, especially in Lincoln- 
shire. The name appears in England as In- 
gall, Engle, Ingolds and Ingles, and the fol- 
lowing coats-of-arms are recorded : Ingles : 
Gules, three bars gemelle or, on a canton ar- 
gent five billets en salire sable. Crest : a lily 
springing from a crown. Motto : Humilis ex 
corona. Also, Ingle : Argent two chevrons 
sable, on the chief of the second a lion pass 



of the first. Crest : a hand erect issuing out of 
a cloud, holding a sword, blade waved, per- 
pendicular. The earliest record found is that 
of a will of Henry Ingalls, grandfather of 
Edmund, the immigrant, and made in 1655, he 
probably having been born about 1580. The 
next record is the will of Robert, the father 
of Edmund, made in 161 7. The name of In- 
galls is still common in England and signifies 
"by the power of Thor." The Domesday Book 
records a Baron Ingald, a tenant of King Wil- 
liam at Bersbi and Elvestone, Leicestershire, in 
1080. This baron came' from Normandy. 

(I) Edmund Ingalls, immigrant ancestor, 
was son of Robert and grandson of Henry In- 
galls, and was born at Skirbeck, Lincolnshire, 
England, about 1598. He came to Salem, 
Massachusetts, in Governor Endicott's com- 
pany in 1629, and with his brother Francis and 
four others settled in Lynn, where they were 
the first settlers. His name is found often on 
the records of the town, and he was a prom- 
nent citizen. Once he was fined "for bring- 
ing home sticks in both his arms on the Sab- 
bath day." In March, 1648, while travelling 
to Boston on horseback, he was drowned in 
the Saugus river owing to a defective bridge. 
His will was proved September 18, 1648. He 
married Ann . Children : Robert ; Eliza- 
beth, born 1622, died June 9, 1676; Faith, 
1623; John, 1625; Sarah, 1626; Henry, 1627, 
mentioned below; Samuel, 1634; Mary, mar- 
ried John Eaton ; Joseph, died young. 

(II) Henry, son of Edmund Ingalls, was 
born in Skirbeck, England, 1627, and came to 
New England with his father. He owned land 
in Ipswich which he sold in 1652. He was 
one of the first settlers of Andover, Massa- 
chusetts, buying the land of the Indians for 
clothing and trinkets. He was admitted a 
freeman in 1673, took an active part in town 
affairs and held various offices. He died Feb- 
ruary 8, 1718-19. His will was dated July 
5, 1714. He married (first) July 6, 1653, 
Mary Osgood, who died in December, 1686, 
daughter of John and Ann Osgood, of An- 
dover. He married (second) August 1, 1687, 
Sarah Farnum, widow of George Abbott. 
She died May 12, 1728, aged ninety. Chil- 
dren, born in Andover : Samuel, October 3, 
1654; Henry, December 8, 1656, mentioned 
below; Mary, January 28, 1659; J onn > May 
21, 1661 ; Stephen, May 21, 1661 ; Francis, 
September 23, 1663, died of small pox, Decem- 
ber 9, 1690; Moses, June 26, 1666, died Sep- 
tember 28, 1667; James, September 24, 1669; 
Sarah, September 7, 1672; Joseph, March 24, 
1675, died young; Josiah, February 28, 1676; 
Sarah, January 22, 1679. 

(III) Henry (2), son of Henry (1) Ingalls, 

was born December 8, [656. at Andover, died 
there February 8, 1698-99. He married, June 
6, 1688, Abigail Emery, born January 16, 1669, 
died July 12, 1756, daughter of John, Jr., and 
Mary (Webster) Emery, of Newbury. Chil- 
dren, born at Andover: Henry, April 2, 1689; 
Mary, February 25, 1691 ; Abigail, January 
15, 1693, died August 11, 1742; Francis, De- 
cember 20, 1694, mentioned below ; Joseph, 
April 17, 1697. 

(IV) Francis, son of Henry (2) Ingalls, 
was born at Andover, December 20, 1694, and 
resided there. His will was proved February 

26, 1759. He married (first) November 19, 
1719, Lydia Ingalls, who died April 29, 1743, 
daughter of James and Hannah (Abbott) In- 
galls. He married (second) Lydia Stevens, 
who made her will in 1787. Children, born in 
Andover: Ebenezer, 1721 ; Isaiah, June 6, 
1723, died March 23, 1728-29; Francis, Janu- 
ary 27, 1724, died April 3, 1729; Lydia, Au- 
gust 11, 1727, died April 18, 1729; Francis, 
January 26, 1731, mentioned below; Lydia, 
August 13, 1732; Susannah, June 27, 1734, 
died September 3,. 1736; Josiah, 1735, died 
September 8, 1736: Sarah, April 5, 1736, died 
May 31, 1739; Abijah, 1739; Jemima, July 

27, 1740, died March 14, 1745. 

(V) Francis (2), son of Francis (1) In- 
galls, was born at Andover, January 26, 1731, 
died there April 3, 1795. He was a farmer. 
He married, November 12, 1754, Eunice Jen- 
nings, who died May 23, 1799. Children: 
Nathan, born June 12, 1755; Isaiah, July 13, 
1756; Phineas, November 14, 1758, mentioned 
below; Francis, May 30, 1760; Jonathan, Feb- 
ruary 25, 1762; Theodore, March 30, 1764; 
Asa, January 17, 1766; Cyrus, December 13. 
1768; Eunice, October 16, 1770. 

(VI) Phineas, son of Francis (2) Ingalls, 
was born in Andover, November 14, 1758, 
died January 5, 1844. He was a soldier in 
the revolution and was in the battle of Bunker 
Hill, June 17, 1775, and in Albany in 1776. 
He removed to Bridgton, Maine, where he 
died. He married, October 22, 1783, Eliza- 
beth Stevens, born November 19, 1764, died 
July 19, 1858, daughter of Jacob Stevens. 
Children, born in Bridgton, Maine : Aaron, 
September 20, 1784; Asa, January 14, 1787; 
Theodore, February 20, 1790; Elizabeth, May 
1, 1793; Eunice, September 8, 1795, died Oc- 
tober 9, 1845; Phineas. December 22, 1797, 
mentioned below; Cynthia, June 9, 1800, died 
September 30, 1866; Tabitha, February 15, 
1803 ; Almira, December 14, 1806. died March 
26, 1840. 

(VII) Dr. Phineas (2) Ingalls, son of 
Phineas (1) Ingalls, was born in Bridgton. 
Maine, December 22, 1797. 



He was a physician at Gorham and 
died there February 24, 1858. He mar- 
ried, March 19, 1845, Ruth Huston, born at 
Gorham, Maine, July 11, 181 5, daughter of 
Samuel and Nancy (Mosher) Elder. She was 
a descendant of Josias Cook, who came in the 
"Mayflower" in 1620. Children: Nancy Eliz- 
abeth, born February 25, 1847, died February 
26, 1847; Francis, July 7, 1848, died July 8, 
1848; Frederick, May 10, 1850, died May II, 
1850; Phineas Henry mentioned below. 

(VIII) Dr. Phineas Henry Ingalls, son of 
Dr. Phineas (2) Ingalls, was horn at Gorham. 
Maine, April 13, 1856. He attended the public 
schools of his native town and of Portland, 

He graduated from Bowdoin College 
in 1877 with the degree of A. B. and received 
the degree of A. M. in 1885. Pie chose the 
profession of his father for his life work, and 
began to study medicine under Dr. S. H. 
Tewksbury and Dr. Charles W. Bray. He at- 
tended two courses of lectures at the Maine 
Medical School and graduated from the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons in New York 
City in 1880. He was then appointed house 
surgeon in the Woman's Hospital in New 
York City and gained much valuable experi- 
ence in surgical work. In November, 1881, 
he returned to Portland. He located in March, 
1882, in Hartford and has continued in active 
practice there wth the utmost success to the 
present time. For the first three years his 
office was located on Elm street, and since 
then he has been at his present office, 112 
High street. He makes a specialty of dis- 
eases peculiar to women and much of his prac- 
tice is surgical in operations and consultations 
in Hartford and vicinity. His gynecological 
practice is probably the largest of any physician 
in the state. In 1884 Dr. Ingalls was appoint- 
ed visiting gynecologist of the Hartford Hos- 
pital. In 1899, after the death of Dr. Campbell, 
Dr. Ingalls was appointed medical examiner 
of the Aetna Insurance Company. The 
extent and variety of his surgical work may 
be indicated by the fact that he performs some 
two hundred operations every year. He has 
taken an active interest in municipal politics 
and was appointed to the board of police com- 
missioners by Mayor Brainard. He was chair- 
man of the building committe in charge of the 
new police station and largely through his ef- 
forts the building was secured. 

In 1883 he was appointed asistant surgeon 
of the First Connecticut Regiment; in 1885 
he was commissioned adjutant and in 1890 
was brigade inspector on the staff of General 
Watson. He was an earnest, efficient and en- 
thusiastic officer and his resignation in 1892, 

due to the demands of his practice, was greatly 
regretted by his associates in the militia. He 
is a member of the city, county and state med- 
ical societies ; of the American Gynecologist 
Society, composed of specialists and limited in 
membership to one hundred. He was elected 
to membership in 1890 and is the only member 
from Connecticut. He is a member of the 
Board of Censors of the Hartford Medical 
Society and of the Alumni Association of the 
Woman's Hospital of New York City. He 
has contributed papers on technical subjects 
to the various medical societies of which he is 
a member ; viz : "Non-Surgical Treatment of 
Anteflexion," published in the New York Med- 
ical Journal, March 27, 1886; "Damages of 
Parturition and Their Repair," Connecticut 
Medical Society, 1886; "Uterine Cancer," 
Connecticut Medical Society, 1889; "Slough- 
ing Fibroids of the Uterus," American Gyne- 
cological Society, 1891 ; "Successful Case of 
Cassarean Section," American Journal of Ob- 
stetrics, August, 1892. Dr. Ingalls is a mem- 
ber of the Hartford Club, the Country Club, 
the Republican Club, the Hartford Golf Club, 
the Colonial Club, the Sons of the American 
Revolution, the Society of Colonial Wars and 
the Church Club of Connecticut. He is a 
prominent member of Christ Church of Hart- 
ford (Episcopalian). He is fond of travel and 
during his vacations has seen much of the 

He married, May 13, 1885, Mary Helen 
Beach, born at Hartford, July 12, 1861, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Watson and Josephine E. (Cof- 
fing) Beach. (See Beach VII.) Their only 
child, Phineas, born June 10, 1886, died fune 
13, 1886. 

(The Beach Line). 

(VII) Joseph Watson Beach, son of George 
Beach (q. v.), was born December 28, 1823, 
died in Hartford, March 16, 1887. He was 
for many years a member of the firm of Beach 
& Company, widely known as a large import- 
ing house of colors and dye-stuffs. He was 
also president of the Weed Sewing Machine 
Company, a former president of the Mercan- 
tile Bank, in which he was a director up to 
the time of his death. He was also a director 
of the Machine Screw Company ; vice-presi- 
dent and director of the Western Automatic 
Screw Company ; secretary of the Grove 
Works, and director of the Broad Brook Man- 
ufacturing Company. He was well informed 
on all general subjects, and was a student of 
chemistry, in which he was much interested. 
He was a man of happy disposition and charm- 
ing social qualities, and was extremely popu- 
lar among a large circle of acquaintances and 
friends. Of fine physique and handsome per- 



sonal appearance, he was a well-known figure 
in the life of the city. He married Josephine 
E. Coffing. Children: i. Katharine, married 
George H. Day. 2. Dr. Charles C, graduate 
of Yale Scientific School, 1877; College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, 1882; was house 
physician in St. Luke's Hospital, New York 
City, and then went to Berlin and Vienna to 
study; settled in Hartford; married Mary E. 
liatterson and had Goodwin Batterson, Joseph 
Watson, Charles Bradford and Elizabeth 
Goodwin. 3. George W., in firm of Beach, 
Trieber & Company, Boston. 4. Mary Helen, 
born July 12, 1861 ; married Phineas . Henry 
Ingalls, M. D. (See Ingalls VIII). 5. Rich- 
ard J. 

William Fuller was a locksmith 
FULLER of Chelmsford, England. He 
had two sons, William, John, 
mentioned below. 

(II) John, son of William Fuller, was born 
in England and came to New England with 
his brother William, in the ship "Abigal" in 
May, 1635. He settled in Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts, afterwards removed to Salisbury, but 
returned to Ipswich about 1648. In that year 
he was one of the subscribers to the General 
Denison fund. He served as surveyor in 1663, 
was a commoner in 1664, an d owned land near 
Rocky Hill. He married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Thomas Emerson. Their children were : 
William, John, James, Thomas, Nathaniel, 
Joseph, mentioned below ; Susanna, Elizabeth, 
Mary. John Fuller died June 4, 1666; his will 
proved September 25, 1666, bequeathed to wife 
and children, and to a child unborn, money, 
lands, houses, stocks, "moveables and debts." 
Will recorded at Salem, Massachusetts. 

(III) Sergeant Joseph, son of John Fuller, 
was born in Ipswich, Massachusetts, July 4, 
1658. He was a commoner in 1707, and had 
granted to him the third lot between Samuel 
Ordway's shop and the town bridge in Ips- 
wich, March, 1692-93. He had a seat in the 
new meeting house in 1700, and subscribed ten 
shillings towards the new bell. In October, 
1685, he married Mary Hayward ; children: 
Joseph, mentioned below ; Thomas, born April 
6, 1692; William, March 7, 1693; John, May 
16, 1698. Sergeant Joseph Fuller died Au- 
gust 22, 1 73 1, aged seventy-three. 

(IV) Joseph (2), son of Sergeant Joseph 
(1) Fuller, was born in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, August 13, 1690. He was a carpenter 
by trade. He settled in Suffield, Connecticut, 
in 1715; and was the ancestor of all the Fuller 
families in that vicinity. He received from 
his father in 1714 a deed of lands bought in 
1696 of Samuel Bush, including his Suffield 

proprietary grants, with an eighteen-acre lot 
on High street adjoining the land of John 
Hanchett. The deed is recorded in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. Mr. Fuller was select- 
man in 1 72 1, surveyor 1727, constable 1728, 
surveyor 1733, tythingman 1735. He married 
Bathsheba Hanchett, September 18, 1715. 
Their children were: Mary (twin), born June 
11, 1 7 16, died April 17, 171 7; Bathsheba 
(twin) ; Mary, May 8, 1718; Sarah, May 31, 
1720; Hannah, October 3, 1721, died January 
2, 1722; Joseph, mentioned below. Joseph 
Fuller died March 14, 1744, his will, dated Oc- 
tober 10, 1743, is on record at Northampton, 
Massachusetts. In this will occurs this para- 
graph. "I bequeath to my son Joseph my 
negro man named Ishamel." 

(V) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) Fuller, 
was born in Suffield, Connecticut, August 25, 
1726. He married Rebecca Norton, March 11, 
1762; a daughter of John and Rebecca (Shel- 
don) Norton, granddaughter of Captain 
George and Hannah (Younglove) Norton, and 
great-granddaughter of George Norton. Her 
mother was a daughter of Jonathan and Mary 
(Southwell) Sheldon, and granddaughter of 
Isaac and Mehitable (Gunn) Sheldon. Chil- 
dren : Joseph, mentioned below ; Appolos, born 
1767, died the same year; John, May 19, 1770; 
Appolos, May 29, 1772, died in 1847. Joseph 
Fuller died March 25, 1807, aged eighty-one. 
His wife, Rebecca (Norton) Fuller, died 1813, 
aged eighty. 

(VI) Captain Joseph (4), son of Joseph (3X 
Fuller was born November 11, 1765. He re- 
sided in Suffield, Connecticut, where he was a 
prominent citizen and well-to-do farmer. He 
married, June 30, 1796, Mary, daughter of 
Ensign William and Lucy (Hathaway) King, 
granddaughter of Lieutenant William and 
Bethiah (Bedlake) King, great-granddaughter 
of James and Elizabeth (Fuller) King, and 
great-great-granddaughter of William King 
(see King VII.). Her mother was daughter 
of Samuel (Roe) Hathaway, granddaughter 
of Deacon Abraham and Rebecca (Welber) 
Hathaway, great-granddaughter of John Hath- 
away, son of Nicholas Hathaway. Sarah Roe 
was daughter of Peter and Sarah (Reming- 
ton) Roe, granddaughter of Hugh and Abi- 
gal Roe, and of Thomas and Mehitable Rem- 
ington. Children of Joseph and Mary (King) 
Fuller: George, born June 24, 1798, died 1875, 
married Eliza Fuller, November 24, 1824, she 
died in 1865; Mary, September n, 1800, died 
lune 28, 1806; Joseph, mentioned below ; Wil- 
liam Franklin, April 3. 1805, married Harriet 
Jewett, 1827, who died 1872. Captain Joseph 
Fuller died December 17, 1843. 

(VII) Joseph (5), son of Captain Joseph 



(4) Fuller, was born in Suffield, Connecticut, 
July 13, 1803. Mr. Fuller in early life taught 
school for a time. From 1835 to 1837 he was 
a merchant in New Britain in company with 
Curtis Whoples. He afterwards returned to 
Suffield and conducted a farm. He was also 
interested in manufacturing, and for more 
than thirty-five years devoted a large part of 
his time to fire insurance business, continuing 
until he was eighty-five years of age. Upon 
the surrender of his commission of the agency 
of the Springfield Fire Marine Insurance Com- 
pany, President Dunham of that company 
wrote him a letter, congratulating him upon 
his success and good work for the company, 
saying : "There is now no officer or employee 
of this company that was here when you began 
to act as agent, you have outlived all of the 
original officers and managers." Mr. Fuller 
held many important positions in the church 
and town. He married, May 25, 1830, Cor- 
delia Smith, of Amherst, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Colonel Horace and Rebecca 
(Moody) Smith. Colonel Smith was a des- 
cendant of the Hadley Smiths. A Puritan and 
an abolitionist of note, both of her ancestors 
were among the prominent early New Eng- 
land families. Mrs. Fuller inherited a keen 
sense of justice and a strictness in the observ- 
ance of the older times ; to her and her family 
the Sabbath was always a day for rest and 
worship. She was deeply interested in edu- 
cation, a great lover of nature, delighted to 
roam in the fields and woods, and her fond- 
ness for flowers continued to the last. Mr. 
Fuller died April 22, 1890, aged eighty-six; 
his wife, Cordelia (Smith) Fuller, died Febru- 
ary 15, 1896, aged eighty-seven. Their chil- 
dren were: 1. Reuben Tinker, born July 20, 
1 83 1, died September 8, 1831 ; 2. Caroline Re- 
becca, September 14, 1832, a teacher in early 
life, a member of the Congregational Church 
and the Woman's Reading Club of Suffield, 
also a member of the National Society of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution and 
charter member of the Sybil Kent Chapter, 
No. 15,461, admitted November 5, 1896. Mar- 
ried Ashbel Comfort Harmon, May 14. 1873. 
He was born in Suffield, March 6, 1841. He 
enlisted August 25, 1862, in the Twenty-second 
Regiment, Connecticut Volunteers. He was a 
member of Samuel Brown Post, Grand Army 
of the Republic ; secretary and treasurer of the 
Veteran Association of Suffield, and clerk of 
the Congregational church in Suffield. He died 
November 4, 1909. 3. Horace Smith, men- 
tioned below. 4. Dwight Seymour, born Oc- 
tober 5, 1837; educated in the public school 
and Connecticut Literary Institute of Suffield ; 
an active member of the Congregational 

church, and a member of the choir for more 
than fifty years. He is a farmer and promi- 
nent citizen ; director of the First National 
Bank and vice-president of Suffield Savings 
Bank ; trustee of the Connecticut Literary In- 
stitute, and a member of the finance commit- 
tee. He was a member of the legislature, 
1895-96, and on the committee of humane in- 
stitutions. He married, October 24, i860, 
Sarah Jane Fowler, of Suffield, only child of 
Charles and Jane (Tucker) Fowler. 5. Sarah 
Jane, born February 17, 1841 ; educated in the 
public school and Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute of Suffield, with a musical education at 
Mnsicvale Seminary, of Salem, Connecticut. 
She taught music in Suffield and was for sev- 
eral years organist in the Congregational 
church. Was married to Ashbel Comfort Har- 
mon (as his first wife), October 7, 1868. She 
died December 1, 187 1. 6. Frank, born May 
13, 1844, died July 7, 1847. 7- Mary, born 
April 16, 1849; a member of the Congrega- 
tional church in Suffield ; four years president 
of the Ladies' Aid Society, and twelve years 
vice-president of the Home Missionary So- 
ciety ; a member of the Woman's Reading 
Club, and also a member of the National So- 
ciety of the Daughters of the American Revo- 
lution, and charter member of the Sybil 
Dwight Kent Chapter, No. 15,456, admitted 
November 5, 1896. Married, September 22, 
1870, Joseph Butler Fairfield, who was born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, July 11, 1846. He 
was a farmer and for ten years was associated 
with his father-in-law, Joseph Fuller, in the 
fire insurance business. He was engaged in 
the leaf tobacco business in New York City 
for about ten years. He was clerk in the Con- 
gregational church in Suffield for a term of 
years ; member of Washington Chapter, No. 
30, Royal Arch Masons, Suffield, and served 
as secretary of the chapter for some years ; 
also a member of the Washington Command- 
ery, Knights Templar, Hartford. Children of 
Joseph B. and Mary Fairfield : i. Julia Louise, 
born January 24, 1878, died July 12, 1884; ii. 
Carolyn May, born December 11, 1885; a 
member of the Congregational church, Suf- 
field, and the leading singer in the choir. 

(VIII) Horace Smith, son of Joseph (5) 
and Cordelia (Smith) Fuller, was born April 
10, 1835. in Suffield, Connecticut, a town noted 
for its educational facilities and social life. His 
ancestors, who were all from England and 
were among the very early settlers of this 
country, furnished a favorable hereditary in- 
fluence to help in his life work. He received 
his early education in the public school and in 
the Connecticut Literary Institute at Suffield, 
an educational center long known in the state 



for its high standard and good work, and was 
the salutatorian of the class of 1854. He 
taught school at Southwick, Massachusetts, 
for one term ; then entered Amherst College, 
was graduated in the class of 1858, and three 
years later received the degree of A. M. from 
his alma mater. Then followed several years 
of teaching in Williamsburg, Massachusetts, 
in Kentucky, and at the Connecticut Literary 
Institute, of which he was a graduate. At this 
time he felt that his life work should be medi- 
cine, and entered Harvard Medical School in 
the fall of 1862. He took his second and third 
course at the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons in New York, where he was graduated 
in 1865. In March of that year he was ap- 
pointed acting assistant surgeon in the United 
States army, and was stationed at Fort Schuy- 
ler, New York Harbor, where he continued on 
duty until the close of the war, doing good 
service, which was of great value to him in 
his later practice. In the following October 
Dr. Fuller came to Hartford, Connecticut, and 
established himself in his profession, where he 
has gained the confidence and esteem of the 
citizens. To-day he is one of the noteworthy 
figures in the medical profession, and is valued 
by every one both as a man and a physician. 
A sketch of him some years ago says : "Of 
quiet, unobstrusive character, he makes the 
impresson of solid acquirements, good judg- 
ment, and his personal history during the 
forty-four years of his Hartford residence 
bears this out." Dr. Fuller is a Republican in 
politics and has held prominent places in both 
city and state. From 1877 to 1884 he was 
coroner and chairman of the health commit- 
tee, and since that date until the present time 
he has served as medical examiner under the 
new law. For twenty-three years he was vis- 
iting physician at the Hartford Hospital and 
since then a member of the consulting board. 
He has been president of the Board of Medical 
Examiners of the State of Connecticut since 
its organization. He was a member of the 
P>oard of United States Pension Examiners 
from 1873 to 1885. During Governor An- 
drew's adminstration he was surgeon-general 
on the governor's staff, 1879-80. He is a mem- 
ber of the American Medical Association, of 
the Connecticut Medical Society ; of the Hart- 
ford County Medical Society, of which he has 
been president; of the Hartford Medical So- 
ciety, of which he was president in 1890. Dr. 
Fuller frequently appeared in court as a medi- 
cal expert. Through his official duties he has 
made a wide acquaintance with the legislators 
and members of the bar, and has gained an 
enviable reputation for ability, efficiency and 
integrity. Dr. Fuller is a member of the Con- 

necticut Historical Society, of the Hartford 
Archeological Society, of the Connecticut 
Congregational Club, and a member of the 
Center Congregational Church of Hartford. 
Of college societies he was a member of the 
Alpha Delta Phi and the Phi Beta Kappa, the 
latter indicating his scholarship. Dr. Fuller 
has taken a keen interest in genealogy and 
local history. In the course of many years has 
made a unique and valuable collection of pot- 
tery and porcelain, much of which was used 
during the Colonial period and was obtained 
from old New England familes. He recently 
presented this collection to the Wadsworth 
Athenaeum. It was classified and labeled under 
the direction of Dr. Edwin A. Barbour, direc- 
tor of the Pennsylvania Museum of Philadel- 
phia. The collection has now been placed in 
the Morgan Memorial Building at Hartford. 
Dr. Fuller's record as a citizen and physican, 
together with the positions of trust and honor 
which he has held, reflects credit upon his 
honored ancestry. His various activities have 
so occupied his time that he has not been a 
frequent contributor to medical literature, but 
occasionally a valuable paper has come from 
his pen. However, his high professional 
standard shows that he is a skillful and author- 
itative physician. The regard in which Dr. 
Fuller is held by his associates is shown by 
the fact that a loving cup was presented to 
him January 3, 1910, as a token of the love 
and friendship borne by the Hartford City 
Medical Society to the member whom "it most 
desired to honor." 

Lieutenant Samuel Smith, immi- 
SMITH grant ancestor of this branch of 

the family in New England, was 
born in England about 1602. He sailed on 
April 30, 1634, for New England in the ship 
"Elizabeth" of Ipswich, with his wife Eliza- 
beth, and children : Samuel, aged nine, Eliza- 
beth, aged seven, Mary, aged four, and Philip, 
aged one. He and his wife were then called 
thirty-two years of age. He settled first at 
Salem and was admitted a freeman, September 
3, 1634. He was a proprietor there in 1638. 
He removed to Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
where he was a leading citizen ; was chosen 
representative more than any other man, serv- 
ing almost the entire session from 164 1 to 
1653. He was one of the committee to make 
settlement for the purchase of Saybrook and 
its dependencies. He also took a very active 
part in the church as well as the state. It 
may be of interest here to give a short ac- 
count of the "Hartford Controversy," showing 
the strong feeling of the time in matters of 
conscience as well as the reason why Samuel 



Smith with others removed to Hadley in 1659. 
The church at Hartford was one of the largest 
and most eminent in New England, and the 
two ministers, Thomas Hooker and Samuel 
Stone, though unlike in some respects, were 
both great and good men, whose praise was 
in all the churches. Mr. Hooker was firm and 
decided, yet prudent and conciliatory, and there 
was no serious trouble while he lived. A few 
years after his death a contention arose with 
a majority of the church on one side and a 
strong minority on the other. On each side 
were men of distinction in the town and col- 
ony. The first disturbance was occasioned by 
the call of a person to supply the place of 
Mr. Hooker, who had died. Then arose the 
question about the enlarging of baptism. The 
minority were attached to the order professed 
and practiced under Mr. Hooker. They pre- 
ferred to adhere to the Cambridge platform, 
and were opposed to any changes. Mr. Stone 
endeavored to introduce some new practices 
Tnto the church ; these innovations were dis- 
pleasing to the minority. The changes related 
to three subjects: qualifications for baptism, 
churchmanship, and the rights of brotherhood. 
Only the members of the church in full com- 
munion had their children baptized. The 
synod held in Boston in 1657 decided that 
children could be baptized if their parents were 
not scandalous, though not members of the 
church in full communion. Mr. Stone ad- 
vocated it. This met with so much opposition 
that the minority formally withdrew from the 
church and formed a union with the church 
in Wethersfield under Mr. John Russell. The 
matter was brought before the court of Mas- 
sachusetts, who forbid their withdrawal. They 
then applied to the court of Massachusetts for 
a grant of land in Hadley, which was given 
them on condition that they should submit to 
an orderly hearing of the differences between 
themselves and their brethren. In appointing 
the annual Thanksgiving in November one 
reason given for thanks was the settling of the 
differences in Hartford. The general court 
of Massachusetts, so careful to have the mem- 
bers separate from the church in an orderly 
manner, never suggested that there was any ir- 
regularity in the conduct of the Wethersfield 
members who settled in Hadley in 1659. The 
Saybrook platform, in 1708, was the result of 
this compromise between the parties. Mr. 
Smith was one of the leading men in Hadley, 
where he also held important offices in both 
church and state. He was representative from 
1661 to 1673, a commoner and magistrate of 
the town in 1661, lieutenant of militia from 
1663 to 1667. He was a thrifty and substan- 
tial farmer. He died about 1680, aged sev- 

enty-eight. The inventory of his estate was 
taken January 17, 1681 ; amount a little more 
than seven hundred pounds. Children : Sam- 
uel, born about 1625 ; Elizabeth, born about 
1627; Mary, born about 1630; Philip, men- 
tioned below ; Chileab, born about 1635 ; John. 

(II) Lieutenant Philip, son of Lieutenant 
Samuel Smith, was born in England, April 
30, 1633, and came when an infant with his 
parents to New England. In later years he 
settled in Hadley, Massachusetts, and succeed- 
ed his father as lieutenant of the troop. He 
served as justice, selectman, member of the 
general court, and deacon of the church ; a 
man for devotion, sanctity, gravity, and all 
that was honest, exceeding exemplary. "He 
was murdered January 10, 1685, with an hide- 
ous witchcraft that filled all this part of New 
England with astonishment" (see Cotton 
Mather in his "Magnalia"). Philip Smith 
married Rebecca, daughter of Nathaniel Foot, 
of Wethersfield. Children : Samuel, born 
January, 1659; child, died January 22, 1661 ; 
Jonathan ; Deacon John, mentioned below ; 
Philip; Rebecca, married George Stillman, 
died October 7. 1750; Nathaniel; Joseph; 
Ichabod, born April 11, 1675. Philip Smith's 
widow married Major Aaron Cook, October 
2, 1688, died April 6, 1701. 

(III) Deacon John, son of Lieutenant 
Philip Smith, was born in Hadley, December 
18, 1661. He married Joanna, daughter of 
Joseph Kellogg, November, 29, 1683. They 
lived on the Springfield road. Children born 
at Hadley : John, mentioned below ; Joanna, 
born September 1, 1686; Rebecca, August 5, 
1687, married Samuel Crow; Joseph, July 19, 
1690; Martin, April 15, 1692; Eleazer, Sep- 
tember 25, 1694, died October 3, 1721 ; Sarah, 
November 9, 1698; Prudence, March 15, 1701, 
died April 18, 1774; Experience, April 19, 
1703, died August 23, 1762; Elizabeth, Oc- 
tober 12, 1705, died 1790; Mindwell, May 25, 
1708. Deacon John Smith died April 16, 1727, 
aged sixty-six; his wife survived him. 

(IV) John (2), son of Deacon John (1) 
Smith, was born at Hadley, December 3, 1684. 
He married Esther, daughter of Ephraim Col- 
ton, of Long Meadow, and lived on Cold hill. 
He was made a deacon in 1743 ; South Hadley 
was made a district April 3, 1753, at which 
time he was appointed moderator and assessor. 
Their children, born in Hadley, were : Philip, 
born October 12. 1712; Ephraim, November 
17, 1714; John, February 20, 1717 ; Phineas, 
April 12, 1719; Silas, mentioned below; Elea- 
zer, January 27, 1725; Esther, November 27, 
1726; Josiah, 1730. Deacon John Smith died 
December 25, 1761, aged seventy-seven; his 
wife died at the age of eighty-four. 


(V) Silas, son of John (2) Smith, was born delia, August 15, 1808, married, May 25, 
at Hadley, February 13, 1721. He was in the 1830, Joseph Fuller, of Suffield (see Fuller, 
French and Indian war in 1757 and served on VII) ; Silas Moody, May 8, 1810; Asenath, 
various committees to carry on the revolution. July 8, 1812; Josiah White, June 3, 1819. His 
He married (first) in 1749, Sarah, daughter wife died November 3©^ 1821, aged thirty- 
of John and Mary (Smith) Preston, grand- eight. Colonel Smith married (second) Sarah 
daughter of John and Sarah (Gardner) Pres- King, of Suffield, Connecticut, born June 16, 
ton. Mary Smith was daughter of Luke and 1785, died July 22, 1866. Her father was 
Mary (Crow) Smith, granddaughter of Chi- Seth King, born in Suffield, September 20, 
leab and Hannah (Hitchcock) Smith, and 1758, died February 10, 1846, aged eighty- 
great-granddaughter of Lieutenant Samuel eight. He was a soldier in the revolution. 
Smith. He married (second) Rebecca Allen, Her grandfather was Ensign William King, 
born February 9, 1731, died July 24. 1804. born in 1721, died 1791. He served in the 
Children: Philip; Perez, born 1753; Silas, Lexington alarm. 

mentioned below ; Sarah, married Hugh Mc- 

Master, of Palmer, Massachusetts. Silas ( The Kin s Line) - 

Smith died 1809, aged eighty-eight. The King family is descended from ancient 

(VI) Deacon Silas (2), son of Silas (1) English stock. The origin of the name is un- 
Smith, was born November 30, 1754, died ascertained, but may have come from the prac- 
March 23, 1813. He was a deacon of the tice of having mock pageants and ceremonies, 
church in South Hadley. He married in 1780 The person to whom was assigned the part of 
(intentions dated March 18, 1780) Asenath, king became known by that name afterward, 
daughter of Phineas and Bethia (Chapin) No less than thirty-eight coats-of-arms are 
Chapin, granddaughter of John and Sarah given as belonging to King families, with fif- 
(Bridgeman) Chapin, great-granddaughter of teen borne by families spelling their name 
Hapeth and Abilene (Cooley) Chapin, and Kinge. The coat-of-arms borne by the immi- 
great-great -granddaughter of Deacon Samuel grant ancestor of this branch of the family is : 
and Cicely Chapin. Her mother was a daugh- Sable on a chevron, or, between three crosses 
ter of Benjamin and Hannah (Col ton) Cha- crosslet of the last, three escalops of the first, 
pin, granddaughter of Henry and Bethia An esquire helmet surmounts the shield. As 
(Cooley) Chapin, and great-granddaughter of early as 1389 the King family was seated in 
Deacon Samuel Chapin, mentioned above, the vicinity of Ugborough, England. Fowels- 
Children : Horace, mentioned below ; Rufus, combe, in the parish of Ugborough, is an estate 
March 2, 1782; Allen, December 8, 1783; of considerable extent, which has for a long 
Child, born and died August 29, 1785; Ase- period been the property of the King family, 
nath, born March 3, 1787: Laura, March 10, The manor house for several years has been 
1789; Warren, September 25, 1790; Hiram, out of repair and untenanted. The following 
September 23, 1793. is supposed to be the ancestry of William and 

(VII) Colonel Horace, son of Silas (2) James King, who came to America. 

Smith, was born in South Hadley, February (I) Thomas Kynge was born before 
16, 1781. He removed to Chester and his the opening of the parish registers at Ugbor- 
name first appears on the assessors' list of ough in 1538, and was probably the father of 
1809. He took a leading part in both town William, mentioned below, 
and church affairs. Colonel Smith removed (II) William (1) Kinge, married Mar- 
to Amherst about 1821, where he lived until garet . 

his death, November 11, 1862. He was a (III) William (2) Kinge married, Septem- 

deacon in the First Church, colonel in the mi- ber 27, 1621, Christina Lapp, 

litia and justice of the peace. He was an ar- (IV) William (3) King was born in Ug- 

dent abolitionist, and as such took a very borough about 1622. He married there, Oc- 

active and prominent part in their meetings, tober 16, 1642, Agnes Elwill, who was buried 

He was one of those sturdy men, who was April 7, 1662. He became interested in the 

always depended upon in town meetings to fisheries along the American coast and was 

stand for the right, however unpopular a meas- lost at sea on the Newfoundland banks. Chil- 

ure might be. He strictly observed Saturday dren: William, baptized December 31, 1643; 

night, and all secular work as far as possible James, mentioned below. 

must be finished before the sun went down. (V) James, son of William (3) King, was 

Colonel Smith married, March 5, 1805, Re- baptized at Ugborough, November 7, 1647. 

becca Moody, born March 28, 1783, daughter He came to New England and settled first at 

of Josiah Moody (see Moody VI). Children: Ipswich, where he married, March 23, 1674, 

Mary Berintha, born December 2, 1806; Cor- Elizabeth Fuller, born at Ipswich, May 31, 


1652, died June 30. 171 5, daughter of John (first) December 28, 1743, Sarah Fuller, who 

and Elizabeth (Emerson) Fuller. Elizabeth died July 13, 1744. He married (second) June 

Emerson's mother was presented by Queen 26, 1747, Lucy Hathaway, born August 21, 

Elizabeth with certain household goods, par- 1725, died February 18, 181 7, daughter of 

ticularly a piece of fine linen cloth, which Samual Hathaway. Children, all by second 

descended to Elizabeth (Fuller) King, who in wife: Sarah, born June 13, 1748; Elizabeth, 

turn gave it to her daughter, Agnes King, June 22, 1751 ; Lucy, April 4, 1753; William, 

who married John Austin. James King was December 23, 1755; Seth, September 20, 1758, 

one of the original proprietors of Suffield, died February 10, 1846, soldier in the revo- 

Connecticut, where they removed after the lution ; Bethia, May 23, 1760; Roxanna, Au- 

birth of their first child. He received a grant gust 13, 1762; Mary, June 23, 1764, married 

of land there October 30, 1678, consisting of Captain Joseph Fuller (see Fuller VI) ; Dr. 

sixty acres on High street, "next south of the Apollos, November 29, 1766, died January 27, 

school lot." He built a house which was for 1810. 

a long period the family homestead. He had (The Moody Line), 

other grants of land. He was prominent in (I) George Moody, progenitor of the Amer- 

town affairs and in 1685 was elected tything- ican family, lived at Moulton, England, in 

man; in 1695 selectman; 1701 surveyor of Suffolk county. The pedigree of the family 

highways; 1702 on a committee to build the is preserved in the Harleian Manuscripts 6071 

school house; 1709 town clerk; 1710 sealer of in the British Museum (page 512, folio 254). 

weights and measures and for five years af- He ''was famous for his good housekeeping 

terwards. He was a cooper by trade. He and plain dealing." He married Lydia . 

married for his second wife, Hannah Loomis, Children: George, of Moulton; John, men- 
February 27, 1715, widow of Sergeant Samuel tioned below; Samuel, w 7 oolen draper of Bury 
Loomis; she died 1720. James King died at St. Edmunds, alderman, justice of the peace, 
Suffield, May 13, 1722. He gave away most member of parliament, had his father's estate 
of his property before he died. His will was after his brother's death ; children : George, 
dated Ma)' 10, 1722, and proved the following John, of further mention; Samuel, Mary, 
August. Children, all by first wife, the first Maryaret, Sarah, Anne and Elizabeth, 
born in Ipswich, the others in Suffield: James, (II) John, son of George Moody, was born 
born March 14, 1675, died July 15, 1757; in Moulton, England. He came to New Eng- 
William, January 4, 1679, died September 30, land in 1633 and settled at Roxburv, Massa- 
[680; Agnes, July 15, 1682, died January 7, chusetts. He was admitted a freeman of the 
[733: Benjamin, November 20, 1683; Benoni, colony, November 5, 1633. and was a deputy 
December 5, 1685, died June 17, 1686; Joseph, to the general court in 1634-35. He became 
born June 15, 1687, died January 23, 1688; a proprietor of Hartford in 1639 and his home 
Joseph, May 10, 1689, died March 6, 1756; lot there was 'on Main street opposite that of 
Mary, April 30, 1692, died May 8, 1769; Wil- George Wyllys. He was townsman (select- 
Ham, mentioned below. man) in 163*9-40; lieutenant in 1640. His 

(VI) Lieutenant William (4), son of James will was dated July 23, 1655, and his inventory 
King, was born at Suffield, September 29, was dated December 6, 1655. It amounted to 
1695, died January 8, 1774. He inherited most three hundred pounds, which he bequeathed 
of his father's estate and left the best landed to wife, son Samuel and daughter Elizabeth 
interest in Suffield. He was a farmer and Pepper. His widow Elizabeth died at Hadley 
weaver. He served as selectman, and was in 1671. He was called deacon in the records, 
several years deputy to the general court. He (HI) Samuel, son of John Moody, was born 
married (first) June 29, 1717, Bethia Bedlake, about 1640. He removed to Hadley, Massa- 
of Westfield, who died May 21, 1768. He chusets, in 1659, and died there September 22, 
married (second) February, 1770-72, Anne 1689. He married Sarah Deming, who died 
Adams, widow. By the first wife he had September 29, 1717. daughter of John Dem- 
twelve children, of whom eleven died before ing, of Wethersfield. Children : Sarah, mar- 
his death, ten of them without families. His ried John Kellogg; John, born July 24, 1661, 
eldest son, William, is mentioned below. died November 5, 1732; Hannah, March 5, 

(VII) Ensign William (5), son of Lieu- 1663, died unmarried January 6, 1713; Mary, 
tenant William (4) King, was born August married twice; Samuel, born November 28, 
10, 1721, died March 8, 1791. He inherited 1670; Ebenezer, mentioned below. 

his father's estate. He was appointed in June, (IV) Ebenezer, son of John Moody, was 

1768, ensign of the second train band of Suf- born October 23, 1675, died November 11, 

field. He served in the revolution in the Lex- 1757. He married Editha , who died 

ington alarm, April 19, 1775. He married August 19, 1757, in her seventy-fifth year. 



Children: Jonathan, born January 13, 1703, 
died April 3, 1703; Mary, December 28, 1705, 
died November 15, 1787; Ebenezer, February 
22, 1707; Sarah, January 13, 1709; Joseph, 
January 13, 1712; Daniel, March 12, 1715, 
died April 20, 1792; Josiah, mentioned below; 
Editha, married Joseph White ; Miriam, mar- 
ried Reuben Smith. 

(V) Josiah, son of Ebenezer Moody, was 
born in 1721, in South Hadley. He married 
(first) January 17, 1745, Rebecca White, who 
died September 15, 1751, aged twenty-seven. 
He married (second) Dorcas Clapp, widow of 
Noah Clapp, who died November 16, 1762, 
aged thirty-four. He married (third) Sarah 
Clark, widow of Matthew Clark, who died 
March 11, 1810, aged eighty-two. Children: 
Eliphaz, born November 23, 1745, died May 
15, 1752; Josiah, August 7, 1748, mentioned 
below; Rebecca, July 21, 1750, died September 
6, 1758; Dorcas, August 8, 1754; Mercy, Oc- 
tober 18, 1756; Sarah, July 16, 1764; Eliphaz, 
September 20, 1766; Sylvester, May 20, 1771. 

(VI) Josiah (2), son of Josiah (1) Moody, 
was born in South Hadley, August 7, 1748, 
died in 1828. He married, in November, 1771, 
Mary Elmer, of Ashfield. He served in the 
revolution in Lieutenant Martin Wate's com- 
pany, Colonel Ruggles Woodbridge's regi- 
ment, on a four days' expedition to the north- 
ern depot, and marched on the Bennington 
alarm, August 17, 1777. Children: Asenath, 
born 1772, married Hezekiah Moody ; Polly, 
1775, married Silas Smith; Heman, 1777, 
married Electa Moody; Clarissa, 1779, mar- 
ried Jonathan Yeomans ; Rebecca, 1783, mar- 
ried Colonel Horace Smith (see Smith VII). 

The surname -Hoadley was 
HOADLEY originally a place name. 

There are two parishes of the 
name in Sussex, England, and as early as 
1280 Margaret de Hothlegh and her father 
Solomon are mentioned in Sussex. In 1296 
William de Hodlegh, in 1318 Maurice de Hod- 
leye are mentioned in Sussex records. 

(I) William Hoadley, or Hoadle, as he 
wrote it, was born in England about 1630 and 
was the immigrant of this family. He settled 
in Saybrook, Connecticut, as early as 1663, 
and in 1666 bought the home lot of Rev. Abra- 
ham Pierson, of Branford, Connecticut. This 
lot Was on the west side of the public green, 
where the Totoket House now stands. He was 
a merchant, and his shop was next his dwelling 
house. He signed the Plantation Covenant 
of Branford, January 20, 1667-68, and was ad- 
mitted a freeman in October, 1669. He was 
a representative from Branford in the general 
court between 1678 and 1685, and one of the 

patentees of the town on February 16, 1685-6; 
selectman several years between 1673 and 
1690. At a town meeting held June 26, 1683, 
he was appointed to keep the ordinary in 
Branford. The death of his wife, perhaps, 
caused him to give up the tavern, and his suc- 
cessor was appointed March 28, 1687. He was 
one of the grand jurors at a court of quarter- 
sessions at New Haven in June, 1688; one of 
a committee appointed October 11, 1686, to 
make application to the general assembly at 
Hartford for liberty for' the town to embody 
into a church estate. In 1699 he was on a 
committee to build a meeting house and often 
served on committees to procure a minister 
for the town. The town gave him permission 
in December, 1701, to build a pew for himself 
and family in the meeting house, and for two 
of his sons and their wives, he building at his 
own charge, and, after his decease and his 
wife's, the pew to revert .to the town provided 
the town pay reasonable price for it. He filed 
his ear mark — a capital T and a half-penny — 
January 28, 1670, and December 19, 1674. He 
was elected constable December 21, 1677; 
served on a school committee in 1678; was on 
a committee to run the line between Branford 
and Wallingford, March 14, 1678-79 ; was 
elected a lister or assessor of the town Septem- 
ber 11, 1679; from time to time served on 
committees to lay out lots granted to pro- 
prietors of the town and inhabitants. He was 
elected March 25, 1679, on a turnpike com- 
mittee, and June 17, 1680, on a committee to 
consider some claims of New Haven to land 
in Branford. He and Edward Barker were 
appointed a committee April 26, 1681, to take 
an account of "what corn there is in town." 
He was a town auditor elected December 6, 
1 68 1. He owned much land and left a con- 
siderable estate, as shown by the inventory 
dated December 27, 1709, four pa^es in length, 
as copied in New Haven probate records. 
Among the items were : House, barn and home 
lot ; ten acres of land and meadow in the Mill 
Quarter, meadow land in the same section, 
meadow in Little Mill Quarter on near side 
of an island ; various other meadows ; a par- 
cel at Stony creek ; another at the mouth of 
Pine creek ; plowing land at Great Island, Lit- 
tle Plain, Indian Neck and Beaver Swamp; 
upland and swamp at Cole pit plain ; piece of 
swamp on the back side of the town ; pasture ; 
parcel called the hop-ground; 159 acres of 
fourth division ; right in undivided land ; six- 
teen acres at Stratford ; twenty acres at Hop 
Yard Plain, and twenty acres near the school 
land, etc. Mr. Hoadley was called captain 
and doubtless commanded a company of militia 
at some time. 



The name and time of death of the first wife 
of William Hoadley are unknown. He had 
eight children, according to list taken Janu- 
ary 17, 1676, but the names of but seven are 
known and but six survived him. He mar- 
ried (second) about 1686, Mary, widow of 
John Farrington, of Dedham, Massachusetts, 
and daughter of William Bullard, of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, and Dedham, who died 
May 12, 1703, in Branford. Hoadley married 
(third) in Branford, about 1704, Ruth, widow 
of John Frisbie. and daughter of Rev. John 
and Bridget (Thompson) Bowers. She was 
baptized December 20, 1657, ^ n New Haven 
and died April 26, 1736, in Branford. Chil- 
dren of first wife: 1. William, mentioned be- 
low. 2. Samuel, born about 1666. 3. John, 
married Mercy Crane. 4. Mary, married, 
about 1698, Nathaniel Finch of Branford. 5. 
Elizabeth, baptized February 15, 1668; died 
before her father. 6. Hannah, baptized No- 
vember 8, 1670, married Nathaniel Johnson, 
of Branford. 7. Abraham, married Elizabeth 
Maltby. He died in November or December, 
1709, aged about seventy-nine years. His will 
was presented but not allowed by the court 
and the settlement of his estate was the occa- 
sion of a long and unhappy litigation. The 
will is not to be found and its provisions are 
now unknown. 

(II) William (2), son of William (1) 
Hoadley, married (first) Abigail, daughter of 
Edward Frisbie of Branford; married (sec- 
ond) about 1703, Elizabeth, daughter of John 
and Mercy (Paine) Frost, born in 1673, in 
New Haven, Connecticut, died March 6, 
1740-41, in Branford. On the first Monday of 
June, 1710, he applied for letters of adminis- 
tration on the estate of his father, which the 
court refused. He then appealed to the court 
of assistants which granted his suit. It does 
not appear, however, that he had the adminis- 
tration. He was granted the privilege of set- 
ting up a saw mill on Stony river, provided he 
would agree to sell boards at five shillings and 
not take more than half a log to pay for saw- 
ing it. He died in Branford, May 30, 1738. 
Children of first wife, born in Branford : Mary, 
May 22, 1691 ; Hannah, April 27, 1693; Je- 
mima, March 24, 1695-96; children of second 
wife, born in Branford : Elizabeth ; William, 
mentioned below ; Lydia. 

(III) William (3), son of William (2) 
Hoadley, was born February 13, 1707-08, in 
Branford. He removed to Waterbury, and was 
one of the first who settled at Judd's Mead- 
ow, Salem Bridge, now the town of Nauga- 
tuck. It is probable that he removed there at 
the time that he and Major Way of Water- 
bury bought of James Baldwin, June 1, 1751, 

nearly all the latter's land, including a grist 
mill and half a saw mill, together with all the 
buildings, fruit trees, etc. July 6 of the same 
year, Way sold his half interest in the two 
hundred acres and mills to Richard Smith, of 
Woodbury, who conveyed them to Jonathan 
Beebe. In October, 1753, Beebe and Hoadley 
divided the land, the former keeping an inter- 
est in the house and mill place. They oper- 
ated the grist and saw mills together until 
May, 1754, when Beebe sold his interest to 
Hoadley, including his half interest in the 
house. Hoadley lived, it is supposed, in the 
Daniel Warner house, the first built in that 
section, until 1763, when he sold it with one 
acre of land to his son Lemuel. He appears 
to have built a house for himself on the north 
side of the brook and west of the grist mill. 
He married, about 1728, Sarah, daughter of 
Ebenezer and Hannah Frisbie, born January 
27, 1707, in Branford. He died in the spring 
of 1784 in Waterbury. His will, dated Au- 
gust 14, 1779, proved at Waterbury, April 5, 
1784, mentions his wife Sarah and all his chil- 
dren but David. On account of his very dark 
complexion, which he inherited from his 
mother, he was known around Waterbury as 
"Black Will" Hoadley. Children, born in 
Branford: Sarah, baptized December 6, 1730; 
Eunice, born 1732; William, baptized May 4. 
1734, mentioned below; Lemuel, baptized Feb- 
ruary 2j, 1737-8; Ebenezer, baptized March 
18, 1739; Ithiel, baptized May 3, 1741 ; Jude, 
born February 20, 1743; Elizabeth, baptized 
February 17, 1745-6, died young: David, bap- 
tized June 12, 1748, died young; Elizabeth, 
baptized March 17, 1751. 

(IV) William (4), son of William (3) 
Hoadley, was baptized May 4, 1734, in Bran- 
ford. He came with his father to Naugatuck 
and after the latter's death operated the mills 
till April, 1 810, when he sold his house, grist 
mill, and land to Ebenezer Scott, and removed 
with his son William to Ohio. After one 
year's residence there they returned to Nauga- 
tuck. He was in the war of American revolu- 
tion. He married, 1761, in Naugatuck, Esther, 
daughter of Joshua and Elizabeth (Burnham) 
Porter, born August, 1740, in Naugatuck, 
died September, 181 5, in Naugatuck. She 
is described as a very handsome woman 
and 1 viHag'e belle, and belonged to a wealthy 
family. Children born in Naugatuck: Ammi, 
born June 15, 1762, mentioned below; Cul- 
pepper, September 10, 1764; Lucina, 1767: 
Esther, 1769; William, December 28, 1774; 
Ithiel, 1776. 

(V) Ammi, son of William (4) Hoadley, 
was born June 15, '1762, in Naugatuck, and 
settled in Bethany, Connecticut, at what is 



called Hoadley Mills, where he owned a grist 
mill and water privileges and also manufac- 
tured wooden clock wheels. He was a quiet, 
unobtrusive man, deliberate in all his ways, of 
strict integrity and firm principles. He was 
an Episcopalian, and thoroughly devoted to the 
interests of his church. He married, April 
20, 1785, in Bethany, Amy, daughter of George 
Thompson, born September 12, 1763, in Beth- 
any, died there April 9, 1834. He died No- 
vember 14, 1834, in Bethany. Children, born 
in Bethany : Silas, January 31, 1786, mentioned 
below; Ada, November 25, 1788; Thompson, 
March 1, 1790; Albert, July 18, 1792; Har- 
riet, October 20, 1795 ; Lumon, August 10, 
1797; William Porter, March 14, 1800; Ursula, 
January 1, 1803; Garry, May 2, 1806. 

(VI) Honorable Silas Hoadley, son of 
Ammi Hoadley, was born January 31, 1786, 
in Bethany, and spent his boyhood in his na- 
tive place. His school advantages were very 
limited, for at an early age he was appren- 
ticed to Calvin Hoadley to learn the carpen- 
ter's and joiner's trade. He followed this 
trade until 1809, when he, with Eli Terry and 
Seth Thomas, engaged in the manufacture of 
wood clocks at a small settlement then called 
Ireland, afterwards Hoadleyville, in the south- 
eastern part of the town of Plymouth, Con- 
necticut. Since the property left the Hoadley 
family the name has been changed to Grey- 
stone. In i8to Mr. Terry sold out to Hoad- 
ley and Thomas, who carried on the business 
till 1814, when Mr. Thomas sold his interest 
to Mr. Hoadley. The latter continued it till 
1849, when he rented the shops for making 
knives and shears, till his death. Mr. Hoad- 
ley took an active interest in the affairs of 
state, town and church. In politics he was a 
Democrat, and was repeatedly honored by his 
townsmen with public marks of esteem, being 
elected to the general assembly in 1832-37-55, 
to the state senate in 1844. Both positions he 
faithfully and honorably discharged. In the 
legislative halls of his state, his happy way of 
illustrating his ideas always commanded re- 
spect and attention.. In religion he was an 
Episcopalian, and attendant of St. Peter's 
Church in Plymouth Centre, of which he was 
a vestryman. The church was generously re- 
membered in his will. He was a Free Mason 
of high standing, and one of the most re- 
spected and oldest members of Harmony 
Lodge, No. 42, F. and A. M., of Plymouth, 
with which he was connected for more than 
half a century, having united with the old 
Federal Lodge of Watertown in 181 7. He 
married, September 21, 1807, in Plymouth, 
Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Lucina 
Painter, born October 22, 1789, in Plymouth, 

died there March 1, 1864. He died in Ply- 
mouth, December 28, 1870. Children, born in 
Plymouth: Milo, July 25, 1809; George 
Thompson, mentioned below, September 22, 
181 1 ; Luther Hopkins, July 29, 1813; Sarah 
Jane, June 22, 1817; Mary Ann, May 4, 1819. 

(VII) George Thompson, son of Hon. 
Silas Hoadley, was born in Plymouth, Sep- 
tember 22, 181 1, and spent the early part of 
his life in the house where he was born, in 
Hoadleyville, now Greystone, in the town of 
Plymouth. At an early age he commenced 
driving a four-horse team to New Haven and 
Hartford two or three times a week, carrying 
clocks and returning with heavy loads of lum- 
ber. A few years after his marriage he moved 
to the Tomlinson farm one mile south of the 
center, where he lived for over forty years. 
After the death of his wife he sold his farm 
and bought the place on South street, where 
he died. In politics he was a Democrat. He 
married, October 2, 1832, in Plymouth, Eu- 
nice, daughter of Zecheriah and Polly (Fenn) 
Tomlinson, born October 7, 1812, in Ply- 
mouth, died there March 23, 1874. He died 
in Plymouth, August 24, 1888. Children, born 
in Plymouth : Harriette Ann, September 23, 
1833; Henry Tomlinson, June 26, 1835, men- 
tioned below ; Robert Luther, February 8, 
1838; Nancy Jane. August 20, 1849. 

(VIII) Henry Tomlinson, son of George 
Thompson Hoadley, was born June 26, 1835, 
in Plymouth. He received a common school 
education, and worked on the farm with his 
father till he was twenty years old, when he 
began mechanical work at Hoadleyville, now 
Greystone, in Plymouth. In i860 he entered 
the employ of Plume & Atwood in Thomas- 
ton, where he worked for twenty years, hold- 
ing responsible and important positions, until 
ill health compelled him to give up active 
labor. Mr. Hoadley was never active in poli- 
tics, but upheld the principles of the Demo- 
cratic party. He was prominent in Masonry, 
and at the time of his death had held every 
office in his lodge. He was a member of 
LJnion Lodge, No. 96, F. and A. M., in which 
he was raised to the master's degree Septem- 
ber 2y, 1870, was tyler the following year, 
served as junior deacon in 1873, was elected 
junior warden in 1874, and senior warden in 
1875. On December 21, 1875, he was unani- 
mously elected to preside in the East, a posi- 
tion which he filled with great credit to him- 
self and to the "craft." At the expiration of 
his term he was again elected, but owing to 
ill health declined the honor. He was a mem- 
ber of Granite Chapter, No. 36, R. A. M. In 
religion he was a Congregationalist, and be- 
came a member of the church July, 1859. He 



married, March 30, 1857, in Watertown, Con- 
necticut. Sarah Jennette, only daughter of 
Amos Murray and Elizabeth Ann (Titus) 
Judd, born February 24, 1836, in Watertown. 
He died September 26, 1882, in Plymouth. 

(IX) Carleton Edson, only child of Henry 
Tomlinson Hoadley, was born in Plymouth, 
February 16, 1862. He entered the Yale Law 
School in L885 and graduated with LL. B. in 
1887 and entered at once into the general 
practice of law in New Haven. He was a 
member of the common council of the city of 
New Haven, 1899-91. He was appointed 
prosecuting attorney of the Connecticut State 
Board of Health, September 13, 1893, and 
health officer of New Haven county by Gov- 
ernor Luzon B. Morris, and was reappointed 
to the same office by the judges of the superior 
court and has held it to the present time by 
various reappointments. In politics he is an 
independent. He is a member of the Con- 
necticut Society of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, by virtue of the service in the 
revolutionary war of Joseph Titus, an ances- 
tor of his mother. He is also a member of the 
United Congregational Church ; the Knights 
Templar Club ; the Union League Club of New 
Haven; Wooster Lodge, No. 78, Free Masons, 
of New Haven ; Franklin Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Harmony Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; New Haven Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; Pyramid Temple, Mystic 
Shrine, of Bridgeport; Lafayette Consistory, 
and is a thirty-second degree Mason of the 
Scottish Rite ; member of the Connecticut Bar 
Association, and American Bar Association. 
He has been active in the Royal Arcanum 
order for more than twenty years, and has 
been grand secretary since 1902, and formerly 
at the head of the order in Connecticut, and 
since 1905 member of the supreme council, 
the national body. 

He married, December 12, 1888, Minnie 
Stotesbury, of Matteawan, New York, born 
August 12, 1867, daughter of William Stotes- 
bury and Charlotte Meyers of Matteawan, 
New York. Children: 1. Henrietta Judd, born 
November 9, 1889, died August II, 1893. 2. 
Charlotte Stotesbury, born December 31, 
1890, died September 4, 1897. 3. Sarah Jen- 
nette Judd, born April 30, 1892. 4. Carleton 
Leonis, born October 4, 1898. 5. Nelson 
Titus, born August 24, 1893. 

Samuel Newton, of England, 
NEWTON was the progenitor of the 
Newton family of Connecticut. 
(II) Rev. Roger Newton, son of Samuel 
Newton, settled in Hartford, and was a stu- 
dent of divinity there under Rev. Thomas 

Hooker, the founder. He became the first min- 
ister of Farmington, Connecticut, about 1645. 
After twelve years he prepared for a visit to 
England, but while waiting in Boston for the 
ship to sail, there was such a season of storms 
that the captain thought Newton was the Jo- 
nah, who was the cause of the unfavorable 
weather, in seeking to escape the work of the 
Lord in this country, and sailed away without 
him. He was installed second pastor of the 
church at Milford, Connecticut, August 22, 
1660, succeeding Rev. Peter Prudden, and 
continued in this parish until he died, June 7, 
1683. He married, at Hartford, Mary, who 
died February 4, 1676, daughter of Rev. 
Thomas Hooker. Children, born at Hartfonl : 
Samuel, October 20, 1646, mentioned be- 
low; Roger, who became judge of the 
superior court, 1648; Susanna, born at 
Farmington, September 20, 1654, married 
John Stone ; John, born at Farmington, 
June, 1656, married Lydia Ford; Ezekiel, 
born at Hartford, December 19, 1659; 
Sarah, born at Milford, January 24, 1662, mar- 
ried John Wilson ; Mary, born at Milford, 
married Edward Jackson, of Newton, Massa- 
chusetts; Alice, born September 18, 1664, mar- 
ried Daniel Buckingham. 

(III) Samuel (2), son of Rev. Roger New- 
ton, was very active in town affairs, represent- 
ing Milford fifteen sessions in the general 
court, and was a famous fighter in the Milford 
militia in all the Indian wars, having the rank 
of captain. He married, March 14, 1669, 
Martha Fenn, born 1650, baptized July 7, 1650, 
daughter of Benjamin and Sarah (Baldwin) 
Fenn. Children, born at Milford : Martha, 
July 14, 1671 ; Susanna, July, 1673; Samuel, 
June 26, 1677; Thomas, 1679; Mary, baptized 
August 19, 1681 ; Roger, 1685; Sarah, bap- 
tized September 26, 1686. After the death of 
his wife, Martha Fenn Newton, Samuel mar- 
ried Sarah (Welch) Fowler, widow of John 
Fowler, daughter of Thomas Welch, and 
granddaughter of Thomas Buckingham. Sam- 
uel and Sarah (Welch) Newton had one son, 
Abner, born May 14, 1699. 

(IV) Abner, son of Samuel (2) and Sarah 
Newton, was baptized at Milford, May 16, 
1699. He settled at Durham, on Main street, 
in 1724, afterwards purchasing a farm over 
the line in Haddam. This part of Haddam 
was in 1773 transferred to Durham, and is 
known as Haddam Quarter. He married 
Mary Burwell, of the John Burwell family, in 
Milford. Children, with dates of baptism : 
Abner, October 23, 1726; John, baptized with 
Abner; Burwell, July 20, 1729, mentioned be- 
low; Samuel, November 5, 1732; Rev. Roger, 
May 15, 1737, graduate of Yale in 1758, pas- 



tor of Greenfield (Massachusetts) church fifty- 
three years. His son Roger was also a grad- 
uate of Yale in 1785. 

(V) Burwell, son of Abner Newton, was 
baptized July 20, 1729, at Durham. He was 
a soldier in the revolution, in Captain Norton's 
company, Colonel Thaddeus Cook's Tenth 
Regiment, Connecticut militia, in 1779. He 
married Eunice Johnson. Children, born at 
Durham: Abiathar, 1754; Burwell, 1756; 
Mary, 1759; Submit, 1762; Abner, mentioned 
below; Roger, twin of Abner; Roger, 1768; 
Isaac, 1770. 

(VI) Abner (2), son of Burwell Newton, 
was born at Durham, December 27, 1764. He 
was a deacon of the church, and a prominent 
citizen of Durham. As a boy of fourteen 
years, he enlisted as a minute-man in the 
revolutionary war, and was called into service 
whenever Connecticut was invaded, until peace 
was declared. He died September 9, 1852. 
He and his son Abner were members of the 
first temperance society in Durham, organized 
in 1828. He married Abigail Fairchild. Chil- 
dren : Elisha Fairchild, Abner, Horace, Gay- 
lord, Roger Watson, all mentioned below; 
Content, and Parnel. Abner Newton and 
Elisha Fairchild Newton enlisted as "troop- 
ers" (cavalry) in the war of 1812, but were 
not called into active service. 

(VII) Elisha Fairchild, born in Hartland, 
Connecticut, August 7, 1793, eldest son of 
Abner and Abigail (Fairchild) Newton, re- 
ceived his name in memory of his grandfather, 
Elisha Fairchild, who lost his life in the serv- 
ice of his country in 1777. He had two chil- 
dren — Israel Camp, and Abigail Maria. 

(VII) Abner (3), second son of Abner (2) 
and Abigail Newton, married Sarah Hall. 
Children: Rev. John Newton, graduate of 
Wesleyan University in 1847, tnen of Andover 
and Yale Divinity Schools; Harriet; Sarah 
Cornelia ; Abner and Frances. Frances married 
Rev. Charles W. Church, and their son, Ward 
Church, is one of the New Haven firm of 
Newton, Church & Hewitt, lawyers. Abner 
Newton Jr. was for many years publisher of 
the Middletown Constitution, and his son 
Abner succeeded him in that position. 

(VII) Horace, third son of Abner (2) and 
Abigail Newton, married Delight Camp. Their 
only daughter, Elizabeth, died at the age of 
twenty-two years. 

(VII) Gaylord, fourth son of Abner (2) 
and Abigail Newton, was born at Durham, 
July 31, 1804. He was for forty years deacon 
of the First Congregational Church in that 
place. For thirty-five winters he taught a dis- 
trict school or a select school in Durham, and 
neighboring towns; was for many years as- 

sessor and selectman, and held other town 
offices. He married Nancy M., daughter of 
Miles Merwin, a descendant of Miles Merwin, 
the immigrant ; she also was a successful 
teacher before her marriage. They lived in 
Durham. Children : Ellen Maria, born June 
24, 1841, died October 7, 1863; Henry Glea- 
son, born June 5, 1843 ( see forward) ; Caro- 
line Gavlord, born January 21, 1845, married 
Henry Huntington Newton. 

(VIII) Henry Gleason, son of Gaylord 
Newton, was born at Durham, June 5, 1843. 
He was named for Rev. Henry Gleason, who 
had joined his father and mother in marriage. 
He attended Durham Academy, and entered 
Wesleyan University at Middletown in 1861 ; 
his health failed and he left, entering again in 
1863, when his health again failed, and finally 
he graduated in the class of 1870. He was a 
member of the Eclectic and Phi Beta Kappa 
societies, was third in rank in his class, and 
excelled in mathematics. He graduated from 
the Yale Law School in 1872, taking prizes for 
essays in civil and common law, and was vale- 
dictorian on class day. He was admitted to 
the bar in 1872, and has practiced law in New 
Haven since that time. For many years he 
retained his residence in his native town and 
took an active part in public affairs. For 
twenty years he was school visitor, and at- 
torney for the town for thirty years. He was 
elected to the general assembly of Connecti- 
cut in 1885, an d was chairman of the judiciary 
committee and by virtue of his position was 
leader of the house. In 1886 he was declared 
elected by one vote to the assembly, but he 
himself claimed a miscount and contested his 
own election, as attorney for his opponent, and 
succeeded in having himself unseated and his 
opponent declared elected at the second day 
of the session. He was elected to the general 
assembly again in 1895 from New Haven, and 
was chairman of the committee of humane in- 
stitutions. He obtained the passage of a bill 
to establish a state reformatory and another 
for a revision of the state constitution, but 
both measures were killed at a subsequent ses- 
sion. He was, however, instrumental in pro- 
curing the passage of a number of important 
laws. In politics he is a Republican. He has 
written several legal treatises, and "The His- 
tory of the Town of Durham" in the "History 
of Middlesex County," published by J. B. 
Beers. He was president of the day when the 
bi-centennial of the town of Durham was cele- 
brated, July 4, 1899. He is a member of the 
Society of Colonial Wars, Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, deacon of the Congregational 
Church of Durham, chairman of the board of 
directors of the New Haven Missionary As- 




sociation from the time of its organization ; a 
director of the New Haven Young Men's 
Christian Association ; has been for many years 
referee in bankruptcy for New Haven county, 
since the passage of the bankrupt law ; member 
of the State Board of Health ; director and at- 
torney of the Yale National Bank, and trustee 
of the Farmers and Mechanics Savings Bank 
of Middletbwn, Connecticut. He is a member 
of the Union League, and of the Graduates' 
Club of New Haven. He is senior partner 
of the well-known law firm, Newton. Church 
& Hewitt, of New Haven. His office is at 818 
Chapel street. New Haven, and his home at 
89 Sherman avenue. 

He married, September 11, 1885, Sarah 
Allen Baldwin, M. D., born February 14, 1846, 
daughter of Isaac Stebbins Baldwin. She was 
a native of Norwich, New York, but before 
her marriage lived at Cromwell, Connecticut. 

(VII) Roger Watson, youngest son of 
Abner (2) and Abigail Newton, married Cyn- 
thia Huntington, a relative of Governor Sam- 
uel Huntington. They had six children, two 
of whom died in infancy. 

(VIII) Henry Huntington, eldest of the five 
sons of Roger Watson and Cynthia (Hunting- 
ton) Newton, was educated at Durham Acad- 
emy and Wesleyan University. He was for 
forty years an officer of the First Congrega- 
tional Church in Durham, respected and loved 
by all who knew him. He married his cousin, 
Caroline Gaylord, daughter of Gaylord 

(VIII) George Watson, second son of 
Roger and Cynthia Newton, graduated from 
Wesleyan University in 1871, and afterwards 
studied for the profession of civil engineer, and 
was for many years engaged in surveying for 
and laying out railroads in all parts of the 
United States including the Northern Pacific. 
After the decease of his uncle, Horace New- 
ton, he purchased his homestead at Durham 
Center, where he now resides. 

(VIII) Jonathan Edward, son of Roger and 
Cynthia Newton, was a teacher in the schools 
of his native town for many years. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Foote, of Northford. They had 
one son, Charles Watson, a promising pupil 
in the Middletown high school; killed by acci- 
dent in his eighteenth year. J. E. Newton is 
proprietor of the large farm in Haddam Quar- 
ter which has been in the possession of his 
family nearly two centuries. 

(VIII) Arthur Selden Newton, youngest 
son of Roger and Cynthia Newton, married 
Mary Rossiter. They have four children : 
Katherine Huntington, now a junior in Mt. 
Holyoke College ; Roger Rossiter, a graduate 
of Middletown high school, and soon to enter 

college ; Gaylord Arthur, and Abner Bucking- 
ham. He occupies the farm in Haddam Quar- 
ter formerly owned by his father. 

The name of Roger Newton has never failed 
in the family since the first Roger came from 
England about 1640, and has always been 
worthilv borne. 

William Campbell, of Scotch 
CAMPBELL ancestry, came to this coun- 
try about 1 718, the time of 
the beginning of the great influx of Scotch 
from the north of Ireland. These pioneers 
settled in Worcester, Hopkinton, Pelham, and 
other places in Massachusetts, founded Nut- 
field, later called Londonderry, New Hamp- 
shire, and some remained in Boston and east- 
ern Massachusetts, some in Maine. William 
Campbell was in Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1719. He also lived in Boston. 

(II) James, son of William Campbell, was 
born about 1705, died in November, 1737. He 
married Anna — , and lived in Charles- 
town. His widow was appointed administra- 
trix, December 5, 1737, and the probate rec- 
ords show that he had four children. He was 
on the tax list, 1729-33, and had his taxes 
abated in Charlestown in 1736. His widow 
was in Woburn in 1739. 

(III) James (2), son of James (1) Camp- 
bell, was born in Charlestown, December 4, 
1728. He removed to Rehoboth with other 
Campbells. He had a son James, mentioned 

(IV) James (3), son of James (2) Camp- 
bell, was born at Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
December 31, 1753. He settled in Sutton, 
Vermont, May 7, 1835. He was a farmer. 
He married, November 25, 1778, at Rehoboth, 
Sabrina, daughter of Ebenezer Ingalls (see 
Ingalls IV). 

(V) Benjamin, son of James (3) Campbell, 
was born at Sutton, Vermont, July 14, 1781, 
died October 14,' 1861, and was buried at 
Turner, Maine. He married, January 15, 1804, 
Betsey Wilson, born November 20, 1783, died 
August 11, 1839, daughter of Ezekiel and 
Sarah (Turner) , Wilson and granddaughter of 
Benjamin Wilson, a native of England, and 
Elizabeth (Sprague) Wilson, born at Reho- 
both, May 26, 1694, married, December 15, 
1730. Ezekiel Wilson was born May II, 1744; 
Sarah Turner was born at Rehoboth. and 
married, September 2, 1770 (see Turner Y). 
Elizabeth Sprague was daughter of Anthony 
Sprague (see Sprague III). 

(VI) James (4), son of Benjamin Campbell, 
was born at Sutton, September 22, 181 1, died 
June 17, 1885, at Antwerp, Belgium. He was 
buried at Manchester, Connecticut, where he 

2 4 


settled when a young man. He married, in 
1840, Esther, born 1818, died April 20, 1876, 
dauy liter of Daniel and Esther Griswold (see 
Griswold VI). 

(VII) Dr. James (5), son of James (4) 
Campbell, was born at Manchester, Connecti- 
cut, March 14, 1848, died at Hartford, Oc- 
tober 17, 1899. He attended the public schools 
of his native town and studied medicine at 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New 
York City, and in the medical department of 
the University of Vermont. He began to prac- 
tice at the age of twenty -three years in Min- 
nesota. Afterward he resumed bis medical 
studies and spent a year and a half abroad in 
the hospitals and clinics of Berlin, Prague and 
Vienna. In 1874 he located in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, and immediately took a place of 
prominence in his profession. For nearly fif- 
teen years he was president of the board of 
health of tbe city and for some years was on 
the staff of the Hartford,Hospitaf. In 1886 he 
was elected professor of Yale Medical School 
and he filled the chair with signal ability until 
1899. when he resigned. In 1891 he received 
from Yale University the honorary degree of 
Master of Arts, and when he retired he had a 
vote of thanks from tbe corporation for his 
long and excellent service and with its regrets 
that he could not remain in a position he had 
so long adorned. His resignation, however, 
was not accepted and he remained a member 
of the faculty until his death. Dr. Campbell 
found time in the midst of a busy professional 
life to devote much attention to the sanitary 
■conditions of the city and for many years he 
served as president of the board of health. 
The history of the board of health shows his 
energy and activity in this department and his 
extensive knowledge of law and business con- 
nected with this important branch of the city 
government. The construction of the inter- 
cepting sewer was largely due to his intelli- 
gent efforts and good judgment. He was a 
member of the City, County, State and Na- 
tional Medical societies and contributed many 
valuable papers to their publications. He was 
a member of tbe national health associations 
of this country and Canada. He was a mem- 
ber of the New York Academy of Medicine 
and of the Association of Medical Directors 
of Life Insurance Companies of the United 
States and Canada. He was for many years 
medical director of the Aetna Life Insurance 
Company, and also its medical examiner. He 
was director in various business corporations 
in Hartford. 

He was a prominent Free Mason, a member 
of Lafayette Lodge ; of Pythagoras Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; of Washington Com- 

mandery, Knights Templar, and taken the 
thirty-second degree in Scottish Rite Masonry. 
He was also a member of the Hartford Club; 
Crescent Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; Lodge 
of Odd Fellows ; the Church Club of the Epis- 
copal Diocese and the Connecticut Society 
Sons of the American Revolution. 

"In a quiet, unostentatious way, he did a 
great deal of good. He gave freely of his 
time and skill among the families of the poor. 
He took pleasure in assisting various young 
men in getting a liberal education. He was 
generous to the extent of his means. His 
kindly ways and magnetic personality drew to 
him many friends and made him especially be- 
loved in the family. He had a summer cot- 
tage at Northwood, New Hampshire, and an- 
other at Fenwick." 

He married, October 15, 1874, Mary Cor- 
nelia, born at Hartford, February 18, 1846, 
died there October 15, 1874, daughter of Wil- 
liam C. Pettibone (see Pettibone VII). Chil- 
dren: James Malcolm, died in infancy; James 
Noel H., mentioned below; Grace, born Oc- 
tober 9, 1884, died July, 1906. 

(VIII) James Noel Howard, son of Dr. 
James (5) Campbell, was born at Hartford. 
December 25, 1881. He attended the public 
school of Hartford, also the high school, and 
then entered Yale College, receiving therefrom 
tbe degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1903, and 
P>achelor of Laws in 1906. He was admitted 
to the bar in June, 1906, and since then has 
practised his profession in Hartford. He is a 
member of the common council of Hartford. 
He is a member of the Church of the Good 
Shepard (Episcopal) of Hartford, and a Re- 
publican in politics. He holds membership in 
the Hartford, University and Golf clubs, and 
is a Mason, Knight Templar and Shriner. He 
married, May 1, 1907, Marion Judith, daugh- 
ter of Frank P. and Rachel (White) Moulton, 
of Hartford. Child : James Howard Moulton, 
born February 21, 1908. 

(The Ingalls Line). 

(II) John Ingalls, son of Edmund Ingalls 
(q. v.), was born 1625, in Skirbeck, England. 
He married. May 26, 1667, Elizabeth Barrett, 
of Salem, Massachusetts, born in England. 
He lived in Lynn, Massachusetts, but removed 
from there previous to 1687, as would appear 
from the following record : "John Ingalls of 
the Church of Bristol, Rhode Island, 1687, 
late of Toverton." He settled next at Reho- 
both, Massachusetts, where his death is thus 
recorded: "Old John Ingalls died Dec. 31, 
1721." His will was dated April 16, 1718, and 
mentioned his son John and Edmund, and 
two daughters, Elizabeth Crabtree and Sarah 




Hayward. Children : John, born February 6, 
1668, Lynn; Elizabeth, August 10, 1671, Lynn, 
died October 29, 1676; Elizabeth, married, 
January 2, 1701, at Rehoboth, Benjamin Crab- 
tree; Sarah, married (first), August 7, 1707, at 
Rehoboth, William Howard, (second) Wil- 
liam Havward ; Edmund, mentioned below. 

(Til) Edmund (2), son of John Ingalls, 
was born at Bristol or Cumberland, Rhode 
Island. He married, November 29, 1705, Eu- 
nice, daughter of Benjamin Luddin, of Brain- 
tree. He removed to Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, where he died. Children: Benjamin, 
born December 8, 1706; Elizabeth, May 8, 
1709; Ebenezer, "July 14, 1711, mentioned be- 
low; Edmund (twin), October 1, 1713 ; Eu- 
nice (twin) ; Joseph, November 29, 1718; 
Samuel, April 20, 1723. 

Eunice (Luddin) Ingalls was the daughter 
of Benjamin and Eunice (Holbrook) Luddin, 
of Weymouth. • 

Eunice Ingalls's father, Benjamin Luddin, 
was the son of Corporal James Luddin, who 
was born in England and came to Weymouth, 
Massachusetts, in 1635. He died there No- 
vember 23, 1693. Her mother, Eunice Hol- 
brook, was the daughter of John and Elizabeth 
( Strrum ) Holbrook. John Holbrook was born 
in England and was captain at Weymouth in 
1624. He died November 23, 1699. His 
father was Thomas Holbrook, born 1601, of 

Broadway, England. His wife was Jane . 

He came to America in 1635. Eunice Hol- 
brook's mother, Elizabeth Strrum, was the 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Strrum. Both 
were born in England. He came to Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, in 1635. 

(IV) Ebenezer, son of Edmund (2) Ingalls, 
was born July 14, 171 1, in Rehoboth. He 
married, June 5, 1735, Elizabeth, born June 
9, 1717, in Rehoboth, daughter of James, Tr., 
and Elizabeth (West) Wheeler. His last four 
children may have been by a second wife. His 
estate was divided in 1771 at Rehoboth. Chil- 
dren : Elizabeth, born May 5, 1736; Henry, 
October 12, 1738; Frederick, December 7, 
1740; Alithea, November 18, 1741 ; Ebenezer, 
June 30, 1744; Mehitable, January 3, 1746-47; 
Lois, February 16, 1750; Hannah, married, 
December 3, 1773, John Turner; Benjamin, 
possibly a revolutionary soldier ; Sabrina, mar- 
ried, November 25, 1778, James Campbell (see 
Campbell IV). 

(The Wheeler Line). 

(I) Tohn Wheeler, immigrant ancestor, was 
from Salisbury, England, and was an inhabi- 
tant of Hampton, Massachusetts, soon after 
the settlement of that town. He received land 
in Salisbury, Massachusetts, in 1641. He re- 

moved to Newbury, Massachusetts, before 
1650, but was taxed in Salisbury in 1652. He 
was a barber by trade. He married Anne 

■ , who died August 15, 1662, Newbury. 

He died in 1670. His will was dated March 
28, 1668, proved October 11, 1670. Children: 
Adam, remained in Salisbury, England, 1668 ; 
Edward, remained in Salisbury, England, 
1668; William, remained in England, 1668; 
David, born about 1625, in England, 
married, May II, 1650, Sarah Wise; Anne, 
married Aquila Chase; Mercy, living in 1668; 
Elizaheth, married a Bultom or Button, living 
in 1668; Roger, married, December 7, 1653, 
Mary Wilson ; Henry, mentioned below ; 
George, married, April 30, 1660, Susanna 
Stowers ; Joseph, died October 13, 1659. 

(II) Henry, son of John Wheeler, married, 
about 1659, Abigail Allen or Allan. She was 
a member of the Salisbury church in 1687; a 
widow of Boston, 1696. He was admitted to 
the Salisbury church, August 26, 1694, and 
died before 1696. Abigail Allen was the 
daughter of William and Ann (Goodale) 
Allen, and was born January 4, 1639-40. Her 
father, William Allen, was a "house-carpen- 
ter" in Salisbury and received land there in 
the first division, also in 1640. His name ap- 
pears on the list of "townsmen and common- 
ers" in 1650 and later lists. He married 
(first) Ann, daughter of Richard Goodale, who 
died May, 1678; he married (second) Alice, 
widow of John Roper and of John Dickison. 
He died in Salisbury, June 18, 1686. Children 
of Henry Wheeler: Henry, born April 13, 
1659, Salisbury; Abigail, March 7, 1660-61, 
Salisbury; W r illiam, September 6, 1663, Sal- 
isbury; Moses, June 24, 1665, Salisbury; Ann, 
(twin) May 27, 1667, Salisbury; James 
(twin), mentioned below; Josiah, April 23, 
1669, Salisbury; Ruth, July 15, 1671, Salis- 
bury; Nathaniel, March 28, 1675, Salisbury; / 
Jeremiah, July 17, 1677, Salisbury: Benjamin, 
January 15, 1681-82, Salisbury; Mary, June 5, 
i68q, Salisbury. 

(III) James, son of Henry Wheeler, was 
born May 27, 1667, m Salisbury. He mar- 
ried (first) Grizel, daughter of Philip Squier. 
He married (second) October 2, 1738, Eliza- 
beth Brintnal, of Norton. He removed to 
Rehoboth, and was a resident of Swansea in 
1738. He died in 1753. Child: James, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) James (2), son of James (1) Wheel- 
er, was born March 27, 1697, in Rehoboth. 
He married Elizabeth West, born November 
30, 1694, in Rehoboth, daughter of John and 
Mehitable West, of Swansea. Child : Eliza- 
beth, born June 9, 1717, in Rehoboth, 
married, June 5, 1735, in Rehoboth, Ebenezer 



Ingalls, born July 14, 171 1, in Rehoboth, died 
1770-71 (see Ingalls IV). 

(The Turner Line). 

(I) Humphrey Turner, immigrant, was 
born in England about 1593, and is said to 
have been of Essex. He came to Plymouth in 
New England about 1628 and had a house lot 
assigned him in 1629; built his house and lived 
in Plymouth until 1633, when he removed to 
Scituate and had a house lot granted him on 
Kent street. He settled, however, on a farm 
east of Colman's Hills. He was a tanner by 
trade and we are told was possessed of that 
"judgment, discretion, energy and persever- 
ance of character, which eminently fitted him 
to be one of the pioneers in beginning and 
carrying forward a new settlement." Deane 
says in his "History of Scituate" : "He was a 
useful and enterprising man in the new settle- 
ment and often employed in public business." 
He was a member of the first church ; repre- 
sented the town several years as deputy to the 
general court ; was commissioner to end small 
causes ; constable, etc. Following a not infre- 
quent but puzzling custom of his forbears, he 
had two sons, of the same name, John Turner, 
whom he distinguished in his will as "John" 
and "Young son John," so named, tradition 
says, at the instance of godfathers. Both 
brought up families and died at a good old age 
at Scituate. At last accounts a lineal descend- 
ant of the pioneer owned and occupied the 
Turner homestead in Scituate. His will was 
dated February 28, 1669, and proved June 5, 
1673. Resides his children, he mentions 

Humphrey Turner married, in England, 
Lydia Gamer, born in England, died in Scitu- 
ate in or before 1673. Children: John, born 
in England, married, November 12, 1645, at 
Scituate: John, born about 1628, mentioned 
below ; Thomas, mentioned below ; Joseph, 
baptized January 1, 1636, never married ; Dan- 
iel, married, January 20, 1665, Hannah Ran- 
dall ; Nathaniel, baptized March 10, 1638, mar- 
ried, March 29, 1665. Mehitable Rigby ; Mary, 
baptized January 25, 1634-35, married, at Sci- 
tuate, November 1, 1651, William Parker; 
Lydia, married James Doughty. 

(II) John, younger son of Humphrey 
Turner, was born about 1628, died in 1687 at 
Scituate, Massachusetts. He married, April 
25, 1649, at Scituate, Ann James. He lived 
northeast of Hicks's Swamp, near the farm 
lately owned by Leonard Clap. 

(II) Thomas, son of Humphrey Turner, 
married, January 6, 1652, Sarah Hiland. Chil- 
dren, born at Scituate: Nathan, March 1, 
1654; Elizabeth, July, 1656; Mary, September 

15, 1658; Eunice, April 10, 1661 ; Humphrey, 
September, 1663 I Mace, 1665 ; Ephraim, June, 
1667; Thomas, December, 1670, mentioned 
below; Josiah, January, 1672; Charles, May 3, 


(III) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) 
Turner, was born at Scituate, December, 1670. 
He was a lawyer of note as early as 1690. He 
resided near the harbor of Scituate. He mar- 
ried Hannah, daughter of Edward Jenkins, in 
1693. Edward Jenkins was in Scituate as 
early as 1641 and was admitted a freeman in 

June, 1647 ! married Lettice ; died 1699, 

leaving will dated March 2, 1699. Children, 
born at Scituate : Ephraim, February 9, 1694 ; 
Rev. David, May 5, 1695, mentioned below ; 
Hannah, June 15, 1697; Thomas, March 31, 
1699; Relief, June 8, 1701 ; Ruth, March 26, 
1703; Sarah, January 19, 1704-05; Jemima, 
January 7, 1706-07; Ephraim, March 17, 
1708-09; Lettice, April 17, 1711; Mary, July 
2, 1717; Silas ( ?). 

(IV) Rev. David, son of Thomas (2) 
Turner, was born at Scituate, May 5, 1695, 
died at Rehoboth, August 9, 1757. He set- 
tled in Rehoboth, Massachusetts. He married 

Sarah . Children, born at Rehoboth : 

David, May 2, 1724; Sarah, December 26, 
1725 ; Thomas, February 25, 1726-27, men- 
tioned below; Nathan, January 24, 1728-29; 
Nathaniel, July 8, 1730; Mary, February 27, 
1731-32; Abigail, December 3, 1733; Jemima, 
February 19, 1739-40. 

(V) Thomas (3), son of Rev. David 
Turner, was born at Rehoboth, February 25, 
1726-27. He married, February 13, 1746-47, 
Hannah, born at Rehoboth, August 4, 1726, 
daughter of James and Mary (Shaw) Whea- 
ton. Her father was born at Rehoboth, Oc- 
tober 2j, 1685; married. May 15, 1712, Mary 
Shaw, born at Weymouth, March 5, 1691, 
daughter of John and Hannah Shaw, grand- 
daughter of John or Joseph Shaw, sons of 
Abraham Shaw, the immigrant, of Dedham. 
Massachusetts. Ephraim Wheaton, father of 
James Wheaton, was born at Rehoboth, Oc- 
tober 20, 1659, died September 26, 1734; mar- 
ried Mary Mason, born at Rehoboth, February 
7, 1660, daughter of Sampson Mason, who 
came from England to Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, in 1 65 1, died at Rehoboth, September, 
1676. Robert Wheaton, father of Ephraim 
Wheaton, was born in Wales and settled at 
Rehoboth about 1643. Thomas and Hannah 
(Wheaton) Turner had a daughter, Sarah 
Turner, married, September 2, 1770, Ezekiel 
Wilson ; their daughter Betsey married Ben- 
jamin Campbell (see Campbell V). They had 
a son Thomas, born at Rehoboth, December 2, 




(The Eames Line). 
(I) Captain Anthony Eames or Ames, im- 
migrant ancestor, was a proprietor of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, as early as 1634. A few 
years later he removed to Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, and in 1636 owned a house lot there 
on the Lower Plain. From the first he ap- 
pears to have been one of the foremost citi- 
zens of Hingham. He was admitted a free- 
man, March 9, 1636-37, and represented the 
town in the general court in 1637-38-39-43-44. 
He assisted in laying out the boundary be- 
tween the Massachusetts and Plymouth pat- 
ents. He was lieutenant of the military com- 
pany, but when he was chosen captain there 
was a serious controversy between his friends 
and others, developing into a lasting difference 
that continued for several generations to divide 
the citizens of Hingham. June 12, 1643, the 
town granted permission to Anthony Ames, 
Samuel Ward and Bozoun Allen to set up a 
corn mill for the town ; Gowen Wilson had 
been miller of the town ; in future either 
Thomas Lincoln or John Pogger was to be the 
miller. Anthony Eames removed to Marsh- 
field, in Plymouth Colony, about 1650, and he 
and his son Mark bought a house and land to- 
gether there December 10, 165 1, and for many 
generations the family lived in that town. He 
was deputy to the general court at Plymouth 
in 1653-54-55-56-57-58-61, and was a member 
of the council of war. He was admitted free- 
man in the Plymouth Colony, March, 1654-55. 
He also served the town as moderator. His 
wife Margery was admitted to the Charles- 
town church, September 13, 1635. Children: 
1. John, died at Hingham, 1641. 2. Mark, 
born 1620, died September, 1698; witness of 
will of John Rogers at Marshfield, with his 
father, February 1, 1660-61 ; appraiser of es- 
tate of Robert Waterman, of Marshfield, Jan- 
uary 1, 1652-53, also of Thomas Little's estate, 
July 1, 1672; deputy to the general court, 
1662, and fourteen years out of the next 
twenty. Married — ■ — ; children : i. John, born 
September 6, 1649, at Marshfield ; ii. Jona- 
than, born 1656; iii. Elizabeth, married, De- 
cember 5. 1672, Andrew Lane. 3. Margery, 
married, ( )ctober 20, 1653, John Jacobs. 4. 
Elizabeth, married Edward Wilder, of Hing- 
ham. 5. Justus, born 1626, in England. 6. 
Millicent, married William Sprague' (see 
Sprague II). 7. Daughter, married Michael 
Pierce. (The foregoing areNnot in order of 
birth.) f e <;^ 

(The Barlett Line). 

Robert Bartlett, immigrant ancestor, came 
to New England. He had four sons, John, 
He was a cooper by trade and settled at Ply- 
mouth. He was admitted a freeman in 1633 

and served on the jury and as a town officer. 
His will was proved October 29, 1676, in 
which he bequeathed his whole estate to his 
wife. He married, in 1628, Mary, daughter 
of Richard Warren. Her marriage portion 
was confirmed to him. March 7, 1636. Chil- 
dren : Benjamin, born 1628; Joseph, 1629; Re- 
becca, married, December 20, 1649, William 
Barlow; Mary, married (first) September 10, 
1 66 1, Richard Foster, of Plymouth, (second) 
Jonathan Morey ; Sarah, married, December 
23, 1666, Samuel Rider, of Plymouth ; Eliza- 
beth, married, December 26, 1661, Anthony 
Sprague (see Sprague III) ; Lydia, born June 
8, 1647. married, December 25, 1668, John 
Ivey, of Boston. 

(The Warren Line). 

Richard Warren, immigrant ancestor, of 
London, came over in the "Mayflower," and 
was one of the signers of the famous Com- 
pact. He settled at Plymouth and bore a deep 
share in the difficulties and troubles of the set- 
tlement. His wife and children came in the 
"Anne" in 1623. In the division of cattle in 

1627, shares were given to him, his wife Eliza- 
beth, children, Nathaniel, Joseph, Mary, Anna, 
Sarah, Elizabeth and Abigail. He died before 

1628, and his wife October 2, 1673, aged 
about ninety. Of his children, Mary married 
Robert Bartlett (see Bartlett I). 

(The Sprague Line). 

The Sprague family is of ancient English 
origin. In Prince's Chronology we read 
"Among those who arrived at Naumkeag are 
Ralph Sprague, with his brothers Richard and 
William, who with three or four more were by 
Governor Endicott employed to explore and 
take possession of the country westward. 
They travelled through the woods to Charles- 
town, on a neck of land called Mishawum, be- 
tween Mystic and Charles rivers, full of In- 
dians named Aberginians, with whom they 
made peace." Hon. Edward Everett, in his 
address commemorative of the bicentennial of 
the arrival of Winthrop at Charlestown said : 
"Ralph, Richard and William Sprague are the 
founders of the settlement in this place, and 
were persons of substance and enterprise, ex- 
cellent citizens, generous public benefactors, 
and the head of a very large and respectable 
family of descendants." Ralph Sprague was 
about twenty-five years of age when he came 
to New England in the ship "Ann" in 1623. 
Richard, Samuel and Phineas, and a daugh- 
ter Mary, who married September 28, 1630, 
Daniel Edmands. John and Richard were 
born in England. Ralph was one of a jury 
impaneled, which seems to have been the first 



in Massachusetts. Ralph Sprague was a lieu- 
tenant in the train band. In 163 1 Captain 
Richard Sprague commanded a company of 
the train band, and on Friday of each week 
exercised his command at a convenient place 
near the Indian wigwams. On February 10. 
1634, the famous order creating a board of 
selectmen was passed, and Richard and Wil- 
liam signed the order. Richard left no pos- 
terity. His sword, which is named in his 
brother William's will, was preserved in one 
of the old Sprague families in Hingham in 

(I) Edward Sprague, English progenitor, 
was a resident of Upway, Dorsetshire, where 
he died in 1614. He was a fuller by trade. 
Earlier in life he lived at Fordington, Dorset- 
shire. He married Christiana H»w»vs A His will 
was proved June 6, 1614, in the prerogative 
court at Canterbury. Copies of the will made 
at this time are still in possession of the fam- 
ily. Children. Ralph, married Joan Warren, 
died 1650 in New England; Alice; Edward; 
Richard, came to New England and died with- 
out issue ; Christopher ; William, mentioned 

(II) William, son of Edward Sprague, was 
born in Upway, Dorsetshire, England, and 
came to New England, settling in Charles- 
town, where he was living until 1636. He re- 
moved to Hingham, whither he went in a 
boat, landing on the side of the cove, on a 
tract of land afterward granted him by the 
town. He became one of the first planters 
here. His house lot is said to have been the 
pleasantest in town. Many grants of land 
were made to him from 1636 to 1647. He 
was constable, fenceviewer and held other of- 
fices at various times. He deeded to his son 
Anthony, February 21, 1673, certain lands of 
merchantable corn. He died October 6, 1675. 
His will, dated October 19, 1674, bequeathed 
to wife Millicent, children Anthony, Samue», 
William, John, Jonathan, Persis, wife of John 
Daggett, Joanna, wife of Caleb Church, and 
Mary, wife of Thomas King. He gave to 
Anthony the sword of his brother Richard. 
He married, in 1635, Millicent Eames, who 
died February 8, 1695-96, daughter of Anthony 
Eames (see Eames I). Children: Anthony, 
born September 2, 1635, mentioned below; 
John, baptized April, 1638, married Elizabeth 
Holbrook, December 13, 1666; Sprague Island 
was given him by his father ; he died in Men- 
don, 1690; Samuel, baptized May 24, 1640; 
removed to Marshfield, and became secretary 
of the colony and register of deeds before 
1692; Elizabeth, baptized May 2, 1641 ; Jona- 
than, baptized March 20, 1642, died July 4, 
1647; Persis, baptized November 12, 1643, 

married John Daggett; Joanna, baptized De- 
cember, 1644, married, December 16, 1667, 
Caleb Church ; Jonathan, May 28, 1648, re- 
moved to Providence, Rhode Island ; William, 
May 7, 1650, married, December 13, 1674, 
Deborah Lane, removed to Providence ; Mary, 
baptized May 26, 1652, married Thomas King- 
Hannah, born February 25, 1655, died March 
31, 1658. 

(Ill) Anthony, son of William Sprague, 
was born September 2, 1635, died September 
3, 1 719. He was a farmer and was selectman 
of Hingham in 1688-92 and 1700. He resided 
on the homestead at Hingham Centre, and his 
house was burned by the Indians in King 
Philip's war, April 19, 1676. He died Septem- 
ber 3, 1719, in his eighty-fourth year. His 
will was dated July 21, 1716, and proved Oc- 
tober 12, 1 7 19. He married, December 26, 
1661, Elizabeth Bartlett, who died February 
17, 1712-13, daughter of Robert and Mary 
(Warren) Bartlett. Children, born in Hing- 
ham: Anthony, August 18, 1663; Benjamin, 
August 16, 1665, died September 27, 1690; 
John, September 30, 1667, died October 23, 
1690; Elizabeth, September 5, 1669, died Oc- 
tober 11, 1690; Samuel, March 8, 1671-72; 
Sarah, May 23, 1674, married, June 10. 1718, 
Caleb Bate; James, January 23, 1677-78; 
Josiah, April 23, 1680; Jeremiah, July 24, 
1682; Richard, April 10, 1685; Matthew, 
March 27, 1688. 

(The Griswold Line). 

Griswold is an ancient English surname de- 
rived from the name of a place, like a large 
proportion of British patronymics. The 
ancient seat of the family was at Solihull, 
Warwickshire, prior to the year 1400. The 
ancient coat-of-arms is : Argent a fesse gules 
between two greyhounds currant sable. 

John Griswold about the middle of the four- 
teenth century came from Kenilworth and 
married a daughter and heiress of Henry 
Hughford, of Huddersley Hall at Solihull, and 
the family has been known as the Griswolds of 
Kenilworth and Solihull. Solihull is on the 
northwest border of Warwickshire, and Yardly 
in Worcestershire is on the south and west. It 
is but eight miles from Kenilworth to the 
westward and twelve miles northwest of 
Stratfdrd-on-Avon, and was a place of im- 
portance before the Norman Conquest. The 
two American immigrants, Edward and Ma- 
thew, came to Connecticut from Kenilworth. 
Mathew came over in 1639 and settled at 
Windsor, Connecticut; died at Lyme, Con- 
necticut, September 21, 1698, and was buried 
at Saybrook ; assisted in the settlement of 
Lyme and was a large landowner ; was deputy 



to the general assembly in 1664 and after- 

(I)- Edward Griswold, son of George Gris- 
wold, and brother of Mathew, was born in 
Warwickshire, England, about 1607. He came 
to Connecticut, 1639, at tr, e time of the second 
visit of George Fenwick when many other 
settlers came. He was attorney for a Mr. St. 
A T icholas, of Warwickshire, who had a house 
built for him at Windsor and a tract of land 
impaled, as had also Sir Richard Saltonstall. 
There were many other prominent Puritans in 
Warwickshire intending to settle in the col- 
onies, when a change in the political conditions 
in England caused them to stay there. Rev. 
Ephraim Hewett and the Wylys family were 
two others from Warwickshire. Griswold had 
a grant of land at Poquonock to which he re- 
moved in 1649, when his house was the out- 
post of the colony. It was on the site of 
the Eliphalet S. Ladd house, having the 
Tunxis river on the south and west. 
He was active in public affairs. In 1650 
he helped build the fort at Springfield 
for Pyncheon. He was a deputy to 
the general court from Windsor in 1656, 
and every season but one afterward until the 
new charter was granted. He was a promi- 
nent settler of Homonosett or West Saybrook, 
whither about 1663 he removed with his 
younger children, deeding to his sons George 
and Joseph his Windsor property, reserving a 
small annuity. The settlement was organized 
as a town in 1667 an d received the name of 
his English birthplace and home, Kenilworth, 
which became strangely perverted in the spell- 
ing to Killingworth, and is now Clinton, Con- 
necticut. He was the first deputy from the 
town, magistrate and deputy for more than 
twenty years, 1662 to 1688-89, an d was suc- 
ceeded in office by his son John. The colonial 
records show him to have been an active and 
influential member of the legislature, accom- 
plishing much good. He had the pleasure of 
meeting his own son Francis and brother 
Mathew in office, and there has scarcely been 
a time since when the family has not been 
represented in the legislature of the province 
and state. In 1678 he was on the committee 
to establish a Latin school at New London ; 
he was deacon of the Killingworth church ; he 
died there in 1691, aged eighty-four years. 

He married (first) in England, in 1630, 

Margaret , who died August 23, 1670. 

Her gravestone is the oldest in the burial 
ground at Clinton, formerly Killingworth. He 
married (second) 1672-73, Sarah Bemis, 
widow of James Bemis, of New London. 
Children of first wife: Sarah, born in 1631, in 
England; George, 1633, mentioned below; 

Frances, 1635; Lydia, 1637; Sarah, 1638; mar- 
ried (first) November 10, 1650, Samuel 
Phtlps, (second) July 21, 1670, Nathaniel 
Pomeroy; Ann, baptized June 19, 1642, at 
Windsor; Mary, baptized October 1, 1644, 
married, March 19, 1661, Timothy Phelps; 
Deborah, June 28, 1646, married Samuel 
Buell ; Joseph, born and baptized March 12, 
1647; Samuel, born and baptized November 
16, 1649, died July 6, 1672; John, born and 
baptized August 16, 1652. 

(II) George (2), son of Edward Griswold, 
was born in England, 1633, died at Windsor, 
September 3, 1704. He remained in Windsor 
with his brother Joseph on their father's lands 
when the father went to Killingworth. He 
was also an extensive owner of land bought 
of the Indians, was admitted freeman in 1654; 
an eminently respectable and worthy citizen. 
He married, October 3, 1655, Mary, daughter 
of Thomas Holcomb. She died April, 1708. 
Children, born in Windsor : Daniel, October 
1, 1656, mentioned below; Thomas, September 
29, 1658 ; Edward, March 19, 1661 ; Mary, Sep- 
tember 28, 1663; George, December 3, 1665; 
John, September 17, 1668; Benjamin, August 
16, 1 67 1 ; Deborah, May 30, 1674, married, 
December 12, 1695, Thomas Moore; Abigail, 
October 31, 1676, died May 7, 1638; Samuel, 
November 5, 1681, died June 1, 1682. 

(III) Daniel, son of George (2) Griswold, 
was born in Windsor, October 1, 1656. He 
married there, February 3, 1680, Mindwell, 
daughter of Nathaniel Bissell. She died De- 
cember 31, 1728, granddaughter of John Bis- 
sell. Her mother, Mindwell Moore, born July 
10, 1643, was daughter of Deacon John and 
granddaughter of Thomas Moore. John came 
in 1630 and died September 18, 1877; mar- 
ried Abigail . Children born in Wind- 
sor : Daniel (twin), February 14, 1684, men- 
tioned below; Ensign Nathaniel (twin) ; Pela- 
tiah, September 13, 1689; Mary, 1692; Ed- 
ward, March 8, 1695-96; Deborah, November 
7, 1698; David, August 6, 1701. 

(IV) Daniel (2), son of Daniel (1) Gris- 
wold, was born February 14, 1684, in Wind- 
sor. He married there, September 6, 1716, 
Sarah White (see White III). He removed to 
Bolton, Connecticut, where his wife died Feb- 
ruary 1, 1738, aged forty-three years. He mar- 
ried again. Children, born in Windsor : Sarah, 
October 14, 1717, married James Olcott ; 
Anne, March 20, 1718-19, married Benjamin 
Smith; Bathsheba, December 2, 1720, married 
Tabez Dart, of Bolton, died February 1, 1746; 
Daniel, May 26, 1723; Hannah, February 8, 
1725-26; White, October 22, 1727, mentioned 
below; George, January 1, 1730, married 
(first) Sarah Jones, (second) Susannah Cone, 



died at Bolton, April 26, 1813; Seth, April 27, 
1732, married, 1781, Susannah Shurtleff ; 
daughter, June 12, 1736, died aged ten hours; 
Reuben, January 16, 1738. 

(V) White, son of Daniel (2) Griswold, 
was born October 22, 1727, died at Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, December 21, 1797. He 
removed to Harwinton, Connecticut. He 
married, February 14, 1750-51, Elizabeth 
Cheney, born at East Hartford, December 9, 
1728, died at Manchester, August 1, 1798, 
daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Long) 
Cheney. Her father was born at Newbury, 
Massachusetts, January 6, 1698, died at East 
Hartford, 1759-60; married, at Hartford, No- 
vember 12, 1724, Elizabeth Long, born at 
Windsor in 1696, died November 3, 1759. 
Her grandfather was Peter Cheney, born No- 
vember 6, 1663. Thomas Long, father of 
Elizabeth, was born in Boston, removed to 
Hartford and died there in 1712; married 
Sarah Elmer, born at Hartford in 1664, died 
there December 13, 1741, daughter of Edward 
and Mary Elmer. Elmer came in the ship 
"Lion" in 1632 with Hooker and was killed in 
King Philip's war. 

Children of White Griswold: Sarah, born at 
Bolton, December 23, 1752; Daniel, mentioned 

(VI) Daniel (3), son of White Griswold, 
died at Manchester in 1833. He married, 
September 30, 1792, Esther Case, born No- 
vember 10, 1 77 1, died November 9, 1850, 
daughter of Joseph Case, Jr., of East Hart- 
ford. Joseph Case, father of Joseph Case, was 
born at Hartford, December 27, 1705, died 
May 26, 1791 ; married Esther Hills, born Sep- 
tember 8, 1710. Richard Case, father of Jo- 
seph Case, Sr., was born at Hartford, died 

February 22, 1724; married Sarah . 

Richard Case, father of Richard Case, was the 
immigrant, removed to East Hartford and died 
in 1694; married Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Purchase, who came to Hartford in 1639 ar, d 
died in 1645. Esther (Hills) Case was a 
daughter of Ebenezer and Abigail (Benjamin) 
Hills. Ebenezer was born at East Hartford 
in 1676, died there February 12, 1750; son of 
William and Sarah Hills. William was born 
about 1646, and was buried August 15, 1693. 
William Hills, father of William, was born 
at High Ongar, county Essex, England, and 
came to America in 1632 ; died at Hartford in 
1683 ; married Phillis Lyman, baptized at High 
Ongar, September 12, 161 1. Richard Lyman, 
immigrant, father of Phillis Lyman, married 
Sarah Osborne. Abigail (Benjamin) Hills 
was born at Wethersfield, April 27, 1673, 
daughter of Caleb Benjamin. Caleb was of 
Wethersfield where he died May 8, 1684; mar- 

ried Mary, daughter of Samuel Hale, of 

Daniel and Esther (Case) Griswold had a 
daughter Esther, born at Manchester in 1818; 
married James Campbell (see Campbell VI). 

(The White Line). 

(I) John White, immigrant ancestor, came' 
from England in the ship "Lion," which sailed 
from London, June 22, 1632, and arrived at 
New England, September 16, following. He 
setled first in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and 
was admitted a freeman, March 2, 1633. He 
removed, probably in June, 1636, to Hartford, 
Connecticut, of which he was one of the orig- 
inal proprietors. He was also one of the first 
settlers of Hadley, Massachusetts, and was 
deputy to the general court in 1664-69. He 
returned to Hartford, where he was elder in 
the South Church. He died between Decem- 
ber 17, 1683, and January 23 following. He 

married Mary , who was living in 

March, 1666. Children : Mary ; Nathaniel, 
born about 1629; John; Daniel, mentioned 
below ; Sarah ; Jacob, October 8, 1645. 

(II) Lieutenant Daniel, son of John White, 
was of Hatfield, Massachusetts, where he died 
July 27, 1713. He married, November 1, 
1 66 1, Sarah Crow, born March 1, 1647, died 
1 719, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Good- 
win) Crow, granddaughter of Elder William 
and Susanna Goodwin. John Crow was at 
Hartford in 1637; died January 16, 1686. 

(III) Captain Daniel (2), son of Lieutenant 
Daniel (1) White, was born July 4, 167 1, at 
Hatfield, died at Windsor, Connecticut, in 

1704. He married , daughter of Thomas 

and Abigail (Moore) Bissell, granddaughter 
of John Bissell, who died at Windsor, October 
3, 1677. Abigail (Moore) Bissell was a 
daughter of Deacon John Moore, born in Eng- 
land, came to America, in the ship "Mary and 
John" in 1630, and died September 18, 1677; 

married, June 16, 1639, Abigail . 

Thomas Moore, father of John, came also in 
1630 and died at Windsor in 1645. Captain 
Daniel White's daughter Sarah, born at Wind- 
sor, August 20, 1694, married, September 6, 
1716, Daniel Griswold (see Griswold IV). 
She died February 1, 1738. 

(The Pettibone Line). 

(I) John Pettibone, immigrant ancestor, 
came, it is supposed from Wales, and was 
possibly a soldier under Cromwell, the follow- 
ers of whom were known as "Roundheads." 
He was a freeman in Windsor, Connecticut, in 
1658. In 1667 he lived in that part of the 
Farmington valley which in 1670 became Sims- 
bury. He was a freeman there in 1669. He 



married, February [6, 1664, Sarah, born March 
28, 1643, m Windsor, died July 8, 1713, daugh- 
ter of Begot Eggleston. Her father, Begot 
Eggleston, was from Exeter, England, and was 
born in 1590. He came to America in the 
ship "Mary and John" in 1630 and died in 
Windsor September 1, 1671. John Pettibone 
died July 15, 1713, in Simsbury. Children: 
John, born June 15, 1665; Sarah, September 
24, 1667; Stephen, October 3, 1669; Samuel, 
September 2, 1672, mentioned below ; Rebecca, 
March 9, 1675-76; Henry, June 20, 1677; Ann, 
March 11, 1679-80; Benjamin, May 28, 1682; 
Joseph, March n, 1688. 

(II) Samuel, son of John Pettibone, was 
born September 2, 1672, in Simsbury, and 
spent his entire life there. He was a farmer, 
a well-known citizen and one of the foremost 
men of the town in his day. He married Ju- 
dith, born January 11, 1679, daughter of 
Abraham and Judith (Sill) Shepard, of Con- 
cord, Massachusetts. Her father, Abraham 
Shepard, was born in Boston, March 7, 1642, 
died in Concord, January 2, 1673. His father 
was Ralph Shepard, born in 1604, and came 
from London, 1635, in the "Abigail." His 

wife was Thanks , born in England, 1612. 

Her mother, Judith (Sill) Shepard, was the 
daughter of John and Joanna Sill. Both were 
born in England. John came to Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, where he was in 1637. Joanna 
Sill died in 1671. Children of Samuel Petti- 
bone: Samuel, born 1700; Hepsibah, died 
February 25, 1755 ; Jonathan, born 1709, men- 
tioned below; Isaac, June 19, 1711, died 1771 ; 
Abraham, November 8, 1713, died July 30, 


(III) Jonathan, son of Samuel Pettibone, 

was born in 1709, in Simsbury. He was well 
educated and was by occupation a farmer. He 
was prominent during the opening scenes of 
the revolution, and before the war was com- 
missioned colonel of the Eighteenth Connecti- 
cut Regiment of Militia, which was called out 
in 1776. He died September 26, 1776, at 
Rye, New York, while in the service. Besides 
being prominent in military affairs, Colonel 
Pettibone was justice of the peace for six- 
teen years, and represented the town in the 
general assembly for fourteen sessions. A 
monument was erected to his memory in Sims- 
bury. He married, about 1733, Martha, born 
in 171 1 or 1712, in Simsbury, died October 
7, 1796, daughter of Romas and Hannah 
(Hillyer) Humphrey. Her father, Romas 
Humphrey, was born September, 1676, in 
Simsbury, died October 23, 1714. He was 
the son of John and Hannah (Griffin) Hum- 
phrey. John Humphrey was born June 7, 
1650, in Windsor, died in Simsbury, January 

14, 1679. His father was Michael Humphrey. 
Hannah (Griffin) Humphrey was born July 
4, 1649, m Windsor, daughter of Lieutenant 
John and Anna (Bancroft) Griffin. John Grif- 
fin was from England, and was the first settler 
of Simsbury. He married, May 13, 1647, 
Anna Bancroft, born in England, daughter of 

John and Jane ( ) Bancroft. John Griffin 

died in 1681. John Bancroft was from Lon- 
don, and came to America in the ship "James" 
in 1632. He died in 1637, in Lynn, Massa- 
chusetts. The mother of Martha (Humphrey) 
Pettibone, Hannah (Hillyer) Humphrey, was 
daughter of Andrew Hillyer. He was born 
November 14, 1646, in Windsor, died in Sims- 
bury, son of John and Anne Hillyer. John 
Hillyer came from England, and was at Wind- 
sor in 1640; he died July 16, 1655. Children 
of Jonathan Pettibone : Giles, born December 
9> 1735 ; Ozias, May 9, 1737; Rosanna, Au- 
gust 9, 1739; Jonathan, August 12, 1741 ; 
Martha, December 3, 1743, died March 25, 
1749; Annis, November 17, 1745; Ahijah, or 
Abijah, May 25, 1749, mentioned below. All 
the sons served in the revolution, three of, 
them as officers. 

(IV) Abijah or Ahijah, son of Jonathan 
Pettibone, was born May 25, 1749, died April 

15, 1784. He married, May 10, 1770, Dorcas 
Cornish, born at Simsbury, September 11, 
1750. Her father, Elisha Cornish, born at 
Simsbury, June 5, 1722, married, September 
25, 1740, Hepsibah Humphrey, born at Sims- 
bury, October 26, 1724, died February 25, 
1755. Charles Humphrey, father of Hepsi- 
bah, married, May 8, 1723, Hepsibah Petti- 
bone, daughter of Samuel Pettibone, men- 
tioned above. Lieutenant Samuel Humphrey, 
father of Charles, was born at Windsor, May 
15, 1636, died at Simsbury, June 15, 1736; 
married Mary Mills, born December 8, 1662, 
at Windsor. Simon Mills, father of Mary, 
was of Windsor, married, February 23, 1659- 
60, Mary Buell, born September 3, 1642, and 
removed to Simsbury in 1669. William Buell, 
father of Mary, was born in Wales, came to 
Windsor and died in 168 1 ; married Mary 
, November 18, 1640, and she died Sep- 
tember 2, 1684. Goode Buell, father of Wil- 
liam, was born in Wales, and died at Wind- 
sor, December 30, 1639. James Cornish, Jr., 
of Simsbury, father of Elisha Cornish, died 
April 2, 1740; married Amy Butler, born at 
Hartford in 1698, daughter of Thomas, Jr., 
and Abigail (Shepard) Butler. Thomas, Jr., 
married Abigail Shepard, August 6, 1691. He 
was son of Thomas Butler, who died at Hart- 
ford in 1697, and grandson of Deacon Richard 
and Elizabeth (Bigelow) Butler, of Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. Richard Butler was in 



Cambridge in 1632 ; died in 1684. James 
Cornish, Sr., father of James Cornish, Jr., 
was of Simsbury, son of James Cornish, who 
came to Saybrook, Connecticut, as early as 
1663. died October 29, 1698, at Simsbury; wife 
died December 28, 1664. 

(V) Elisha, son of Abijah or Ahijah Petti- 
bone, was born at Simsbury, March 15, 1781, 
died September 29, 1859. He married, June, 
1802, Sarah Sugden, born September 11, 1788, 
died July, 1832. Thomas Sugden, father of 
Sarah, came from England, lived in Simsbury 
and Canton, Connecticut; married, December, 
1780, Persis Mather, born January 22, 1760. 
David Mather, father of Persis, was born at 
Berlin, Connecticut. October 7, 1738, died 
1817; married Hannah Dunham, June 2, 1757. 
Joshua Mather, father of David Mather, was 
born at Windsor, November 26, 1706, died at 
Berlin, May 16, 1777; married, 1735, Hannah 
Booth, born July 22, 1716, died April 8, 1779. 
Robert Booth, father of Hannah, died Decem- 
ber 17, 1750; married, November 27. 1712, 
Ann Hollister, born at Wethersfield, March 
16, 1690. Captain Stephen Hollister, father of 
Ann, was born at Wethersfield in 1658, built a 
house at Glastonbury in 1675, married, 1683, 
Abigail Treat, born at Wethersfield, died in 
1700. Matthies Treat, immigrant, father of 
Abigail, came to Wethersfield ; married in 
England in 1648 Mary, daughter of Richard 
Smith, of England. Lieutenant John Hollis- 
ter, father of Captain Stephen Hollister, was 
born in England in 1633 ; married, November 
19, 1663, Joanna Treat, died October, 1694. 
Hon. Richard Treat, father of Joanna, was 
baptized in England, August 28, 1584, died at 
Wethersfield, in 1669-70; married, April 27, 
1615, Alice Gaylord, baptized at Minister, Eng- 
land, May 10, 1594. The Treat line has been 
traced four generations further in England. 
Joseph Booth, father of Robert Booth, was 
born at Stratford, Connecticut, in 1656, died 
September 1, 1703; married, 1686-87. Hannah 
Wilcoxson, born at Stratford, February 14, 
1665. John Wilcoxson, father of Hannah, was 
born in England in 1633, married, March 19, 
1663, Elizabeth Wells, a widow. William 
Wilcoxson, father of John Wilcoxson, came 
from London, England, in the ship "Planter" 
in 1635; was born in 1601-02, died at Strat- 
ford in 1652 ; married Margaret , born 

1610-Ti. Richard Booth, father of Joseph 
Booth, was born in England in 1607, died at 
Stratford ; married Elizabeth Hawley. of Eng- 
land. Atherton Mather, father of Joshua 
Mather, was born in Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, October 4, 1663, died at Suffield, Con- 
necticut, November 9, 1734; married, Decem- 
ber 17, 1750, Mary Lamb, born at Roxbury, 

Massachusetts, March 7, 1681. Caleb Lamb, 
father of Mary, was born at Roxbury, April 
9, 1641, died 1697; married, June 30, 1669, 
Mary Wise, baptized at Roxbury, February 3, 
1650. Joseph W 7 ise, father of Mary, came 
from England in 1636; married, December 3, 
1641, Mary Thompson. Thomas Lamb, father 
of Caleb, was born in England, came over in 
1630, died November 28, 1646; married, July 
16, 1640, Dorothy Harbottle, of England. 
Timothy Mather, father of Atherton, was born 
at Liverpool, England, died at Dorchester, 
January 14, 1684; married Elizabeth Ather- 
ton, baptized September 28, 1628. Major-Gen- 
eral Humphrey Atherton came from England 
to Dorchester in 1637; died September 17, 
1 661 ; married in England Mary 

-. Rev. 

Richard Mather, of London, England, came 
to Dorchester in 1642; died April 22, 1669; 
son of Thomas Mather, of Low ton, England, 
grandson of John Mather. 

(VI) William C, son of Elisha Pettibone, 
was born at Simsbury, January 26, 1812, died 
July 4, 1879, at Hartford. He married, March 
28, 1836, Augusta E. Fenton, born at Mans- 
field, Connecticut, January 19, 1815. Marvin 
Fenton, father of Augusta E., was born at 
Mansfield, July 30, 1787, died June, 1855; 
married Sally Hibbard, born at Waterford, 
New York, in 1794. Jabez Hibbard, father 
of Sally, was born at Windham, Connecticut, 
April 27, 1764, died at Waterford, New York, 
1797; married, 1784, Barthena Howard, of 
Amherst, Massachusetts, died at Waterford in 
1844, aged eighty-two. Joseph Hibbard, 
father of Jabez, was born at Windham, May 
15,1733, died at Hebron, Connecticut, April 
16, 1774; married, August 9, 1755, Temper- 
ance Giles. Joseph Hibbard, father of Joseph, 
was born in Windham ; married Anna Strick- 
land, who died January 31, 1741. Joseph 
Hibbard, father of Joseph last-named, was 
born at Wenham, Massachusetts, May 18, 
1678. died at Windham, February 28, 17.55: 
married Abigail Kendall, born April 20, 1678 
or 1688, died December 6, 1756. Robert Hib- 
bard, father of Joseph, was born at Beverly, 
March 7, 1648, died at Windham, April 29, 
1710; married Mary Walden, who died March 
7, 1736. Robert Hibbard, father of Robert, 
was born at Salisbury, England, baptized 
March 13, 1613; camfi to Salem about 1635; 
died at Beverly, May 7, 1684; married Jane 
Waldron, who died in 1696, daughter of Ed- 
ward Waldron. Elijah Fenton, father of 
Marvin Fenton, mentioned above, was born at 
Mansfield, August 6, 1754. died April 17, 
1790; married, November 22, 1774, Ruby An- 
derson, born at Mansfield, February 18, 1752. 
George Anderson, father of Ruby, married. 



March 23, 1749, Abigail, daughter of Stephen 
and Abigail Brown, and granddaughter of 
Captain John Brown, of Swansea, Massachu- 
setts. Ebenezer Fenton, father of Elijah Fen- 
ton, was born at Mansfield, August 29, 1710; 
married, February 11, 1740, Mehitable Tuttle, 
who died before 1762, daughter of Jonathan 
Tuttle. Robert Fenton, father of Ebenezer, 
was at Woburn, Massachusetts, in 1688, and 
at Windham, Connecticut, in 1693-94. 

(VII) Mary C, born at Hartford, Febru- 
ary 18, 1846, daughter of William C. and 
Augusta E. Pettibone ; she married. ( )ctober 
15, 1874, Dr. James Campbell (see Campbell 

The surname Provost is iden- 
PROVOST tical with Provoost, Prevost 
and Prevot, and is of ancient 
French origin. One well-known branch of 
the family in America traces its ancestry to 
William Provost, who was living in Paris at 
the time of the massacre of St. Bartholomew 
in 1572, and left France on account of religious 
persecution, being a Huguenot; married Tarn 
Waart, of Dutch ancestry, and perhaps had 
taken refuge in Holland before coming in 1634 
to New Amsterdam. David Provoost came 
from Holland to New Amsterdam before 1630. 
Johannes Provost settled among the pioneers 
at Albany, being the eldest son of David, it is 
thought he suffered for his loyalty to Leisler 
and returned later to The Hague ; has des- 
cendants in New York. (See New York, Gen. 
and Biog. Rec. VI. p. 1-24.) The French 
family had a coat-of-arms. Augustine Pre- 
vost, born 1695, died 1740, buried at Besinque, 
Switzerland, was father of Colonel James M. 
Prevost, who commanded the British forces 
in New Jersey in the revolution ; married 
Theodora Bartow, of Shrewsbury, New Jer- 
sey, and has many descendants. These fam- 
ilies are doubtless all of the original French 
stock but very distantly related to the Cana- 
dian branch given below. The spelling in 
Canada is generally Prevost. sometimes Pro- 
vost and Prevot. The Canadian family sprung 
from pioneer ancestors who came before 1644 
to Montreal from St. Aubin in Bretagne, and 
Rouen in Normandy and Paris. 

(I) Martin Provost or Prevost was born in 
161 1 in France, died at Beauport, Canada, 
January 26, 1691. He came to Quebec, Can- 
ada. He married (first), probably in France, 
Marie Olivier Sylvestre, who died September 
10, 1665. He married (second) Marie 
(D'Abancoeur) Guillot, widow of Godfrey 
Guillot and daughter of Adrien D'Abancoeur. 
Children : Eustache, mentioned below ; Louis, 
born 165 1, died at Beauport. May 27, 

1686; Jean Baptiste, 1659; Jean* 1660. Per- 
haps other children. One Jean Baptiste, per- 
haps a nephew, born 1653, is progenitor of 
many of the families. 

(II) Eustache, son or nephew of Martin 
Provost, was born in 1644, died March 27, 
1730. He married, November 13, 1673, at 
Montreal, Elisabeth Guertin, born 1659, died 
March 21, 1714. Children: Rosalie, baptized 
April 22, 1688, at Pointe-aux-Trembles ; Anne 
Charlotte, baptized February 19, 1690; Eus- 
tache, mentioned below ; Marie Louise, Decem- 
ber 28, 1694; Jean Baptiste, April 13, 1702. 

(III) Eustache (2), son of Eustache (1) 
Provost, was born September 20, 1692. He 
married (first) December 8, 1715, Catherine 
Brazeau ; (second) February 17, 1727, Marie 
Madeleine Sarrault. Children : Eustache, born 
November 24, 1716; Marie, 1718; Paul, Feb- 
ruary 29, 1719 ; Jean Baptiste, August 4, 1720 ; 
Francois, May 1. 1722, died young; Claude, 
May 24, 1723, died young; Ignace, July 4, 
1724, died young; Marie Jeanne, May 5, 1726. 
died young. Children of second wife : An- 
toine, mentioned below; Marguerite Louise, 
July 16, 1729; Marguerite, 1731 ; Pierre, 1733; 
Madeline, October 22, 1735: Jean Baptiste, 
August 5, 1737; Charles, October 25, 1739; 
Clotilde Amarante, March 7, 1742. 

(IV) Antoine, son of Eustache (2) Pro- 
vost, was born at Montreal, November 24, 
1727. He lived at Montreal. He was a mas- 
ter cooper by trade. He married (first) No- 
vember 26, 1753, Therese, daughter of 
Francois Coiteux ; (second) September 19, 
1757, Marie Angelique, daughter of Louis 
Prejean, of Lachine. Children: Ange- 
lique, born 1761 ; Louis, May 25, 1774, 
mentioned below ; Marie Joseph, May 29, 
1776, died July 14, 1776; Rosalie, May 29, 
1776, died August 9, 1776. 

(V) Louis Provost, of the family given 
above, and believed to be the Louis born May 
25, 1774, while his parents were in Detroit. He 
married a Chevalier of an old French family 
of Canada. Children, born in Canada : Louis, 
1806; Adelaide, 1808; Marie, 1810; Joseph, 
mentioned below ; Hilaire, 1816. The exact 
dates are not known. 

(VI) Joseph, son of Louis Provost, was 
born in Canada in 1812. He followed the sea 
and was a master mariner. He married, in 
1838, Archange Danserault. Children : Na- 
zaire, born 1839; Vittoire, 1841 ; Philomene, 
1847: Joseph, mentioned below; Calixte, 1850. 

(VII) Rev. Joseph (2) Provost, son of 
Joseph (1) Provost, was born in 1847 m Can- 
ada. He was educated for the ministry and 
ordained after four years of study in Switzer- 
land in 1872. He was for nine years pastor 



in Ohio, four years in Montreal, Canada, thir- 
teen years in Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
fourteen years at Torrington, Connecticut. He 
married Sarah Vernier, born September 18, 
1849, daughter of Jean and Lydia (Boder) 
Vernier. Her father was a native of France, 
a missionary in Canada 1840-53, dying in the 
wreck of the ship "Anne Jane" in 1853 ; her 
mother was a native of Switzerland ; both were 
of Huguenot families. Children : Eva Lydia, 
born in Ohio, March 7, 1872; Vernon Joseph, 
born in Ohio, September 11, 1873; Fritz Flo- 
rian, July 4, 1876; Gerald Harold, February, 
1878; Alva George, November 2, 1879, men- 
tioned below ; Louise Germaine, born in Ohio, 
August 20, 1882; Olga Bianca, born in Ohio, 
November 21, 1884; Chester Charles, born in 
Springfield, June 21, 1886; Paul Richard, born 
in Springfield, January 27, 1889 ; Adrian 
Henry, born in Springfield, June 20, 1893. 

( VIII) Dr. Alva George Provost, son of 
Rev. Joseph (2) Provost, was born at Mow- 
rystown, Highland county, Ohio, November 2, 
1879. He attended the public schools and 
graduated from the grammer school of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and from the high school 
of Torrington, Connecticut, in T900. He en- 
tered Yale College in 1900 and was graduated 
in the class of 1905 with the degee of M. D. 
He took up the study of medicine in Yale 
Medical School and was on the staff of the 
City Hospital of New York in 1906 and the 
Riverside Hospital of New York in 1907. Since 
1908 he has been in general practice in New 
Haven, Connecticut. He is a member of the 
Yale Medical Society and of Yale Alumni So- 
ciety and City Hospital Alumni Society. He 
belongs to the Skull and Scepter Club, So- 
ciety of Yale, and to the United Order of the 
Pilgrim Fathers, of which he is medical ex- 
aminer. In politics he is a Republican, in re- 
ligion a Congregationalist. He is unmarried 
His office was at first on Orchard street, now 
at 226 Walley avenue. 

lohn Kirby, the immigrant ances- 
KIRBY tor, was baptized January 4. 1624, 
in Rowington, county Warwick, 
England. He was the son of "Humphrey 
Kerbe." He was registered as "Jo Kerbie 
aged 12 years" on the pasenger list of the 
"Hopewell," Captain Babb, Master, which 
sailed September 11, 1635, from London to 
New England. In 1643, ne was registered in 
Plymouth, Massachusetts, as "able to bear 
arms." Before April, 1645, ne nad become a 
resident of Hartford, and in that year, he and 
Seth Grant had contracted to herd the cattle 
there. In 1654, he had settled "north of the 
rivulet" later known as "Middletown Upper 

Houses" on what is known as Pleasant street. 
in the present village of Cromwell, the Upper 
Houses having been set apart in 1851 as the 
town of Cromwell. His homestead was sit- 
uated in the west part of Cromwell, at the 
bend of the Mattabessett river, now known as 
Kirby bridge. In the same year, September 
31, 1654, he sold a house and land in Rowing- 
ton, county Warwick, England, to Richard 
Lord of Hartford. In May, 1658, he was 
made a freeman by the general court of Con- 
necticut. He died April, 1677, leaving a will 
made on April 6, and an estate valued at £551. 
He left twenty-four parcels of land, comprising 
1,068 acres. Part of the original homestead 
he had sold to his son-in-law, David Sage. 

He married Elizabeth Hinds, who married 
(second) Abraham Randall of Windsor, Con- 
necticut. She outlived her second husband, 
and died in 1697. Children: Mary, born 1644, 
in Hartford; Elizabeth, September 8, 1646, 
in Hartford; Hannah, March 2, 1649-50; 
John (twin), December 18, 1651, Wethers- 
field. Connecticut; Eunice (twin), December 
18, 165 t ; Esther, 1652, Middletown, Connecti- 
cut; Sarah, January 16, 1654, Middletown; 
Joseph, July 17, 1656, Middletown, mentioned 
below ; Bethiah, February 14, 1658, Middle- 
town ; Susannah, May 3, 1664, Middletown; 
Abigail, March 6, 1666, Middletown. 

(II) Joseph, son of John Kirby, was born 
July 17, 1656, in Upper Houses, and married 
(first), December 10, 1681, Sarah Markham, 
in Wethersfield ; (second), October 17, 1704, 
Mary, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Nor- 
ton) Plum, of Milford, Connecticut. He was 
a wheelwright by trade. He inherited the 
house and lot bought by his father of David 
Sage ; this he sold and was given one of the 
four-acre lots in what was to be "comon for- 
ever," on which he built. He removed to South- 
ampton, Long Island, and sold May 13. 1685, 
350 acres in Middletown, to John Haven. 
He returned by November, 1687, and went to 
the Carolinas, but came home poor and had a 
law suit with other heirs, brothers-in-law, 
Alexander Rollo and David Robinson, about 
the estate of his father, 1706 and 1707. In 
this law suit he was his own attorney, and was 
partly successful. March 1, 1708-09, he was 
admitted with others to be "attorneys at the 
bar'* of Hartford county, and was one of the 
first lawyers in Connecticut. From July, 1706, 
to June, 1708, he lived in Milford, Connecti- 
cut. He died December 2, 171 1, and was 
buried in Riverside Cemetery, Lower Middle- 
town. He left to his wife Mary his four-acre 
lot, on which he had built his home. Children : 
Elizabeth, February 20, 1683-84; Sarah, Au- 
gust 10, 1685 ; Deborah, March 27, 1688; John, 

(/■ * \yz&-zrx^cf~> 



February 16, 1691, mentioned below; Mary, 
June 10, 1693; Joseph, baptized June 9, 1695, 
died young; Bethiah, about 1698; Joseph, bap- 
tized July, 1706; Susanna, December, 1706; 
Margaret, September 2, 1709. 

(III) John (2), son of Joseph Kirby, was 
born February 16, 1691, in Upper Houses, and 
married March 3, 1718, Hannah, born Febru- 
ary 11, 1696, daughter of Thomas and 
Bethiah (Stocking) Stow. She died March 
7, 1780. He inherited a third part of his fa- 
ther's estate and purchased much of his sis- 
ter's share. He was a member of the church 
in the "North Society" organized January 5, 
1715, and died April 25, 1760. Children: Jo- 
seph, January I, 1719; Hannah, April, 1723; 
Daniel, October, 1724; Sarah, July 19, 1726; 
Thomas, December, 1729: Bethiah, December 
31, 1731 ; Jonathan, 1726, mentioned below, 
and four others. 

(IV) Jonathan, son of John (2) Kirby, 
was born about 1726, in Upper Houses, and 
married March 1, 1769, Lucy, born October 
13, 1742, daughter of Thomas and Hannah 
(Dodd) Burgis. She was a woman of "Per- 
sonal attractions, winning manners and great 
energy of character," and died February 28, 
18 1 7. Her mother Hannah Dodd was the 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Savage) 
Dodd of Upper Houses. During the revolu- 
tion, Jonathan Kirby was a minute man, and 
kept a horse in the stable, with saddle and 
bridle near, to be ready at once. His wife had 
his saddle bags packed, and any time she saw 
him coming quickly toward the house she 
brought them out, and put up a lunch for him. 
He was at Guilford when the British came in 
there, also at New London when Benedict 
Arnold burned the town, and at other places. 
He died May 5, 1782. Children: Elisha, 
October 13, 1774, mentioned below; Lucy, Oc- 
tober 1, 1776. 

(V) Elisha, son of Jonathan Kirby, was 
born October 13, 1774, in Upper Houses, and 
married November 2, 1800, Betsy, daughter of 
Samuel and Martha (Eells) Spencer. She 
was baptized October 3, 1779. He left his 
farm to keep the "Washington Hotel," on the 
corner of Washington and Main streets. The 
Washington Hotel Company was organized in 
18 12 by a number of citizens. They erected 
a spacious house, and here in 1825, General 
Lafayette was entertained by Elisha Kirby. 
This house, in 1835, became the property of 
Rev. Samuel Jarvis, D. D., LL, D., and later 
was the Berkeley Divinity School of the Epis- 
copal church, and the home of Bishop John 
Williams for forty years. Mr. Kirby removed 
to Guilford, and then to New Haven, where 
he died Februarv 18, 1868. His wife died in 

New Haven, December 20, 1859. Children : 
Caroline, August 9, 1801 ; John, October 5, 
1803, died January 26, 1812; William, July 2, 
1805 ; Giles, November 2, 1807; Olive, October 
3, 1810; John Burgis, October 11, 1813, men- 
tioned below; Eliab Burgis, August 16, 1816; 
Thomas Spencer, December 23, 1819. 

(VI) John Burgis, son of Elisha Kirby, was 
born October 11, 1813. He was educated in 
the public schools. He became a prominent 
silversmith and jeweler in New Haven. In 
1876 burglars entered his place of business 
and stole goods amounting in value to sixty 
thousand dollars and none of the goods were 
ever recovered. He died in New Haven, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1888. In politics he was a Demo- 
crat, in religion an Episcopalian. He married 
(first) February 11, 1841, Mary Ann Thomas, 
born January 11, 1817, daughter of Thomas 
Burgis, of Guilford, Connecticut. She died 
September 11, 1848, in New Haven. He mar- 
ried (second), February 26, 1851, Lucretia 
Coan, born, 1824, in Guilford, daughter of 
John Bartlett, born, 1785, in Richmond, Mas- 
sachusetts, and Clarissa (Coan) Bartlett, born 
February 7, 1803, in Guilford, and ma/ried 
August 10, 1823. Children: 1. Thomas Bur- 
gis, born February 28, 1842 ; enlisted Septem- 
ber 8, 1862, in the Twentieth Connecticut Reg- 
iment ; made acting adjutant in April, 1863, in 
the First Division, Twelfth Army Corps ; made 
assistant adjutant general, May, 1863, in the 
Artillery Brigade, First Division, and in De- 
cember, 1863, adjutant general, in the same 
division. He was commissioned captain, April 
7, 1864, of the Forty- fourth United States 
colored troops; major, August 5, 1864; his 
regiment surrendered to General Hood, Oc- 
tober 13, 1864: he was in the battles of Chan- 
cellorsville and Gettysburg; was editor of the 
Chattanooga Union until 1869; founded the 
Chattanooga Times and published it until No- 
vember, 1875, when he became the private sec- 
retary of Postmaster-General Key ; afterward 
on the editorial staff of the Washington Post; 
later of the Wall Street Journal. Married, 
January 16, 1896, Mrs. Mary Elizabeth 
(Frazier) Alliman, born March 1, 1843, a * 
Canal Dover, widow of William I. Alliman, 
and daughter of Thomas Jefferson and Mary 
(Lenhart) Frazier. No children. He died in 
New York City, April 13, 1909. 2. Samuel 
Hubbard, September 21, 1843, mentioned be- 
low. 3. John Walter, November it, 1845 ; died 
December 28, 1874; served in the First Con- 
necticut Cavalry during the civil war. 4. 
Sarah Deshon, June 2, 1847, m New Haven; 
married, September 18, 1868, Isaac Sammis 
Jennings, born September 6, 1843, son °f Jos- 
eph Hiram Jennings, grandson of Isaac and 



Elizabeth (Sammis) Jennings, great-grandson 
of Jacob Jennings, of Norwalk ; children : 
Mary Kirby Jennings, March i, 1871 ; Walter 
Barry Jennings, February 28, 1873 ; Burgis 
Deshon Jennings, June 3, 1884. Children of 
the second wife : 5. Elizabeth Clarissa, born 
March 12, 1858, in New Haven; married 
there, October, 1877, Frank Allyn Robinson; 
children : Ally Kirby Robinson, born April 30, 
1879; Louise Robinson, August 11, 1880; 
Helen Robinson, February 28, 1882. 6. Wil- 
liam Bartlett, lawyer of Lincoln, Nebraska : 
born April 17, 1858; married Sally Wood 
Louthan, of Jacksonville, Florida, born March 
23, i860, in Alton, daughter of Rev. Norman 
Wilson Wood, D. D., and Emily (Dunlap) ; 
child: Charles E. Kirby, born May 11, 1886, 
died July 31, 1887. 7. Emma Henrietta, May 
1, 1862, in New Haven; married, January 11, 
1887, Elijah Bell Lewis, of Norwich; chil- 
dren : Margaret Hazard Lewis, November 2, 
1888; John Kirby Lewis, January 15, 1893. 

(VII) Samuel Hubbard, son of John Burgis 
Kirby, was born at New Haven, September 
21, 1843. He was educated in the public 
schools of New Haven and at the Cheshire 
Academy. In 1861 he enlisted as a private in 
the union army, but being under age was re- 
leased at the request of his father, who had 
already given two sons to his country. His 
interest in military affairs did not cease, how- 
ever, with his failure to get to the front dur- 
ing the war. He was active in the state militia 
afterward, and an officer in the famous Gov- 
ernor's Foot Guards of New Haven. He be- 
came associated with his father in the silver- 
ware and jewelry business, and when his father 
died, succeeded to the business and continued 
it under his own name. Later the sons were 
admitted to partnership under the firm name 
of Samuel H. Kirby & Sons. Afterward the 
business was incorporated, but it is still owned 
by the Kirby family. Samuel H. Kirby is 
president of the corporation, John Burgis 
Kirby, treasurer, and Samuel A. Kirby, secre- 
tary. It is the oldest and one of the largest 
jewelry houses in the state of Connecticut, es- 
tablished in 1830 by John Burgis Kirby. The 
place of business has always been on Chapel 
street, New Haven, now No. 822. The store 
is popular and enjoys the best class of trade in 
New Haven. In politics Mr. Kirby is inde- 
pendent. In religion, he and his family attend 
St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church of New 
Haven. He is a veteran member of the New 
Haven Grays and one of the board of trustees. 
He is interested in local and family history 
and in 1890 published a brief genealogy of his 
family. He married, August 28, 1867, Susan 
Adolphine Armstrong, daughter of Captain 

Sereno Dwight and Selina (Clark) Arm- 
strong, granddaughter of Jerry and Betsey 
(York) Clark, of West Haven, Connecticut. 
Captain Sereno Dwight Armstrong was a 
master mariner and member of the firm of 
L. W. Armstrong & Company, West India 
merchants. Children: 1. Harriet Ruth, born 
January 25, 1870; married May 21, 1890, Jo- 
seph Livingstone Jennings of South Norwalk, 
Connecticut, born December 1, 1863, at Yon- 
kers. New York, son of Samuel Barry of New 
York and Matilda Lewis (Stone) Jennings of 
Montreal ; children : Ruth Jennings, born 
March 31, 1891 ; Samuel Berry Jennings, Jr.; 
Mildred Jennings. 2. John Burgis, born Feb- 
ruary 25, 1872; treasurer of the Kirby com- 
pany ; member of the Quinnipiac Club and of 
the Church of the Redeemer of New Haven ; 
married May 24, 1898, Harriet Irene Brown; 
child: John Burgis Kirby, Jr. 3. Ralph Jay, 
born December 11, 1874; married (first) Lena 
Hills; (second) in 1907, Caroline Varney, of 
Arlington, Massachusetts, born 1878. 4. Sam- 
uel Armstrong, born December 1, 1878; secre- 
tary of the Kirby company ; member of the 
Governor's Foot Guards of New Haven, of 
the Union League Club and the New Haven 
Yacht Club; married, October 28, 1908, Lillian 
May, born May 2.2., 1883, daughter of J. M. 
Emerson, of Ansonia. Connecticut. 5. Selina 
Maria Russell, born February 7, 1882. 6. 
Susan Edwina, born May 13, 1885; married, 
October 15, 1906, Hubert Milton Greist, born 
October 25, 1883, in Chicago. (See Griest.) 

(The Burgis Line). 

(I) Thomas Burgis, the immigrant ances- 
tor, was born in Yorkshire, England, and came 
to this country about 1707. He was impressed 
on a British man-of-war and held in the serv- 
ice for several years. Once when his vessel 
was cruising near New York, he escaped, but 
was recaptured at Newtown, Connecticut, and 
received a grievous sabre cut in the face, leav- 
ing a permanent scar. After a time, he escaped 
again at Boston, and came to Guilford, Con- 
necticut, to make his home. He was by trade 
a tanner and shoemaker. He married, Au- 
gust 19, 1707, in Guilford, Mercy, daughter 
of Thomas and Sarah (Benton) Wright. He 
died October 23, 1736; she died June 29, 1747. 
Children: 1. Thomas, born May 29, 1709, 
mentioned below. 2. Jesse, April 23, 1712, 
died young. 3. John, August 31, 1714; mar- 
ried, January 14, 1742, Sarah Dodd, sister of 
Hannah, who married his brother Thomas ; he 
was deputy to the general court 1768-89 in 
twenty-four sessions "always in attendance 
thereon he wore very large silver knee and 
shoe buckles kept for that season and at his 


death they were given to his niece, Mrs. Lucy energy of her character. She became a widow 

Burgis Kirby, who had them made into a when her children were young and their farm 

dozen table spoons and as many tea spoons ;" in Middletown not entirely free from encumb- 

he was deacon of the Congregational church ranees. By her energy and careful manage- 

at Guilford; from November 21, 1775, until ment, she kept up the farm, cleared it of debt 

his death, March 26, 1799. 4. Phillis, March and brought up her children. When her son 

1, 1716; died October 12, 1760; married Na- became old enough to make choice of his life 

thaniel Johnson, of Guilford, born October 4, work, he told his mother that a man could not 

171 5, died January 18, 1746, son of Isaac, make a living on that farm. Her reply was 

5. Mercy, September 26, 1719; died February that 'if a man could not, a woman had done 

24, 1800. 6. Eliab, October 31, 1722, died it.'") 4. Mary, December 9. 1744; died Au- 

October 19, 1730. 7. Abigail, born 1724, died gust 7, 1781 ; married, April 13. 1765, John 

1802; married Enos Bishop. Griswold, born June 17, 1742, died May 16, 

(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) Bur- 1771, son of Thomas. 5. Samuel, December 

gis, was born at Guilford, May 29, 1709. "He 26, 1745 ; died July 20, 1747. 

was a man of admirable Christian character. (HI) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) 

As the infirmities of age came upon him and Burgis, was born February 24, 1738, at Guil- 

confined him to his home, his brethren in the ford. He graduated at Yale College in 1758, 

church enjoyed calling upon him, when after studied for the ministry and was licensed to 

a cheerful conversation with them, he would preach. But an attack of measles injured his 

repeat the passage of Scripture, 'They that eyes and made it impossible to pursue the min- 

feared the Lord spake often one to another and istry for a profession. He became a farmer 

the Lord hearkened and heard them and a at Guilford. He held various offices oT trust 

book of remembrance was written before him and honor, town clerk, judge of probate and 

for them that feared the Lord and that thought deacon of the church. "He was an honorable 

upon his name.' ' He married. May 18, 1737, man and counsellor." He died June 14, 1799, 

Hannah, born July 28, 1712, daughter of Sam- at Guilford. He married, August 9, 1769. 

uel and Hannah (Savage) Dodd. Thomas Olive Dudley, born June 3, 1746, died August 

Burgis died March 28, 1796, aged eighty-six 13, 1813, daughter of Oliver and Elizabeth 

and his wife July 26, 1795. Samuel Dodd, of (Kilburn) Dudley. Children: Thomas, born 

Guilford, was born in 1681, died May 2, 1757 ; October 6, 1770, mentioned below; Samuel, 

married January 10, 1705, Hannah Savage, of January 17, 1774; Olive, September 14, 1776; 

Middletown, Connecticut, born July, 1675, Eliab, March 13, 1779; Hannah, May 9, 1783; 

daughter of John and Elizabeth (D'Aubin) Elizabeth, November 2, 1787; Harriet, Sep- 

Savage; children: Ebenezer Dodd, born De- tember 2, 1790. 

cember 22, 1705; Samuel Dodd, February 28, (IV) Thomas (4), son of Thomas (3) 

1707; Hannah, July 28, 1712, mentioned Burgis, was born at Guilford, October 6, 1770. 

above; Sarah Dodd, April 24, 1815, married He married, February 14, 1793, Sarah Deshon, 

John Burgis. Stephen Dodd, father of Sam- of New London, born February 27, 1772, 

uel, was born February 16. 1655, died October daughter of Henry and Bathsheba . (Rogers) 

26, 1691 : married April 18, 1678, Sarah Ste- Deshon. Thomas Burgis died May 25, 

vens, born January 25, 1651, daughter of 1861, aged ninety, and she died January 25, 

Thomas and Mary Stevens of Guilford; chil- 1852. Children, born at Guilford: Ruth, No- 

dren : Daniel Dodd, born 1679; Samuel, 1681, vember 2j, 1794, married Noah Fowler; 

mentioned above. Daniel Dodd, father of Sarah, December 2, 1796, married Samuel 

Stephen Dodd, was born about 1620 in Eng- Hubard ; Harriet, January 11, 1800, died un- 

land ; settled in Branford where he died Jan- married, December 23, 1877; George T., Feb- 

nary 16, 1665: married in 1646. Mary, who ruary 6, 1803, died November 17. 1816; Lydia 

died May 25, 1667; children: Mary, Hannah, Maria, July 3, 1807, died June 6, 1808: Eliab 

Daniel, Ebenezer, Stephen, mentioned above, Thomas, April 11, 1809; Mary Ann Thomas, 

and Samuel, born May 2, 1757. Children of January 11, 1817. died September it. 1848, 

Thomas (2) Burgis: 1. Thomas, February 24, married, February 10, 1841, her cousin John 

1738; married Olive Dudley. 2. Hannah, De- Burgis Kirby, of New Haven, born October 

cember 5, 1739; married William Starr. 3. 11, 1813. 

Lucy, born October T3, 1742; died 1817; mar- (The Deshon Line). 

ried. March 1, 1769, Jonathan Kirby. ("She (I) Daniel Deshon was a son of one of the 

was tall and had a bright, cheerful face and thirty French Huguenots who came from 

sparkling black eyes and her presence gen- France in t686 and settled at Oxford, 

erally made a lasting and happy impression on Worcester county, Massachusetts. After a time 

me. I have heard much of the loveliness and the settlement was broken up and most of the 



settlers sought homes elsewhere. Rene Grig- 
non came to Norwich, where he died in 1 7 1 5 , 
and Daniel was a youth at the time in his 
family and was a legatee in his will. Daniel 
removed to New London and settled there. 
He married, Octoher 4, 1724, Ruth, daughter 
of Richard and Grace (Turner) Christophers 
and descendant of Elder William Brewster. 
Richard Christophers was born, July 13, 1662, 
in Devonshire, England, son of Christopher 
and Mary Christophers. Grace Turner 
(Christophers) was daughter of John and 
Mary (Brewster) Turner of Scituate. John 
Turner married. November 10, 1645, Mary 
Brewster, born April 16, 1627; children: Jona- 
than. Joseph, Ezekiel, John, Elisha, Benjamin, 
Grace (mentioned above), Lydia, Mary and 
Ruth Turner. Jonathan Brewster, father of 
Mary, was born at Scrooby, England, August 
12, 1593; settled in New London, Connecti- 
cut; married Lucretia Oldham, who died 
March 4, 1669. Elder William Brewster, fa- 
ther of Jonathan, was born at Scrooby, Eng- 
land, came in the "Mayflower," was a leading 
figure in the Plymouth colony ; died at Dux- 
bury, April 16, 1643. 

(II) Henry, son of Daniel Deshon, was born 
at New London in 1728, and died March 20, 
181 8. He married Bathsheba Rogers, daugh- 
ter of James and Grace (Harris) Rogers, 
granddaughter of Lieutenant Joseph Harris. 
She died July 23, 1803. James was the son of 
John and Bathsheba (Smith) Rogers, grand- 
son of Richard and Bathsheba (Rogers) 
Smith, great-granddaughter of Captain James 
Rogers, of New London. John Rogers, fa- 
ther of James, was born March 20, 1664, eld- 
est son of John and Elizabeth (Griswold) 
Rogers, and grandson of Captain James and 
of Matthew Griswold, of Lyme, and Ann 
(Wolcott) Griswold. Ann was daughter of 
the immigrant, Henry Wolcott, of Windsor. 
Sarah Deshon, daughter of Henry and Bath- 
sheba (Rogers) Deshon, born February 27, 
1772; died January 25, 1852; married, Febru- 
ary 14, 1793, Thomas Burgis. 

The surname Kirby is of Danish 
KIRBY origin and was originally spelled 

Kirkby, from Kirke — church, and 
bye — dwelling. The word was in use early as 
a town name, as Kirkby Kendal, Kirkby Lons- 
dale, etc. 

The first Baron Kirkby was Ivo Taille- 
bois, who came over with William the Con- 
queror to England. In 1272 John Kirkby 
was keeper of the great seal in England. John 
and Joseph Kirkby, of the early settlers at 
Hartford, were brothers, and it is thought John 
and Richard Kirby were brothers and probably 

related to, perhaps brothers of, the Hartford 

(I) Richard Kirby, immigrant ancestor, 
came from England and settled in Lynn, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1636. He and William Wood 
and others from Lynn removed in 1637 t0 
Cape Cod and settled at Sandwich. He shared 
in the land division there in 1641. His name 
is in the list of sixty-eight inhabitants reported 
as able to bear arms in 1643. He was one of 
the eleven males in the first recorded list of the 
members of the Sandwich church. In 165 1 he 
was presented for non-attendance at church, 
owing to a disagreement between pastor and 
people. He became interested in the Quaker 
faith, and was accordingly persecuted by the 
Puritan authorities. "Nicholas Upsiell, Rich- 
ard Kirby and the wife of John Newland and 
others did frequently meet together at the 
house of William Allen at Sandwich on the 
Lord's Day and other times. They used to 
invey against ministers and magistrates to dis- 
honor God and contempt of government." It 
is not certain that he became a member of the 
Society of Friends, but certainly his sympathy 
was with the Quakers and he shared their 
troubles. In 1684 he took the prescribed oath 
of fidelity. In 1658-60 the Sandwich Quakers 
were fined six hundred and seventy-nine 
pounds, and Kirby and his son paid fifty-seven 
pounds twelve shillings of that sum. After 
1660 he removed to Dartmouth, Massachu- 
setts. In November, 1670, he bought of Sarah 
Warren. Thomas Molton's share in Dartmouth ; 
in 1683 he bought a lot of Zechariah Jenkins 
in Dartmouth, on the east side of the Cocksett 
river, at Nasquamskeesett. He married Jane 

— ■. He died between May, 1686, and luly 

21, 1688. Children: Jane, died July 21, 1707; 
Sarah, born 1638, married Mathew Allen : 
Ruhamah, married John Smith ; Richard 
(mentioned below) ; Recompense, died 1720. 

(II) Richard (2), son of Richard (1) 
Kirby, was born before 1638. He was in con- 
stant difficulty on account of his Quakerism. 
He was fined twenty shillings for refusing to 
assist Marshall Barlow, and in 1660 five 
pounds for the same offence. He was one of 
the twenty-four inhabitants of Sandwich in 
October, 1660, fined ten shillings each for at- 
tending Quaker meetings ,and suffered with 
his father distraint of fifteen cows to satisfy 
fines amounting to fifty-seven pounds twelve 
shillings. "He was evidently of the sterner 
stuff of reformers, ahead of the time in which 
he lived, and acted fully up to that line, re- 
gardless of personal consequences." He mar- 
ried. October 9, 1665, Patience, daughter of 
William Gifford, of Sandwich. He also re- 
moved to Dartmouth. His wife Patience died 



after May 20, 1674, and he married (second) 
December 2, 1678, Abigail, widow of Zoeth 
Howland, son of Henry Howland, of Dux- 
bury, who had been killed by the Indians at 
Pocasset in King Philip's war, March 26, 1676, 
leaving a widow with nine children. Richard 
Kirby 's will was dated January 30, 1707-08, 
proved April 4, 1720. Children: Sarah, born 
May 1, 1667; Experience and Temperance 
(twins), May 5, 1670; John, March 2, 1672; 
Robert, mentioned below. 

(III) Robert, son of Richard (2) Kirby, 
was born May 10, 1674, died 1757. He mar- 
ried Rebecca, daughter of Nathaniel Potter. 
He was born 1637, died October 20, 1704, son 
of Nathaniel Potter, of Portsmouth. Robert 
Kirby was a Quaker, residing at Westport, 
Rhode Island. In 171 2 he had laid out to him 
two hundred and twelve acres there on the east 
-ii'e of the Coaxit river. His wife Rebecca 
died in 1773. His will was dated March 26, 
1755, proved March 16, 1757. Children: Pa- 
tience, married John Lawton ; Nathaniel, men- 
tioned below ; Ichabod, married Rachel Allen ; 
Recompense, married Rebecca Cornell; Silas, 
married, February 8, 1742, Elizabeth Russell; 
Robert, married, December 13, 1744, Abigail 
Allen ; Barsheba, never married. 

(IV) Nathaniel, son of Robert Kirby, was 
born about 1710. He married, March 25, 
1731, Abigail, born June 25, 1712, daughter 
of James and Rebecca (Howland) Russell, of 
Dartmouth. They were members of the So- 
ciety of Friends. He died 1748. His will was 
dated November 5, 1747, proved August 21, 
1748. Children: Wesson, mentioned below; 
Rebecca, born June 26, 1733; Lydia, Novem- 
ber 20, 1738; Mary, March 15, 1743; Justus, 
April 28, 1746. Ralph Russell, ancestor of 
Abigail (Russell) Kirby, from Partepool, 
Monmouth, England, was first at Taunton, 
Massachusetts, where he worked in the iron 
works, afterwards at Dartmouth. John Rus- 
sell, son of Ralph, was of Dartmouth, where 
he died February 13, 1744-45; had an iron 
forge at Russell's Mills ; deputy to the general 
court 1665-83, excepting the years 1666-73 > m 
1677 he, John Smith and John Cooke served 
on the committee to distribute contributions 
from Ireland for the relief of suffering caused 
by King Philip's war. His wife Dorothy died 
December 18, 1687; children: Joseph Russell, 
born May, 1660: John Russell, died March 20, 
1696; Jonathan Russell, married Hasadiah 
Smith ; Dorothy Russell, died December 18, 
1687; Mary Russell, married John Cornell. 

(V) Wesson, son of Nathaniel Kirby, was 
born at Dartmouth, December 14, 1731, died 
October 9, 1798. He married, at Dartmouth, 
December 23, 1750. Hannah, born t 73 t , 

daughter of William White, Jr., of Dartmouth. 
He resided in that part of Dartmouth after- 
ward called Westport, near the small fork of 
the Noquechuck river, above the bridge. He 
was surveyor of highways 1 771-75-76-80-81, 
also selectman and treasurer of the town some 
years. His widow Hannah died 1819. His 
will was dated January 2, 1798. Children: 
Nathaniel, born July 4, 1752; William, March 
21, 1753; Sarah, April 11, 1755; George, 
March 9, 1757, mentioned below; Wesson, 
April 15, 1759; Elihu, June 13, 1761 ; Benja- 
min, June 18, 1763; Jonathan, July 14, 1765; 
Mary, 1767; Hannah. July 19, 1769; Ruth, 
October 19, 1771 ; Paul, October 20, 1773; 
Abraham, December 11, 1775; Elizabeth, died 
young. Flannah (White) Kirby was a des- 
cendant of Francis Cooke, who came in the 
"Mayflower" with the Pilgrims to Plymouth. 
Cooke was born 1577, at Blyth, county York, 
England, adjoining Austerfield, near Scrooby. 
His wife Hester was called "the Walloon." 
His son, John Cooke, also came in the "May- 
flower," and his wife and other children in 
the ship "Anne" in 1623. Cooke was one of 
the original proprietors of Dartmouth in 1652. 
His will was dated December 7, 1759. John 
Cooke, son of Francis, came with his father 
in the "Mayflower" ; was deacon of the Ply- 
mouth church ; deputy to the general court ; 
defender of the persecuted Quakers ; joined 
the Baptist church at Newport, Rhode Island, 
in 1676, and preached at Dartmouth and else- 
where; married, March 28, 1734, Sarah, 
daughter of Richard Warren, another "May- 
flower" pioneer. Sarah, daughter of Rev. John 
and Sarah (Warren) Cooke, was born 1662, 
died 1749; married George Cadman, son of 
Hon. William Cadman, of Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island. Elizabeth Cadman, daughter of 
George Cadman, married William White; 
juror, 1713, constable, T716, died 1780. Wil- 
liam White, Jr., son of William, married, Oc- 
tober 2, 1729, Abigail Thurston, whose will 
was dated February, 1777, proved October 31, 
1780. Hannah White, daughter of William, 
Jr.. was born 1731, died 1819; married, Febru- 
ary 23, 1750, Wesson Kirby, mentioned above. 
(VI) George, son of Wesson Kirby, was 
burn at Westport, March 9, 1757, died at Paw- 
ling, December 28, 1831. He removed, in 
1790, to Quaker Hill, Pawling. He married 
Anna, daughter of Humphrey Slocum, of 
Pawling. She died October, 1828, at Pawling. 
Children, born at Pawling : Humphrey, died 
October, 1826, unmarried; William, died Oc- 
tober 23, 1835, at Poughkeepsie ; Clark, born 
February 20, 1794; Uriah, mentioned below; 
Gideon, January 21, 1799; Hannah, September 
30, 1801 ; Amy. Anna (Slocum) Kirby was 

4 o 


descended from Anthony Slocum, who was 
from Somersetshire, England, and one of the 
first purchasers of Conihasset, now Taunton, 
also purchaser of Dartmouth, whither he re- 
moved with Ralph Russell and settled near 
Russell's Mills. Giles Slocum, son of An- 
thony, settled in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, 
and was admitted a freeman in 1655 ; died in 
1683; wife Joan died August 31, 1679. Eliezer 
Slocum, son of Giles, was born December 25, 
1664, at Portsmouth, near Dartmouth ; died 
1737; married Eliphel Fitzgerald. Eliezer, 
Jr., son of Eliezer Slocum, was born January 
20, 1693-94; married, July 20, 1716, Deborah 
(Smith) Howland, born May 13, 1695, daugh- 
ter of Deliverance and Mary Smith, grand- 
daughter of John and Ruhamah (Kirby) 
Smith; he died 1739. Humphrey Slocum, son 
of Eliezer, Jr., was born February 18, 1730; 
settled at Pawling; married, December 9, 1757, 
Amy, born December 6, 1734, daughter of 
Nathan and Elizabeth (Shaw) Chase. Hum- 
phrey removed to Pawling, and died there in 
1790; his daughter Anna married George 
Kirby, mentioned above. 

(VII) Uriah, son of George Kirby, was 
born at Pawling, April 4, 1797. He married, 
November 23, 1821, Phebe, born February 10, 
1805, daughter of Solomon Grow, of Pawling. 
His widow died October 14, 1865. Children, 
born at Pawling: William, April 3, 1827, mar- 
ried Mary A. Bassett; George, January 25, 
1829 ; Solomon, mentioned below ; Daniel, 
1832, died young; John Bradley, July 10, 1834; 
Amelia, October 19, 1836, died, July 4, 1866, 
at xA.menia, married. May 15, 1863, Walter 
Stocking; Amy, June 10, 1839, died young. 

(VIII) Solomon, son of Uriah Kirby, was 
born at Pawling, New York, December 2, 
1830, died at Sharon, Connecticut, January 2, 
1903. He had a common school education. 
From an early age he worked at farming at 
Pine Plains, New York, in summer. He was 
proprietor of a store at Amenia, then of a 
hotel at Catskill, New York. In 1872 his 
hotel was destroyed by fire, and he then estab- 
lished a restaurant in New York city, near 
Madison Square, and made his home in Brook- 
lyn. Subsequently he had a hotel at Amenia, 
New York, for a year. In April, 1879, ne 
came to Sharon, Connecticut, and was a pio- 
neer in the summer hotel business in that town. 
He began with accommodations for ten guests 
and found the venture successful. His house 
was popular, and at the time of his death he 
had rooms for a hundred. Mr. Kirby was a 
Republican in politics. He was a Free Mason. 
He married, September 14, 1853, Susan, born 
in Washington, Dutchess county, New York, 
September 19, 1834, daughter of Job and Abi- 

gail (Haight) Sisson, of Washington. Chil- 
dren: Amy, born July 9, 1855, in Pine Plains, 
married, December 28, 1880, George O. Cole, 
of New York City; John J., born November 
14, 1862, at Millbrook, New York, died Sep- 
tember, 1866; George Sisson, mentioned 

(IX) George Sisson, son of Solomon Kirby, 
was born at Brooklyn, New York, January 31, 
1875. He attended the public schools in Sha- 
ron, Connecticut, the River View Academy, 
of Poughkeepsie, New York, and the Dwight 
School, in New York City. When eighteen 
years of age he entered the employ of the 
proprietor of the Murray Hill Hotel, New 
York; afterward was for a time employed in 
the Plaza Hotel. Then he returned home and 
was associated with his father in the hotel 
business at Sharon. -Two years before his fa- 
ther died he took over the management of the 
business, on account of the father's failing 
health, and has continued in this business to 
the present time with much success. Under 
his management this hotel has become one of 
the largest and finest in the state. In politics 
he is a Republican. He represented the town 
of Sharon in the general assembly of Con- 
necticut in 1903, and was delegate to the con- 
stitutional convention of the state in 1901. He 
is a member of Hamilton Lodge, No. 54, Free 
Masons, of Sharon, and of the Modern Wood- 
men of America. He married, in 1900, Eliza- 
beth Van Alstyne, of Sharon, daughter of 
Lawrence and Mary (Eggleston) Van Al- 
styne. They have one child, George Van Al- 
styne, born March 23, 1901. 

The surname Stanton is de- 
STANTON rived from a place name and 
is identical with Stonington 
in origin. The family is of ancient English 
origin. Robert Stanton, an early settler of 
Newport, Rhode Island, was the progenitor of 
Hon. Edwin M. Stanton, of Lincoln's cabinet; 
died in Newport in 1672, aged seventy-three 
years. There was a John Stanton in Virginia 
in 1635 and Thomas Stanton, aged twenty, 
sailed for Virginia in 1635 in the merchant- 
man "Bonaventura." The family historian 
thinks he went to Virginia, then came to Con- 
necticut, but many ships whose records state 
that Virginia was the destination, came to New 
England. The "Bonaventura" may have land- • 
er some passengers in Virginia, others in 
Conecticut, or Boston. 

(I) Thomas Stanton, immigrant ancestor, 
was in Boston in 1636 and is on record as a 
magistrate there. If the same man who came 
in 1635 his age must have been understated, 
for men of twenty-one were not magistrates in 



the colony, and in 1636 he was acting as In- 
dian interpreter for Governor Winthrop. It 
is reasonable to suppose that he was a trader 
and had been to both New England and Vir- 
ginia before 1635 in order to have sufficient 
knowledge of the language of the Indians to 
become an interpreter. The services of Mr. 
Stanton as interpreter during the Pequot war 
were invaluable, says the history of New Lon- 
don, Connecticut. "He was, moreover, a man 
of trust and intelligence and his knowledge of 
the country and of the natives made him a 
useful pioneer and counselor in all land ques- 
tions, as well as difficulties with the Indians." 
DeForest's history of Connecticut says : 
"Some time in April (1637) a small vessel ar- 
rived at the fort (Saybrook), having on board 
Thos. Stanton, a man well acquainted with the 
Indian language, and long useful to the co- 
lonial authorities as interpreter." Stanton 
served through the Pequot war and special 
mention is made of his bravery in the battle of 
Fairfield Swamp, where he nearly lost his life. 
He must have returned to Boston at the close 
of the war, for he was one of the magistrates 
in the trial of John Wainwright, October 3, 
1637. In February, 1639, ^ e an( ^ his father- 
in-law, Thomas Lord, were settled in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, coming thither soon after 
the colony of Rev. Thomas Hooker established 
the town. He was appointed official inter- 
preter for the general court at Hartford, April 
5, 1638, and at the same session was sent with 
others on a mission to the Warranocke In- 
dians and as a delegate to an Indian-English 
council meeting at Hartford. He was inter- 
preter for the Yorkshire (England) colonists 
at New Haven, November 24, 1638. when the 
land on which the city of New Haven is lo- 
cated, was bought of the Indians. He was an 
Indian trader as early as 1642, when with his 
brother-in-law, Richard Lord, he made a voy- 
age to Long Island to trade and collect old 
debts. That he traded as far away as Vir- 
ginia, we know from an ancient document on 
file in New London colony, without date, but 
apparently entered in 1668 or 1669: "Whereas 
Capt. Morrice hath reported and informed the 
King's Commissioner that Mr. Thomas Stan- 
ton, Senr., did in Virginia some 20 odd years 
since (1638-1650) cause a massacre among 
the Indians, whereby to gain their beaver to 
himself and the said Morrice named Richard 
Arye, mariner, to be his author. These may 
certify all whom it may concern that the said 
Arye being examined concerning said report 
doth absolutely deny that he knew or reported 
any such thing to Morrice nor ever heard of 
any such thing about Mr. Stanton in Virginia 
to his remembrance." 

He had the grant of a monopoly of the 
trading with the Indians at Pawkatuck and 
along the river of that name. He built a trad- 
ing house there and about 165 1 removed to 
Pequot and in 1658 occupied his permanent 
residence at Stonington. In 1650 the gen- 
eral court appointed him interpreter to the 
elders who required to preach the gospel to 
the Indians at least twice a year. Caulkins, 
in her history of New London County says: 
"On the Pawkutuck River, the first white in- 
habitant was Thomas Stanton. His trading 
house was probably coeval with the farming 
operations of Cheseborough (at Wequetequock 
Cove), but as a fixed resident with a fireside 
and family, he was later upon the ground. He 
himself appears to have been always upon the 
wing, yet always within call. He was required 
to be present wherever a court, conference or 
treaty was to be held. Never, perhaps, did the 
acquisition of a barbarous language give to a 
man such immediate, wide-spread and lasting 
importance. From the year 1636, when he 
was Winthrop's interpreter with the Nahantic 
sachem, to 1670 when the Uncas visited him 
with a train of warriors and captains to get 
him to write his will, his name is connected 
with almost every Indian transaction on 

He sold his grant of 1649 to George Tongue 
in 1656. In March, 1652, he received three 
hundred acres on the river adjoining his home 
lot and in 1659 Cassawashitt deeded to him 
the whole of Pawkatuck Neck and the small 
islands that lay near to it, known as "The 
Hommocks." This deed was confirmed by 
the court in 1671. He was elected a deputy 
magistrate by the general court, May 15, 1651. 
He was appointed with Rev. Mr. Pierson of 
New Haven to prepare a catechism in the 
Narrangansett or Pequot language for the 
commissioners of the United Colonies, but Mr. 
Pierson's removal prevented the undertaking. 
In 1658 he removed to Wequetequock Cove, 
two miles and a half east of Stonington, where 
he was the third settler ; it was then called 
Southington, Massachusetts, and part of Suf- 
folk county, and Stanton was appointed in 
1658 one of the managers. His farm was on 
the west side of the Pawkatuck river near its 
mouth. In 1664 he was a commissioner to try 
small causes and in 1665 had authority to hold 
a semi-annual court at New London. In 1666 
he was re-elected commissioner of county 
judges, also overseer-general, of the Coassa- 
tuck Indians, a commissioner of appeals in 
Indian affairs, and he was successively re- 
elected commissioner until his death in 1677. 
He was member of the general assembly in 
1666 and was elected in succeeding years with- 

4 2 


out interruption until 1674. In 1667 he was 
granted two hundred and fifty acres on the 
Pachang river and in the same year he was 
called upon to settle threatening trouble be- 
tween Uncas and the Niantic tribe. Almost 
constantly he was engaged in the public serv- 
ice, especially in the discharge of the duties of 
his office as Indian commissioner. He and his 
sons were active in King Philip's war and all 
of his sons were useful and prominent as In- 
dian interpreters and peace-makers. 

He was one of the founders of the church 
at Stonington, June 3, 1674, and his name was 
the first on the roll. He died December 2, 
1677. He was buried in the family burial 
ground between Stonington and Westerly. 

He married Ann Lord, born 1621 in Eng- 
land, daughter of Dr. Thomas and Dorothy 
Lord. Her father was the first physician li- 
censed to practice in Connecticut, by the gen- 
eral court, June 30, 1652, and the rates he 
could charge for visits in Hartford, Wethers- 
field, Windsor and other towns in this section 
were fixed in the license, a salary of fifteen 
pounds to be paid by the county. In Hartford 
his stipend was fixed at twelve pence — about a 
quarter of a dollar ! The Lord coat-of-arms : 
Argent on a fess gules between three cinque 
foils azure a hind passant between two pheons 
or. She spent her last days with her daughter, 
Mrs. Dorothy Noyes, of Stonington, and died 
there in 1688. The original home site of 
Thomas Stanton at Hartford is now occupied 
by the Jewell Leather Belting Company fac- 
tory. Children: Thomas, born 1638, died 
April 11, 1718; John, 1641, died October 3, 
1713; Mary, 1643, married Samuel Rogers; 
Hannah, 1644; Joseph, 1646, mentioned be- 
low; Daniel, 1648; Dorothy, 1651, died Janu- 
ary 19, 1742; Robert, 1653, died October 25, 
1724; Sarah, 1655, died 1713; Samuel, 1657. 

(II) Joseph, son of Thomas Stanton, was 
born in 1646 and was baptized March 21 of 
that year. He removed with his parents to 
Stonington and settled on a large tract of 
land which his father had bought of a Narra- 
gansett Indian chief for a half bushel of wam- 
pum. The sachem's child was a captive and 
was redeemed by the aid of Thomas Stanton, 
so the Indian sold the land as part payment 
of the price. In 1669 he was appointed as- 
sistant magistrate to hold court in New Lon- 
don. In 1685 he leased land in Charlestown, 
Rhode Island, formerly a part of Westerly 
"where I do now live," showing that he had 
moved thither. He married (first) June 19, 
1673, Hannah Mead, of Roxbury, who died in 
1676, daughter of William Mead. He mar- 
ried a second, and perhaps a third and fourth 
wife. Children: Joseph, born 1674, married 

Esther Gallup ; Hannah, 1676, buried May 6, 
1681 ; Thomas, December 16, 1678, died 
young; Rebecca, April, 1681 ; Thomas, bap- 
tized April 5, 1691 ; Daniel, baptized April 1, 
1694, mentioned below ; Samuel, baptized July 
17, 1698, died young. 

(III) Captain Daniel, son of Joseph Stan- 
ton, was baptized April 1, 1694, died Decem- 
ber 28, 1773. He married (first) Mercy, 
daughter of Job Babcock, of Westerly; (sec- 
ond) ; (third) December 10, 1762, proba- 
bly Prudence, daughter of Rev. Salmon and 
Dorothy (Noyes) Treat. Children: Daniel, 
married Mary Wilcox and Elizabeth Brown ; 
Samuel, married Sarah Browning; John, born 
February, 1722, mentioned below; Joseph, 
married Abigail Sheffield ; George, died un- 
married ; Mary, married Thomas Richardson ; 
Elizabeth, married Joseph Champlin. 

(IV) John, son of Captain Daniel Stanton, 
was born in February, 1722, in Charlestown, 
Rhode Island, died at Paris, Oneida county, 
New York, September 1, 1814. He married 
Dorothy Richardson, born 1724, died 1790, 
daughter of Jonathan and Anne (Treat) Rich- 
ardson, and granddaughter of Dorothy 
(Noyes) Treat. Children, born at Westerly: 
Adam, 1749, mentioned below; Daniel, mar- 
ried Vashti Dickinson ; Amos, born December 
22, 1756; George, married Prudence Wood- 
burn ; Prudence, married Asahel Parks ; Anna, 
married ■ — Trumbull ; Dorothy, died un- 
married ; Mary, born 1769, married James 
Treat ; Rachel, married Samuel Hayne ; Re- 
becca, born 1773, married Amos Treat. 

(V) Adam, son of John Stanton, was born 
in Westerly in 1749, died at Clinton, Connecti- 
cut, October 15, 1834. He moved from Wes- 
terly in 1774-75 and settled in Killingworth, 
Connecticut, in the southern part, now Clinton. 
He built his house on the lot where stood the 
house of Abraham Pierson, the first president 
of Yale College. The timbers of the Pierson 
house are now in the Stanton house. His first 
business was making salt from the water of 
Long Island sound, sending it by ox trains to 
Boston and selling it for two dollars a bushel 
He married, December 4, 1777, Elizabeth, born 
May 28, 1754, at Preston, Connecticut, died 
May 23, 1805, daughter of Rev. Samuel 
Treat. Children : Mary, born October 23, 
1778, died October 7, 1865, unmarried; Eliza- 
beth, May 29, 1780, died September 10, 1862; 
John, April 5, 1783, mentioned below; Sally, 
October 19, 1786, died February 2, 1843; 
Nancy, February 18, 1790, accidentally burned 
to death February 28, 1879. 

(VI) John (2), son of Adam Stanton, was 
born April 5, 1783, in Clinton, Connecticut, 
died September 9, 1864. He was a merchant. 



In politics he was a Whig and in religion a 

He married, in Clinton, March 29, 1825, 
Caroline Elizabeth Eliot, born March 17, 
1796, died May 29, 1866, sixth in descent from 
John Eliot, the Indian Apostle (see Eliot VI). 
Children : John Adam, mentioned below ; Mary 
E., July 23, 1829, died unmarried May 4, 1868; 
Lewis Eliot, mentioned below. 

The following sketch of John A. Stanton 
was prepared by his brother, Lewis E. Stanton, 
of Hartford, Connecticut : 

John Adam, son of John (2) Stanton, late 
of Clinton, Connecticut, was born June 26, 
1826, died October 23, 1908, at the age of 
eighty-two years. He obtained his early edu- 
cation at Norwich, Connecticut. He was af- 
terward a clerk in the store of his father, John 
Stanton, at Clinton. He began business as a 
country merchant in Guilford, Connecticut, 
about 1854. He moved back to Clinton not far 
from 1869, having been in business fifteen 
years in Guilford. He then had a small for- 
tune, but no income from business after his 
return to Clinton. He became a careful and 
judicious investor. He wrote in a remarkably 
clear and beautiful handwriting, and was a fine 
and accurate accountant. He was a director 
in the Clinton National Bank, and for many 
years clerk of the First Ecclesiastical Society 
of Clinton, and he held many trust funds, 
most of which he managed without compensa- 
tion. By a life of economy he accumulated a 
handsome fortune. In his later years he de- 
veloped a great love for antiques. He used 
to say "We cannot have a new house : let us 
have an old one." Accordingly he brought 
out every piece of old and neglected furniture 
and restored it, and in this work he spent a 
small fortune. Very few pieces were bought 
by him. The great merit of the collection 
which he has left in the family mansion is that 
he restored ancient furniture in old styles, 
never in new styles. He made things look as 
they did when they were new more than a 
century ago. He studied every book which he 
could find upon the subject, and he was never 
deceived by imitations. His collection finallv 
became famous. Thousands have visited it. 
The writer of this sketch, Lewis E. Stanton, 
his brother, with great labor prepared a cata- 
logue of nearly one thousand pieces. A young 
lady was employed to exhibit them, and she 
entertained over three hundred and fiftv peo- 
ple in the summer of 1909. Unfortunately. 
John A. Stanton left no written history of his 
labors and a great amount of information was 
lost by his sudden death. His house is packed 
full of tables, chairs, mirrors, silver lustre, 
glassware, etc., constituting "a large collec- 

tion ( f antique furniture, pottery, porcelain, 
and (Tier works of art, illustrating early New 
England life." One of the best specimens is 
a Court Cupboard, made "entirely of oak, no 
metals used in construction, everything pinned 
with wooden pegs, all work hand made, and 
carved from riven timber before the day of 
saw mills, the workmanship fine, and the cup- 
board probably made about 1670." Mr. Stanton 
not only employed experts, but he worked him- 
self and restored many pieces with his own 
hand/ An old lady gave him the legs of a 
dilapidated Queen Anne table, weatherbeaten 
and worn, and he repaired it, had a new top 
built for it, and it stands in the parlor, one 
of the finest tables in New England. A pewter 
platter or "plaque" was taken to an artist to 
be restored and was put into a lath to be pol- 
ished. To the great surprise of the owner, 
three letters in the form of a triangle came 
out upon the margin. S. T. and E. Samuel 
Treat married Elizabeth Stark in 1751, and 
this mute record of their initials had been cov- 
ered by the rust of ages. 

Mr. Stanton was often referred to as a "gen- 
tleman of the old school." He was a man of 
great information and retentive memory. He 
had exact knowledge and loved details. He 
was a person of stately carriage and dignified 
demeanor. His highest happiness was to give 
pleasure to others, and hundreds of guests re- 
member his hospitality. 

(VII) Lewis Eliot, son of John (2) Stan- 
ton, was born in Clinton, Connecticut, July 19, 

He began his education in the district 
school and attended the Bacon Academy at 
Colchester. He entered Yale College in 185 1, 
graduating with honors. Among- his class- 
mates were Hon. Lyman D. Brewster, of Dan- 
bury, Professor Charles F. Johnson. Professor 
P. Henry Woodward, Major John C. Parsons, 
Theodore Lyman, Rev. Dr. John E. Todd, and 
William D. Alexander, one of the founders of 
the Hawaiian Republic. Mr. Stanton went to 
Cleveland, Ohio, and became principal of 
Shaw Academy, remaining for a year, when 
ill-health compelled him to give up teaching. 
From July, 1856, to May, 1857, he studied law 
at home, and then entered Yale Law School. 
After graduation he took a desk in the law 
office of John S. Beach, a leading lawyer of 
New Haven, and in April, 1859, was admitted 
to the bar. Returning to Clinton, he remained 
until the following November, and then set- 
tled in Norwich to begin active practice. One 
of his early suits was against a railroad cor- 
poration to recover damages for the death of 
an engineer caused by the carelessness of a 
switchman. He won the case, and it was set- 



tied for $2,500, and the president of the com- 
pany congratulated him upon his industry. 
From June, 1863, to July, 1864, he was as- 
sistant clerk of the New London county su- 
perior court, and recorder of Norwich from 
July, 1864, to September 9, 1865, when he re- 
moved to Hartford, and entered into partner- 
ship with John C. Day. After six years the 
partnership was dissolved and Mr. Stanton has 
since practiced alone. For fourteen years, 
since 1870, he was assistant district attorney, 
attending to all the criminal and civil federal 
court business in the county. In 1884 he re- 
ceived the appointment of district attorney 
from President Arthur, and remained in that 
office until April, 1888. He then resumed his 
private practice. He has a large and lucrative 
business, much of which is with corporations 
and firms, and is a good court practitioner. 
Notable cases in which he has been engaged 
are the cases for conspiracy against the Char- 
ter Oak Life people — Forber, Wiggin, Walke- 
ley and White — he being counsel for Wiggin 
and Walkeley ; in the United States supreme 
court he appeared as a counsel for Judge Ro- 
raback in the case against the Pennsylvania 
company ; in Febwick Hall Company vs. Say- 
brook he was leading counsel, the case going 
before the supreme court of the United States ; 
he appeared for South Windsor in the Hart- 
ford bridge suit. The city of Hartford, by its 
city attorney, retained him in Fisk vs. Hart- 
ford, an important case involving the right to 
use the intercepting sewer. Charles Soby, the 
tobacco manufacturer, recovered by his advice, 
duties overpaid to the government. Ex- 
United States Marshal Stong's case at Bridge- 
port against the government was managed by 

He is a good stump speaker, and has 
spoken for the Republican party many times, 
notably in the campaigns from i860 to 1870, 
when he was strongly against slavery. He 
had the pleasure of meeting Lincoln at Nor- 
wich, where he had come shortly after his 
speeches on the stump in Illinois with Stephen 
A. Douglas, and Mr. Lincoln repeated pri- 
vately to Mr. Stanton the sentiments which he 
had so many times expressed publicly. He is 
a member of the First Church of Christ of 
Hartford. He is a lecturer of ability, and has 
made many addresses on literary and histori- 
cal subjects. Among them was an address in 
1 87 1 on the Wealth of Connecticut, at the 
opening exercises of the Morgan School in 
Clinton. He was for twenty years president 
of the Hartford County Bar Library Associa- 
tion, and for years has been one of the local 
council of the American Bar Association. He 
has never married. 

Bennett Eliot lived in Widford, 
ELIOT county Hertford, England, and 

married there October 30, 1598, 
Letteye Aggar. Their first four children were 
baptized in the church of St. John the Baptist 
at Widford; the others at Nazing, county Es- 
sex. He was buried at Nazing, November 
21, 1621, and his wife was buried March 16, 
1620. Children and dates of baptism : Sarah, 
January 13, 1599, died March 27, 1673; 
Phillip, April 25, 1602, died October 22, 1657; 
John, August 5, 1604, mentioned below ; Jacob, 
September 21, 1606; Lydia, July 1, 1610; 
Francis, April 10, 1615; Mary, March 11, 

(II) Rev. John Eliot, son of Bennett Eliot, 
was baptized at Widford, Hertfordshire, Eng- 
land, August 5, 1604, died May 21, 1690. He 
entered Jesus College, Cambridge University, 
March 20, 1618. He spent a part of the time 
between 1622 and 1631 at Little Baddow, 
county Eessex, as a schoolmaster with Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, who from 1626 to 1628 was 
lecturer at Chelmsford, receiving deep religi- 
ous impressions. "When I came to this blessed 
family," Eliot writes, "I then saw, and never 
before the power of godliness in its lively vigor 
and efficacy." He embarked about the middle 
of August, 163 1, in the ship "Lion" for Bos- 
ton, arriving November 2. He immedately 
took charge of the church at Boston in the ab- 
sence of the pastor, Rev. John Wilson. In 
1632 he became teacher of the church at Rox- 
bury, where many of his old friends and neigh- 
bors settled. He was wanted in the church in 
Boston as a colleague for Mr. Wilson, but had 
promised in England that when his friends 
came he would join them. He married, in 
October, 1632, Hannah Mumford, who came 
in the ship "Lion" in September of that year. 
In 1640 the famous Bay Psalm Book, trans- 
lated by Rev. Richard Mather, Rev. Thomas 
Weld and Mr. Eliot, was printed. He began 
to preach to the Indians, September 14, 1646, 
and continued earnestly in his efforts to edu- 
cate and christianize the natives during his 
whole life. He published "a brief e topographi- 
cal description of the Seuerall Townes in New 
England with the names of our magistrates 
and Ministers." In 1650 he selected Natick, 
Massachusetts, as a place for an Indian town 
and the foundations were made the year fol- 
lowing. In 1653 he had so far progressed in 
his knowledge of the Indian language that he 
had devised and translated the Book of Psalms. 
In 1654 he printed a catechism in the Indian 
tongue. In 1655 Genesis was printed and the 
Book of Matthew begun. "A Late and Fur- 
ther Manifestation of the Progress of the 
Gospel amongst the Indians in New England" 



was published. In 1657 ne preached to the 
Podunk Indians at Hartford in their own lan- 
guage. In December, 1658, he had completed 
his translation of the whole Bible into the 
Massachusetts dialect. His "Christian Com- 
monwealth" was said to have been published 
in 1659. In 1660 he was first called "The 
Indian Apostle," a title by which he has since 
been distinguished. The publication of the 
Bible was completed in 1663 and he began the 
translation of Baxter's Call. In 1664 his 
translation of the Psalter was published, and 
in 1666 the Indian Grammar. In 1686, after 
much revision and delay, a second edition of 
the Bible was printed and distributed among 
the Indians. When he was eighty-four years 
old he continued to preach from time to time 
to the Indians. He died May 21, 1690. The 
Indian church at Natick languished after his 
death, and in 1698 there were but seven men 
and three women members. Biographies of 
Eliot were published by Cotton Mather, Mar- 
tin Moore, Rev. John Wilson and Rev. Con- 
vers Francis. Memorial windows to Eliot are 
in Memorial Hall, Harvard University, and in 
the church of St. John the Baptist at Hert- 
fordshire, England, and a panel framed in 
Sienna marble, representing "The Apostle 
Eliot Preaching to the Indians" was placed in 
position in the State House, Boston, in 1903. 
Various sermons and pamphlets were pub- 
lished by Eliot, besides those mentioned. Be- 
sides the memorials mentioned is a monument 
of freestone at South Natick, the parish mon- 
ument at Roxbury, a granite watering trough 
at Canton, an Eliot Memorial Terrace Fund 
at Newton, tablets in the Congregational 
House, Boston, and a Memorial at Tucson, 
Arizona. Children: John, born August 31, 
1636, died October 13, 1668; Joseph, Decem- 
ber 20, 1638, mentioned below; Samuel, June 
22, 1641, died November 1, 1664; Aaron, Feb- 
ruary 19, 1643, died November 19, 1655 ; Ben- 
jamin, January 29, 1646, died October 15, 

(Ill) Rev. Joseph, son of Rev. John Eliot, 
was born December 20, 1638, died May 24, 
1694. He graduated at Harvard College in 
1658, and became the minister at Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, and at Guilford, Connecti- 
cut. After his graduation he worked with his 
father teaching the Indians, and was one of 
those who signed the covenant of the church 
at Northampton. Later he was associated with 
Rev. Eleazer Mather in the ministry of the 
Northampton church, and in 1663 the town 
voted to build him a house if he would settle 
with them, but he went to Guilford. Of his 
ministry there Rev. Thomas Ruggles says: 
"Mr. Joseph Eliot was for many years the 

conspicuous minister at Guilford, whose great 
abilities as a divine, a politician, and a phy- 
sician, were justly admired, not only among 
his own people, but throughout the colony, 
where his praises are in the churches," and, 
"The Church and Town Greatly flourished 
under his successful Ministry, and Rose to 
Great Fame in the Colony." He received a 
grant of two hundred acres from the town of 
Guilford. In his will, dated December 1, 1693, 
he left "ten pounds towards the buying of a 
bell." The bell was bought June 6, 1725, and 
has been recast and increased at least four 
times, and is still in use. Rev. Mr. Ruggles 
says : "After this Burning and Shining Light 
had ministered to this Good people About 30 
years, he deceased May 24, 1694, to the inex- 
pressible Grief of his beloved flock, whose 
memory is not forgotten to this Day." A schol- 
arship in his memory at Yale College, called 
"The Joseph Eliot Memorial Scholarship," has 
been established by Dr. Ellsworth Eliot and 
many others of his descendants. He married 
(first) Sarah, daughter of William and 
Martha (Burton) Brenton. Her father was 
governor of Rhode Island in 1666-67-68. He 
married (second) Mary, daughter of Samuel 
and Ruth (Haynes) Wyllys, granddaughter 
of Governor George Wyllys, and great-grand- 
daughter of Richard or Timothy Wyllys, of 
Warwick, England. Her mother was daugh- 
ter of Governor John Haynes, and through his 
second wife, Mabel Harkalenden, of royal des- 
cent. Children of first wife : Mehitable, born 
October 4, 1676 ; Ann, December 12, 1677, 
died November 16, 1703; Jemima, November 
14, 1679; Barsheba, 1683. Children of second 
wife: fared, November 7, 1685, mentioned 
below; Mary, 1688; Rebecca, 1690; Abial, 

(IV) Rev. Tared Eliot, son of Rev. Joseph 
Eliot, was born November 7, 1685, died April 
22, 1763. He graduated at Yale College in 
1706 and became a famous minister. He was 
enrolled among the earliest pupils of the Col- 
legiate School of Connecticut (afterward Yale 
College). Before his graduation he had won 
the affection and esteem of Rector Abraham 
Pierson, and when the venerable man lay on 
his death bed, he earnestly advised his parish- 
oners of Killingworth (now Clinton), to call 
as his successor, his favorite pupil, young 
Eliot. They did so, and Eliot began his duties 
June 1, 1707, although he was not formally 
ordained until October 26, 1709. To accept 
this call he withdrew as schoolmaster in his 
native town, but he maintained through life a 
strong interest in educational matters. In 1730 
he was elected a trustee of Yale College, the 
first graduate of that institution to be so hon- 

4 6 


ored, and he filled the position till his death, 
with interest and energy, and in his will left 
the first bequest for the development of the 
library of that institution. He was an inde- 
fatigable student and acquired a broad culture 
in science and letters, attainments which Har- 
vard recognized with an honorary A. M., the 
second on her list, and which brought him into 
interesting correspondence with President 
Stiles, Bishop Berkeley, and Benjamin Frank- 
lin. Eliot's ministry in Killingworth covered 
a period of fifty-six years, full of service. Rug- 
gles, in his discourse at his funeral, says : "For 
more than forty years of the latter part of his 
life he never missed preaching some part of 
every Sabbath either at home or abroad." 
Also ''He was sound in the faith, according to 
the true character of orthodoxy, so he was of 
a truly catholic and Christian spirit in the ex- 
ercise of it. Difference in opinion as to re- 
ligious principles was no obstruction to a 
hearty practice of the great law of love, be- 
nevolence, and true goodness to man, to every 
man ; nor of Christian charity to the whole 
household of faith. Them he received whom 
he hoped the Lord had received; abhorring 
narrowness, and the mean contractedness of a 
party spirit, but heartily loved and freely prac- 
ticed, in word and behavior, the great law of 
true liberty." This broad mindedness at one 
time nearly led him into Episcopacy. He was 
not only a divine, but was a physician as well. 
It has been said of him : "Of all those who 
combined the offices of clergyman and phy- 
sician, not one, from the foundation of the 
American colonies, attained so high distinction 
as a physician as Jared Eliot." In chronic 
complaints "he appears to have been more ex- 
tensively consulted than any other physician 
in New England, frequently visiting every 
county of Connecticut, and being often called 
in Boston and Newport." He trained so many 
students in medicine who subsequently attained 
distinction that he was commonly called "the 
father of regular medical practice in Connecti- 
cut." He was scarcely less famous in scientific 
investigation. He discovered the existence of 
iron in the dark red seasand, and as a result 
of successful experiments made America's first 
contribution to the science of metallurgy in a 
tract entitled : "The Art of Making very good 
if not the best Iron from black sea Sand." 
These investigations won for him by unani- 
mous vote the gold medal of the London So- 
ciety of Arts, in 1762. Some six years before 
he was unanimously elected a member of the 
Royal Society. He also published a volume 
called "Field Husbandry in New England." 

Jared Eliot was distinctly practical, and a 
man of affairs, and he utilized his knowledge. 

He had large and profitable investments in the 
ore-fields of northwestern Connecticut. He 
had extensive farming tracts, which were bet- 
ter cultivated than most of his neighbors. Rug- 
gles says : "Idleness was his abhorrence ; but 
every portion of time was filled with action by 
him. Perhaps no man, in this day, has slept 
so little, and done so much, in so great varie- 
ty." He had a rare charm of person and man- 
ner. Well proportioned and of commanding 
presence, with a countenance from which a 
grave dignity did not altogether banish a gen- 
tle kindliness, he merits Ruggles' characteriza- 
tion : "He had a turn of mind peculiarly 
adapted for conversation, and happily accom- 
modated to the pleasures of social life. . . . 
No less agreeable charming and engaging was 
his company, accommodated to every person 
under every circumstance. Nothing affected, 
nothing assuming ; it is all nature, and shined 
with wisdom, so that perhaps no person ever 
left his company dissatisfied, or without being 
pleased with it." Benjamin Franklin, in one 
of his letters to him, says : "I remember with 
pleasure the cheerful hours I enjoyed last win- 
ter in your company, and I would with all my 
heart give any ten of the thick old folios that 
stand on the shelves before me, for a little 
book of the stories you then told with so much 
propriety and humor." His effectiveness and 
accomplishment, as well as his charm of man- 
ner, remained with him to the end of his long 
life. His pastorate was the longest in the his- 
tory of the church. In addition to the publica- 
tions mentioned, he published : "The Right 
Hand of Fellowship," 1730; "The Two Wit- 
nesses, or Religion Supported by Reason and 
Divine Revelation," 1736; "Give Caesar His 
Due; or the Obligations that Subjects are 
under to their Civil Rulers are shewed in a 
Sermon Preached before the General Assem- 
bly of the Colony," 1738; "The Blessings Be- 
stowed on Them that Fear God," 1739; 
"God's Marvellous Kindness," 1745; "Re- 
peated Bereavements Considered and Im- 
proved," 1748; Discourse on the Death of Rev. 
Wm. Worthington, 1757. He married, Oc- 
tober 26, 1710, Elizabeth Smithson, died Feb- 
ruary 18, 1 76 1, aged sixty-eight, daughter of 
Samuel Smithson, of Guilford. Children : 
Elizabeth, born October 20, 171 1, died April 
11, 1713; Hannah, October 15, 1713, died 
January 27, 1781 ; Dr. Samuel, March 9, 1716; 
graduated at Yale, 1735; Aaron, March 15, 
1718, died December 30, 1785; Dr. Augustus, 
June 18, 1720; graduate of Yale, 1740; Joseph, 
January 8, 1723, died August 1, 1762; Na- 
than, April 13, 1725, died March, 1798; Jared, 
March 17, 1728, mentioned below; Luke, Au- 
gust 1, 1730, died September 8, 1730; John, 



December 2, 1732, died March 9, 1797; 
George, March 9, 1736, died May 1, 1810. 

(V) Jared (2), son of Rev. Jared (1) Eliot, 
was born March 17, 1728, died in March, 
181 1. He married (first) May 10, 1757, Eliz- 
abeth Walker, of Boston, who died May 3, 
1759. He married (second) April 7, 1760, 
Elizabeth Lord, born 1735, daughter of Rich- 
ard Lord, of Lyme. Children, all by second 
wife: Jared, born March 1, 1761, mentioned 
below; Richard, April 7, 1762, died June 10, 
1762; Isaac, April 17, 1763, died July 27, 
1763; Richard, June 3, 1764, died July 5, 
1848; Lynde, March 7, 1766, died August 3, 
1817; Elizabeth, August 26, 1768, died Janu- 
ary 15, 1840; Nancy, July 28, 1770, died May 
25, 1852; Rufus, December 1, 1772, died Oc- 
tober 29, 1826; Sarah, June 17, 1775; Cath- 
erine, February 1, 1777, died April 3, 1858; 
Augustus, August 10, 1779, died January 23, 

(VI) Jared (3), son of Jared (2) Eliot, was 
born March 1, 1761, died September 25, 1841, 
in Killingworth. He was a farmer at Killing- 
worth, and a justice of the peace and member 
of the general assembly. He married, January 
30, 1785, Clarissa Lewis, born 1773, died June 
4, 1842. daughter of John Lewis, of Killing- 
worth. Children: Amelia Zipporah, born 
1790, died September 14, 1846; Mary Lewis, 
January 18. 1792, died November 14, 1838; 
Caroline Elizabeth, March 17, 1796, married, 
March 29, 1825, John Stanton (see Stanton 


The origin 
MINER and early 

ancestry of 
the Miner family in 
England is given thus : 
Edward III of Eng- 
land, going to war 
against the French, 
marched through "Som- 
ersetshire, came to 
Mendippe hills, where 
lived Henry Miner, 
who with all careful- 
ness and loyalty, hav- 
ing convened his domestic and menial servants 
armed with battle axes proferred himself and 
them to his master's service making up a com- 
plete hundred." For this service he was 
granted the coat-of-arms : Gules a fesse be- 
tween three plates argent. 

(I) Henry Miner, mentioned above, died 
in 1359. Children: Henry, mentioned below; 
Edward, Thomas, George. 

(II) Henry (2), son of Henry (1) Miner, 
married Henrietta, daughter of Edward Hicks 

.T •? *IV"s o»N«JW 


of Gloucester. Children ; William ; Henry, who 
served in 1384 under Richard III. 

(III) William, son of Henry (2) Miner, 
married Hobbs, of Wiltshire. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, mentioned below ; George, lived 
in Shropshire. 

(IV) Thomas, son of William Miner, lived 
in Herefordshire ; married a daughter of Cot- 
ton Gresslap, of Staffordshire. Children : Lo- 
dovick, mentioned below; George, Mary. 

(V) Lodovick, son of Thomas Miner, mar- 
ried Anna, daughter of Thomas Dyer, of 
Staughton, Huntingdonshire. Children: 
Thomas, mentioned below; George (twin), 
born 1458; Arthur (twin), served the house 
of Austria. 

(VI) Thomas (2), son of Lodovick Miner, 
was born in 1436. He married Bridget, 
daughter of Sir George Hervie, of St. Mar- 
tin's, county Middlesex. He died 1480, leav- 
ing two children to the tutorage of their 
mother Bridget, but she resigned them to her 
father and turned to monastic life, in Datford. 

(VII) William (2), son .of Thomas (2) 
Miner, married Isabella Harcope de Folibay, 
and lived to revenge the death of the two 
young princes slain in the tower by their 
uncle, Richard III. Children : William, men- 
tioned below ; George, Thomas, Robert, Na- 
thaniel, John. Four others. John and Na- 
thaniel went to Ireland in 1541 when Henry 
VIII was proclaimed king of Ireland. 

(VIII) William (3), son of William (2) 
Miner, was buried at Chew Magna, February 
23, 1585. Children: Clement, mentioned be- 
low ; Elizabeth. 

(IX) Clement, son of William (3) Miner, 
died March 31, 1640, at Chew Magna. Chil- 
dren : Clement, Thomas, mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth, Mary. 

(X) Thomas (3), son of Clement Miner, 
and the immigrant ancestor, came to Stoning- 
ton, Connecticut, in 1683. Children : John. 
Thomas, Clement, Ephraim, Judah, Mannas- 
seh, Joseph, Samuel, Ann, Maria, Eunice, 
Elizabeth, Hannah. 

(XI) Deacon Manasseh, son of Thomas 
(3) Miner, was born at New London in 1647, 
the first boy born of white parents in that 
town. He resided on the old homestead at 
Quiambaug and was buried at Wequetequod. 
He was a soldier in King Philip's war. He 
married, September 26, 1670, Lydia Moore. 
Children, born at New London : Elnathan, De- 
cember 28, 1673, mentioned below ; Samuel, 
September 20, 1675; Hannah, December 8, 
1676; Thomas, September 20, 1683; Lydia, 
married Sylvester Baldwin. 

(XII) Elnathan, son of Deacon Manasseh 
Miner, was born at New London, December 

4 8 


28, 1673. He lived at Stonington. He mar- 
ried (first) March 21, 1694, Rebecca Bald- 
win, who died March 12, 1700. He married 
(second) March 17, 1702, Prudence (Rich- 
ardson) Hallam, a widow. He married 
(third) October 14, 1718, Tamsen Wilcox. 
Children, born at Stonington : Samuel, De- 
cember 12, 1694, mentioned below; Manasseh, 
December 1, 1695; Elnathan, June 24, 1697; 
Rebecca, February 13, 1699. Child of second 
wife: Richardson, November 24, 1704. 

(XIII) Samuel, son of Elnathan Miner, 
was born at Stonington, December 12, 1694. 
He married there, December 3, 1719, Eliza- 
beth Brown. Children, born at Stonington : 
Elizabeth, August 18, 1720; Rebecca (twin). 
August 18, 1720; Samuel, March 14, 1723; 
Nathan, July 16, 1724, mentioned below; 
David, September 26, 1726; John, December 
22, 1728; Elizabeth, November 24, 1730; Jona- 
than, February 18, 1733; Anna, June 26, 1735. 

(XIV) Nathan, son of Samuel Miner, was 
born July 16, 1724, at Stonington. He mar- 
ried, March 7, 1751, Sarah Smith. Children, 
born at Stonington : Deborah, December 24, 
1751 ; Richardson, September 10, 1753; Sarah, 
December 7, 1755; Elizabeth, July 15, 1759; 
Robert, November 13, 1763, mentioned below; 
Nathan, September 23, 1764. 

(XV) Robert, son of Nathan Miner, was 
born in Stonington, November 13, 1763. He 
lived at Stonington and married there, Febru- 
ary 10, 1788, Mary, daughter of Christopher 
and Mary (Randall) Miner (married August 
11, 1765). Charles Miner, father of Christo- 
pher Miner, was born November 14, 1709; 
Christopher Miner was born March 16, 1745. 
James Miner, father of Charles Miner, mar- 
ried, February 22, 1705. Abigail Eldredge. 
Ephraim Miner, father of James Miner, mar- 
ried Hannah Avery, June 20, 1666; he was 
baptized at Hingham, Massachusetts, May I, 
1642, son of Henry and Henrietta (Hicks) 
Miner. Children of Robert Miner, born at 
Stonington : Robert, born March 7, 1789, men- 
tioned below; Gilbert, December 26, 1791 ; 
married Mary Ann Frink; Betsey, February 
18, 1795; William, January 12, 1803. 

(XVI) Robert (2), son of Robert (1) 
miner, was born at Stonington, March 7, 
1789. He married Alura, daughter of Captain 
Spicer, of Stonington, Connecticut. Children : 
Robert Tyler, married Lydia Baldwin ; Alura 
Ann, married (first) Julius Harrison, of New 
Milford, Connecticut; (second) Jacob Eaton, 
of Meriden, chaplain during the civil war of 
the Seventh Connecticut Regiment, died at 
Newbern, North Carolina, in the service ; Gil- 
bert Smith, married Virginia Windsor ; 
Mary Elizabeth, married Joseph North; 

George L., married Jane Guild; Emily 
Frances, married Colonel Ira Pettibone; Fred 
William, married Belle Fayer, of Texas ; 
Frank S., married Mary Houston ; Lucretia 
Victoria, married Erastus Hubbard, of Wal- 
lingford, Connecticut ; Sarah Eleanor, died un- 
married ; Ralph Jay, mentioned below. 

(XVII) Ralph Jay, son of Robert (2) 
Miner, was born in Cornwall, Litchfield 
county, Connecticut, January 16, 1844. He 
attended the district schools of his native town. 
He began his business career as clerk in the 
general store at Cornwall Bridge, Connecti- 
cut, in 1861, and in the spring of 1862 entered 
the employ of the Cornwall Bridge Iron Com- 
pany. In 1862 he enlisted in Company G, 
Nineteenth Regiment, Connecticut Infantry, 
and served in that regiment until it was 
changed to the Second Heavy Artillery. In 
1863 ne was mustered out of service, dis- 
charged on account of physical disability. 
Later in the year he entered the employ of 
John Ives at Meriden, Connecticut. He came 
to New Haven to work for the firm of T. P. 
Merwin & Company, August 1, 1865, and was 
next with the firm of Yale & Bryan, whole- 
sale grocers, State street. New Haven, and 
continued there until 1869. Then for four 
years he was in the dry goods trade with 
James H. Bunce, Middletown, Connecticut, 
returning to Yale & Bryan, where he was a 
salesman again for a period of about nine years. 
He was then in business for himself for two 
years in New York city as partner in the 
firm of Hollway, Wright & Miner, manufac- 
turers' agents, 167 Chambers street. He re- 
turned to the firm of Yale & Bryan, of which 
he became a partner, the firm name then be- 
coming Yale, Bryan & Company, and subse- 
quently, Bryan, Miner & Read, wholesale 
grocers. After Mr. Bryan died, the firm name 
became Miner, Read & Garrette, which con- 
tinued until the present firm was instituted 
Tanuarv 1, 1910, under the style of Miner, 
Read & Tullock. 

Mr. Miner is a member of the Country Club 
of New Haven; the Center Lodge, No. 97, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Meriden, and 
of the United Church of New Haven. In 
politics he is an Independent. 

He married, November 28, 1866, Sarah 
Ellen Yale, of Meriden, born September 14, 
1846, daughter of Julius Yale. They had no 
children, but brought up a son of Mr. Miner's 
brother, Frank Spicer Miner, born January 14, 
1872, son of Frank S. Miner, of Cornwall. 
Frank Spicer Miner married Betsy Hosmer, 
of New Haven ; children : Edward Hosmer, 
born March 14, 1903 ; Frank Erastus, Septem- 
ber 28, 1904. 

■ ■-'. cat Puh Co . 





The surname Luther is derived 
LUTHER from the baptismal and Biblical 

name in common use in all 
Christian countries. The American family is 
of the same German stock, according to family 
tradition, as the old immortal Martin Luther, 
tracing direct from his brother, Johannes 
(John) Luther, sons of Henry Luther, both 
of whom were born in Eisleben, Saxony. Mar- 
tin Luther was born late in the fifteenth cen- 
tury, graduated from a university at twenty 
years of age, and two years later, in 1505, ac- 
cepted a position as teacher. At the age of 
twenty-four he took orders in the Roman 
Catholic church. John Luther was born be- 
tween 1475 an d 1490, and his descendants, of 
the third or fourth generation, emigrated to 
Holland, from which country, after many 
years, perhaps a century, some of them re- 
moved to Sussex county, England, among 
them being a Wilhelm Luther, who attained 
the great age of one hundred and eigftt years. 
After the settlement in England they, or some 
branches of the family, became wealthy and 
owned an extensive manor. The family were 
known in local parlance as Luton, but in all 
legal papers the name was spelled Luther. 

(I) Captain John Luther, immigrant ances- 
tor, was born in Shrewsbury, England. He 
set sail from Dorset county, England, for the 
new world, landing in Boston, Massachusetts, 
in 1635, and in 1637 was one of the first pur- 
chasers and settlers of Swansea, and his ninety 
acres of land were said to have been purchased 
from the Indians for a peck of white beans. 
It is quite possible that the land was assigned 
by the government, and the peck of beans 
merely quieted any claim made by the Indians. 
He sold his interests there, and in 1642 be- 
came one of the first settlers of Gloucester. 
He was employed by the merchants of Boston 
as captain of a vessel to go to Delaware Bay 
on a trading voyage, and while there was 
killed by the Indians in 1644. Evidently his 
son was captured at the same time, as May 2, 
1646, the general court of Massachusetts de- 
creed that the widow Luther should have the 
balance of her husband's wages according to 
sea custom, after allowing to the merchants 
what they had paid for the redemption of her 
son. Children : Samuel, born in Taunton, 
1636, died December 20, 1716, married Mary 
; Hezekiah, mentioned below. 

(II) Hezekiah, son of Captain John Luther, 
was born (probably) in Taunton, 1640, died 
July 23, 1723. He and his brother Samuel 
were among the first settlers of Swansea, Mas- 
sachusetts, and many of his descendants lived 
there and in the adjoining town of Rehoboth. 
and in various parts of Rhode Island. He 

married (first) Elizabeth ; (second) 

Sarah . Children, by first wife, born in 

Swansea: John, 1663, mentioned below; Na- 
thaniel, 1664, married, June 28, 1693, Ruth 
Cole ; children of second wife : Joseph, Febru- 
ary 12, 1669, died March 23, 1736; Elizabeth, 
December 29, 1671, married John Kinnicutt; 
Edward, April 2^, 1674, married (first), Sarah 
Callender ; (second) Elizabeth Mason; Heze- 
kiah, August 27, 1676, married Martha Good- 
win ; Hannah, married Dr. Richard Winslow. 

(III) John (2), son of Hezekiah Luther, 
was born in 1663, and died April 14, 1697. 
He married, January 25, 1687, Hopestill But- 
terworth. Children : John, born August 10, 
1690, married Judith Martin ; Nathaniel, Au- 
gust 17, 1692, mentioned below ; Job, Decem- 
ber 30, 1694, married Hannah ; Pa- 
tience, January 8, 1697, married, November 
10, 1726, Hezekiah Luther. 

(IV) Nathaniel, son of John (2) and Hope- 
still (Butterworth) Luther, was born August 
17, 1692, and married, June 4, 1715, Mercy 
Boomer. Children: Job, born February 21, 
1716, married Hannah Harding; Nathaniel, 
September 21, 1719, married, January 2, 1752, 
Eleanor Boomer; Matthew, August 26, 1721, 
mentioned below; Isaac, February 27, 1723, 
married, June 14, 1750, Margaret Luther; 
Mercy, June 21, 1726; Hopestill, July 6, 1729; 
Hepzibah, December 19, 1730; John, March 

9, 1733, married Margaret ; Jonathan, 

August 22, 1735. died September 5, 1735; 
David, April 10, 1737. 

(Y) Matthew, son of Nathaniel Luther, 
was born August 26, 1721, and married, De- 
cember 20, 1747, Eleanor Gansey. Children: 
Anna, born August 23, 1748, married, 1765, 
Caleb Briggs ; Mehitable, March 23, 1750; 
Job, September 14, 1752; Nathaniel, 1754; 
Peleg, August 18, 1756, mentioned below; 
Eleanor, 1758. 

(VI) Peleg, son of Matthew Luther, was 
born August 18, 1756, and lived in Providence, 
Rhode Island. He married, in 1780, Mary 
Nichols, and died November 4, 1810. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, September 9, 1781 : Anne, born 
January 16, T784; Lydia, June 2, 1790, mar- 
ried Grant Barney ville ; Job, April 3, 1793, 
mentioned below; Eleanor, March 30, 1796, 

married Allen; Mary, 1799; John N., 

August 20, 1802, resided in Millbury; Abigail, 
married ■ Barney. 

(VII) Job, son of Peleg Luther, was born 
April 3, 1793, in Swansea, and died in Reho- 
both, Massachusetts, March 22, 1875. aged 
eighty-two years. He was a teamster during 
his active life and resided in Providence. In 
religion he was a Baptist. He married (first), 
December 15, 1823, Lucy Ann Peck of See- 


konk, born January 7, 1800, died October 10, In the fall of 1870 he took charge of a parish 

1827, daughter of Darius Peck. (See Peck school at Troy, New York. In addition to the 

family). He married (second), October 13, teaching of a hundred pupils he began the 

1829, Caroline Reed Ormsby, who died April study of theology under Rev. Dr. Coit, and as 

15, 1880. Children of first wife: Flavel soon as he was of age he was ordained a 

Sweeten, born November 9, 1825, mentioned deacon in the Protestant Episcopal church by 

below ; Son, born September 29, died Septem- Bishop Doane. He was successful and efficient 

ber 30, 1827. Children of second wife: Ed- as a teacher and disciplinarian. In 1873 he 

mund Job, born January 29, 1834, died No- was appointed rector of a large Episcopal 

vember 1, 1891, married May F. Chase, no school in Racine, Wisconsin. He pursued his 

issue; Charles Wadsworth, born April 29, favorite study of mathematics, and in 1876 

1836. died young. was appointed professor in mathematics in Ra- 

(VIII) Flavel Sweeten, son of Job Luther, cine College, filling this chair with marked 
was born November 9, 1825, at Providence, success until 1881, when he was elected pro- 
He attended the common schools of that city fessor of mathematics in Kenyon College, 
and a private select school, kept by Benjamin Gambier, Ohio. After two years he resigned 
Burns, at Providence. He began his career his office at Gambier to accept the chair of 
as a clerk and worked in various stores in his mathematics and astronomy in Trinity Col- 
native city. He served an apprenticeship of lege, thirteen years after his own graduation 
four years at cabinet making in Pawtucket, there. In 1903 he became acting president of 
Rhode Island, and afterward learned the busi- the college and in the summer of 1904, presi- 
ness of organ building. He had a farm at dent, succeeding Dr. George W. Smith. While 
Brooklyn, Connecticut, where he purchased a teaching mathematics at Hartford, Professor 
news agency, and conducted it successfully for Luther was also consulting engineer for the 
a period of thirty years. He is now living leading bicycle company of the country, the 
in Winsted, Connecticut. He is a member of Pope Manufacturing Company, in its period 
the Trinity Protestant Episcopal Church of of development. One of his inventions is used 
Brooklyn. In politics he is a Republican. on every bicycle and was of so much value 

He married, March 26, 1849, at Brooklyn, that the company voluntarily made him a 

Jane Jerusha, born, at Brooklyn, January 20, handsome present in addition to his salary. 

1824, daughter of Jacob and Joanna (Man- President Luther has demonstrated that he has 

ning) Lillie. (See Manning VI.) Her father great inventive ability and mechanical skill, 

was a farmer and butcher ; was an ensign in He is a member of the American Society of 

the war of 1812 and served at New London, Mechanical Engineers. 

Connecticut. She had one brother, Warren President Luther's administration has been 
Winslow Lillie. Children, born at Brooklyn : progressive. The fine new athletic field was 
1. Flavel Sweeten, born March 26, 1850; men- secured chiefly through his efforts, and he has 
tioned below. 2. Herman Lillie, born March done much to raise the standard of athletic 
12, 1855, graduate of Racine College; took sports at Trinity. He was an athlete of some 
post graduate at Harvard, and after a few note in his youth and has lost none of his 
years teaching in preparatory schools studied interest in intercollegiate sports. President 
law and was admitted to the bar of Minnesota Luther has been exceptionally well trained for 
and became a successful practitioner of that his present position by his experience and suc- 
state ; married, December 29, 1885, Kate C. O. cess in preparatory schools, his long service as 
Blake; he died February 2, 1904; child: Her- a college professor, by his love and knowledge 
man Blake, horn October 31, 1886, died Feb- of mathematics and engineering and more 
ruary 2, 1887. 3. Riverius Manning, born than all, perhaps, by his sound theological train- 
June 30. 1868, graduate of Trinity College, ing. His natural executive ability and com- 
Hartford, in tic class of 1890, electrical engi- mon sense, his pleasing personality and com- 
peer by profession ; died, unmarried, Novem- plete understanding of youth admirably equip 
ber 28^ 1891. him for the difficult duties of his position. 

(IX) lion. Flavel Sweeten Luther (2), son Trinity is not a wealthy college and a wise 
of Flavel Sweeten Luther, was born in Brook- and prudent administration of its affairs is 
lyn, Conn., March 26. 1850. He attended necessary, and also the enlistment of the co- 
the district schools of his native town and en- operation of its alumni and others in increas- 
tered the sophomore class of Trinity College ing its endowment. President Luther is an 
when he was seventeen years old, graduating able and convincing public speaker. As a 
when he was twenty, the third in his class, preacher lie ranks among the foremost, and 
He took high rank in mathematics, and won his sermons to the college boys are especially 
the first prize in that subject in his senior year, earnest, sensible and helpful. On the many 



occasions when he has represented the col- 
lege his versatility, eloquence and enthusiasm 
have won the admiration of his audience. He 
speaks entirely without notes or manuscript. 
He received the honorary degree of LL. D. 
from his alma mater in 1904. His devotion 
to Trinity has been shown repeatedly by his 
refusal of less difficult and in many ways more 
attractive positions in the* church. He was 
offered and declined the presidency of Kenyon 
College, while a professor in Trinity. Presi- 
dent Luther has always taken a lively interest 
in public affairs and is now a prominent mem- 
ber of the state senate of Connecticut, holding 
a position of leadership in that body and serv- 
ing on important committees. In politics he 
is a Republican. He married Isabel Blake 
Ely, born August 27, 1848, daughter of Alfred 
Eli and Mary (Bull) Ely. They have no 

(The Peck Line). 

This name is of great antiquity. It is found 
in Belton, Yorkshire, England, at an early 
date, and from there scattered not only over 
England but into every civilized country. A 
branch settled in Hesden and Wakefield, York- 
shire, whose descendants removed to Beccles, 
county Suffolk, and were the ancestors of 
Joseph Peck, of Hingham, county Norfolk, the 
American immigrant. Arms : Argent on a 
chevron engrailed gules three crosses formed 
of the first. Crest : A cubit arm erect, habited 
azure, cuff argent, hand proper, holding on 
one stalk enfiled with a scroll, three roses 
gules, leaved vert. The arms to which Joseph 
Peck are entitled are as given above, quartered 
with those of the Brunning and Hesselden 

(I) John Peck, of Belton, Yorkshire, mar- 
ried a daughter of Melgrave. (II) 

Thomas Peck married a daughter of 

Middleton of Middleton. (Ill) Robert Peck, 

of Belton, married Tunstall. (IV) 

Robert (2) Peck, of Belton, married 

Mnsgrave. (V) John (2) Peck, of Belton, 

married Watford. (VI) Thomas (2) 

Peck, of Belton, married Blaxton, of 

Blaxton. Children : Thomas, mentioned below ; 
John, settled in Northamptonshire. (VII) 

Thomas (3) Peck, of Belton, married 

Littleton. (VIII) John (3) Peck, of Belton. 

married Carre. (IX) John (4) Peck, 

of Belton, married Flemming. (X) John 

(5) Peck married Wembourne. Chil- 
dren: 1. John, whose daughter, his sole heir, 
married John Ratcliffe, thus taking the estate 
of Belton out of the direct line. 2. Richard, 
mentioned below. (XI) Richard Peck mar- 
ried Brunnung. (XII) Richard (2) 

Peck, of Hesden. married Savill. 

(XIII) Thomas (4) Peck, of Hesden, married 

Bradley. (XIV) Richard (3) Peck, 

of Hesden and Wakefield, Yorkshire, married a 
Hesselden. Children : John, mentioned below ; 
Richard, died young; Thomas. (XV) John 
(6) Peck married Isabel Lacie, of Bromble- 
ton, and was a lawyer. Children : Richard, 
mentioned below ; Thomas ; Catherine ; Rob- 
ert; John: Margaret. (XVI) Richard (4) 
Peck was of Wakefield, and married Joan, 
daughter of John Harrington, Esq. Children : 
Richard, mentioned below ; Margaret ; Isabel ; 
Joan; Judith; Elizabeth. (XVII) Richard 
(5) Peck married Alice, daughter of Sir Peter 
Middleton. Children : John, mentioned be- 
low ; Margaret; Ann; Elizabeth; Isabel. 
(XVIII) John (7) Peck, of Wakefield, mar- 
ried Joan, daughter of John Aune, of Trick- 
ley. Children : Richard, married Anne Ho- 
tham ; John ; Thomas ; Ralph ; Nicholas ; Fran- 
cis ; Robert, mentioned below. 

(XIX) Robert (3) Peck was of Beccles, 

county Suffolk. He married (first), — 

Norton; (second) Waters. Children": 

John ; Robert, mentioned below ; Thomas ; 
Joan; Olivia; Margaret; Anne. (XX) Rob- 
ert (4) Peck was of Beccles, and died 1593, 
aged forty-seven. He married Helen, daugh- 
ter of Nicholas Babbs, of Guilford. Children : 
1. Richard, died without issue, 161 5, aged 
forty-one. 2. Nicholas, born 1576; married 
Rachel Yonge, 1610. 3. Robert, born 1680; 
took degree at Magdalen College, Cambridge, 
A. B., 1599, A. M., 1603; inducted over parish 
of Hingham, England, January 8, 1605. 4. 
Joseph, mentioned below. 5. Margaret. 6. 
Martha. 7. Samuel, died 1619. 

(XXI) Joseph Peck, the immigrant ances- 
tor, was baptized in Beccles, county Suffolk, 
England. In 1638 he and other Puritans, with 
his brother, Rev. Robert Peck, their pastor, 
fled from the persecutions of their church to 
America. They came in the ship "Diligent," 
of Ipswich, John Martin, master. The rec- 
ords of Hingham, Massachusetts, state : "Mr. 
Joseph Peck and his wife, with three sons and 
a daughter and two men servants and three 
maid servants, came from Old Hingham and 
settled at New Hingham." He was granted a 
house lot of seven acres adjoining that of his 
brother. He remained at Hingham seven 
years, and then removed to Seekonk. At 
Hingham he was deputy to the general court 
in 1639. He took an active part in town af- 
fairs ; was selectman, justice of the peace, as- 
sessor, etc. In 1641 he became one of the 
principal purchasers of the Indians of that 
tract of land called Seekonk, afterwards the 
town of Rehoboth, including the present towns 
of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, and Seekonk and 



Pawtucket, Rhode Island. He removed, 1645, 
to his new home. An incident of the trip is 
found in the town records of Rehoboth. "Mr. 
Joseph Peck and three others at Hingham, 
being about to remove to Seaconk, riding 
thither they sheltered themselves and their 
horses in an Indian wigwam, which by some 
occasion took fire, and, although there were 
four in it and labored to their utmost, burnt 
three of their horses to death, and all their 
goods, to the value of fifty pounds." He was 
appointed to assist in matters of controversy 
at court, and in 1650 was authorized to per- 
form marriages. He was second on the tax 
list. In some instances land granted to him 
is still owned by his descendants. His house 
was upon the plain in the northerly part of 
the "Ring of the Town," near the junction of 
the present Pawtucket with the old Boston and 
Bristol road, not far from the Boston & Provi- 
dence railroad station. He died December 23, 
1663. His will was proved March 3, 1663-64. 
His sons united in the amplification of the 
written will which was made on his death- 
bed, and the court accepted it as a part of 
the will. 

He married (first) Rebecca Clark, at Hing- 
ham, England, May 21, 161 7. She died and 
was buried there, October 24, 1637. The 
name of his second wife is unknown. Chil- 
dren : 1. Anna, baptized in Hingham, Eng- 
land. March 12, 1618 ; buried there July 27, 
1636; Rebecca, baptized there May 25, 1620, 

married Hubbard ; Joseph, baptized 

August 23, 1623; John, born about 1626; 
Nicholas, baptized April 9, 1630; Simon, born 
about 1635 ; Samuel, baptized in Hingham, 
Massachusetts, February 3, 1638-39. Na- 
thaniel, baptized October 31, 1641, mentioned 
below; Israel, baptized March 11, 1644, died 
young; Samuel and Israel, baptized July .19, 

(XXII) Nathaniel, son of Joseph Peck, was 
baptized at Hingham, Massachusetts, October 
31, 1641, and removed with his father to Re- 
hoboth. He settled upon land given him and 
his brother Israel, in what is now Barrington, 
Rhode Island, near the house afterwards oc- 
cupied by Ellis Peck. He was buried August 

12, 1676. He married Deliverance , 

who died May 1, 1675. Children: Nathaniel, 
born July 26, 1 670, mentioned below ; Daugh- 
ter ; Elisha, born April 19, 1675, died April 
30, 1675. 

(XXIII) Nathaniel (2), son of Nathaniel 
(1) Peck, was born July 26, 1670, and died 
August 5, 1 75 1. He settled upon the lands 
left him by his father. He was a prominent 
man, and held various public offices. He is 
called lieutenant and deacon on the records. 

He married (first) March 8, 1695-96, Chris- 
tian Allen, of Swansea, who died June 8, 1702: 
(second), July 18, 1705, Judith Smith of Re- 
hoboth, who died November 10, 1743. Chil- 
dren : Ebenezer, born April 24, 1697; Na- 
thaniel, July 10, 1699; Thomas, October 4, 
1700; Daniel, July 28, 1706; David, November, 
1707; Abigail, August 12, 1709; Bathsheba, 
January 15, 1710-11, died December 13, 1769; 
Solomon, November 11, 171 2, mentioned be- 
low; John, July 1, 1714, died July 23, 1714; 
John, February 29, 1716, died May 14, 1716. 

(XXIV) Solomon, son of Nathaniel (2) 
Peck, was born November 11, 1712, and died 
December 8, 1776. He settled upon a part of 
the homestead. He married, December 29, 
1737, Keziah Barnes, who died July 18, 1792. 
Their gravestones are still standing. Children : 
Solomon, born October 29, 1738, mentioned 
below; Keziah, August 3, 1740; Hannah, 
February 4. 1743, died August 17, 1752; Sam- 
uel, December 30, 1744, died August 3, 1814; 
Benjamin, June 3, 1747, died October 12. 
1776; Amos, May 1, 1749, died April 24, 
1816; Esther, May 18, 1751 ; Daniel, March 
24, 1753. died September 10, 1776; Hannah, 
October 17, 1755; Nathaniel, December 7, 
1759, died October 9, 1776; Ebenezer, Decem- 
ber 11, 1762. 

(XXV) Solomon (2), son of Solomon (1) 
Peck, was born October 29, 1738, and died 
August 22, 1814. He resided on the place 
later occupied by his grandson, Asa Peck, in 
i860. He married, December 8, 1763, Abi- 
gail (Peck) Barney, widow of Barney. 

She died June 16, 1821. Children: Abigail, 
born May 12, 1765 ; Keziah. September 10, 
1766; Solomon, February 13, 1769, Darius, 
June 25, 1772, mentioned below ; Ellis, August 
2, 1774; Beebee, June 1, 1777, died April 19, 

(XXVI) Darius, son of Solomon (2) Peck, 
was born June 25, 1772, and died in Septem- 
ber, 1854. He married, January 24, 1799, 
Lucy, daughter of Deacon Charles Peck. Chil- 
dren : Lucy Ann, born January 7, 1800, mar- 
ried, December 15, 1823, Job Luther; Keziah, 
born September 13, 1801 ; Calvin D.. born 
May 22, 1803; Rachel S., born March 12, 
1805 ; Hermon A. and Sylvester W., twins, 
born Julv 12, 1807. Julia Ann, born Febru- 
ary 27, 181 1, died unmarried, March, 1840. 

(The Manning Line). 

(I) William Manning, the immigrant an- 
cestor, was born in England as early as 1592, 
perhaps earlier, and came to New England at 
an early date. He came (from best evidence) 
from county Essex, England. From his own 
account, he lived the first nine or ten weeks in 



Roxbury, Massachusetts, after landing here. 
He then removed to Cambridge, where docu- 
ments were first signed by him, in 1634 and 
possibly earlier. He was on the list of land- 
holders in February, 1635. An old church 
record says : "Payd our brother Manninge for 
a bell rope." This was dated 1648, when he 
was engaged in "a business laudable and com- 
mendable." He had doubtless been a mer- 
chant in England. In 1638 he bought four 
acres of ground in Charlestown. He was a 
freeman in 1640. After his second marriage 
he removed to Boston and united with the 
church there in 1664. He died in 1665-66. 
Name of first wife unknown ; he married (sec- 
ond) Susannah , who died in 1650; 

(third), Elizabeth — — ■, who survived him. 

Children, as far as known : William, mentioned 
below, Hannah. 

(II) William (2), son of William (1)- Man- 
ning, was born in England about 1614, and 
came to New "England about 1634. He set- 
tled in Cambridge, purchased lands and en- 
gaged in business as a merchant. He also 
owned a warehouse, boathouse, on a canal to 
which boats had free access, and constructed 
with his own hands a wharf by his boathouse. 
He was highway surveyor in 1651 ; gauger of 
casks and constable 1652-53 ; selectman in 
1652-66-70-72-75-81-83; member of the grand 
jury in 1686-88. In 1668 he was sent to Eng- 
land to procure another minister, and in 1671 
Rev. Uriah Oakes was received and ordained, 
and afterwards became the president of Har- 
vard College. In 1670 Mr. Manning was ap- 
pointed "to catechise the youth" of the town. 
He was selected as one of the committee of 
two, who had in charge the rebuilding of Har- 
vard College, to receive and disburse funds for 
that purpose. He died March 14, 1690. He 

married Dorothy . Their gravestones 

are in the cemetery at Harvard Square. Chil- 
dren: Hannah, born June 21, 1642; Samuel, 
July 21, 1644, mentioned below; Sarah, Janu- 
ary 28, 1646; Abigail, January 15, 1647-48. 
died May 10, 1648; John. March 31, 1649, died 
unmarried, November 25, 1678; Mary, about 
1 651; (Perhaps) Timothy. 

(III) Samuel, son of William (2) Manning, 
was born July 21, 1644. About the time of 
his marriage he settled in Billerica, and while 
there his house was twice attacked by Indians. 
In 1696 his house was made a garrison. He 
was a corporal in 1682, sergeant in 1684, and 
ensign in 1699. He was a farmer by occupa- 
tion, and was a prominent man. He was sur- 
veyor of highways in 1668; sealer of weights 
and measures from 1675 to 1700: constable 
1677; juryman 1679. assessor 1694-98 and 
1702: tything man 1679-82-97 and 1704-09: 

town clerk seven years ; selectman eighteen 
years ; and deputy to the general court 1695- 
96-97. He was admitted a freeman in 1670. 
He was a large landholder and his will was 
dated February 21, 1710. He married (first) 
April 13, 1664, Elizabeth Stearns, who died 
June 24, 1671. He married (second) May 6, 
1673, Abiel Wight, born at Medfield, January 
1, 1654, daughter of John and Ann Wight. 
He died February 22, 1710-11. Children of 
first wife: Samuel, mentioned below; John, 
born 1666. Children of second wife: 
Timothy, born February 4, 1674; died 
March 12, 1674; Hannah, March 28, 
1675 ; William, June 27, 1677 > Mary, Septem- 
ber 12, 1679; Sarah, August 26, 1681 ; Doro- 
thy, June 27, 1683 ; Isaac, April 15, 1685 ; Eph- 
raim, born September 11, 1686; Elizabeth, 
born March 14, 1689-90; Timothy, March 4, 
1691-92; Eliphalet, July 28, 1693; Abiel, De- 
cember 16, 1698. 

(IV) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1) Man- 
ning, was born in Billerica about 1665. He 
took the oath of allegiance September 8, 1681. 
In 1693 the town of Billerica granted him 
liberty to set up a shop and to lay timber 
about, and set a cart near to the passage 
over the river, during the time of his keeping 
the ferry. He removed to Cambridge before 
1695, and in that year had the custody of the 
town's ammunition. In January, 1698, his 
father sold to him the homestead at the south- 
east corner of Dunster and South streets, Cam- 
bridge, together with the boat house, etc. After 
this, he is called "waterman" in deeds. In 
1714 he bought land in Windham, Connecti- 
cut, between, Merrick and Beaver brook. He 
sold his Cambridge property, and after 1722 
lived in Windham. His house was in that part 
of the town which became the Scotland parish. 
At Billerica he was highway surveyor in 1693. 
At Cambridge he was sealer of weights and 
measures thirteen years ; highway surveyor in 
1702: inspector of the "Great bridge over the 
Charlestown river" in 1704-05; constable 
1707; clerk of the market 1715. At Windham 
he was tything man and school committee in 
1722; selectman four years, 1723-24-32-33. 
He was also ensign of militia in Billerica. His 
will was dated March 2, 1750, and he died at 
Windham, February 20, 1755. He married 
(first) Deborah Spalding, born at Chelmsford, 
September 12, 1667, died August 8, 1727, 
daughter of Edward Spalding. He married 
(second) at Norwich, June 10, 1731, Sarah 
Gale, of Canterbury, who died October n, 
1746, (perhaps) widow of Richard Gale. Chil- 
dren, all by first wife : Dorothy, born January 
17, 1688-89; Samuel, January 14, 1690-91; 
Sarah, October 1, 1693; Deborah, died Janu- 


ary 30, 1723-24, unmarried; John, baptized December 16. He enlisted in the first regi- 

January 17, 1696-97, mentioned below; Abi- ment, which was transferred to Valley Forge 

gail, baptized May 14, 1699; Elizabeth, born to Washington's Life Guards. This famous 

November 21, 1701 ; Mary, born March 17, command was formed in 1776 of picked men. 

1703-04; Joseph, baptized May 12, 1705. He continued in the Life Guards until 1780, 

(V) John, son of Samuel (2) Manning, was and beat the drum at the execution of Major 
baptized at Cambridge, January 17, 1696-97. Andre. In 1781 he was in Captain Paul Brig- 
He was a cordwainer and "waterman," and re- ham's company, Colonel Isaac Sherman's reg- 
sided in Cambridge until 1725, and in that iment. He was for many years the bell-ringer 
year removed to Hopkinton, and about two of Norwich, and was jailer there during the 
years later to Windham, Connecticut. He had French revolution. In 1800 the American ship 
a saw mill there on Merrick brook. He was "Trumbull" took as a prize a vessel with a 
fence viewer in 1743 and 1747; sealer of number of passengers seeking to escape the 
leather 1736-38-43-44; grand juror 1736; con- dangers of the San Domingo war, and several 
stable and collector 1738-42-44. He was lieu- of the prisoners were sent to Norwich, and 
tenant of the second company of the train band held there until their release. One of the 
at Windham, and three years later was made number, a young mulatto, was much impressed 
captain. He was clerk of the parish in 1732, by the kindness shown them; his name was 
and was a member of the Scotland society. Pierre Boyer, who afterwards became presi- 
He died May 5, 1760, intestate. He married dent of the republic of Hayti, and, nearly 
Abigail Winship, of Cambridge, baptized Oc- twenty years after his experience at Norwich, 
tober 16, 1698, died July 30, 1770, daughter he sent a present of four hundred dollars to 
of Joseph and Sarah (Harrington) Winship. Diah's widow in appreciation of the kindness 
Children: Joseph, born July 15, 1718; John, shown him. Diah married, April 27, 1784, 
July 10, 1720; Sarah, January 2, 1721-22, died Anne Gifford, of Norwich, born October 14, 
February 13, 1736-37; Samuel, November 3, 1762, died September 30, 1851, daughter of 
1723, mentioned below; Josiah, June 14, 1725 ; James and Susanna (Hubbard) Gifford. 
Phineas, March 3, 1727; Abigail, September Children: 1. Samuel, born April 12, 1785. 2. 
4, 1728; Irena, baptized September 20, 1730; Eunice, born December 28, 1786; died 182^. 
Alice, born August 1, 1732; Susanna, October 3. Joanna, born December 25. 1788; died in 
8, 1734; Sarah, October 28, 1737; Abiah, bap- her eightieth year; married February 14, 1813, 
tized June 10, 1739. Jacob Lillie, son of Chester and Sarah (Tracy) 

(VI) Samuel (3), son of John Manning, Lillie, born June 12, 1785, at Windbam. a 
was born in Cambridge, November 3, soldier in the war of 1812; children: Warren 
1723, and died at Norwich, November 9, Winslow Lillie, born March 14, 1814; Jane 
1783. He settled at Norwich Town, and was Jerusha Lillie, born January 20, 1824, married, 
a stone mason by trade. He served in the March 26. i8sq, Flavel S. Luther (Luther 
revolution from July 22 to November 27, VIII) ; 3. William Lord, born April 4, 1791. 
1775, in Captain Asa Kingsbury's company, 4. Asa, born August 3T, 1793 ; died September 
Colonel Jedediah Huntington's regiment, sta- 10. 1793. 5. Asa, born November 26, T795. 
tioned on the sound until September 14, and 6. Lemira, born June 8, 1798. 7. Joseph Terry, 
then ordered to Boston camps and to Rox- born November 12, 1801 ; died February 7. 
bury. He built a house, in 1750, on the road 1852. 

to the burying ground. He married at Nor- 

wich, September 21, 1746, his cousin, Anne Bolton is an ancient and hon- 

Winship, of Charlestown, born September 24, BOLTON ored English surname. This 

1728, died 1792. daughter of Joseph and Anna branch of the family was seated 

Winship. Children, born at Norwich : Eunice, at Boltby chapelry, parish Feliskirk Wapen- 

born August 3, 1747, died June 29, 175 1 ; take of Birdforth, North Riding of Yorkshire. 

Samuel, September 13, 1749; Anne, died Sep- (I) John Bolton was baptized July 3, 1693. 

tember 24, 1753, aged two years; Anne, died at Boltby and lived there. Children, born at 

September 3, 1759, in her sixth year; Eunice, Boltby: Robert, mentioned below; William, 

born January 24, 1756, died October 15, 1781 ; baptized February 28, 1724, died 1753; John. 

Roger, born May 15, 1758; Diah, born Au- May 12, 1728, married Frances Johnson, 

gust 24, 1760, mentioned below. (II) Robert, son of John Bolton, was bap- 

(VII) Diah, son of Samuel (3) Manning, tized at Boltby, August 19, 1722. He was a 
was born August 24, 1760, at Norwich, Con- weaver by trade. He married, at Boltby, De- 
necticut, and died there August 25, 181 5. He cember 4, 1750, Mary Oxendale, who was 
was a drummer in the revolution in Captain buried at Boltby, October 28, 1900. Children: 
Asa Kingsbury's company from July 10 to Anne, baptized June 16, 1751 ; Christopher. 



February 7, 1754, mentioned below; William, 
August 22, 1756; Anne, August 10, 1760; 
John, July 8, 1762, February 26, 1765; Eliza- 
beth, June 8, 1766. 

(III) Christopher, son of Robert and Mary 
(Oxendale) Bolton, was baptized at Boltby, 
February 7, 1754; married there, January 29, 
1774, Catherine Jackson. Children, born at 
Boltby: Thomas, born November 24, 1774, 
mentioned below; Elizabeth, born 1788, de- 
ceased; Mary, baptized March 19, 1793; Rob- 
ert, born 1796, died 1803; Christopher, bap- 
tized March 22, 1789, married Elizabeth 

(IV) Thomas, son of Christopher and 
Catherine (Jackson) Bolton, was born at 
Boltby, November 24, 1774, and died in Hali- 
fax, Nova Scotia, May 12, 1846. He came to 
America in 1807, with his wife and four chil- 
dren, resided for a short time in Newfound- 
land, and removed to Halifax, Nova Scotia, 
where he made his permanent home, and suc- 
cessfully engaged in the watch, clock and 
jewelry business. 

Thomas Bolton married at Leeds, Au- 
gust 19, 1801, Sarah Siminson, born at High 
Kilburn, Yorkshire, April 9, 1782. She died 
at Halifax, December 28, 1858. Children: 1. 
James, born July, 1802; died, Halifax, October 
28, 1825. 2. Thomas, February 9, 1804; died, 
Halifax, July 17, 1876; married Anne For- 
syth. 3. Elizabeth, baptized May 24, 1805, at 
Chester-la-Street, Durham ; died September 
10, 1873; married, Halifax, Thomas Laidlaw. 
4. Robert, baptized at Hamsterley, county 
Durham; lost at sea in 1848, on a voyage from 
Calcutta to London; married (first) Charlotte 
Dixon. 5. Christopher, born July 5, 1808, in 
Newfoundland; died September 29, 1855; 
married Elizabeth Granville Wright ; she died 
July 1, 1879. 6. John Barnett, born Septem- 
ber 18, 1810; died in Boston, Massachusetts, 
December 26, 1893 ; married October 26, 1837, 
Sarah Ann Davis; she died May 1, 1896. 7. 
William, born June 25, 1812; married (first), 
Mary Ann King, born at Rye, England ; died 
at Hartwick, New York; (second) Harriet 
Self, born at Bunnell, England, June 23, 1824; 
died at Wallingford, Connecticut, May, 1901. 
8. Mary Ann, born February 9, 1814; married 
January 6, 1839, Joseph Wilson. 9. Cathar- 
ine, born April 7, 1816; died March 17, 1894; 
married (first) Henry S. McNeil; (second) 
Rev. A. Martell. 10. George Siminson, born 
October 29, 181 7; mentioned below. 11. 
Charles, born 1819; died September 20, 1820. 
12. Charles Henry, born 1821 ; died, New 
Haven, Connecticut, April 4, 1881 ; married 
Isabel Lay; she died, New Haven, 1898. 13. 
Sarah Jane, born 1824; died 1885; married 

Gideon D. Martin. 14. Margaret, born 1827; 
died 1879. 

(V) George Siminson, son of Thomas and 
Sarah (Siminson) Bolton, was born in Nova 
Scotia, October 29, 1817, and died September 
20, 1900. He married, September 24, 1843, 
Elizabeth Walker, who died May 5, 1901. 
Children born in Halifax : George Walker, 
September 18, 1844; David Thomas, July 26, 
1846, married, October 11, 1873, Fannie H. 
Fagneau; Anne Wyman, February 11, 1850; 
James Robert, September 5, 1852, mentioned 
below ; Maria Lyle and Arthur Hugh, twins, 
July 15, 1855, he married, April 15, 1886, 
Amelia Platts ; Inglis Havelock, February 3, 
1858, died in 1876. 

(VI) James Robert, son of George Simin- 
son and Elizabeth Granville (Wright) Bolton, 
was born at Halifax, September 5, 1852. He 
was educated at Halifax and came to New 
Haven, Connecticut, in 1872. He is a member 
of the Young Men's Republican Club. He 
married, May 14, 1884, Frances S.' Sheldon, 
born September 22, 1863, daughter of Hon. 
Joseph Sheldon. (See Sheldon VIII.) Mrs. 
Bolton is a member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution, and of the Mothers' 
Club of New Haven. Children : Clarence 
Havelock, born August 31, 1891 ; Joseph Shel- 
don Gerry, October 6, 1893 ; Dorothea, Sep- 
tember 5, 1895 ; Frances, May 29, 1904. 

John Sheldon, progenitor of 
SHELDON the Sheldon family here con- 
sidered, had a son William, 
who had sons: John, mentioned below, and 

(III) John (2), son of William Sheldon, 
settled in Kingston, Rhode Island, where he 
died in 1706. He and forty-one others of 
Narragansett signed a petition to the king 
July 29, 1679, "to end the differences about 
the government thereof which hath been so 
fatal to the prosperity of the place, animosi- 
ties still arising in people's minds, as they 
stand affected to this or that government." He 
bought two hundred and thirty acres of land, 
October 20, 1683, near Pettasomscott of Ben- 
jamin Congdon for seven pounds. He was 
taxed in 1687. His will was dated August 15, 
1704, and proved January 16, 1706. His 
eldest son John was executor and residuary 
legatee. Children : John ; Isaac, mentioned 
below ; Joseph ; Elizabeth, married Daniel 
Sunderland ; Abigail ; Mary ; Dinah. 

(IV) Isaac, son of John (2) Sheldon, was 
born and lived at South Kingston, Rhode Is- 
land. He was admitted a freeman in 1712. 
He died in 1752. He married (first) Susanna 
Potter, who died, and he married (second) 



Sarah . His will was dated May 3, 

1 75 1, and proved August 25, 1752. Isaac was 
executor and residuary legatee. Children, born 
at South Kingston : Thomas, February 18, 
1709, settled at Pawlings, New York; Roger, 
December 15, 1710, mentioned below; Eliza- 
beth, November 8, 1713 ; Isaac, March 4, 
1716, lived at North Kingston; John, August 
21, 1718. called "Pedlar John"; Susanna, Oc- 
tober 23, 1720; Joseph, March 17, 1721, set- 
tled at Stephentown, New York ; Palmer 
(Valmer or Parmelee), May 16, 1724; Benja- 
min, March 4, 1727, settled at Stephentown; 
child of second wife: Sarah, January 3, 1733. 

(V) Roger, son of Isaac Sheldon, was born 
at South Kingston, December 15, 1710. He 
married Giffe Sweet. Children, born at South 
Kingston: Susanna, 1744, married George 
Babcock; Charles, 1746, of Sangerfield, New 
York; Alice, 1748, married Lewis Stephen; 
Mary, 1750; William, mentioned below; Amy, 
1753, married John Lewis; Sarah, 1755, of 
Sterling, Connecticut; Roger, 1757; Giffe, 

(VI) William (2), son of Roger Sheldon, 
was born at South Kingston, in 1751. He 
married Ruth Bishop. Children: William, 
born 1779; John, 1781, died 1817; Joseph, 
mentioned below; Susan, 1787; Mary, 1789; 
Lucinda, 1791 ; William, 1793; Daniel Bishop, 

(VII) Colonel Joseph Sheldon, son of Wil- 
liam (2) Sheldon, was born in 1783. He set- 
tled in Watertown, New York, and became 
prominent in public affairs and the state mi- 
litia. He married Hepzibah Richardson. 
Children, born at Watertown : Tilly R., 1810, 
lived at Rodman, New York; Mary, 181 1. died 
young; Susan, 1812, married Jenckes P. 
Thompson; Mary, 1814, married Willard L. 
Eddy; Harriet, 1820; Bishop, 1822, of San 
Francisco; John, 1824, of San Francisco; Jo- 
seph, mentioned below ; Mark, 1829, of San 
Francisco ; Seth, 1834, died young. 

(VIII) Hon. Joseph (1) Sheldon, son of 
Colonel Joseph (2) and Hepzibah (Richard- 
son) Sheldon, was born January 7. 1828, at 
Watertown, Jefferson county, New York. His 
early boyhood was passed on his father's farm, 
in work and in attending the district school. 
When fourteen years of age, he began teach- 
ing school, and taught through the winters of 
1842-43, 1843-44, with flattering success. He 
then decided upon a college course, and in the 
spring of 1845, began preparing to enter Ham- 
ilton College at Clinton, New York. He 
studied at Union Academy, at Rodman, New 
York, and later at the Black River Literary 
and Religious Institute at Watertown, which 
was then under the direction of Rev. J. R. 

Boyd, a Presbyterian clergyman. Owing to 
failing health, however, he was obliged to give 
up the plan of a college course, but continued 
to study at Union Academy at Belleville, New 
York. The years of 1846 and 1847 ne al- 
ternated in study and teaching at various 
places in New York state. In May, 1848, he 
gave up the charge of the large school at 
Watertown and set out on a tour of investiga- 
tion in order to discover what help the newly 
established scientific and agricultural schools 
at New York, New Haven and Cambridge 
could bring to practical farming. He found 
the expense of a course of study at any one of 
these institutions too great for him to under- 
take. Accidentally, however, he met in New 
Haven the late Dr. ' Taylor, who persuaded 
him to enter the undergraduate department of 
Yale College. In the fall of 1848 he accord- 
ingly joined the sophomore class, and gradu- 
ated in 185 1. While in college, he distin- 
guished himself in debate and English 

Upon his graduation, he at once began prep- 
aration for the law, studying first at Water- 
town, and later in the Yale Law School, from 
which he graduated in 1853, with the degree 
of M. A. In the winter of 1852, when Kos- 
suth, the Hungarian patriot, visited the United 
States, Mr. Sheldon was selected by the stu- 
dents from all departments of Yale to prepare 
the address which was sent from that institu- 
tion to the patriot. Both before and after his 
graduation, Mr. Sheldon was a student in the 
law office of Hon. E. K. Foster, of New 
Haven, and soon found considerable legal 
business on his hands. He speedily won repu- 
tation in his profession and a lucrative prac- 
tice. He early formed a partnership with 
Lyman E. Munson, which was continued until 
the latter was appointed by President Lincoln 
a district judge of Montana. In 1854 he also 
taught in the famous Military and Scientific 
School of General Russell and Major Skinner, 
at New Haven. At the same time he insti- 
tuted and for two years conducted very suc- 
cessfully "The People's Lectures," chiefly with 
a view of aiding the slavery question and 
partly with the idea of exciting a more stir- 
ring intellectual life. These lectures took up 
so much of his time, however, that he was 
obliged to abandon them. 

In politics he has been most of his life a 
Republican. In the campaign of 1856, he took 
an active part for Fremont. As a young man. 
he was bitterly opposed to slavery and took a 
leading part in the debates of that period. He 
was among the active Abolistionists of New 
Haven, and was one of the few who never 
shrank from assisting the fugitive slaves. Soon 


after the election of President Lincoln, for tions of the Societies of the Red Cross held at 

which Mr. Sheldon labored zealously, the lat- Geneva. He drew and delivered the address 

ter was employed by several of the leading of the American delegation on one of the 

carriage-makers of New Haven upon the per- most important controverted questions before 

ilous undertaking of settling their claims in the conference, and the question was carried 

the southern states. He went south by way unanimously 

of Baltimore, Norfolk and Weldon, and at Judge Sheldon has been connected with a 
Wilson, a little town forty miles below Wei- number of business enterprises and as a man- 
don, he was finally compelled by a drunken ager of business corporations has been remark- 
mob to turn back. A guard was placed over ably successful. He has also given a great deal 
him to make sure that he actually did leave of attention to the development of real estate. 
the state. On his return to New Haven, he He became the owner of the foreign patents 
addressed a large audience in Music Hall on for a singularly ingenious machine for the 
his "Southern Experiences." manufacture of brushes, the perfecting of 
During the civil war he assisted in sustain- which, and of the other necessary machinery, 
ing an advanced public sentiment and in pro- and the establishment in London, of the busi- 
curing enlistments. He believed that the ness, occupied much of his time for six years, 
negro must eventually be employed as a sol- In 1874, he sold out his holdings to a joint 
dier, and at one time, when negro orphan asy- stock corporation, which continued and en- 
lums were being sacked in New York, Mr. larged the business on the lines originally laid 
Sheldon quietly got together a company of out by him, until the establishment has become 
thirty or forty colored men, and at midnight, the largest, most perfect and most profitable 
in the basement of Music Hall, instructed brush-making concern in the world, 
them in military drill, under strict secrecy. Judge Sheldon became a Free Mason in 
Later when the negroes were called out, al- 1883, and in the following year became a 
most every one of these men became a non- member of the Connecticut Society of Arts 
commissioned officer in the twenty-ninth or and Sciences. Besides his political efforts in 
thirtieth Regiment and inspired confidence by public speaking, he is well known for his 
his military knowledge and aptness. In 1872 Fourth of July Memorial addresses and his 
Mr. Sheldon supported Horace Greeley for oration on the death of President Garfield, 
the presidency. On a number of occasions he For thirty years he has been an indefatigable 
has frankly differed from the Republican party student of political economy and finance. It 
on questions of public policy. Early in the has been the dominant feature of the best 
seventies, he vigorously opposed the financial years of his life, and he has worked tirelessly 
policy of the government, which was leading and sacrificed his own interests consciously 
towards the "resumption" that finally pre- and constantly in order to arouse the people 
vailed. In the fall of 1875, he began a series to an appreciation of the great importance of 
of public meetings in New Haven to resist an intelligent understanding of national finan- 
the destruction of the greenbacks and to favor cial policy. He is a strong bimetallist, and has 
the remonetization of silver. In May of the delivered a great many addresses on the sub- 
following year, he delivered, by invitation of ject, the most important one being before the 
the New Haven Chamber of Commerce, an American Social Science Association at Sara- 
address before that body on the "Currency," toga. He was for twenty years a leading 
which has been widely published. He has long member of the National Bimetallic League and 
been known as an enthusiastic and efficient was one of the few Eastern Republicans who 
advocate of temperance and woman's suffrage, left their party in 1896 because of their at- 
From 1879 to 1882, he served the city of New titude on the money question, and worked vig- 
Haven as alderman. He was chairman of the orously for William J. Bryan in that year and 
committees to which were referred the proj- again in 1900. Every department of thought 
ect of the Western Boulevard sewer and the or action to which Judge Sheldon has turned 
retention and repair of the State House, and Ids attention has felt the power of his search- 
the reports of those committees were drawn ing criticism and vigorous personality. As a 
by him. In 1881-83 he held the judgeship of thinker he is farsighted and consistent, an un- 
the city court. In 1881 he was appointed by daunted opponent of evil and fearless exponent 
Governor Bigelow to represent the state in of the truth as he sees it. Every great reform 
the Tariff Convention in New York, where he of the last half of the nineteenth century has 
delivered an address. In 1884, he was dele- found in him a zealous and able champion, 
gated by the government of the United States In religion he is a Unitarian, but as there was 
and also by the National Association of the no church of that denomination in New 
Red Cross, to a conference of the treaty na- Haven, he became identified with the Uni- 



versalist Society, and for years took an active 
part in the Sabbath school and the conference 
meetings of that church. He has also been a 
generous contributor to the Society's support. 
September 7, 1861, Judge Sheldon mar- 
ried Abby, daughter of Samuel Elbridge 
Barker, of Onondaga county, New York, a 
grandnephew of Hon. Elbridge Gerry, of Mas- 
sachusetts. Mrs. Sheldon, like her father, was 
on terms of special friendship with the early 
Abolitionists of central New York, Gerrit 
Smith, Samuel J. May and Fred Douglass. 
They have had two daughters. 1. Frances, 
born September 22, 1863, married James Rob- 
ert Bolton (see Bolton VI). 2. Elizabeth 
Barker Sheldon Tillingham. 

The surname Atwood orig- 
ATWOOD mated in the custom of desig- 
nating persons by the locality 
in which they lived to distinguish them from 
others bearing the same baptismal name, hence 
John At-the-wood, later Atwood, in the same 
way that such surnames as Rivers, Hill, 
Bridge, Pond, etc., came into use. The me- 
dieval spelling of this surname was Atte 
Wode, modified to Atwood and in most cases 
to Wood. Some branches of the family, how- 
ever, have retained the prefix and spell the 
name Atwood. There were several immi- 
grants named Wood and Atwood, closely re- 
lated, who settled early in the Plymouth 

(I) Dr. Thomas Atwood, immigrant, a 
descendant of Thomas Atwood, of Bromfield, 
Essex, England, was born in England and was 
one of Oliver Cromwell's captains of horse 
during what is known as the first civil war 
in England, and he took part, it is said, in the 
four great battles of that mighty struggle be- 
tween Puritan and the King, including that 
of Marston Moor, July 2, 1644. He settled at 
Plymouth about 1650, but as early as 1663 
removed to Wethersfield, Connecticut, where 
he died in 1682. At the age of fifty-nine years 

he married, in 1667, Abigail , a girl of 

seventeen, whom he had seen a baby in arms 
at the first house at which he stayed after 
coming to the New World. He built a brick 
mansion at Wethersfield. He was engaged 
in the West India trade. As a doctor he rode 
from Saybrook to Woodbury. He owned 
much land. Children : Abigail, born Septem- 
ber 30, 1668; Andrew, September 1, 1671 ; 
Jonathan, June 8, 1675, mentioned below ; 
Josiah, October 4, 1678; Mary, May 29, 1681. 

(II) Dr. Jonathan Atwood, son of Dr. 
Thomas Atwood, was born June 8. 1675. died 
January I, 1733. He settled in Woodbury, 
Connecticut, among the earliest. He owned 

land there, now known as the Dr. G. H. At- 
wood homestead, having remained in the fam- 
ily to the present time. He was a physician, 
one of the first in this section. He married, 
November 15, 1701, Sarah Terrill. Children, 
born at Woodbury: Nathan, September 6, 
1702; Mary, April 20, 1705; Lieutenant Jona- 
than, September 9, 1710; Oliver, mentioned 

(III) Oliver, son of Dr. Jonathan Atwood, 
was born in Woodbury, March 11, 1717, died 
January 30, 1810. He married (first) Novem- 
ber 12, 1740, Lois Wheeler; (second) Nancy 
Wells; (third) Naomi Fairchild. Children, 
born at Woodbury: Nathan, 1741, mentioned 
below; Gideon, March 3, 1743; Elisha, April 
27, 1745, died May 24, 1825; Ann, June 3, 
1747; John, March 19, 1749. Children of sec- 
ond wife : Wells, married Lydia Carrington ; 
Nancy, married twice. 

(IV) Deacon Nathan, son of Oliver At- 
wood, was born in 1741 at Woodbury, died in 
1803. He married, January 4, 1763, Rhoda 
Warner. Children, born at Watertown, for- 
merly Woodbury, Connecticut: Mary, June 1, 
1765; Nathan, May 30, 1767, mentioned be- 
low; Joseph, September 28, 1770; Daniel. July 
8, 1772; Abel, February 13, 1779. 

(V) Nathan (2), son of Deacon Nathan 
(1) Atwood, was born at Watertown, May 
30, 1767, died in 1853. He married (first) 
Susanna Minor; (second) Althea Gillette. 
Children, born at Watertown: Salina, baptized 
February 8, 1789; Rev. Anson S., baptized 
October 17, 1790; Norman, baptized 1792, 
mentioned below ; Nathan W. ; Alma, married 
Lester Sutler?. 

(VI) Norman, son of Nathan (2) Atwood, 
was baptized at Watertown in 1792. He set- 
tled in Goshen, Connecticut. He married Abi- 
gail Woodward, of Watertown, a descendant 
of Henry Woodward, who was one of the 
early settlers of Boston. Children : Lucius. 
settled in Bristol; Lucinda (twin), married 

West; Belinda (twin), married Henry 

Daniels ; Rebecca ; Frederick, married in Cin- 
cinnati ; George ; Cornelia, married Joshua 
Reed ; Lewis John, mentioned below ; William. 

(VII) Lewis John, son of Norman Atwood, 
was born in Goshen, April 8, 1827. Healthy 
and active in his boyhood, he learned in early 
life habits of industry and self-reliance. His 
youth was spent partly on a farm in the coun- 
try, partly in the village. He attended the 
public schools and had little time for play. He 
was fond of mechanics and early in life de- 
veloped much skill, but he was obliged to earn 
his livelihood and took the opportunity first 
at hand and worked as clerk in a store at Wa- 
tertown, beginning at the age of twelve. For 



five years he divided his time between the 
store, the farm, the grist mill and saw mill. 
In 1845 ne l e ft Watertown for Waterbury and 
continued in mercantile business there. At 
the age of twenty-one he entered partnership 
with Samuel Maltby, of Northford, Connecti- 
cut, in the manufacture of buckles and buttons, 
but they lacked capital, and he soon returned 
to mercantile business, as clerk in a flour and 
feed store. He next embarked in business on 
his own account as a manufacturer of daguer- 
reotype cases, lamp burners and other brass 
goods. In January, 1869, he and others organ- 
ized the firm of Holmes, Booth & Atwood, now 
Lie well-known Plume & Atwood Manufac- 
turing Company. At first he had charge of a 
department in the manufacture of lamp burn- 
ers for kerosene lamps, etc. When the con- 
cern was incorporated as the Holmes, Booth 
& Atwood Manufacturing Company he was 
one of the principal stockholders. The busi- 
ness grew rapidly to large proportions and be- 
came one of the most prosperous industries of 
the city of Waterbury. From 1874 to 1890 he 
was secretary of the corporation ; since that 
time until his death he was the president. In 
1865 he became interested also in the Ameri- 
can Ring Company and for many years was 
the manager of that company. 

From the time he engaged in manufactur- 
ing, Mr. Atwood displayed his great inventive 
genius in many patented devices. During a 
period of forty years he took out seventy 
patents, many of which proved of great value 
and usefulness to the world and brought him 
a handsome financial return. Perhaps no me- 
chanic in the world did more to develop the 
science of domestic lighting. He devised many 
burners for oil and kerosene lamps, various 
lamps and fixtures for all kinds of uses. He 
built an ingenious hydraulic press for forcing 
scrap metal into a compact form to prepare it 
for remelting, a process formerly accom- 
plished by pounding the metal with hammers 
in a cast-iron vessel, technically known as 
"cabbaging." Mr. Atwood's process is in gen- 
eral use at the present time. Mr. Atwood's 
substantial success as an inventor and manu- 
facturer gave him a place in the front rank of 
the industrial and financial leaders of this city 
of large and varied manufacturing interests. 

Mr. Atwood was an earnest and practical 
Christian, a member for many years of the 
Second Congregational Church, of which he 
was deacon since 1884, and he served on the 
building committee when the present fine edi- 
fice was erected. He was president of the 
Young Men's Christian Association of Water- 
bury for five years and was chairman of the 
building committee of that organization when 

the present home was constructed and paid for. 
He was generous in other charities and active 
in other benevolent organizations. In politics 
he was a Republican. He died February 23, 
1909, after a short illness. Faithful, upright 
and conscientious in business and private life, 
Mr. Atwood expected others to follow his ex- 
ample, and his influence has been most whole- 
some as an employer and citizen. 

He married, January 12, 1852, Sarah Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Almon Piatt. Children: 
Elizabeth Elvina, died in childhood; Frances 
Finnette, married Albert J. Blakesley; Irving 
Lewis, born May 19, 1861, married Jennie 
Ford, of Lakeville, Connecticut ; he is the only 
surviving child ; now a resident of Waterbury. 

At the funeral his pastor, Rev. Dr. J. G. 
Davenport, said : 

"Of the notable group of far-seeing and en- 
ergetic men, who have built their life into this 
rapidly-growing community, I suspect that there 
is scarcely one whose influence has been more 
uniformly valuable and inspiring, conservative of 
all that was best among us and ever looking 
for something better, with clearer vision and 
more progressive spirit establishing our city's 
industrial life upon sound and enduring foun- 
dations, than he whom we mourn to-day. To 
him and his fellow workers our city owes more 
than it can ever repay. To-day it honors this 
our brother's memory. In the humble home of 
many a laborer his name is mentioned with re- 
spect and regard. In every class of society 
among us his departure awakens keen regret. 
This great gathering testifies to the place he 
held in the thought and esteem of Waterbury. 
Through skillful management of men and of 
matters, by the exercise of habitual integrity 
and faithfulness to obligation, by business fore- 
sight and enterprise which never failed him, he 
has made his way quite to the front among our 
useful and honored citizens. We rejoice in all 
that he has accomplished; we are proud of his 
successes: we feel that in many respects he 
presents a model for the imitation of our youth." 

"One of our city papers represents him as sav- 
ing what in one form or another many of us 
have heard him declare as advice to the young 
man who would make a success of life: 'Be hon- 
est and truthful; lose sight of yourself in your 
interest in your employer's prosperity; have the 
courage of your convictions in matters of right 
and wrong; use the best judgment at your com- 
mand in dealing with men and affairs; be kindly, 
considerate in your relations with others; give 
good heed to the needs of your higher nature 
and you will not fail to succeed in life.' These 
are sentiments worthy to be written in letters 
of gold and placed in sight of all the youths 
of our city. I wish that they might be hung 
upon the walls of our Young Men's Christian 
Association, where those who gather there could 
read and think upon them and apply them to 
their own profit. * * * We would have been 
glad_ for_ many years to sit under the shadow 
of his wisdom and grace, but he had more than 
completed four-score years, the work of his life 
was done and well done, he has made an im- 
pression for good that will abide, he has left 
with us a noble and inspiring memory, and has 



gone on to the realization of the hopes he so 
fondly cherished." 

Bryant's poem, "The Old Man's Funeral," 
was read at the close of the address. 

Hungerford is an an- 
HUNGERFORD cient English surname, 

derived originally from 
the name of a locality. All of the name appear 
to be descended from a family to which Sir 
Thomas Hungerford. the first of the name of 
any historical prominence, belonged. He is 
said to have begun life in the humble situation 
of register of Wyvie, Bishop of Salisbury, and 
he was elected mayor of that city in 1360. Sir 
Thomas is reported to have been the first 
speaker (1377) of the House of Commons. 
He afterwards passed into the service of John 
of Gaunt as his steward ; and when that noble 
was tried before a parliament held at Salisbury 
on a charge of treason, Sir Thomas fortified 
his castle at Farley, for which he was after- 
ward fined. 

Farley Castle, the home of Sir Thomas, was 
at Blark Bounton, County Oxford, and his 
monument there shows that he died in 1398. 
The remains of this castle where Sir Thomas 
and his proud line of descendants lived for six 
centuries or more, is now recognized by a few 
embattled turrets, and some monumental effi- 
gies and inscriptions. A curious fragment of 
painted glass in a window of the parish church 
(not the chapel within the castle walls) com- 
memorates the purchase of this Manor of Far- 
ley and has a portrait of Sir Thomas. This 
relict, according to the rector of the parish, 
from whom this ancient history of the family 
was obtained, confirms what is related by Dug- 
dale, that Sir Thomas was buried in the north 
aisle of the Church of St. Ann at Farley. The 
rector found also this account of the castle : 

"The sayde Castell, standeth in a Parke, leny- 
ing into a hyllside, portly and very strongly 
buylded. having inward and outward wardes, 
and in the inward warde. many fayne chambers, 
a fayne, large hall, on the hedde of whych hall 
ijj or iij goodly chambers with fayre and strong 
rofs, and dyo's other fayre lodgings with man 
howses of office. The parke wherein the sayde 
Castell standeth, ys ij myles and iij q'rtes in 
circuit, a very fayre and sikley grounds, being 
envyroned rounde about with high hylls, and 
in the myddel, a broke, and depe rounying 
streme rounying throw it, and harde by the 
Castell wall, a very well set with great Okes, 
and other Woodde, whych is valued to be 
worthe ccccij and is replenished with xxxj dere 
of antler and xiiij of rascall and the Kings hugh- 
ness doeth gyve by reason of the sayde Castell 
iij advowsons and ij chauntyres, while ij Chaun- 
tryes doe stand within the walls of the Castell 
and the sayde Castle ys worthe in rents, farmes 
and causalities in, 111,111, 111,111." 

Sir Thomas Hungerford purchased the 
charter of a fee warren at Down Anney, 
Gloucestershire, in 1398. The place is partly 
in Wiltshire. There remains a stately gate- 
way leading to the mansion in which are some 
traces of the ancient building. This portal is 
flanked by two handsome turrets and is grand 
and appropriate in its style of architecture. 
This ancient mansion still retains more of its 
baronial grandeur than any other existing resi- 
dence of the Hungerfords ; especially in its old 
hall and gateway. The burial vaults there 
contain the remains of Sir Edward and Lady 
Margaret (Holliday) Hungerford, Culme or 
Columb Hungerford and others of the family. 
The vault underneath the Hungerford Chapel 
at Farley Castle, mentioned above, is remark- 
able for a number of leaden coffins shaped like 
the Egyptian mummy cases tapering from the 
shoulders to the feet and having the features 
of a face in strong relief on the coffin. The 
Farley estate remained in the Hungerford 
family until 171 1, when the last of the direct 
male line died. He was extravagant, it is 
said, and to him is attributed the demolition 
of the family house in London, on the site of 
which now stands the Hungerford Market. 
The name is extinct in England, but branches 
of the family survive in Ireland, it is said, as 
well as in America. A saying of Sir Thomas 
has been preserved : "Tyme Tryeth Truth." 
The sickle was the emblem on the ancient 
coat-of-arms of the family and is to be seen 
in various buildings in the vicinity of the old 
seat of the family, notably in Salisbury Cathe- 
dral. Two almshouses, we are informed, are 
still in existence in England, founded before 
1450 by members of the Hungerford family. 

(I) Thomas Hungerford, immigrant ances- 
tor, was born in England and came to this 
country, as a mariner, when a young man. In 
1639 ne owned a triangular piece of land, with 
a house, at Hartford, Connecticut. He moved 
to Pequot, now New London, and shortly af- 
terward cleared the land on which the fort 
now stands. He died in 1663, leaving four 
children. He married (second), in 1650, 
Hannah, daughter of Isaac Wyllis of New 
London. She married, later, Samuel Spen- 
cer. Children of the first wife : Thomas, men- 
tioned below; Sarah, born about 1751, married 
Lewis Hughes. Children of second wife: 
Hannah, May 1, 1759. 

(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) Hun- 
gerford, was born about 1648, and removed 
from New London to Hadlyme, Connecticut, 
about 1692. He was a blacksmith by trade. 
He had a grant of land at Haddam, Connecti- 
cut, and lived in the part now called Hadlyme. 
He mentions his wife and children in his will, 



dated January n, and proved, February 5, 
1713-14. Children : Thomas, mentioned below, 
John ; Green ; Elizabeth ; Susanna ; Sarah ; 
Mary Esther. 

(III) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) 
Hungerford, was born about 1680. He was 
a seafaring' man, and died in 1750 at Xew 
London on his return from a voyage. His 
family lived on a farm on Eight-Mile river, 
Haddam. He married Elizabeth Smith. Chil- 
dren, born at Haddam : Hannah, August 16, 
1700; Thomas, July it, 1702; Benjamin, De- 
cember 15, 1705: Elizabeth, December 4, 1707; 
David, baptized May 21. 17 10, and died during 
the French and Indian war in the service ; 
Jonathan, baptized April 17, 1715 ; John, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Captain John Hungerford, son of 
Thomas (3) Hungerford, was born at Had- 
dam, March 4, 1718-19. He was prominent 
in military affairs. In 1751-52 he removed to 
Farmington and in May, 1754, was commis- 
sioned by the general assembly of Connecti- 
cut, ensign of the train band of that town, the 
sixth company. In May, 1757, he was ap- 
pointed lieutenant of the train band in the 
parish of New Cambridge, now Bristol, for- 
merly in the town of Farmington, and in May, 
• i 758, he became captain of this company in 
the First Company. He died in Southington, 
December 24, 1787, and was buried in the old 
burial ground at Plainville, Hartford county. 
His epitaph is as follows : 

"Behold and see as you pass by 
As you are now, so once was I. 
As I am now, so you must he. 
Prepare for death and follow me." 

He had a seat in the meeting house in 1785 ; 
was assessed on one hundred and eighty seven 
pounds in 1786, at Southington. 

He married (first), December 27, 1739, De- 
borah, daughter of John Hungerford, a dis- 
tant relative. She died March 6, 1745, and he 
married (second) Lucy , who died Feb- 
ruary 10, 1798, aged seventy-seven years. Chil- 
dren of first wife : Levi and Thomas. Children 
of second wife : Oliver, Uriah, Amasa, De- 
borah, John, Lucy, Elizabeth, Huldah and 

(V) John (2), son of Captain John (1) 
Hungerford, was born about 1755. He was 
assessed for eightv-five pounds two shillings, 
three pence, in 1786. In 1790 he was the only 
head of family of the name in Southington 
and had four sons under sixteen and two fe- 
males in his family. He was a soldier in the 
revolution. 1777-81, in Captain Holmes's com- 
pany, Colonel Jedediah Huntington's regiment. 

( VI) John (3), son of John (2) Hungerford, 
was born in 1787 in Southington and lived in 

Harwinton. He died in 1856. He was a suc- 
cessful general merchant until 1836 when he 
engaged in business as a woolen manufacturer. 
He built the building occupied later by the 
firm of Agard & Church ; removed the dwell- 
ing built by John Brooker, and on that site 
he built the house lately owned by J. W. Coe. 
His mill was destroyed by fire in 1844. He 
then formed the Union Manufacturing Com- 
pany in partnership with F. H. Hollv, and 
built the present woolen mill at Torrington. 
He had been previously one of three equal 
stockholders of the brass mill, and finally .utc- 
ceeded to the ownership of the entire property. 
He became one of the most substantial and 
prosperous business men of Torrington. He 
was kindly and benevolent, upright and honor- 
able in all the relations of life. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Webster, of Albany, who 
came to Wolcottville about 1813. She died 
June 12, 1819, and he married (second), June 

5, 1820, Charlotte Austin. Children of first 
wife : 1. John Taylor, born June 4, 181 5 ; mar- 
ried Susan McQuarter in Georgia. 2. Eliza- 
beth, married Dr. White of Connecticut. Chil- 
dren of second wife : 3. Walter M., born Feb- 
ruary 6, 1822 ; married Amy Swift, of Dutchess 
county, New York ; merchant with store at 
Torrington, succeeding his father ; removed in 
1874 to Mount Pleasant, Iowa; children: 
Mary, Frances, Morton S.. Charles B. and 
Harry. 4. Austin N., born October 20, 1824; 
married Sarah Prindle ; died November, 1873 ; 
son: Harvey Prindle. 5. Charlotte, April 15, 
1825; died October 15, 1826. 6. Rev. Edward, 
September 11, 1829; married Maria Buell, of 
Burlington, Vermont; minister at Meriden, 
Connecticut ; children : Caroline, Charles L., 
Charlotte, Frederic B., and Catharine. 7. 
Dana L., born April 19, 1827; merchant in 
New York City ; married Caroline Grace, of 
Hartford. 8. Charlotte A., born July 8, 183 1 ; 
died June 13, 1909; married Dr. Roger Olm- 
stead, of Brooklyn, New York. 9. Frances 
A., October, 1833: married Dr. J. B. Whiting. 
10. Ellen L. (twin), born July 13, 1837; mar- 
ried George Foot. 11. Helen (twin), born July 
13, 1837, died January 7, 1838. 12. George 
D., August 25, 1840: died August 25, 1840. 
13. Uri T., December 14, 1841 ; married Delia 
Hyde, who died March 18, 1870; one child 
died in infancy. 14. Frank Louis, November 

6, 1843 ; mentioned below. 

(VII) Frank Louis, son of John (3) Hun- 
gerford, was born at Torrington, November 
6, 1843. He attended the public schools and 
by private study fitted for college. After two 
years in the University of Vermont, he ac- 
cepted an opportunity to study law in the 
office of Senator George F. Edmunds, at Burl- 



ington, Vermont. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1865 and could have remained in Burl- 
ington in charge of Senator Edmund's prac- 
tice, but he preferred to return to Connecticut, 
and he opened his office in his native town in 
1866. He was successful from the first, and 
soon afterward was elected judge of probate. 
In 1869 he removed to New Britain, Connecti- 
cut, to become the partner of Hon. Charles E. 
Mitchell, afterward Commissioner of Patents 
of the United States, under the firm name of 
Mitcbell & Hungerford. Some twenty years 
later John P. Bartlett was admitted to the 
firm and the name changed to Mitchell, Hun- 
gerford & Bartlett. His firm occupied a posi- 
tion of prominence among the lawyers of the 
state for a generation and Judge Hungerford 
was one of tbe foremost attorneys of the 
county. He was city attorney of New Britain 
and corporation counsel, and his influence and 
wisdom contributed substantially to the devel- 
opment of the thriving city in which he lived. 
He was a director of the Russell & Erwin 
Manufacturing Company, the Stanley Rule & 
Level Company, the New Britain National 
Bank, the Burritt Savings Bank and the New 
Britain Institute. He was an active and prom- 
inent member of the First Church of Christ, 
and was elected deacon in 1874. He was one 
of the mainstays of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, and from 1889 t0 i 9 oi j a 
period of twelve years was its president. In 
1897 Judge Hungerford's law firm was dis- 
solved and he became the head of the firm of 
Hungerford, Hyde, Joslyn & Gilman of Hart- 
ford and continued in this relation until his 
death. This firm ranks among the best known 
and most successful in the state. In politics 
he was a Republican, but he declined public 
office in later years, though his advice was 
often sought in shaping useful legislation, and 
his influence was acknowledged by the leaders 
of his party. He received from the University 
of Vermont the honorary degree of Master of 
Arts in recognition of his achievements in law 
and public life. Frank Louis Hungerford 
married, December 21, 1869, Sarah A., born, 
New Britain, July 6, 1841, daughter of Wil- 
liam A. Churchill. Children : William Church- 
ill, see forward; Florence, died, aged six 
years ; Belle, died, aged two years ; Frank 
Mills, died, aged fourteen years. 

From the eulogy of Charles Elliott Mitchell, 
formerly his partner, at a special meeting of 
the Hartford County Bar, held in the Superior 
Court room at Hartford, June 25, 1909, we 
quote : 

"From the first he exhibited great aptitude 
for all forms of legal business, especially those 
which brought into requisition the exercise of 

sound judgment and the faculty of presenting 
causes in such a way as to be thoroughly un- 
derstood by men of common sense. Early in 
the development of the partnership life, my at- 
tention was diverted in the direction of patent 
litigation, and a mutual arrangement was made 
which caused the major portion of the general 
law business to devolve upon Mr. Hungerford, 
while his partner devoted himself largely to 
causes involving the law of patents. This di- 
vision of labor proved a happy one, and was 
maintained for the most part during the whole 
life of the partnership of nearly thirty years. 
Mr. Hungerford served as judge of probate first 
in Torrington and afterwards in New Britain, 
acquitting himself in those positions with his 
customary judgment and integrity. In 1897 he 
became the senior partner of the firm of Hun- 
gerford, Hyde, Joslyn & Gilman in this city. As 
the head of the firm he met all the demands of 
a large business, keeping him closely confined to 
his law practice, acquiring a great reputation as 
a trial lawyer and never seeking or accepting 
office, excepting where the legal function was 
the dominant one. * * * He drew to him- 
self the respect of all by the influence which he 
unconsciously exerted, and this respect increased 
as the sphere of his influence broadened from 
year to year. He became the corporation coun- 
sel of the city of New Britain at a time of rapid 
change in the growth and needs of the rising 
young city. The city grew with the rapidity of 
a western township. The old charter, which had 
served its day, had become an outworn gar- 
ment. The town and city governments were 
to be amalgamated. The sewer problem pre- 
sented unending perplexities. The public water 
system called for enlargement and an increased 
supply. In all directions, change and growth 
presented problems which called for command- 
ing ability and a legal leader. Mr. Hungerford 
was corporation counsel during nearly the whole 
of this period of development. His advice was 
followed without misgiving; such was the pub- 
lic confidence in his legal knowledge, his wis- 
dom and probity and personal disinterested- 
ness, that practically all of his decisions and di- 
rections were accepted as decisive by political 
opponents as well as political adherents. If any 
exception existed, it was so rare as to prove 
the rule. It rarely happens that public confi- 
dence is so completely centered in any one legal 
adviser as it was in Mr. Hungerford. All be- 
lieved that he had the learning and wisdom 
called for by all the complexities and problem- 
of the city and its government, and no one for 
a moment entertained a thought that he could 
be diverted from his devotion to the public 
good. The present public-spirited mayor of New 
Britain placed a very high value upon his serv- 
ices, and mourns his death as an almost irre- 
parable loss to the city and community; and 
the same feeling finds expression upon every 
tongue. * * * But during the past winter the 
demands of the city have been specially exact- 
ing. After strenuous days at Hartford he gave 
the still more strenuous evenings to the require- 
ments of New Britain. Ala-, that it should have 
been necessary, but a necessity within him com- 
pelled him to do his duty. * * * T reioice in 
the fact that Mr. Hungerford's name has be- 
come permanently a part of the city's history, 
and that while the city lives his well-earned 
reputation will not die. 

«* * * Yhe desire to master legal science 



was as native to Frank Hungerford as his vital 
breath. He was not content to scratch the sur- 
face of decisions. He searched for the law at 
the fountains; he laboriously delved for legal 
principles in mines that yield their treasures 
only to unremitting toil. He delighted in the 
mastery of legal problems. Except in a sudden 
exigency, it was impossible that he should come 
into a case without preparation. And how he 
did enjoy a lawsuit! He would establish peace 
between litigants if it were possible, but when 
a real controversy was on, he delighted in the 
labor of preparation, he delighted in the give- 
and-take of the contest, and he delighted in the 
sensation of a hard-won victory. Any man who 
entrusted his cause to Frank Hungerford had 
no reason to fear that he was working pri- 
marily to secure a fee. 

"* * * Just, sincere and affectionate in the 
very roots of his nature, his life could not avoid 
exhibiting, unconsciously, of course, the exalted 
character of the sweet soul of Frank Hunger- 
ford. I never knew him give utterance to an 
impure word or an impure sentiment. Dishon- 
esty was not conceivable of him. There was 
never a written contract between us and we 
never had a difference. When the lawyer said 
he would give a great sum of money for Hun- 
gerford's face as a means of prevailing in the 
presence of a jury, he forgot that the face which 
he coveted simply reflected the sincerity of char- 
acter which was the secret of its prevailing 
power. Nor should any one associate his purity 
of character with any supposed weakness in any 
direction. Mr. Hungerford was a full, strong 
man, a lover of life and of the good things of 
life, which he was not accustomed to reject as 
they came along. He was a lover of fine horses, 
as his stables witnessed. He loved an intelli- 
gent dog and an unflawed diamond. He loved 
the broad horns of the farmyard, and a day by 
the brookside with his trout rod in the cher- 
ished intervals of an exacting business supplied 
him not only with sorely needed rest, but with 
almost unutterable joy. 

"It remains to be added that Mr. Hungerford 
had one quality which, whether a felicity or a 
failing, undoubtedly stood in the way of political 
preferment, if indeed he ever desired political 
preferment. His nature was so ingrainedly 
truthful and sincere that he could not stoop to 
the insincerities which sometimes characterize 
the professional politician. His reticence was 
remarkable and increased with his years, but his 
infrequent words were like the scarcest of metals 
— all gold throughout. 

"* * * H e believed in the truth of the say- 
ing, 'In my Father's house are many mansions,' 
and he ordered his life in complete subordina- 
tion to that belief. He was made a deacon in 
the Congregational Church thirty-three years 
ago. He was a student of the Bible from earliest 
youth. At the time of his death he was the 
head of a Bible class of nearly sixty adult, think- 
ing men. On Thursday evenings he was a 
teacher of the Sunday-school teachers. He was 
for a dozen years president of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, and he lived his life, year 
in and year out, as ever 'in his great taskmas- 
ter's eye.' Such a man could not be indifferent 
to man's infirmities, and accordingly he was at 
the time of his death president of the New 
Britain Hospital, giving the time which he could 
ill spare to the sweet charities which flourish in 
^uch institutions. 

"* * * What were the sources of his un- 
questioned strength, both before the court and 
the jury. If I should try to state them, I should 
specify the love of law as a science felt in his 
youth and the controlling element in all his ef- 
forts; capacity for thorough preparation never 
omitted when preparation was possible; loyalty 
to truth and conscience which made him more 
than ready to settle doubtful cases; profound 
knowledge of legal principles and a capacity for 
clear statement, seldom excelled, which made the 
development of each proposition an aid to a 
clear understanding of those which still re- 
mained to be unfolded in the natural order of 
thought, and perhaps I should add also that joy 
of the contest which marks the born advocate. 
And attending these qualities all along the line 
was the faculty of sound judgment, more rare, 
I sometimes think, than genius itself, a faculty 
which, as by intuition, separates the immaterial 
from the important, and laying due stress upon 
the latter relegates the former precipitately to 
the rear." 

(VIII) William Churchill, son of Hon. 
Frank Louis and Sarah A. (Churchill) Hun- 
gerford, was born at New Britain, February 
25, 1 87 1. His preliminary education was ob- 
tained in the Connecticut public schools, and 
at a private school in Bridgeport. In 1890 he 
entered Sheffield Scientific School, graduating 
in 1893. He studied law in the offices of 
Mitchell, Hungerford & Bartlett, until Sep- 
tember, 1894, when he entered Yale Law 
School, graduating in 1895, being immediately 
afterward admitted to the bar. The firm of 
Mitchell, Hungerford & Bartlett had at that 
time offices in New Britain, Hartford and 
New York City, and Mr. Hungerford entered 
their Hartford office as clerk, remaining until 
1897, when the firm was dissolved. He then 
became the junior member of the firm of 
Hungerford, Hyde, Joslyn & Gilman, with of- 
fices in New Britain and Hartford. The firm 
name was changed after the death of Hon. 
F. L. Hungerford, in June, 1909, to Hyde, 
Joslyn, Gilman & Hungerford. Mr. Hunger- 
ford is, politically, a Republican, although he 
has never sought nor held public office. He 
attends the Congregational First Church of 
Christ, in New Britain, of which he is the 
clerk and a member of the society committee. 
His college fraternity was the Chi Phi, and 
he belongs to the Hartford Club ; New Britain 
Club ; Farmington Country Club ; University 
Club, and Connecticut Field Trial Club. He 
married, November 2, 1898, at Torrington, 
Connecticut, Charlotte, daughter of Dr. Roger 
S. and Charlotte (Hungerford) Olmstead. 

Thomas Slayton, the immi- 
SLAYTON grant ancestor, was born in 

England, September 20, 1682, 
according to one record, that of Joshua Slay- 
ton, and emigrated to America ; married Han- 

6 4 


nah Culwood, in 1707, and had two sons, 
Phineas and Thomas, and one daughter, Han- 
nah. There is another tradition in the family, 
which says that he was born in Scotland near 
the river Tweed, and when seven or eight 
years old, either ran away or was stolen as a 
cabin boy, or sent away to prevent his inherit- 
ing property, and perhaps titles ; that the mas- 
ter of the vessel gave him the name Slayton 
because it would never be heard of elsewhere ; 
that he was landed at Plymouth or Boston 
about 1690; that he was well educated and 
later taught school. Where he lived or when 
or where he died is unknown. Children: 1. 
Thomas, June 15, 1709, mentioned below. 2. 
Phineas. 3. Hannah, died aged eighty-eight. 
(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) Slay- 
ton, was born June 15, 1709. He was an in- 
habitant of Weston, Massachusetts, in 1732, 
and according to the town records of that 
place, married, September 21, of that year, 
Abigail Harrington, of Watertown, born 
March 21, 1712-13, daughter of George and 
Abiel Parker (married November 15, 171 1 ) , 
daughter of James Parker of Groton. They 
were married by the Rev. Wareham Williams 
and the intentions of their marriage were pub- 
lished in Weston, October 14, 1732. It is not 
known how long he lived in Weston. Three 
of his children were born there. In 1735, he 
bought the fortieth part of a tract of land in 
Worcester, "said tract including a mine or 
minerals, with all the mines, minerals, precious 
stones, pearls, waters and water courses, 
rights, etc.," for thirty pounds ; seven years 
later, he sold the same for twenty-three pounds. 
April 7, 1738, he is called a husbandman in 
the records of Weston, and recorded as having 
sold one half of a mansion house and barn 
and land, about one hundred and twenty acres. 
From 1737 to 1745 he had twelve purchases 
of land recorded in different places in Massa- 
chusetts. In April, 1739, the settlement of 
the town of Tyringham, Hampden county, 
began, and at that time, he, with Lieutenant 
Isaac Garfield and John Chadwick, moved into 
that place. His land there he had doubtless 
bought previously, for the records of Hamp- 
den county, say that he bought land near 
Housatonic, May 24, 1737, in "New Township 
Xo. I." He sold his last land in Weston, April 
16, 1739, and it is likely that he moved to 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, shortly after, as his 
fourth child was born there in 1740. June 
12, 1749, he first bought land in the latter 
place. Upon this, about 1770, he built a house, 
which remained standing until i860. He and 
his wife were admitted to full communion in 
the 7 church in Weston, December, 1738, and 
dismissed from there to the Brookfield church, 

July 27, 1755. He died, August or September, 
1778, and was buried in the lot, which he had 
given as a cemetery. His wife was buried 
beside him. His will was filed September 22, 
1778. Children : Thomas, born February 20, 
1734, Weston ; Abiel, 1735, Weston, died June 
26, 1740; Phineas, September 4, 1737, Wes- 
ton; David, June 2, 1740, Brookfield; Joshua, 
December 16, 1744, Brookfield; Ruth, Febru- 
ary 10, 1746, Brookfield; Reuben, May 30, 
1748, mentioned below; Samuel, September 
26, 1 75 1 ; Patience, December 13, 1757, Brook- 
field. ' 

(III) Reuben, son of Thomas (2) Slayton, 
was born May 30, 1748, in Brookfield. He 
served in the revolution ; a sergeant in Cap- 
tain John Wolcott's Company of Rangers 
from Brookfield and Spencer, which marched 
on the Lexington alarm, April 19, 1775. The 
men of this company enlisted for eight months, 
and went into camp at Roxbury, May 19. 
He was commissioned ensign in Captain Joel 
Green's company. Fourth Massachusetts Regi- 
ment, May 19, 1775. He was also a captain 
in Colonel William Shepard's Third Massachu- 
setts Regiment in 1780, at White Plains, New 
York. He was appointed captain in Ball's 
company. Fourth Massachusetts Regiment, 
Colonel William Shepard, January 1, 1777. 
resigned March 20, 1779. He married Mary 
Moore of Brookfield. The date given in the 
Brookfield records is May 30, 1777, but wheth- 
er that is the date of the marriage or of the 
intentions is not known. He was named ex- 
ecutor of his father's will, and was at home 
and filed the same in probate court, September 

22, 1778. Between 1781 and 1786, he bought 
and sold lands in Brookfield nine times, in 
some of the deeds being styled "yeoman" in 
others, "gentleman." About 1785, he moved 
to "Chester, Hampshire county, State of Mas- 
sachusetts," and from there to Springfield, 
Otsego county, New York, about 1800. He 
first bought land there in 1801 and sold it in 
1809. In 181 1, he went to Chautauqua county 
and helped his son Reuben build a sawmill. 
In the autumn of that year, he returned to 
Springfield after his family, but was taken ill 
on the way and died in ten days. Children : 
Washington, born December 27, 1778, Brook- 
field, mentioned below ; Reuben, Jr., September 

23, 1780, Brookfield; Thomas (3), about 1783, 
Brookfield; Catharine, 1785, Brookfield; Polly, 
born in Chester, Massachusetts; Susan, Ches- 
ter; Ruth, Chester; James, April 30, 1790. 
Chester; Sophia, 1800, Chester. 

(IV) Washington, son of Reuben Slayton. 
was born December 27, 1778, in Brookfield. 
and married Dorcas Waite, born October 19, 
1776, died October 4, 1823, in Springfield, 



New York. He went with his father to 
Springfield about 1800. He first bought land 
there in 1806, and sold his last in 1827. He 
was a mechanic by trade, a musician, a danc- 
ing master and a very fine penman. He lived 
during his old age with his daughter Laura 
near Conneautville, Pennsylvania, and amused 
himself by copying much from the Bible. He 
died March 4, 1862, at Conneautville. Chil- 
dren : Cornelius C, May 2, 1800; Horace 
Watson, July 24, 1802; George W., May 7, 
1804 ; Laura Adelia, February 8, 1807 ; Nancy 
Lorinda, March 25, 1809; Thomas M., June 
29, 181 1, mentioned below; Helen Amelia 
(twin), August 23, 1813; Harriet Cornelia 
(twin), August 23, 1813 ; Reuben H., April 

11, 1816; Josiah Waite, August 28, 1818; Os- 
mond Birdsley, March 12, 1822. 

(V) Thomas M., son of Washington Slay- 
ton, was born June 29, 181 1, and married, 
about 1840, at Conneautville, Pennsylvania, 
Elvira Treadway, born October 10, 1814, 
Shoreham, Vermont, died February 25, 1856, 
in Elba, Lapeer county, Michigan. He mar- 
ried (second) Polly Treadway, a sister of his 
first wife. She was born December 18, 1812, 
at Shoreham, and died August 11, 1896, at 
Lapeer. He moved with his family to Lapeer 
in 1847, and a few years later to a farm in 
Elba, Lapeer county. He died April 11, 1859, 
in Elba, and was buried in Lapeer. Children : 
Eugene Treadway, April 20, 1843, mentioned 
below; Laura Elizabeth, July 12, 1850, Elba, 
Lapeer county, Michigan, married J. Rollin 
Johnson, of Lapeer ; children : i. Janette E. ; 
ii. Chester R. 

(VI) Eugene Treadway, son of Thomas M. 
Slayton, was born April 20, 1843, Conneaut- 
ville, Pennsylvania. He removed early in life 
to Lapeer, and in 1878 removed to Ogemaw 
county, where he was engaged in farming and 
lumbering. In the latter place he had the Slay- 
ton Post Office for a time. In 1883 he went 
to Schoolcraft county, where he was secretary 
of the Delta Lumber Company and was em- 
ployed in estimating pine and lumber until 
September 1, 1887, when he went to Cali- 
fornia for four years, and was engaged in 
purchasing timber lands for Detroit capital- 
ists. In 1891 he returned to Lapeer and be- 
came interested in insurance, and since 1902 
has been postmaster. He married (first) Ra- 
chel Truesdale, August 15,1862, Conneautville. 
She was born March 6, 1839, died April 2, 
1865, Conneautville. He married (second), Oc- 
tober 10, 1866, Julia Bell, daughter of Asahel 
Wolcott Abbott" and Martha Lamb (White) 
Abbott. (See Abbott). She was born May 

12, 1843, m Lapeer. Children: Minnie V., 
August 2j, 1863, died September 29, 1863, 

Conneautville; Lena E., January 26, 1865, 
died August 17, 1895, Conneautville. Children 
of the second wife : Lucius Cary, December 
31, 1872, Lapeer, mentioned below; Mabel E., 
August 12, 1876, married Harry Demorest, of 
Flint, Michigan ; children : George Eugene, 
Slayton Jack and Max Harrison; Martha 
Lamb, October 31, 1879, married Leon 
Schunemann ; children : Louise and Sarah. 

(VII) Lucius Cary, son of Eugene Tread- 
'way Slayton, was born in Lapeer, Michigan, 
December 31, 1872, and was educated in the 
public schools and the Agricultural College, 
Lansing, Michigan. Since 1893 he has been 
engaged in the life insurance business, first in 
Detroit, Michigan, later for a short time in 
Buffalo, New York, and since May, 1900, he 
has been state agent of the Penn Mutual Life 
Insurance Company, with office at No. 82 
Church street. He is a member of the Quinni- 
piack Club of New Haven and of Annaxon 
Lodge, No. 115, Free and Accepted Masons 
of West Haven. He is a member of the Con- 
gregational Church of West Haven. 

He married, August 11, 1896, Kate Agnes, 
born March 10, 1875, daughter of Martin I. 
and Cecelia (Clark) Whitman. Children: 
Harry Whitman, born January 3, 1898; Eric 
Randolph, September 3, 1901 ; Cecelia Grace, 
August 5, 1904. 

(The Abbott Line). 

(I) George Abbott, the immigrant ancestor, 
was probably born in England, and died in 
Rowley, Massachusetts, in 1647. He was one 
of the first settlers of Rowley, coming from 
England in 1642. He deeded most of his 
estate to his oldest son, Thomas, before his 
death. He had two acres granted him for a 
house lot and had other land. He was one of 
the thirty contributors towards buying the land 
of the Rogers Company in Rowley. He had 
four sons, two of whom were named Thomas, 
one being called senior, the other junior. This 
practice was somewhat common in England 
at that time, but seems to have confused the 
genealogist of the family, who concludes the 
younger was adopted. The younger Thomas 
was apprenticed to John Boynton. and at the 
death of his father, Humphrey Reynor and 
George Mighhill were appointed as guardians 
of the minor sons, George, Nehemiah and 
Thomas. The elder Thomas had received 
land from his father, being the eldest son. and 
was doubtless of age at the time of his father's 
death. Mark Simons was executor of the es- 
tate, and George Abbott's will is referred by 
the general court to the Salem court, Novem- 
ber 11, 1647, though no will has been found. 
Children: 1. Thomas, Sr., received land from 



his father by deed of gift ; died September, 
1659; married, July 13, 1655, Dorothy Swan; 
resided at Rowley ; bequeaths in his will to his 
brothers George, Nehemiah, and Thomas, in a 
nuncupative will, dated August 31, 1659. 2. 
George, mentioned below. 3. Nehemiah. 4. 
Thomas, Jr. 

(II) George (2), son of George (1) Ab- 
bott, was born in England about 163 1, and 
came to New England with his father about 
1642, and lived at Rowley for about fourteen 
years. In 1655 he settled in that part of An- 
dover, afterwards North Andover, but now 
Andover Center. He was a tailor and hus- 
bandman, and was one of the five wealthiest 
men in the town. He was a member of Ser- 
geant James Osgood's military company and 
previously of Sergeant Stevens' company. He 
was admitted a freeman, May 19, 1669, and 
was elected constable June 3, 1680. For many 
years he had charge of the North meeting 
house at Andover. He had land granted him 
and his first house was probably on the site 
occupied by the house of John Bannon in 
1900. He died, intestate, March 22, 1688-89, 
aged about fifty-eight years. He married in 
Ipswich, April 26, 1658, Sarah, daughter of 
Ralph and Alice Farnum, who came from 
England in 1638. She married (second) Au- 
gust 1, 1689, Sergeant Henry Ingalls, and died 
in 1728, aged ninety. Children: George, born 
January 28, 1659; Sarah, September 6, 1660; 
died November 6, 1738, married, October 19, 
1 68 1, John Faulker; John, August 26, 1662; 
Mary, March 20, 1664-65. married, May 13, 
1687, Lieutenant Stephen Barker; Nehemiah, 
July 20, 1667; Hannah, September 22, 1668, 
married, April 18, 1695, James Ingalls; Me- 
hitable, February 17, 167 1, died young; Lydia, 
March 31, 1675, died March 11, 1739, married, 
November 28, 1695, Henry Chandler; Samuel, 
May 30, 1678; Mehitable, April 4, 1680, died 
March 28, 1757, married, June 1, 1 701, Ger- 
shom Cutter. 

(III) George (3), son of George (2) Ab- 
bott, was born January 28, 1659, in Andover, 
and resided there. He was a farmer and shoe- 
maker. His father gave him sixteen acres of 
upland on which he built his house, probably 
opposite his father's. The vacant site is now 
probably a part of the Kittredge estate. He 
died January 24, 1724, aged sixty-five years. 
His will was dated October 1, 1724, and proved 
December 7, 1725, his son Uriah being execu- 
tor. He married (first) September 13, 1689, 
Elizabeth Ballard, who died May 5, 1706, 
daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Phelps) 
Ballard, and granddaughter of William Bal- 
lard, a pioneer settler of Andover. He mar- 
ried (second) July 21, 1707, Hannah Estey, 

born in Topsfield, 1667, died November 5, 
1741, daughter of Isaac and Mary (Towne) 
Estey and granddaughter of Jeffrey Estey, of 
Salem, in 1638. Her mother, Mary Estey, was 
executed in Salem for witchcraft, September 
22, 1692, a "woman of sound judgment and 
exalted Christian character." Children, all by 
the first wife: George, born July 28, 1691, 
mentioned below; Uriah, November 20, 1692; 
Captain Jacob, March 19, 1694, died April 22, 
1 77 1, married, May 1, 1722, Ruth Foster; 
Elizabeth, November 5, 1695, cne d December 1, 
1715, married, November 25, 1714, Deacon 
David Foster. Obed, March 16, 1696-97; 
Moses, February 14, 1714; Peter, July 27, 
1701 ; Sarah, March 17, 1702-03, married, 
September 6, 1728, Deacon Comfort Barnes; 
Hannah, April 16, 1706, married, August 30. 
1727, David Gilbert. 

(IV) George (4), son of George (3) Ab- 
bott, was born July 28, 1691, in Andover, and 
married, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 2, 1 714-15, Rebecca, supposed to be a 
daughter of Eben Swan, yeoman, of Cam- 
bridge. He was a blacksmith by trade, and 
lived in Cambridge, Framingham and Hard- 
wick, Massachusetts, and finally in Benning- 
ton, Vermont, where he died about 1771. No- 
vember 15, 1715, he bought a half acre of 
land in Cambridge on condition that he "build 
and settle himself upon it." He remained 
there for twelve years. December 25, 1725, he 
sold this land. He is supposed to be the 
George Abbott mentioned in the "History of 
Framingham" by Barry, as having been a 
town officer there in 1731. December 26, 1733, 
he drew, in the assignment of land to the set- 
tlers of Hardwick, a lot of 100 acres, and be- 
came one of the earliest white settlers of the 
place. He was chosen constable February 9, 
1737, and in 1738, he was poundkeeper for 
that year. In 1749 he was selectman. He 
was an original member of the first church in 
Hardwick but afterwards ioined an organiza- 
tion called the "Separate Church," and moved 
with all the members of the latter to Benning- 
ton, in 1 761. He became a member of the 
church when it was organized there Decem- 
ber 3, 1762. This was the first church or- 
ganization within the limits of the present 
state of Vermont, and the only one in Ben- 
nington for sixty-four years. April 25, 1740. 
he sold about seventy acres of land in Hard- 
wick, and October 23, 1753, about eighty acres. 
His descendants in some lines have been quite 
distinguished. Children, born in Cambridge: 
Jacob, born January 25, 1715-16, mentioned 
below ; George, October 2, 1718; Rebecca, bap- 
tized June 24, 1721, died young; Rebecca, No- 
vember 22, 1724; Samuel, March 12, 1726-27; 



Sarah, married, April 1. 1752, John Roberts 
of Morristown, Vermont; Isaac, 1736, Hard- 
wick; Ruth, May 8, 1737, Hardwick; Timothy, 
1738 .(?), Hardwick; Mary, June 7, 1741, 
Hardwick, died, May 5, 1753. 

(V) Sergeant Jacob Abbott, son of George 
(4) Abbott, was born January 25, 1715-16, in 

Cambridge ,and married, Mercy , April 

4, 1742, he was admitted to church in Hard- 
wick, where he spent most of his youth. His 
military service against Indians, in the colonial 
wars on the frontier in the Connecticut river 
valley about Deerfield, Massachusetts, is as 
follows : Private, twelve weeks, six days ; 
Colonel John Stoddard's regiment, December 
11, 1747, to March 9, 1747-48; private, thir- 
teen weeks, two days, same regiment, March 
10 to June 10, 1748; private, three weeks, six 
days. Major Israel Williams's company, under 
Sergeant Ebenezer Stratton, at Morrison's 
fort, June 11 to July 7, 1748; private, thirty- 
one weeks at Fort Colrain, with detachment 
same company March 16 to October 18, 1756; 
private, thirteen weeks, six days, Captain Is- 
rael Williams's company. Fort Colrain. Oc- 
tober 19, 1756, to January 23, 1757; private, 
nineteen weeks, two days same company, from 

to April 14, 1758; private, 11 weeks, 

Captain John Burk's company, at "Morrison's 
Garrison, Colrain," April 15 to June 30, 1758; 
sergeant, sixteen weeks, one day, same com- 
pany, July 1 to October 21, 1758, in charge of 
the north fort Colrain and nine men ; also 
served five weeks, at Fort Colrain, same com- 
pany, October 22 to November 30, 1758; pri- 
vate, forty-two weeks, five days, Fort Colrain, 
December 1, 1758, to September 25, 1759, 
Captain Samuel Wells's company. By occu- 
pation he was a farmer and lived after about 
1759 in Amherst, Massachusetts, where he 
bought, December 7, of that year, about sixty- 
six acres of land, a portion of the Hadley 
Commons. Here he lived and added to by 
purchase until it amounted to seventy-five 
acres. He died in 1773. His will was dated 
September 8, 1772, and was probated June 
21, 1773. His widow Mercy was executrix, 
and to her he left one-third of his estate, the 
rest to be divided among his children. Chil- 
dren, born in Amherst: Daniel, July 25, 1764, 
mentioned below; Percis, October 8, 1766; 
Amos, April 28, 1769; Eliab, September 24, 

(VI) Daniel, son of Jacob Abbott, was born 
July 25, 1764, in Amherst, and married, Feb- 
ruary 25, 1790, Naomi Graves, born November 
4, 1769, died September 18, 1804. He mar- 
ried (second), March 27, 1807, Mrs. Hannah 
(Wiggins) Porter, widow of Pierpont Porter 
of Hadley, born in Suffield, Connecticut, of 

English parents. He was a farmer by occupa- 
tion, and lived in Amherst, Hadley and Lever- 
ett, Massachusetts. He enlisted during the 
revolution for three years, April 17, 1781. 
when sixteen years old, was then five feet, 
three inches tall, light complexion and light 
hair. He died at Leverett, November 11, 1809. 
His estate was inventoried for $1,541.47, and 
Erastus Field was appointed administrator 
December 6, 1809. His widow died in Hadley, 
August 30, 1846, aged sixty-nine years. Chil- 
dren, born in Hadley : Philena, born April 16, 
1791 ; Achsah, May 15, 1793; Mose and Lucy 
Willard (twins), August 31, 1795; Roswell 
Itheram, October, 1797; Daniel S., April 22, 
1800; Eli, July 14, 1802. Children of the 
second wife, born in Leverett : Asahel Wol- 
cott, March 13, 1808, mentioned below; Julia 
Maria, July 22, 1809. 

(VII) Asahel Wolcott, son of Daniel Ab- 
bott, was born March 13, 1808, in Leverett, 
and married, there, July 3, 1836, Martha 
Lamb, born in South Hadley, Massachusetts, 
June 3, 1819, daughter of Enoch and Martha 
(Lamb) White of South Hadley and grand- 
daughter of Gad and Jerusha (Ripley) Lamb 
of Springfield, Massachusetts. Mr. Abbott re- 
mained in Leverett till of age in 1829, then 
lived at Durham, Connecticut, two years, and 
in Columbus, Ohio, two years. In 1833 he 
took up a grant of land in Lapeer, Lapeer 
county, Michigan, where he died of paralysis, 
March 20, 1873. He was a shoemaker, tanner 
and currier, but abandoned his trade on ac- 
count of ill health and took to farming and 
stock raising. He was a Republican in poli- 
tics and for a time was justice of the peace in 
Lapeer township. In religion he was a Uni- 
versalist. Children: 1. Louisa, born August 
30, 1837; died in Lapeer, March 17, 1848. 2. 
Austin, August 11, 1840. 3. Julia Bell, May 
12, 1843 ! married Eugene Treadway Slayton, 
October, 1866. 4. Martha, December 4, 1847 '■> 
died in Lapeer, March 30, 1848. 5. Antha 
Maria, June 6, 1849 ! died in Lapeer, December 
28, 1857. 6. Fidelia Elizabeth, December 8, 
1852; died in Saint Ignace, Michigan, March 
25, 1888: married in Lapeer, February 8, 
1885, William Jay Kenworthy, born December 
4, 1844 ; had two children. 7. Lucy Hubbard, 
November 17, 1856; died in Lapeer, July 19, 
1858. 8. Henry Kirk, December 24, 1864. 

The first Moulton in Eng- 
MOULTON land was Sir Thomas de 

Moulton, who came over 
with William the Conqueror in 1066, A. D., 
and fought at the battle of Hastings. For 
service in this battle Sir Thomas was rewarded 
with great tracts of land in Lincolnshire to 



which was afterwards added immense estates 
acquired by marriage and otherwise. By the 
year I ioo a village by the name of Moulton 
had sprung up, which secured for its founder 
grants from the king for the establishment of 
public markets and all necessary municipal 
privileges. For two hundred and fifty years 
descendants of Sir Thomas held the peerage, 
and were foremost in their military and civil 
offices to the English kings. In 131 3 the eighth 
baron of the name died, leaving as his heir 
an only daughter, Margaret, and by her mar- 
riage to Randolph de Dacre, Lord of the 
North, his immense estates, together with the 
Barony of Moulton, passed to the Dacre 

The origin of the name has never been def- 
initely settled. In the old English records it 
is often spelled "Molton" or "Multon." The 
original coat-of-arms is described as follows : 
A plain field, either of silver or blue ; crossed 
by three horizontal bars, generally red, some- 
times sable. This continued until 1751, when 
a more elaborate form was granted : Argent ; 
three bars (gules) between eight escallop 
shells, sable ; three two, two and one Crest, on 
a pellet a falcon rising argent. 

(I) Robert Moulton, the immigrant, came 
from England in 1629, and is described as a 
freeman in Salem, Massachusetts, May 18, 
163 1 ; a ship builder of Salem, 1629; repre- 
sentative from Charlestown in 1634. He was 
a man of influence in Salem, both politically 
and socially. From 1630 to 1635 he lived in 
Charlestown, where the navy yard now stands. 
The place was then known as Moulton's Point, 
and it was here that the British landed when 
they crossed from Boston to fight the battle 
of Bunker Hill. He died in 1655. Children: 
Robert, mentioned below ; Dorothy. 

(II) Robert (2), son of Robert (1) Moul- 
ton, was doubtless born in Salem, Massachu- 
setts. He was rector of the church at Salem 
in 1640. He married, February, 1640. Abigail 
Goode, niece of Samuel Downing. She died 
in 1665-66, and he died in the fall of 1665. 
Children : Abigail ; Robert, mentioned below ; 
John, born April 25, 1654-55; Samuel; Joseph, 
January 3, 1656-57; Miriam, January, 1658- 
59; Mary, June 15, 1661 ; Hannah. 

(III) Robert (3), son of Robert (2) Moul- 
ton, was baptized June 23, 1644, died 1730-31. 
He married, July 17, 1672, in Salem, Mary 
Cook. Children : Mary, born January 2, 1674 ; 
Robert, September or October 3, 1675, men- 
tioned below; Ebenezer, April 23, 1678; Abi- 
gail, February 28, 1681 ; Samuel; Martha; 

(IV) Robert (4), son of Robert (3) Moul- 
ton, was born September or October 3, 1675, 

in Salem, died August 25, 1756. He married, 
in Beverly, April 11 or 12, 1698, Hannah 
Groves, of Beverly. They lived first in Salem, 
then in Windham, Connecticut, and lastly in 
Brimfield, Massachusetts. Children, born in 
Salem: Hannah, born August 1, 1699; Robert, 
December 18, 1700; Mary, September 30, 
1702; Abigail, March 13, 170 — ; Lois, April 
3, 1706; Lydia, January 13, 1708-09. Children 
born in Windham, Connecticut : Ebenezer, De- 
cember 25, 1709; Mehitable, March 24, 1712; 
Samuel, June 15, 1714; Susanna, June 15, 
1714; Joseph, August 24, 1716; Freeborn, 
April 3, 1717, mentioned below; John, Febru- 
ary 1, 1720-21, recorded in Brimfield. 

(V) Freeborn, son of Robert (4) Moulton, 
was born in Windham, Connecticut, April 3, 
171 7, died before June 28, 1792. He served 
in the revolution. He married, June 23, 1737, 
in Brimfield, Rebekah Walker; she died before 
March, 1797. Children: Joseph, born Janu- 
ary 15, 1738-39; Rebekah, November 29, 1740; 

■ , September 30, 1742; Hannah, Novem- 

bre 29, 1743; Freeborn, April 9, 1746; Abner, 
June 27. 1748; Phineas, May 15, 1751 ; Calvin 
Elijah, August 10, 1753, mentioned below; 
Luther; Daniel, 1762. 

(VI) Calvin Elijah, son of Freeborn Moul- 
ton, was born in Brimfield, Massachusetts, 
August 10, 1753. He married Ruth, probably 
sister of Mary Blodgett, daughter of James 
Blodgett. Mary married his brother. Phineas 
Moulton, of Brimfield, and both families set- 
tled at Randolph, Vermont. Calvin E. Moul- 
ton was a resident of Randolph in 1793 when 
he quit-claimed to his brother. Freeborn, his 
interestJn his father's estate. He enlisted as 
a soldier from Monson in the revolution, and 
after the close of hostilities removed to Can- 
ada and settled on Moulton Hill on the St. 
Francis river. His children were born at 
West Randolph, Vermont. 

(VII) Calvin, son of Calvin Elijah Moulton, 
was born at West Randolph, Vermont, No- 
vember 11, 1797. He was a soldier in the 
revolution. He settled on Moulton Hill, Ascot. 
Canada. He married, December 3, 1822, 
Adaline, daughter of Elihu Hudson. Among 
their children was Rev. Tyler Calvin, men- 
tioned below ; Edwin Franklin, educator, su- 
perintendent of schools in Oberlin, Cleveland 
and Warren, Ohio ; Rice, deceased ; and Rev. 
George Hollis, residing at Weeping Water, 

(VIII) Rev. Tyler Calvin Moulton, son of 
Calvin, was born on Moulton Hill, Ascot, 
Canada, January 26, 1826. He became a Uni- 
tarian minister and was settled at Austinburg, 
Ohio, then at New Bedford, Massachusetts, 
for eleven years, and in 1869 he was called to 



Franklin, Ohio, where he died in the summer 
of 1870. During the civil war he was chaplain 
of the Third Regiment, Massachusetts Volun- 
teer Cavalry. He was a member of Rodman 
Post, \"<>. 1, G. A. R., New Bedford. He 
married, September 10, 1862, Susan Abigail 
Seymour, born in Oswego county, New York, 
January 10, 1834. Children: Mary Brincker- 
hoff, born November 17, 1865, at New Bed- 
ford, Massachusetts, died unmarried, May 26, 
1889, at Oberlin, Ohio; Dr. Edward S. 

(IX) Dr. Edward Seymour Moulton, son of 
Rev. Tyler Calvin Moulton, was born at New 
Bedford, Mass., April 26, 1868. He attended 
the public schools of Oberlin, Ohio, the Grand 
River Institute at Austinburg, Ohio, and Ober- 
lin College, from which he was graduated in 
the class of 1891 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts and from which in 1894 he received 
the degree of Master of Arts. He entered the 
Yale Medical School and received the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine in 1894. He had val- 
uable hospital experience in New York. He 
began the practice of his profession at Oak- 
land, California, and in 1895 came to New 
Haven, Connecticut. He spent the winter of 
1898-99 in South America as surgeon of the 
South American Development Company, and 
after another short stay in California returned 
to New Haven, Connecticut, where he has 
since been engaged in general practice with 
marked success. He is a member of the Con- 
necticut State Medical Society, the New 
Haven County and City Medical societies, and 
has held the position of clerk of the county 
society. He is a member of the Association 
of Military Surgeons of the United States, 
assistant surgeon with the rank of captain in 
the National Guard of Connecticut, and mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Society, Sons of the 
American Revolution. He was formerly a 
member of the New Haven Grays, a prominent 
military organization, and is president of the 
Grays Club. He is secretary of the board of 
United States pension examiners of this dis- 
trict, and from time to time has contributed to 
various medical journals and periodicals. In 
politics he is a Republican. Dr. Moulton mar- 
ried, February 28, 1898, Fanchon Wilson, born 
in Sutter county, California, daughter of 
James Thomas and Alary (Stewart") Smith. 
Children : James Seymour, born at Zaruma, 
Ecuador, South America, February 7, 1899; 
Janet, born at New Haven, Connecticut, No- 
vember 8, 1908. 

The surnames of Twiss and Twist 
TWISS are identical. The family orig- 
inated in England and dates back 
to remote antiquity. An old coat-of-arms is 

described : Gules a chevron between three 
bucks trippant or. Crest : A demi-griffin 
proper. Perhaps an even older armorial was : 
Argent a bend between three mullets. The 
Twiss family of Kerry is descended from 
Richard Twiss, Esq., who settled in Ireland in 
the reign of Charles I and became a magis- 
trate in Kerry. The coat-of-arms : Or on a 
fesse wavy vert between three stags courant 
proper three pheons of the field on a chief 
azure three escallops. About the same time 
that Thomas Twiss settled in Connecticut, 
Peter Twiss settled at Marblehead, where he 
married, October 26, 1680, Anna Kellum. 
Peter was doubtless the ancestor of the fam- 
ilies of this name at Beverly, Marblehead, and 
elsewhere in Essex county, Massachusetts, and 
at Antrim, and other towns in New Hamp- 
shire. The account of the family as given in 
the history of Antrim, New Hampshire, as far 
as it relates to three brothers, Daniel, Robert 
and Nathan, is not supported by the records 
and is doubtless due to careless family tradi- 
tion. Both Peter and Thomas Twiss, how- 
ever, are thought with some reason to be des- 
cended from Dr. William Twiss, who lived in 
England from 1575 to 1646, according to the 
"Biographical Dictionary" of Dr. Chalmers 
(vol. 30). His father was a successful clothier 
at Newbury, county Berks, England. The 
grandfather of Dr. Twiss was by nativity Teu- 
tonic, according to Wood's "Oxoniensis" (by 
Philip Bliss, vol. iii, column 169), arfd it is 
related that he' settled in the prime of life with 
his family near Newbury, England. Sketches 
of Dr. Twiss also appear in Middleton's "Bio- 
graphic Evangelica" (vol. 3) ; in Thomas 
Fuller's "Worthies" (vol. i, page 134), and in 
other writers of that period. Wood says that 
Dr. William Twiss had a son Robert who 
preserved his original manuscripts. Dr. Twiss 
became reduced financially. He was a Puri- 
tan and it is natural that his sons or grandsons 
should have emigrated to New England. 

(I) Thomas Twiss, the pioneer in Connecti- 
cut, was born about 1675, died 1750, and is 
believed to have been the son or grandson of 
one of the three brothers, Daniel, Nathan and 
Robert Twiss, who came from England and 
landed at Salem, Marblehead, or somewhere 
near Boston about 1650-60. Thomas Twiss 
lived for a time at Farmington, Connecticut, 
as shown by the land records, but most of bis 
life was spent at Cheshire, formerly part of 
Wallingford, Connecticut. He married, De- 
cember 2, 1702, Abigail, daughter of Nathaniel 
Howe, of Wallingford. Children: Benjamin, 
see forward; Daniel, about 1705; Abigail, 
June. T707; Catherine, June 14. 1709; Thomas, 
Juh 1, 1 712; Mehitable, January 4, 1714; 



John, August 15, 1 7 16; Joseph, April 1, 17 19. 
As far as known all of the children were born 
in Cheshire. 

(II) Benjamin, son of Thomas and Abigail 
(Howe) Twiss, was born about 1703, died at 
Wallingford before April, 1743, when Desire 
Twiss, a minor daughter, had Benjamin Gray 
appointed her guardian. He married, 1728, 
Ruth Kerns, who bore him one son, Joseph, 
see forward. 

(III) Joseph, son of Benjamin and Ruth 
(Kerns) Twiss, was born January 31, 1729. 
He married, September 3, 1751, Mehitable 
Burr, of Farmington, Connecticut. Children : 
Susannah, born 1752, died August 9, 1762; 
Benjamin, December 23, 1754; Sarah, March 
19, 1759; Joseph, see forward; Daniel, March 
26, 1762; Thomas, February 7, 1763. 

(IV) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) and 
Mehitable (Burr) Twiss, was born April 13, 
1761, died May 16, 1842. He was a soldier 
from Cheshire, Connecticut, in the revolution, 
in Captain William Sizer's company, 1777-78, 
also in the regiment of artificers under Colonel 
Jeduthan Baldwin. He was enjoying a United 
States pension for his service in the revolution 
and living in New Haven county in 1832; he 
was a pensioner living in 1840 at Meriden ; 
he took part in the battles of Brandywine, Ger- 
mantown, Monmouth and others. Meriden 
was set off from Wallingford in 1806, and 
Joseph Twiss lived in what is now 7 known as 
Meriden. He married, October 11, 1786, Lois 
Austin, of East Haven, Connecticut. Chil- 
dren : Abigail, born August 15, 1788, died Jan- 
uary 24, 1789; Austin, April 29, 1790, died in 
Montreal, Canada, May 18, 1826; Joseph, May 
17, 1791, died April 3, 1799; Abigail, August 
21, 1792, died August 28, 1793; Lois, March 
3, 1794, died December 20, 1822 ; Abigail, May 
10, 1795, died June 2, 1819; Ira, April 17, 
1797, died September 14, 1870; Benjamin, 
October 31, 1798, died January 23, 1854; 
Sarah, January 9, 1801, died October 30, 1872 ; 
Joshua A., May 6, 1803, died May 29, 1829; 
Joseph B., May 6, 1803, twin of Joshua A., 
died in Canada, March 31, 1877; Hiram, May 
2, 1805, died in Nashville, Tennessee, Novem- 
ber 12, 1845; Russell, see forward. 

(V) Russell, son of Joseph (2) and Lois 
(Austin) Twiss, was born September 4, 1807, 
died at St. Ligouri, Canada, May 14, 1851. 
He was one of the first clock-makers in this 
country and made many for the market of 
Canada. He also made fanning mills there. 
He was married to Permela Hall, daughter 
of Augustus Hall, of Meriden, Connecti- 
cut, at Montreal, Canada, in the American 
Chapel, by Rev. Mr. Perkins, in 1834. Chil- 
dren : 1. Joshua Austin, born July 15, 1835, at 

Montreal, died October 26, 1835. 2. Julius, 
see forward. 3. Nelson W., March 29, 1839, 
at St. Ligouri, Canada. 4. Albert Hall, March 
16, 1841, at St. Ligouri, Canada, died at Meri- 
den, November 1, 1862. 5. Gustavus D., De- 
cember 30, 1847, at St. Ligouri, Canada; mar- 
ried, April 22, 1875, at New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, Maria E. Sherman ; one daughter, Carrie 
E., born June 12, 1882, at New Haven, Con- 
necticut. Julius, Nelson W. and Gustavus D. 
Twiss are now living in New Haven, Con- 

(VI) Julius, son of Russell Twiss, was born 
in Joliette, Province of Quebec, Canada, April 
18, 1838. He lived in Canada and attended 
school there until he was sixteen years old, 
when after his father's death he came to Meri- 
den and was first employed as clerk in the post 
office, his uncle, Hiram Hall, being postmaster 
then. He was not in good health during his 
boyhood, but he persevered in his efforts to 
get an education and succeeded in spite of 
many handicaps. He was especially well 
versed in history, religious works, and the best 
fiction in English. He prepared for college 
at the Hopkins Grammar School at New Ha- 
ven, entered Yale College, and was graduated 
with the degree of A. B. in the class of 1863. 
He studied his profession at the Yale Law 
School, where he received his LL. B. in 1865. 
In September of that year he opened an office 
on Church street, New Haven, and continued 
in general practice with gratifying success 
until 1894. He has been active and prominent 
in public affairs. In 1886 he was elected to the 
common council of the city of New Haven, 
and was a member of that body for more than 
eight years in all. From 1869 to 1872 he was 
clerk of the New Haven city court, and in 
1882 he was appointed member of the tax 
commission. He was a candidate for the of- 
fice of probate judge, but always when his 
party was in the minority. He has been a very 
active and just magistrate. From June, 1872, 
to February, 1882, there were brought before 
him as justice of the peace eighteen hundred 
and thirty civil suits. He declined to serve 
longer in this office. He is a Republican, but 
inclined to independence in municipal affairs. 

From 1866 to 1869 he was an active member 
of the New Haven Grays, and is now a mem- 
ber of the Veteran Grays. He is very promi- 
nent in Masonic affairs, having been treasurer 
of Hiram Lodge, No. 1, Free and Accepted 
Masons, for three years, master one year, and 
trustee since 1880. He was a director of the 
Masonic Mutual Benefit Association of Con- 
necticut for several years, and member of the 
New Haven Commandery, Knights Templar. 
In religious and philanthropic interests he has 

£ny byi: £ l*f//i<v,s S£re/jy~ 

^4AA^LyLJ> dJ/b 




been equally active. Since 1880 he has been 
a member of the Society's committee of the 
Calvary Baptist Ecclesiastical Society, and 
member of the executive committee of the 
New Haven Baptist Union since 1893, and 
also president for a number of years. He has 
been a director of the Organized Charities 
since 1898, and member of the board of man- 
agers of the Calvary Industrial Home since 
its organization until it went out of existence. 
He is a member of the Young Men's Repub- 
lican Club, the New Haven Historical Society, 
the Chamber of Commerce, the Union League 
Club and the Yale Graduates' Club of New 
Haven, also Young Republican Club and 
Knights Templars Club. In March, 1894, he 
was elected secretary and treasurer of the Na- 
tional Savings Bank of New Haven and soon 
after he accepted this office he gave up the 
practice of law to devote all his attention to the 
bank. Under his management the business of 
the institution has greatly increased. Mr. 
Twiss has never married. 

(The Hall Line). 

The immigrant ancestor of the Halls of 
Wallingford, Connecticut, was John Hall, born 
about 1605, in England. He came to America 
in 1633, an d was a freeman of the Massachu- 
setts Colony 1634. His autograph signature 
is found on the colonial records of New 
Haven, Connecticut, in 1639. His name ap- 
pears often in these records, mostly in refer- 
ence to pieces of land. He fought in the Pe- 
quot war, and was freed from training in 1665, 
being then in his sixtieth year of age. Several 
of his sons joined a company and settled Wal- 
lingford in 1670. The father went with them 
at that time, or soon after, and became one of 
the original proprietors. He was selectman 
in 1675. He married Jean or Jane Woolen. 
She had lived with William Wilkes in Boston, 
and probably came over with him, as he paid 
her fare, and gave her three pounds a year 
for services in his family for five years. He 
also promised her ten pounds when she should 
marry, but did not do so, and her husband ob- 
tained it from his estate by litigation, an ac- 
count of which is found on the records of New 
Haven. He died March 3, 1676-77, making 
an oral will on his deathbed. Children : John 
and Sarah, twins, baptized August 9, 1646; 
Richard, born July 11, 1645; Samuel, May 
21, 1646, mentioned below; Daniel, 1647-48; 
Thomas, March 25, 1649; Jonathan, April 5. 
1651 ; David, March 17, 1652-53. 

(II) Samuel, son of John Hall, was 
born in New Haven, May 21, 1646, and mar- 
ried. May, 1668. Hannah, daughter of John 
Walker. She was born September 26. 1646, 

and died December' 20, 1728. He removed to 
Wallingford in 1670, and became a deacon of 
the church there. He. was four times repre- 
sentative to the general court, a land owner 
and military man. He died March 5, 1725. 
Children : John, born December 23, 1670, see 
forward; Hannah, March 11, 1673; Sarah, 
June 20, 1677; Samuel. December 10, 1680; 
Theophilus, February 5, 1686; Elizabeth, 
March 6, 1690. 

(III) John (2), son of Samuel Hall, was 
born December 23, 1670, and married, about 
1691, Mary Lyman. She died October 16, 
1740. This John may have been the repre- 
sentative called the Honorable John Hall. He 
fought several times in the Indian wars. He 
died April 29, 1730. Children: John, born 
September 15, 1692-93; Esther, August 30, 
1694; Samuel, October 4, 1695, mentioned 
below ; Caleb, September 14, 1697 '- Eunice, 
March 7, 1700; Benjamin, August 28, 1702; 
Benjamin, December 17, 1704; Sarah, April 
15, 1706; Elialim, August 9, 171 1 ; Elihu, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1714; Nancy. 

(IV) Reverend Samuel (2) Hall, son of 
John (2) Hall, was born October 4, 1695. 
He graduated at Yale in 1716, and was tutor 
from 1 7 16 to 1 71 8. He became pastor of the 
Church of Cheshire, 1724. His election ser- 
mon in 1746 was published. This church had 
eleven members when he became the pastor, 
and in 1770, had increased to three hundred 
members. He married, January 25, 1726. 
Anna, daughter of Jonathan Law, governor of 
Connecticut. She was born in Milford, Au- 
gust 1, 1702, and died August 23, 1775. He 
died February 26, 1776. Children: Samuel, 
born July 23, 1727; Jonathan, July 11, 1728; 
Benoni, November 4, 1729; Lucy, September 
11, 1730; Samuel, January 11, 1732. Ann, 
May 10, 1733; Samuel, May 31, 1735; Mary, 
November 5, 1736; Brenton, April 2, 1738, 
mentioned below ; Elisha, born March 10, 1740 : 
Sarah, August 8, 1742; Jonathan, July 19, 
1745; Abigail, born December 7, 1748, mar- 
ried Reverend John Foote, and their son, Sam- 
uel Foote, became governor of Connecticut 
and United States Senator. Lyman Hall, a 
nephew of Samuel, became governor of Geor- 
gia, a representative in Congress, and one of 
the signers of the Declaration of Independence 
for that state. 

(V) Brenton, son of Samuel (2) Hall, was 
born, in Cheshire, April 2, 1738. He became 
a large landed proprietor in the eastern part 
of Meriden, and was active in getting that 
town set off from Wallingford. He was the 
first representative of Meriden in the general 
assembly. He married (first), February 18, 
1762, Lament Collins; (second) Abigail 



, who died May 5,-* 1837. He died in 

Meriden, November 25, 1820. Children : Wil- 
liam Brenton, born May 31, 1764; Collins, 
January 8, 1766; Samuel, born June 10, 1768; 
Lament, July 14, 1776; Augustus. 

(VI) Augustus, son of Brenton Hall, was 
born in Meriden, Connecticut. He married, 
and had a daughter, Permela, who married 
Russell Twiss. (See Twiss). 

Thomas Dickerman, immi- 
DICKERMAN grant ancestor, came over 
with his wife Ellen, and 
settled in Dorchester, Massachusetts, as early 
as 1636. He owned land there in that year, 
and bought more the following' year. He 
also owned a house and land in Boston Neck 
in 1652, to which he added in 1656. He was 
a tailor by trade, and also cultivated a farm. 
The inventory of his estate was two hundred 
and thirty-five pounds, eleven shillings, four 
pence. He died June 11, 1657, in Dorchester. 
His widow married (second) John Bullard, 
and went to live in Medfield before July 14, 
1663. Children : Thomas, 1623, died before 
1691 ; Abraham, born about 1634, mentioned 
below; Isaac, December, 1637; John, baptized 
October 29, 1644, died young. 

(II) Abraham, son of Thomas Dickerman, 
was born about 1634. He married, January 
2, 1658-59, Mary Cooper, born about 1636, 
England, died January 4, 1705-06, daughter of 
John Cooper. Her father had been with the 
New Haven colony from the first, and was a 
planter, freeman and signer of the "funda- 
mental agreement." He was constantly en- 
gaged in public affairs, and held many posi- 
tions of dignity and honor, attorney, appraiser 
of estates, deputy to the general court, select- 
man, etc. Soon after his marriage, Abraham 
Dickerman removed to New Haven, and re- 
ceived as his wife's dowry a considerable 
amount of real estate. April 17, 1668, he 
bought a house and lot on the corner of Church 
and Elm streets, and made his home there. 
April 26, 1669, he was chosen townsman, or 
selectman, and with the exception of four years 
was annually chosen to this office for thirty- 
one years, until 1699. In 1683 he was chosen 
deputy to the general court, and was re-elected 
until 1696. In October, 1683, he was con- 
firmed and approved to be lieutenant of the 
New Haven Train Band. When the town of 
Wallingford was settled, he was on a com- 
mittee of thirteen, including his father-in-law, 
to lay out the boundaries, which were agreed 
upon, January 28, 1673-74. In 1669 he was 
one of a committee of seven, vested with power 
to manage the affairs of the new settlement. 
June 19, 1685, he was again on a committee 

"to procure a patent for the town bounds" of 
New Haven. June 26, 1671, he "was by vote 
appointed to keep the ordinary," and continued 
to do so until 1680. He lived for fifty-three 
years in New Haven, and devoted most of 
that time to the public good. He was moder- 
ately prosperous, and added to the property 
given him by his father-in-law. He also shared 
with the other citizens in the various allot- 
ments of land, and received in this way at 
least fifty acres. He died November 2, 171 1, 
aged seventy-seven. His will was dated April 
20, 1 710, and mentions his sons Abraham and 
Isaac, daughters Mary Bassett, Sarah Sperry, 
Ruth Bradley, Abigail Sperry and Rebecca 
Foot, and four grandchildren, the children of 
Hannah, who married Caleb Chidsey. Chil- 
dren: Mary, born about 1659; Sarah, July 25, 
1663 ; Hannah, November 16, 1665 » Ruth, 
April 5, 1668; Abigail. September 26, 1670; 
Abraham. January 14, 1673-74; Isaac, Novem- 
ber 7, 1677; Rebecca, February 2j, 1679. 

(Ill) Isaac, son of Abraham Dickerman, 
was born November 7, 1677. He married 
(first) June 30, 1709, Mary, born December 
31, 1686, daughter of Jonathan and Ruth 
( Peck) Atwater. Jonathan was the son of 
David Atwater. He married (second) Eliza- 
beth Ailing, born November, 1691, died April, 
1767, widow of John Morris, and daughter of 
Samuel and Sarah (Chidsey) Ailing. Samuel 
was the son of Roger Ailing, the immigrant. 
He appears to have had unusual aptitude for 
public affairs, and held many positions of trust 
and honor. He was appointed constable, Oc- 
tober, 1710. In October, 1713, he was ensign 
of militia, and in 1722, captain. December 
15, 1 712, he was chosen selectman, and after- 
ward continuously until 17 19, then from 1722 
till 1725, and from 1730 till 1732. He was 
deputy to the general court for fifty-nine terms 
between 17 18 and 1757, an d was appointed 
justice of the peace for New Haven in May, 
1735, and every year afterward as long as he 
lived, for twenty-four years. In church affairs 
he was as prominent as in civil matters. He 
was chosen deacon of the First Church in 
1727, and held the office until 1754', when he 
resigned. He then transferred his member- 
ship to the White Haven church, and was. at 
the same time chosen a deacon there, and re- 
tained the office until his death. December 
24, 1716, when Yale College was about to be 
removed from Saybrook to New Haven, and 
the latter town had made it a grant of eight 
acres of land, he was one of a committee to 
make the transfer, and in 1718 was one of a 
number of proprietors who made a gift of 
land for the support of the institution. In that 
same year he was first sent to the general as- 



sembly, and seems to have been regarded from 
the first as the special representative of Yale 
interests. During the religious upheaval 
which -followed the visit of Rev. George 
Whitefield to America (1739), and the con- 
troversy which took place between the orig- 
inal church in New Haven and the Separat- 
ists, Isaac Dickerman, as a magistrate and an 
officer in the church, for many years preserved 
a neutral attitude. In 1754, however, he 
joined the White Haven church and thus 
united with the Separatists. He showed 
throughout his life the traits of a good citizen 
and many qualities of the statesman. He was 
energetic, of judicial temper, and tirelessly de- 
voted to public interests. He died September 
7, 1758. His will was dated May 11, 1756. 
Before his death he had transferred large por- 
tions of his real estate to his sons. The estate 
was appraised at seven hundred and eleven 
pounds, four shillings, nine pence. Children : 
Isaac, born March 3, 171 1, died young; Sam- 
uel, January 12, 1712, died young; Ruth, De- 
cember 13, 1712; Isaac, January 31, 1714, 
graduate of Yale College, 1736; Samuel, 
March 4, 1716; Jonathan, July 4, 1719 ; Ste- 
phen, mentioned below; Mary, December 16, 
1723; Rebekah, July 2, 1726; Abigail, August 

4, I7 2 8. 

(IV) Stephen, son of Isaac Dickerman, was 
born August or October 14, 1721, died Febru- 
ary 28, 1779. He married, September 25, 

1752, Eunice, born November 22, 1733, died 
February 16, 1779, daughter of Andrew and 
Eunice (Sherman) Tuttle (Thomas, Thomas, 
William). He lived in New Haven, in a 
house given him by his father, together with 
large tracts of land in the north and north- 
western parts of the town. He and his wife 
died the same year, leaving seven children, 
the youngest only three years old. These chil- 
dren all grew up, married, and lived in New 
Haven. Children : Stephen, born July 26, 

1753, died July 18, 1755; Stephen, December 
IO « x 755> revolutionary soldier; Mary, Janu- 
ary 17, 1758; Isaac, April 15, 1760; Eunice, 
married Jared Atwater ; Elisha, March 5,1769, 
mentioned below : Rebecca, married Ebenezer 
R. Peck; Chloe, 1773; Abigail, 1776. 

(V) Elisha, son of Stephen Dickerman, was 
born March 5, 1769, died July 26, 1855. He 
married (first), December 27, 1794. at New 
Haven, Anna, born about 1770, died March 6, 
1798, daughter of William and Mary Scott. 
He married (second), Pamelia, born Decem- 
ber, 1774, died June n, 1861, daughter of 
Bartholomew and Hannah (Baldwin) Good- 
rich (Timothy, Bartholomew, Bartholomew). 
Children of first wife : Mary Ann, born June 

5, 1796; Elisha, November 19, 1797. Children 

of second wife: Eunice, March 3, 1801, died 
September 30, 1803; Grace, May 17, 1802; 
John Goodrich; Eunice, October 10, 1806; 
Thomas Punderson, October 28, 1808; Ed- 
mund Bartholomew, November 29, 1810; Wil- 
liam, July 28, 181 2 ; George Chapman, Novem- 
ber 14, 1814; Charles, mentioned below. 

(VI) Charles, son of Elisah Dickerman, 
was born September 10, 1816. He married, 
February 22, 1848, at Branford, Connecticut, 
Jane, born October 24, 1826, died October 18, 
1875, daughter of Merritt and Betsey (Palm- 
er) Foote. Her father, Merritt Foote. was 
born June 19, 1775, died March 4, 1876. Her 
mother was born May 6, 1794, died April 25, 
1837. They were married June 18, 1818. 
About 1836 Charles Dickerman, with two 
brothers, Edmund and William, went to Nat- 
chez, Mississippi, and established themselves 
in mercantile business there. Ten years later 
William and Charles went to Milwaukee, Wis- 
consin, and made successful investments in 
real estate. About 1850 Charles returned to 
New Haven and entered into partnership with 
William in the manufacture of carriages, 
which they continued till the breaking out of 
the civil war. Mr. Dickerman gave much at- 
tention to fruit culture and was an expert in 
pomology. He grew nearly three hundred 
varieties of pears, besides other fruits, and 
received a number of medals for exhibits on 
various occasions, among them the Wilder 
medal of 1873. He took great delight in giving 
to others grafts from his choice trees and thus 
encouraged an important industry. He also 
took much interest in tracing the family his- 
tory and in preserving memorials of early 
times. In politics he was a Republican. He 
died May 6, 1897. Children : Ella Palmer, 
born November 12, 1848; George Lewis, April 
12, 1852, mentioned below ; Caroline Ives, Sep- 
tember 23, 1856. 

(VII) George Lewis, son of Charles Dicker- 
man, was born in New Haven, April 12, 1852, 
died there May 30, 1909. He prepared for 
college at the famous old Hopkins grammar 
school and entered Yale College, from which 
he was graduated with the degree of A. B. in 
the class of 1874. He studied law at Colum- 

■ bia Law School and received his degree there 
in 1876. He continued his study of law in 
the office of Hon. Benjamin D. Silliman, of 
New York City, and was admitted to the bar 
at New Haven, Connecticut, May 17, 1878. 
He opened an office in New Haven and took 
a prominent place in his profession. He was a 
Republican in politics, and served the city with 
ability and distinction in the board of alder- 
men for four years. He was a member of the 
Graduates' Club of New Haven and the 



Country Club. He married, October 14, 1885, 
Elizabeth Spence Shoemaker, born at Wilkes- 
Barre, Pennsylvania, February 11, 1856, 
daughter of Lazarus Denison and Esther 
(Wadhams) Shoemaker, Lazarus D. Shoe- 
maker was grandson of Elizur or Elijah and 
Elizabeth Shoemaker, and Esther (Wadhams) 
Shoemaker was daughter of Samuel Wad- 
hams, of Pennsylvania. Mr. Dickerman lived 
at 320 Temple street, New Haven, the present 
home of his widow. They had no children. 

(Ill) Abraham (2) Dick- 
DICKERMAN erman, son of Abraham 

(1) Dickerman (q. v.), 
was born January 14, 1673-74, at New 
Haven, died there May or June, 1748. He 
married (first) January 16, 1697-98, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John and Joanna Daniels 
Glover Henry, born February 23, 1676, at 
New Haven, died there October 22, 1742. Her 
mother, Joanna Daniels, was a daughter of 
Stephen and Anne (Gregson) Daniels. Anne 
Gregson was a daughter of Thomas and Jane 
Gregson. He married (second) Susannah, 
widow of Joshua Hotchkiss, Sir., of New Ha- 
ven. Children of first wife : Abraham, born 
October 19, 1698, mentioned below; John, 
March 24, 1701 ; Mary, 1703; Elizabeth, June 
12, 1706; Hannah, May 9, 1709; Joseph, about 
1710; Sarah, December 22, 1716; Daniel, Sep- 
tember 16, 1719, died young. 

(IV) Abraham (3), son of Abraham (2) 
Dickerman, was born October 19, 1698, at 
New Haven, died there in 1743. He married, 
December 15, 1726, Eleanor, daughter of Jon- 
athan and Mary (Ellcock) Perkins, born 
March 7, 1702, at New Haven. Mary Ell- 
cock was a daughter of Anthony Ellcock. 
Abraham Dickerman was an ensign of the 
militia. No will or administration of his estate 
appears in the New Haven records. Children : 
John, born October 2, 1727, mentioned below; 
Abraham, January 13, 1729-30, died October 
30, 1739; Mary, November 30, 1732; Ashbel 
June 17, 1736, died May 23, 1739; Elizabeth, 
April 8, 1739. 

(V) John, son of Abraham (3) Dickerman, 
was born October 2, 1727, at New Haven, 
died about 1822-23, at Lyndon, Vermont, at 
the home of his son Ely Dickerman. He 
married, June 8, 1752, Esther, daughter of 
Joseph and Anna (Wilmot) Sperry, born De- 
cember 4, 1 73 1, at New Haven. Joseph 
Sperry was son of Joseph, and the latter a son 
of Richard. Children : Rachel, born February 
2 3- T 7^3' New Haven; Abraham, October 25, 
1754, New Haven; Esther, July 8, 1759, New 
Haven ; William was living in 1800, died at 
Guilford, New York; John, born March 17, 

1764, mentioned below; Grigson, supposed to 
have been killed in the revolution; Polly, mar- 
ried a Hazelton, in Woodbury, Vermont ; Na- 
thaniel, died in Brattleboro, Vermont, aged 
twenty-two; Ely, born 1772. 

(VI) John (2), son of John (1) Dicker- 
man, was born March 17, 1764, in Vermont, 
the exact town unknown. At the age of six- 
teen he enlisted as a soldier in the revolution, 
and served for about nine months in Captain 
James Blakeley's company, Colonel Samuel 
Fletcher's regiment. During the latter part of 
his service he was employed as a scout, and 
was accounted the hardiest and fleetest man in 
his division. It is highly probable that he 
served also under Ethan Allen. For several 
years before he drew a pension of thirty-six 
dollars a year. When a young man he went 
to New Haven and learned the blacksmith 
trade. He then returned to Brattleboro, and 
worked at his trade until 1800, when he re- 
moved to Guilford, Chenango county, New 
York, and lived there and near by until he 
died. Besides working as a blacksmith, he was 
also a farmer. In religion he was a Metho- 
dist Episcopalian. He was a man of candor 
and great integrity, simple in his habits, faith- 
ful and diligent in his pursuits. He married, 
1789, Thankful, daughter of Seth and Thank- 
ful Smith, born April 7, 1768, probably at 
Granby, Massachusetts, died October 7, 1856, 
near Rockdale, in the township of Unadilla, 
Otsego county, New York. Her father, Seth 
Smith, was a descendant in the sixth genera- 
tion of Lieutenant Samuel Smith, born at 
Hadleigh, England, about 1602, came with his 
wife Elizabeth and four oldest children to this 
country in 1634, and is supposed to have lo- 
cated at Watertown, Massachusetts, 1635 ; re- 
moved to what is now Wethersfield, Connecti- 
cut, where he remained until 1649 ; removed 
then to Hadley, Massachusetts, where he lived 
until his death, one of the original settlers of 
the latter place. Seth Smith was a colonel of 
militia in the revolution. When the news first 
reached the town (Granby) of the invasion of 
the British he was in church, but instantly left, 
mounted a horse, and rode all over the town 
to raise volunteers. The next morning with 
his new recruits he marched about thirty miles, 
and arrived in time to participate in the battle 
of Bennington. He had a brother Israel, 
whose daughter Chloe married a man named 
Hayes, of Brattleboro, Vermont. Their fifth 
child was Rutherford Hayes, father of Ruther- 
ford B. Hayes, afterwards president of the 
United States. John (2) Dickerman died 
November 6, 1848, near Rockdale. Children: 
Henry, born October 7, 1790; Esther, Decem- 
ber 21, 1792; Charlotte, June T3, 1795; Na- 



thaniel, September 27, 1797, mentioned below; 
Nancy, September 23, 1800; Sarah, June 16, 
1801 ; Clark, June 12, 1803. 

(VII) Nathaniel, son of John (2) Dicker- 
man, was born September 27, 1797, at Brat- 
tleboro, died December 4, 1845, at Masonville, 
New York. He spent most of his life in Guil- 
ford and Masonville, New York. He received 
his education in the common schools and was 
afterwards a farmer. He was also engaged 
in lumbering to some extent. He held the 
offices of constable and justice of the peace, 
and after removing to Masonville was town 
treasurer for one year. As justice of the 
peace he tried very few cases, and usually pre- 
vailed upon the parties to settle their difficul- 
ties themselves. He was a member of the 
Presbyterian church, a devoted Christian, and 
had the universal respect of everyone who 
knew him, as a man of perfect honesty, sincere 
piety and exemplary character. He married, 
May 9, 1832, at Masonville, Mary Ann, 
daughter of Aaron Ferry and Achsa Smith. 
She was born in Brunswick, Rensselaer 
county, New York, January 4, 1809, died July 
6, 1859, at Masonville. Her mother was the 
seventh generation from the same Lieutenant 
Samuel Smith who was the ancestor of her 
husband's mother, in a different line. She 
was educated in the common schools, and 
taught school herself in Masonville and Guil- 
ford. At the time of her husband's death she 
was left with a family of six young children 
and in very much reduced circumstances. She 
managed, however, to bring them up in a 
manner highly creditable to herself and to them. 
She married (second), July 8, 1856, Erastus S. 
Stebbins. Children of Nathaniel Dickerman, 
the first three born at Guilford, the others at 
Masonville : John Henry, March 10, 1833, died 
April 24, 1833; Norris Henry, March 16, 
1834; Sidney Ferry, September 30, 1835, 
mentioned below ; Achsa Smith, April 22, 1838, 
died 1867; Albert, March 26, 1840, mentioned 
below; Mary Elizabeth, December 15, 1841 ; 
infant son, died August 21, 1843; J ima Emet- 
ine, November 1, 1845, died about 1850. 

(VIII) Sidney Ferry, son of Nathaniel 
Dickerman, was born September 30, 1835, in 
Guilford. As a boy he worked regularly on 
his father's farm. He attended the Oxford 
Academy, at Oxford, New York, but did not 
graduate. After leaving school he became a 
farmer in Newburg, Ohio, and at the end of 
a few years' experience at farming spent six 
years as a bookkeeper in Cleveland, Ohio. He 
then went to Winsted, Connecticut, 1868, and 
established himself in the hardware business, 
in which he has been ever since. Since his 
residence in Winsted he has taken an impor- 

tant part in town and church affairs, as well 
as b siness. He has served on the board of 
burgesses for several years, and was a member 
of the board of relief for the town and bor- 
ough. In politics he is a Republican, in re- 
ligion a Congregationalism He has been a 
deacon in the Second Congregational Church 
since 1898. He was formerly a member of 
the Royal Arcanum, and was treasurer of 
the local council of that order for fourteen 
years. At the time of the civil war he served 
for one hundred days in the United States 
army. One Hundred and Fiftieth Ohio Regi- 
ment, stationed in the rear of Washington, D. 
C, for defence of city ; also served five years in 
the Ohio state militia. He married, October 
16, 1867, Adelaide Lucinda Whiting, who died 
April 16, 1900. They have no children. 

(VIII) Albert, son of Nathaniel Dicker- 
man, was born March 26, 1840, at Masonville. 
He was brought up on his father's farm, and 
attended the district school until he was six- 
teen years old. He then attended an academy 
in Chenango county for two terms. When he 
was seventeen he removed with his family to 
Cleveland, Ohio. From that time until the 
breaking out of the civil war he studied and 
taught, part of the time in Chester, Ohio, about 
six months at Oberlin, Ohio, and a year and a 
quarter in Missouri. In July. 1863, he en- 
listed as a private in Company E, One Hundred 
and Fifth Regiment, Ohio Infantry. On reach- 
ing camp he was appointed sergeant major, 
after about four months second lieutenant, and 
two months later first lieutenant. In the latter 
capacity he served until the close of the war, 
and twice declined a captain's commission. 
His regiment was in the Fourteenth Army 
Corps, under Thomas, and later Sherman, and 
participated in the movements of that corps 
through Kentucky and Tennessee, in the At- 
lanta campaign, the March to the Sea, through 
the Carolinas to Goldsboro, to Raleigh, Rich- 
mond and Washington, also taking part in 
the Grand Review. It was mustered out and 
disbanded in June, 1865. Judge Albian W. 
Tourgee, who wrote the history of this regi- 
ment, speaks of the subject of this sketch as 
follows : "He was a man of strong character 
and brilliant qualities, systematic, prompt, 
cool and courageous, one of those men who 
never lose their heads nor forget, nor omit 
any routine duty. His career since the close 
of the war has fully justified the promise of 
his military service." After he was mustered 
out he studied law at Union Law College, in 
Cleveland, Ohio, being admitted to practice 
June, 1866. In August of the same year he 
located at Hillsdale, Michigan. While living 
there he served three years as director of the 



public schools, four years as circuit court com- 
missioner, four years as probate judge, ami 
state senator through the general session of 
1881 and the special session of 1882. In the 
spring of 1883 he moved to Muskegon, Michi- 
gan. There he served two years as member of 
the board of trustees of the public schools, and 
in 1887 was elected circuit judge of the four- 
teenth judicial circuit, serving six years. At 
the close of his term he declined to be a candi- 
date for re-election. In 1894 he removed to 
Watsonville, California, where he has since 
lived and continued to practice his profession. 
In 1869 he published a small pamphlet con- 
taining a record of his grandfather's family, 
and has always taken a deep interest in the 
genealogy of family. He married, July 15, 
1871, at Manchester, Michigan, Eva C. Stone, 
born July 22, 1848, at Leroy, Lake county, 
Ohio. Children: Kate, born March 31, 1874, 
at Hillsdale, Michigan; Florence, June 28. 
1876, Hillsdale, died there November 22, 1877; 
Alice, January 19, 1880, at Hillsdale, died 
December 27, 1889, Muskegon; infant, July 
25, 1889, at Muskegon, died same day. 

(IV) Jonathan Dicker- 
DICKERMAN man, son of Isaac Dicker- 
man (q. v.), was born 
July 4, 1719, died July 28, 1795. He married 
(first) January 27, 1742, Rebecca, daughter 
of Cornet John and Elizabeth (Thompson) 
Bassett. She was born July 23, 1721, died 
November 26, 1760. Her father, John Bas- 
sett, was the son of John and grandson of 
William Bassett. He married (second) Han- 
nah Leavenworth, of Derby, widow of Nicho- 
las Moss, son of William and Abigail (Riggs) 
Moss. She died October 15, 1780, aged sev- 
enty. He married (third) about T789, De- 
borah Todd, of North Haven, who died De- 
cember 8, 1830, aged ninety-one. He lived at 
Mt. Carmel, Connecticut, where he was a 
farmer. October, 1767, he was appointed en- 
sign of the Fifteenth Company or train band 
in the Second Regiment, and October, 1770, 
was made lieutenant of the same company. 
Children, all by first wife: Enos, born Novem- 
ber 2, 1743; Rebecca, 1744, died September 5, 
1751 ; Jonathan, January 13, 1747; Hezekiah, 
1748-49, died August 29, 1751 ; Joel, 1750, 
died September 8, 1751 ; Hezekiah, November 
6, 1754, mentioned below; Joel, January 2, 
1757, served in the revolution; Amos and 
Rebecca (twins), January 12, 1759. 

(V) Hezekiah, son of Jonathan Dickerman, 
was born November 6, 1754, died May 2, 
1814. He married Hannah, daughter of Amos 
Rice, born about 1764, died April 20, 1815. 
He was a farmer by occupation and lived in 

Mount Carmel. In the revolution he was a 
corporal in Captain Bunnel's company, Fifth 
Battalion of General Wadsworth's brigade. 
He was a captain of militia, and of his services 
Atwater's history says : "Not long after the 
departure of Arnold and his men Captain Hez- 
ekiah Dickerman with nine members of his 
militia company followed their townsmen to 
the camp at Cambridge. Both these squads 
went as volunteers and without assurance of 
pay from any public treasury, but doubtless 
with assurance from their neighbors of con- 
tributions for their support while engaged in 
the common cause." Children : Joel, born May 
25, 1785 ; Jason, August 14, 1786, mentioned 
below; Asahel, May 3, 1788; Hannah, April 
30, 1790; Bede, November 17, 1791 ; Esther, 
August 22, 1793; Arba, March 29, 1795; 
Martha, April 6, 1797; Jared, October 2, 1798; 
Hezekiah, 1801 ; Micah, March 12, 1804. 

(VI) Jason, son of Hezekiah Dickerman, 
was born August 14, 1786, at Mount Carmel, 
died August 12, 1870. He married (first) 
Laura Walters. He married (second), 1822, 
Lucretia, daughter of Levi Talmage, of North- 
ford, Connecticut, a soldier in the revolution. 
He married (third), 1839, Nancy Bassett, who 
died at Watertown, Connecticut. Children of 
first wife: Willis Walter, born about 181 1; 
Henry, August 30, 1813; Jason, July 18, 1816. 
Children of second wife : Edwin, born Janu- 
ary 17, 1823, mentioned below; Laura Walter, 
March 31, 1824. 

(VII) Edwin, son of Jason Dickerman, was 
born January 17, 1823, died April 17, 1868. 
He received a common school education, and 
learned the trade of blacksmith, at which he 
worked most of his life. He lived in North 
Haven and New Haven. He married, Novem- 
ber 17, 1846, Lydia Lucretia, daughter of 
Ward and Lydia (Humiston) Peck, born May 
29, 1826. Her father, Ward Peck, was a son 
of Ward Peck who served seven years in the 
revolution and was one of Washington's staff. 
Children : Emma H., Frederick E., mentioned 

(VIII) Frederick E., only son of Edwin 
Dickerman, was born in Hamden, Connecti- 
cut, October 1, 1845. He attended the public 
schools, the Lovell School of New Haven, 
and a private school conducted by Mr. Lovell. 
He began railroading when a young man, 
starting as brakeman. He was appointed a 
conductor in 1868, and continued in the em- 
ploy of the same railroad corporation as con- 
ductor under different ownership and man- 
agement for thirty-seven years. He retired 
from the employ of the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford railroad, as the concern is 
now called, in 1905, after a continuous service 



of forty-three years. Until 1888 he lived at 
Watertown, Connecticut, then removed to 
Winsted, where he has since lived. Since 1908 
he has been superintendent of the state capitol 
and grounds. In politics he is a Republican, 
and in 1907 represented the town of Winches- 
ter in the general assembly. He served on the 
committees of new towns, probate districts and 
was a delegate to visit agricultural colleges-. 
He is a member of St. Andrews Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Meridian Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; of Tyrene Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; of Pyramid Temple, Mys- 
tic Shrine, of Bridgeport ; of Clark Command- 
ery, Knights Templar, of Waterbury ; also of 
Clifton Lodge, Odd Fellows, and the Encamp- 
ment. He is a member of the Congregational 
church at Watertown. He married, July 24, 
1876, Ella L., born at Killingworth, Connecti- 
cut, daughter of Harvey and Lydia (Wright) 
Willcox. They have no children. 

Harvey and Lydia (Wright) Willcox had 
children: Frederick Washington, who died 
March 8, 1909, was a member of congress 
from Chester, Middlesex county, Connecticut; 
Mary ; William, lives in Texas ; Edward, 
served in civil war four years and was in 
Libbv prison six months; Loomis; Evelyn; 
Elizabeth ; Ella L., married Frederick E. 
Dickerman, mentioned above. Harvey Will- 
cox lived at Killingworth and was the son of 
Elihu Willcox of that town. 

William Simpson Har- 
HARMOUNT mount was born in Phila- 
delphia, and made his 
home in New Haven, Connecticut. He 
married Jane' Morgan, of West Haven, Con- 
necticut. Children : William Robert, married 
Cornelia Blossom, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin ; 
George Alexander, mentioned below ; Jennie, 
married Robert Noble ; children : Robert, La- 
bel, Mary, Thomas, William and Joseph 
Noble ; Anna, married Edward Ailing ; chil- 
dren : Mortimer Ailing, of Providence, Rhode 
Island, and Grace Ailing, who married Theo- 
dore Abbott and lives at Saltillo, Mexico; 
Adoniram Judson, married Mary Loomis, of 
New Haven ; children : William, George Simp- 
son, Adoniram ludson, Dwight and Paul. 
Mary, married Joseph A. Graves, of Hartford, 
Connecticut ; children : Dr. Arthur H. Graves, 
professor in Yale College ; Helen Graves. 

(II) George Alexander, son of William 
Simpson Harmount, was born in New Haven, 
June 3, 1843. He served all through the civil 
war; he was lieutenant-colonel of the ninety- 
seventh colored infantry. He married, Inly 
28, 1868. Jennette Camp, born September 21, 
1843, daughter of Hiram Camp (see Camp 

VI). Mrs. Harmount is a woman of educa- 
tion and culture and is widely known as a 
gifted public 'speaker and lecturer. She is 
president of the Study Club of New Haven 
and prominent in the social life of the city. 

(The Camp Line). 

Edward Camp, immigrant ancestor, was 
born in England, and settled early at New 
Haven. Children, born at New Haven: Ed- 
ward. July 8, 1650; Mary, April 21, 1652; 
Sarah, November 25, 1655 ; Samuel, mentioned 

(II) Samuel, son of Edward Camp, was 
born at New Haven, died April 22, 1741. He 
married, July 17, 1712, Dorothy Whitmore. 
widow of Josiah Whitmore, of Middletown. 
They moved to Waterbury about 1733 and she 
died September 2, 1749. Children, born at 
New Haven: Mehitable, August, 1713; Joel, 
May, 1715; Abel; Stephen, February, 1720; 
Joab, mentioned below. 

(III) Joab, son of Samuel Camp, was born 

about 1725. He married Thankful . 

Children, born in Waterbury : Samuel, men- 
tioned below; Thankful, July 11, 1750; John, 
April 14, 1753; Ephraim, June 23, 1756; 
Sarah, April 3, 1758; Phebe, May 3, 1760; 
Benajah, July 20, 1762; Joab, July 5, 1764. 

(IV) Samuel (2), son of Joab Camp, was 
born probably in Waterbury. He was captain 
in the revolution. He was well acquainted 
with General Washington and General Lafay- 
ette and did efficient service at Crown Point 
and Staten Island. His four brothers, John, 
Benajah, Job and Ephraim, were also soldiers 
in the revolution. John became a Congrega- 
tional minister ; Samuel settled in Plymouth 
and was deacon of the Congregational church, 
dying at the age of eighty years, leaving the 
homestead to his son Samuel. Captain Sam- 
uel Camp was captain of the Tenth Regi- 
ment in 1777, the Seventeenth in 1780, and in 
the regiment of Colonel Increase Moody in 
1779. He married (first) Mary Row, Decem- 
ber 7, 1769, daughter of Daniel Row, of Farm- 
ington. She died December 2j, 1777, and he 
married (second) Tryphena . Chil- 
dren of second wife, born at Waterbury : 
Mary, May 1, 1781 ; Rhoda, March 17, 1783; 
Phineas Royce, July 14, 1785; Samuel, men- 
tioned below. 

(V) Samuel (3), son of Captain Samuel 
(2) Camp, was born February 2, 1787. He 
settled in Plymouth, Connecticut, and died in 
1876, aged eighty-nine years. He married 
Jennette Jerome, sister of Chauncey Jerome, 
daughter of Rev. Charles Jerome. He re- 
mained on the farm until 1829, then removed 
to Plainville, Connecticut. He was a student 



of the Bible and had a remarkable memory, 
having committed to memory half of the Scrip- 
tures. His was a long and useful life. 

(VI) Hiram, son of Samuel (3) Camp, was 
born in Plymouth, April 9, 181 1, died in New 
Haven, July 8, 1893. He was educated in the 
public schools. Early in life he displayed a 
taste for mechanics, and at the age of eight- 
een he left the farm to work in Bristol, Con- 
necticut, in a clock factory under his uncle, 
Chauncey Jerome. At that time, 1829, clock- 
making was an infant industry in this country. 
He had much to do with the development and 
improvement of the modern clock, and he saw 
the industry grow to mammoth proportions. 
In 1845 ne went to New Haven and for forty 
years was president of the New Haven Clock 
Company. He was interested in public affairs 
and held many offices of trust and honor. He 
was selectman of the town and chief of the 
volunteer fire department. He represented 
New Haven in the general court and served 
in the common council of the city. During 
the last twelve years of his life he devoted 
much time and gave generously to the Mount 
Hermon School for Boys at Northfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was a Congregationalist and 
one of the oldest deacons of the church. He 
died at New Haven, July 8, 1893, aged eighty- 
two years. He was the last and one of the 
most distinguished and remarkable of the 
clock manufacturers who went out from Ply- 
mouth, Connecticut, to engage elsewhere in 
the manufacture of clocks. In politics he was 
a Republican. He married Elvira, daughter of 
Daniel Skinner, of Windsor, Connecticut. 
Children: Mary, born October 8, 1836; mar- 
ried John Grove White, of Belfast, Ireland, a 
cousin of the Duke of Devonshire, England, 
no children; Sarah, born December 21, 1839; 
married George O. Cruttenden, of Guilford, 
Connecticut, two children who died in infancy ; 
Jennette, born September 21, 1843, married, 
July 28, 1868, George Alexander Harmount 
(see Harmount II). 

William Bradley, immigrant 
BRADLEY ancestor, was born in Eng- 
land, and settled early at New 
Haven, where in 1644 he took the oath of 
fidelity. He came from the West Riding of 
Yorkshire. He married Alice, daughter of 
Roger Prichard, of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and Milford, Connecticut, February 18, 1645. 
His will is recorded at New Haven. He died 
in 1691, and his widow in 1692. Children: 
Joseph, baptized January 4, 1646, mentioned 
below; Martha, born October, 1648, died Jan- 
uary 9, 1707; Abraham, October 24, 1650, died 
October 19, 1718; Mary, April 30, 1653, died 

October, 1724; Benjamin, April 8, 1657, died 
1728; Esther, September 29, 1659; Nathaniel, 
February 26, 1661, died August 17, 1743; 
Sarah, June 21, 1665. 

(II) Joseph, son of William Bradley, was 
born at New Haven, and baptized there Jan- 
uary 4, 1646. He died in January, 1705. He 
married, October 25, 1667, Silence Brockett. 
Among their children was Samuel, mentioned 

(III) Samuel, son of Joseph Bradley, was 
born in 1681, died 1757. He married, Decem- 
ber 16, 1722, Eunice Munson. They lived in 
New Haven and Wallingford, Connecticut. 
Among their children was Titus, mentioned 

(IV) Titus, son of Samuel Bradley, was 
born in 1746, died February 9, 181 1. He mar- 
ried, in 1769, Lydia Yale Todd and lived in 
North Haven, Connecticut. They had a son 
Titus, mentioned below. 

(V) Titus (2), son of Titus (1) Bradley, 
was born in 1776, died in 1822. He married, 
February 6, 1805, Mary Munson, born about 
1785, died August 19, 1861. They resided at 
North Haven. She inherited part of the home- 
stead and pew 8 in the church. She was a 
daughter of Stephen and Mary (Goodyear) 
Munson, granddaughter of Jabez and Eunice 
(Atwater) Munson, great-granddaughter of 
Stephen and Lydia (Bassett) Munson, great- 
great-granddaughter of Samuel and Martha 
(Bradley) Munson. Children, born at North 
Haven : Seymour, mentioned below ; Barzillai, 
of North Haven ; Henry Munson, baptized 
June 24, 1821 ; Harriet B., married Benjamin 
H. Jackson, and lived on High street, New 
Haven ; Mary J., married Jesse Andrews, and 
lived on George street, New Haven. 

(VI) Seymour, son of Titus (2) Bradley, 
was born August 14, 1806, died April 25, 
1890. He had a store on Chapel street, New 
Haven, for many years, establishing it when a 
young man. He married, September 30, 1829, 
Delia, born June 6, 1809, died January 4, 1880, 
daughter of Frederick and Eunetia (Blakes- 
lee) Barnes, granddaughter of Joshua and 
Mercy (Tuttle) Barnes, great-granddaughter 
of Captain Joshua and Deborah (Wooding) 
Barnes, great-great-granddaughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Leek) Barnes, and great-great- 
great-granddaughter of Thomas and Abigail 
(Frost) Barnes. Children: Robert Barnes, 
mentioned below ; Franklin Seymour, men- 
tioned below. 

(VII) Robert Barnes, son of Seymour 
Bradley, was born at North Haven, March 
10, 1832, died at New Haven, January 22, 
1890. He attended the public schools in New 
Haven and was a pupil at the Lovell Lancas- 



trian School and later at the select school con- 
ducted by Mr. Thomas. Until 1858 he as- 
sisted his father in the store. He then em- 
barked in business on his own account as a 
dealer in hardware and agricultural tools in a 
store on the corner of State and Court streets. 
He continued in business until his death, and 
was one of the best-known merchants in the 
city. His business was continued by the firm 
of Bradley & Dann. He w a prominent 
member and for many years treasurer of the 
Center Church. He married, December 30, 
1858, Cornelia, born July 13, 1835, daughter 
of Truman and Eunice (Peet) Minor, grand- 
daughter of Seth and Susannah (Frisbie) 
Minor, great-granddaughter of Israel and 
Anna (Lake) Minor, great-great-granddaugh- 
ter of Josiah and Mary (Barnum) (Shove) 
Minor, great-great-great-granddaughter of 
Ephraim and Rebecca (Curtis) Minor, great- 
great-great-great-granddaughter of Captain 
John Minor, who was born in 1634, died Sep- 
tember 17, 1719, married October 19, 1658, 
Elizabeth Booth, born September 12, 1647, 
died October 24, 1732, 

Truman Minor, father of Mrs. Bradley, was 
a member of the firm of Minor, Horton & 
Company, manufacturers of plows of Peeks- 
kill, New York, and Mrs. Bradley spent her 
childhood in that town. Eunice (Peet) Minor, 
mother of Mrs. Bradley, was daughter of 
Jehiel and Lois (Manville) Peet, granddaugh- 
ter of Jehiel and Joanna (Walker) Peet, great- 
granddaughter of Richard and Sarah (Cur- 
tiss) Peet. Richard Peet was a son of Ben- 
jamin and Priscilla (Fairchild) Peet, grand- 
son of Benjamin and Phebe (Butler) Peet, 
great-grandson of John Peet, the immigrant 
ancestor, who came from England in 1635 in 
the ship "Hopewell," and settled at Stratfield, 
Connecticut. Children of Robert Barnes and 
Cornelia (Minor) Bradley: Frederick Tru- 
man, mentioned below ; Robert Seymour, born 
August 5, 1863, died February 1, 1890; edu- 
cated at New Haven public school, Hopkins 
grammar school, and graduated from Yale 
College in 1885 and from Yale Medical School 
in 1887 with the degree of M. D. ; Delia 
Barnes, born May 26, 1871, died September 
25, 1902; married, November 25, 1891, Charles 
W. Whittlesey ; children : i. Ethel, born March 
25, 1894; ii. Robert Bradley, born October 11, 
1895; : Cornelia Minor, born May 15, 1876. 

(VIII) Frederick Truman, son of Robert 
Barnes Bradley, was born November 28, i860. 
He attended the public schools of New Haven 
and prepared for college at the Hopkins gram- 
mar school of New Haven, graduating with 
honor. He entered the Sheffield Scientific 
School of Yale College, and was graduated 

with the degree of Ph. B. in the class of 1883. 
He entered partnership with his father and 
continued in this firm until 1890, when his 
father died. During the following three years 
he was engaged in the same business in part- 
nership with George E. Dann, under the firm 
name of Bradley & Dann. He became a mem- 
ber of the firm of English & Mersick, January 
1, 1894, and when it was incorporated June 
28, 1895, he became secretary of the company. 
Edwin F. Mersick, president, and John B. 
Kennedy, vice-president. When Mr. Mersick 
died Mr. Kennedy succeeded him, Mr. Brad- 
ley became treasurer, and Carl W. Johnson 
secretary of the company. Since then the 
corporation has been successfully conducted 
by these officers. The concern manufactures 
carriage and automobile hardware trimmings 
and supplies and automobile radiators. Mr. 
Bradley is a member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, and secretary and treasurer of the Eng- 
lish & Mersick Lamp & Foundry Company, 
manufacturers of lamps. He is a member of 
the Sons of the American Revolution, Yale 
Club of New York City, Quinnipiack Club and 
the Graduates' Club of New Haven. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican. He married (first) 
June 15, 1887, Sarah Emily Mersick, died 
September 15, 1906, daughter of Edwin F. 
Mersick, of New Haven. He married (sec- 
ond) June 2"], 1908, Mary English Mersick, 
born May 6, 1868, daughter of Charles S. 
Mersick. Children of first wife : Seymour 
Mersick, born April 25, 1888; Mildred, born 
May 1, 1900. 

(VII) Franklin Seymour, son of Seymour 
Bradley, was born in New Haven, May 17, 
1839, died April 26, 1908. He was educated 
at the school conducted by Miss Miller, and 
later attended Russell school and the school 
at Southbury. Returning to New Haven he 
entered Yale and graduated in the class of 
1861. He was a member of the Alpha Delta 
Phi of the college. After his graduation he 
engaged in the hardware business, in which 
he continued until he sold out to Bronson & 
Townsend several years prior to his death. 
He was very successful as a business man, and 
after having served as a director for some 
years was elected president of the Yale Na- 
tional Bank, a post which he filled until 1889, 
a period of over twenty-five years, when he 
retired. He acted as administrator for many 
large estates, but was not engaged actively in 
business since his resignation from the bank, 
of which he still remains a director. His offices 
for a number of years were at No. 82 Church 
street. He was formerly director of the Free 
Public Library and was assistant secretary of 
the board. He was a member and deacon, also 



clerk and treasurer, of Center Congregational 
Church, a constant attendant at its services, 
and his death was sincerely mourned by all 
the members of that body. He was a great 
lover of music and many years ago played the 
organ in churches. He was a Republican in 
politics, but never aspired to political office. 

Mr. Bradley was always alert in both mind 
and body, and during his most active period 
he could accomplish a great amount of busi- 
ness with celerity and ease. He was quick in 
comprehension and quick in decision, and 
though not especially aggressive he was tena- 
cious and persistent. Though a thorough bus- 
iness man, he did not allow business to ab- 
sorb him to the exclusion of other important 

He was highly appreciative of excel- 
lence in literary work, and could write well 
himself. He kept abreast of the progress of 
thought and was especially concerned with all 
that affected the conduct of public affairs in 
this country. He was a well-rounded citizen, 
a man who neglected no duty of home, church, 
society or city. All who came in contact with 
him appreciated that he was a broad man, a 
substantial man, and a man in every way ad- 
mirable. In a word, he was all his life a no- 
table example of that steady, sterling, reliable 
manhood which is typical of Connecticut and 
New England. His life was well regulated, 
active and useful, and his death was sincerely 
lamented, leaving the keenest of voids in the 
hearts of those whom it touched. 

Mr. Bradley married (first) in 1861, Louise 
Trowbridge, daughter of the late Le Grand 
Cannon. Children : Henry Le Grand, treas- 
urer of the Atlas Manufacturing Company ; 
Franklin Trowbridge, who died at his home in 
Saybrook; Annie Delia, wife of Julian F. Den- 
nison ; Louise Cannon, wife of Herman Shaf- 
fer, of Fort Washington. He married (sec- 
ond) February 5, 1890, at Seneca Falls, New 
York, Ella Maria Chatham, born December 
29, 1857, daughter of Luther Calvin and 
Frances Amelia ( Bockoven ) Chatham, of 
Seneca Falls. Her father was born in 1820. 
Mrs. Bradley had a brother, George Chatham, 
born in i860, died aged seven years; her sis- 
ter, Frances Amelia Chatham, was born in 
1861, married Charles Lee Burt, of Virginia, 
who died in 1902, leaving one child, Chatham 
Lee Burt, born in August, 1886, now living in 
Seattle, Washington. Through her mother 
Mrs. Bradley is related to the Woodruffs of 
Connecticut (see Woodruff). Her maternal 
great-grandmother was Rachel (Riggs) Bock- 
oven, of Auburn, New York. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bradley have one child, Dorothea Chatham, 
born October 23, 1893. 

(The Woodruff Line). 

(VIII) Benjamin Woodruff, son of Benja- 
min Woodruff (q. v.), was born about 1706. 
He married and had children : Benjamin, men- 
tioned below ; Charles, James, Susanna, Icha- 
bod and others. 

(IX) Benjamin, son of Benjamin Woodruff, 
was born in 1744. He married Phebe Pier- 
son, born 1741. She was of the same family 
as President Abraham Pierson, of Yale Col- 
lege, son of Abraham Pierson. Abraham 
Pierson, the immigrant, was born in York- 
shire, England, and graduated at Trinity Col- 
lege, Cambridge, in 1632; came to America 
in 1639 and located at Southhaven, Long Is- 
land, remaining until 1642, when he removed 
to Branford, Connecticut. In 1666 he went 
to Newark, New Jersey, and died August 9. 
1678. He married Abigail, daughter of Rev. 
John Wheelwright. Abraham Pierson, Jr., 
graduated from Harvard College in 1668; set- 
tled in Newark as colleague of his father there 
in 1669; removed to Woodbridge, .New Jer- 
sey ; succeeded his father at Newark and was 
pastor from 1678 to 1692, then returned to 
Connecticut and in 1694 located at Killing- 
worth in that colony ; was the first president of 
Yale College, an excellent preacher, "exceed- 
ingly pious and good." He married Abigail, 
daughter of George Clark. Children : Abra- 
ham, Sarah, Susanna, Mary, Hannah, Ruth, 
James, Abigail and John Pierson. Children of 
Benjamin and Phebe Woodruff: James, born 
1772; Charles. 1774; Phineas, 1776; Hannah, 
1779; Elizabeth, 1781 ; Benjamin, 1783; Oba- 
diah, 1785; John, 1788; Timothy, 1791. 

(X) Charles, son of Benjamin Woodruff, 
was born in 1774. He married, in 1797, 
Sarah Bartley ; she was of Scotch descent, and 
was left an orphan at an early age ; she was 
considered the prettiest woman of New Jer- 
sey, but her beauty was of character as well 
as of face. 

(XI) Maria, daughter of Charles and Sarah 
(Bartley) Woodruff, married George Bock- 

(XII) Frances Amelia, daughter of George 
and Maria (Woodruff) Bockoven, married 
Luther Calvin Chatham. 

(XIII) Ella Maria, daughter of Luther 
Calvin and Frances Amelia (Bockoven) 
Chatham, married Franklin S. Bradlev (see 
Bradley VII). 

The first mention of the 
BRADLEY name found in England was 

in 1 183, at the feast of St. 
Cuthbert in Lent, when Lord Hugh, Bishop 
of Durham, caused all the revenues of his dis- 
trict to be described. The Surrey of Bolton 



(Burke) mentions in Walsingham Roger de 
Bradley as holding forty acres at Bradley and 
rendering half marc besides forest service. 
The Heralds visitation for the county of York 
1563-64, in the Normanton pedigree, mentions 
the marriage of Arthur Normanton to Isabel, 
daughter of Sir Francis Bradley. This would 
be in the early part of the fourteenth century. 
Burke gives fifteen coats-of-arms to the Brad- 
leys, many of them being variations of the 
same coat, having a boar's head. etc. Probably 
all were derived from the same family. 

The first Bradleys in the United States are 
said to have come from the market town of 
Bingley. in the West Riding of Yorkshire, 
about twelve miles northeast of Leeds on the 
river Aire. The town of Bradley (or Broad- 
lea) was about seven miles to the north of 
Bingley. The name Bradley is Anglo-Saxon, 
meaning a broad field or pasture. The father 
of the American pioneer of the family is not 
known, nor is the name of" his first wife. Their 
son, William Bradley, according to tradition 
handed down in different branches of the 
family, was a friend of Cromwell, and the 
"History of Bingley, England," states that he 
was a major in the parliamentary army, and 
removed to New Haven, United States of 
America. He was the first of the family to 
come to Connecticut and sojourned for a time 
in Bran ford and Guilford, later removing to 
New Haven, where he took the oath of fidel- 
ity in August, 1644. He later lived in North 
Haven and had large landed interests there. 
He located on the west side of East (Quinni- 
piac) river, about nine miles north of New 
Haven, and soon gained possession of the cot- 
ters one hundred and eighty-nine acres in ad- 
dition to his other lands. Thorpe's "History 
of North Haven" states that he was the first 
landowner in the village. 

His stepmother, Elizabeth Bradlev, with 
her four sons and one daughter, is said to 
have followed him to America in 1648. These 
children were : Daniel ; Joshua, of New 
Haven ; Ellen, married John Allin ; Nathan, 
born 1638; Stephen, born 1642. She married 
(second) in this country, John Parmalee, who 
died November 8, 1659; married (third). May 
27, 1663, John Evarts. who died May 10, 1669. 
She died in January, 1683. Both her Ameri- 
can husbands were of Guilford. 

(I) William Bradley, of New Haven, was 
born in England about 1620. He settled in 
New Haven, Connecticut, and married there, 
February 18, 1645, Alice, daughter, of Roger 
Pritchard, of Springfield. Massachusetts. He 
died in 1690 and she in 1692. Children, with 
dates of baptism : Joseph, January 4, 1646; 
Isaac, 1647 ( ?) ; Martha, October, 1648; 

Abraham, mentioned below ; Mary. April 30, 
1653; Benjamin, April 8, 1657; Hester (or 
Esther), September 29, 1659; Nathaniel, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1660-61 ; Sarah, June 21, 1665. 

(II) Abraham, son of William Bradley, was 
baptized October 24, 1650, died October 19, 
1 718. He married, December 25, 1673, Han- 
nah, daughter of (John Sr. ?) George Thomp- 
son, born September 22, 1654, died at New 
Haven. October 26, 1718. Children, born at 
New Haven: John, October 12. 1674, died 
August 13, 1747; Daniel, 1679, died Novem- 
ber 2, 1723; Hannah, November 8, 1682; 
Lydia, November 28, 1685; Ebenezer, Septem- 
ber 9, 1689; Abraham, mentioned below; 
Esther, March 19, 1696. He was a deacon in 
the First (now called Center) Church of New 
Haven, and at one time justice of the peace. 
His will was dated December 5, 17 16, and 
proved in the New Haven probate court, No- 
vember 18, 1718. (Recorded Probate Rec- 
ords, liber 4, page 546.) It contained the fol- 
lowing clause : "As a token of my love to ye 
first church of Christ in New Haven I give my 
silver cup, or the value of it, to be improved 
at ye Lord's table ; yt is after my decease." 

(III) Abraham (2), son of Abraham (1) 
Bradley, was born at New Haven, April 9, 
1693, died December 4, 1761. He married, 
October 5, 1 7 r«j), Sarah Wilmot. who died De- 
cember 5, 1775. They had five sons and two 
daughters. His second son was Isaac, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Isaac, son of Abraham (2) Bradley, 
was born at New Haven, November 7, 1722, 
died November 21, 1784. He married (first) 
Sarah Mix, May 29, 1750, who died February 
4, 1762; (second) Lois (Bishop) Lewis, wid- 
ow of Nehemiah Lewis, born 1735, died April 
4, 1813. They had six daughters and five sons. 
Their fifth child was Lewis, mentioned below. 

(V) Lewis, son of Isaac Bradley, was born 
January 14, 1767. He lived in Westville 
(New Haven) until 1854, dying December 14 
of that year. He married, about 1792, Lydia 
Woodin, of Hamden, Connecticut. Children : 
Chauncey, born May 21, 1793, died July. 1826; 
Isaac, January 31, 1795, mentioned below; 
Anna. April 1, 1796, died December 18, 1826; 
Wealthy, November 8, 1797, died February 
19, 1875 : Lydia. January 13. 1803, died Sep- 
tember 24, 1881 ; Lewis, June 7, 1805, died 
October 7, 1872; Elias, June 2T, 1807, ^ e ^ 
December 26, 1845. 

(VI) Isaac (2), son of Lewis Bradley, was 
born in New Haven, January 31. 1705. died 
November 7, 1858. He was engaged in the 
manufacture of carriages in New Haven until 
1854, when he retired to a farm in West 
Haven. He married (first) November 8, 1820, 


Louisa Ann Hervey, born August 27, 1798, urer, succeeding Hon. H. G. Lewis, who was 
died August 27, 1824, daughter of Frederick elected president. The manufacture of wheels 
William and Ann Hervey, granddaughter of was begun in 1845 on the present location of 
Rev. Dr. Ebenezer Dibblee, a noted mission- this concern by Henry Stowe. He was suc- 
ary of the English Society for the propogation ceeded a year or two later by Smith, Umber- 
of the Gospel in foreign parts, whose juris- field & Stowe, and later by Theodore D. Reed, 
diction extended from Stamford, Connecticut, Zelotes Day, Carrington & Stowe, and finally 
on the east to Tarrytown, New York, on the in 1853, by the New Haven Wheel Company, 
west. He married (second) May 27, 1827, The business was incorporated June 4, 1853, 
Abigail Knowles Hervey, sister of his first with a capital of $60,000 and Chandler Cowles 
wife, who died January 18, 1891. Children of was the first president. In 1865-66 the stock 
first wife: William Hervey, born August 13, of the company was bought by William H. and 
1821, died October 9, 1890; Jane Louisa, No- E. E. Bradley, William and Henry G. Lewis 
vember 19, 1822, died November 8, 1832 ; and Frederick Ives, new buildings were erect- 
Maria, August 14, 1824, died August 19, 1824. ed and a new impetus given to the concern. 
Children of second wife : Frederick Isaac, No- The company prospered, bought more land 
vember 7, 1828, died at Hamilton, Missouri, and built new buildings. In 1874 the corn- 
October 24, 1896; Robert Lewis, April 25, pany were turning out four hundred sets of 
1830, died in New Haven, December 28, 1883 ; wheels per week. Two-thirds of the plant was 
Emily Justine, January 25, 1832, died July 20, destroyed by fire September 8, 1874, causing 
1894; married Erastus A. Doolittle; Louisa a loss of $130,000, but was promptly rebuilt, 
Ann, November 6, 1833, died October 30, and in five months was in operation again, and 
1870; married George E. Leonard; Francis turning out six hundred sets of wheels per 
Henry, November n, 1835, died October 28, week. The company also made other parts 
1837; Henry Minot, September 21, 1837, died for wagons and carriages. Their trade grew 
July 23, 1854; Albert Francis, September 30, to large proportions both in America and 
1839, now living in Bloomington, Illinois ; abroad. In 1887 Mr. Bradley, who had been 
Samuel Isodore, July 13, 1842, died in New general manager of the company for many 
York City, April 4, 1901 ; Edward Elias, see years, became its president and still holds that 
forward. office, though he retired from active business 

(VII) Hon. Edward Elias, son of Isaac (2) life in 1904. 
Bradley, was born in New Haven, January 5, In addition to his connection with the New 
1845. As a boy he was robust and healthy. Haven Wheel Company. General Bradley has 
The first ten years of his life were spent in the been president of the Boston Buckboard and 
city ; lie then lived for five years in the coun- Carriage Company, also of the News Publish- 
try, at the end of that time returning again ing Company, the Charles W. Scranton Com- 
to the city. He was particularly fond of read- jany, brokers, of New Haven, the New Eng- 
ing and study, and though obliged to work on land Dairy Company, and of the New Haven 
a farm summers, his tastes were those of a Chamber of Commerce from 1901 to 1903, and 
student. When he was thirteen years old his is still a member of its executive committee, 
father died, and at fifteen he was obliged to He is president of the Governor's Staff Asso- 
give up school to go to work. In i860 he be- ciation of Connecticut, the Defender's Monu- 
came shipping clerk for the New Haven Wheel ment Association, which has in hand the rais- 
Company. His rise in the business to which ing of funds and the erection of a defender's 
he has devoted most of his life is shown in monument to commemorate the successful de- 
the fact that he remained with the same con- fense at West River made by the citizens at 
cern during nearly his entire business career, the time of the invasion of New Haven by the 
rising step by step from his original position British in 1779; president of the Young Men's 
to that of president and general manager. In Institute ; a director in the New Haven 
1865 he accepted a position with Lawrence, County National Bank; a director of the Red 
Bradley & Pardee, the largest carriage manu- River Valley Cattle Company, which owns 
facturers at that time in Connecticut. He 718.000 acres of land in New Mexico, and a 
then became connected with John English & herd of over 35,000 cattle and 1,000 horses; a 
Company, who succeded the firm of English, director of the Organized Charities Associa- 
Atwater & White, hardware merchants. After tion, and also a director of the New Haven 
a few months of poor health, during which he Colony Historical Society. He is a member 
had to give up business entirely, he returned of the Connecticut Civil Service Reform As- 
late in 1865 to New Haven and became an sociation, the Civic Federation of New Haven, 
owner in the New Haven Wheel Company, and of various other associations organized 
and in 1866 was elected secretary and treas- for the public good. He is a member and on 







$**•■ - 





W J 







the board of managers of the Connecticut So- 
ciety Sons of the American Revolution. His 
great-grandfather was in the war of the revo- 
lution, and his father a minute-man in the war 
of 1812. 

In 1876 he removed to West Haven in the 
town of Orange, and while there served as a 
member of the board of burgesses and on the 
Union school district committee. In 1882 he 
represented the town of Orange in the gen- 
eral assembly. He was a Democrat, and no 
representative of his party had been elected 
there before him for a generation or more. 
He was appointed member of the standing 
committee on banks. In 1883 he was re- 
elected and became house chairman of the 
joint standing committee on roads and bridges, 
and clerk of the committee on cities and bor- 
oughs. He introduced and ably advocated the 
constitutional amendment for biennial sessions 
of the legislature which was finally adopted. 
He was one of the most prominent men of the 
session and was selected to make the speech 
of farewell to the speaker on behalf of the 
members of the house, over which he presided 
during the closing hours of the session. In 
the fall of 1885 he was nominated by the 
Democratic convention of his district for state 
senator, and was elected in a Republican dis- 
trict. He took an active part in the work of 
the legislature, especially in legislation affect- 
ing education and sanitary laws. He was 
chairman of the joint select committee on new 
counties and county seats and participated in 
one of the most exciting controversies of a 
decade between Bridgeport and Norwalk for 
the honor of being the county seat of Fair- 
field county. He advocated the cause of 
Bridgeport, which finally won the contest. In 
1886 he again became a resident of New 
Haven, and in the fall of that year became the 
candidate of the Democratic party for lieuten- 
ant-governor, receiving nearly two thousand 
more votes than his leading opponent, but was 
not elected, as the state constitution then re- 
quired for election a majority over all other 
candidates for the same office. This threw the 
election into the general assembly, a majority 
of which being of a different political party, 
seate 1 the candidate of its party. He was a 
commissioner of public parks in New Haven 
from 1888 to 1901. He voted the party ticket 
most of his life, until the silver issue of 1896 
compelled him to protest, and he then joined 
the Gold Democrat wing of the party and was 
nominated for mayor by it. Since then he has 
classed himself as an Independent. 

He has also taken an active part in the mili- 
tary life of his native state, enlisting in the 
New Haven Grays as a private in 1861, and 

rising through the different grades to the cap- 
taincy in 1866, holding that position at the 
time of the famous celebration of the semi- 
centennial of the company ; colonel of the sec- 
ond regiment in 1869, in which capacity, act- 
ing under orders of the adjutant-general of 
the state, he commanded the troops which cap- 
tured a large number of New York roughs 
who had come to Charles Island, in the town 
of Milford, to hold a prize fight; served as 
paymaster-general of the Connecticut National 
Guard from 1876 to 1878, with rank of briga- 
dier-general, and as adjutant-general of the 
state forces from 1893 to 1895. He is presi- 
dent of the New Haven Grays' Association, 
which includes all past and present members 
of the company. He was one of the original 
members of the New Haven Country Club, 
and is prominent socially in New Haven. He 
is also a member of the New York Army and 
Navy Club. 

General Bradley is an Episcopalian, attend- 
ing as a child Trinity and St. Thomas churches 
in New Haven, and Christ Church in West 
Haven with his parents. As a young man he 
attended St. Paul's Church, New Haven, and 
in 1866 became one of its communicant mem- 
bers. In 1876 he removed to West Haven 
and was a vestryman eleven years and clerk 
of the Parish of Christ Church there ten years. 
In 1886 he again became a resident of New 
Haven and since then has again been identi- 
fied with the work of St. Paul's church. In 
all he has served thirty years as one of its 
vestrymen and for the past six years was one 
of its two wardens. This year he declined fur- 
ther service in that position, but was at once 
re-elected on the vestry. He has been a dele- 
gate to the diocesan conventions of the Epis- 
copal church in Connecticut for twenty years 
and an alternate delegate six years. He has 
been a director of St Paul's Missionary and 
Benevolent Society thirty-one years and was 
its secretary and treasurer four years. He 
has been a trustee for many years of the Epis- 
copal Academy of Connecticut, founded in 
1794, and located in the town of Cheshire. He 
is also a director of the Missionary Society of 
the Diocese of Connecticut. 

He has always been fond of outdoor sports 
and exercise, such as shooting, fishing, walk- 
ing, driving, autoing and boating, but has 
never given any special attention to athletics. 
From the experiences he has had in life, which 
are those of a self-made man. General Brad- 
ley believes that constant reliability (which he 
says includes energy, honesty, good habits and 
always keeping promises) does the most to 
promote true success in life and also to 
strengthen the ideals of voting men. 



General Bradley married, April 26, 1871, 
Mary Elizabeth, born April 22, 1847. on ^Y child 
of Nathaniel and Mary (Jones) Kimberly, of 
West Haven, Connecticut. She was a lineal 
descendant of Thomas Kimberly, one of the 
original settlers of New Haven in 1638 and 
the father of the first male child born in New 
Haven. Children, born at New Haven: 1. 
Edith Mary, March 24, 1873, died March 7, 
1906. 2. Bertha Kimberly, July 29, 1875 ; 
married. December 10, 1902, Edward Na- 
thaniel Loomis, born in Brooklyn, New York ; 
children : i. Elizabeth Loomis, born in New 
York City, April 18, 1905; ii. Edward Brad- 
fey Loomis, July 23, 1907, in South Orange, 
New Jersey; iii. Horace Loomis, April 13, 
1909, in South Orange; iv. Robert Nathaniel 
Loomis, born in South Orange. May 15, 19 10. 
3. Mabel Louisa, born August 7, 1880; mar- 
ried Professor George Blumer, dean of the 
medical department of Yale University, June 
26, 1909: one child, Mary Kimberly Blumer, 
born in New Haven, May 15, 1910. 

The Kendall family is of an- 
KENDALL cient English origin. Among 
the early representatives of 
that family was John Kendall, sheriff of Not- 
tingham, who was killed in the battle of Bos- 
worth in 1485, fighting in the army of Richard 
III. Francis Kendall, of a much later genera- 
tion, was banished to the Barbadoes in 1687 
by Bloody Judge Jeffries, for participating in 
the Monmouth rebellion. He is believed to 
have been a near relative of Francis Kendall. 

(I) Francis Kendall, ancestor of all of the 
name in America, except his brother, Thomas, 
who came with him and settled in Maine and 
had descendants, came from England in 1642. 
In December, 1658, he deposed that his age 
was about thirty-eight years, and on April 2, 
1662, he deposed that his age was about forty- 
eight. Possibly the date of his birth was be- 
tween the two dates indicated by these state- 
ments, say 1618. With thirty-one others, he 
signed the town orders of Woburn, December 
18, 1640. He had been living in Charlestown, 
of which Woburn was then a part, and was a 
taxpayer there in 1645. He had a brother 
Thomas, living in Reading, Massachusetts, 
where he was a proprietor in 1644. Thomas 
Kendall had ten daughters, but no descendants 
in a direct line. The father of Francis and 
Thomas Kendall is believed by some writers 
to have been John Kendall. A curious char- 
acteristic of the family of Francis Kendall 
and his descendants is the occasional birth of 
a child having extra fingers or toes. Down to 
the present generation, this peculiarity of the 
family has survived. 

Francis Kendall married, December 24, 
1644, Mary, daughter of John Tidd. In the 
records he is called Francis Kendall, alias 
Miles. There are several explanations of this 
record. It was common with emigrants to 
America to take assumed names to avoid vexa- 
tious laws, and there is a tradition that Ken- 
dall left England against the wishes of his 
family, using the name of Miles until he was 
settled in this country. He was admitted a 
freeman May 10, 1648. Sewall says of him : 
"He was a gentleman of great respectability, 
and influence in the place of his residence." 
He served the town at different times for 
eighteen years as selectman, and on important 
committees, such as those for distributing 
grants to the pioneers, and on building the 
meeting house. He was tythingman in 1676. 
He was not entirely in accord with the Puritan 
church, and was fined for some infraction of 
church rules about infant baptism or attend- 
ance at communion, or attending meetings of 
the Anabaptists. He was a miller by trade, 
and owned a corn mill, which he left to his 
sons, Samuel and John. This mill has been 
in the possession of the family down to the 
present time. The mill now or lately on the 
Kendall place is one built by Samuel Kendall 
soon after 1700, and is some distance from 
the location of the first mill. He died in 1708 
at the age of eighty-eight, corroborating the 
affidavit of 1658. His wife Mary died in 1705. 
His will was dated May 9, 1706. His sons 
Thomas and John were executors. 

Children: I. John, born July 2, 1646. 2. 
Thomas, January 10, 1648-49, mentioned be- 
low. 3. Mar}', January 20, 1650-51, married, 
about 1669, Israel Reed. 4. Elisabeth, Janu- 
ary 15, 1652-53; married (first) Ephraim 
Winship; (second) James Pierce. 5. Han- 
nah, January 26, 1654-55 ; married, as his sec- 
ond wife, William Green, Jr. 6. Rebecca. 
March 2, 1657; married, December, 1706, 
Joshua Eaton. 7. Samuel, March 8, 1659; 
married (first) Rebecca Mixer: (second) 
Mary Locke. 8. Jacob, January 25, 1660-61. 
9. Abigail, April 6, 1666; married. May 24, 
1686, William Reed. 

(II) Thomas, son of Francis Kendall, was 
born at Woburn, January 10. 1648-49, died 
May 26, 1730. He resided in Woburn, and 
was a farmer. His farm adjoined his father's. 
He married (first) Ruth , who died De- 
cember 18, 1695. He married (second) 
March 30, 1696, Abigail Broughton. who died 
December 31, 17 16. Children, all by first 
wife, born at Woburn: 1. Ruth, February 17, 
1674-75 ; married John Walker, son of Deacon 
Samuel Walker; lived in Woburn, Lexington 
and Framingham. 2. Thomas, May 19, 1677: 



married Sarah Cheever, lived in Sherborn 
and Framingham. 3. Mary, February 27, 
1680; married, 1698-99, Joseph Whitcomb. 
4. Samuel, October 29, 1682; mentioned be- 
low. 5. Ralph, May 4, 1685; lived in Lan- 
caster. 6. Eleazer, November 16, 1687. 7. 
Jabez (twin), September 10, 1692. 8. Jane 
(twin), September 10, 1692; married, 1712, 
Joseph Russell. 9. Infant, born and died De- 
cember 16, 1695. 

(Ill) Samuel, son of Thomas Kendall, was 
born October 29, 1682. He married Eliza- 
beth . Children, all born in Woburn : 

1. Rev. Samuel, born June 30, 1708, died Jan- 
uary 31, 1792; pastor of church at New Sa- 
lem, Massachusetts, many years ; married 
Annie Green. 2. James, born April 28, 1710, 
died November 25, 1796; married (first) 

Lydia ; (second) July 21, 1735, Sarah 

Richardson; (third) March 1, 1740, Lydia 
Richardson. 3. Josiah, born September 1, 
1712. 4. Ezekiel, born March 14, 171 5, died 
December 28, 1802 ; married (first) March 3. 
1742, Hannah Pierpont ; (second) December 
21, 1752, Mary May. 5. Timothy, born March 
23, 1 717, died July 21, 1780; married, Novem- 
ber 13, 1740, Esther Walker. 6. Elizabeth, 
born September 3, 1719; married John Brooks. 
7. Jonas, born March 10, 1721, died July 22, 
1799; married, August 8, 1751, Elizabeth 
Bennet. 8. Sarah, born April 16. 1723; mar- 
ried John Kendall. 9. Susanna, born July 5, 
1724; unmarried. 10. Obadiah, born Septem- 
ber 3, 1725, died February 10. 1841 ; married, 
October 17, 1755, Elizabeth Miles. 11. Jesse, 
mentioned below. 12. Seth, born January 4, 
1728-29. died July 5, 1790; married Deborah 

. 13. Abigail, born February 27, 1730- 

31 ; married Jacob Pierce. 14. Ephraim. born 
November 9, 1732, died February 16, 1732-33. 
15. Jerusha, born February 13, 1734-35; mar- 
ried Reuben Richardson, Jr., of Woburn. 

(IV) Jesse, son of Samuel Kendall, was 
born May 15, 1727, at Woburn, died at Athol, 
April 14, 1797. He resided at Woburn, Med- 
ford and Athol, Massachusetts. He married, 
March, 1749, Elizabeth Evans, who died June 
20 or 22, 1813, in her eighty-first year (grave- 
stone record). Children, born at Woburn, 
Athol and Medford : Elizabeth, August 17, 
1751; Mary, November 25, 1753; Jesse, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1756; Hannah, December 18, 1757; 
Olive, March 31, 1760; Joel, March 11, 1762; 
Samuel, January 20, 1764; Andrew, April 17, 
1766; David, March 20, 1768; Calvin, July 
J 5> l 77°'< Lois, September 16, 1772; Anna, 
May 4, 1775- 

(V) Rev. David, son of Jesse Kendall, was 
born in Athol, Massachusetts, March 20, 1768. 
He graduated from Harvard College in the 

class of 1794. He was called to the pastorate 
of the Congregational church of Hubbardston. 
Worcester county, Massachusetts, July 1, 
1802, and settled as minister with a salary of 
$400 a year. His letter of acceptance -has 
been preserved: 

"To the Church and People of Hubbardston: 
Beloved in the Lorde Jesus Christ: Your invita- 
tion requesting me to settle with you in the gospel 
ministry has been taken into serious and deliberate 
consideration ; counsel has been sought of heaven, 
and christian advice received. Thus far appears no 
obstacle in the way of my compliance with your 
wishes, but as it is a duty enjoined by the gospel 
that 'every one should provide for his own, espec- 
ially those of his own house'; and as it is required 
that 'they who preach the gospel should live of the 
gospel' and that he who ministers to a people 'in 
spiritual things, should be partaker of their tem- 
poral things', it is highly fit and proper that the 
means for a comfortable and decent support should 
be taken into consideration, when we deliberate on 
a subject of so much importance as the devoting 
one's self to the service of a people in the work of 
the ministry. Candid deliberation and friendly ad- 
vice have accordingly been taken on this part of 
the subject. From which it appears that the stipu- 
lation proposed for an annual salary would of itself 
alone, be rather inadequate to the numerous ex- 
penses incident to a clerical life, taking into view, 
at the same time, the propriety of making suitable 
provision for those whom it may please God to 
give us the care of, together with the very high 
price of land, which is the foundation of all tem- 
poral subsistence. But I have further taken into 
account the friendly and benevolent disposition of 
the people of this town, heretofore manifested to- 
ward their pastor, and the assurances which have 
been given me, that the same would be continued 
toward his successor. Particular encouragements 
have been specified, upon which I am requested to 
rely with implicit confidence, and I do not scruple 
the sincerity of these proposals, and it would no 
doubt be deemed a want of christian candor to 
anticipate a dereliction from them, so long as the 
relation of pastor and people should continue be- 
tween us, provided it be once formed. 

"The above particulars being duly weighed and 
considered, I have seen fit, with submission to di- 
vine Providence, to accept of your invitation and 
encouragements, so long as these encouragements 
are realized. And I do therefore make known to 
you by these presents, my willingness to serve you 
in the work of the gospel ministry, according to the 
grace which is, or may be given unto me, to en- 
able me to fulfil this arduous and important serv- 
ice. And may this decision in all its effects and 
consequences be attended with the blessing of 
Almighty God, 'to whom I now commend you 
and to the word of his grace, and to the Spirit 
of all truth which are able to build you up in 
faith and holiness, to establish you in every good 
word and work, and to give you an inheritance 
among all them that are sanctified.' That this 
may be your happy lot and portion may God in 
his infinite mercy grant, through Jesus Christ 
our Lord. Amen. 

"David Kendall." 

"Note. — The liberty of being absent three or four 
Sabbaths in a year, if need so require, is usually 
reserved by ministers, at the time of their settle- 
ment ; this indulgence will also be expected by me. 


He was ordained October 20, 1802. "He Marion Elizabeth. 6. Herbert Parkman, born 

was a man of sound principles, but apparently March 6, 1850 (twin of Albert S.) ; married 

of very different temper and spirit from his Lotta K. Brown ; children : Grace Louise, Ella 

predecessor. When they wanted to get rid of Leore, Clara Maude, Herbert Parkman, Jr., 

him, they did not find him the man to sacri- and Harriet. 7. Eugene Miles, born May 20, 

fice all his own interests to accommodate them. 1852 ; married Mary Jennie Jones ; children : 

The relation between pastor and people did Mary Louisa and Leonard Jarvis Kendall, 

not long remain harmonious. Grievances were Child of third wife : 8. Calvin Noyes, born 
magnified by prejudice and bitter criminations . February 9, 1858; married Alia Field; child, 

followed. The people charged the minister David. 

with a want of sympathy for them generally (VII) Nathaniel Wyeth, son of Leonard 

and he complained of their neglect to fulfill Jarvis Kendall, was born at Augusta, Oneida 

their implied, though unwritten, promises, of county, New York, May 12, 1848. He was 

pecuniary aid, made at the time of settlement, educated in the public schools. Since 1896 he 

He was finally dismissed though a majority of has made his home at Kenmore, a beautiful 

the church members appeared to wish him to country estate at New Haven, Connecticut, 

remain. He was installed pastor of the Con- The house is situated on an elevation giving a 

gregational church at Augusta, New York, in most picturesque view of Long Island sound, 

1810, and dismissed in 1814. He was never river, harbor, and city of New Haven. He 

settled as pastor afterward. He died Febru- has large business interests in New Haven. 

ary 19, 1853, aged eighty-five. Since 1885 ne nas been president of the Yale 

He married, February 3, 1803, Susannah, Brewing Company of New Haven. He is a 
daughter of Nathaniel Jarvis, of Cambridge, director of the Mechanics Bank of New 
Massachusetts. His wife died February 3, Haven ; president of the Cashin Card and 
1832. Children, born at Hubbardston and Au- Glazed Paper Company; vice-president and di- 
gusta : Mary Ann, January 10, 1804; married rector of the Consumers' Malting Company of 
George Gaylord; Rebecca Parkman Jarvis, Minneapolis, Minnesota; director of the Na- 
May 9, 1805 ; Elizabeth Wyeth, September 28, tional Brewers' Insurance Company of Chi- 
1806 ; David Luther, April 13, 1808, married cago, Illinois ; president of the Connecticut 
Covell ; Leonard Jarvis, mentioned be- Brewers' Association ; director of the Under- 
low; Mary Jarvis, August 4, 1813, died writers' Agency Company. He was formerly 
young; Samuel Austin, October 11, 1815; Na- president of the United States Brewers' As- 
thaniel Wyeth, January 14, 1818. sociation. He is also a member of Crystal 

(VI) Leonard Jarvis, son of Rev. David Wave Lodge, No. 638, Free and Accepted 

Kendall, was born in Augusta, New York, Masons, of Brooklyn, New York, and is past 

Tuly 31, 1810. He was by occupation a worshipful master of this lodge; member of 

farmer. He married (first) Olive Kendall, a Constellation Chapter, No. 209, Royal Arch 

cousin, daughter of Calvin Kendall, who lived Masons, also of Brooklyn ; of the Sons of the 

at Athol. He married (second) October 1, American Revolution; the Union League 

1840, Sarah Rebecca Spencer, of Utica, New Club, the Quinnipiack Club, the Farmers' Club 

York, who died in 1855. He married (third) and the Chamber of Commerce. In politics 

Sarah Maria Coburn, a widow, born 1820, died he is a Republican. He married, December 

March 4, 1910, aged eighty-nine years, eight 20, 1894, Harriet Frances, born July 2, 1862, 

months. Only child by first wife: 1. Susan daughter of William R. Terry. Child: Na- 

Olive, born January 16, 1837; married Moses thaniel Wyeth, Jr., born May 31, 1898. 

M. Sawin ; children: Jennie Olive, Charles 

Austin, Susan Kendall, Herbert Edward, Alice (VI) Daniel (2) Denison, son 
Laura and George Alfred Sawin. Children by DENISON of Daniel (1) Denison (q. v.), 
second wife: 2. Austin Jarvis, married Oc- was born December 16, 1730. 
tober 25, 1865, Lucinda Miller; children: i. He married, July 1, 1756, Katherine Avery, 
Willis Austin, born October 16, 1867; ii. Lena daughter of his mother's second husband. He- 
Elizabeth, June 23, 1871 ; iii. Nathaniel Wyeth, settled in Stephentown, New York, about 
April 24, 1876. 3. Sarah E., born December 1773, and he and his wife were both buried 

4, 1843 ! married Jackson ; children : there. He died in 1793 and she died in 1825, 

Frederick, Mildred Elizabeth, Charlotte May, aged eighty-eight. Children: 1. Katherine, 

and Herbert Spencer Jackson. 4. Nathaniel born July 24, 1757. 2. Daniel, September 26,. 

Wyeth, born May 12, 1848, mentioned below. 1758. 3. Ebenezer A., January 26, 1760, men- 

5. Albert Spencer, born March 6, 1850; mar- tioned below. 4. Jonathan, May 17, 1761. 5. 
ried, August 1, 1876, Katherine M. Shaw; George, April 12, 1763. 6. Griswold, August 
children :" Waldo Shaw. Leonard Jarvis and 21, 1765. 7. Asenath, February 24, 1767. 8. 



David, March 19, 1769. 9. Latham, March 
8, 1 77 1. 10. A child, born and died August 
J 8.. 1773- II. Samuel, August 24, 1774. 12. 
Elihu, April 14, 1777. 13. Thomas, May 5, 


(VII) Ebenezer A., son of Daniel (2) Den- 

ison, was born January 26, 1760. He mar- 
ried, in 1784, Mrs. Elizabeth (Spencer) Jones. 
Children: 1. Katherine, 1786. 2. Ebenezer A. 
Jr., 1788. 3. Hannah, 1790. 4. Polly, 1792. 
5. Child, born and died, 1794. 6. William, 
1795, mentioned below. 7. Alma, 1797. 8. 
Orpha, 1799. 9. Avery, 1802. 

(VIII) William, son of Ebenezer A. Deni- 
son, was born in 1795, died January 16, 1874. 
1 le was a farmer in Berne, New York, but 
lived for several years in later life at Still- 
water. New York. He married, July 15, 1823, 
Eunice, born October 5, 1800, died June 5, 
1878, daughter of Nathaniel and Lucy (La- 
tham) Gallup (see Gallup XII). Children: 1. 
William Latham, born April 11, 1824; mar- 
ried. December 22, 1847, Margaret Crary ; he 
was a manufacturer of cotton knit goods at 
Stillwater, New York, under the name of the 
Denison Manufacturing Company. 2. Sabina, 
July 11, 1826; married, January 9, 1847, Hi- 
ram Holmes; who died May 2, 1881, at Wash- 
ington, D. C. 3. Lucy Latham, February 24. 
1829; married December 26, 1848, Harvey H. 
Hart, and lived at Stillwater. 4. Albert Gal- 
lup, mentioned below. 5. Elizabeth, August 
26, 1833 ; married, August 26, 1855, and lived 
at Stillwater. 6. Caroline, September 23, 
1837 ; married, January 7, 1858, Lucius F. 
Spencer, and lived at Passaic, New Jersey. 7. 
Emily, May 8, 1840; married, August 29, 
i860, Thomas Morey; she died October 21, 

(IX) Albert Gallup, son of William Deni- 
son, was born March 24, 1830, at Berne, Al- 
bany county, New York, died May 28, 1883. 
He was a manufacturer of knit goods at Still- 
water, in partnership with his brother, 
William L. He married, February 15, 
1852, Maria Neilson, born September 
2 3> l &33> died June 3, 1909, daughter 
of Charles and Elizabeth (Reed) Neil- 
son. Children: 1. Louise Neilson. born 
March 2, 1853; married, November 18, 1880, 
Dr. George P. Harvey Taylor ; children : i. 
Helen Denison, born September 13, 1881 ; ii. 
Lewis Dunscombe, born July 28, 1884, died 
September 21, 1884. 2. Dr. Rial Newland, 
born December 15, 1855; married Helen Dur- 
kee, daughter of George and Sarah (Durkee) 
Crary ; children : George Crary, born August 
23, 1881, died July 24, 1883; ii. Rial New- 
land, Jr., born June 2, 1885, died January 29, 
1907 ; married, August 2, 1903, Genevive 

Whitehead, of Newark, New Jersey, and have 
one daughter, Ruth, born February 15, 1905. 
Dr. Denison graduated from Long Island Col- 
lege Hospital at Brooklyn, New York, with 
the degree of M.D. in 1877, also from the 
New York Homeopathic Medical College in 
1878 ; he practiced his profession in Brooklyn, 
New York. 3. Dr. Charles Neilson, mentioned 

(X) Dr. Charles Neilson Denison, son of 
Albert Gallup Denison, was born at Still- 
water, New York, July 9, 1870. He attended 
the public schools of his native town and the 
Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, New York. 
He was employed for two years in a manu- 
facturing concern and afterward in a Wall 
Street banking house for a time. In Septem- 
ber, 1890, he entered the Long Island College 
Hospital of Brooklyn and was graduated 
there with the degree of M.D., March 21, 
1893. Two months later he was appointed 
interne at Ward's Island Hospital, now known 
as the Metropolitan Hospital, Blackwell's Isl- 
and, New York City. He began to practice at 
White River Junction, Vermont, and re- 
mained there six months, removing thence 
to Cheshire, Connecticut, October 20, 1894, 
and practicing in that town a year and a half. 
From April, 1896, to November, 1898, he prac- 
ticed at Wallingford, Connecticut, and since 
then he has been located at Cheshire, Con- 
necticut. He is a member of the New Haven 
County Medical Society ; Connecticut State 
Medical Society. He is medical examiner for 
the town of Cheshire, and also health officer. 
He is a member and past master of Temple 
Lodge, No. 16, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Cheshire ; member of Franklin Chapter, No. 
2, Royal Arch Masons, of New Haven ; of L. 
A. Thomas Lodge, No. 9, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of Cheshire ; of Patrons of 
Husbandry. He was for a time a member of 
the school board. He enlisted in the Second 
Company of the Governors Foot Guard as 
a private, was advanced to assistant surgeon 
with the rank of lieutenant, and then surgeon 
with the rank of captain under Major Smith 
G. Weed. He was honorably discharged after 
seven years of service. He is an examiner for 
several life insurance companies. 

He married, January 23, 1895, Minnie 
Louise Conkey, born March 19, 187 1, daugh- 
ter of William S. and Louise J. (Brazier) 
Conkey, of Troy. They have no children. 
Her grandfather, John Conkey, was probate 
judge of Troy, New York. The family came 
from Essex county, Massachusetts, and one 
of her progenitors was the first white child 
born at Salem, New York. Her father was 
a soldier in the civil war, in Company B, Thir- 



tieth New York Volunteers, under Captain 
Scott, and was discharged for disability in 

The surname Gallup, also 
GALLUP spelled Gollop, is said to be de- 
rived from the German words 
Gott and Lobe, God and Praise, in the same 
way as the surname Godfrey is derived from 
Gott and Freude, God and Peace. The name 
is also spelled Kollop, Golloppe, Golop, etc. 
There is a very ancient tradition in Lorraine, 
where there is a family of that name, that 
one of their number went to western Europe 
as a follower of William, Duke of Normandy, 
and never returned. In the American family 
of Gallup, there is also a tradition that the 
founder of the English branch came from 
France to England at the time of the Con- 
quest. The coat-of-arms of the English fam- 
ily from which the America immigrant de- 
scended is : Gules on a bend or a lion passant 
guardant sable. Crest : A demi-lion harry or 
and sable holding in his dexter paw a broken 
arrow gules. Motto : Be bolde ; Be wyse. The 
following pedigree in England of John Gol- 
lup, immigrant ancestor, is taken from the 
vizitation of Dorset, 1623. 

(I) John Gollop came out of the north in 
the fifth year of the reign of Edward [V in 
1465. He married Alice, daughter and heir 
of William Temple, of county Dorset, where 
he also lived. 

(II) John (2), of North Bowood and 
Temple, county Dorset, son of John (1) Gol- 
lop, died in 1533 in the twenty-fifth year of 
the reign of Henry VIII. He married Joan 
Collins, of Snails Croft, county Dorset. 

(III) Thomas, of North Bowood, son and 
heir of John (2) Gollop, died April 8, 1610, 
in the reign of James I. He married Agneta. 
daughter of Humphrey Watkins, of Holwell, 
county Dorset. Children : Egedins, went to 
Rome and became a priest ; Humphrey, died 
without issue ; John, mentioned below ; Thom- 
as, heir of North Bowood and Strode ; died 
December, 1622. 

(IV) John (3), Gallup, son of Thomas 
Gollop, married ■ — Crabbe. 

(V) John (4), son of John (3) Gallup, 
immigrant ancestor, was born in England in 
1590, as he was forty-three years old at the 
time of the visitation of Dorset, England, in 
1633. The family from which he descended 
has descendants who still occupy the estate at 
Strode. He sailed from Plymouth, England, 
March 20, 1630, in the ship, "Mary and John," 
arriving at Nantasket, May 30 following. His 
wife and children came over in 1633. He 
came from the parish of Mosterne, county 

Dorset, England. He went first to Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, but was soon living in Bos- 
ton. An extract from a letter written by 
Governor Winthrop to Rev. John White, of 
England, says: "I have much difficultye to 
keepe John Gallup here, by reason his wife 
will not come. I marvayle at the woman's 
weaknesse. I pray, persuade and further her 
coming by all means. If she will come, let 
her have the remainder of his wages ; if not, 
let it be bestowed to bring over his children, 
for so he desired. It would be about 40 pounds 
losse to him to come for her." This was 
dated July 4, 1632. John Gallup was admit- 
ted to the First Church, January 6, 1634, and 
made a freeman in April of the same year. 
He was one of the earliest grantees of land 
at the northerly part of the town, where he 
had a wharf right and a house. The place 
was known as Gallup's Point. He owned 
Gallup's Island, where he had a farm, with 
a meadow on Long Island, a sheep pasture 
on Nix Mate, and a house in Boston. He 
was a skillful mariner, well acquainted with 
the harbor around Boston, and in the habit of 
making frequent trading expeditions along the 
coast in his own vessels. One of these ex- 
peditions was made memorable as being the 
first naval encounter in this country, when 
he found the murderers of his friend, John 
Oldham, in July, 1636. The following is an 
account given in a deposition by his son John, 
to Governor Winthrop: "That his father 
(John Gallup) and another of his brethren, 
a lusty young man also, and a strong, stout 
fellow, who was his father's servant, sayelinge 
to- wards Block Island, to trade thereabouts, 
not knowing of any mischief done by those 
Indians. As they drew neere to the Island 
they espied a vessel making off from the 
shore, but by They'r contrary handling of 
They'r sails, they supposed they were Indians, 
which had taken some English vessel and 
made towards them, and then perceiving it 
to be so, shot at them three or four vollies, 
as they sometimes came neare the villains, and 
then cleared off again to make ready, and 
so after a third or fourth charge upon the 
Indians, all those Indians got into the hold, 
but old John Gallop coming with his vessell 
close by the other side, espied a skein hang 
down, and resolved to hale down that, and 
take it with them to catch Basse withal and 
then perceived a dead body under it, with the 
head cut off ; he got up into the vessel, bid- 
ding his two sons follow him, and stand by 
him with their guns ready charged which they 
did ; and he taking the bloddy head and wash- 
ing- it, knew it to be Mr. Oldham's, and said : 
'Ah, Brother Oldham, is it thee? I am re- 



solved to avenge thy blood,' and taking his 
dagger to the scuttle hole in which the In- 
dians were guoyd, as thick as they could stud, 
head by head, and he jobd his dagger very 
often with all his strength upon them, and 
then lasht that vessel to his vessel, hoping to 
tow them along with them. Upon which one 
Indian first got out and begg'd quarter for 
his life, and he could tell how many were 
in the hold, and who they were and what 
they had done ; they granted him that quarter, 
and took and bound him, and put him down 
into they'r hold ; presently after, another, a 
very proper fellow, got out and got to them, 
and desired like quarter for himself; but they 
considering if they spared and bound him 
also, in they'r hold, they might in the night 
unbind each other and do them mischief, 
being but four persons, and much tyred, 
whereupon, without further debate, they chopt 
off his head, and heaved his carcass over- 
board ; upon which the other Indian con- 
fessed to them that he was they's sachem 
whom they had killed, and that it was he 
who stirred the Block Islanders to take that 
English vessel and cramb (kill) the men in it. 
Now the wind waxing higher and contrary, 
they could not tow the other vessel and far- 
ther cut they'r rope and let her drive and 
hasted to Saybrook fort with the captive In- 
dian to give them full information what sort 
of Indians they were who mirthered the Eng- 
lish ; whereupon that just war was commenced 
against the bloody Pequots and they'r asso- 
ciates." After the settlement of Rhode Island 
and Connecticut, his vessel was about the 
only method of communication between the 
two colonies, and once when he was delayed 
in his trip, Roger Williams wrote to Gover- 
nor Winthrop, "God be praised John Gallop 
has arrived." He achieved great distinction 
by piloting the ship "Griffin" in 1633 through 
a new channel, when Rev. John Cotton, Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, Rev. Mr. Stone, and other 
notables were aboard among her two hun- 
dred passengers. It is supposed that his wife 
and children were on board also. He died 
in Boston, January 11, 1650. His will was 
dated December 20, 1649. He married, in 
England. Christobel , who died in Bos- 
ton, September 27, 1655. She was admitted 
to the First Church, June 22, 1634. Her will 
was dated July 24, 1655. Children: John, 
mentioned below ; Joan, married, 1637, Thom- 
as Joy ; Samuel, married, November 20, 1650, 
Mary Philips; Nathaniel, married, April 11, 
1652, Margaret Eveley. 

(VI) Captain John (5), son of John (4), 
Gallup, was born in England, and came to 
this country in 1633. He was with his father 

in the engagement off Block Island, and after- 
wards engaged in the Pequot war. The gen- 
eral court of Connecticut granted him .a hun- 
dred acres of land for his services in that war. 
He settled in New London, Connecticut, in 
1650-51. On February 9, 1652-53, he re- 
ceived three hundred acres of land on the 
Mystic river, in consideration of his father's 
military services, and in the next year, one 
hundred and fifty acres more, about which 
there had been some disagreement. In 1654 
he moved with his family to the east side of 
the Mystic river, now Stonington, and was 
one of the early settlers of that town. He 
was deputy to the general court in 1665-67. 
He was also an Indian interpreter. Although 
he was over sixty years old when King 
Philip's war broke out, he joined with Cap- 
tain John Mason, of Norwich, at the head 
of the Mohegans. These troops were en- 
gaged in the Swamp fight at Narragansett, 
December 19, 1675. He was one of the six 
captains who were killed in this fight. He 
married, in 1643, at Boston, Elizabeth Han- 
nah, daughter of John and Margaret Lake, 
and granddaughter of Edmund Read, Esq., of 
Wickford, county Essex, England. Her 
mother was sister of Elizabeth Read, who 
married John Winthrop, Jr., governor of Con- 
necticut. Children : Hannah, born at Boston, 
September 14, 1644: John, mentioned below; 
Esther, born at Taunton, Massachusetts, 
March 24, 1653 : Benadam. at Stonington, 
1655; William, 1658; Samuel; Christobel, 
married, December 31, 1677, Peter Crary,. 
of Groton ; Elizabeth, married Henry Stevens, 
of Stonington ; Mary, married John Cole, of 
Boston; Margaret, married Joseph Culver, of 

(VII) John (6), son of Captain John (5) 
Gallup, was born in 1646, died April 14, 1735. 
He settled in Stonington and was deputy to 
the general court in 1685-96-97-98. He served 
with his father in King Philip's war, and was 
on friendly terms with the Indians, and often 
acted as interpreter. He acted as interpreter 
in 1701 for the committee for renewing the 
bounds of the Winthrop land purchase at 
Plainfield, Connecticut, where he owned land. 
He married, in 1675, Elizabeth, born at Ips- 
wich, February 8, 1654, daughter of Thomas 
and Martha (Lake) Harris, and granddaugh- 
ter of Madame Margaret Lake. Children : 
John, born 1675 ! Thomas, 1682 ; Martha, bap- 
tized April 2, 1683 ; Samuel, baptized Octo- 
ber 9, 1687; Elizabeth, baptized July T4, 1689: 
Nathaniel, baptized July 4, 1692, mentioned 
below ; William, baptized May 26, 1695 ; Ben- 
jamin, baptized November 1, 1696. 

(VIII) Nathaniel, son of John (6) Gallup, 

9 o 


was born at Stonington, 1692. He married 
Margaret, daughter of Benadam and Esther 
(Prentice) Gallup, June 4, 1717. He and his 
wife were admitted to the First Church of 
Stonington, July 20, 1718. He died April 3, 
1739, and his wife died March 2, 1761. Chil- 
dren: Nathaniel, born April 29, 1718, men- 
tioned below; John, January 29, 1720; 
Thomas, April 19, 1722, died young; Mercy, 
April 7, 1725; Thomas, August 26, 1727; 
Margaret, October 12, 1730; Martha, July 30, 
1733; Benjamin, July 26, 1736. 

(IX) Nathaniel (2), son of Nathaniel (1) 
Gallup, was born at Stonington, April 29, 
1 718. He married Hannah (Gore) Burrows, 
widow of Silas Burrows, and daughter of 
Samuel Gore, of Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
November 24, 1742. Her ancestors were 
among the founders and earlier officers of 
Harvard College. Christopher Gore, fellow of 
Harvard College, commissioner of England 
and governor of Massachusetts, gave to it 
the endowment which bears its name. Nath- 
aniel Gallup lived in Stonington, and died Jan- 
uary 11, 1786. His wife died March 19, 1810, 
aged ninety. Children: Nathaniel, born June 
4, 1744, drowned at sea, aged twenty; Sam- 
uel, August 9, 1746. mentioned below; Silas, 
March 9, 1749; George, March 20, 1751 ; 
Margaret, March 20, 1753; Amos, August 1, 
1755; Hannah, August 22, 1757; Levi, March 
26, 1760; Ezra, March 13, 1763. 

(X) Samuel, son of Nathaniel (2) Gallup, 
was born at Stonington, August 9, 1746. He 
married (first) Jemima Enos, at Stonington, 
January 1, 1768. He married (second) Sara 

. Soon after the revolutionary war he, 

with his brothers Levi, Silas and Ezra, their 
cousin, John Gallup, and several other fam- 
ilies from Groton and Stonington, established 
a settlement in Albany county. New York, in 
the towns of Knox and Berne. He died April 
25, 1826; his first wife died December 15, 
1795, aged forty-nine, and his second wife 
died September 1, 1802. Children: Joshua, 
August 4, 1769; Nathaniel, November 16, 
1770, mentioned below; Samuel, July 8, 1772; 
Anna, February 3, 1774; Hannah, October 
x 5> 1775; John Enos, July 17, 1777; Jemima, 
September 2j, 1780; Lydia, February 16, 
1784; Nathan, May 3, 1786. 

(XI) Nathaniel (3), son of Samuel Gal- 
lup, was born at Stonington, November 16, 
1770. He married Lucy, daughter of Captain 
William Latham and his wife Eunice, of Gro- 
ton, March 27, 1794. Captain Latham was 
second in command at the massacre of Fort 
Griswold, and was severely wounded, but re- 
covered ; he died January 27, 1792, and his 
wife died March 5, 1799. Lucy Latham was 

twelve years old at the time of the battle and 
often related to her grandchildren the story 
of that memorable day. Lamby, the old col- 
ored servant, gathered the family together as 
soon as the British appeared at Eastern Point, 
and drove them to the Avery house two miles 
away, and then hurried back to the fort, and 
fought by the side of his master, and was 
killed. His name is on the monument at 
Groton as Sambo, but it should be Lambo, as 
his name was Lambert. Samuel Gallup, fath- 
er of Nathaniel, moved with his family to 
Albany county, New York, soon after the rev- 
olution. Nathaniel returned to Groton and 
married there. There is a record that he 
sailed from Groton for Albany in Captain 
Berry's sloop, in 1795. He settled in Berne,. 
Albany county, after his return to New York- 
state. He died April 20, 1834, and his wife 
died February 1, 1862. Children: Albert, 
born January 30, 1796; Nathaniel, October 2. 
1798 ; Eunice, mentioned below. 

(XII) Eunice, daughter of Nathaniel (3) 
Gallup, was born at Berne, Albany county, 
New York, October 5, 1800. She married 
William Denison, July 15, 1823 (see Deni- 
son VIII). They lived at Berne for some 
years, and at Stillwater for several years be- 
fore their death. He died January 16, 1874,. 
and she died June 5, 1878. Children : Wil- 
liam Latham, born April 11, 1824; Sabina v 
July 11, 1826; Lucy Latham, February 24, 
1829; Albert Gallup, March 24, 1830; Eliza- 
beth, August 26, 1833 ; Caroline, September 
2 3> J &37 J Emily, May 8, 1840. 

The Coan family is of German de- 
COAN scent, and has long been estab- 
lished in New England. In 1715 
three brothers came from Worms, Germany. 
Their parents, who accompanied them on the 
emigrant ship, died on the voyage, and the 
boys consequently landed in America in a des- 
titute condition. The two older brothers were 
apprenticed to Deacon Mulford, of East 
Hampton, Long Island, where they remained 
until their marriage, after which they removed 
to Guilford, Connecticut, where they passed 
the remainder of their lives. The other 
brother, Abraham, left no record of his life 
or family. 

(I) Peter Coan, one of the brothers afore- 
mentioned, was born in Worms, Germany, 
1697. He resided in East Hampton, Long 
Island, where he married Hannah Davis, and 
subsequently removed to North Guilford, Con- 
necticut, where his death occurred October 31, 
1799. Children: John, mentioned below; Lu- 
cretia, Rebecca, Jacob, born 1734; MabeL 
Abraham, Hannah, Martha, Elisha ; William,. 



born February 24, 1747; Mary, born July 30, 

(II) John, eldest son of Peter and Hannah 
(Davis) Coan, was born in East Hampton, 
Long Island, December, 1729, died at Guil- 
ford, Connecticut, October 18, 1795. He ac- 
companied his parents to Guilford in 1736, 
and there spent the remainder of his days. 
He married (first) in 1752, Mabel Chitten- 
den, born November 5, 1737, died May 12, 
1787. He married (second) Widow Francis. 
Children: Olive, died February 12, 1849; Ma- 
bel, born 1758; Josiah, November 20, 1760; 
John, January, 1763; Rebecca, 1765; Sime- 
on, died November 5, 1815; Submit, born 
December 7, 1769; Lucretia; Abraham, No- 
vember 9, 1774; Richard Davis, mentioned 

(III) Richard Davis, youngest son of John 
and Mabel (Chittenden) Coan, was born at 
Guilford, Connecticut. He spent the greater 
part of his life in the place of his birth, and 
being a builder by occupation erected many 
houses and public buildings there. Later he 
removed to New Haven, where he was ac- 
tively engaged in the building business, a 
member of the lumber and manufacturing firm 
of Lewis & Beecher Company, who conducted 
large planing mills, and was one of the lead- 
ing industries of the city. He was known 
by the title of major, commanding the Guil- 
ford troops on muster day. He was very 
prominent in the work of St. Paul's Episcopal 
Church, and later in the Church of the As- 
cension, and being a musician of note was 
active in the choirs of both churches. After 
his removal to New Haven, Mr. Coan built 
a fine residence on Wooster street, which was 
at that time the finest residential section of 
the city. 

He married Flora Hitchcock. Chil- 
dren: Charles Richard, mentioned below; 
Francis, Bennett Fowler, Ella, Augusta, Wil- 
liam Arthur. Mr. Coan died of old age, about 

(IV) Charles Richard, son of Richard Da- 
vis and Flora (Hitchcock) Coan, was born 
at Guilford, Connecticut, August 5, 1838. He 
came to New Haven during his boyhood, and 
he began his business career by assisting his 
father in his building operations. Later he 
entered the New Haven County National 
Bank, serving as teller, after which he en- 
gaged in the insurance business with the Se- 
curity Insurance Company. While in their 
employ, in 1861, he enlisted in the United 
States army for service in the civil war, and 
recruiting a company, nearlv all of whom 
were from his old home in Guilford, he was 
made first lieutenant, and served under Cap- 

tain White, Company E, Fifteenth Regiment, 
Connecticut Volunteers; subsequently he was 
taken sick and was honorably discharged 
from service. Returning to New Haven he 
engaged in the book and stationery business, 
conducting the same for many years,' and 
after disposing of it accepted the position of 
manager of the local department of the Se- 
curity Insurance Company, with which he was 
identified early in life. He retired from busi- 
ness in 1905, and is now enjoying the fruit 
of his former activity. He is a Republican 
in politics, but takes no active part with the 
exception of casting his vote. He resides in 
New Haven, and is honored and respected by 
all with whom he is brought in contact. He 
married Anna Read, daughter of George Bald- 
win, and granddaughter of -— and Maria 

(Sherman) Baldwin, the former of whom was 
a soldier in the revolution. Among their chil- 
dren was George Richard, who is further men- 
tioned below. 

(V) George Richard, son of Charles Rich- 
ard and Anna Read (Baldwin) Coan, was 
born in New Haven, Connecticut, December 
21, 1865. 

He acquired his education in the pub- 
lic schools, and after completing his stud- 
ies became associated with his father in the 
book business. Later he accepted a position 
as salesman for a cigar and tobacco firm, in 
which capacity he served until 1890, when he 
resigned in order to engage in the insurance 
business with his father. For many years he 
was a member of the firm of C. R. Coan & 
Son, now Coan & Bunnell, general insurance 
agents, and manager of local department of 
the Security Insurance Company, with offices 
at No. S7 Center street, New Haven. Mr. 
Coan is a man of enterprise and integrity, pro- 
gressive and straightforward in his methods, 
and is well known and esteemed in the busi- 
ness circles of his native city. He is a mem- 
ber of St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church 
of New Haven, and his political affiliations 
are with the Republican party. He holds mem- 
bership in the New Haven Colony Historical 
Society, the Union League Club, the Young 
Men's Institute, the Young Men's Republican 
Club of New Haven, the Automobile Club of 
New Haven, the Chamber of Commerce of 
New Haven, the Veteran Association of the 
New Haven Bicycle Club. He married 
(first) December 21, 1887, Lucy Mansfield 
Bulkeley, born March 19, 1870, died July 16, 
1888. He married (second) in 1892, Mary 
Lenora, daughter of John B. and Helen 
(Baldwin) Bunnell, of Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut. The only child of the first wife died in 

9 2 


Richard Billings, immigrant 
BILLINGS ancestor, was granted six 

acres of land in Hartford in 
1640. He signed a contract with Governor 
Webster and others to remove and settle at 
Hadley in 1659. In 1661 he removed there 
and lived in that part of the town which be- 
came Hatfield. He died March 3, 1679. He 
married Margery , who died Decem- 
ber 5, 1679. They had a son Samuel, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) Samuel, son of Richard Billings, re- 
sided in Hatfield and died there February 1, 
1678. He married, in 1661, Sarah, daughter 
of Richard and Ursula Fellows. She married 
(second) October 9, 1678, Samuel Belden Jr., 
and died February 5, 1713. Children: Sam- 
uel, born January 8, 1665, mentioned below; 
Ebenezer, October 29, 1669; Sarah, died, July 
15, 1674; Richard, born April 7, 1672; John, 
October 11, 1674, killed by the Indians, July 
15. 1698; Sarah, October 18, 1676. 

(III) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1) Bil- 
lings, was born in Hatfield, January 8, 1665. 
He married (first) November 18, 1686, Han- 
nah Wright, who died November 18, 1687; 
(second) Rebecca Miller, widow, born March 
26, 1 661, daughter of John and Sarah 
(jleald) Miller. Children: Samuel; Sarah, 
March 15, 1697; Joseph, November 15, 1700, 
mentioned below ; Zechariah, November 29, 
1702 ; Benjamin, January 18, 1705. 

(IV) Joseph, son of Samuel (2) Billings, 
was born in Hatfield, November 15, 1700, died 
there about 1783. He was one of a company 
organized to fight the Indians. He married, 
January 7, 1726, Elizabeth (Colton) Kellogg, 
born April 5, 1686, daughter of Thomas and 
Sarah Colton, of Springfield. He had a son 
Josepb, mentioned below. 

(V) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) Bil- 
lings, was, with his father, his father's broth- 
ers, Benjamin, Zechariah and Samuel, and 
his own cousin, Benjamin, Jr., among a com- 
pany of about seventy men who, in or about 
1763, petitioned Governor Benning Went- 
worth, of New Hampshire, for a grant of 
land. On August 17, 1763, they were gran- 
ted a royal charter by George III, of twenty- 
three thousand and forty acres of land on the 
borders of Lake Champlain, to be incorpora- 
ted into the town of Swanton, yielding and 
paying therefor, for the space of ten years 
from December 25, 1763, annually, if de- 
manded, the rent of one ear of Indian corn, 
also one shilling to be paid annually forever, 
by each proprietor, for every hundred acres 
he owns, settles or possesses. This charter 
is a remarkably interesting document, begin- 
ning: "George the Third — by grace of God, 

of Great Britain, France and Ireland, King, 
defender of the Faith etc.," and ending: "By 
His Excellency's Command, B. Wentworth, 
Province of New Hampshire, Aug. 17, 1763." 
The names signed to this charter as grantees 
include those of the four brothers, Joseph, 
Benjamin, Zechariah and Samuel Billings; 
Joseph Billings, Jr., Benjamin Billings, Jr., 
also Asa, David, Silas and Samuel Billings. 
Joseph, Jr., was possibly later of Windsor, 
Vermont. No Billings was ever an original 
land holder in Windsor. 

(VI) Rufus, son of Joseph (2) Billings, 
was a resident of Windsor, Vermont, and had 
a son Ethan F., mentioned below. 

(VII) Ethan F., son of Rufus Billings, 
was born in Windsor, Vermont, January 27, 
1807, died September 11, 1848. He was a 
blacksmith by trade. He married Clarissa M., 
daughter of James Marsh, of Rockingham, 
Vermont. Child : Charles Ethan, mentioned 

(VIII) Charles Ethan, son of Ethan F. Bil- 
lings, was born December 5, 1835, in Wind- 
sor, Vermont. His parents removed to Wea- 
thersfield, Vermont, when he was young, and 
he received his early education in the public 
schools of that town. In 1852, when seven- 
teen years of age, he was apprenticed for 
three years to the Robbins & Lawrence Com- 
pany, machinists and gun makers at Windsor. 
By the terms of indenture the mother agreed 
to provide for her son at her own expense, 
board, lodging, clothing, etc., and the com- 
pany agreed to instruct him in the art and 
trade of a machinist, and to pay him for his 
services fifty, fifty-five and sixty cents per 
day for the first, second, and third years re- 
spectively. Along in the middle fifties he 
went to Hartford, Connecticut, and in June, 
1856, was employed by the Colt Arms Com- 
pany, working as a die-sinker in the forging 
department. The drop hammer then in use 
was quite complicated and expensive to keep 
in repair, and the young machinist soon be- 
came convinced that the work could be done 
in an easier way. In 1862 he began working 
in the gun factories of E. Remington & Sons 
in Utica, New York, where he formulated 
his ideas gained from experience and obser- 
vation in the Colt's Armory, and built up, 
though with doubts of his employers, a plant 
for drop forgings which increased the effi- 
ciency of labor forty-fold in the production of 
various parts of their pistols. Here he de- 
vised a new method of forcing the metal into 
the frame, which saved the company $50,- 
000 on their; contracts. Returning to Hart- 
ford in 1865, he was for the next three years 
acting superintendent of the manufacturing 



department of the -Weed Sewing Machine 
Company. Here he introduced drop hammers 
for forging several parts of the machine, not- 
ably the shuttles, which before had been made 
in several pieces, brazed together. In 1867 
Mr. Billings patented his invention for forg- 
ing them from a single piece of bar steel, 
running four pairs of dies for the operation. 
This process reduced the cost of shuttles one- 
half, and has been universally adopted. His 
present company has made upwards of four 
millions of them. After a short absence in 
Amherst, Massachusetts, at the close of his 
term with the Weed Company, Mr. Billings, 
in 1869, settled permanently at Hartford, and 
at this time associated with C. M. Spencer 
and organized the Roper Sporting Arms Com- 
pany, which at the very outset experienced 
severe reverses in the manufacture of the Ro- 
per sporting gun. Mr. Billings then organ- 
ised the Billings & Spencer Company, which 
in 1870 took up drop forgings as a specialty, 
and soon advanced to a commanding posi- 

Mr. Billings's life work has been in the 
main given to the development of the business 
of drop forgings. He early saw the great sav- 
ing of labor to be effected, as well as the im- 
provement which could be made in numerous 
small parts of machines. Starting from the 
crude efforts of several persons who preceded 
him in that line, he has brought the art up to 
its present high standard. By his method, 
bars of iron, steel bronze or copper can be 
transformed into pieces of irregular shape 
and size with rapidity and precision. The 
dies are made from blocks of the best bar 
steel, and in these are cut the form of the 
article to be forged one-half of the thickness 
in the lower and the other half in the upper 
die, and both parts are then hardened to the 
proper temper. One die is fastened to the 
base, and its counterpart to the hammer of 
the drop. Where the shape to be produced 
is unusually complicated, a series of dies is 
used, and red-hot bars are subjected to the 
blows of the hammer until the desired figure 
is reached. Guided by the uprights of pow- 
erful frames, hammers weighing from three 
hundred to three thousand pounds fall from 
one to six feet, and a few rapid blows com- 
plete this part of the process. The forgings 
are then passed on to other rooms, to be fin- 
ished and polished. At this time the company 
operates seventy-five drop hammers. While 
passing through the Edison Electric Works in 
1886, Mr. Billings noted the existing method 
of making commutator bars. These are "L" 
shaped pieces of copper set at an angle to 
each other. Horizontal bars, thin and wedge- 

like, separated by some non-conducting sub- 
star ce, are placed side by side around the 
shaft of the dynamo and bound firmly to- 
gether. Electricity is generated by the fric- 
tion of metallic brushes revolving at high 
speed against the edges of the bars. These 
bars were then made in two pieces, united 
pins and solder, and, as the current was 
partly broken, the best results could not be ob- 
tained. Mr. Billings here saw an opportun- 
ity, and returning home, he cut the dies, and 
in less than three weeks sent to the Edison 
Company an invoice of bars forced in a sin- 
gle piece from pure copper, and having a 
homogeneous molecular structure throughout. 
The material is of the greatest possible den- 
sity. By this invention of Mr. Billings, the 
cost of bars was greatly diminished and their 
efficiency increased in like degree. A good 
proof of their success is the fact that they 
almost immediately sprang into favor with 
electric companies. The catalogue of the 
Billings & Spencer Company embraces a large 
variety of standard articles, made of sizes to 
suit the trade, and carried in stock. It in- 
cludes screw plates, dies, reamers, wrenches, 
ratchet drills, lathe-dogs, clamps, lathe tools, 
combination pliers, admitting a wide range of 
adjustment, vises, surface guages, sewing ma- 
chine shuttles, thumb-screws, pistol frames 
and barrels, breech-loading shot guns, solid 
eye bolts, carbon tongs, magazine screw driv- 
ers, spinning rings and similar articles, many 
being the invention of Mr. Billings himself. 
His adjustable pocket wrench, graduated to 
one thirty-second of an inch, is specially suited 
to the bicycle, and one million have been sold. 
Manufacturers of electrical apparatus, sewing 
machines, gas fittings, guns, pistols, pumps, 
automobiles and other standard goods, have 
many pieces which enter into their product 
forged here at the works of the Billings & 
Spencer Company. 

The company has made frequent enlarge- 
ments in the endeavor to keep up with the de- 
mand for their goods. In 1889 they built a 
new forge room, forty by ninety feet, and the 
next year continued it to Lawrence street with 
an L forty feet square, for a repair shop. 
At the same time the capacity of the steam 
plant was doubled. In the summer of 1892 
they broke ground for a new building, which 
extends two hundred and twenty-eight feet on 
Lawrence, and one hundred and seventy feet 
on Russ street, with a breadth of forty feet. 
Two stories of brick rest on a brownstone 
basement. At the corner, where the offices 
are located, the structure rises to three stories, 
surmounted by a tower. Everywhere in the 
new construction careful provision has been 



made for the comfort and health of the em- 
ployees. The forge rooms are very high, and 
ventilated under the roof. The offices are 
high, and finished in hard woods. Besides 
these; nearly every season brings less con- 
spicuous additions. At the close of 1896 the 
floor space exceeded eighty-one thousand 
square feet. The appliances in use have been 
so modified and improved by the patented in- 
ventions of Mr. Billings, that other concerns, 
requiring drop hammers as a part of their 
outfit, come to him for equipment. The rapid 
growth of electric equipment and the demand 
for safe and durable methods, led the com- 
pany to enter this field also, and they now 
furnish a full line of drop forgings for this 
purpose. Over three hundred men are em- 
ployed at the works located at Broad, Law- 
rence & Russ streets, Hartford, and the com- 
pany is the leading concern in its line in the 
world. The company is up-to-date in every 
particular, and uses the utmost care in every 
department of their great works. Their dies 
are stored in fireproof brick vaults, warmed 
sufficiently by steam to prevent rust, and sep- 
arated by a safe distance from the other build- 
ings. The manufactured stock is also stored 
in another fire-proof vault, similarly kept dry 
and warm. An all-pervasive force in the de- 
velopment of this great business has been the 
inventive genius of Mr. Billings. The drop- 
forging business owes much to his ability 
and persistence. His success as a manager 
of industries in phenomenal. 

Mr. Billings is president of the Billings & 
Spencer Company, of the National Machine 
Company of Hartford, of the C. E. Billings 
Manufacturing Company of Rocky Hill, Con- 
necticut ; president and trustee of the State 
Savings Bank: vice-president of the Ameri- 
can Specialty Company of Hartford ; trustee 
of the Hartford Trust Company and the State 
Savings Banks, and a director of the Hart- 
ford Board of Trade. He is not only a man 
of much local prominence, but is also well 
known throughout the country. On October 
2, 1895, he was elected president of the Amer- 
ican Society of Mechanical Engineers, to com- 
plete the unexpired term of E. F. C. Davis, 
who was accidentally killed. After the ex- 
piration of his term he was made an hon- 
orary member in perpetuity and a member of 
the honorable council of the society. He had 
previously been senior vice-president. This 
society comprises two thousand or more of 
the leading mechanical engineers of America 
and Europe. At one time Mr. Billings was 
a member of the First Regiment, National 
Guard of Connecticut. 

In the midst of his varied business inter- 

ests Mr. Billings has not turned a deaf ear 
to the solicitations of his friends and fellow- 
citizens to take part in civil affairs. He has 
been a member of the common council of 
Hartford, for four years represented the third 
ward of that city in its board of aldermen, 
and in that capacity exerted an important in- 
fluence in molding legislation for the best in- 
terests of the city. He also held the office 
of president of the board of fire commission- 
ers for twelve years. He is a prominent and 
influential Republican. As a Free Mason of 
the thirty-third degree he is familiar with all 
the York and Scottish degrees ; is an honorary 
member of the Supreme Council, Ancient and 
Accepted Scottish Rite ; also of the Royal Or- 
der of Scotland, and has local membership in 
the Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar, having previously held the position of 
grand commander of the grand commandery 
of the state. He is connected with the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church of Hartford. He 
is a member also of the Hartford Club, the 
Home Market Club of Boston and the Amer- 
ican Protective Tariff League. He has a 
farm and summer home at Dividend, town of 
Rocky Hill, Connecticut, and finds much 
pleasure in outdoor work and sports, espe- 
cially hunting and fishing. A gentleman of 
the most attractive personal character and one 
of the foremost business men of New Eng- 
land, Mr. Billings, both in private life and 
as a public official, is honored and highly es- 
teemed by the residents of the flourishing 
community in which he has so long lived and 
deservedly prospered, and in which he occu- 
pies so enviable a position. Mr. Billings mar- 
ried (first) January 5, 1857, Frances M. Hey- 
wood, who died in 1872, daughter of Williard 
Heywood, of Cornish, New Hampshire. He 
married (second) September 9, 1874, Evelina 
C, daughter of L. H. Holt, of Hartford. 
Children of first wife : Charles H., born 
Springfield, Massachusetts, July 13, 1861, died 
in infancy ; Fred Edward, born Utica, New 
York, October 21, 1864, superintendent and 
vice-president of the Billings & Spencer Com- 
pany; Harry E., born Hartford, Connecticut, 
December 23, 1868. Children of second wife: 
Mary E., born October 22, 1877, Hartford, 
Connecticut, married William B. Green, of 
New York; Lucius H., born June 26, 1879, at 
Hartford, Connecticut. 

The surname Storrs is of Scan- 

STORRS dinavian or rather Teutonic 

origin, the word meaning great, 

in the sense of rule, power, authority. In 

old Norse it is Stor ; in Anglo-Saxon, Stor or 

Stur; in German, Stur: in English, Stor, 


Storr, Storrs. The surname has been spelled early town meetings were held at his house. 

in a great variety of ways. We find the sur- A monument was erected to his memory in 

name as early as 1278 when Rogerus de 1879, by Charles Storrs, of New York, the 

Stures and son, Rudolphus de Stures, of Beck- family historian. His will was dated May 17, 

fontes, England, were of record. It is thought 1717- He married, December 6, 1666, Mary 

that all the English Storrs are of the same Huckins, of Barnstable, born 1646, died Sep- 

stock. tember 24," 1683, daughter of Thomas Huc- 

(I) William Storrs, to whom the American kins, who was a member of the Boston Ar- 
family is traced in England, lived in Notting- tillery Company and standard bearer in 1639. 
hamshire. His will dated 1557 expressed his She was a member of the church in 1683. He 
wish to be buried in St. Bartholomew's. He married (second) December 14, 1685, Esther 

married Dorothy . Children : Robert, Agard, widow, who had a son John by her 

William, Elizabeth, Dyonice and Ellen. first marriage. Children of first wife: Mary, 

(II) Robert, son of William Storrs, lived born December 31, 1667; Sarah, January 26, 
in Nottinghamshire and died there in 1588. 1670; Hannah, March 28, 1672; Elizabeth, 

He married (first) Mabel , who may May 31, 1675; Samuel, May 17, 1677; Lydia, 

have been of the Cordall family, for their son June, 1679 ; Mehitable, baptized September 

Cordall was the first of the family bearing 17, 1683; Children of second wife: Thomas, 

the surname of this old Devonshire family as October 27, 1686; Esther, October, 1688; Cor- 

a personal name. Child of the first wife: dall, October 14, 1692. 

Cordall, mentioned below. Children of sec- (VI) Thomas (2), son of Samuel Storrs, 

ond wife : Robert, who died in 1658, John, was born at Barnstable, October 27, 1686, 

Dorothy and Anne. died at Mansfield, April 4, 1755. He removed 

(III) Cordall, son of Robert Storrs, in his to Mansfield about 1698, and was clerk of the 
will of February, 161 5, mentions his mother proprietors there and clerk of the town. From 
Mabel and brothers, John and Robert ; sisters, 1740 to 1748 he was justice of the peace; 
Dorothy and Anne ; uncles, John and Nicho- member of the general assembly of Connec- 
las Hammond, supervisors. Children : Thorn- ticut forty-three sessions between October, 
as, William and Mary. 1716, and May, 1747. He held various other 

(IV) Thomas, son of Cordall Storrs, was offices of trust and honor and was a very 
baptized April 25, 1605. He married Mary capable and prominent citizen. He was called 

. The names of his children are found captain in records as early as 1742, and in 

in the will of his uncle, Robert Storrs, a very that year was on a committee to look for a 

aged man, who died in 1661 and was buried minister to succeed Rev. Eleazer Williams. 

December 23, 1661. Children: Thomas, bap- He married, at Mansfield, March 14, 1708, 

tized January 27, 1632, at Sutton cum Lound, Mehitable ■ — , who died March 10, 1776, 

Nottinghamshire, England ; Cordall, baptized according to her gravestone at Mansfield, 

there September 21, 1635, died 1698; George, Children: Mehitable, born March 30, 1709; 

baptized April 29, 1638, died 1653; Samuel, Rebecca, August 29, 1710; Zerviah, August 

baptized December 7, 1640, mentioned below; 27, 1812; Cornelius, December 30, 1714; 

Joseph, baptized August 20, 1643; Elizabeth, Thomas, January 16, 1716-17; mentioned be- 

baptized February 8, 1648; Mary, baptized low; Prince, March 12, 1718-19; Josiah, 

November 2, 1650. March 25, 1721 ; Judah, September 26, 1723; 

(V) Samuel, son of Thomas Storrs, was Lemuel, March 13, 1725; Amariah, June n, 
the immigrant ancestor, born at Sutton cum 1728; Anne, January 18, 1731-32. 

Lound, Nottingham, and baptized there De- (VII) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) 
cember 7, 1640. In 1663 he came to Barn- Storrs, was born at Mansfield, January 16, 
stable, Massachusetts, and was admitted to 1716-17. He was a farmer all his life at 
the church there March 8, 1685. He removed Mansfield, and died there May 14, 1802, ac- 
to Mansfield in 1698 and died there April 3, cording to his gravestone. He married, Feb- 
T719. in his seventy-ninth year. He is buried ruary 27, 1743. Eunice, daughter of Robert 
in the old burying ground in the south parish, Paddock, of Mansfield. She died May 2, 1795, 
the oldest in Tolland county. He was one according to her gravestone. Children, born 
of the original members of the Mansfield at Mansfield: Zervia, January 6, 1744; Dan- 
church. The first deed of record in that part iel, February 7, 1748, mentioned below; Eu- 
of Windham, now Mansfield, was given to nice, May 28, 1750; Martha, June 1, 1752; 
Samuel Storrs by a number of Norwich men Thomas, August 25, 1754; Seth, January 24, 
in 1700. He owned various other parcels of 1756; Zalmon, August 30, 1758; Heman, Sep- 
land later. He was active in town affairs, tember 27, 1761. 
held various town offices, and many of the (VIII) Dan (Daniel), son of Thomas (3) 



Storrs, was born February 7, 1748, at Mans- 
field. He was a soldier in the revolution, 
one of the Lexington alarm men, a quarter- 
master of a Connecticut regiment and was 
at White Plains. He was an active and 
enterprising citizen, assisting the government 
materially by the manufacture of salt-peter, 
and by his ardent patriotism. He earnestly 
supported Washington and opposed the poli- 
cies of Jefferson. He was for many years a 
merchant at Mansfield, both wholesale and 
retail, and for twenty-five years conducted a 
hotel there, known far and wide as the Dan 
Storrs Tavern, which is still standing. He 
was also a prosperous farmer and owned 
much land. He left a large estate in Mans- 
field, Ashford, Willington and Tolland. He 
was for many years banker for this section. 
His store was on the corner of Main street, 
.Mansfield, and the road to Ashford. In phy- 
sique he was tall, large and robust, and in 
manner courteous and obliging. After the 
fashion of his day he wore a queue. He died 
January 3, 183 1. His gravestone is at Mans- 
field. He married, January 5, 1775, Ruth, 
daughter of Colonel Shubael Coeant, of 
Mansfield, granddaughter of Rev. Eleazer 
Williams. His wife died April 18, 1792 
( gravestone record) and he married (second) 
October 28. 1793, Mary, daughter of Constant 
Southworth of Mansfield. Children, born at 
Mansfield: Origen, October 11, 1775; Zal- 
mon, December 18, 1779, mentioned below; 
Juba, March 9, 1782; Sophronia, March 2, 
1784; Selina, June 29, 1786; Lucius, June 23, 
1789; Egbert, February~7, 1792. Children of 
second wife: Egbert, January 18, 1795; Ma- 
ria, July 9, 1800; Delia. July 1, 1806. 

(IX) Zalmon, son of Dan Storrs, was born 
December 18, 1779. He graduated from 
Yale in the class of 1801, and studied law in 
the office of Thomas S. Williams, then of 
Mansfield, later of Hartford, Connecticut, and 
chief justice of the state. Zalmon gave up 
the practice of law when his brother Origen 
died and went to work for his father in 
the store, succeeding his father in business. 
He was postmaster for twenty years and of- 
ten represented the town in the general as- 
sembly of the state. He was justice of the 
peace until he reached the age limit. He held 
various other offices of trust, and in 1831 and 
1834 was the candidate for governor of the 
state, nominated by the anti-Masonic party, 
but was not elected. He was one of the 
prime movers in manufacturing silk thread 
by machinery in that part of Connecticut. He 
had a factory at Mansfield Hollow in 1835 in 
partnership with his son, Dan P. Storrs. Zal- 
mon Storrs was a prominent member and 

leader in the First Congregational Church of 
Mansfield. In person he was tall and slender, 
quick to move, upright and conscientious in 
business. He died February 17, 1867. He 
married (first) April 26, 1804, Cynthia, born 
December 12, 1780, died April 17, 1833, 
daughter of Josiah Stowell, of Mansfield. He 
married (second) November 10, 1835, Clar- 
issa M. Stowell, widow, of Middlebury, Ver- 
mont, and she died December 9, 1869. Chil- 
dren of first wife: Origen, born February 22, 
1805 ; Dan Paddock. February 6, 1807 ; Aus- 
tin C, June 2, 1810; Zalmon A., July 31, 1813, 
mentioned below ; Cynthia S., February 27, 
1816, married Flerbert Campbell; Susan M., 
February 14, 1823, married, October 22, 1844, 
Leonard C. Dewing; Delia, October 27, 1824, 
married, October 27, 1852, Joab E. Cushman. 

(X) Zalmon Austin, son of Zalmon Storrs, 
was born at Mansfield, July 31, 1813. He at- 
tended the district schools of his native town 
and the academy at Greenwich, Connecticut, 
and Monson, Massachusetts, and graduated 
from Middlebury College, Vermont, in the 
class of 1835. He studied law in the school 
at Litchfield, Connecticut, with his cousin, 
Origen Storrs Seymour, afterward chief jus- 
tice of the state, and was admitted to the bar 
and began to practice in the town of Tol- 
land, Connecticut. He was elected judge of 
probate of Tolland district, and after a num- 
ber of years judge of the Tolland county 
court. He removed to Hartford, Connecticut, 
December 2, 1852, and practiced his profession 
with ability and credit until 1868. For a time 
he was a law partner of W. W. Eaton, after- 
ward United States senator. From July 29, 
1868, he was vice-president of the Charter 
Oak Life Insurance Company until the close 
of 1872. He was elected treasurer of the 
Society for Savings at Hartford, January 8, 
1873, and filled that office to the utmost sat- 
isfaction of all concerned to the end of his 
life. He died February 22, 1890. He held 
various other private and public trusts, and 
was for many years one of the prominent 
figures in the financial circles of Hartford. 
He was slender in build, of medium height, 
having dark hair, attractive in personality, 
and enjoying the respect and confidence of 
the entire community. In politics he was a 
Republican. He was a member of the Pearl 
Street Congregational Church, which is known 
since the change of location as the Farming- 
ton Avenue Church. He married, July 28, 
1864, Mary, daughter of Lewis and Ruth 
(Burnham) Rowell (see Rowell VII). They 
had but one child, Lewis Austin, mentioned 

(XI) Lewis Austin, son of Zalmon Austin 



Storrs, was born at Hartford, August 28, 
1866. He attended the public schools there 
and graduated from the Brown grammar 
school in 1881 ; from the Hartford public high 
school, April 24, 1885, and from Yale Col- 
lege in the class of 1889 w ^h the degree of 
A.B. He took a special course in natural 
history at Trinity College, Hartford, from 
which he received the degree of M.A. in 1905. 
He attended the Columbia Law School in 
1889-90 and was admitted to the bar in New 
York City, September 17, 1891. He was as- 
sociated for a time with the law firm of Car- 
rington & Emerson of New York, and he 
practiced in that city until May, 1898. He 
was admitted to the bar of Connecticut, Janu- 
ary 10, 1899, and since then has practiced his 
profession in Hartford, Connecticut. He was 
for two years a member of Troop C, National 
Guard of New York. He is a member of 
the Yale Club of New York, the University 
Club of Hartford, the Hartford Yacht Club 
and the Connecticut Society, Sons of the 
American Revolution. He and his family at- 
tend the Farmington Avenue Congregational 
Church. He married, July 3, 1894, at Brook- 
lyn, New York, Bessie, born in Brooklyn, Au- 
gust 29, 1870, daughter of William Titus and 
Elizabeth (Himrod) Whitmore. Her father 
was assistant paymaster in the United States 
navy in the civil war, stationed mostly off 
Virginia in the North Atlantic squadron ; took 
part in the battle at Fort Fisher on board the 
United States gunboat "Mackinaw," of which 
he was paymaster about two years ; he had 
formerly been on the "Valley City" ; he was a 
woolen merchant in New York for many 
years. Children : John Whitmore, born Au- 
gust 17, 1895, at Brooklyn ; Ruth Rowell, Feb- 
ruary 8, 1897, at Brooklyn ; Una Hampton, 
June 13, 1898, at Southampton, New York; 
Marabeth, November 26, 1899, at Hartford ; 
Lewis Austin Jr., August 12, 1903, at Hart- 
ford ; Robert, August 14, 1907, at Madison, 

(The Rowell Line). 

The surname Rowell is of ancient English 
origin, derived from some place name at the 
time of the adoption of surnames in England. 
Many of the family in England as well as 
America have been distinguished in various 
walks of life. There are several coats-of- 
arms borne by Rowley families in the old coun- 
try. The name was spelled in various ways, 
and some of the common forms are Rowell. 
Rowley, Rowlee, all of which are still in 
common use. The immigrant, mentioned be- 
low, from whom this branch of the family 
descended, spelled his name Rowley. 

(I) Henry Rowley, immigrant ancestor, 

was born in England and died in Barnstable 
or Falmouth, Massachusetts, in 1673. He was 
one of the early planters of Plymouth and 
was a taxpayer as early as 1632. According 
to some accounts he came with the Pilgrims 
from Leyden in 1630. He was admitted a 
freeman in 1634, after removing to Scituate, 
where he and his wife Anne joined the 
church, January 8, 1634. In 1638 he removed 
with Rev. John Lothrop to the new settlement 
at Barnstable on Cape Cod. He was deputy 
to the general court at Plymouth. In 1650 
he removed to West Barnstable, and later to 
Falmouth. He married (first) Sarah, daugh- 
ter of William Palmer; (second) October 17, 
1633, Anne, daughter of Deacon Thomas 
Blossom, who started for New England in the 
"Speedwell" from Holland in 1620, but had 
to return, and came to Plymouth in 1629. 
Children : Moses, mentioned below ; Joseph, 
said to have gone to the Barbadoes ; Sarah, 
married Jonathan Hatch. 

(II) Moses Rowell, son of Henry Rowley, 
was born about 1630, died in 1705 at East 
Haddam, Connecticut. He married, April 11, 
1652, at Barnstable, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Captain Matthew Fuller, soldier and surgeon- 
general of the colony. She died at East Had- 
dam or Colchester, Connecticut, after 1714. 
Moses is mentioned in the will of William 
Palmer as legatee, as "Moses whom I love." 
The Grandfather Palmer gives evidence of 
some unfriendliness towards the father and 
wishes young Rowley placed with Mr. Part- 
ridge that he "might be brought up in the 
feare of God & to that end if his father suf- 
fer it, I give Mr. Partridge five punds." Ap- 
parently Moses lived with his grandfather, and 
March 7, 1653-54, the court allowed him a 
cow from Palmer's estate. He was admit- 
ted a freeman in 1657. He bought sixty acres 
of land of Jonathan Gilbert at Haddam, Con- 
necticut. He probably removed to Haddam 
in 169 1, but his wife did not approve of the 
removal, for she refused to sign the 
deeds, and in a deed of her dower 
rights in 1714, she declares that her husband 
left her without support and dependent on the 
bounty of her sons John and Moses. His will 
was dated August 16, 1704, at Haddam. Chil- 
dren : Mary, born March 20, 1653; Moses, 
November 10, 1654; child, died August 15, 
1656; Shubael, born January 11, 1660 (twin), 
mentioned below ; Mehitable (twin) ; Sarah, 
September 16, 1662; Aaron, May 16, 1666; 
John. October 22, 1667; Matthew; Nathan. 

(III) Shubael, son of Moses Rowell, was 
born January ir, 1660, in Barnstable, died at 
Colchester, Connecticut, March 28, 1714. He 
was in East Haddam as early as 1693, and in 



1700 sold his Haddam lands and removed to 
Colchester. He married Catherine, daughter 
of Thomas Crippen, of Falmouth and East 
Haddam. Children : Isaac, Shubael, Thomas, 
Matthew, Elizabeth, Elnathan, Mary, Jabez, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Jabez, son of Shubael Rowell, was 
born about 1702 at Colchester. He married, 
February 20, 1724, Tabitha Harris. Children: 
Tabitha, born October 20, 1724; Jabez, Janu- 
ary 10. 1726; William, October 15, 1727, men- 
tioned below; Phineas, October 7, 1729; Lois, 
November 14, 1731 ; Simeon, June 17, 1733; 
Eunice, April 3, 1735 ; Nathan, February 12, 
1737; Lydia, June 27, 1739; Dorothy, April 
28, 1 741. 

(V) William, son of Jabez Rowell, was 
born October 15, 1727. He married, Febru- 
ar y l > T 753- Sarah, widow of James Gor- 
dien. Children, born at Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut : Chauncey, April 5, 1756, died 1779; Eli 
Smith, April 25, 1764, mentioned below ; Wil- 
liam, ; June 26, 1766, married Catherine 

(VI) Eli Smith, son of William Rowell, 
was born at Waterbury, April 25, 1764. He 

removed to Windham. He married . 

Child : Lewis, mentioned below. 

(VII) Lewis, son of Eli Smith Rowell, was 
born in Windham, December 21, 1802. He 
married Ruth Burnham. Children : Ellen, 
Harriet, Mary, Albert. Mary, born at Hart- 
ford, married, July 28, 1864, Zalmon Austin 
Storrs (see Storrs X). 

John Pickett, immigrant an- 
PICKETT cestor, was born in England. 

He came to Salem, Massachu- 
setts, as early as 1648, according to some auth- 
orities, and was in Stratford in 1650. but the 
John Pickett of Salem moved to Rowley, Mas- 
sachusetts, had a family and died there. John 

of Stratford married, first, Margaret , 

who died October 6, 1683. Children : John ; 
James (mentioned below) ; Thomas, married 
Abigail Seymour ; Sarah, married Robert 
Lane; Rebecca, born June 30, 1650; Daniel, 
January 25, 1652. 

(II) James, son of John Pickett, was born 
before 1650. He resided at Stratford and 
Danbury, Connecticut, and from him are de- 
scended the Picketts of Danbury, New Mil- 
ford and Sherman, Connecticut. He married 
Rebecca, daughter of Ralph Keeler, July 17, 
1673. Children: James (mentioned below); 
John, September 16, 1675, and perhaps others. 

(III) James (2), son of James (1) Pickett, 
was born at Stratford, May 7, 1674. He mar- 
ried, April 14, 1726, Deborah, daughter of 
Ensign James Stewart. They settled in Nor- 

walk. Children: Sarah, born September 12, 
1728; Esther, November 14, 1730; James, 
April 24, 1732; Deborah, October 3, 1734; 
John, September 6, 1737; Ezra (mentioned 

(IV) Ezra, son of James (2) Pickett, was 
born at Stratford or Norwalk, July 12, 1740. 
According to the first federal census in 1790 
he was living in Norwalk. 

(V) Pickett, son of Ezra Pickett, 

was born in Norwalk and was a soldier in 
the revolution. 

(VI) Rufus Pickett, grandson of Ezra 
Pickett, was born in Norwalk or Ridgefield, 
Connecticut, in 1798. He married Betsey, 
born April 20, 1794, died June 13, 1868, 
daughter of Abraham Parsons, who was born 
February 10, 1764. and died March 16, 1852, 
at Ridgefield. Her father was a farmer at 
Redding, Connecticut, and a soldier in the 
Continental army in the revolution and late in 
life a pensioner of the United States on ac- 
count of his service. Urana Starr, wife of 
Abraham Parsons, was born in Danbury, 
March 23, 1765, and died there September 30, 
1848. (see Starr VII.) Children William H. ; 
Rufus Starr (mentioned below); Isabella; 
Francis, and Edwin, who was killed at Gettys- 
burg while serving in the Union army. 

(VII) Rufus Starr, son of Rufus Pickett, 
was born in Ridgefield February 28, 1829, 
and died June 9, 1903, at New Haven. He 
attended the public schools, and Bank's Acad- 
emy of Ridgefield. He worked at odd times 
with his father, who was a cabinet maker, and 
when he was but eighteen, took over the man- 
agement of the business, his father having 
failed in health. In 1854, six years later, he 
went to New Haven and worked in the loco- 
motive shops of the New York, New Haven 
& Hartford railroad, building and repairing 
the engines. When he began work this road 
had but twenty-four locomotives. He became 
a Republican in politics when a young man, 
and was associated in the Lincoln campaign 
with his friend and classmate, Cyrus North- 
rop, then a professor in Yale College, after- 
wards president of the University of Minne- 
sota, and was a stump speaker at meetings 
at which Professor Northrop, Hon. N. D. 
Sperry, John Woodruff and others also spoke. 
When Lincoln became president and appointed 
James F. Babcock collector of the port of New 
Haven, Mr. Pickett was appointed a weigher 
and ganger in this office. After several years 
he resigned this position to enter the Yale 
Law School. At the end of the first year 
he took the Jewell prize for the best essay. 
He graduated in 1873, and entered upon the 
practice of law in New Haven. In 1877 he 



was appointed city attorney and for six years 
faithfully and efficiently discharged the duties 
of the office. In 1885 he was appointed assist- 
ant judge, and in 1887 judge of the city 
court of New Haven. He heard some of the 
early boycott cases, and his opinions were 
widely quoted and substantially confirmed by 
the higher courts. He was a Republican in 
politics and always gave hearty and loyal sup- 
port to his party. He was a member of Ply- 
mouth Congregational Church, and a deacon 
for more than forty years. He was a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Club and of the 
Connecticut Society of the Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution (elected February 2, 1891). 
He was a man of strong character, devout, up- 
right and conscientious in all the relations of 
life. He married, in New Haven, Sarah Eliz- 
abeth, born October 1, 1840, daughter of Ed- 
ward and Sarah (Bates) Read. 

(VIII) Edwin Starr, son of Rufus Starr 
Pickett, was born in New Haven, May 13, 
1876. He attended the public schools and 
the Hopkins Grammar School of New Haven, 
graduating in 1895. He entered Yale College 
and was graduated with the degree of A.B. in 
the class of 1899, and with the degree of 
LL.B. from the Law School in 1901. He be- 
gan to practice immediately at New Haven, 
and has achieved a position of prominence at 
the bar. He is a member of Trumbull Lodge, 
No. 22, Free Masons, of New Haven ; of 
Franklin Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; of 
Harmony Council, No. 5, of New Haven; of 
New Haven Commandery, Knights Templar, 
and to the other bodies of the Scottish Rite 
including the thirty-second degree ; of the 
Knights Templar Club of New Haven ; the 
Young Men's Republican Club ; of Quinnipiac 
Lodge of Odd Fellows of New Haven ; of 
Golden Rule Encampment of Odd Fellows ; of 
the Improved Order of Red Men ; the Hepta- 
sophs ; the Modern Woodmen of America ; 
the New Haven County Bar Association, and 
the Connecticut Society of Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution. He is a Republican in poli- 
tics. He is now assistant clerk of the court 
of common pleas at New Haven. In religion 
he is a Congregationalist and attends with his 
family Plymouth Church. His office is at 82 
Church street, New Haven. 

He married (first) in September, 1899, 
Fannie Ada, born May 21, 1877, daughter of 
John and Martha Taylor. She died March 
14, 1905, and he married (second), June 13, 
1907, Lelia Alinda Grenville, born May 17, 
188 1. daughter of Dr. Charles G. and Delia 
(Hamilton) Surridge. Children of first 
wife: Marion Dorothy, born October 22, 
1900 ; Fannie Martha, March 10, 1905. Chil- 

dren of second wife: Lyndell S., born April 
24, 1908; Janyce R. S., March 26, 1910. 

(The Starr Line). 

(I) Dr. Comfort Starr, immigrant ancestor, 
was born at Ashford, County Kent, England, 
about forty-five miles southeast of London. 
He practiced there as a physician and surgeon 
before he emigrated to America. He came 
in March, 1634, in the ship "Hercules" with 
three children and three servants. He was 
warden of the church at Ashford, St. Mary's. 
His brother Jehosephat Starr lived and died 
there; his brother, Joyful Starr, married Mar- 
garet — ; his sister, Suretrust, married 

Faithful Rouse, and lived at Charlestown, 
Massachusetts ; his sister Constant married 
John Morley, and lived at Charlestown. The 
family name is now extinct at Ashford. Com- 
fort Starr settled first at Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, and bought land June 19, 1638, at 
Duxbury, of Jonathan Brewster, removing 
thither soon afterward. He was reported as 
able to bear arms in 1643 at Duxbury. He 
deeded his house there to his son John after- 
ward, and returned to Boston, where he lived 
at the north end near the Charlestown ferry. 
After 1649 n ' s name often appears in the Bos- 
ton records, especially in the probate records. 
His wife died June 25, 1658, aged sixty-three 
years. He died January 2, 1659. His will 
was proved February 3, following, bequeath- 
ing to Samuel Starr, to the five children of 
deceased daughter Maynard ; to the children 
of deceased son Thomas and his widow Han- 
nah in England ; to grandson Simon Eire for 
his education ; to son John ; to daughter Eliz- 
abeth Ferniside ; to brothers-in-law John Mor- 
ley and Faithful Rouse; mentioning property 
at Boston and Ashford in Kent, England. 
Children: Thomas; Elizabeth, born 1621 ; 
Comfort, 1624 ; Mary ; John ; Samuel, baptized 
March 2, 1628 ; Hannah, born July 22, 1632, 
and Lydia, March 22, 1634. 

(II) Dr. Thomas Starr, son of Dr. Com- 
fort Starr, was born in Ashford, Kent, Eng- 
land, as early as 1615. He came to Amer- 
ica with his father and studied medicine un- 
der his instruction. He was a surgeon in the 
Pequot war in 1637. Evidently he was a man 
of his own opinions, for we find the courts 
fining him for "speaking against the order of 
the court against swine." The fine was after- 
ward reduced and finally was paid by deduct- 
ing it from his pay as surgeon in the army. 
He resided at Duxbury, Yarmouth, Scituate 
and Charlestown, where he was clerk of the 
writs in 1652. He was deputy to the general 
court at Boston in 1658. His widow was 
granted land on account of his service in the 



war. He died October 26, 1658. His widow 
Rachel went with the young children to live 
at Hempstead, Long Island. Children : Sam- 
uel, born 1640, ancestor of the New London 
branch ; Comfort, 1644, ancestor of the Mid- 
dletown branch ; Elizabeth, 1646, married 
John Treadwell ; Benjamin, February 6, 
1647-8; Jehosephat, January 12, 1649-50; Con- 
stant, 1652 ; William, March 18, 1654-5, and 
Josiah, September 1, 1657. 

(Ill) Captain Josiah Starr, son of Dr. 
Thomas Starr, was born at Charlestown, Sep- 
tember 1, 1657. He was but three years old 
when his father died. He evidently went 
with his mother to Hempstead. He was there 
February 17, 1678-9, when he petitioned for a 
grant of one hundred acres, and was a farmer 
there in 1683. He was one of the seven pat- 
entees who founded the town of Danbury, 
Connecticut, in 1702, and was elected first 
town clerk and second justice of the peace. 
Later he was highway surveyor and held other 
town offices; in 1710 he was lieutenant and in 
17 1 3, captain; deputy to the general court in 
1702, and a leading man in church and town 
affairs. He died January 4, 1715-16, and was 
buried in the old grounds at the rear of the 
court house, the slab of native stone that 
marks his resting place being the oldest mon- 
ument to a Starr in New England. His wife 
and son Thomas were appointed adminis- 
trators February 3, 1715-16. She died July 15, 
x 739- Children: Thomas; Benjamin, born 
1683; John. 1684; Hannah; Rachel, 1690; 
Josiah, 1693 ; Samuel, 1700. and Comfort, 
October 20, 1706. 

(TV) Captain John Starr, son of Captain 
Josiah Starr, was born in Long Island, in 
[684, and settled early at Danbury, where he 
owned a large tract of land along Beaver 
Brook in the northeast part of the town, 
now in the town of Brookfield. He was 
wealthy and prominent. He was deputy to 
the general assembly in 1731-33-34-35; was 
elected lieutenant May 10, 1723, and captain 
May 14, 1733, holding this command to the 
time of his death. He died intestate July 27, 
1739, aged fifty-five years. The name of his 
wife is unknown. Children: John, born 171 1 ; 
Jonathan (mentioned below) ; Eleazer. 

(V) Lieutenant Jonathan Starr, son of 
Captain John Starr, was born in Danbury, and 
resided there in the west part of the town, 
near what is now Ridgefield. He was elected 
sergeant in May, 1747, and lieutenant May 6, 
175 1, holding this command until he died. 
His estate was inventoried at 4,500 pounds. 
He died in 1751. He married Rachel, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Sarah Taylor. His widow 
married Samuel Gregory. Children of Lieu- 

tenant Jonathan Starr, born at Danbury: Jon- 
athan ; Rebecca, married Nathan Hoyt ; Mica- 
jah, April 2, 1746; Benjamin (mentioned be- 
low) ; Elijah, 1751, and Nathaniel (?), died 
April 26, 1777. 

(VI) Benjamin, son of Lieutenant Jona- 
than Starr, was born at Danbury, and lived on 
Mill Plain in the west part of that town, now 
in Ridgebury. He was a soldier in the revolu- 
tion and was ill with camp fever at White 
Plains. He started home on a furlough and 
died on the way, September 3, 1777. His 
widow and Asa Church were appointed to 
administer the estate, November 14, 1777. He 
married Christina Church, who married (sec- 
ond) September 9, 1782, Josiah Rockwell and 
had more children. Children of Benjamin 
Starr: Gideon, born January 29, 1763: Urana 
(mentioned below) ; Martin, 1767; Orange, 
January 13, 1768; Samuel, September 2.7 y 

(VII) Urana, daughter of Benjamin Starr, 
was born at Danbury, March 23, 1765, and 
died September 30, 1848, at an advanced age. 
She married Abraham Parsons, born Febru- 
ary 10, 1764, a farmer at Redding; soldier in 
the revolution at the age of eighteen years ; 
pension granted on the evidence of his re- 
ceipt for a gun used in the service. He died 
March 16, 1852, at Ridgefield. Children: 1. 
Starr Parsons, born February 15, 1793. 2. 
Betsey Parsons, April 20, 1794, married Rufus 
H. Pickett, of Ridgefield (see Pickett VI) ; died 
June 13, 1868. 3. Laura, February 18, 1798; 
married, March 27. 1833. Moses Gregory 
Betts, of Reading; died September 30, 1835. 

William Swift, immigrant ances- 
SWIFT tor, came probably from Bocking, 
county Suffolk, England, to New 
England in 1630. He settled in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, where he was a proprietor -in 
1636. In 1637 ne s °ld his estate there, and 
removed to Sudbury. On June 28, 1641, he 
sold his house and land in Sudbury, and re- 
moved to Sandwich, where he died in Janu- 
ary, 1643-44. He married Joan , whose 

will was proved October 12, 1662, showing 
that she died before that date. She bequeath- 
ed to Daniel Wing's two sons, Samuel and 
John ; grandchildren Hannah Swift and Ex- 
perience Allen ; to Mary Darby ; to Hannah 
Wing the elder and her daughters ; to Zebe- 
diah Allin ; her son William was executor. 

(II) William (2), son of William (1) 
Swift, was born in England about 1627, died 
at Sandwich, January, 1705-06. He was dep- 
uty to the general court in 1673-74-77-78. He 
married Ruth . Children, born at Sand- 
wich : Hannah, March 11, 1651 ; William, Au- 



gust 28, 1654; Ephraim, June 6, 1656; Mary, 
April 7, 1659; Samuel, August 10, 1662; 
Josiah ; Jirah, mentioned below ; Temperance ; 
Esther ; Dinah. 

(III) Jirah, son of William (2) Swift, 
was born in 1665, died in April, 1749. Rev. 
Benjamin Fessenden, minister of the Sand- 
wich church, in a manuscript mentions Jirah 
Swift as one of the heads of families of his 
church in 1730. He is the ancestor of the 
New Bedford branch of the family. He mar- 
ried (first) November 26, 1697, Abigail Gibbs, 
of Sandwich. He married (second) Novem- 
ber 19, 1741, Mary Besse, of Wareham, Mas- 
sachusetts. She survived him and is men- 
tioned as a legatee with all his children and 
Catherine Curby, probably daughter of his 
niece, Sarah Kirby (Curby), in his will dated 
March 29, 1744, and filed May 1, 1749. He 
was a busy and prominent citizen of Ware- 
ham, where he died April, 1749, aged eighty- 
four. Children of first wife: Alice, born July 
23. 1698; Susannah, October 6, 1699; Jabez, 
March 16, 1700-01 ; Zephaniah, March 6, 
1702-03; William, July 5. 1703-04; Nathan- 
iel, March 14, 1707-08; Jirah, November 23, 
1709; Job, October 3, 1711; Silas, August 2, 
1713; Abigail, July 26, 1715 ; Isaac, May 3, 
1720; Rowland, mentioned below. 

(IV) Rowland, son of Jirah Swift, was 
born at Wareham, March 24, 1721-22, and 
died February 13, 1795. Just before the rev- 
olution he removed to Lebanon, Connecticut. 
He married, December 5, 1745, Mary Dex- 
ter, of Falmouth, Massachusetts. She died 
at Lebanon, October 19, 1798. Children, all 
born at Wareham : Barzillai, January 9, 1747, 
mentioned below; Abigail, February 3, 1749; 
Abigail. July 8, 1751 ; Rowland, December 10, 
1753, soldier in the revolution; Jirah, De- 
cember 6, 1755, lost at sea; Zephaniah, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1759; Mary, March 1, 1761 ; Wil- 
liam, January 19, 1764; Thankful, October 14, 

(V) Captain Barzillai, son of Rowland 
Swift, was born in Wareham, Massachusetts, 
January 9, 1747: died at Tolland. He mar- 
ried, December 23, 1769, at Wareham, Sarah 
Fearing, and soon afterward removed to 
Mansfield, Connecticut. Children, born at 
Mansfield Center: Hannah, June 28, 1771 ; 
Lucy: Cynthia, August 20, 1773; George, 
September 28, 1779; Washington. September 
13, 1781 ; Earl, mentioned below; Fearing, 
August 20. 1787. 

(VI) Dr. Earl, son of Captain Barzillai 
Swift, was born in Mansfield Center, April 
8, 1784, died there June 14, 1869. He grad- 
uated at Yale College in the class of 1805 and 
studied medicine and surgery afterward. He 

was admitted to practice in 1808, and loca- 
ted in that year at Windham, Connecticut. He 
practiced there for two years, then at Weth- 
ersfield two years and at Mansfield, his native 
town, the remainder of his life. He«married, 
April 18, 18 10, Laura Ripley, born at Wind- 
ham, Connecticut, July 4, 1792, died at Mans- 
field, April 17, 1870, sister of General Rip- 
ley, at one time in charge of the Springfield 
arsenal, daughter of Captain Ralph and Eu- 
nice (Huntington) Ripley. Her father was 
great-great-grandson of Joshua and Hannah 
(Bradford) Ripley. Hannah Bradford was 
daughter of William Bradford, Jr., and 
granddaughter of Governor William Brad- 
ford, who came over on the "Mayflower." 
Her mother was a lineal descendant of Si- 
mon Huntington, who settled in Windsor, 
Connecticut, in 1633. Children : Albert E., 
born at Windham, January 27, 181 1 ; Har- 
riet, born at Wethersfield, October 17, 1812 ; 
Alathea, born at Mansfield, June 11, 1815; 
Laura, March 7, 1818; Ralph Ripley, Sep- 
tember 29, 1821 ; Sarah F., August 19, 1823 ; 
James, October 20, 1825 ; Henry F., January 
4, 1829; General Frederick W., January 31, 
1831, of Detroit, Michigan; Rowland, men- 
tioned below. 

(VII) Rowland (2), son of Dr. Earl Swift, 
was born at Mansfield, February 22, 1834, 
died at Hartford, June 13, 1902. As a boy 
he was ambitious to follow his father's pro- 
fession, but an attack of varioloid contracted 
while nursing one of his father's small-pox 
patients, left his eyes in such condition that 
though he repeatedly returned to his studies, 
he was finally obliged to abandon hope of a 
college and medical education. He came to 
Hartford at the age of sixteen and worked 
as clerk in the dry goods store of Joseph 
Langdon. Shortly after the organization of 
what was known as the Hartford County 
Bank, which in 1865 became the American 
National Bank, he entered its services as a 
clerk and would have been fifty years con- 
tinuously in this concern had he lived a few 
months longer. He was made cashier in 1854 
before he had attained his majority, succeed- 
ing James B. Powell. He was elected presi- 
dent in 1 87 1, succeeding George M. Bartho- 
lomew. He held this office at the time of his 
death and was senior by about ten years of 
service of any other bank president in Hart- 
ford. He was on duty until within a fort- 
night of his death. He was also trustee of 
the Society of Savings, director of the Re- 
treat for the Insane and the American School 
for the Deaf. He was treasurer of the Wat- 
kinson library of reference, and was senior 
member of the board of trustees of the Hart- 



ford Theological Seminary. He was for many 
years an active member of the Connecticut 
Historical Society, and was one of the origi- 
nal members of the Republican Club of Hart- 
ford. -These, with other positions of trust, 
indicate the esteem in which he was held by 
his townsmen. He was a director of the Pratt 
& Whitney Company for many years. The 
Hartford C our ant said, of him : 

"Mr. Swift was a man of intense patriotism and 
the Civil War fired the loyalty of his whole na- 
ture. Unable himself to enlist he doubled his bank 
work to keep open the place of one who had gone 
to the front. He entered with enthusiasm into the 
politics of the day as president for many years of 
the Young Men's Club. He was throughout his 
life a staunch, clean and aggressive Republican and 
was in frequent demand even in his last years for 
chairman of the party caucuses. He never sought 
distinction, however. There was no touch of cant 
or sanctimoniousness about him. Soon after com- 
ing to Hartford, he joined the South Church and 
was superintendent of the Sunday school for many 
years. At the time of the organization of the City 
Missionary Society he threw himself into the work 
of that society and worked zealously in raising the 
needed funds for the Park Street Sunday school, 
of which he was superintendent. Soon after he 
joined the Center Church in 1865 he was elected 
Sunday school superintendent and he continued in 
this position with great fidelity and success until 
about 1885. He was repeatedly elected deacon of 
this church and held the office to the time of his 

"As a lad he had practiced scales and hymns 
upon a violin in the attic of his home until he 
hecame so proficient that the embargo on his muse 
was removed and he was permitted to play in the 
living room. This love of music made him es- 
pecially interested in the development of the musi- 
cal services in Center Church. Mr. Swift was not 
one whose christian spirit exhausted itself in the 
administration of ecclesiastical office. It was of 
his very nature. There was about him an urbanity 
of manner and an eminent kindliness that grew 
out of a loving charitableness. He was a man of 
intense convictions, absolutely fearless in the proc- 
lamation of them and exceedingly tenacious in ad- 
hering to them. Yet there was nothing but the 
finest courtesy at any time in his absolute and 
courageous upholding of what he believed was 

"Long before the present interest in family 
history prevailed he had traced his ancestry, and 
was a careful and eager student of the early his- 
tory of New England. Before nature study became 
fashionable, he studied and loved the flowers and 
birds with a care and thoroughness that was char- 
acteristic. He loved the broad fields, the sweep 
of the hill, the open sky. In the quiet of his coun- 
try home on Cedar Mountain, he found for many 
years the greatest delight and tranquillity. Children 
knew him for a friend and he loved them and 
studied ways of augmenting the happiness of his 
young friends. He represented in a remarkable 
degree the strong, sturdy, religious, and eminently 
practical traits of the best type of New England 
character. He had, moreover, something of courtly 
graciousness and a strain of aesthetic appreciation, 
a quality of native lovingness and lovableness al- 
together unusual. His home was at 1 Wethersfield 
avenue, Hartford." 

He married, September 12, 1855, Sarah 
Benton, daughter of Norman H. and Jane 
(Shepard) Gillett, granddaughter of Mary 
(Webster) Shepard, descendant of Governor 
John Webster, a sketch of whom appears in 
this work (see Gillett II). Children: Robert, 
died young ; Howard, died in 1889 ; Mary, 
married Arthur L. Gillett, she died in Janu- 
ary, 1 901. 

Captain Justus Gillett, grandfather of Sa- 
rah B. (Gillett) Swift, was of one of the old- 
est and most distinguished families of Wind- 
sor. He was born in 1783, probably at Win- 
tonbury, formerly Windsor, now Bloomfield, 
Connecticut, and died at Wintonbury, October 
27, 1825. He lived at Wintonbury. He mar- 
ried Sylvia •. Children : Justus Pen- 

noyer, baptized September 3, 18 15 ; Anson 
Center ; Norman Hubbard, mentioned below ; 
Sylvia Permelia ; Edward, baptized Novem- 
ber 5, 1820; Simeon, baptized October 13, 
1822; Flavia Eliza, baptized May 21, 1826. 

Norman Hubbard Gillett, son of Captain 
Justus Gillett, and father of Sarah B. (Gil- 
lett) Swift, was born at Wintonbury, Janu- 
ary 20, 1807, died at Hartford, July 5, 1879. 
He married, in April, 1834, Jane Shepard. 
daughter of Mary (Webster) Shepard and 
descendant of Governor John Webster. 

Thomas Bingham, the first 
BINGHAM American ancestor of this 

family, was baptized in Shef- 
field, England, June 1, 1642. He came to 
America when about eighteen years of age, 
with his widowed mother. After living for 
a period at New London and Saybrook, he 
went to Norwich, with his mother's second 
husband, Mr. Backus, they being among the 
original founders of the last named town. He 
married Mary Rudd, supposed to have been 
the daughter of Lieutenant Jonathan Rudd, of 
Saybrook, and his wife, who was then the 
celebrated "Bride of Bride Brook" (Caul- 
kins' Hist. New London, p. 48). 

(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) and 
Mary (Rudd) Bingham, was born in Nor- 
wich, December 11, 1667. He was the eldest 
of eleven children, and succeeded to the priv- 
ileges of his father as a proprietor of the 
town. He married Hannah, daughter of Lieu- 
tenant William Backus. 

(III) Joseph, son of Thomas (2) and Han- 
nah (Backus) Bingham, was born at Norwich, 
June 4, 1709, died at Bennington, Vermont, 
November 4, 1787. He was a lieutenant of 
provincial troops during the French war. He 
broke his hip and could not go to the battle 
of Bennington (where he then lived), but 
spent the time during the battle in prayer at 



the meeting-house. He married Ruth Post, of 

(IV) Calvin, youngest of ten children of 
Joseph and Ruth (Post) Bingham, was born 
at Norwich, October 8, 1750. He married 
Lydia Denton, of Amenia, New York. 

(V) Rev. Hiram, son of Calvin and Lydia 
(Denton) Bingham, was born at Bennington, 
Vermont, October 30, 1789. He graduated at 
Middlebnry College, 18 16, and later at An- 
dover Theological Seminary, and in 18 19 re- 
ceived an M.A. degree from Yale. He was a 
pioneer missionary and labored in the Sand- 
wich Islands twenty-one years. His first wife 
and the mother of his seven children was Sybil 
Moseley, of Westfield, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Rev. Hiram (2), son of Hiram (1) 
Bingham, was born at Honolulu, August 16, 
183 1. When ten years of age he came to 
the United States with his parents. He was 
educated at Yale College, graduating in 
the class of 1853, and studied for the 
ministry at Andover. He married, No- 
vember 18. 1856, Minerva Clarissa Brew- 
ster, of Northampton, Massachusetts, and they 
soon after sailed from Boston in the first 
"Morning Star" as missionaries of the 
American board, and landed at Apaiang, Gil- 
bert Islands, November 19, 1857. Upon this 
coral island he labored in the midst of great 
deprivations. In the seven years spent there 
he reduced the native language to writing, 
began the translation of the New Testament, 
translated and composed hymns, preached and 
taught, until the failure of his health com- 
pelled him to return to the Hawaiian Islands, 
where he gradually recovered. He returned 
to the United States in 1865, but in the fol- 
lowing year sailed for the Pacific as captain 
of the missionary vessel, "Morning Star," No. 
2, and arrived at Honolulu four months later. 
He later continued his translation of the New 
Testament into the Gilbertese language, which 
he completed in the spring of 1873, and de- 
voted himself with increased zeal to providing 
a Christian literature for the Gilbert Islanders. 
Dr. Bingham prepared a grammar of the Gil- 
bertese language, compiled an enlarged 
Hymn and Tune Book, edited a Gilbertese 
Bible Dictionary and a commentary on the 
Acts of the Apostles, finished the translation 
of the entire Bible into Gilbertese, and pre- 
pared a Gilbertese-English Dictionary of 
eleven thousand words for commercial and 
missionary use. Besides these he published 
through the American board in 1866, "The 
Story of the Morning Star," and often pub- 
lished descriptions of the Gilbert Islands and 
accounts of the missionary work done there. 
Dr. and Mrs. Bingham were for many years 

the sole authors of the literature accessible to 
the thirty thousand people of the islands. In 
1892 he came to the United States to super- 
intend the printing of the Gilbertese Bible at 
the Bible House in New York, and in 1893 
received the honorary degree of D.D. from 
Yale and later from Western Reserve Uni- 
versity and Oahu College. Nine editions of 
the Bible have been printed, the first in 1893. 
Dr. Bingham died suddenly at Johns Hopkins 
Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland, October 25, 
1908, at the age of seventy-seven years. His 
ashes were taken to Honolulu, where his de- 
voted wife, who died in 1903, was buried. 

(VII) Hiram (3), son of Hiram (2) and 
Minerva Clarissa (Brewster) Bingham, survi- 
vor of the two sons, was born at Honolulu, 
November 19, 1875. His early education was 
received at private schools, and he prepared 
for college at Phillips Academy, Andover, 
Massachusetts ; graduated from Yale Univer- 
sity, 1898, and took post-graduate courses at 
the University of California, 1899- 1900, re- 
ceiving the degree of M.A. He also pursued 
post-graduate courses at Harvard University 
from 1900 to 1903, receiving the degree of 
M.A. and Ph.D. He taught in Harvard Col- 
lege from 1903 to 1905. He was appointed a 
member of the faculty of Princeton Univer- 
sity in 1905, as preceptor in History, Eco- 
nomics and Politics. In 1906-07 he spent six 
months in making an expedition across Vene- 
zuela and Colombia, studying the country and 
following routes taken by Bolivar, the great 
liberator of Venezuela. Professor Bing- 
ham's journal of his expedition in Venezuela 
and Colombia has lately been published by the 
Yale University Press. He has also published 
numerous reviews in the Nation and in the 
American Historical Review, and has contrib- 
uted articles to the Geographical Journal, the 
American Political Science Review, and other 
periodicals. The record of observations and 
impressions day by day throws much light 
upon the social and economic conditions ex- 
isting in the interior of northwestern South 
America. Very few travelers in recent years 
have been able to penetrate into the heart 
of that country and to study intimately the 
character and the temper of the people who 
have been dominated by President Castro. 
In 1907 Professor Bingham became lecturer 
on South American Geography and History 
at Yale, and in 1908 lecturer on Latin-Amer- 
ican History. In 1908 he was appointed a 
delegate of the United States government to 
the first Pan-American Scientific Congress 
held in Santiago de Chili, in December and 
January, 1908-09. In 19 10 he was made as- 
sistant professor of Latin-American History 


in Yale University. Professor Bingham is a Elizabeth, May 2, 1676, at New Haven ; Anna, 

fellow of the Royal Geographical Society; a died September 8, 1677; Joshua (twin), Sep- 

corresponding member of the Hispanic Soci- tember 21, 1684; Samuel (twin), mentioned 

ety of America; an honorary member of the below; Abigail, December 26, 1686; Sarah, 

National Academy of History of the Republic January 23, 1688; Epbraim, September 7, 

of Colombia, this honor being conferred on 1692. 

him in recognition of the contribution made (HI) Samuel, son of Joshua Culver, was 

by him, during his expedition, to a correct born at Wallingford, September 21, 1684. He 

understanding of some of the most impor- married first ; second, January 3, 1728, 

tant episodes in the history of that country ; Ruth Sedgwick. Children, born at Walling- 

a member of the American Antiquarian So- ford: Elizabeth, February 12, 1715 ; Sarah, 

ciety; American Historical Association; Con- December 23, 1716; Abigail, December 17, 

necticut Academy of Arts and Sciences; Con- 1718 ; Anna, October 3, 1719; Esther, March 

necticut Civil Service Reform Association; 17, 1721 ; Caleb, mentioned below; Enoch, 

American Political Science Association, and January 30, 1725 ; Ebenezer, December 9, 

the American Association for the Advance- 1726. Child of second wife: Samuel, Sep- 

ment of Science. tember 25, 1728. 

Dr. Bingham married, November 20, 1900, (IV) Caleb, son of Samuel Culver, was 

Alfreda Mitchell, born December 29, 1874, born February 18, 1723, at Wallingford. He 

daughter of Alfred Mitchell, of Salem, Con- married Lois, born October 26, 1727, daUgh- 

necticut, and niece of Donald G. Mitchell (Ik ter of Amos Hall (4) (Nathaniel (3), John 

Marvel), and granddaughter of Charles L. (2), John (1) ). Children, born at Walling- 

Tiffany, the art-jeweler, of New York City, ford: Ruth, January 10, 1746; Josiah, Sep- 

They are the parents of five children. They tember 7, 1748; Samuel, July 5, 1750; Ruth, 

reside on Prospect street, New Haven, in the November 25, 1751 ; Moses, mentioned below, 

winter, and on Woodbridge Farms, Salem, (V) Moses, son of Caleb Culver, was born 

Connecticut, in the summer. On one of these about 1765, in Wallingford. He married 

farms the "Reveries of a Bachelor" was Lucv Hall, born December 14, 1775, daughter 

written. of Titus Hall (5). (See Hall V.) 

— 1 (VI) Hon. Moses (2) Culver, son of 

Edward Culver, the immigrant Moses (1) Culver, was born at Wallingford, 

'CULVER ancestor, was born in England June 20, 1817, and died October 21, 1884. 
and settled first at Dedham, He attended the public schools and studied 
Massachusetts, with his wife Ann, afterwards his profession in the office of Hon. Ely War- 
locating at New London, Connecticut, and at ner of Chester, Connecticut, whither he went 
Groton and New Haven, in that colony. He in 1837. He was admitted to the bar in 1845 
had a grant of land at Pequot in 1653 and and in May of that year located at Colchester 
bought a house lot of Robert Burrows. He where he practiced about a year. He came 
was a baker and brewer and was permitted to East Haddam in 1846, and succeeded to 
by the court to brew ale as early as May 5, the law practice of Hon. E. A. Bulkeley who 
1662. He was at Mystic, Connecticut, in removed to Hartford. He resided in East 
1664, and had the farm that the Indians Haddam and practiced there for ten years, 
called "Chepadaso." He released his home- representing that town in the general assem- 
stead to his son John in 1664 and removed bly and serving as judge of probate in the 
to the head of the Mystic river in New Lon- district. He came to Middletown, Connecti- 
don. He had a grant on the water side next cut, in 1856, and practiced there for six years. 
south of the fort land, February, 1661-62. He He was made state attorney for the county 
was elected May 7, 1663, to drum for the in 1865. In June, 1875, ne was elected judge 
town — if he should brew, "else not" — and of the superior court for eight years, and 
would engage always to have good beer, good at the expiration of his term, was re-elected, 
diet and lodging for man and horse and keep Mr. Culver was an able and astute lawyer, 
good order. He was a soldier in King Philip's sparing no pains to secure the best interests 
war. of his clients. He was successful as a lawyer 

(II) Joshua, son of Edward Culver, was and of stainless reputation and high charac- 

born in 1642-43, and died, April 2, 1713, aged ter. x^s a magistrate he was honored alike 

seventy years. He had three brothers in New by bench and bar and enjoyed the confidence 

Haven and vicinity. He was among the first and respect of the entire community. He was 

settlers in the town of Wallingford, Connec- a member of the Congregational Church. He 

ticut. He married Elizabeth Ford. Children, died at Middletown, October 21, 1884. He 

born at Wallingford, except the eldest two: married, May 18, 1845, m Chester, Connecti- 

f / \4A<k^ <<&^&rt^) 




cut, Lucinda, born January 25, 1822, died Au- 
gust 23, 1897, daughter of David Baldwin. 
(See Baldwin V). Children: Anna, born Au- 
gust 4, 1850, living in Hartford, Connecticut; 
Moses Eugene, mentioned below. 

(VII) Moses Eugene, only son of Moses 
(2) Culver, was born at East Haddam, July 
10, 1854. He attended the public schools of 
Middletown, and Wesleyan University, from 
which he was graduated in the class of 1875. 
He traveled in the west for several months 
after graduation and on his return com- 
menced the study of law under the personal 
supervision of his father. He was admit- 
ted to the bar March 13, 1878, and has been 
in active practice since then at Middletown. 
He received the honorary degree of A.M. from 
Wesleyan in 1878. He was appointed prose- 
cuting attorney for Middlesex county and 
served in 1880-81. He was elected prose- 
cuting attorney of the city court of Middle- 
town and continued in that office for twenty 
years, being elected ten successive terms. He 
has had a leading position at the bar and a 
very large practice from the beginning. 

Mr. Culver has been a director of the Mid- 
dletown National Bank since 1904. He is 
attorney for and a director of the Middletown 
Loan and Building Association, a most suc- 
cessful institution, that has been in existence 
since 1889. He is a member of the South 
Congregational Church and for thirteen years 
was its clerk. He is a member of the Uni- 
versity Club of Middletown, of the Connecti- 
cut Bar Association, of the American Bar As- 
sociation and of the Twentieth Century Club, 
of Middletown. In politics he is a Republi- 

Mr. Culver married June 10, 1896, at Man- 
kato, Minnesota, Lizzie Huntington, daughter 
of Philip Bradford and Elizabeth (Isham) 
Sparrow. They have one child : Francis 
Baldwin, born December 8, 1901. 

(The Hall Line). 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Hall, 
(q. v.), was born about 1641 and died Sep- 
tember 2, 1721. He was the first deacon of 
the Wallingford Church. He was selectman 
in 1675, and deputy to the general assembly, 
at Hartford, in 1687. One of his descendants, 
Rev. Aaron, late minister at Keene, New 
Hampshire, had a silver spoon marked John 
and Mary Hall. He married December 6, 
1666, Mary, who died September 22, 1725, 
daughter of Edward Parker, of New Haven. 
Children: Elizabeth, born August 11, 1670, in 
New Haven; Daniel, July 26, 1672; Mary, 
June 23, 1675 ; Nathaniel, February 8, 1677, 
mentioned below: John, March 14, 1681 ; Ly- 

dia, January 22, 1683 : Samuel, December 24, 
1686; died November 1, 1689; Esther, Au- 
gust 30, 1693; Caleb, September 14, 1697. 

(III) Nathaniel, son of John (2) Hall, was 
born February 8, 1677. He married, May 
1699, Elizabeth Curtis ^vho died September 
30, 1735, and married (second), September 
J 5» I 736, Lydia Johnson. He died August 
x 6, 1757- Children, born at Wallingford: 
Amos, January 24, 1700, mentioned below ; 
Margaretta, December 21, 1701, died Octo- 
ber 30, 1707; Caleb, January 5, 1703, men- 
tioned below; Moses, June 6, 1706; Mary, 
October 30, 1707; Nathaniel, April 17, 1711; 
James, April 23, 1713 ; Elizabeth, September 
22, 1715 ; Desire, June 19, 1719; Harmon, Oc- 
tober 17, 1720. 

(IV) Amos, son of Nathaniel Hall, was 
born at Wallingford, January 24, 1700, and 
died November 30, 1752. He married, June 
8, 1720, Ruth Royce who died November 2, 
1775, aged seventy-five years. Children, born 
at Wallingford : Reuben, December 20, 1721 ; 
Amos, September 9, 1722: Eunice, August 
21, 1724, married Abner Atwood ; Lois, Oc- 
tober 26, 1727, married Caleb Culver; (see 
Culver). Moses, August 25, 1735. 

(IV) Caleb, son of Nathaniel Hall, was 
born at Wallingford, January 3, 1703, and 
died May 11, 1766. He married Esther Ura- 
berfield. Children, born at Wallingford: 
Margaret, March 28, 1727 ; Esther, April 24, 
1729; Nathaniel, April 8, 1732; Caleb, Sep- 
tember 12, 1734: Moses, May 13, 1736; Ly- 
dia. July 9, 1738; Desire, June 20, 1740; 
Sarah, April 10, 1742; Margaret, August 31, 
1744 ; Titus, mentioned below ; Rhoda, June 
15, 1748; Jonah, February 23, 1750: Rhoda, 
July 4, 1753 I Lucretia, February 16, 1757. 

(V) Titus, son of Caleb Hall, was born 
at Wallingford, August 16, 1746, at Walling- 
ford. He married November 26, 1767, Olive 
Barnes. Children: Abigail, September 21, 
1768: Caleb, January 21, 1771 ; Lucy, De- 
cember 14, 1775, married Moses Culver (see 
Culver) : Caleb, August 26, 1781 ; Rensaley, 
February 7, 1784. 

(The Baldwin Line). 

(I) Richard Baldwin, the immigrant ances- 
tor, was son of Silvester Baldwin, who died 
on the ship "Martin" during the voyaee from 
England to America, June 21, 1638. Richard 
was baptized at Parish Ashton, Clinton, Buck- 
inghamshire, August 25, 1622. He settled at 
Mil ford, Connecticut. He was well educated 
and versed in the law, having studied under 
his uncle Henry Baldwin, it is thought. His 
handwriting is like engraved script. He 
joined the church. May 9, 1641. His home- 



stead in 1646 consisted of three acres on the 
west side of the Wepawaug river. He was 
on a committee to equalize lots in 1647. He 
and Thomas Tibbals were granted Beaver 
Pond Meadow on condition that they drain 
it within six months, He was sergeant in the 
militia. He was an active, intelligent citizen. 
He was prominent in the settlement of the 
town of Derby. He kept a tavern and was 
licensed to sell liquor. His predecessor, it is 
interesting to note, had broken a court order 
by selling strong drink "at higher prices than 
allowed." The high cost of living was then 
a subject for court interference. Not only 
prices were regulated, but citizens were for- 
bidden to buy certain luxuries unless the court 
considered them within their means. Men 
had to pay taxes on a certain minimum before 
they could indulge their vanity in top-boots, 
or their wives could appear in silken bonnets. 
Baldwin was a member of the general as- 
sembly in May, 1662, and May, 1664. He 
died July 23, 1665. He married Sarah Bryan. 
She married (second) in 1670, William Fow- 
ler, Jr. 

He mentions his children in his will, 
Children : Elizabeth, baptized at Milford, Sep- 
tember, 1644; Sylvanus, baptized November 
20, 1646. Sarah, baptized April 1, 1649; 
Temperance, baptized June 29, 165 1 ; Mary, 
baptized November 6, 1653 ; Theophilus, April 
26, 1659; Zachariah, September 22, 1660, men- 
tioned below; Martha, April 1, 1663; Barna- 
bas, 1665. 

(II) Zachariah, son of Richard Baldwin, 
was born at Milford, Connecticut, September 
22, 1660, and settled there. He was sergeant 
of the militia and dignified in the records, also 
with the then title "Mr." He was auditor in 
1696, member of the general assembly, 1705- 
18, during fourteen sessions. He married, 
perhaps his second wife, Elizabeth, widow of 
Ezekiel Sanford. Her will was dated May 
22. 1732, and proved April 6, 1733. Children, 
born at Milford: Mary, baptized May 2, 1680; 
Zachariah, mentioned below ; Sololon ; Eben- 
ezer, baptized August 6, 1693 ; Elizabeth, bap- 
tized January 1, 1694-95; Susanna, baptized 
November 15, 1696; Stephen, October 11, 
1699; Temperance, baptized June 13, 1703; 
Sarah, June 9, 1706; Richard, September 9, 

(III) Zachariah (2), son of Zachariah (1) 
Baldwin, was born in Milford ; married, there, 
August 25, 1708, Sarah Merwin. He owned 
land in Waterbury, Connecticut, and bought 
land in Stratford in 1714. He lived there in 
what is now the town of Huntington, on Wal- 
nut Tree Hill. By leave of the general court, 
he established a ferry at Stratford in 1723. 

He died November 6, 1766, according to the 
records of the Protestant Episcopal Church, 
of Huntington, of which he was a communi- 
cant, and where his children were all bap- 
tized. Children : Zachariah, September 6, 
1709; Abraham, baptized August 12, 1722; 
Isaac, Jacob, Sarah, Israel, (see forward), 
baptized with Abraham and those preceding, 
August 12, 1722, order of birth and dates 
not known ; Patience, baptized July, 1726. 

(IV) Israel, son of Zachariah (2) Bald- 
win, was baptized at Stratford, August 12, 
1722, and died there, November 13, 1805. He 
married Widow Chatterton, of New Haven, 
and had at Wolcott, Connecticut : Hannah, 
born August 12, 1679, married Judah Fris- 
bie ; David, mentioned below. 

(V) David, son of Israel Baldwin, was born 
at Wolcott, May 27, 1787, and married at 
Kilingworth, Cynthia Snow. He lived in 
Chester, Connecticut. Children : Cynthia, Sep- 
tember 15, 1808; Mary Ann, September 

18, 1810; William Snow, June 8, 1812; 
Heman, September 27, 1814; Emily, March 

19, 1817; Augustus, December 18, 1819; Lu- 
cretia, January 25, 1722; Lucinda (twin of 
Lucretia) born January 25, 1822, married 
Moses Culver. (See Culver.) William Au- 
gustus, February 23, 1824, lived in Chicago ; 
Emily. October 8, 1827 ; David Judson, June 
19, 1830 : Henry Austin, July 19, 1832. 

Tohn Littlejohn, was of 
LITTLEJOHN the Littlejohn family of 
New York City, de- 
scended from an old English family which 
immigrated to this country early in the sev- 
enteenth century. The father of John, Wil- 
liam Littlejohn, was captured by the "Press 
Gang" in the streets of New York in 1812. 
was made to serve in the British navy, and 
was supposed to have been killed in one of 
the numerous naval engagements of that time 
as he was never heard from. 

(Ill) Elliott, son of John Littlejohn, was 
born in Newark, New Jersey, March 21, 1832. 
He was paymaster in the United States navy, 
with the rank of lieutenant during the civil 
war, and was for ten years after that date 
superintendent of the Hargous line of steam- 
ers between New York and Panama. Of late 
years he was in the manufacturing business in 
New York and in New Haven, and at pres- 
ent has permanently retired from business. 
Elliott Littlejohn married Sarah Virginia Mal- 
lory, in 1865, the latter being born in West- 
ville. Connecticut, daughter of Albert B. Mal- 
lory (see Mallory VIII). Children: Grace 
Virginia, born in New Haven, 1870, well 
known musician; Percy Duncan, mentioned 



below ; Mildred Emily, born in New Haven, 
1880; Louis, died in infancy. 

(IV) Dr. Percy Duncan, son of Elliott 
and Sarah V. (Mallory) Littlejohn, was born 
in New Haven. December 4, 1874. He at- 
tended the public schools of his native city, 
and was graduated from the New Haven high 
school in the class of 1892. The following 
year was a student at Sheffield Scientific 
School of Yale University, and in 1894 en- 
tered the Yale Medical School from which 
he was graduated in 1897, obtaining the de- 
gree of Doctor of Medicine. Dr. Littlejohn 
served as house physician and surgeon on 
the staff of the New Haven Hospital for the 
following two years, and in 1899 began the 
general practice of medicine in New Haven, 
Connecticut. From 1899 to I 9°3 ne was cnn ~ 
ical assistant in medicine in the Yale Medical 
School, from 1904 to 1906 was instructor in 
Genito-Urinary Diseases in the New York 
Post-Graduate Medical School of New York 
City. In 1907 Dr. Littlejohn was appointed 
assistant attending dermatologist in the New 
York and Bellevue Medical College, from 
which he resigned in 1909. From 1899 to 
1907 his occupation was the general practice 
of medicine, but since that time he has spe- 
cialized in Dermatology and Genito-Urinary 
Diseases. He is a member of the Connec- 
ticut State Medical Society, the New Haven 
County Medical Society, the New Haven City 
Medical Society, the American Urological So- 
ciety, the American Medical Association, the 
New York Reno-Vesical Society, the Conec- 
ticnt Society for Mental Hygiene, the Con- 
necticut Society for Moral Prophylacis, etc., 
etc. Dr. Littlejohn has read and published a 
number of articles on special medical subjects. 
He is a member of the Protestant Episcopal 
church, of Wooster Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of New Haven, of the Second 
Company Governor's Foot Guard, of which 
an ancestor was a member at the time the com- 
pany marched to Boston in 1776, an ex-mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Naval Militia, with 
which command he turned out when they were 
called into camp at the time of the Spanish 
war ; a member of the Union League Club, of 
the New Haven Yacht Club, and of the Sons 
of the American Revolution. (By descent 
from Captain Abner Mallory, see Mallory V). 
Residence, 25 Wall street, office 193 York- 

(The Mallory Line). 

Peter Mallory. immigrant ancestor, was 
born in England and came early to New 
Haven, being one of the signers of the plan- 
tation covenant in 1644. He died after 1675. 
Children : Rebecca, born at New Haven, May 

18, 1649; Mary, October, 1655, died young; 
Mary. September 28, 1656; Peter, July 27, 
1658: Thomas, September 15, 1659, mentioned 
below ; Daniel, November 25, 1661 ; John, May 
10, 1663:' Joseph, 1666; Benjamin, January 
4, 1668 : Samuel, March 10, 1673 ; William, 
September 2, 1675. 

(II) Thomas, son of Peter Mallory, was 
born in New Haven, September 15, 1659. He 
married there, March 26, 1684, Mary Umber- 
field. Children, born at New Haven ; Thom- 
as, January 1, 1685-86; mentioned below; 
Daniel, January 2, 1687. 

(HI) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) 
Mallory, was born at New Haven, January 
1, 1685-86, died in 1783, aged, according to 
one account, one hundred and one, though 
but ninety-eight if the date of death is given 
correctly. He married, January 13, 1706, 
Elizabeth Bartlett, who died November 5, 
1719. He removed to Woodbury, Connecti- 
cut, from New Haven. Children, born in 
New Haven and Woodbury : Mary, December 
4, 1707; Thomas, 1709, mentioned below; 
Bartlett, March 2, 1710; Aaron, February 16, 
1712 ; John; Jesse, April 5, 1717. 

(IV) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) 
Mallory, was born in New Haven or Wood- 
bury, 1709. He married, at Woodbury, Au- 
gust 10, 1720, or 1722, Hannah Minor. Chil- 
dren, born at Woodbury: Abner, mentioned 
below; Eunice, June 26, 1725; Gideon, bap- 
tized June 9, 1728; Mary, December 14, 1730, 
Jemima, May, 1733 ; Simeon, February 18, 
1737; Silas (adopted), baptized March 29, 

(V) Captain Abner, son of Thomas (3) 
Mallory, was born at Woodbury, July 28, 
1723. Following is the official report of the 
revolutionary service of Captain Mallory: 
"This is to certify that Abner Mallory served 
in the War of the Revolution and the follow- 
ing is said service, according to the records 
of this office." On page 547 Connecticut Men 
in the Revolution appears the following : "Ab- 
ner Mallory, captain, in the list of militia 
captains whose companies turned out to re- 
pel the enemy at New Haven July 5, 1779. 
Tryon's Invasion of Connecticut, July 1779, 
New Haven Alarm, on pages 207-8 Revolu- 
tion Rules and Lists 1775-83, appears the fol- 
lowing : Militia service, the United States Dr. 
to the State of Connecticut, for services of 
State Troops and militia between the first of 
April and first of November raised for the 
defense of the state and allowed by act of Con- 
gress December 28, 1779. computed according 
to the Continental establishment of Pay. In 
the list of official Pay Rolls is Captain Abner 
Mallory. On page 222 same book, appears 


the following- : Service at Peekskill, the Uni- ferson City, Tennessee, daughter of Jacob and 

ted States Dr. to the State of Connecticut Arabella (Aby) Shewalter. (See Shewalter 

for sundry expenditures for bounties, extra in Hulett III.) He settled at Kingsport, 

allowances, wages, etc., of militia from said Tennessee, and followed the trade of machin- 

state. who served with the main army at and ist there. During the civil war he was a 

near Peekskill in the state of New York (pag'e staunch supporter of the Union. Children: 

224, August 24, 1779). Captain Abner Mai- 1. Mary Arabella (Belle), born at Kingsport, 

lory, 13th regiment. In testimony whereof Tennessee, September 13, 1862 ; unmarried. 2. 

we have affixed unto the seal of this office. William Henry, born at Rockford, Tennes- 

( Signed) W. E. F. Landers, Col. and Ass't see, May 4, 1865; son, William Edward, lives 

Adjutant General." He was in Colonel In- at Knoxville, Tennessee. 3. Laura Gertrude, 

crease Moseley's regiment in 1779. He mar- born, at Jefferson City, November 29; 1867 ; 

ried, June 25, 1747, at Woodbury, Susanna married O. L. Fisher; children: Annie and 

Walker. Children, born at Woodbury : Elec- Frances Fisher, both born at Jefferson City, 

ta, April 19, 1748; Hannah, February 16, 4. Ella, born March 6, 1870; died November 

1749, died young; Hannah, January 17, 1752; 28, 1899, at Jefferson City; married William 

Walker, mentioned below. Ore ; one child died in infancy. 5. Earnest 

(VI) Walker, son of Captain Abner Mai- Clyde, mentioned below. 6. Katharine Aby, 
lory, was born in Woodbury, February 25, born February 25, 1875; (A. B., Carson 
1754. He married there, October, 1776, Mar- and Newman College, Jefferson City, 1895 ; 
tha Meicor, of Woodbury. Children, born at unmarried.) 7. Anne Poole, born February 1, 
Woodbury: Peggy, February 4, 1778; Polly, 1878; unmarried. 8. Jacob Wilbur, born July 
June 8, 1780; Abner, March 2, 1782; Polly, 10, 1880; died February 2, 1881, at Jefferson 
April 30, 1784 ; Richard Burke (or Burke City. 9. Lillian Ruth, born May 25, 1882 ; 
Richard), mentioned below; Deacon Marcus died March 29, 1883, at Jefferson City. 10. 
D., January 10, 1788: Betsey, married Asa- Sophie Tazewell, born March 30, 1884; un- 
hel Strong ; Jeanette ; Sarah. married. 

(VII) Richard Burke, son of Walker Mai- (HI) Hon. Earnest Clyde Simpson, son 
lory, was born at Woodbury about 1785. He of George Simpson, was born at Jefferson 
lived at Westville, Connecticut. He married City, April 28, 1872, and attended the public 
Eunice Hotchkiss, of New Haven. Children : schools of his native town. He entered Car- 
Albert B., mentioned below ; Burton M., mar- son and Newman College, at Jefferson City, 
ried Mary Beecher ; Sarah, married Morris and was graduated, with the degree of B.S., 
Smith. in the class of 1893. He entered Yale Law 

(VIII) Albert B., son of Richard Burke School in 1896 and graduated in 1899 with 
Mallory, was born at Westville. He mar- the degree of LL.B. He was admitted to the 
ried Grace Electa Sherwood, of New Haven, bar in 1900, and has been in general practice 
Connecticut. Their daughter, Sarah Virginia, in New Haven since then. In 1905 he was 
married Elliott Littlejohn (see Little- appointed city attorney of New Haven and 
john III). served until September 8, 1908, when he re- 

— 1 signed to accept the appointment of judge of 

William Henry Simpson was the court of common pleas for New Haven 

SIMPSON born in 1806 in Wales, of county, a position he has filled wisely and well 

Welsh stock, and came when to the present time. His term is four years, 

a boy of fourteen to this country. He made from September 9, 1908. He is a member of 

his home in Baltimore, Maryland, and mar- the New Haven and State bar associations ; of 

ried Mary Gartside, who was born in Scot- the Graduates Club of New Haven ; of the 

land, or the north of Ireland, of Scotch-Irish Union League Club and the Young Men's 

parents, in 1813. She died in 1893 at Jef- Republican Club of New Haven; of the New 

ferson City, Tennessee, of old age. He died, York Southern Society ; the Tennessee Soci- 

in 1879. at Marysville, Tennessee. They had ety of New York City and of the Benevolent 

two children, Mark and George, mentioned and Protective Order of Elks. He belongs 

below. to the Methodist Episcopal Church. He i^ 

(II) George, son of William Henry Simp- corporal of the New Haven Grays, a crack- 
son, was born, April 2, 1838, at Baltimore military company to which he has belonged 
and died May 19, 1899, at Mossy Creek, Jef- since 1904. He was editor of the Yale Law 
ferson City, Tennessee. He married, Novem- Journal for two years and is interested in 
ber 20, 1861, Frances Virginia Shewalter, history, genealogy and general literature and 
born December 8, 1841 at Winchester, Vir- public education, 
ginia, and died December 25. 1909, at Jef- Mr. Simpson is unmarried. 



(The Hulett Line). 
Charles Hulett was born in England and 
came to this country when a boy. He was 
a soldier in the revolution in Frelinghuy sen's 
eastern company of artillery, state of New 
Jersey, he volunteered as a musician May 7, 
1778, in Captain Isaac Morrison's company, 
Colonel Ogden's First New Jersey regiment 
and took part in the battles of Princeton, 
Monmouth and Yorktown ; was wounded in 
the leg at the battle of Monmouth and there 
or soon afterward taken prisoner by the Brit- 
ish and sent to the West Indies. To regain 
his freedom he enlisted as a musician in the 
British service, but deserted, returned to this 
country and joined the American army in 
the south. He was a drum major at the end 
of the war. Jonas Alby (Aby) applied for 
a pension in behalf of his heirs August 9, 
1845, and the application states that Hulett 
was a native of New Jersey, giving also most 
of the facts related here concerning his war 
record. The pension was granted. He was 
at one time sheriff of his county. He lived 
at Winchester, Virginia. He married at Win- 
chester, Virginia, January 16, 1787, Cather- 
ine Miller, who died August 20, 1836, aged 
Seventy-six years. He died at Winchester, 
May 20, 1835, aged seventy-five. Children: 
Richard ; James Madison ; Barbara, married 
Jonas Aby, mentioned below ; Harriet, mar- 
ried Henry Worrel. 

(II) Barbara, daughter of Charles Hulett, 
was born in Winchester in 1794; married in 
1808, Jonas Aby (Abby or Alby). Aby was 
a soldier in the war of 1812. Children of 
Jonas and Barbara (Hulett) Aby: Amanda, 
died in infancy ; Arabella, married Jacob She- 
waiter ; Samuel; George, died young; Ade- 
line, married Benjamin Stine; Ellen, died 
young; Elizabeth, married Carrington Ander- 
son ; Jane, married Barnes, of Mis- 
sissippi ; Kate, married A. J. Turner ; Thomas 
J. ; Charles W. ; Harriet, married Joseph 
Xixon; Sophia, married Dr. John Guyer; 
Frances, married William Summerville. 

(III) Arabella, daughter of Jonas and Bar- 
bara (Hulett) Aby, was born in Winchester in 
1812; married, at Middletown, Virginia, in 
1833, Jacob Shewalter, son of John and Eliza- 
beth Shewalter and descendant of the immi- 
grant who came from Germany and settled in 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, about 1744. 
John Shewalter settled in Frederick county, 
Virginia ; children : Jacob, (mentioned above) ; 
Elias ; Eliza who married Jacob Barnes, Wes- 
ley, Hamilton and Edward. Children of John 
and Arabella Aby Shewalter: 1. James Hu- 
let, born 1834, at Millwood, Virginia ; mar- 
ried Mary Prior, and lives at Kingsport, Ten- 

nessee ; had nine children. 2. Laura Jane, 
born 1836 and died, unmarried, August 8, 
1874. 3. James Summerfield, born 1838; 
married, in 1868, Elizabeth Gerry, who died 
in 1877; children: Bessie and Wilbur; mar- 
ried (second) Anna Chenowith. and had four 
children ; lives at Springfield, Ohio. 4. Emma 
Gertrude, born 1840; married, in 1857, Henry 
Lyle, at Kingsport ; had three children ; hus- 
band died in 1901, at Bristol, Tennessee. 5. 
Frances Virginia, born 1841 ; married, in 
1 861, George Simpson. (See Simpson II.) 
6. Ann Cornelia, born 1843 ! married, in 1871, 
James S. Larrick ; lives at Middletown, Vir- 
ginia ; has seven children. 7. Ella Adeline, 
born 1845 ! married, in 1887, Frederick Klee- 
ver ; lives in Tennessee ; no children. 8. 
Charles W., born in 1846; married, in 1894, 
Mrs. George Erskine ; lives in Washington, 
D. C, and has two children. 9. Alice Eliza- 
beth, born 1848 ; died 1869, unmarried. 10. 
Thomas Emory, born 185 1 ; died, in 1870, un- 
married. 11. Cora Arabella, born 1856; mar- 
ried, in 1894, James P. Taylor, has no chil- 
dren ; lives in Embreeville, Tennessee. 

John Blake, immigrant ancestor, 
BLAKE was the son of "Captain" Blake 

and Elizabeth ■. He was 

born probably in Maiden, England, about 
1652. His father died when he was a child, 
and his mother married (second) about 1660, 
George Durant. He undoubtedly came to 
America with his mother and stepfather about 
1660 or 1661. They settled on a farm in 
Maiden, Massachusetts, where they lived for 
a year or more before removing to Middle- 
town, Connecticut. The first child of George 
and Elizabeth Durant was Edward, whose 
birth record at Middletown is June 2, 1661. 
This Edward Durant was, like his father, a 
blacksmith by trade, and married Ann Hall, 
supposed to have been the sister of John 
Blake's wife. He settled in Boston, and had 
a smithy on the corner of Newbury and Win- 
ter streets, on land deeded to him by Ben- 
jamin Pemberton, June 13, 1728. August 
18, 1738, he conveyed the same to Samuel 
Brown, of Worcester, tailor. John Blake 
married, at Maiden, in 1673, Sarah, daughter 
of Richard Hall. She survived him and mar- 
ried (second) Edward Turner, Jr. She had 
the following children by her second husband : 
Abigail, born October 11, 1694; Stephen, died 
December 16, 1726. In 1683 John Blake 
bought from his stepfather a piece of land 
in Middletown. He died at Middletown, No- 
vember 11, 1690. His children were not bap- 
tized until after his death, which may indi- 
cate that he was not a churchman. Children, 


recorded in Middletown, February 8, 1683, 15, 1782; Elijah, June 26, 1784; Jonathan, 

Mercy, born November 16, 1673; Sarah, August 13, 1786, mentioned below; Harry, 

February 15, 1675; Mary, July 29, 1677; Eliz- June 29, 1788; Ithuel, August 1, 1790; Al- 

abeth, March 16, 1679-80; Abigail, January len, May 19, 1792; Sally, December 16, 1794; 

25, 1681 ; John, May 19, 1683; Jonathan, Maria, October 18, 1797 ; Lavinia, October 16, 

July 27, 1685, (mentioned below) ; Stephen, 1799. 

July 15, 1687; Richard, died at age of elev- (V) Jonathan, son of Elijah Blake, was 

en months. born August 13, 1786, at Torrington or Mid- 

(II) Jonathan, son of John Blake, was dletown, died May 14, 1868, at Winchester, 
born July 27, 1685, at Middletown, died there He married, at Winchester, May 12, 1808, 
October 17, 1733. He married, September Sabra Bronson. She died March 30, 1870, 
19, 1 710, Mary, daughter of Isaac and Mary aged eighty-six years. He was a justice of 
(Harris) Johnson. Her father, Isaac John- the peace and representative to the legisla- 
son, was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, ture 185 1. Children: Marcia, born February 
1644, the son of Isaac Johnson, born in Eng- 13, 1812; Mary Ann, January 17, 1814; 
land, 1617. The latter was the son of John Charles Hamlin mentioned below. 
Johnson and his wife Margery, who came (VI) Charles Hamlin, son of Jonathan 
from England in the fleet with Winthrop in Blake, was born October 17, 1817, at Win- 
1630. Her mother, Mary Harris, was born Chester, died at Winsted, Connecticut, April 
at Rowley, Massachusetts, 1651, daughter of 4, 1881. He received a common school edu- 
Daniel Harris, born in England, 1619, was at cation. He learned the trade of carpenter, 
Rowley in 1643 ar, d Mary (Weld) Harris, became a contractor and builder, and followed 
his wife, born in England about 1627. Mary his trade for a number of years. During the 
Weld was the daughter of Joseph and Eliza- latter part of his life he lived retired from 
beth Weld, who came from England to Rox- active business. He was a member of the 
bury, 1635. Jonathan Blake was a farmer by Congregational church, also of the parish 
occupation. His wife died January 10, 1761. committee, and superintendent of the Sunday 
Children: Daniel, born April 24, 1712; Abi- school. He married, May n, 1842, Jane,' 
gail, February 12, 1713 ; died August 7, 1727; daughter of James C. and Lucy (Northrup) 
Mary, January 27, 1714-15; Elizabeth, Feb- Cleveland (see Cleveland VII). Children: 
ruary 18, 1716-17; Prudence, April 8, 1719, James Cleveland, born February 9, 1847, died 
died March 28, 1739-40; Jonathan, May 12, January 24, 1848 ; James Cleveland, mentioned 
1721, died at age of five months; Jonathan, below; Lorenzo Mitchell, mentioned below. 
August 29, 1722; Mercy, January 12, 1724- (VII) James Cleveland, son of Charles 
25; Sarah, July 29, 1727; Stephen, (men- Hamlin Blake, was born July 12, 1849, died 
tioned below). April 15, 1891. He went to Winona, Minne- 

(III) Stephen, son of Jonathan Blake, was sota, in 1871, and was first engaged in the 
born February 18, 1730, at Middeltown, and grocery business. Later he became engaged 
married, October 18, 1750, Rachel Alvord. He in the manufacture of wagons, and was sec- 
was a tanner and currier by trade, and at retary of the Winona Wagon Company at the 
the time of his death was town clerk of Mid- time of his death. He married, October 4, 
dletown. He and his son Jonathan were 1870, Anna, born July 6, 1848, at Colebrook, 
drowned "the evening after the 6th of Janu- died March 22, 19 10, daughter of Rollin and 
ary, 1767, in the mill brook." Children: Susan (Holmes) Beecher. Children: Susan 
Rachel, born April 8, 1752; Jonathan, Janu- J., deceased; Charles Beecher, married Helen 
ary 31, 1754; Elijah, June 18, 1756, (men- Mann; child, Buel Beecher; Mary Cleveland, 
tioned below) ; George, October 30, 1758, sol- deceased; James Bronson; Ward Mitchell, 
dier in the revolution; Mary, May 7, 1761, married Genevieve Mullins, of Minneapolis, 
died October 14, 1762; still-born son, 1763; (VII) Lorenzo Mitchell, son of Charles 
Mary, April 7, 1765; Stephen. April 27, 1767. Hamlin Blake, was born April 26, 1851, at 

(IV) Elijah, son of Stephen Blake, was Winsted, and educated in the town and select 
born June 18, 1756, at Middletown, died Oc- schools. He has always lived in Winsted, 
tober 2, 1833, at Winchester, Connecticut. He except for three years, when he worked in 
was a United States pensioner. He removed a savings bank in Hartford. Before going 
to Torrington, Connecticut, in early life, later to Hartford he was in the banking business 
to Winchester. He was a tanner and currier in Winsted. He has been retired from active 
by trade. He married, September 27, 1779, business for a number of years. He is now 
Sarah Hamlin, born 1755, died October 27, director and vice-president of the First Na- 
181 1. Children: Sally, born December 12, tional Bank of Winsted, trustee of the Gilbert 
1780, died June 17, 1793; Polly, September Home and School, and a member of the Gil- 


1 1 1 

bert Home Committee. He is a director in 
the Winsted Hosiery Company, director and 
secretary of the Winsted Real Estate Com- 
pany, and director of the Litchfield County 
Hospital. He is also deacon in the First 
Congregational Church, of Winsted. He 
married. October 18, 1888, Nellie, daughter 
of William Ward and Lucy (Goodwin) Mit- 
chell, of Chicopee, Massachusetts, (see Mit- 
chell VI). Children: Faith Cleveland, born 
January 3, 1890; Allen Mitchell, March 26, 

(The Cleveland Line). 

(III) Sergeant Joseph Cleveland, son of 
Samuel Cleveland (q. v.), was born in 

Chelmsford, Massachusetts, July 18, 1689, 
died in Canterbury, Connecticut, March 11, 
1766. He married (first) in Canterbury, Feb- 
ruary 7. 1710-11, Abigail Hyde, born in Cam- 
bridge. Massachusetts, August 8, 1688, died 
in Canterbury, December 16, 1724, daughter 
of Jonathan and Dorothy (Kidder) Hyde. 
He married (second) in Canterbury, March 
31, 1725, Sarah Ainsworth or Ensworth, born 
in Plainfield, Connecticut, June 12, 1699, died 
June 21, 1761, daughter of Tyxall and Lydia 
or Sarah Ainsworth. Children, born in Can- 
terbury by first wife : Ephraim, February 3, 
1711-12; Jonathan, May 9, 1713 ; Benjamin, 
mentioned below; Dorothy, March 31, 1716; 
John, died March 5, 1754; Elijah, born Janu- 
ary 5, 1720-21 ; Persis, 1723. By second mar- 
riage : Ezra, born 1726; Samuel, June 7, 1730. 

(IV) Benjamin, son of Sergeant Joseph 
Cleveland, was born in Canterbury, May 20, 
1714, died in East Brookfield, Orange county, 
Vermont, 1797. He married, in 1736, Rachel 

, who died at Lyme, Grafton county, 

New Hampshire, in 1792. He was a resident 
of Canterbury until about 1780. A deed of 
land by Joseph Cleveland to his "well-beloved 
son Benjamin Cleveland" is dated Canter- 
bury, December 23, 1735, with the reservation 
that he and his family be able to have their 
firewood from the land. Within a fortnight, 
during the month of November in the year 
1749, three of their five children sickened and 
died. In the following spring another daugh- 
ter was born and christened for her mother 
Rachel. They had four more children after 
this. In 1780 Benjamin Cleveland moved to 
Lyme, Grafton county, New Hampshire. 
About 1792 he removed with his son-in-law, 
Rev. Samuel Hovey, to East Brookfield, Ver- 
mont, where he died 1797. His wife died in 
Lyme in 1792. It is thought that her maiden 
name may have been Stebbins, and many other 
conjectures are made also. Children: Jo- 
seph, born May 14, 1737; Benjamin, probably 
1740; Dorothy, June 10, 1744.; Abigail, Au- 

gust 13, 1746; Zenas, September 21, 1748; 
Rachel, May 18, 1750; Persis; Rufus, men- 
tioned below; Mary, April 14, 1756; Phebe, 
June 25, 1758. 

(V) Rufus, son of Benjamin Cleveland, 
was born June 14, 1754, in Canterbury, died 
at Barkhamsted, Litchfield county, Connecti- 
cut, February 22, 1828. He married (first) 
in Ellington, Tolland county, Connecticut, 
September 9, 1779, Mary, who was born in 
Coventry, Connecticut. August 7, 1759, died 
at Barkhamsted or Winsted, November 13, 
1807, eldest daughter of Captain James and 
Abigail (Boynton) (Palmer) Chamberlain. 
He married (second) in Winsted, May 1, 1808 
Mrs. Alice (Jenkins) Kent, born in Boston 
or Bridgewater, Massachusetts, 1771, died in 
Winsted, October 14, 1833, aged sixty-two, 
widow of John Kent, daughter of Edward 
and Jerusha (Neal) Jenkins. Rufus Cleve- 
land was of medium height, florid complexion, 
with light curly hair and blue eyes. He served 
as a soldier during the revolutionary war, and 
paid his marriage fee of one hundred dol- 
lars of continental currency. Corporal Rufus 
Cleveland enlisted July 9, 1775, and was dis- 
charged October 17, 1775. The regiment was 
stationed on the sound until September 14, 
and at Roxbury, Massachusetts, to expiration 
of term, December, 1775. While employed 
on Captain James Chamberlain's farm he mar- 
ried his first wife, Mary Chamberlain, and 
when his father-in-law moved from Elling- 
ton, in 1782-83, to Warehouse Point, in East 
Windsor, he accompanied them, remaining 
there until spring of 1787, when he removed 
to Barkhamsted and purchased a farm on Wal- 
len's Hill. Here his wife died in 1807, of a 
fever contracted from nursing a neighbor's 
wife, who also died, as it was an epidemic 
in the neighborhood at that time. Her kind- 
ness to the sick, and her readiness to watch 
and care for them at all times, made her 
greatly beloved, and her death was deeply 
mourned. In the old burying-ground on the 
"Hill" may be seen the graves of the couple, 
with inscriptions as follows: "In memory of 
Rufus Cleveland, who died Feb. 22, 1838, 
aged 82 years." "In memory of Mrs. Mary 
Cleveland, wife of Rufus Cleveland, and 
daughter of Capt. James Chamberlain, who 
died Novem. 13, 1807, in the 49th year of her 
age." Rufus Cleveland and wife Mary, were 
members of the Congregational church, and 
he and all his sons were Whigs. His second 
wife was buried in the cemetery at Winsted. 
Mary Chamberlain's father was Captain 
Tames Chamberlain, born February 11, 1734, 
her grandfather was Joseph Chamberlain, of 
Tolland, Connecticut, her great-grandfather 



was Thomas Chamberlain, of Newton, born 
Billerica, February 20, 1659 ; her great-great- 
grandfather was William Chamberlain, born 
about 1 62 1, of Woburn, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren of Rufus and Mary Cleveland : Chester, 
born June 30, 1780; Clarissa, February 6, 
1782; Alexander, October 16, 1783; Oren. 
May 3, 1785; James C. (mentioned below); 
Horace, February 25, 1789; Mary, March 21, 
1791 ; Nancy, August 22, 1792 ; Betsey, August 
31, 1794; Mary, May 23, 1796; son, born and 
died June 5, 1798 ; daughter, born and died 
February 17, 1800; daughter, born and died 
September 14, 1801 ; Charles Chester War- 
ner, born January 20, 1803. By second mar- 
riage : Alice, born October 2, 1809 ; John Kent, 
May 12, 181 1. 

(VI) James Chamberlain, son of Rufus 
Cleveland, was born January 9, 1787, in East 
Windsor, Connecticut ; died in Winsted, Sep- 
tember 1, 1875, aged eighty-eight. He mar- 
ried (first) in Winchester, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1813, Philenda, born in Winchester, 
August 29, 1793, died in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, May 19, 1814, daughter of Lewis 
and Mary (Allen) Miller. He married (sec- 
ond) in Hartland, Connecticut, September 19, 
1816, Sally, born December 8, 1791, died in 
Winchester, December 27, 18 19, daughter of 
Prince and Lucy (Adams) Taylor. He mar- 
ried (third), in Salisbury, Connecticut, Au- 
gust 21, 1820, Lucy Northrup, born April 20, 
1798, died March 26, 1884, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Mary (Bradley) Northrup. Hon. 
James Chamberlain Cleveland removed to 
Philadelphia in 1813, and engaged in business 
selling groceries and clocks ; also taught 
school six months. The early death of his 
wife greatly disheartened him, and he sold 
out his entire business, stock and fixtures, re- 
turning June, 1814, to Winsted. where he al- 
ways dwelt afterward. He was a clock man- 
ufacturer and farmer. He represented his 
town in the legislature in 1834; was assessor 
for fifteen years, and filled several offices of 
trust with ability. He was of small size, had 
light hair and blue eyes. He was a man of 
few words, but of plain speech when occasion 
required. He died after a short, but severe 
illness, universally esteemed and respected. 
His third wife survived him. Child of first 
marriage: Charles Miller, born May 4, 1814; 
children of third marriage : Jane, mentioned 
below; son, born and died April 28, 1825. 

(VII) Jane, daughter of James Chamber- 
lain Cleveland, was born July 21, 182 1, in 
Winsted, Connecticut, died in Winsted, Au- 
gust 29, 1888. She married in Winsted, May 
n, 1842, Charles Hamlin Blake (see Blake 

(The Mitchell Line). 

(I) Experience Mitchell, immigrant ances- 
tor, came from England in the third ship, 
"Ann" to Plymouth, in 1623. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1633. He sold his place 
in Plymouth to Samuel Eddy in 1631, and 
removed to Duxbury, where he purchased 
William Peabody's house and farm in 1650. 
He was one of the original proprietors of 
Bridgewater, but sold his right to Thomas 
Hayward. He came to Bridgewater late in 
life with his son Edward. While at Plymouth 
he lived at Spring Hill and at Duxbury, at 
a place called Blue Fish River. At Bridge- 
water his home was at Joppa, where at last 
accounts descendants were still living. He 
died in 1689, aged eighty years. His will 
was dated December 5, 1680, proved Septem- 
ber 4, 1689, bequeathing to wife Mary, sons 
Edward and John, daughters Mary Shaw, 
Sarah and Hannah Haward, and grandchil- 
dren Experience, Thomas and Mary Mitchell. 
He was in Leyden, Holland, with the Pil- 
grims, and left a brother Thomas, who lived + 
and died there. Experience rrad a share in 

the first division of lots at Plymouth in 1623, 
and of the livestock in 1627. It is said that 
he married Jane, daughter of Francis Cook, 
who came in the "Mayflower," for his first 
wife. The wife of his old age was Mary 
whose family name is unknown. Experience 
had a sister Constant who married John 
Fobes. The names of his children, as ap- 
pears from wills, deeds and other records, 
were : Thomas, John, Jacob, Edward, Eliza- 
beth, Mary, Sarah and Hannah. 

(II) Ensign Edward, son of Experience 
Mitchell, was born about 1630. He married 
Mary Hayward and lived with her forty years,, 
having no children. He married (second) 

1708, Alice, daughter of Major John Brad- 
ford, of Kingston, son of John Bradford, 
grandson of Governor William Bradford, who 
came in the "Mayflower." She was born in 
1678. died in 1746. He died in 1717, and 
was nearly seventy years old when his young- 
est child was born. His widow married Dea- 
con Joshua Hersey, of Hingham and removed 
thither with her children. Edward Mitchell, 
sold the family estate, which he had at Blue 
Fish River from his father, to Samuel 
Sprague, in 1708. Children of Ensign Ed- 
ward Mitchell by second wife : Mary, born 

1709, married Joshua Hersey; Alice, 1714, 
married Noah Hersey ; Edward, mentioned 

(III) Colonel Edward (2), son of Ensign 
Edward (1) Mitchell, was born at Bridge- 
water, 1716, and married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Elisha Cushing of Hingham, in 1738. She 



died in 1799, aged eighty-five. He returned 
to East Bridgewater to live. He died in 1801. 
Children: Edward, born 1739; Gushing, 1740; 
Elizabeth, 1742; Alice, 1744; Elisha, 1746; 
John, 1748; William, 1750, mentioned below; 
Bradford, 1752; Mary, 1754; Celia, 1757; Sa- 
rah. 1759 ; Bela. 1761. 

(IV) William, son of Colonel Edward (2) 
Mitchell, was born in East Bridgewater, 1750, 
and settled in Cnmmington, Massachusetts. 
He married Elizabeth, daughter of William 
Ward. She died 1839; he died 1837. Both 
be and his father had twelve children, all of 
whom lived to be married. Children : Piam, 
married Sallv Orcutt ; Cushing, settled in 
Windsor; William, married Clarissa Beebe ; 
Chester, mentioned below ; Elisha, married 

Lucinda Brewster ; Bela, married ■ — 

Streeter ; Betsey, married Elijah Warner; 
Clarissa, married Stephen Warner, Jr. ; Sally, 
married Roswell Hubbard ; Laura, married 
Otis Tileston ; Polly, married Seth Porter, Jr., 
Jennet, married Chester Gaylord. 

(V) Chester, son of William Mitchell, mar- 
ried Venelia Richards. 

(VI) William Ward, son of Chester Mit- 
chell, was born in Cummington, Massachu- 
setts, January 24, 18 16. He married Lucy 
Gftodwin, born Ashfield, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 14, 1824. Their daughter Nellie mar- 
ried Lorenzo M. Blake (see Blake VII). She 
is a member of the Daughters of the Revolu- 

Thomas Hurlburt, immi- 
HURLBURT grant ancestor of Samuel 

W. Hurlburt, was born, it 
is thought, in Scotland, as early as 1610, and 
came to America with Lion or Leion Gardi- 
ner, in the "Bachelor" sailing from London, 
August 11, 1635. He is supposed to have 
been one of the eleven passengers which the 
ship carried. After coming to America, Lion 
Gardiner built and commanded the fort at 
Saybrook, Connecticut ; Under ' him Thomas 
Hurlburt served in the Pequofwar, and was 
wounded fly an arrow. This appears from 
a letter of Li^'n Gardiner, written in June, 
1660. Thomas Hurlburt was a blacksmith, 
and after the war settled in Wethersfielcl, Con- 
necticut, where, he was one of the first set- 
tlers. He served the town in various public 
offices, was clerk of the train band in 1640, 
constable and grand juror in 1644, and dep- 
uty to the general court. Erom the records, 
1647, it appears that he received a number 
of tracts of land in the several divisions of 
the town. October 12, 1671, the assembly 
voted him one hundred and twenty acres for 
his services in the Indian war. It is supposed 

that he died soon after that date. His wife 

was Sarah — 1 . Children: Thomas, Jr.; 

John, born March 8, 1642; Samuel, born 
about 1644 ; Joseph, mentioned below ; Ste- 
phen, born about 1649; Cornelius, born about 


(II) Joseph, son of Thomas Hurlburt, was 
born about 1646, in Wethersfield, died July 
13, 1732. He removed to Woodbury as early 

as 168 1. He married Rebecca . who 

died February 2, 1712, in Woodbury. Chil- 
dren : Joseph, Jr., born about 1677 ; John, 
born about 1680 ; Sarah ; Cornelius, born 
about 1682, mentioned below; Jonathan; Re- 
becca ; Mary ; Phebe. 

(III) Cornelius, son of Joseph Hurlburt, 
was born in Wethersfield, about 1682, baptized 
in Woodbury in 1705, died in Roxbury, Con- 
necticut. August 9. 1 75 1. He settled in Wood- 
bury and became a farmer. He married Sa- 
rah . Children, born in Woodbury : 

Gamaliel, born December 20, 1714; Mercy, 
April 20, 1717; Kesiah, born March 2, 1719; 
David, May 10, 1721, mentioned below; Han- 
nah. July 15, 1723 : Noah, baptized June 7, 
1730; Timothy, born February 13. 1731-32; 
Sarah, baptized September 5, 1733; Ruth, 
baptized June 15, 1735. 

(IV) David, son of Cornelius Hurlburt, 
was born May to, 1721, in Woodbury, died 
in Hinesburg, Vermont, He married (first) 
in Roxbury, June 27, 1749. Hannah San- 
ford. She died in Roxbury, December 23, 
1760, and he married (second) Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Jonathan Pettit, of New Milford, Con- 
necticut. She died in Roxbury at the home 
of her son. Major. Children of first wife: 
Solomon, born in Woodbury, March 21, 1750; 
Cornelius, born in Woodbury. November 13, 
1752: Hannah, baptized September 15, 1754; 
Mabel, baptized May 15, 1757; David, born 
in Roxbury, December 9, 1760. Children of 
second wife : Major, mentioned below ; Heze- 

(VI Major, son of David Hurlburt, was 
born, it is supposed in 1768, in Roxbury, died 
there December 16, 1813. He married Phebe 
Jackson, of Roxbury. Before his marriage 
he lived in Sharon, Connecticut, where his 
name appears on the town records of 1795. 
His wife died in Roxbury, August 30. 1856. 
Children: Major Horace, born July 25. 1800; 
William, July 8, 1802; Ira, July 4, 1806; 
George, mentioned below. 

(VI) George, son of Major Hurlburt, was 
born in Roxbury. October 14, 1809. He 
learned the hatter's trade under Colonel Wil- 
liam Odell, of Washington, Connecticut, and 
worked at it until i860, when lie became a 
general mercha/it ; later in life he engaged 

ii 4 


in farming. He was appointed postmaster by 
President Lincoln, and was a member of the 
state legislature. He married. January 7, 1833, 
Thalia A. Merwiri, of Brookfield, Connecti- 
cut. Children : Caroline S., born October 22, 
1833; Thalia M.. February 9, 1836; Emily E., 
May 7, 1839; George W., March 10, 1841 ; 
Samuel W., December 29, 1843 ! William 
Henry, March 11, 1846; Charles W., June 
8. 1849; Adelaide, June 12, 1851 ; Frank W., 
September 20, 1853. 

(VII) Samuel W., son of George Hurl- 
burt. was born in Roxbury, Connecticut, De- 
cember 29. 1843. He attended the public 
schools of Roxbury and Bridgewater, Con- 
necticut, and then became associated with his 
father in the manufacture of hats, but on ac- 
count of his health he left the hat business 
to engage in mercantile business in 1866 at 
Bridgewater, Connecticut. In partnership 
with William T. Northrop he bought the gro- 
cery business of David W. Buckingham at 
the corner of Chapel and High streets, New 
Haven, March 2, 1869. In 1875 Mr. North- 
rop withdrew from the firm and Mr. Hurl- 
burt continued the business alone until 1883, 
when he took into partnership Frank W. Hurl- 
burt and the name became Hurlburt Brothers 
and continued until 1898. From 1898 to 1902 
S. W. Hurlburt conducted the business alone. 
In 1902 the business was incorporated and 
Mr. Hurlburt became president and treasurer 
of the company. In the spring of 1889 he 
built the "Roxbury" on the site of the old 
store building. His store occupies over one 
half of the ground floor of this building, 
the three upper floors being rented. His store 
is the finest retail provision and grocery store 
in the city of New Haven, if not in the entire 
state. The location, 1074 Chapel street, is 
perhaps the finest in the city and the busi- 
ness has been very successful. He is a mem- 
ber of the Ouinnipiac Club of New Haven. 
He belongs to Trinity Protestant Episcopal 
Church. In politics he is independent. 

He married Frances Irene Keeler, who died 
September 22, 1901, at Portland, Maine, 
daughter of Daniel and Minerva (Peck) 
Keeler (see Peck V). Child, Frederick Sam- 
uel, born May 25, 1876; married, June 22, 
1898, Bella Notten Manville ; he died April 
18, 1908 ; no children. 

(The Peck Line). 

Joseph Peck, immigrant, was born in Eng- 
land, and settled at New Haven, Connecticut, 
as early as 1643, removing thence to Mil- 
ford in 1649. He was a member of the Mil- 
ford church in 1652. He is thought to be a 
brother of Henry Peck, of New Haven, and 

probably came with him. He married (first) 
Alice Burwell, died December 19, 1666; at 
Milford, widow of John Burwell; (second) 

Richards. His home was near the 

residence now or lately occupied by Captain 
Cornelius B. Peck. He died in 1700-01. 

(II) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) Peck, 
was born in 1653. He settled in Milford. 
He married there January 27, 1678-79, Mary 
Camp. He settled his own estate by deeding 
his property to his children. Children, born 
at Milford: Joseph, born February 25, 1680: 
Mary, December 15, 1682; John, September 
4, 1685; Jeremiah, 1687; Samuel, 1690; Eph- 
raim, mentioned below ; Henry, 1695 ; Eliza- 
beth, 1697; Nathaniel, 1699; Abigail, Septem- 
ber 25, 1701 ; Seth, October 3, 1703. 

(III) Ephraim, son of Joseph (2) Peck, 
was born at Milford in September, 1692, died 
July 23. 1760, at Newtown, Connecticut. He 
married, November 7, 1716, Sarah Ford, born 
February. 1697. Children, born at Newtown : 
Sarah, July 14, 1717; Henry, mentioned be- 
low; Ephraim, May 21, 1721 ; Ruth, January 
28, 1723-24; Gideon, July 2, 1725; Ebenezer, 
July 2, 1727; Ann, September 3, 173 1 ; Da- 

(IV) Henry, son of Ephraim Peck, was 
born at Newtown, April 14, 1719, and lived 
in his native town. He married (first) De- 
cember 23, 1755, Ann Smith; (second) Au- 
gust 6, 1765, Hannah Leavenworth. His chil- 
dren were: Zalmon, born March 15, 1758; 
Lemuel, April 3, 1766; Mercy, August* 10, 
1767; Hannah, April 6, 1770; Andrew, May 
21, 1773, mentioned below; Samuel, July 2, 


(V) Andrew, son of Henry Peck, was born 

May 21, 1773. at Newtown, died August 25, 
1826. He removed from his native town to 
New Milford, now Bridgewater, Connecticut, 
in 1813. He married Lucinda Terrill, who 
died September 5, 1848. Children, born at 
Newtown: Mercy, April 26, 1795; Sherman, 
March 8, 1797; Amy, October 4, 1799; 
George, November 5, 1802; Sally, January 17, 
1807; Minerva, June 15, 1810, married Dan- 
iel Keeler, their daughter, Frances Irene, mar- 
ried Samuel W. Hurlburt (see Hurlburt 
VII); John, April 15, 1813: Maria. January 
19, 1816. 

Roger Sumner was a husband- 
SUMNER man of Bicester, Oxfordshire, 

England. He married there, 
November 2, 1601, Joane Franklin. He died 
there December 3, 1608, and his widow mar- 
ried (second) January 10, 161 1, Marcus 
Brian. Roger Sumner had a brother William 
who died at Bicester in 1597. Only child 



of Roger and Joane Sumner; William, men- 
tioned below. 

(II) William, son of Roger Sumner, was 
born at Bicester, England, in 1605, and set- 
tled at Dorcbester, Massachusetts. He was 
admitted a freeman. May 17, 1637, and be- 
came a prominent man of the province. He 
was selectman there in 1637, and for more 
than twenty years. From 1663 to 1680 he 
was one of the feoffes of the school land, and 
from 1663 to 1671 was a commissioner to 
end small causes. In 1663 he was chosen 
clerk of the train band. He was deputy to 
the general court many years. His wife died 
at Dorchester, June 7, 1676, and he died De- 
cember 9, 1688. Children: William, men- 
tioned below ; Joane, born at Bicester ; Roger, 
born 1632; George, 1634; Samuel, born at 
Dorchester, May 18, 1638 ; Increase, February 
23, 1643. 

(III) William (2), son of William (1) 
Sumner, was born at Bicester, England, and 
was a mariner. He came to New England 
with his parents and settled first in Dorches- 
ter. He removed to Boston, where he died 
in February, 1675. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Augustine Clement, of Dorches- 
ter. She died before 1687. Children, the 
first two born in Dorchester, the others in Bos- 
ton : Elizabeth. 1652: Mary, 1654: William, 
February 9. 1656; Hannah, June 10, 1659; 
Sarah ; Experience, September 22, 1664 : Eben- 
ezer, October 30, 1668; Deliverance, March 
18, 1669; Clement, September 6, 1671, men- 
tioned below ; Mercy, January, 1675, died 

(IV) Clement, son of William (2) Sum- 
ner, was born at Boston, September 6, 1671, 
and lived there. He married, May 18, 1698, 
Margaret Harris. Children, born at Boston: 
William. March 18, 1699, mentioned below; 
Ebenezer, September 1, 1701 ; Margaret, De- 
cember 7, 1702, died same day; Margaret, 
July 18, 1705; Elizabeth, October 8, 1707; 
Samuel, August 31, 1709; Benjamin, May 28, 
171 1. 

( V ) Dr. William (3) Sumner, son of Clem- 
ent Sumner, was born at Boston, March 18, 
1699, died March 4, 1778. He was dismissed 
in 1732 from the Second Church, Boston, to 
the church at Hebron, Connecticut. He was 
a physician there, and removed in 1767 to 
Claremont, New Hampshire, where he died. 
He married, October 11, 172 1, Hannah Hunt, 
who died April 2, 1781, daughter of Thomas 
Hunt, of Lebanon, Connecticut. Children, the 
first born at Lebanon, the others at Hebron: 
William, February 6. 1723; Mary, February 
8, 1725 ; Reuben, May 29, 1727, mentioned be- 
low ; Hannah, April 23, 1730; Clement, July 

15, 173 1 ; Thomas, May 7, 1733, died May 25 
following; Thomas, May 11, 1734; Jonathan, 
March 15, 1735; Benjamin, February 5, 1737; 
Elizabeth, May 22, 1742 ; Sarah, May 22, 

(VI) Reuben, son of Dr. William (3) 
Sumner, was born at Hebron, Connecticut, 
May 29, 1727, died there April 2, 1807. He 
married, March 6, 1754, Elizabeth Mack, of 
Hebron, who died July 10, 1805. Children ; 
born at Hebron: Hannah, December 29, 1754; 
Elizabeth, January 29, 1757 ; Lydia, August 

25, 1759; William, September 22, 1761 ; Reu- 
ben, March 19, 1764; Sibyl, June 15, 1766; 
Abigail, September 8, 1768; Mary, April 21, 
1 77 1, died young; Henry Peterson, June 10, 
1773, mentioned below; Abigail, November 

26, 1775: Mary, May 24, 1778. 

(VII) Rev. Henry Peterson Sumner, son of 
Reuben Sumner, was born at Hebron, June 10, 
1773, died January 18, 1838. He was a Meth- 
odist minister, and lived at Hebron. He mar- 
ried (first) October 11, 1796, Jerusha, who died 
February 4, 1798, daughter of Solomon Per- 
rin, of Hebron. He married (second) Sep- 
tember 11, 1798, Mary S., who died at Bol- 
ton, July 9, 1875, daughter of Timothy Gos- 
lee, of Glastonbury. Child of first wife : Je- 
rusha, born at Hebron, January 22, 1798. 
Children of second wife, born at Hebron: 
Henry Tudor, January 21, 1800; Matilda, De- 
cember 19, 1801, died young; William Orse- 
mus, March 17, 1804; Caroline Elizabeth, Jan- 
uary 5, 1806: Hester Ann, February 6, 1808; 
Mary Matilda, June 25, 1810 ; John Wesley, 
September 16, 1812, mentioned below; Nancy 
Lorey, January 24, 1815 ; Charles Fletcher, 
March 28, 1817; Harriet Newell, December 
1, 1819; Sherman Peterson, October 12, 1822. 

(VIII) John Wesley, son of Rev. Henry 
Peterson Sumner, was born at Hebron, Sep- 
tember 16, 1812, died February 8, 1892, at 
Bolton. He was a resident of Bolton, Con- 
necticut, and was representative to the assem- 
bly in 1877-78. At the time of his death the 
Hartford Courant said of him : "Mr. Sumner 
was cast in an unusually rugged mould men- 
tally and bodily. He was clear sighted and 
positive in his ideas of right action, and in 
the advocacy of them as well, as in all re- 
lations of life he scarcely knew the feeling 
of fear. He was active and effective in the 
affairs of his town and section, and in poli- 
tics," at his funeral, Rev. Luther H. Barber, 
former pastor of the Congregational church 
at Bolton, gave the following summing up 
of his life : 

"Mr. John W. Sumner had lived to fill up a full 
and useful life. His life covered a period of almost 
four-rocrc years, a life longer than hut few, com- 



pared to tlie whole, are permitted to spend here. 
The years of his life have been eventful ones in 
the history of our country. His birth was in 1812, 
in the year of the last war with Great Britain, and 
what scenes our country has passed through since 
that time ! In the passing events during Mr. Sum- 
ner's life he has taken a deep and lively interest. 
He has occupied a prominent position in this com- 
munity through a period of some forty years or 
more. The regard in which he has been held by his 
fellow townsmen is shown in the responsible posi- 
tions of public trust in which he has been placed 
by them. From all we have known and learned 
of him we believe you who have known him would 
testify he had been faithful to trusts committed 
to him, that he has endeavored to act conscientiously 
in all matters intrusted to him. Were I to speak 
of the marked characteristics in our deceased friend, 
among these I should mention : 

"First, his earnest convictions. Descending, as he 
did, from those who were possessed of the Puritan 
principles of character, we should have expected to 
find in him such fixedness of opinion that when 
his mind was once made up in any direction it 
would not be an easy matter to turn him from it. 
He meant there should be just grounds for his opin- 
ions, and, once formed, he would adhere to them. 
What he was one day, he was found to be the next. 

"Second, he was one who might be called a wise 
counselor. I doubt whether there was a man in 
this town whose counsel was sought by so many as 
was his. Holding the office of magistrate as he did, 
it was natural his advice should be sought many 
times, but beyond and outside of this many took 
counsel with him. When those came to him with 
grievances such that they were inclined to resort 
to the civil law for redress, he would do all he 
could to dissuade from this, and use all his in- 
fluence to have their grievances settled in some 
other way; and just here, in this connection, we 
might speak of him as a peacemaker. 

"Third, he was a peacemaker. When there came 
up that which tended to mar the peace between 
neighbors, instead of saying or doing anything to 
widen the breach, he would do what he could to 
bring the parties together. Sometimes when troubles 
arose between members of the same family, and 
aggrieved ones came to him he would counsel for 
those things making peace, and many times his coun- 
sel, 'Be at peace among yourselves' was so followed 
that harmony was restored when otherwise lasting 
alienation would have been the result. 

"Fourth, he was emphatically a lover of good or- 
der. He would frown upon anything and every- 
thing that tended to destroy this or work against 
•it. He earnestly desired to see propriety of con- 
duct on the part of the young. He seemed greatly 
interested in the welfare of the young. He would 
have them take such courses as to render them valu- 
able and useful members of society. He would have 
them avoid associates and places from which there 
would be danger, their morals would be corrupted 
or in any way suffer. Rarely do we find one in 
advanced life more interested in the young than 
he was, and he wanted they should be prepared to 
act well their part in life. 

"Fifth, he had great kindness of heart. You who 
have known him longest and best have known him 
as a kind neighbor. Those kind, neighborly acts, 
which do so much to render neighborhoods what 
they should be. he was ready and wont to perform. 
Who, when they wanted some kind and neighborly 
act done, was not likely to think of Mr. Sumner, 
and who went to him for a favor who did not 
expect to get it, if in his power to grant it? When 

he knew there was want in a family, where poverty 
had entered, he would bestow unasked relief. How 
many of the poor and hungry have had food and 
shelter under his hospitable roof. I doubt if he 
ever turned a poor tramp away without food, when 
he asked for it, or shelter, when it was evident he 
needed it. Has it not been true in the community 
when some poor wayfarer has sought a shelter on 
some cold, stormy night, when he had called at our 
dwellings for shelter he has been directed to Mr. 
Sumner with a feeling that he would be sure to 
care for him ? When I speak of the kindness of 
heart of our departed friend, I feel sure you will 
all agree with me. But, may I not here, in this 
presence, speak of his kindness as manifested to 
me and mine? When I came to be the pastor of the 
people thirteen years ago last June, coming up the 
hill east of us, Mr. Sumner was in his field just by 
the wall. As I halted for a moment, Mr. Sumner 
said, T have always been the friend of the minister, 
and I shall always be your friend as long as you are 
minister here.' That promise he redeemed all along 
in the eleven years of my ministry here, and it has 
not failed since I have been from you. In multi- 
tudes of instances have the kind acts of this friend 
been manifested to me and mine. I think of him 
to-day as I was wont to meet him in his home and 
elsewhere, the warm, kind grasp of his hand I seem 
to feel. I think of him as he was wont to sit in the 
seat just down there. I think of him as the attentive 
listener, never drowsy — hearing every word uttered." 

Mr. Sumner married, November 23. 1836, 
Mary, born January 12, 1814, daughter of 
George Gleason. Children: 1. Henry Peter- 
son, born at Hebron, January 21, 1838, died 
at Bolton, August 29, 1873. 2. Mary Eliza- 
beth, May 23, 1839, died same day. 3. George 
Gleason, January 14, 1841 ; lawyer of Hart- 
ford ; representative 1867 ; alderman four 
years ; city attorney one term ; associate judge 
of city court and police commissioner three 
years ; recorder of city court four years ; chair- 
man of Democratic state central committee, 
1873-74; mayor of Hartford, 1878: lieutenant- 
governor of Connecticut, 1883 ; state senator 
1887-88; married, October. 1870, Julia E. Gal- 
lup ; children : i. William Gallup, born Decem- 
ber 5, 1871, died January, 1873; ii. Ella Gal- 
lup, March, 1875, died young. 4. Ella Mary, 
born at Canton, Connecticut, April 24, 1848 ; 
married, February 8, 187T, Jabez L. White, 
of Bolton, died October 6, 1876. 5. Frank 
Chester, mentioned below. 

(IX) Frank Chester, son of John Wesley 
Sumner, was born in Canton, Connecticut, 
June 8, 1850. He received his education in 
the public schools of Bolton, and in the Hart- 
ford high school. At the age of seventeen 
he entered the employ of the Hartford Trust 
Company, as messenger. He was promoted 
from time to time, and now holds the re- 
sponsible position of treasurer of the com- 
pany. He is a director of the State prison, 
of Peck, Stow & Wilcox Company, of the 
Gray Telephone Pay Station, trustee of the 
Mechanics Savings Bank. He served as jury 





com r issioner, water commissioner, and was 
a member of the board of health twelve years, 
up to 1900. He is now a member of the 
bridge commission. He married, June 17, 
1896, Mary L., daughter of George S. and 
Adelaide L. (Catlin) Catlin, and granddaugh- 
ter of Hon. George S. Catlin. 

The original Howlands in 
HOWLAND America were Arthur, John 

and Henry. The last named 
was one of the "Mayflower" number, and 
the others appeared in the early days of the 
settlement of Plymouth, Massachusetts, but 
how and from what place in England they 
came from has never been definitely ascer- 

(I) Henry Howland, the youngest of the 
three brothers mentioned above, is first heard 
of in Plymouth in 1624, when his name ap- 
pears in the allotment of cattle to the differ- 
ent families. In the court records of Ply- 
mouth, the name of "Henery Howland" is 
found in a list of freeman, under date of 
1633. He appears in Duxbury among its ear- 
liest settlers, where he is referred to as living 
"by the bay side, near Love Brewster's" and 
the record says that he was "one of the sub- 
stanial landholders and freeman." He was 
chosen constable for Duxbury in 1635, and 
was for several years surveyor of highways 
in the town. In 1643 ne was on a ust °f 
freemen, and of men able to bear arms. He 
served on the grand jury in the years 1636 
37-39-40-49-51-52-53-56.' In the following 
year, he apparently joined the Friends' sect, 
which was just beginning to spread in Amer- 
ica, and as a result endured for the remainder 
of his life the various persecutions to which 
this sect was subjected by the civil authori- 
ties of the time. Towards the end of his life, 
he became a large possessor of real estate. 
In 1652 he was associated with others in a 
large tract of land in Dartmouth, and in 1659 
he bought with twenty-six others what was 
then called Assonet, and is now Freetown. 
It appears from his will that he owned a house 
in Duxbury, where he doubtless died. He 
married Mary Newland, who died June 6, 
1674. He died January 17, 1671. Children: 
Joseph, Zoeth, John, Samuel, mentioned be- 
low ; Sarah, Elizabeth, Mary, Abigail. 

(II) Samuel, son of Henry Howland, was 
born in Duxbury. He appears in the Ply- 
mouth county records in 1662 for breach of 
the sabbath in carrying a grist from mill, and 
was "fined ten shillinges or be whipt." He 
does not appear in the records after this year, 
and it is probable that he went to Freetown 
and settled on his father's land. He is men- 

tioned as one of the original proprietors of 
that town, and was prominent there in civil 
affairs. His will is dated February 15, 1715, 
and proved May 7, 1716, so he must have 
died between these two dates. His wife was 
named Mary. Children : Content, Samuel, 
Isaac ; Abraham, born 1675 ; John ; Joshua, 
mentioned below ; Gershom, Alice, Mary, born 

(III) Joshua, son of Samuel Howland, 
was born in Freetown. He lived for a time 
in Taunton, but was later a resident of Free- 
town. He married (first) May 12, 1709, Eliz- 
abeth Holloway, of Taunton, Massachusetts ; 
(second) February 17, 1725, Dorothy Lee. 
Children of first wife: John, born June 26, 
1710; Malachi, December 7, 171 1 ; Job, Eliza- 
beth, Gershom, Joshua. Children of second 
wife: Samuel, February 6, 1726; Isaac, March 
4, 1727, mentioned below : Philip, November 
l 5> l 73°'< George, June 18, 1732; Gershom, 
March 3, 1734; Phebe, March 18, 1739; Bet- 
sey, September 3, 1741. 

(IV) Isaac, son of Joshua Howland, was 
born March 4, 1727, died in 1812. He mar- 
ried (first) 1749, Katharine Howard, of Free- 
town ; (second) 1767, Ruth Mitchell. Chil- 
dren: George, mentioned below ; Samuel; Wil- 
liam, born 1767; Rachel. Robea, Hannah. 

(V) George, son of Isaac Howland, was 
born in Freetown. He married (first) De- 
borah Shaw: (second) Betsey Shaw. Chil- 
dren : Deborah, James, mentioned below : 

(VI) James, son of George Howland, date 
and place of birth unknown. He settled in 
Monmouth county. New Jersey, near Long 
Branch, where he owned a farm. He died at 
Long Branch, August 6, 1806. He married 
(first) Hannah, perhaps a daughter of Joseph 
Cook, who died in 1798; (second) Mrs. Flem- 
ing. Children of first wife: Susannah, born 
March 9, 1779 ; George. August 12, 1783 : 
Michael, about 1785, mentioned below; Cook. 
May 8. 1787; John, August 19. 1789; Mar- 
garet: Philey, May 15, 1793; Asher, March 
10, 1795 ; Charles, January 10, 1798. Chil- 
dren of second wife: Ann, March 2, 1805; 
Lydia, April 16, 1808. 

(VII) Michael, son of James Howland. 
was born about 1785, at Long Branch, New 
Jersey. He married, March 4. 1840, Meribah 
Williams. They settled in Farmingdale 
Howell township, New Jersey, where their 
children were born. He was for about forty 
years a merchant in his native county, and 
for the last fifteen years of his life a farmer 
at Farmingdale. He was an active worker 
and giver in every public and benevolent work 
He died at Farmingdale, November 2T, 1862 



In 1869 his widow and children moved to 
New Haven, Connecticut. Children : Elihu, 
born March 2, 1841, lives in New Jersey, 
married Emma J. Allen ; child, Norma How- 
land, married Walter Allen ; James W., born 
February 17, 1843, lives in Hartford, married 
Emma French; Elizabeth, born April 15, 1845, 
died April 17, 1845 > Michael Asbury, born 
July 5, 1848, died December 16. 1874, married 
Delia Camp ; Charles Hubbard, mentioned be- 

(VIII) Charles Hubbard, son of Michael 
Howland, was born in Farmingdale, New Jer- 
sey, October 10, 1850. On his mother's side 
he traces his descent from one of the numer- 
ous Williams families who were early set- 
tlers of Monmouth, New Jersey, headed by 
Elihu Williams, a Quaker, who arrived there 
about 1700. He attended the public schools 
until fourteen years old, when he entered the 
employ of an uncle in New York City, re- 
maining for three years. While at work with 
him, he attended night school during the win- 
ter. He returned to Long Branch, New Jer- 
sey, in 1867. He came to New Haven in 
1869, and the following year went to Gen- 
eral Russell's Military School at New Haven, 
where he prepared for and passed his exami- 
nations for the Sheffield Scientific School of 
Yale College. Desiring to take the academic 
course, however, he went to the Hopkins 
Grammar school, class of 1875. He entered 
Yale College in the class of 1879, but on ac- 
count of failing health was able to remain 
only till the spring term, when he was com- 
pelled to give up both work and study for 
two years. In 1877 he entered the Medical 
School of Yale and graduated as M.D. in 
1880. He took a post-graduate course at 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New 
York. In 1881 he settled and began practice 
in Meriden, Connecticut, and in 1888 removed 
to New Haven, Connecticut. His health fail- 
ing again, he went to Florida, where he raised 
fruit, and also practiced medicine near the 
Indian river. He returned to New Haven in 
1895, where he is now practicing. He is a 
Republican in politics, a member of the Con- 
gregational church, and of the Royal Arca- 
num. He married, May 3, 1882, Allice, 
daughter of Henry Broughton, of New Haven, 
Connecticut. Children : Harold Broughton, 
born January 9, 1885, died January 22, 1889 ; 
Kenneth Wilbur, August 5, 1891. 

Thomas Harrison, immi- 
HARRISON grant ancestor, was born in 

England. With his broth- 
ers, Richard, Benjamin and Nathaniel, he 
came to New England, and settled as early 

as 1654 in New Haven, Connecticut. Rich- 
ard removed to New Jersey; Benjamin and 
Nathaniel to Virginia. Thomas took the oath 
of fidelity at New Haven, April 4, 1654. He 
settled in Branford, Connecticut, in 1667. He 
married (first) the widow of John Thomp- 
son. He married (second) March 29, 1666, 
Elizabeth Stint or Stent, of Branford. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, born March 1, 1657; Na- 
thaniel, mentioned below ; Elizabeth, January, 
1667; John; Samuel; Isaac; Mary. 

(II) Captain Nathaniel Harrison, son of 
Thomas Harrison, was born at New Haven, 
December 13, 1658, died at Branford, Janu- 
ary 1, 1728. He was a prominent citizen, cap- 
tain of the militia. He married Hannah Fris- 
bie. Children, born at Branford: 1. Mary, 
April 24, 1696; married William Hoadley. 2. 
Josiah, June 1, 1698, mentioned below. Prob- 
ably other children. 

(III) Josiah, son of Captain Nathaniel Har- 
rison, was born at Branford, June 1, 1698. He 
married Lydia, born December 23, 1701, 
daughter of Samuel Hoadley, who died Feb- 
ruary 8, 1714; married, March 6, 1689, Abi- 
gail, daughter of John and Mary (Bullard) 
Farrington. Abigail Hoadley was born April 
30, 1 668, at Dedham, Massachusetts, died 
February 26, 1745, in Branford. Samuel was 
son of William Hoadley, the immigrant. 

(IV) Nathan, son of Josiah Harrison, was 
born about 1740. He lived at North Bran- 
ford, Connecticut. He married Lola Cook. 

(V) Albert, son of Nathan Harrison, was 
born at North Branford. He was a farmer. 
He married Ann or Anna Hall, daughter of 
Elihu and Lucy (Williams) Foote (see Foote 
VI). Lucy Williams was a descendant of 
Robert Williams, of Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
the immigrant ; of Rev. John Williams, who 
with his family was taken captive by the 
Indians at the time of the Deerfield massacre 
in 1703. Rev. Wareham Williams, another 
ancestor, of Northfield, Connecticut, was left 
a large fortune for his day (1678) some eight 
hundred pounds. His son of the same name 
preached in Waltham, Massachusetts. The 
tombstone of the second Wareham Williams 
was lately found by workmen digging in the 
streets of Waltham. "Rev. Wareham Wil- 
liams" said a local newspaper, "was one of 
the leading preachers of colonial days, and 
antiquarians have long searched for his 
grave ;" Williams was best known as one of 
the children in charge of Hannah Dustin at 
the time of the Deerfield massacre in 1703. 
He was taken with her by the Indians to 
Canada. "The rescue was one of the best 
known incidents of early colonial history." 
Lucy Williams was daughter of Rev. Ware- 



ham Williams, of Northfield, Connecticut, pas- 
tor of the Congregational church, and Ann 
or Anna (Hall) Williams, daughter of Rev. 
Samuel Hall, pastor of the Congregational 
church at Cheshire, Connecticut. Rev. Elea- 
zer Mather, another ancestor, was one of the 
pioneers and ministers of Deerfield. Children 
of Albert Harrison: 1. Nathan, born 1835, 
a farmer ; married Louise Strickland, of New 
Haven. 2. Ann D., 1838, married Thomas 
A. Smith, of Northfield; child, Albert H. 
Smith. 3. Lucy Williams, married Charles 
A. Still, of Michigan ; child, Louise A. Still. 
4. Jonathan Law, 1839; married Nellie E. 
Dudley, of Madison; child. Bertha A., mar- 
ried Beckley, of New Haven. 5. 

Charles Albert, mentioned below. 

(VI) Charles Albert, son of Albert Har- 
rison, was born at North Branford, July 21, 
1843. He obtained his early education in his 
native town and at North Branford, and at 
the Mills Military School in New Haven. 
He began the study of law in the office of 
Judge Chandler Richards and Judge Alfred 
J. Mills, in Van Buren county, Michigan, 
where he was admitted to the bar in 1878 and 
built up an excellent practice. While in Mich- 
igan he was elected to various offices of trust 
and honor. He was deputy registrar of deeds 
and deputy county clerk, was ex-officio clerk 
of the circuit court from 1867 to 1875, and 
member of the executive board of the Michi- 
gan State Board of Agriculture from 1878 to 
1883. He was secretary and treasurer of the 
Van Buren County Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company, and a director of the Michigan Ag- 
ricultural Society. He removed to Walling- 
ford, Connecticut, in July, 1883, and has prac- 
ticed since then in that town. In 1886 he 
was elected from that town to the general 
assembly. He was prosecuting attorney of 
Wallingford borough for three terms. He en- 
listed in Company B, Twenty-seventh Con- 
necticut Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, and 
served in the civil war. He took part in the 
battles of Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville. 
He is a member of Arthur H. Dutton Post, 
No. 36, Grand Army of the Republic, of Wal- 
lingford, and is past commander. In 1893 
he was judge advocate of the Grand Army 
for the state of Connecticut. He is a member 
of Compass Lodge, No. 9, of Wallingford, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; of St. Elmo Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar ; of Pyramid Tem- 
ple, Mystic Shrine, of Bridgeport. He has 
taken all the degrees of Free Masonry to 
and including the thirty-second. He is also 
a member of the Union League Club of New 
Haven. In politics he is a Republican. He 
is a member of the Congregational church. 

He married, October 5, 1876, Ann Isabel, 
born March 30, 1857, daughter of George H. 
Munger, of Madison, Connecticut. Children : 
1. Lillian Munger, born July 28, 1877, mar- 
ried William E. Conklin, graduate of Trin- 
ity and Yale colleges, teacher of Latin and 
Ancient History in the Hartford high school ; 
child, Charity Conklin. 2. Blanche Eddy, born 
February 26, 1879 ; married Walter S. Valen- 
tine, of Wallingford, electrician with the Kerr- 
Westinghouse Company, New York City. 

(The Foote Line). 

(IV) Daniel Foote, son of Joseph Foote, 
(q. v.), was born August 16, 1701, died in 
November, 1742. He married, in 1726, Sa- 
rah, daughter of John Thompson, of East 
Haven, Connecticut. She married (second) 
May 5, 1746, John Taintor. She died Sep- 
tember 6, 1774. Children: Sarah, born De- 
cember 1, 1727; Hannah, April 22, 1730; 
Jacob. March 20, 1732; Daniel, June 5, 1734, 
mentioned below; Asa, July 5, 1737; Samuel, 
May 12. 1740; Desire, died unmarried. 

(V) Daniel (2), son of Daniel (1) Foote, 
was born June 5, 1734, died March 6, 1797. 
He married. February 13. 1755, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Hannah Ingraham. She 
died June 23, 1822, aged eighty-five years. 
Children : Daniel, born March 23, 1756, died 
young; Elihu, August 19, 1757, mentioned be- 
low; Edwin, August 20, 1759; Daniel. De- 
cember 7, 1760 ; John, January 30, 1763 ; Jacob 
June 30, 1764; Isaac, March 15, 1766, died 
young; Sarah, October 1, 1767; Isaac, Sep- 
tember 7, 1769; Rufus, March 24. 1771 ; Asa, 
December 28, 1773; David, March 28, 1776; 
Benjamin, August 1, 1778; Polly, May 17. 

(VI) Elihu, son of Daniel (2) Foote, was- 
born August 19. 1757, in Northford, Con- 
necticut. He married November 11, 1789,. 
Lucy, daughter of Wareham Williams, first 
minister in Northford, and Ann or Anna, 
daughter of Rev. Samuel Hall, first minister 
in Cheshire, Connecticut. Samuel Hall mar- 
ried, 1727, Ann Law. third child of Governor 
Jonathan Law. of Milford. Jonathan Law 
married Ann Eliot, granddaughter of Rev. 
John Eliot, apostle to the Indians, of Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts. Rev. Samuel Hall's 
son, Lyman, was a signer of the Declaration 
of Independence, from Georgia. Rev. Ware- 
ham Williams, son of Rev. Stephen Williams, 
of Long Meadow, Massachusetts, and grand- 
son of Rev. John Williams, of Deerfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and his wife, Eunice Mather, 
daughter of Rev. Eleazer Mather, of North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, was of Welsh origin. 
His father, Rev. John Williams, with his fam- 



ily, were captured by the Indians and taken 
to Canada, February 29, 1703-04. His wife 
and two children were killed by them. She, 
Eunice Mather Williams, on her mother's side 
was granddaughter of Rev. John Wareham, 
of Windham, Connecticut, formerly of Exe- 
ter, England. He died June 1, 1840; she died 
December 21, 1839. Elihu Foote was a soldier 
and pensioner of the revolutionary war. Chil- 
dren : Edwin, born December 2, 1790; Delia, 
June 23, 1792; Wareham Williams, August 
20. 1798; Ann or Anna Hall, December 28, 
1804, married Albert Harrison (see Harri- 
son Y). 

As early as 1277, lands were 
BRYAN held in the parish of Bulha- 

mough by William and Robert 
Brian, and the family has held an important 
place in England to the present day. Roger 
Bryan was a knight of the shire in Hert- 
fordshire in the twenty-third and twenty-fifth 
parliaments during the reign of Edward I. 
The ancestry of the American family is traced 
unbroken to Thomas Bryan, of the parish of 
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, England. 

(I) Thomas Bryan, born about 1575, lived 
at Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire. Children: 1. 
Elizabeth, baptized November 2, 1600. 2. Alex- 
ander, mentioned below. 3. Frances, baptized 
March 29, 1604. 4. Mary, baptized April 
19, 1606. 

(II) Alexander, son of Thomas Bryan, was 
born in Aylesbury, in 1602. He came to this 
country in 1639 and settled at Milford, Con- 
necticut. Later he removed to Meriden and 
finally located at Watertown, Connecticut. 
The English ancestry is proved by a deed 
made by Alexander and son Richard, July 20, 
1663, to Edward Baldwin, of Beaconsfield, 
county Bucks, England. Alexander Bryan 
bought land at Eaton's Neck, east of Oyster 
Bay. Long Island, now Huntington, and his 
sons Alexander, Ebenezer and John settled 
in Long Island. He owned a large estate in 
England. He was a man of education and 
was a lawyer. He was one of the five trus- 
tees who purchased the land where Milford, 
Connecticut, was founded. He was a mer- 
chant, and in 1640 sent a vessel to Boston 
with a cargo of beaver, otter and other furs. 
He built a wharf in 1650, conveying it to 
the town in 1653. He sent ships to the Azores, 
England, Virginia and Nova Scotia. He 
was assistant in May, 1666; commissioner in 
the same year : deputy to the general court 
in 1667 and assistant again in 1668-69-70-71- 
72-73. He was baptized at Aylesbury, Eng- 
land, September 9. 1602. He married (first) 
in England, Ann Baldwin, Robert (3) ; Henry 

(2) ; Richard (1). She died at Milford. ( <>n- 
necticut, February 20, 1661. He married 
(second) Susannah Fitch, widow of Samuel 
Fitch, of Hartford. She was the first wife of 
William Whitiny: married (second) Samuel 
Fitch; (third) Alexander Bryan, and died at 
Middletown, Connecticut, July 8, 1673. His 
will was proved May 27, 1679. Children: 
Richard, mentioned below; Susanna; Joanna, 
married Owen Morgan. 

(III) Richard, son of Alexander Bryan, 
was born at Aylesbury, England. He came 
to this country with his father and settled in 
Milford, Connecticut, of which he was a lead- 
ing citizen. He was the second of seven 
who had the patent for the township from 
the general court, May 25, 1685. He was a 
wealthy merchant. He bought Eaton's Neck, 
Huntington, Long Island, November 13, 1684, 
and three sons settled there. He married 
(first) Alary, daughter of William and Mar- 
garet Pantry. He married (second) July 15, 
1699. Mary Wilmot, of New Haven, born 
February 16, 1647, daughter of Benjamin and 
granddaughter of Benjamin Wilmot. She 
was a member of the Milford church. He 
married (third) Elizabeth Hollingsworth, 
widow of Richard Hollingsworth, daughter of 
Michael and Abigail Powell, of Boston and 
Dedham. She was born June 16, 1641 ; mar- 
ried. August 23, 1659, Richard Hollings- 
worth. As Widow Bryan she married, Octo- 
ber 24, 1705, Governor Robert Treat, of Con- 
necticut. Children: Alexander, born 1651 ; 
Mary, 1653; Hannah, August 1, 1654; Sarah, 
April 24, 1657, died young; Samuel, baptized 
1659; John, born 1662; Abigail, November 
22, 1663 ; Richard, October 8, 1666, mentioned 
below; Frances, February 13, 1668; Sarah, 
1670; Abigail, January 12, 1671-72; Eliza- 
beth, 1679; Joseph, January 15, 1682; Eliza- 
beth, baptized November, 1685. 

(IV) Richard (2), son of Richard (1) 
Bryan, was born in Milford, October 8, 1666. 
In 1698 he was town clerk of Milford. He 
had a deed from his brother Alexander, in 
1698, of land at New Milford, sold again in 
1706 to John Noble. He sold land also to 
Benjamin Bunnell and Caleb Mallory, and his 
brother, Joseph Bryan. He married Sarah 
Piatt, who died January 18, 1734, daughter 
of Josiah and Sarah (Canfield) Piatt. Chil- 
dren, born at Milford : Mary, baptized No- 
vember, 1701 ; Sarah, born or baptized August 
1699 ; Richard, mentioned below : Samuel, bap- 
tized August, 1699 : Frances, born September 
22, 1704; Augustine, January 28, 1706-07; 
Alexander, October 13, 1707; Hannah, Janu- 
ary 21, 1711-12; Nathan, December n, 1714. 

(V) Richard (3), son of Richard (2) 


1 _»! 

Bryan, was born at Milford, and baptized in 
August, 1699. He married (first) October 
20,1719, Mehitable Clark, who died in 1721, 
daughter of Samuel Clark. He married (sec- 
ond) March 15, 1721-22, Sarah, daughter of 

Joseph . Children, born at Milford : 

Richard, mentioned below ; Mehitable, August 
15, 1 72 1, married David Ingraham ; Sarah, 
June 2, 1723, died young; Frances, August, 
1726; Ann, February, 1731 ; Mary, March, 

(VI) Captain Richard (4), son of Richard 
(3) Bryan, was born in Milford about 1720. 
He married, January 13, 1742, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of John and Susan Fowler. He was en- 
sign in the First Company of Milford in 1756; 
lieutenant of the Second Company, Second 
Regiment of the colony, and is called captain 
in the records later. Children, born at Mil- 
ford: Sarah, June 17, 1746, died young; Me- 
hitable, baptized September 4, 1746; Rich- 
ard; David, February, 1748, removed to Sher- 
burne, Chenango county, New York ; Oliver, 
mentioned below. 

(VII) Major Oliver, son of Captain Rich- 
ard (4) Bryan, was born about 1760. He 
was a soldier in the revolution, sergeant in 
Captain Peck's company. Colonel Douglass's 
regiment in Washington's army, New York, 
in 1776. He was a pensioner in New Haven 
county, 1832. In 1790 the federal census 
shows that he had four females in his fam- 
ily. Children : Esther, baptized at Milford, 
June, 1790; Sarah, baptized with Esther; mar- 
ried, October 22, 1800, Anthony Stow ; Su- 
sanna, baptized with Esther and Sarah ; mar- 
ried, February 15, 1807, David Stow; Oliver, 
mentioned below. 

(VII) Oliver (2), son of Oliver (1) 
Bryan, was baptized at Milford in April, 1793. 
He was educated in the district schools, and 
when a young man came to New Haven, en- 
gaging in the business of merchant tailor 
winch he followed until the time of his death 
at the age of sixty-nine years. He was pros- 
perous, and invested largely in New Haven 
real estate, effecting many improvements in 
his section of the city. He built the house in 
which the widow of his son, William Dag- 
gett, resides, about 1840. He also put up the 
buildings at Nos. 200-202-210 Crown street 
and at 194-96 Crown street, now the quarters 
of the Young Men's Republican Club. He 
married Phebe Gorham, born in New Haven, 
died there aged sixty-seven. Children: 1. 
William 1)., mentioned below. 2. Jane, mar- 
ried Frank G. Phipps. 3. Oliver, a real estate 
broker of New Haven. 4. Benjamin Sherman, 
born in 1826: went to California with the 
"Forty-niners"and remained there severalyears 

keeping a hotel ; died at Saybrook, Connecti- 
cut, at the age of fifty; married, November 
16, 1868, M. Louise Hayden, a native of Es- 
sex, Connecticut ; son Oliver, born November 
15, 1870, married Bessie Ida Gitt, born Au- 
gust 18, 1872, of New Oxford, Pennsylvania; 
they have one son, Hayden Gitt Bryan, born 
August 12, 1907. 5. Harry C, married An- 
nie Morris. 6. Stephen, married Emma (first) 
Powers; (second) Mildred St. Claire. 

(IX) William Daggett, son of Oliver (2) 
Bryan, was born May 13, 1819, in New 
Haven. He was educated there in the public 
schools, and learned the trade of tailor of his 
father. He succeeded to his father's business 
and carried on the establishment successfully 
until he died, June 1, 1884. He was a man of 
upright and honorable character, attractive in 
social life, and highly respected in business 
circles. He was a member of the Quinnipiac 
Club, the New Haven Grays, the Conecticut 
Volunteer Militia, the Odd Fellows, and the 
Masonic fraternity, in which he attained the 
thirty-second degree, being a member of 
Wooster Lodge, the local Chapter. Council 
and Commandery. In politics he was always 
a Republican and a staunch friend of Gover- 
nor English. He was an Episcopalian, at- 
tending first St. Thomas Church, and later 
Trinity Church, New Haven. He married, 
September 1, 1852, Mary Miles Brown, born 
December 20, 1825, now living at 198 Crown 
street, New Haven, daughter of Jacob and 
Henrietta Minor (Miles) Brown, grand- 
daughter of Captain John Miles, of New 
Haven. Children, born in New Haven : Hen- 
rietta Miles, June 3, 1853, died May 30, 1898; 
unmarried; William Daggett, March 17, 1856, 
died in infancy; Mary Miles, March 11, i860, 
died in infancy. 

Mercy (Beecher) Brown, grandmother of 
Mrs. Bryan, was born in Woodbridge, Con- 
necticut, a sister of Thaddeus Beecher, who 
planted the famous elm tree in the New r Hav- 
en common. Mercy Beecher married Walter 
Brown. Mrs. Bryan had one sister, Hen- 
rietta Brown, who married her cousin, 
Thomas H. Miles, and had two children : 
George Washington Miles and another who 
died in infancy. Jacob Brown had one 
brother, Webster Brown, and two sisters. 
Mary and Elizabeth Brown. Jacob was the 
son of Captain Walter Brown, of New Haven, 
a sea captain, who married Henrietta Miles. 
His vessel was captured by the French and 
this claim was one of the famous French 
spoliation claims. Captain John Miles was 
in Captain Daniel Collins's company, at the 
New Haven alarm in 1775. He was a lieu- 
tenant in the Connecticut Line 1777-80. In 



1780 he was a captain in the service. He 
was commissioned lieutenant, January 6, 1777, 
captain-lieutenant October 26, 1779, and 
served until 1783. He took part in nearly 
all the battles of the north and was at the 
siege of Yorktown. He was admitted to the 
Society of the Cincinnati, September 11, 1787, 
with four others. He was pensioned as a 
captain of artillery and was on the list of 
1818. He died aged eighty-one years. 

The Ford family was prominent 
FORD in Devonshire, England, and con- 
nected with the Drakes of Ashe. 
Sir Henry Ford, born 1620, was only son of 
John Ford, of Bagtor, by wife Catherine, 
daughter and heir of George Drake, of 
Sprattsbays, lieutenant-colonel under his kins- 
man, Sir John Drake, of Ashe. 

(I) Timothy Ford, believed to be of the 
Devon family, was born in England, and 
came in 1637 to Charlestown, Massachusetts. 
He removed two years later to New Haven, 
Connecticut, where he died August 28, 1684. 
His wife died July 25, 1681. He was one 
of the original proprietors of New Haven. 
Mis will, dated August 11, 1682, bequeathed 
to children, Samuel, Mary, Bethia, Elizabeth, 
Mathew, John, Joshua Culver and Mathew 
Bellany. The inventory is dated December 19, 
1694. The name is spelled Fford sometimes. 
Timothy sold to his son half his homestead 
on October 13. 1679. Children: Samuel, mar- 
ried, in 1673. Elizabeth Hopkins ; Mary, mar- 
ried, in 1661, Nathaniel Thorpe; Bethia, mar- 
ried, in 1671, Mathew Bellany; Elizabeth, 
married, in 1672, Joshua Culver; Mathew, 
mentioned below. 

(II) Mathew. son of Timothy Ford, was 
born about 1650. Mathew and John divide 
land received from their father. August 19, 

He married, at Cheshire', Connecticut, 
January, 1675, Mary, daughter of John 
Brooks. Children, born at New Haven : 
Mathew, mentioned below ; Mary, August 9, 
1678; John, November 11, 1680; Mary, 1682; 
Mary, August 9, 1684 ; Jonathan, January 26, 
1686; Daniel, 1688: Benjamin, 1691 ; Eben- 
ezer, 1691 ; Barbabas (mentioned in deeds). 

(III) Mathew (2), son of Mathew (1) 
Ford, was born October 31. 1675. died Octo- 
ber 7, 1 75 1. 

His will was proved December 16, 
1 75 1, his son Timothy, executor. His 
property was divided March 3, 1753, by Nath- 
an, Daniel, Timothy and Mathew. He sold 
land April 18, 1709, and deeded land to his 
son Daniel in 1750. He mentioned all his chil- 
dren in his will. Children, born at New 

Haven: Nathan, January 12, 1699; Sarah, No- 
vember 15, 1702; Elizabeth, April 22, 1704; 
Lydia, November 13, 1707; Esther, March 30, 
1710; Daniel, December 31, 1712; Timothy, 
mentioned below; Mathew, June 25, 1719; 
Lydia, July 29, 1722. 

(IV) Timothy (2), son of Mathew (2) 
Ford, was born at New Haven, December 3, 
171 5. Timothy Ford and Caleb Bradley were 
executors of his will, dated December 16, 


He bought land, in 1761, and deeded 
land March 26, 1753. He married Mary, born 
March, 1715, baptized July 8, 1716, daughter 
of Caleb Tuttle, who was born August 29, 
1678, married, March 1, 1699, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Sarah (Talmadge) Hotch- 
kiss. Mrs. Tuttle died November 12, 1723, 
and he married (second) February 17, 1725,. 
Hannah (Butler) Todd, widow of John Todd, 
daughter of John Butler, of Branford. Caleb 
Tuttle was prominent in the first secession 
from the First Society, a movement which 
took place in face of a powerful opposition 
in the organization of the Second Ecclesias- 
tical Society in New Haven, now known as 
the North Church. Caleb and others owned 
the lot which was conveyed to the church for 
a parsonage and is now the site of the St. 
Thomas Protestant Episcopal Church. Han- 
nah Tuttle died October 27, 1748; Caleb died 
in 1 75 1, intestate, and Enos was appointed 
administrator. President Stiles wrote of him, 
in his history of the Judges: "He was a 
plain, good man, whom I knew well, a man 
of integrity, very intimate with Gov. Jones's 
son, they having married sisters * * * he 
was a zealous religionist, and warmly captiva- 
ted with characters distinguished for holiness 
and piety and according to my idea of the 
man, whom I well remember, he would, I 
should think, have listened to the anecdotes 
and history of those pious and heroic sufferers 
with avidity and curious and feeling attention. 
I doubt not he knew more about the subject 
than all his posterity, and he is the source of 
the information concerning the Whalley 
Stone." Children of Caleb Tuttle : Sarah, 
born November, 1699, married Noah Wolcott ; 
Caleb, December, 1701 ; Thomas, November 
24, 1705 ; James, November 30, 1707 ; Enos, 
November 11, 171 1 ; Timothy, February 21, 
1713; Mary, March, 1715, married Timothy 
Ford, mentioned above ; Eliphalet. December 
2, 1718; Levi; Abraham, February 16, 1722; 
Joshua, January 31, 1731 ; Stephen. 

Thomas Tuttle, son of William Tuttle, the 
immigrant, was born in England in 1634; 
married, May 21, 1661, Hannah, born in 1641, 
died October 10, 17 10. daughter of Thomas. 



Powell. Thomas Tnttle was a cooper by 
trade ; was chosen by the town packer in 
March, 1672, and 1674; juryman 1682; con- 
stable 1683 ; gauger and packer, 1704. He 
lived and died on what is now part of the 
College square. His lot fronted on Market 
place (upper Green) nearly one hundred and 
seventy feet, and extended back about half 
the square. On the Tuttle homesteads the 
most ancient of the Yale College buildings 
were afterwards erected. Thomas Tuttle left 
his homestead to his son Joshua who deeded 
some of the land to the college in 1750. 
Thomas Tuttle died October 19, 17 10. His 
will was dated May 6, 1704, and proved the 
second Tuesday of November, 1710. Children 
of Thomas Tuttle: Hannah, born February 
24, 1662; Abigail, January 17, 1663; Mary, 
June 14, 1665 ; Thomas, October 27, 1667 ; 
John, December 5, 1669; Esther, April 9, 
1672 ; Joshua, December 19, 1675 ; Caleb, men- 
tioned above; Martha, May 23, 1679. 

Mary (Tuttle) Ford joined the first church 
in New Haven in 1736. Children, born at 
New Haven: Martha, February 24. 1736, died 
October 9. 1748; Laurana, May 22, 1737; 
Timothy, January 21, 1739-40; Moses, men- 
tioned below; Caleb, January 22, 1743-44; 
Sarah, May 22, 1747 ; Esther, March 17, 

(V) Moses, son of Timothy (2) Ford, was 
born November 13, 1741, at New Haven, died 
June II, 1822. He married Eunice Potter, 
who died May 7, 1833, in the ninety-third 
year of her age. He was deacon of the church. 
James Potter deeded land to his daughter 
Eunice, wife of Moses Ford, November 16, 
1667. Moses and Eunice Ford quitclaimed 
their title in certain lands January 16, 1764. 
Children : Jonah, mentioned below ; Moses, 
born 1776, died August 11, 1858; Rhoda, mar- 
ried Bronard Lindley ; Huldah, married Eli- 
sha Peck ; Sarah, married Leveret Mix ; Eu- 
nice, born March 9, 1779, married Joel Ford. 

(VI) Jonah, son of Moses Ford, was born 
in New Haven in 1765, died October 1, 1804 
(gravestone). Mary, his wife, died October 
20, 1837, aged seventy ; administration granted 
to sons Joel and Moses. His widow had land 
near Stephen Hotchkiss. Children : Amelia, 
Harvey, mentioned below. Thankful, Maria, 

(VII) Harvey, son of Jonah Ford, was 
born about 1800. He lived at Hamden Plains, 
New Haven. He married Betsey Coats. Chil- 
dren ; Harvey, Howard, living in Hamden, 
Connecticut, the last surviving member of the 
family, he has three children : Carrie, Emily, 
Lena, deceased. 

(VTTI) Harvey (2), son of Harvey (-1) 

Ford, was born at New Haven, June 3, 1830. 
He married, at New Haven, June 7, 1855, 
Clara Wyatt, daughter of Holsey Cleveland. 
He lived in New Haven and Fair Haven, 
Connecticut, and was an iron dealer. Chil- 
dren, born in New Haven: 1. Charles Cleve- 
land, mentioned below. 2. William, married 
Emma Johnson ; children : Harold and Wil- 
liam. 3. Curtis Howard, born April 6, 1862 ; 
married, at New Haven, July 16, 1882, Ella 
Mat Perkins, born at Springfield, February 
22, 1865, daughter of Luther M. and Antoi- 
nette (Hanover) Perkins; children: i. Clif- 
ford De Witt, born February 21, 1883; ii. 
Marguerite Perkins, December 16, 1885 ; iii. 
Curtis H. ; Curtis Howard is a pharmacist in 
charge of a drug store in New Haven. 4. 
Robert Harvey, born July 21. 1866; married 
Iva Hills : children : Horace and Harriet. 5. 
Edward, born July 21, 1866, died July 29, 
1866. 6. Clara Victoria, born July 13, 1869 > 
married Elmer E. Okeson ; children : Elea- 
nor ; Ralph, died aged ten months ; Sylvia. 
7. Fluvia Bissell, born December 21, 1874; 
married Harry Goodyear. 8. Horatio Holsey, 
born March 28, 1876 ; married Belle Pickets ; 
one son. 9. Mabel Helen, born April 6, 1880 ; 
married John Nixon ; children : Cleveland and 

(IX) Charles Cleveland, son of Harvey (2) 
Ford, was born March 10, 1856, at New 
Haven. He is a lawyer at Ansonia, Conec- 
ticut. He married, at New Haven, May 4, 
1876, Sarah Alice, born at New Haven, De- 
cember 20, 1855, on ly daughter of Jeremiah 
Porter. Child : Alice Porter, mentioned be- 

(X) Dr. Alice Porter Ford, daughter of 
Charles Cleveland Ford, was born at New 
Haven, December 30, 1877. She attended 
Mrs. Cady's private school, until ready for 
high school in New Haven ; moved to An- 
sonia, Connecticut, and graduated from the 
Ansonia high school. She was a member of 
the class of 1901 of Wellesley College. She 
studied her profession at the Woman's Medi- 
cal College of Pennsylvania, graduating with 
the degree of M.D. in 1904. She was ap- 
pointed an interne at the Women's Hospital 
at Detroit. Michigan, and after was resident 
physician there. She has practiced since 1906 
in New Haven with an office at 1302 Chapel 
street, making a specialty of diseases of 
women and children. She is a member of the 
New Haven County Medical Society ; the New 
Haven City Medical Society ; the Connecticut 
State Medical Society ; the American Medical 
Association. She belongs to Alpha Eta Iota, 
a college fraternity. In religion she is a Con- 



Samuel Blakeslee, immi- 
BLAKESLEE grant ancestor, was a 

planter of Guilford, Con- 
necticut, in 1650, and is supposed to have been 
a brother of Thomas Blakeslee, who came in 
the "Hopewell" from London to Massachu- 
setts, in 1635, was in Hartford in 1641, and 
removed to Branford, Connecticut, in 1645. 
He was probably a blacksmith, as appears 
from the inventory of his estate. He bought 
his home lot in Guilford from Henry Dowd 
about 1649, ar, d February 24, 1653-54, sold 
it to Richard Hubball. He removed to New* 
Haven between 1653 and 1657, and by the 
New Haven records died May 17, 1672. He 
married, December 3, 1650, Hannah, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth Potter, of New Haven. 
John Potter's mother was Hannah Beecher, 
and he had two sons, John and Samuel. De- 
cember 21, 1676, Hannah Blakeslee married 
Henry Brooks. She died November 7, 1723. 
Administration on the estate of Samuel Blake- 
slee was granted to his widow, June 16, 1672, 
and February 6, 1676-77, Henry Brooks and 
his wife appeared before the court for the set- 
tlement of the estate and distribution was or- 
dered to Hannah Brooks, John, the eldest son, 
to Samuel and Ebenezer, and to Mary, daugh- 
ter. In November, 1702, Hannah Brooks ren- 
dered the final account of the distribution. 
Children: John, born October 22, 1651, died 
September 2, 1653; John, born about 1654; 
Moses, baptized December 13, 1655 ; Mary, 
baptized December 13, 1655 ; Hannah, born 
October 22, 1657; Mary, November 2, 1659; 
Samuel, April 8, 1662; Ebenezer, July 17, 
1664, mentioned below ; Hannah, May 22, 
1666, died July 8, 1669 ; Jonathan, March 3, 
1669, died July II, 1669; son, April, 1672, 
died April 1672. 

(II) Ebenezer, son of Samuel Blakeslee, 
was born July 17, 1664, died September 24, 
1735. He married Hannah, born May 27, 1665, 
died at the home of her son Jacob in Water- 
bury, July 23, 1749, daughter of Thomas Lup- 
ton, of Waterbury, and his wife, Hannah 
(Morris) Lupton. Ebenezer Blakeslee lived 
in North Haven, where he was prominent in 
church affairs, first with the Congregational 
and later with the Episcopal. Before he died 
he settled his own estate, giving land to sev- 
eral of his sons, and providing otherwise for 
his other children. In these deeds of land 
he names three sons, Samuel, Jacob and 
Thomas, of whom there are no birth records. 
Children : Abigail, no birth record ; married, 
May 19, 1709, John Nash, Jr. ; Ebenezer 
(twin) February 4, 1685, mentioned below; 
Hannah (twin); Susanna, May 21, 1689; 
Grace, January 1, 1693-94; Abraham, Decem- 

ber 15, 1695; Isaac, July 21, 1703; Samuel, 
no birth record ; Jacob, no birth record ; 
Thomas, no birth record. 

(III) Ebenezer (2), son of Ebenezer (1) 
Blakeslee, was born February 4, 1685. He 
married, December 5, 1706, Mary, daughter 
of Matthew and Mary Ford, of New Haven. 
He lived in North Haven. Administration on 
his estate was granted to his son Ebenezer, 
January, 1761. Distribution was made April 
15, 1761, to Ebenezer, Jonathan, Matthew, 
Hannah and Desire Taylor. His wife died 
August 13, 1760. Children: Matthew, born 
October 25, 1707, died January 26, 1707-08; 
Desire, November, 1708; Ebenezer, May 12, 
1711; Jonathan, September, 1713; Matthew, 
December 10, 1715, mentioned below; Mary, 
June 15, 1718, died December, 1725; Han- 
nah. January 17, 1720-21; Seth, April 11, 
1725. died April 13, 1725. 

(IV) Matthew, son of Ebenezer (2) 
Blakeslee, was born December 10, 1715. He 
was one of the subscribers to the Second Ec- 
clesiastical Society at its formation, and be- 
came one of its first two wardens. He mar- 
ried, December 27, 1736, Rhoda Beach. Chil- 
dren: Macock, born November 17, 1739; Oli- 
ver, August 15, 1741, mentioned below; Mat- 
thew, August n, 1743; Phebe, August 25, 
1745, died October 26, 1750; Mary, Septem- 
ber 6, 1747; Rufus, April 19, 1749; Phebe, 
February 22, 1750-51 ; Jordan, October 23, 
1752; "Cearfull," December 7, 1767. 

(V) Oliver, son of Matthew Blakeslee, was 
born in North Haven, August 15, 1741. He 
was known in his day as "Master Blakeslee." 
His boyhood was spent in hard work, as a 
large family and a lean larder in his father's 
house made the crosses there greater than 
the comforts. Tradition has it that the ma- 
ternal hand, often perplexed by the wants of 
the hungry children around her, was wont to 
prepare in a huge wooden bowl a porridge 
of meal and the water in which any vegetables 
or meat had been cooked, and placing it on 
the floor give each of the children a wooden 
spoon and unlimited liberty to help them- 
selves. Oliver was apprenticed in early youth 
to Squire Ward, of Pond Hill, where he 
learned the trade of reed maker for the hand 
looms of those days. He became skillful and 
it is supposed most of the reeds now preserved 
in the community as curiosities of a bygone 
day were made by him. He became an expert 
weaver and taught his daughters the same 
trade. He derived the title of "Master" from 
a long career as a district school teacher, hav- 
ing, tradition says, taught twenty-seven win- 
ters and three summers. He was a superior 
mathematician and taught navigation to all 

Pub, Cc 


I / 




who desired. Further, he was an accom- 
plished land surveyor and received the ap- 
pointment of county engineer from the gen- 
eral assembly of Connecticut. His calcula- 
tions in this branch were never questioned, 
and in the division of estates, the laying out 
of the highways and the establishing of boun- 
dary lines his work was esteemed faultless. 
His advice was adopted in the survey for 
Tomlinson's bridge at New Haven. Except- 
ing Dr. Trumbull and Solomon Blakeslee no 
better new name was found. Indeed in some 
of his exercises he clearly excels both. There 
is extant a bit of paper the size of a dime on 
which he wrote in 1786 the Lord's prayer in 
beautifully legible letters. He was one of the 
subscribers to the Second Ecclesiastical So- 
ciety at its formation, and was its first clerk, 
also collector and treasurer. He was made a 
vestryman in 1768 and again in 1772-78, in- 
clusive, and a third term, 1786-87-88. In ad- 
dition to these duties he acted as one of the 
"Quirestors," 1777-80. He was the owner of 
the first silver watch in the community. At 
his death there passed away an active old 
school gentleman, once prominent in the coun- 
cils of church and town. There was no one 
to raise a stone to his memory and the very 
place of his burial is forgotten. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Humaston, May 3, 1762. His 
home stood near that now owned by Harry 
Bradley, and here was born a large family. 
He married (second) Mrs. Susanna Tuttle. 

( VI) Matthew Gilbert, son of Oliver Blake- 
slee, was born in Guilford, October 9, 1781, 
died June 6, 1831. He married, February 
11, 1802, Rhoda Dorman, who was of a Ham- 
den, Connecticut, family. They lived in New 
Haven. Children: Manning, born October 
20, 1802, died September 23, 1846; Betsie, 
April 4, 1805; Sarah, August 31, 1807; Eliza- 
beth, May 15, 1810; Matthew G., April 5, 
1812; Jerod, March 6, 1814; Daniel, March 
8, 1817; Rebecca, October 4. 1820; Charles 
Wells, mentioned below ; Caroline and Cath- 
erine, August 19, 1827. 

(VII) Charles Wells, son of Matthew Gil- 
bert Blakeslee, was born near Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 11, 1824. At the age of 
ten he returned with his parents to Connecti- 
cut, and for a time resided with his brother, 
Matthew G. in Hamden. He worked on the 
farm in summer and ' attended the district 
school in winter, but while a mere boy began 
teaming and soon came to taking small con- 
tracts in New Haven. In 1844 he bought his 
home property of the English family at New 
Haven ; it was located on George street, then 
a lane, and most of the vicinity was used 
for pasturage. He engaged in iarming on 

the land now occupied by Grace Hospital. In 
i8t? he began to take contracts for street pav- 
ing, afterwards for the construction of street 
railways, and his business grew year by year 
until it reached mammoth proportions. In 
later years he admitted his sons to partner- 
ship, and finally they took over the respon- 
sibilities of the business. In politics he was 
a Republican ; in religion a Methodist. He 
married (first) Eliza Clark, a native of Mil- 
ford, who died in New Haven. Children: 1. 
Child, died young. 2. Child, died young. 3. 
Charles Wells, born in New Haven, June 9, 
1844; served in Company G, First Connecticut 
Heavy Artillery, Army of the Potomac, and 
took part in the siege of Yorktown, battle of 
Hanover Court House, Seven Days' Fight, 
and battle of Malvern Hill ; discharged Au- 
gust 15, 1864, on account of sickness; was 
in business with his father, then for twenty- 
one years in business on his own account, since 
then connected with the business established 
by his father; has served as selectman, coun- 
cilman, alderman, major of the Governor's 
Horse Guards ; member of Admiral Foote 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic, and of 
the Knights of Honor ; married Grace Caro- 
line Fowler ; children : Edith May ; Charles, 
died aged four years. 4. Jeanette. deceased; 
married (first) Stephen Willard ; (second) 
Andrew Lovejoy. 5. Isabella, died aged 
twenty-two. 6. Mary, married Adelbert 
Leighton, son of Howard B. Leighton ; one 
son, 'Howard Theodore Blakeslee Leighton. 7. 
Albert, died young. Charles W. Blakeslee 
married (second) Martha Jane (Waters) 
Blair, widow of Basil Blair, of New Haven. 
By her first marriage she had two children : 
William H. Blair, superintendent of the 
Charles W. Blakeslee & Company ; Jane Blair, 
married Jasper Copley, whose son, Charles H. 
Copley, had a son, Charles Copley ; Jasper 
Copley died in 1900. Children of Charles W. 
and Martha Jane (Waters) (Blair) Blakes- 
lee: 8. Dennis A., married Lizzie Law; chil- 
dren: Harriet F., Martha, Albert D., Harold 
L., M. Grant, Dorothy. 9. Dwight Welch, 
mentioned below. 10. Phebe, unmarried. 11. 
Clarence, married Julia Seeley ; children : Julia 
and Ruth. 12. Martha, married Lyman Law ; 
children: Hellen and Alice. 13. Theodore R., 
married Addie Hawley ; children : Vera M., 
Gladys, Dwight W., Frank. 

(VIII) Dwight Welch, son of Charles 
Wells Blakeslee, was born at New Haven. July 
9, 1858, died January 15, 1906. His death 
was caused by a terrible accident in a rail- 
road cut. He had been giving instructions to 
one gang of men and stepped over tracks to 
another side to instruct another gang when 



he saw an approaching- freight train, and in 
getting out of the way of the freight was hit 
by another train coming in the opposite di- 
rection. He was educated in the public 
schools. He became associated in business 
with his father and was one of the firm of 
Charles W. Blakeslee & Company, one of the 
largest contracting firms in the city. He 
served as a member of common council, alder- 
man, was a member of the official board of 
Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church, a man 
of the highest character, and was one of the 
best known and most respected citizens of 
New Haven. He married, October 19, 1881, 
Emma Augusta, daughter of Orrin Elisha 
Clark, and granddaughter of Elisha Clark, 
born at Milford, February 16, 1777. Orrin 
E. Clark was born at Harwinton, Connecti- 
cut, September 7, 1815. Elisha Clark, father 
of Elisha Clark, was a soldier in the revolu- 
tion ; he married Jane Baldwin. Mrs. Blakes- 
lee is an active member of Trinity Methodist 
Episcopal Church. She has contributed freely 
to benevolent purposes. She gave the Dea- 
coness Home for the deaconesses of New 
Haven of the Methodist churches. The home 
is situated at 576 George street ; also it is a 
training school for deaconesses. It is called 
Dwight W. Blakeslee Memorial Dea- 
conesses Home, and Training School. Mrs. 
Blakeslee is vice-president of the Deaconess 
Home, and belongs to all the societies of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

John Beecher. ancestor of the 
BEECHER American family of this sur- 
name, lived, it is said, in 
county Kent, England, and died there about 
1637 in middle life. His widow Hannah came 
with her sons to this country, arriving at Bos- 
ton, April 26, 1637. She was born about 1600 
died 1658-59. Her will was proved at New 
Haven, March 2, 1659, bequeathing to her son 
Isaac Beecher, and her son (by first husband) 
William Potter. It is commonly accepted that 
her son John was one of the seven young 
men left by Theophilus Eaton at New Haven 
in the winter of 1637 to prepare for the col- 
onists in the spring. It is said that he died 
during that winter ; and that his bones were 
disinterred when a cellar was dug ^or the 
stone house now standing at the southwest 
corner of Meadow and Church streets, where 
the hut was located in which the men spent 
the winter. Hannah Beecher owned land 
on the present site of the State Hospital, and 
a seat in church in 1656, when, being hard 
of hearing, she was assigned a seat nearer the 
preacher. She was a physician and midwife, 
and for services received a grant of land, 

which remained in the Beecher family until 

(II) Isaac, son of John Beecher, was the 
only son having children, and was therefore 
progenitor of all the early Beecher families, 
if not all of the name, in this country. He 
was born in England about 1623, died in 1690, 
and his will was dated September 28, 1689, be- 
queathing to sons John, Joseph, Isaac, Sam- 
uel and Eleazer, and to wife Mary. He owned 
seven tracts of land, aggregating sixty-one 
acres. He and his sons John and Eleazer were 
proprietors in 1685. He was on the list of 
freemen of New Haven dated July 1, 1644. 
Children: John, born 1645; Joseph, 1647, an_ 
cestor of Rev. Lyman Beecher ; Isaac, 1650 ; 
Samuel, October 17, 1652 ; Eleazer, mentioned 

(III) Eleazer, son of Isaac Beecher, was 
born April 8, 1655, at New Haven, died March 
2, 1726. He located early in life at West 
Haven, and married, November 5, 1677, 
Phebe Prindle, who lived on the west side 
of Main street, near the corner of Second 
avenue, where she was born March 16, 1657. 
He bought, July 2, 1684, ten acres of land in 
that part of West Haven called West Side 
Farms, (on the west side of Main street, and 
on Elm and Main street), and adjoining lands 
of William Prindle on the east, and Peter 
Mallory, Jr., on the west. Here he built a 
house, living there until his death ; the old 
house was a familiar landmark until 1896, 
when it was removed to make way for the 
present Catholic rectory. His will was proved 
April 4, 1726. Children: Hannah, born June 
2 3> 1679; Nathaniel, January 24, 168 1 ; Ebe- 
nezer, December 25, 1682; Eleazer, April 21, 
1686, mentioned below ; Thankful, March 18, 
1689; child born and died December 31, 1690; 
Obedience, 1692; Stephen, May 18, 1695; 
Isaac, April 7, 1698. 

(IV) Eleazer (2), son of Eleazer (1) 
Beecher, was born at West Haven, April 21, 
1686, died in 171 1. He was a farmer and 
blacksmith. He married Widow Elizabeth 
Welch, November 30, 1704, who was adminis- 
tratrix of his estate and mother of his chil- 
dren, of whom she was appointed guardian. 
Children: Jerusha, born 1706; Eleazer, 1708, 
mentioned below; Phebe, 1710. 

(V) Eleazer (3), son of Eleazer (2) 
Beecher, was born at* West Haven in 1708. 
He settled at New Milford. where he died 
December 23, 1797, aged ninety, according 
to the town record. He married, October 30, 
1729, Frances Oviatt, of New Milford, who 
died September 1, 1791, aged eighty-one years; 
he joined the church at New Milford in 1726. 
He was a man of great energy of character, 



prominent in public affairs, and a successful 
farmer ; he was a deacon of the First Church, 
but after two years joined the Separates, and 
was deacon of that church for many years. 
Children, born at New Milford : Frances, July 
5, 1730; Eleazer, September 17, 1732, men- 
tioned below; Abigail, November 22, 1734, 
died young - ; Phebe, March 22, 1737: Nath- 
aniel, March 19, 1739; Lydia, November 18, 

(VI) Eleazer (4), son of Eleazer (3) 
Beecher, was born at New Milford, Septem- 
ber 17, 1732. He married. December 24, 1760, 
Ellice Britton, born in 1741, died April 23, 
1814. Children, born at New Milford : Ly- 
man, June 4, 1762. died December 7, 1766; 
Eunice, May 4, 1764 ; Amos, November 25, 
1766; Thalia, June 2, 1769; Eleazer, and 
John (twins), August 8, 1773; Urania, mar- 
ried Solomon Buck ; Jane, married William 

(VII) Elder Eleazer (5), son of Eleazer 
(4) Beecher, was born at New Milford, Au- 
gust 8, 1773, died October 22, 1863. He and 
his twin brother John married sisters. John 
was a deacon in the Congregational church, 
and Eleazer a deacon in the Baptist church; 
John afterwards became a Baptist. They both 
lived at the old homestead. The twins were 
much alike in looks, and mental and physical 
characteristics, and the "Twin Beechers" be- 
came known far and wide. Eleazer married 
Mary Barlow, of Kent ; they had one child : 
Stephen, mentioned below. John Beecher 
married Abigail Barlow. 

(VIII) Stephen, son of Elder Eleazer (5) 
Beecher, was born at New Milford, Septem- 
ber 8, 1796. died July 11, 1853. He was a 
farmer at New Milford. He married. Octo- 
ber 23, 181 5, Diantha, daughter of Captain 
Benajah Stone, who was born the same day 
as her husband. Children, born at New Mil- 
ford : Mary Ann, February 6, 1819, married 
Benjamin J. Stone; Stephen Grenville, men- 
tioned below. 

(IX) Stephen Grenville, son of Stephen 
Beecher, was born at New Milford, Decem- 
ber 9, 1832. He lived on the old Beecher 
homestead at the foot of Mount Tom. He 
married, August 14, 1856, Ellen E. Wetmore. 
of Winchester, Connecticut, daughter of Abel 
Samuel Wetmore, died at New Milford, July 

2, 1894. Children: 1. Henry Wetmore, born 
July 22, 1857, mentioned below. 2. Mary 
Ann, January 14, 1859, died March 4, 1874. 

3. Abel Stephen, July 26, 1861 ; married, De- 
cember 19, 1888, Elbie A. Bachelder, born in 
Bridgeport. Connecticut, January 14, 1861 ; 
children : i. Charles Henry, born April 30, 
1890, died April 23, 1891 ; ii. Clarence Hu- 

bert, born November 29, 1891 ; Abel S. lived 
on the old homestead until 1898, when he 
removed to Bridgeport. 4. Lucy, born August 
24, 1865 ; married James Marcus Bennett, Au- 
gust 29, 1894; he was born in New Milford, 
Connecticut, February 24, 1869, and was the 
son of Franklin Bennett ; no children. 

(X) Henry Wetmore, son of Stephen 
Grenville Beecher, was born July 22, 1857. 
He was educated in the public schools and at 
the Housatonic Institute, New Milford. After 
graduation he was employed by the William 
L. Gilbert Clock Company of Winsted for 
several years. He was then for a time in the 
grocery trade. In 1894 he came to New 
Haven and engaged in business as an under- 
taker and funeral director with his brother- 
in-law, James M. Bennett, under the firm 
name of Beecher & Bennett, at 280 Elm street, 
where he has continued in business to the 
present time. He is a member of City Lodge, 
Odd Fellows, Royal Arcanum, and United 
Workmen, of New Haven. He is a member, 
and for several years has been a deacon, of 
the Dwight Place Congregational Church of 
New Haven. He is also a member of the 
New Haven Business Men's Association. For 
a few years previous to removing to New 
Haven he was church treasurer and assistant 
superintendent of the Sunday school of the 
First Congregational Church of Winsted. He 
married (first) November 3, 1880, Elizabeth 
Abigail, daughter of George Ward Loomis, 
of Torrington ; she was born in Torrington, 
October 21, 1855, died May 10, 1894, at Win- 
sted. He married (second) Addie Theresa, 
daughter of Samuel and Harriet Theresa 
(Newton) Gilman, May 27, 1896; she was 
born December 17, 1862, in West Hartland, 
Connecticut. Children of first wife: 1. 
George Loomis, born June 15, 1884, at Win- 
sted, Connecticut, died, unmarried, July 20, 
1908. He graduated from Yale University 
with the class of 1906 ; after spending a year 
in survey work for the Mexican International 
railroad, and serving as assistant civil engi- 
neer for the city of Zacatecas, Mexico, he re- 
turned to Yale for a post-graduate course, re- 
ceiving the degree of C.E. in June, 1908 ; he 
was an enthusiastic member of Phi Delta 
Chapter of the National College fraternity of 
Alpha Chi Rho. 2. Helen Wetmore, born at 
Winsted, Conecticut, November 24, 1886; 
graduated from the Hillhouse high school and 
the State Normal school of New Haven. 

Ebenezer Burgess may have 
BURGESS belonged to the Burgess fam- 
ily of Cape Cod, but no record 
has been found to establish the relationship. 



We find him first at Harvard, Worcester 
county, Massachusetts, before 1748. Harvard 
was set off from the towns of Stow, Lancas- 
ter and Groton, Massachusetts, in 1732. In 
175 1 he had a dwelling house on land that he 
bought of John Whitcomb and he had a seat 
in the meeting house. He was a soldier on 
the Lexington alarm in the revolution, going 
out for a short time in Captain Joseph Fair- 
banks's company, Colonel Asa Whitcomb's 

regiment. He married (first) Hannah ; 

(second) Rachel Farnsworth. He died in 
1807. His will was dated September 18, 1795 
and proved at Worcester, January 5, 1808. He 
bequeathed to wife Rachel ; son Ebenezer ; 
daughter Hannah, wife of Jonathan Stearns ; 
to William, Betsey W., Caleb R., and Axis 
Burgess, children of son William; sons John, 
Solomon, Thomas, Marrett and Laommi ; 
daughter Sarah, wife of Abraham Foster; to 
Josiah and Nathaniel, sons of son Josiah. 
Children, all but eldest recorded at Harvard : 
Ebenezer, settled in Ashburnham, also soldier 
in revolution; Hannah, born August 14, 1748; 
William, January 5, 1750-51 ; John, April 3, 
1753; Solomon, December 4, 1756; Thomas, 
February 26, 1761; children of second wife: 
Sarah, December 31, 1762; Marrett, July 9, 
1765, mentioned below; Josiah, July 18, 1767; 
Loammi, March 1, 1770. 

(II) Marrett, son of Ebenezer Burgess, 
was born July 9, 1765, at Harvard. He mar- 
ried Sarah . Children, born at Har- 
vard: Sarah, February 15, 1789; Nancy, 
March 1, 1791 ; Jonathan, February 6, 1793; 
mentioned below : Asa, April 4, 1795 ; Marrett, 
March 27, 1797; Daniel, December 27, 1799; 

(III) Jonathan, son of Marrett Burgess, 
was born at Harvard, February 6, 1793. He 
married and had son, George E. 

(IV) George E., son of Jonathan Burgess, 
was born at Groton, in 1841. He married 
Caroline Martha, born 1846, at Lyndon, Ver- 
mont, daughter of Karly and Nancy (Powers) 
Hlanchard, of Lyndon. Karly Blanchard 
moved to Newport, Vermont, where he spent 
his last years, and where his death occurred ; 
his wife died in Lyndon. Vermont. Jonathan 
Blanchard, father of Karly Blanchard, most 
probably came from the neighborhood of Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, and belonged to the fam- 
ily of that section. He was a soldier in the 
revolution from Massachusetts ; removed to 
Lyndon, Vermont, where he spent his last 
years and died. Children: Edward H., men- 
tioned below ; Martha Ellen, born June 7, 
1S68, married, In 1902, Harry Baldwin Ken- 
nedy, secretary of the Hoggson & Pettis 
.Manufacturing Company, of New Haven. 

(V) Edward H., son of George E. Burgess, 
was born in Groton, Massachusetts, January 
5, 1866. He attended the public schools of 
Lyndon, Vermont, whither his father moved 
when he was a young child. He began his 
career as bookkeeper for the International 
Company at Newport, Vermont, and was em- 
ployed for nine years in' various positions by 
this concern. Since 1891 he has been con- 
nected with the E. D. Fogg Company, dealers 
in lumber, No. 178 Goffe street, New Haven. 
He began as salesman, became secretary of 
the company and for a number of years has 
been at the head of the corporation, holding 
the offices of president and treasurer. He 
was made a Mason at Newport Lodge (Ver- 
mont), No. 65, but is now a member of Woos- 
ter Lodge, No. 79, of New Haven. He was 
senior warden of the Newport Lodge. He 
is also a member of Franklin Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, of New Haven ; of New Haven 
Commandery, Knights Templar ; of the 
Knights Templar Club of New Haven ; of the 
Young Men's Republican Club of New Haven 
and of the Chamber of Commerce of New 
Haven. He is unmarried. In politics he is 
Republican ; he attends the Congregational 

Thomas Tolman was born at 
TOLMAN Devonshire, England, Decem- 
ber 9, 1608, and migrated to 
Massachusetts in the ship "Mary and John" 
in 1630. This Thomas Tolman was the de- 
scendant in a direct line from Sir Thomas 
Tolman, Grand Almoner to Egbert, the first 
king of the Saxons, A. D., 825. This family 
was quite prominent in England ; one member 
was a favorite of Charles the First, and under 
Sir Thomas Tolman commanded a regiment, 
at Marston Moor, at which battle, legend 
says, this Sir Thomas Tolman unhorsed the 
nephew of King Charles in the fight, but 
discovering his identity, spared his life. At 
the Restoration this act was the means of 
saving Sir Thomas Tolman from the loss of 
his family estates. 

(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) Tol- 
man, was born in T634; he married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Richard Johnson, of Lynn, 
November 4, 1654. He died September 12, 
1718; she died December 15, 1716. 

(III) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) 
Tolman, was baptized at Lynn ; died Septem- 
ber 22, 1716. 

(IV) Nathaniel, son of Thomas (3) Tol- 
man, was born December 22, 1691. 

(V) Thomas (4), son of Nathaniel Tol- 
man, was born December 29, 1727 ; he mar- 
ried Elizabeth Pike, who died March 4, 1795, 



in her seventy-second year ; his death occurred 
July 4, 1 82 1. 

(VI) Thomas (5), son of Thomas (4) Tol- 
man, married Lois, daughter of Jeremiah and 
Ruth Clark, at Attleboro, August 16, 1780: 
was born September 5, 1756, died September 
8, 1842. He married, August 16, 1780, at 
Attleboro, Lois, born May 27, 1758, died 
March 15, 1845, daughter of Jeremiah and 
Ruth Clark. They had ten children, of whom 
the fourth was Enoch. 

(VII) Enoch, son of Thomas (5) Tolman, 
was born December 23, 1787, died April 12, 
1846. He married Abigail Cook, born May 
23, 1796, died in April, 1865. 

(VIII) George Burder, son of Enoch Tol- 
man, was born July 24, 1832, in Greensboro, 
Vermont. He married (first) Hannah Bailey. 
He married (second), Sarah Eunicia, daugh- 
ter of Linus Cowles, of Kensington. Connec- 
ticut. George B. Tolman had one daughter 
by his first wife. Elizabeth C. Tolman, who 
married George A. Metcalf, and had three 
children, Lester, Margaret and Winfield Tol- 
man. The three children by his second wife 
were Cowles, Lucius Moody and Ruel Pardee 

(IX) Cowles, son of George Burder Tol- 
man, was born February 10, 1872. He mar- 
ried, January 28, 1894, Mary Frances, daugh- 
ter of Francis and Mary (Davidson) Wallace, 
who was born in New Haven, October 9, 1874. 
Cowles Tolman is president and treasurer of 
the Holcomb Company, dealers in automo- 
biles at 105 Goffe street, of which Charles 
Sherman Lee is secretary. He affiliates with 
the Republican party : is a member of the 
Automobile Club of New Haven. He is also a 
member of Plymouth Congregational Church. 
Of their five children the eldest is George 
Newton Tolman, born February 4, 1896. 

(The Cowles Line). 

John Cowles came from England in 1635 
to Massachusetts ; removed to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, in 1635-39; to Farmington, Connec- 
ticut, in 1640, and thence to Hadley (now 
Hatfield) Massachusetts, in 1664. He died 
in 1675. 

(II) Samuel, son of John Cowles, was born 
in 1637 ; married Abigail, daughter of Tim- 
othy Stanley. He resided in Farmington, and 
died in 1691. 

(III) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1) 
Cowles; was born in 1661, died in 1748. He 
had three sons, Thomas, Samuel and John. 

(IV) Samuel (3), son of Samuel (2) 
Cowles, born in 1692, died in 1677. He had 
three sons, James, Samuel and Ashel. 

(V) Ashel, son of Samuel (3) Cowles, born 

in 1729, died in 1807. He had two sons, Sam- 
uel and Jabez. 

(VI) Jabez, son of Ashel Cowles, born in 
1761, also had two sons, Linus and Luman. 

(VII) Luman, son of Jabez Cowles, born 
in 1789, died in 1823. He had four children, 
Alonzo, Chandler, Luman and Emily. After 
the death of Luman Cowles, his widow mar- 
ried his brother Linus, who had had six chil- 
dren by a previous wife (Eunicia Pardee) ; 
and there were three children by this mar- 
riage. Ruel P. Cowles, of New Haven ; Henry 
M. Cowles, of Southington, and Sarah E. 
(Cowles) Tolman. 

The Graham family was es- 
GRAHAM tablished as early as 1150 in 
Linlithgowshire, Forfarshire, 
Perthshire, Stirlingshire, Dumfriesshire, and 
the surname was spelled also Graeme. Some 
of the descendants still use the old spelling 
Grimes. The family possesses the dukedom, 
marquisate and earldom of Montrose ; the 
marquisate of Graham and Buchanan ; earl- 
doms of Airth, Kincardine, Menteith and 
Strathern ; viscountcies of Dundas, Dundee 
and Preston ; lordships of Aberuthven, Kil- 
point, etc. ; barony of Esk, etc. 'The family 
is reputed to be of Norman origin, coming 
at the time of the Conquest to England and 
Scotland. From James Graham, Marquis of 
Montrose, a noted Royalist who fought on the 
side of Charles I in the first civil war of 
England, the family of this sketch is de- 

(I) James Graham, born at Albany, New 
York, January 23, 183 1, was a son of the 
immigrant ancestor who came from Scotland 1 
to America a few years before that date and 
settled in Albany. He was a brass founder 
and manufacturer and established the firm of 
James Graham & Company, having brass- 
foundries at Albany. He went to Branford, 
Connecticut, in 1855, an d had charge of a 
foundry, and in 1861 came to New Haven and 
established the foundry of James Graham & 

He was a successful man of affairs and a 
useful and honored citizen, serving the town- 
in which he lived on the board of selectmen, 
as representative to the general assembly and 
as state senator. His marked characteristics 
were integrity and generosity. He used his 
wealth wisely and usefully. He married Ma- 
ria, born October, 1835, daughter of Augustus 
Foote, of Branford. 

(II) Charles E., only child of James Gra- 
ham, was born at Branford, February 9, 1858. 
He removed with his parents to New Haven 
when he was but five years old and was edu- 



cated at the Webster school there, in the pub- 
lic schools of West Haven; in General Rus- 
sell's Military School at New Haven and 
at the Williston Seminary at Easthampton, 
Massachusetts. He was ambitious to follow 
the business m which his father had engaged 
and he became associated with him in business. 
He succeeded his father and since the senior 
partner died has conducted the business of 
James Graham & Company with notable suc- 
cess. In addition to the brass business he 
has other and varied interests. He organized 
the West Haven Manufacturing Company, 
manufacturers of hardware specialties, and 
has been from the first its president and treas- 
urer. He is vice-president of the Utah & 
Eastern Copper Company ; president of the 
Wire Novelty Company ; was treasurer of the 
Mayo Radiator Company, which he helped to 
establish, and director of the Evening Leader 
Company, publishing the New Haven Leader, 
also vice-president of J. H. Burwell & Com- 
pany, New York, manufacturers of telegraph 

In politics he is a Republican. He repre- 
sented the town of Orange in the general as- 
sembly in 1897, serving on the committee on 
insurance. In 1903 he was state senator from 
the seventh district of Connecticut, and dur- 
ing his term of office was chairman of three 
committees, claims, executive nominations and 
forfeited rights. He evinced unusual ability 
as a legislator and worked zealously in the in- 
terests of his constituents. His favorite sport 
is yachting and he is well known among the 
yachtsmen of Long Island sound. He is a 
member of Agawam Lodge, No. 115, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of W r est Haven ; of Frank- 
lin Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of New 
Haven ;* of New Haven Commandery, Knights 
Templar, and has taken the Scottish Rite de- 
grees to and including the thirty-second. He 
is also a member of the Union League Club 
of New Haven; of the Phoenix Club and of 
the Congregational Church of West Haven. 
He married, October 19, 1881, at New Haven, 
Hattie Augusta, born in August, 1859, daugh- 
ter of Esteves E. Marsh, of West Haven. 
They have one child, Margarite Marsh, born 
March 13, 1887. 

Richard Mansfield, one of 
MANSFIELD the first settlers of New 
Haven, Connecticut, came 
from Exeter, Devonshire, England, and set- 
tled in "Quinnipiac" in 1639; he died in 1655. 
He married and among his children was Jos- 
eph, see forward. 

CII) Joseph, son of Richard Mansfield, 
was born in England, probably in 1636, died 

in 1692. He took the freeman's oath in 1657, 
and he owned land on the present site of the 
college buildings in New Haven. He mar- 
ried, and among his children was Joseph, 
see forward. 

(III) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) Mans- 
field, was born December 27, 1673, died in 
1739. He married Elizabeth Cooper and 
among their children was Joseph, see forward. 

(IV) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) and 
Elizabeth (Cooper) Mansfield, was born Au- 
gust 17, 1708, died about 1762. He married 
Phebe Bassett, and among their children was 
Titus, see forward. 

(V) Titus, son of Joseph (3) and Phebe 
(Bassett) Mansfield, was born November 5, 
1734, died about 1808. He married Mabel, 
daughter of Gershom Todd, and among their 
children was Jesse, see forward. 

(VI) Jesse, son of Titus and Mabel (Todd) 
Mansfield, was born August 11, 1772, died in 
1825. He married Keziah Stiles, who died 
in 1854, aged eighty-two. Among their chil- 
dren was Jesse Merrick, see forward. 

(VII) Jesse Merrick, second son of Jesse 
and Keziah (Stiles) Mansfield, was born July 
11, 1801, died March 27, 1878. He married 
(first) 1826, Charlotte Heaton : (second) 
1845, J una Turtle; (third) 1850, Catherine B. 
Warner. Among his children was Burton, 
see forward. 

(VIII) Burton, son of Jesse Merrick and 
Catherine B. (Warner) Mansfield, was born 
in Hamden, Connecticut, April 4, 1856. He 
attended the public schools at New Haven, 
the rectory school at Hamden, Hopkins gram- 
mar school at New Haven, where he prepared 
for the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale Uni- 
versity, from which he graduated in 1875, and 
Yale Law School, from which he graduated in 
1878. He took up the practice of law in New 
Haven, mostly probate law, immediately after 
graduation, in which he is still engaged. He 
was clerk of the probate court for the district 
of New Haven in 1875-76, and has held sev- 
eral other local and state offices. In politics 
he affiliates with the Democratic party. He 
is now president of the Connecticut Savings 
Bank, which institution has recently erected 
one of the finest banking houses in the state. 
He is a vestryman of St. Thomas's Church 
and was superintendent of the Sunday school 
for many years. He is earnestly interested 
in the Missionary work of the Protestant 
Episcopal church, and is frequently present at 
conventions and other gatherings in his own 
and other dioceses. Mr. Mansfield married 
(first) October 18, 1882, Elizabeth H., 
daughter of Samuel E. Barney, of New 
Haven; she died in 1887. He married (sec- 



oncl), October 16, 1900, Anna RosaRe, daugh- 
ter of Elihu Mix, also of New Haven. 

The name Palmer was origi- 
PALMER nally a common title of those 

who had returned from the 
Holy Land, and brought back, as a token and 
remembrance of their pilgrimage, a palm 
branch. Thus in Marmion, Canto I, xxiii : 

"Here is a holy Palmer come, 
From Salem first, and last from Rome." 

Certain returned Crusaders, and as a rec- 
ognition of their merit, were knighted and 
allowed to assume this title as a surname. It 
is a common name in England, and there were 
several representatives of it in New England 
previous to 1635. 

(I) William Palmer, the first American im- 
migrant of the name, came to this country in 
the ship "Fortune" with his son William in 
162 1, and was followed two years later by 
his wife Frances in the ship "Anne." He 
settled in Plymouth. His land was in what 
was later set off as Duxbury. There he lived 
and died.* His will was dated December 4, 
1636, and proved March 5 following; it men- 
tions "young wife Rebecca." By his second 
wife he had a son Henry and a daughter 
Bridget. His land in Duxbury was sold in 
1638 to John Bissell. 

(II) William (2), son of William (1) 
Palmer, was born in England. He married, 
in Scituate, March 27, 1633, Elizabeth Hodg- 
kins. He died in Plymouth before his father; 
and after his father's death his widow mar- 
ried (second), John Willis. She sued the 
executors of the will of William (1) Palmer, 
because she had been the wife of William (2) 
Palmer, for a share in the former's estate, 
but it was denied her. 

(III) William (3), son of William (2) 
Palmer, was born June 27, 1634. He married 
a daughter of Robert Paddock, of Plymouth, 
who died early. He settled in Dartmouth, of 
which he was one. of the first purchasers. He 
died in 1679, previous to June 3d. He left 
a widow, whose name was Susannah ; a tradi- 
tion makes her a Hathaway ; at any rate, Ar- 
thur Hathaway was joined with her in the ad- 
ministration of her husband's estate. He left 
children also, William, John, and others. 

(IV) William (4), son of William (3) 
Palmer, was born in 1663. He settled in Lit- 
tle Compton, Rhode Island, where the births 
of all his children are recorded. He married 

* William Palmer, of Yarmouth, whom Savage 
confounds with the Plymouth man, was entirely a 
different person, who ultimately removed to Long 
Island, and died there. 

in 1685, Mary Richmond, born in 1668, daugh- 
ter of Captain Edward Richmond, born 1632, 
died November, 1696, who came to this coun- 
try before his father; married (first) Abigail, 
daughter of James Davis; (second) Amy, 
daughter of Governor Henry and Elizabeth 
Bull. John Richmond, father of Captain Ed- 
ward Richmond, was born in Ashton-Keynes, 
Wiltshire, England, in 1594; was one of the 
original purchasers of Taunton ; settled at 
Newport, Rhode Island, but he died March 
20, 1664, at Taunton. Children of William 
and Mary (Richmond) Palmer: William, 
born January 17, 1686; Elizabeth, November 
12, 1687; Joseph, June 19, 1689; Susannah, 
October 24, 1692; John, November 13, 1794; 
Thomas, January 7, 1697, mentioned below ; 
Mary, January 10, 1699; Benjamin, Novem- 
ber 3, 1700; Abigail, April 5, 1702; Patience, 
February 19, 1704; Silvester, May 2, 1706; 
Peleg, March 18, 1708. 

(V) Thomas, fourth son of William (4) 
Palmer, was born at Little Compton, Janu- 
ary 7, 1697, died May 3, 1768. He married, 
April 5, 1 74 1, Abiel Wilbor (given Abigail 
in the Tiverton records) ; married by Richard 
Billings, Esq., and recorded also at Little 
Compton. Children, born at Little Compton: 
Joseph, May 3, 1742, mentioned below; 
Thomas, September 5, 1743, died April, 1803 ; 
Elkanah, August 3, 1745, died March 19, 
1806: Mary, June 10, 1747: William, May 21, 
1749; Benedict, October 29, 1753, died July 
29, 1837. 

(VI) Captain Joseph, son of Thomas Pal- 
mer, was born at Little Compton, May 3, 1742, 
died March 17, 1791. He was captain in the 
state militia. He married, in 1767, Hannah 
Briggs, born November 28, 1746, died March 
4, 1835. Children, born at Little Compton : 
Abigail, June 13, 1768, died December 27, 
1850; Ruth, January 20, 1771, died Sep- 
tember 20, 1778; Thomas, March 12, 1773, 
mentioned below ; Mary, born March 20, 1776, 
died January 22, 1850; Hannah, December 
19, 1777, died December 7, 1842 ; Ruth, March 
2 7> J 779> Priscilla, November 6, 1781 ; 
Simeon, October 14, 1785, died July 17, 1853; 
Ann, July 7, 1791, died in 187 1. 

(VII) Judge Thomas (2), son of Captain 
Joseph Palmer, was born March 12, 1773, 
died June 25, 1857. He was judge of New- 
port county. He married, June 29, 1800, Su- 
sannah, daughter of Captain Richard and Fal- 
lie (Gray) Palmer. Children, born at Little 
Compton, Rhode Island : Richard Addison, 
May 20, 1 80 1 ; Julius Auboyneau, June 14, 
1803 ; Angelina, November 2, 1805 ; Ray, No- 
vember 12, 1808, mentioned below ; Asher, 
February 28, 181 1 ; DeWitt C, June 17, 1813; 



Amanda, April 26, 1815; Susanna, February 
9, 1817. Child, by second wife, Mrs. Mary 
(Bailey) Richmond: Henry Kirk White, Sep- 
tember 23, 1819. 

(VIII) Rev. Ray Palmer, D.D., son of 
Judge Thomas (2) Palmer, was born No- 
vember 12, 1808, in Little Compton, Rhode 
Island. He was in the class of 1830, Yale 
College. He began his career as a teacher in 
1830 in New York City; in 1831 became as- 
sistant to Professor E. A. Andrews, in the 
Young Ladies' Institute in New Haven, in 
the building afterward occupied by General 
William H. Russell's School for Boys. He 
later became the head master of the school, 
but resigned in 1834 to enter the ministry. In 
1835 he was settled in his first pastorate, at 
Bath, Maine, whence he removed in 1850 to 
Albany. New York ; there he was pastor of 
the First Congregational Church until 1866. 
He was the author of many hymns, of which 
upwards of sixty were published and many 
are still in use ; of these the best known is 
"My faith looks up to Thee." He was a wise, 
faithful and industrious minister, with the 
tact, judicial balance and conciliatory spirit so 
necessary to success in a pastor. He pub- 
lished several volumes, and was a fruitful 
writer in reviews and journals. He died 
March 29, 1887, in Newark, New Jersey. He 
married, October 3, 1832, Ann Maria Waud, 
born August 2, 1814, died March 8. 1886, at 
Newark, New Jersey, daughter of Major Mar- 
maduke Waud, a native of England, who came 
to this country in 1805, with his father, and 
fought on the American side in the war of 
1812; she was a descendant on her mother's 
side of John Odgen, who was mentioned in 
the Charter of Connecticut obtained by Win- 
throp. Children : Charles Ray, born May 2, 
1834; Mary Helen, August 18, 1836; Ed- 
ward E., July 24, 1838 ; William A., April 16, 
1840; Henry L., April 23, 1842; Mary Pat- 
ten, February 13, 1844; Harriet S., August 1, 
1845 '■> Maria Waud, May 20, 1848 ; Edward 
N., April 22, 1852; Francis A., July 10, 1853. 

(IX) Rev. Charles Ray Palmer, D.D., son 
of Rev. Ray Palmer, D.D., was born in New 
Haven, May 2, 1834. He was an active youth, 
and received the severe training that custom 
prescribed for all boys in New England at 
that time. When very young he developed a 
fondness for books and music, however, and 
from his college days he became a student of 
history and biography to an unusual degree. 
Of his earlier days he says: "I was taught to 
do every kind of manual labor that the house- 
hold life required, after the old New England 
fashion, a valuable preparation to be oneself 
a householder." He attended the public 

schools and the high school at Bath, Maine, 
then entered Phillips Academy, Andover, Mas- 
sachusetts, from which he graduated in 185 1. 
Four years later he was graduated from Yale 
College in the class of 1855, winning distinc- 
tion by his scholarship. In 1858 he received 
the degree of A. M. from Yale, and in 1889 
the degree of D.D. For a time after gradua- 
tion he was tutor in a private family at Rod- 
ney, Mississippi. He then entered the An- 
dover Theological Seminary, in September, 
1856, and was graduated in August, 1859. 
He was licensed to preach by the Albany As- 
sociation at Poughkeepsie, November 10, 
1858, and was at Andover as a resident licen- 
tiate from October 1, 1859, to March 30, 
i860; at Albany from March to August, i860. 
He was ordained pastor of the Tabernacle 
Congregational Church at Salem, Massachu- 
setts, August 29, i860. On account of trouble 
with his eyes, he made a trip abroad in 1865, 
sailing March 29 and returning October 3, 
to resume his pastoral work a week later, 
"with greatly invigorated health and relieved 
entirely of difficulty in the use of his eyes." 
After twelve years at Salem, he resigned to 
accept a call to the pastorate of the First Con- 
gregational Church of Bridgeport, Connecti- 
cut, in July, 1872. He continued here for a 
period of twenty-three years, and "his power 
for good was felt not only in his own large 
church and in his home city, but throughout 
the entire State and beyond its borders." 
In 1885 he wrote for his class report : (Quoted 
from "Men of Mark in Connecticut," N. G. 
Osborn). "I have no story to tell, but one 
of hard work in my profession, without any 
shining distinctions. Have never waited an 
hour for a place to work in ; have never 
wanted any better place than I had ; have 
been pastor of two churches in succession, and 
found useful in some positions of trust be- 
side. I review the past years very humbly, but 
very thankfully." 

From 1864 to 1881 Dr. Palmer was a 
director and some years secretary of the 
Society for the Promotion of Collegiate and 
Theological Education. He was a corporate 
member of the American Board of Commis- 
sioners for Foreign Missions from 187 1 to 
1901, when he resigned. For several years he 
was a trustee of Dummer Academy at By- 
field, Massachusetts. He is a director of the 
General Hospital of Connecticut, of which he 
was chairman of the prudential committee 
from 1896 to 1905. At one time he was 
chaplain of the veteran organization known 
as the Salem Light Infantry, part of the fa- 
mous old Eighth Massachusetts Regiment. On 
his retirement from his active pastorate in 



1895 h e was chosen pastor emeritus. At that 
time he removed to New Haven, where he 
has since resided, devoting much attention to 
Yale University, of which he was elected a 
fellow in 1880. 

While Dr. Palmer has published no 
books, he has written and published many 
pamphlets and sermons. Among- the sermons 
is one on "Preaching Christ to Men," preached 
in Mansfield College, Oxford University, 
England, in 1889, and published in a memorial 
volume in London. Notable among his his- 
torical publications was his oration at the un- 
veiling of the John Robinson memorial tablet 
in Leyden, Holland, July 24, 1891, under the 
auspices of the National Council of Congre- 
gational Churches of the United States. His 
paper on "The Pilgrim Fathers and What 
They Wrought" (1892) was published by the 
Fairfield County Historical Society, and an- 
other on the "Pilgrim Fathers" was published 
by the Congregational Union of England and 
Wales (London, 1893). His Historical Dis- 
course at the Bicentennial Celebration of the 
First Church and Society of Bridgeport was 
also published (1895). He is a member of 
several learned societies, among which are : 
The American Historical Association, the New 
Haven Colony Historical Society, the Fair- 
field County Historical Society, the Congre- 
gational Historical Society of England, the 
Archaeological Institute of America, the Amer- 
ican Oriental Society, and the Connecticut 
Branch of the Egypt Exploration Fund, of 
which he is president. He has also been a 
member of the American Academy of Political 
Science, the Victoria Institute or Philosophi- 
cal Society of Great Britain, and the Amer- 
ican Exegetical Society. In politics he is a 
Republican. He has said : "The first requi- 
site to true success in life is incorruptible 
character ; next, industry, concentration, readi- 
ness to serve where opportunity offers, per- 
sistence in well-doing." His sympathy is 
with all things that go to making men better 
and stronger, physically and mentally as well 
as spiritually. 

Aside from his descent from William 
Palmer, of Plymouth, Dr. Palmer is a descend- 
ant through female lines from several of the 
"Mayflower" company, including Richard 
Warren and John Alden. His home is at 562 
Whitney, avenue, New Haven. 

He married, February 10, 1869, Mary 
Chapin Barnes, born May 25, 1844, died April 
22, 1888, daughter of Alfred Smith and Har- 
riet E. (Burr) Barnes, of Brooklyn. Chil- 
dren : Alfred Barnes, born February 18, 1870, 
died in 1892; Edith Burr, November 23, 1871 ; 
married Arthur Ellsworth Foote. 

Walter Palmer, the immigrant, 
PALMER was born, according to tradi- 
tion, in county Nottingham, 
England, and died in Stonington, Connecti- 
cut, November 19, 1661. The first authentic 
records of him in New England are in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, when he and 
Abraham Palmer were admitted freemen, May 
14, 1634. He owned considerable real estate, 
and received land in the first division in 1637 
and again in the division of 1643. He was 
among those who met to prepare for the new 
settlement at Seacuncke, afterward Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts, and in 1653 removed to what 
is now Stonington, Connecticut. He bought 
land from Governor Haynes on the east bank 
of the Wequetequoc river. His whole tract of 
land contained about twelve hundred acres. 
His will was dated May 19, 1658, and proved 
May 11, 1662. He married (first), in Eng- 
land, Ann . He married (second) Re- 
becca Short, a member of Rev. John Eliot's 
church in Roxbury. Children of first wife: 
Grace ; John ; William ; Jonas ; Elizabeth ; 
children of second wife : Hannah, born June 
16, 1634; Elihu, January 24, 1636; Nehemiah, 
November 27, 1637; Moses, April 6, 1640; 
Benjamin, May 30, 1642; Gershom, mentioned 
below ; Rebecca. 

(II) Gershom, son of Walter Palmer, was 
baptized in Charlestown. On June 5, 1684, 
he received from his brothers five hundred 
acres of land in Stonington, as a part of their 
parent's estate. May 3, 1693, there was laid 
out to Lieutenant Gershom Palmer, first fifty 
acres, then one hundred acres, and again an- 
other fifty acres. May 6, 1706, Gershom 
Palmer gave "for love of his son Ichabod, 
and for his wife and children, as his portion 
of his father's estate, land by the Mill Brook, 
in Stonington." December 23, 1708, he gave 
his sons, George and Walter, all his farm, they 
to allow him, for the rest of his natural life, 
one-third of the produce of the land, to dwell 
in the east end of his "now dwelling house," 
and they to fulfill the agreement he made with 
his "now wife" (second wife) before their 
marriage. This agreement was drawn up No- 
vember 1, 1707, on the eve of his second mar- 
riage with the widow of Major Samuel Ma- 
son, but on June 16, 1718, he made another 
deed in which he stated that he had, before 
marriage, agreed to give his wife twenty 
pounds before his own decease, and that he 
had ordered his sons to pay this, but since 
he had been boarding his wife's two daugh- 
ters, Elizabeth and Hannah Mason, for some 
time, he had caused different arrangements to 
be made. November 20, 171 1, there was laid 
out to him four hundred acres of land in the 


purchase of Cattapeset, by virtue of eighty- About the year 1786 he removed to that part 

six acres which were granted to Mrs. Anna of Preston which is now known as Griswold, 

Stanton, Robert and Samuel Stanton, Moses New London county. On January 2, 1789, 

Palmer, deceased, Benjamin Palmer, Thomas he, then of Preston, sold to Elias Sanford 

Ilewett, deceased, and James Dean. May 9, Palmer and to William Brown a tract in Ston- 

1718, Deacon Gershom Palmer gave his sons ington, which was lying on Palmer's Neck. He 

Ichabod, William, George and Walter a deed married, November 5, 1747, Dorothy Brown, 

of three hundred and twenty-five acres of land who was born in Preston and died there, 

at Puckhunganuck, during his life; after, to March 1, 1808. He died November 6, 1810. 

the sons of his son William each one-fourth Children: Prudence, born August 18, 1748; 

of it. He married (first), in Stonington, No- Dolly; Zeruiah, born in Preston, 1756; Naomi; 

vember 28, 1667, Ann, daughter of Captain Esther; Reuben, June 12, 1759, mentioned be- 

George and Ann (Borodel) Denison. Her low ; Lois, April 23, 1761 ; Lucretia; Keturah; 

mother was of a fine old English family, and Amy. 

from her Mrs. Palmer inherited such stately (V) Rev. Reuben Palmer, son of Rev. Ger- 
and gracious manners that she was commonly shorn Palmer, was born in Stonington, June 
styled "Lady Ann." She was born May 20, 12, 1759. He was first ordained as elder in the 
1649, an d died, in Stonington, 1694. He mar- Baptist church of Preston, and while there 
ried (second) Mrs. Elizabeth Mason. He was called to the old Baptist church in Mont- 
died September 27, 1718. She was the widow ville, New London county, Connecticut. He 
of Major Samuel Mason, of Stonington, and served until he was publicly installed, Decem- 
her maiden name was Peck, and she was from ber 25, 1798, and there continued until the 
the Rehoboth, Massachusetts, family of that time of his decease. He married, November 
name. Children of Gershom and Ann (Deni- 16, 1780, Lucretia, daughter of Caleb and 
son) Palmer: Mercy, born 1669; Gershom, Hannah (Barnes) Tyler, who was born in 
baptized September 2, 1677 ; Ichabod, baptized Preston, November 12, 1764, and died in 
September 2, 1677; William, baptized April Montville, August 15, 1855. He died April 
25, 1678; George, baptized May 29, 1680, 22, 1822. Children: Hannah, born Decem- 
mentioned below; Rebecca, baptized 1682, died ber 25, 1781 ; Sally, October 16, 1783; Reu- 
young; Ann, baptized May 20, 1682; Walter, ben, December 26, 1784; Lucretia, April 25, 
baptized June 7, 1685; Elihu, baptized May 6, 1786; Mary, December 17, 1787; Caleb, June 
1688; Mary, baptized June 8, 1690; Rebecca, 29, 1790: Tyler, March 4, 1792; Gideon, Oc- 
baptized July 1, 1694. tober 23, 1793, mentioned below; Joshua, Oc- 

(III) George, son of Deacon Gershom tober 15, 1795; Gershom, August 6, 1796; 
Palmer, was baptized in Stonington, May 29, Samuel, February 11, 1798; Rhoda, October 
1680. In a deed dated October 8, 1729, it is 18, 1799; Peter A., May 11, 1801 ; Achsah, 
set forth that George Palmer in his will made May 12, 1803; Lois, December 30, 1804; 
his wife, Hannah, his executrix, with his sons, Emma, December 30, 1807 ; Thankful, Jan- 
Christopher and Joseph. As his widow was uary 29, 1809. 

married in the next year, we know that he (VI) Gideon, son of Elder Reuben Palmer, 

died in 1729. January 25, 1738-39, Hannah, was born October 23, 1793. He was associ- 

former wife of George Palmer, now wife of ated in business with his father. Among 

William York, gave a quit-claim deed of her other enterprises, they were engaged in the 

right to one-third of the estate. George extraction of oil from flaxseed, and while thus 

Palmer married, March 11, 171 1, in Stoning- occupied he developed and patented a process 

ton, Hannah, daughter of Joseph and Frances for extracting oil from cotton seed, and thus 

(Prentice) Palmer, born May 31, 1694. She originated one of the great industries of the 

married (second) February 22, 1730, Wil- country. He also invented an oil press. The 

liam York. Children : Christopher, born Feb- patent on the cotton seed oil process, issued 

ruary 13, 1712; Zebulon, February 4, 1714; in 1830, bears the signatures of Martin Van 

Joseph, August 16, 1716-17; George, junior, Buren and Andrew Jackson, and is greatly 

September 16, 1719; Gershom, October 12, prized by Isaac E. Palmer, in whose posses- 

1725, mentioned below. Children of Hannah sion it is at present. Mr. Palmer married, 

(Palmer) York: Amos York, born October July 11, 1813, Mercy M., daughter of Isaac 

13, 1730; Molly York, April 30, 1732; Jona- and Anna (Comstock) Turner, of Montville, 

than, August 29, 1735. Connecticut. Children: Elisha Hurlbert ; 

(IV) Rev. Gershom (2) Palmer, son of Gideon; Cornelia; Sarah Anne; William 
George Palmer, was born in Stonington, Octo- Henry; Matthew; Reuben; Theresa; Joseph; 
ber 12, 1725. In 1747 he sold land lately be- Isaac Emerson; Herbert. 

longing to his deceased father, George Palmer. (VII) Isaac Emerson, son of Gideon Palm- 



cr, was born in Montville, Connecticut, Febru- 
ary 2J> 1836. 

He attended the public schools and 
the Sufneld Academy. Early in life he 
learned the secrets of manufacturing, and, 
under the instruction of his father, became 
skilled in mechanical arts. In 1855 Mr. Palm- 
er established and conducted a cotton mill at 
Houston, Texas. The summer of 1859 found 
him engaged in the manufacture of lace mos- 
quito canopies at St. Louis, Missouri. It was 
here that he conceived his first invention, the 
self-adjusting pulley. From St. Louis he re- 
turned to his home at Palmertown, Montville, 
and began the manufacture of wide nettings, 
being the pioneer in the use of the power loom 
for this purpose. In 1865 he transferred his 
business interests to Middletown, where he 
has continued in active business down to the 
present time. In 1867 Mr. Palmer invented 
the Palmer tentering machine. This inven- 
tion, together with a patented starching pro- 
cess, gave him entire command of the crinoline 
situation, which had been hitherto under the 
control of foreign manufacturers. Eighteen 
\ ears later he introduced the cotton woven 
hammock, an acceptable departure from the 
crude and uncomfortable Mexican hammocks 
of the time, and now one of the most im- 
portant branches of his business. In 1907 
Mr. Palmer incorporated his interests as the 
I. E. Palmer Company, of which he is presi- 
dent and treasurer. All of the products of the 
company were originated or made commer- 
cially practicable by Mr. Palmer, and are 
manufactured under methods peculiarly his 

In religion Mr. Palmer is an Episcopalian, 
in politics a Republican. He is a member of 
the Union League Club of New York City, 
the Princess Anne Club, Virginia Beach, Vir- 
ginia, the Tourilli Club, Quebec, Canada, and 
St. John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Accepted 
Masons. He married, May 16, 1876, Matilda, 
daughter of Samuel and Caroline (Johnson) 
Townsend, of Warren county, Mississippi, and 
granddaughter of Hon. William G. Johnson, 
of Uncasville, Connecticut. Children : Town- 
send ; Natalie Townsend ; Isaac Emerson, de- 

The origin of the name Treat is 
TREAT not known, but it is probably a 

place name, and in its present 
form dates back as early as 1572. The family 
was one of title and had a coat-of-arms. The 
family is numerous in county Somerset, Eng- 
land, and was found also in other parts of 
England. The spelling has varied, some of 
its forms being, Trat, Trate, Tret, Treet, 

Treete, Trot, Troot, Treat, and others. The 
name is rare in England to-day, however. 

(I) John Treat, or Trott was of Staple- 
grove, near Taunton, county Somerset, Eng- 
land. His name occurs often in the Taunton 
Manor Rolls. 

(II) William Trott was probably son of 
John Trott, and his name is found in the 
calendars as of the same parish and hundred 
of Staplegrove. The following are supposed 
to be his children : William ; Richard, men- 
tioned below ; Joanna, of Staplegrove, in 1542;. 
Lucy, Alice, John, probably died 1584 in 
Bishop's Compton. 

(ITT) Richard Trott, son of William Trott, 

died about 1 5 7 1 . He married Joanna , 

who was probably buried at Otterford, Au- 
gust 14, 1577. He lived at Staplegrove, 
Poundisford and Otterford. Children: John, 
buried, October 16, 1544, in Pitminster ; John, 
died about 1595: Robert, mentioned below; 
William, buried March 19, 1596: Tamsen. 

(IV) Robert Trott, son of Richard Trott,. 
was baptized probably in the hamlet of 
Trendle, now Trull, parish of Pitminster, 
England, and was buried in Pitminster, Feb- 
ruary 16, 1599. He married Honora or 

Honour , who was buried September 

17, 1627, in Pitminster. His will was dated 
in 1598-99, and was proved in Taunton. Chil- 
dren : Alice, baptized February 4, 1564; John, 
baptized September 10, 1570; buried May 7, 
1633; Mary, baptized February 6, 1575; Ag- 
nes, baptized February 18, 1577; Tamsen, bap- 
tized May 26, 1 58 1 ; Richard, mentioned 

(V) Richard (2) Treat, son of Robert 
Trott, or Treat, was baptized August 28, 1684, 
in Pitminster, in. the hamlet of Trendle, county 
Somerset, England. He was the immigrant 
ancestor, and spelled his name in several ways, 
Trott, Trett. Treat, etc. He settled at Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut, and was one of the four 
pioneers that were honored with the titles of 
Mr. He was a deputy to the general court in 
1644, perhaps earlier, and held that office until 
1657-58. He was a juror in 1643; was assist- 
ant or magistrate eight times, from March n, 
1657-58 to 1665 : in 1660 a townsman ; mem- 
ber of Governor Winthrop's council in 1663- 
64, and served on many important committees 
of the town and church. He owned much 
land and other real estate in Wethersfield. 
His will is dated February 13, 1668, and the 
inventory was dated March 3, 1669-70, soon 
after his death. Children, born and baptized 
in Pitminster, England: Honor, born 1616; 
Joanna, baptized May 24, 1618, died 1694; 
Sarah, baptized December 3, 1620 ; Richard, 
baptized January 9, "1622-23 ; Robert, men- 



tioned below ; Elizabeth, baptized October 8, 
1629, died 1706; Alice, baptized February 16, 
1631-32, buried August 2, 1633; James, bap- 
tized July 20, 1634, died February 12, 1709; 
Katherine, baptized June 29, 1637. 

(VI) Governor Robert (2) Treat, son of 
Richard (2) Treat, was born in Pitminster, 
England, about 1624, baptized February 25, 
1624-25, died July 12, 1710 (gravestone at 
Milford, Connecticut). He married (first) 
Jane Tapp, who died the last of October, 1703, 
aged seventy-five, daughter of Edmund Tapp. 
He married (second) October 24, 1705, Mrs. 
Elizabeth (Hollingsworth) Bryan, born June 
f6, 1641, died January 10, 1706, aged sixty- 
eight, a daughter of Elder Michael and Abi- 
gail Powell, of Boston, and had married (first) 
August 23, 1659, Richard Hollingsworth and 
(second) Richard Bryan. Children: Samuel, 
baptized September 3, 1648 ; John, baptized 
October 20, 1650; Mary, born May 1, 1652; 
Robert, born August 14, 1654, mentioned be- 
low ; Sarah, October 9, 1656 ; Abigail, died 
December 25, 1727; Hannah, born January 1, 
1660-61 ; Joseph, September 17, 1662. 

Robert Treat was among the early settlers 
of Milford, Connecticut, coming from Weth- 
ersfield, and at the first meeting of the plant- 
ers, November 20, 1639, was one of nine 
appointed to survey and lay out lands. He 
subsequently returned to Wethersfield and was 
elected rate-maker there in 1647. Returning 
soon afterward to Milford, he joined the 
church there with his wife, April 19, 1649. ^ n 
1653 he was chosen deputy to the general 
court and the following year was elected lieu- 
tenant of the Milford militia company. He 
became a large landholder and a strong and 
influential factor in the development of the 
colony. He was often chosen to purchase and 
divide public lands. He was early a promi- 
nent member of the church, and in 1660 was 
one of the laymen chosen to perform the cere- 
mony of laying on of hands at the installation 
of Rev. Roger Newton. He held the post of 
deputy until 1659, with the exception of one 
year, and then being elected magistrate, he 
served for five years on the governor's coun- 
cil, and was re-elected, but declined further 
service. In 1663 he was again chosen magis- 
trate for Milford, and he was also captain of 
the military forces. In May, 1664, he and 
William Jones were appointed to meet a com- 
mittee from Massachusetts to consider various 
matters of common interest. He was again 
elected magistrate, but declined. He was act- 
ive in the consummation of the union of the 
New Haven and Connecticut colonies under 
one government. In 1665 he was a deputy to 
the general court, and the following year was 

nominated for the office of assistant and de- 
feated. He was a delegate to go to New Jer- 
sey in the interests of those dissatisfied with 
conditions in Connecticut and desiring to settle 
there. The movement resulted in the estab- 
lishment of the town of Newark, and Treat 
and ten others were appointed to have charge 
of the government, and he was the foremost 
citizen. From 1667 to 1672 he was deputy 
to the New Jersey general assembly. In 1672 
he returned to his old home in Connecticut, 
though a son and daughter remained. Upon 
his return he was placed second in command 
of the forces in preparation to fight the Dutch 
in New York, and at the next election was 
chosen assistant and continued for three years, 
serving also on the committee of safety, which 
acted when the general court was not in ses- 
sion. He had many important public duties 
on committees of the general court and held 
many private trusts. When King Philip's war 
broke out he was commissioned major in com- 
mand of the Connecticut quota. He saved 
Springfield from destruction and took active 
part in the campaign in western Massachusetts 
and the Connecticut valley. He defeated the 
Indians at Hadley in October. He took a 
leading part in the famous Swamp Fight, 
when the Narragansetts were defeated. Four 
of his five captains were slain, but he escaped 
with a bullet hole in his hat. After the death 
of King Philip, Major Treat returned home, 
and was elected deputy governor, continuing 
in this office seven years. He also served as 
judge of committee, especially in Indian af- 
fairs, now at the request of Northampton to 
mediate with the Indians for the return of 
captives and a treaty of peace, now on the 
committee of safety and twice as commissioner 
for the United Colonies and twice also as sub- 
stitute for other commissioners. In 1683 he 
was elected governor, to succeed Governor 
Leete, who died in April. He had to deal 
with many exceedingly trying problems of 
state in his administration. There was fric- 
tion with other colonies and encroachments on 
all sides. Then came the crushing blow in- 
flicted by King James in revoking the colonial 
charter and the assumption of power by the 
infamous Andros. When James fell and An- 
dros was overthrown, Governor Treat and the 
colonial officers resumed their stations. Af- 
ter the custom of the times, he served as dep- 
uty governor after he was governor, and he 
was in this important post from the age of 
seventy-six to eighty-six, then declined and 
retired. "Few men," says Trumbull, "have 
sustained a fairer character or rendered the 
public more important services. He was an 
excellent military officer ; a man of singular 



courage and resolution, tempered with caution 
and prudence. His administration of gov- 
ernment was with wisdom, firmness and in- 
tegrity. He was esteemed courageous, wise 
and pious. He was exceedingly loved and 
venerated by the people in general." 

(VII) Captain Robert (3) Treat, son of 
Governor Robert (2) Treat, was born August 
14, 1654, in Mil ford, died March 20, 1720. 
He was admitted freeman October 9, 1684; 
appointed captain August 7, 1673. He was a 
farmer. He married (first) about 1678, Eliza- 
beth ; (second) about 1687, Abigail 

Camp, born March 28, 1667. died March 20, 
1742, daughter of Nicholas Camp. Children, 
born at Milford by first wife : Elizabeth, bap- 
tized September 14, 1679; Jane, baptized Jan- 
uary 30, 1681. Children of second wife: Rob- 
ert, mentioned below ; Samuel, baptized No- 
vember 28, 1697; Jonathan, born March 17, 
1 70 1 ; Abigail, baptized June 11, 1704. 

(VIII) Robert (4) Treat, son of Captain 
Robert (3) Treat, was born about 1694, bap- 
tized January 6. 1694-95, died September 16, 
1770. He graduated at Yale in 1718; was 
appointed tutor there April 7, 1724, and re- 
signed September, 1725, to follow farming at 
Milford. He published almanacs in 1723-25- 
27 at New London, Connecticut. He was 
deputy to the general assembly from May, 
1736, to May, 1767, with the exception of a 
few years ; was auditor of colony accounts 
1736 to 1744; justice of the peace and of the 
quorum for New Haven county from 1742 to 
1770; was one of the committee of war in 
1744-57 : was one of the committee to settle 
Rev. Mr. Whittlesey, December, 1737. He 
married Jane Langstaff, baptized February 2, 
1699, died November 12, 1793, daughter of 
Bethuel and Hannah Langstaff. Children, 
born at Milford and dates of baptism: Philo- 
sebius, April 2^ 1727, mentioned below; Rob- 
ert, October 11, 1730; Elijah, October 28, 
1733 ; Isaac, February 16, 1735 ; Jane, Oc- 
tober 10, 1736; Bethuel, November 5, 1738. 

(IX) Philosebius Treat, son of Captain 
Robert (4) Treat, was baptized in Milford, 
April 23, 1727, died May 3, 1798 (gravestone 
at Milford). He was a farmer at Milford. 
He married (first) June, 1755, Mercy Hull, 
of Bridgeport, born 173 1, died July 3, 1758. 
He married (second) Elizabeth Baldwin, bap- 
tized October 3, 1731, daughter of Stephen 
and Eunice (Fowler) Baldwin. He married 
(third) Sarah At water, born September 21, 
1746, died September 8, 1822, daughter of 
Isaac and Dorothy (Mix) Atwater. Chil- 
dren, born at Milford, child of first wife: 
Philosebius, born about 1756, soldier in the 
revolution. Children of second wife : Eliza- 

beth, 1759; Mercy; Eunice, 1763; Sarah, bap- 
tized July 19, 1767. Children of third wife: 
Elijah, baptized April 16, 1775; Stephen At- 
water, 1777; Sarah, February 14, 1780; Isaac, 
mentioned below ; Abigail, 1784. 

(X) Captain Isaac Treat, son of Philose- 
bius Treat, was born November 30, 1780, at 
Milford, died March 11, 1844 (gravestone at 
Milford.) He was a master mariner until 
1822, when he retired to the homestead which 
had been handed down in the family from 
Robert Treat, son of Governor Treat. He 
was in partnership with his brother, Major 
Atwater Treat, in the shipping business. He 
married, September 1, 1799, Elizabeth Miles, 
born April 26, 1780, died November 4, i860 
(gravestone at Milford). Children, born at 
Milford: Atwater, January 16, 1801 ; Isaac, 
September 29, 1802; Miles, October 19, 1804; 
Sarah, mentioned below. 

(XI) Sarah Treat, daughter of Captain 
Isaac Treat, was born in Milford, May 4, 
1808. She married. May 28, 1828, Wilson 
Booth, born March 18, 1800, at Trumbull, 
Connecticut, of Scotch ancestry. The name 
was originally spelled DeBoothe, French 
Huguenot, who went to Scotland and then to 
America. He married a Miss Patterson, a 
Scotch covenanter. He died August, 1888, in 
New Haven, and was buried in Grove Street 
cemetery. He came to New Haven in 1819, 
and joined the North Church, August 13, 
1828. He was a carpenter and builder and 
erected many houses in New Haven and vicin- 
ity. He held positions of trust in the town 
and city. Children : Sarah Elizabeth, born 
November 21, 1832, married, August 4, 1863, 
Henry Champion (see Champion VIII) ; Wil- 
liam Treat Booth, November 12, 1835, mar- 
ried, June 3, 1862, Sarah A. Pierce ; child, 
Alice Treat Booth, born July 13, 1863, died 
May 2, 1908. 

(The Champion Line). 

(VI) Major Henry Champion, son of Gen- 
eral Henry Champion (q. v.), was born at 
Westchester, Connecticut, August 6, 1782, died 
December 28, 1823. He married, May 5, 1803, 
Ruth Kimberly, daughter of Rev. Robert and 
Jerusha (Estabrooke) Robbins. Her father 
was a graduate of Yale College in the class of 
1760. Ruth was born October 5, 1782, at 
Wethersfield, died September 12, 1863. Major 
Champion enlisted in the Twenty-sixth Regi- 
ment of the United States regular army, July 
2, 1814, and served until February 25, 1815. 
He was afterward commissioned major in the 
Connecticut militia. He resided all his life in 
his native town, and represented Colchester in 
the general assembly in 1820. He was buried 



in the family lot in the burying- ground in 
Westchester. His widow spent her last years 
in Troy, New York, living with her brother, 
Dr. Amastus Robbins, and her daughter, Mrs. 
Edwards. Children, born at Westchester : 
Robert Henry, born June 5, 1804, died in 
February, 1805 ; George, June 3, 1810, men- 
tioned below ; Maria, September 25, 1812, 
married Hon. Jonathan Edwards ; Abigail 
Jerusha, February 5, 1818. 

(VII) Rev. George Champion, son of 
Major Henry Champion, was born at West- 
chester, Connecticut, June 3, 1810, died De- 
cember 17, 1841, in St. Croix, West Indies. 
From youth he was deeply religious, joining 
the church in Westchester at the age of four- 
teen. In 1828 he was admitted to the sopho- 
more class of Yale College and was graduated 
in 183 1. Pursuing a purpose that he formed 
in youth, he entered the Andover Theological 
Seminary and took a three-year course. He 
was ordained at Colchester, November 19, 
1834. as missionary to the Zulus near Port 
Natal in South Africa. General Henry 
Champion was very fond of this grandson, the 
only one left to perpetuate the surname, and 
being unwilling to have him go to Africa, 
offered to pay the expenses of five mission- 
aries to go in his place. But George Cham- 
pion was determined to go. He said : "If I 
stay at home, it will be said that only the poor 
go. You may send the five, and I will go 
myself, and that will make six missionaries." 
When General Champion found that he could 
not dissuade him from going, he generously 
gave $60,000 for the expenses of the party. 
Rev. Mr. Champion and wife embarked at 
Boston, December 2. 1834, and arrived at 
Capetown after a passage of sixty-seven days, 
being one of the first missionaries in South 
Africa. "Then," says his journal, "with eyes 
fixed upon the land of the benighted African, 
whose hazy mountains a kind God had allowed 
us at last to see, as we entered the harbor at 
Xatal we sang the hymn : 

'O'er the gloomy hills of darkness 
Look my Soul, be still and gaze.' 

It was Africa that we saw, and these moments 
on the deck of our good ship which had 
brought us hither were rich in blessing. We 
had arrived at our field of labor, and our 
hearts leaped for joy." The party at once 
began to study the Zulu language, and they 
were soon able to address the heathen in their 
own tongue. On July 22, 1835, the party set 
out for Bethelsdorg, where it was decided to 
leave the women while the men continued to 
the territory under the rule of Prince Dingaan, 
who received them kindly and allowed them 

to build a home and establish a school. Air. 
Champion labored in Africa for four years, 
devoting his mind, strength and means to the 
work. He was one of three who commenced 
to translate the Bible into Zulu. He had 
translated the Gospel of Matthew before the 
war between the Zulus and Boers broke up 
the mission. He then returned home on a 
visit, hoping to return after the war. He ac- 
cepted the pastorate of a new church at Dover, 
Massachusetts, and entered upon his duties 
there October 3, 1839. He preached with 
zeal and efficiency for two years. He was 
seized with consumption and sought to re- 
cover his health by a trip to the West Indies. 
His wife and sister accompanied him. He 
failed rapidly, however, and died soon after 
reaching St. Croix. 

He married, at Webster, Massachusetts, 
November 14, 1834, Susanna Larned, born 
March 30, 1808, died July 8, 1846, in Bos- 
ton, daughter of John and Susanna (Moore) 
Larned. Children: 1. George, born Decem- 
ber 17, 1835, at P° rt Elizabeth, South Africa, 
died November 21, 1841, in Troy, New York. 
2. Henry, born and died January 10, 1837, in 
Ginani ("I am with you," name given by Mrs. 
Champion), South Africa. 3. Henry, Novem- 
ber 8, 1838, mentioned below. 4. Susan, 
March 23, 1841, at Dover, died there October 
19, 1841. 

(VIII) Henry, son of Rev. George Cham- 
pion, was born November 8, 1838, in Port 
Elizabeth, South Africa, died January 30, 
1867, in Mankato, Minnesota. He prepared 
for college at Phillips Academy, Andover, 
Massachusetts, and was graduated from Yale 
College in the class of i860. After a year 
spent in the study of modern languages at 
New Haven he entered Yale Law School in 
September, 1861. He was admitted to the 
Connecticut bar. May 15, 1863, and estab- 
lished himself in practice at New Haven. In 
January, 1866, he was obliged by continued 
ill health to seek a change of climate, and 
he removed with his wife to Mankato, Minne- 
sota, where he died a year later. In July, 
1863, ne compiled and published a catalogue of 
the Greek and Roman coins belonging to Yale 
College, of which he had charge, and in the 
arrangement of which he spent much time. 
He subsequently gave to the college his own 
large and valuable collection of over two thou- 
sand coins and valuable coin books. Mr. 
Champion also prepared a history of Governor 
Robert Treat, which he read before the New 
Haven Colony Historical Society, and he also 
wrote and published several articles on Nu- 
mismatics. During his residence at Mankato 
he contributed a weekly article of local and 



general interest to the local newspaper. At 
the time of his death he was secretary of his 
college class. He was a member of the City 
Tract Society and assistant superintendent of 
the North Church Sunday school. He was 
active in religious work and of strong and 
upright character. 

He married, August 4, 1863, Sarah Eliza- 
beth Booth, born at New Haven, November 
21, 1832, daughter of Wilson and Sarah 
(Treat) Booth. Her father was born in 
Trumbull, Connecticut, March 18, 1800, son 
of Daniel and Betsey (Booth) Booth; her 
mother was born at Milford, Connecticut, May 
4, 1808; married May 28, 1828. Mrs. Cham- 
pion had one brother, William Treat Booth, 
born November 12, 1835, died July 8, 1903; 
married, June 3, 1862, Sarah A., daughter of 
Volney and Abigail (Goodsell) Pierce; she 
died May II, 1902; child, Alice Treat Booth, 
born July 13, 1863, died May 2, 1908. Mrs. 
Champion has in her possession the old Gov- 
ernor Treat chair, made of old English oak, 
beautifully carved, eventually to be transferred 
to the care of New Haven Colony Historical 
Society. Mr. and Mrs. Champion had one 
child, Henry, born and died October 30, 1865. 

Mrs. Champion is a descendant in her ma- 
ternal line of Governor Robert Treat, deputy 
governor and governor of Connecticut, 1676- 
1708. Mrs. Champion is much interested in 
colonial history, and among the papers she 
has written was one on "History of Our Flag," 
published with illustrations. As regent of 
Mary Clap Wooster Chapter, Dauughters of 
the American Revolution, for five years, she 
gave much time to the historical work of this 

This family is of English origin, 
VAILL and the name originally appeared 
in various forms. It was not till 
after the time of Benjamin (V) that the pres- 
ent form (Vaill) was definitely agreed upon. 
(I) Jeremiah Vaill, immigrant ancestor, 
was born, it is believed, in the west of Eng- 
land, about 1618. It is not known by what 
ship he came to this country, nor from what 
port he sailed. He was a resident of Salem, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1639, and on July 
24 of that year was a witness in court held 
there. In 1647 he became a proprietor; 
bought land in 1648; sold it in 1651, and re- 
moved out of the jurisdiction. He was a 
blacksmith by trade, and probably followed 
that trade during his residence in Salem. 
April 6, 1645, his wife Catharine, who had 
come with him from England, was admitted 
to the church there. In 165 1 he removed to 
Gardiner's Island, then called the Isle of 

Wight, and took charge, with Anthony Wat- 
ers, of the farm of Lieutenant Lion Gardiner, 
on this island. Previous to his removal he 
Lad been granted, June 17, 1651, by the town 
of Southampton, Long Island, a lot of land, 
provided that he settle there before the fol- 
lowing January and do all the blacksmith work 
of the town. This offer, however, he did not 
accept. In legal and eccelesiastical affairs 
Gardiner's Island was subject to the authority 
of the town of Easthampton, and its early 
records contain several brief statements re- 
specting Jeremiah Vaill. From 1653 to 1655 
he superintended the farm work on Gardiner's 
Island, and was occupied in reducing it to cul- 
tivation. February 12, 1655, the town of 
Easthampton granted him a lot of land oppo- 
site the present site of the Presbyterian 
church, and there he lived with his family 
for four years, 1655-59. February, 1657, the 
wife of his neighbor, Joshua Garlick, was 
tried as a witch, and Goodman Vaill and his 
wife appeared as witnesses in her behalf. Be- 
fore March 24, 1659, he sold his homestead 
to Robert Parsons and John Kirtland, and 
probably then removed to Southold, Long 
Island, where he had owned land for seven 
years. His settlement there became perma- 
nent, and he lived on the lot which had been 
occupied by Peter Paine. About the time of 
his removal his wife died, and he married 
(second) May 24, 1660, Mary, widow of 
Peter Paine. In 1662, when Southold, with 
fifteen other Long Island towns, was brought, 
by the new charter, under the jurisdiction of 
Connecticut, Jeremiah Vaill was one of thirty- 
two signers of a letter which was submitted 
to the authorities at Hartford, and appointed 
Colonel John Youngs as their deputy from 
Southold. At the same time he was one of 
twenty-six citizens of Southold who were 
made freemen of Connecticut. In 1676 he 
held about five hundred acres of land in 
Southold, besides some fifty acres in other 
early divisions. In 1675 he was one of the 
well-to-do citizens of that town, and was 
rated for taxation at £152, but eight years 
later he was rated at only £74. It seems that 
in the interval he had made provision from 
his estate for his three elder children before 
making his will, in which they are not named. 
His will was dated December 4, 1685, at 
Southold, and probated October 19, 1687. It 
is probable that he died in the latter year. To 
his son John he gave his dwelling house, cer- 
tain lands and a right of commonage, with all 
his household goods and movables. The will 
also mentions his wife Joyce, to whom he left 
her third during her life, and son Daniel. He 
married the third wife before 1685. Children, 



the first three born in Salem : Abigail, bap- 
tized at First Church, Salem, May 18, 1644; 
Sarah, at Salem, March 21, 1647; Jeremiah, 
at Salem, December 30, 1649 1 John, born 
1663, mentioned below; Daniel, about 1665; 
Mary, 1667. 

(II) John, son of Jeremiah Vaill, was born 
1663, in Southold, and married, 1684, Grace 
Braddick, or Burgess, who died May 18, 
1 75 1, aged eighty-five years. She was the 
daughter of John Braddick, a sea captain, 
who for a time lived on the western half of 
the lot originally owned by Lieutenant John 
Budd. John Yaill lived at Southold, in the 
house which he inherited from his father. 
The latter's widow Joyce was still an inmate 
of the house when the census of 1698 was 
taken. November 9, 1694, John Vaill was 
appointed guardian to Jeremiah Foster, of 
Southampton, cordwainer. December 17, 1694, 
he and his brother, Jeremiah Vaill, Jr., made 
a joint deed granting land for a windmill on 
Orient Point. His name appears in the roll 
of Southold militia for 1715, Company One. 
Children : Abigail ; Irene ; Tabitha ; John, 
born about 1690 ; Mary ; Obadiah ; Josiah, 
about 1603 : Daniel, about 1694; Samuel, about 
1696, James, died September 9, 1745, at Al- 
bany; Benjamin, born about 1706. 

(III) Daniel, son of John Vaill, was born 
about 1694, married, October 10, 1717, Han- 
nah, daughter of Jaspar Griffing. She was 
born 1694, at Lyme, Connecticut. Both died 
October 4, 1746, at Southold. Children : 
Daniel, born 1718; Lydia, 1719; Joseph, 1721, 
mentioned below ; Hannah, 1723, died October 
20, 1736; Elizabeth, died young, October 24, 
1736; Mary, died young; Ruth, born 1726; 
Micah, 1731, soldier in the revolution, private 
in Third Regiment, New York levies. Colonel 
James Clinton, died in prison ship ; Samuel, 
married Sarah Beebe ; Nathan, born 1729; 
Peter, 1733; Silas, 1733; Daniel, died young; 
Jasper, died young, October 7, 1746; Hannah; 
Elizabeth, married Silas Beach, of Goshen. 
Connecticut; Mary, died 1736. 

(IV) Captain Joseph, son of Daniel Vaill, 
was born at Southold, in 1721, died at Litch- 
field, August 10, 1800. He married, at Litch- 
field, Connecticut, February 2, 1744, Jerusha, 
born September 7. 1727, daughter of William 
Peck, of Hartford. She died at Litchfield, 
February 21, 1813. Children, born at Litch- 
field: Jerusha, October 17, 1746; Anna, April 
2, 1749; Joseph, July 14, 1751 ; Lois, March 
20, 1756; Lydia, April 15. 1759, died unmar- 
ried; Huldah, May 26, 1762; Ura, December 
6, 1765; Sarah, February 12 1769; Benjamin, 
mentioned below. Captain Joseph Vaill came 
to Litchfield in 1740, and others of the family 

followed. The original homestead was deeded 
to him and his wife by her father in 1744, and 
the deed is still in the possession of the fam- 
ily, the property not having been deeded since 
then, and the house he built being still in use. 
He lived there sixty years. The place de- 
scended to his son Benjamin, and grandson, 
Herman L. Vaill. The location is described 
in the old deed as Wolf-pit Hill. 

(V) Benjamin, son of Captain Joseph Vaill. 
was born at Litchfield, March 23, 1772, died 
August 17, 1852. He spent all his life on the 
old homestead. He married (first) Novem- 
ber 14, 1793, Sylvia, born January 6, 1773, 
daughter of Seth and Anne (Beach) Landon. 
She died April 13, 1813, and he married (sec- 
ond) November, 1814, Jemirr;a Comstock, who 
died October 7, 1848. Children of first wife, 
born at Litchfield: Rev. Herman Landon, 
mentioned below ; Anna, January 9, 1797 ; Al- 
mira, August 25, 1799, died August 21, 1800; 
Almira, August 10, 1801, married Drew Hall, 
of Newark, New Jersey ; Charles, December 
30, 1803, married Cornelia Ann Griswold ; 
Dianthe, March 7, 1807; Benjamin Lyman, 
February 21, 181 1, died, unmarried, in 1830. 

(VI) Rev. Herman Landon, son of Ben- 
jamin Yaill, was born at Litchfield, December 
7, 1794. He was drafted and served as a sol- 
dier in the war of 181 2. He was a teacher in 
the Goshen (Connecticut) Academy, and later 
a tutor in Morris Academy, where John 
Brown, who was hanged for insurrection at 
Harper's Ferry, was one of his pupils. He 
taught school in Georgia two years, and was 
also a teacher at Cornwall, Connecticut. He 
studied divinity at the Andover Theological 
Seminary and Yale Divinity School. He re- 
ceived the honorary degree of A.M. from Yale 
College in 1824. He was ordained as a Con- 
gregational minister, and had pastorates at 
East Haddam, Millington Society, at East 
Lyme, Torrington, Connecticut, Seneca Falls, 
New York, and Milton, Connecticut. During 
the last seventeen years of his life, because of 
ill health, he was retired, living on the old 
homestead at Litchfield. He received bounty 
land on account of service in the war of 1812. 
He married, January 22, 1823, Flora Gold, 
born September 25, 1799, daughter of Colonel 
Benjamin and Eleanor Johnson. She died De- 
cember 14, 1883. Children : Catharine Har- 
riet Gold, born at Cornwall, December 3, 1824, 
died August 27, 1828; Charles Benjamin, born 
at East Haddam, September 11, 1826; Eliza- 
beth Sedgwick, at East Haddam, January 4, 
1828, died unmarried, 1909; Abbie Everest, 
born at East Lyme, September 14, 1829, died 
April 2, 1897, unmarried ; George Lyman, born 
at East Lyme, January 19, 183 1, died Septem- 



her 23, 1833 ; Theodore Frelinghuysen, men- 
tioned below ; Sarah Hopkins, born at East 
Lyme, October 21, 1834, died September 30, 
1862 ; Clarissa Champlin, born at East Lyme, 
January 28, 1836, married Rev. Charles E. 
Robinson ; Joseph Herman, born at Torring- 
ton, October 15, 1837, married Cornelia 
Smith ; Julia Maria, born at Torrington, Feb- 
ruary 28, 1839, unmarried ; Mary Woolsey, 
born at Seneca Falls, July 15, 1842, married. 
October 12, 1869, E. Hall Barton, she died 
June 5, 187 1. 

(VII) Theodore Frelinghuysen, son of Rev. 
Herman L. Vaill, was born at East Lyme, 
March 27, 1832, died at Winsted, February 8, 
1875. He had a common school education, 
and attended Union College for two years. He 
was for some years a teacher in the public 
schools. He enlisted in 1862 in the Nine- 
teenth Connecticut Regiment of Volunteers in 
the civil war, and became adjutant of the 
Second Connecticut Heavy Artillery, of which 
he published a history in 1868. He was in 
the service three years and took part in the 
battle of Cold Harbor, the siege of Peters- 
burg, the campaign in the Shenandoah Val- 
ley, and was at Appomattox. He settled in 
Winsted, Connecticut, and for ten years was 
editor of the Winsted Herald. He published, 
about 1870 a pamphlet containing a travesty 
on the First and Fourth Books of Virgil's 
Aeneid, entitled "The Aeneid in Modern 
America." He was a Congregationalist, and 
a member of the local post, Grand Army of 
the Republic. He married, June II, 1868, 
Alice Mercy, daughter of George and Electa 
(Camp) Dudley. Children: Mary Dudley, 
born January 28, 1869, married, June 20, 
1895, Charles Hooker Talcott, of Hartford, 
son of Seth Talcott ; George Dudley, died in 
infancy ; Dudley Landon, mentioned below. 

(VIII) Dudley Landon, son of Theodore 
Frelinghuysen Vaill, was born at Winsted, 
August 30, 1873. He attended the public 
schools, and Phillips Academy, of Andover. 
Massachusetts, graduating in 1892. He en- 
tered Yale College, from which he was grad- 
uated with the degree of A.B. in the class 
of 1896. He has since then been connected 
with the George Dudley & Son Company, of 
Winsted, leather manufacturers, and is now 
president and treasurer of the company. He 
is also a director of the Hurlbut National 
Bank and trustee of the Winsted Savings 
Bank. He is vice-president of the Winchester 
Historical Society, and member of the Sons of 
Veterans. He married, June 28, 1900, Leila 
S., daughter of Charles B. and Abigail 
(Pierce) Holmes, of Winsted. Children: 
Mary, born October 21, 1902; Charles B. H., 

July 1, 1904; Theodore, September 19, 1905; 
Dudley Landon, Jr., January 22, 1907 ; 
Holmes, August 20, 1909, died in infancy. 

By records in Holland 
VANALSTYNE the family is found to 

be of ancient origin, 
and is traced as far back as the crowning of 
"Otho," A.D. 936. The family first appears 
by the name Ralsko, then by the name War- 
temburg, which it bore for several centuries. 
Jean Ralsko built a chateau in Flanders, where 
he died in 1236, and named it the Chateau de 
Waldstein, in order to distinguish it from 
his brother, whose name was Wartemburg. 
In Spain the name was Balstein, Vallenstein 
in France. Halsteyn in Flanders, and Van Al- 
stein in Holland. The name changed from 
Waldstein to Wallenstein, Walstein, Valstein, 
and then to Van Alstein, which has ever since 
been used. It has been spelled in the early 
records Van Aelsteyn, Van Aalsteyn, Van Al- 
styn. Van Alstyne, Van Alstine, and Van Al- 
stein. At present it is spelled only Van Al- 
stine. Van Alstyne and Alstyn. 

(I) Jan Martense Van Alstyne, immigrant 
ancestor, was in New Amsterdam (New 
York) as early as 1646, but how long he re- 
mained here is not known. In the Dutch 
manuscripts of New York, vol. II, p. 154, De- 
cember 11, 1646, there is a record of a bill of 
sale : "Thomas Hall and Jan Peterson, to 
Hendrick Janson and Jan Martense, of a 
yacht." In 1657 he owned a lot in Albany 
lying on the east of Broadway, north of Col- 
umbia street. He owned this as late as 1693, 
and also bought a large tract of land ''behind" 
Kinderhook. Fie had a grant of two pieces of 
land in Ulster county. He lived there until 
his death, about 1698. He married Dirckje 
Harmense. In 1695 he deeded his home farm 
to his son Abraham, who agreed to pay the 
other heirs certain sums of money, and this 
land is still owned by his descendants. His 
sons were Marten, Abraham, Lambert Janse, 
mentioned below, Isaac, and probably others. 

(II) Lambert Janse, son of Jan Martense 
and Dirckje (Harmense) Van Alstyne, came 
to this country in 1665. He is mentioned 
twenty-two years later, with many others who 
took the oath of allegiance in Kings county, 
New York. He married, about 1682, Jan- 
net je, daughter of Thomas Janse and Marritje 
Abrahamse (Vosburgh) Mingael, who was his 
first cousin, once removed, since her father 
and her husband were first cousins. She was 
evidently much younger than he was, as it 
is recorded that on February 2, 17 13, she, 
his widow, married Jochem Lambertse Van 
Valkenburgh, by whom she had five sons. 



Lambert Janse Van Alstyne came into posses- 
sion, about 1684, of some land on the east 
side of Kinderhook creek, which adjoined his 
father's land, by purchase of the patent 
(lease) from the heirs of Peter Van Alen, and 
this land he kept until his death, October 16, 
1703. It is not known just when he settled 
at Kinderhook, but all of his children except 
the first were baptized there, so he probably 
settled there about 1684. Children: Cathar- 
ine Van Alstyne, born about 1683, married 
Bartholomeus Van Valkenburgh ; Marritje, 
baptized December 27, 1685 ; Thomas, bap- 
tized August 22, 1688, mentioned below; Jo- 
hannes, baptized August 11, 1691 ; Dirckje V., 
baptized May 26, 1695, married Peter Vos- 
burgh; Antje, baptized January 16, 1698, died 
young; Annetje, baptized July 28, 1700; 
Pieter, baptized August 9, 1702. 

(III) Thomas, son of Lambert Janse Van 
Alstyne, was baptized August 22, 1688, died 
August, 1765. He married, December 12, 
1718, Maria, baptized June 22, 1695, daugh- 
ter of William and Marritje (Van Patten) 
Van Alen. He came into possession of his 
father's homestead in 1703, when his father 
died, and where he was very likely born. He 
and his wife were members of the Dutch 
church at Muitzeskill, where the records of 
the baptism of most of their children are, 
although Maria was baptized at Albany. In 
the land records at Hudson there is a record 
that in 1752 he bought land in the district of 
Claverack, lying between Claverack and Kin- 
derhook creeks. This land he gave to his son 
William. His will was dated November 15, 
1760, and is in the Dutch language. He left 
his property to his five children, after pro- 
viding for his wife during her life. He also 
provided that his youngest daughter, Maria, 
live with his son Pieter until she married. 
He chose his wife, his son William, and 
friend, Casparis Conyn, Jr., as his executors. 
Children and dates of baptism: Jannetje, 
March 6, 1720, died young ; William, Decem- 
ber 10, 1721, mentioned below; Lambert, Oc- 
tober 4, 1724; Maria, September 10, 1727, 
died young; Catharine, January 17, 1731 ; 
Maria, November 18, 1733; Pieter, May 16, 

(IV) William, son of Thomas Van Alstyne, 
was baptized in Muitzeskill, December 10, 
172 1, died May 22, 1802. He married (first) 
in 1744, Christina, baptized June 16, I723, 
daughter of Stephanus and Mary (Muller) 
Van Alen. He married (second) 1762, Cath- 
arine, baptized October 19, 1731, daughter of 
Lawrence and granddaughter of Captain 
Knickerbocker and Catharine (Van Home) 
Knickerbocker. Catharine was noted for her 

kindness to the ill and the poor. The first 
mention of him, after his baptism, is in 1752, 
when he and his wife were members of the 
Dutch church at Kinderhook, and later in the 
same year are recorded as members in the 
church at Muitzeskill. About this time he 
doubtless settled on the farm which his father 
had secured by. purchase of the patent from 
John Van Rensselaer, then the lord of the 
manor of Rensselaerwyck, and had left him 
in his will. While living here he married his 
second wife, whose father, Lawrence Knicker- 
bocker, was a Dutchess county farmer, who 
probably belonged to the Dutch church at 
Germantown, in Columbia county, where Cath- 
arine was baptized. The immigrant ancestor 
of the Knickerbocker family was Harman 
Jans Knickerbocker, son of Johannes Van 
Bergen Knickerbocker, a captain in the navy 
of the Netherlands, and Juliana, daughter of 
Rutgert Van Mannix, lord of Botsallaer, born 
in Friesland, in 1648. Captain Knickerbocker 
entered the Dutch navy at a very early age, 
and served in that period of history when 
Holland was so remarkable for its naval vic- 
tories. In the battle of Soleby he was severely 
wounded, where ten Dutch ships fought 
against the combined English and French 
fleets, off the coast of England. He resigned 
his commission when he recovered, and came 
to America, where he married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Myndert Van der Bogart, the 
well-known surgeon of the Dutch ship "En- 
draught." He was afterward commissary at 
Fort Orange. Van der Bogart was an eccen- 
tric character with a very high temper. Once, 
when in a boat with Director General Stuyve- 
sant, a dispute arose which angered him so 
that he tried to throw Stuyvesant overboard, 
but was prevented by the other members of 
the party. He died a violent death, brought 
about by his ungovernable temper. 

William Van Alstyne late in life left his old 
home and settled on a farm in Amenia, where 
he soon died, and here he was buried. May 
1, 1772, he leased a house and shop and fulling 
mill with mill dam and two acres of land to 
Thomas Avery for seven years. He lived in 
Claverack at the time and was a yeoman. In 
August, 1 79 1, he bought a farm in Hillsdale 
of John Collier. There is an old deed of gift, 
October 19, 1793, of a negro boy, Tom, to his 
son Lawrence. At this time he lived in Hud- 
son. On July 12, 1799, he sold to his son 
Lawrence, of Amenia, a farm which he had 
bought of Nicholas and Philip Hoffman. He 
was a captain in Colonel Jeremiah Hoge- 
boom's regiment during the revolutionary 
war. His commission was dated April 4, 
1770, and signed by Cadwallader Colden, gov- 



ernor of the province of New York. He was 
buried in a little burying ground on the farm 
in Amenia, where his wife Catharine was also 
buried. His gravestone says : "Sacred to the 
memory of William Van Alstyne, who de- 
parted this life May 22, 1802, in the 81st 
year of his age." Children by first wife and 
dates of baptism: Maria, March 23, 1745; 
Hilletje, January 25, 1746, died young; Jan- 
netje, February 29, 1749; Hillitje, January 5, 
1753; Albertina, 1754. By second wife: 
Thomas, born February 18. 1765; Lawrence," 
mentioned below. 

(V) Lawrence, son of William Van Al- 
styne, was born in Hudson, June 22, 1767, 
died May 7, 1806. He married, about 1788. 
Mary Mordack, born August 21, 1768, died 
December 13, 1836. He was born in the 
Claverack township, now Hudson, where his 
children were born. May 7, 1795, he lived in 
Hudson, but soon after moved to Dutchess 
county, New York, to the town of Amenia. 
On July 5, 1799, he bought six acres of land 
in Amenia from the executors of Piatt Smith. 
This land was called lot three in the great lot 
No. 36 in the general division of the "Great 
Nine Partners Patent." Seven days later his 
father sold him the farm which he, in 1794, 
had bought of Nicholas and Philip Hoffman. 
He signed his name William Van Aelstyne at 
this time. He is buried on a lot on this farm, 
as well as his wife Mary. His will, dated five 
days before his death, gives to his wife the 
use of their farm, with all the stock, tools 
and furniture, until his son Samuel should 
become of age, and he also provides for her 
support for the remainder of her life. His 
sons, William and Samuel, were left the home- 
stead to share between them, and his mother 
was to be supported by the estate as long as 
she lived. Children : William, born Decem- 
ber 6, 1789; Samuel, November 6, 1791, men- 
tioned below; Catharine, June 12, 1794. 

(VI) Samuel, son of Lawrence Van Al- 
styne, was born in Hudson, November 6, 1791, 
died February 15, 1869. He married, about 
1818, Penelope, born April 16, 1796, died 
March 1. 1869, daughter of John and Mary 
(Fitzgerald) Wyatt, of Stanford, Dutchess 
county, New York. He was five years old 
when his parents moved from Hudson to 
Amenia, now North East. His father died 
when he was fifteen years old, and he in- 
herited his farm when he became of age. In 
1812, when he was twenty-one, he enlisted as 
a private in the war of 18 12, and was sta- 
tioned on Long Island, doing garrison duty, 
so he never saw active service in the field. 
He married after the war and settled in 
Chatham Four Corners, Columbia county, 

New York, on a farm where his four eldeMt 
children were born. In attempting to help a 
friend out of financial troubles, he signed his 
name to a paper which ruined him. Every- 
thing but his wife and children was taken 
from him, and he returned to Dutchess county, 
a victim of misplaced confidence, broken in 
health, and started again to support his fam- 
ily and give his children an education. His 
wife Penelope was a strict Quaker, also an 
expert spinner and weaver, and together they 
managed to support the family. He was never 
in very good health, died at Sharon, Connec- 
ticut, and was buried at the "City," now 
Smithfield, Dutchess county. After her hus- 
band's death, Penelope Van Alstyne, although 
in her usual health, began to distribute her 
property as if she intended to leave for a long 
journey, and when she had attended to every- 
thing, went to bed and died, two weeks after 
her husband. No physical trouble could be 
found, but she had evidently made up her 
mind that her work was done and she wished 
to be with ber husband. Children : William, 
born July 22, 1821, married Laura Rowe ; 
Mary, March 27, 1823, married Isaac B. 
Rogers ; Catharine, March 24, 1825, died Sep- 
tember 26, 1848: John, February 19, 1828, 
died July 13, 1863, ' n the battle at Gettys- 
burgh, and was buried in the third row from 
tbe monument erected by the government in 
memory of those who fell in the battle ; Jane 
M., June 7, 1832, married Herman C. Row- 
ley : Sarah Elizabeth, April 23, 1836, married 
John C. Loucks ; Lawrence, mentioned below. 
(VII) Lawrence (2), son of Samuel Van 
Alstyne, was born in Amenia, Dutchess county, 
New York, August 2, 1839. He learned the 
trade of iron moulding with his brother Wil- 
liam. He enlisted, in 1862, at Millerton, New 
York, in Company B, One Hundred and Twen- 
ty-eighth New York Regiment Volunteers. 
This regiment was raised in Dutchess and Col- 
umbia counties, and since the war it has been 
discovered that the average age of men and 
officers was less than that of any other New 
York regiment. After a few months in camp 
in Baltimore, Maryland, the regiment was sent 
south and became part of the Army of the 
Gulf, under General Nathaniel P. Banks. 
While in camp at Camp Parapet, near New 
Orleans, Mr. Van Alstyne suffered from an 
almost fatal illness caused by the exposure of 
camp life. He recovered in time to go with 
the regiment to Port Hudson, where in its 
first battle it lost in killed and "wounded a 
third of its number. The regiment took part 
in all the general engagements in the Gulf 
Department, as well as in the running fight 
of many days' duration, better known as the 



Red River retreat. He was corporal, ser- 
geant and lieutenant successively. After the 
conclusion of hostilities in 1865, Mr. Van Al- 
styne took up his residence in Sharon, Con- 
necticut, where he followed carpentering and 
building, that being his principal business. 
For a period of five years he served in the 
capacity of superintendent of the Sharon Val- 
ley Malleable and Gray Iron Company. For 
twenty years he was engaged chiefly in genea- 
logical work, publishing, in 1897, "Descend- 
ants of Lambert Janse Van Alstyne." He is 
a Republican in politics, his first vote being 
cast for Abraham Lincoln, in i860. He has 
been active in the affairs of his party, serving 
one term as selectman of the town, and was 
a representative to the general assembly from 
Sharon in 1895, the duties of which he per- 
formed in a highly satisfactory and creditable 
manner. He is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church and is serving as treasurer 
of its board of trustees. He holds membership 
in the Holland Society of New York, is a life 
member of the Connecticut Historical Society 
and of the New York Historical Society, and 
member of J. M. Gregory Post, No. 59, Grand 
Army of the Republic, of which he has been 
adjutant many years, and of Hamilton Lodge, 
No. 54, Free and Accepted Masons. Law- 
rence Van Alstyne is the only one of the 
descendants of his grandfather who bears the 
name of Van Alstyne, and at his death the 
name in that line will be extinct. Mr. Van 
Alstyne married, October 4, 1865, Mary Eliza- 
beth, born October 1, 1843, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Elizabeth (Mills) Eggleston. Chil- 
dren : William, born June 6, 1867, died June 
22, 1867; Jane, born July 6, 1871, died Feb- 
ruary 26, 1888; Elizabeth, born January 1, 
1877, married George S. Kirby, of Sharon, 
proprietor of the Sharon Inn. 

The family of Hinsdale had 
HINSDALE its origin in the district of 

Loos, in the county of Liege, 
now in Belgium, where it was settled as early 
as the end of the twelfth century. While the 
family was doubtless originally French, the 
name is as much Dutch as French in its deri- 
vation. Dal or Dale is the French for valley, 
and corresponds with the English Dale and 
the Dutch Dael. The surname is therefore a 
place name. Various spellings are found : 
Hinisdal, Hinisdael, Henisdael, Hinesdale, 
Henesdale, Hinisdale, Hinnisdale, Hynsdale, 
Hinsdael and Hinnisdal. The last spelling is 
most common in France. In England Hens- 
dell, Endesdale and Ensdale are used, while 
the American immigrants used Hinsdell, Hens- 
dell, Hinsdall, etc. The name is not found in 

England earlier than the sixteenth century, 
and there is good reason for believing the 
family came from France to England at the 
time of the Huguenot persecutions. The 
founder of the French family was Robertus de 
Hinnisdal, and the name occurs frequently in 
the subsequent generations of that family. It 
is quite possible that the immigrant Robert 
was of this stock. As the pedigree given in 
France includes only the eldest son, it is im- 
possible to trace the connection. The only 
coat-of-arms granted to the family is: De 
sable, au chef D'argent, charge de trois merles 
de sable. Crest : Couronne de Comte, Sup- 
ports, Deux Levriers. Motto : Moderata 

(I) Deacon Robert Hinsdale, immigrant an- 
cestor, came to Dedham, Massachusetts, prob- 
ably from Dedham, county Essex, England, 
and was a proprietor of that town in 1637. 
He was selectman the same year and after- 
ward, and his home was in the eastern part 
of the town. He received a grant of land in 
1638. He was one of the eight founders of 
the Dedham church, November 8, 1638. He 
was admitted a freeman March 13, 1639. He 
had other grants of land, and was a leading 
citizen of the town, serving on important com- 
mittees. He was surveyor of highways in 
1 64 1. On January 1, 1645, ne ' vvith others, 
signed a petition for a free school at Dedham, 
agreeing to raise twenty pounds a year for 
the support of the school. This is supposed 
to have been the first school in the country 
supported in this way. In 1645 he was chosen 
a member of the Ancient and Honorable Ar- 
tillery Company, of Massachusetts. On No- 
vember 14, 1649, h e was on a committee to 
organize a new town, which afterward was 
named Medfield, incorporated 1651. He was 
one of the first selectmen and served six years. 
He was one of the first thirteen who took up 
house lots there, and his home was on what 
is now North street. The original well is 
still in use. He built his house in 1652. In 
1659 he bought a bell for the use of the town. 
Soon after this the town granted him forty- 
six acres near what is now Collin's mill. He 
built a mill there, which was burned by the 
Indians in 1676. He was active in organiz- 
ing the first Medfield church. He removed 
with his family, about 1667, to the Connecti- 
cut valley, and settled first at Hadley, where, 
in 1672, he was released from military duty 
"on account of age and a sore leg." He was 
an original proprietor in the eight thousand 
grant made by Dedham people at Deerfield, 
and drew lot 31, the present site of the Wil- 
lard House. He and his four sons were liv- 
ing in Deerfield, November 13, 1673, and he 



was deacon of the first church and a foremost 
citizen. He was one of the five men of the 
thirty-two original proprietors who settled in 
Deerfield. He and his three sons, Samuel, 
Rarn abas and John, were slain in the fight at 
Bloody Brook, September 18, 1675. The in- 
ventory of his estate was taken October 22, 
[676. He married (first) probably in Eng- 
land, Ann, daughter of Peter Woodward, of 
Dedham. She was a sensitive and timid 
woman, and fainted away on making her 
profession of faith before the church at Ded- 
ham, June 2, 1639. She was allowed to go 
through the ordeal in private. She died June 
4, 1666, and he married (second) about 1668, 
Elizabeth, widow of John Hawks, of Hadley. 
The marriage was not happy and they soon 
separated. They were before the court for 
this, March 30, 1674, and she refused to an- 
swer the charge and appears to have got off 
clear ; but he said "he did it as being her head 
and having the rule of her in the Pointe and 
that he did it for her correction of her dis- 
order towards him." The court held that he 
had "broken the Perfect rule of divine law 
* ::: * and the law of the Colony in the in- 
tent if not in the letter in the first living 
asunder," and ordered him "whipped ten 
stripes on the naked body," and imposed a fine 
for which his sons became responsible, and 
which the court refused to remit after his 
tragic death. On June 28, 1683, his widow 
Elizabeth married Thomas Dibble, of Wind- 
sor, Connecticut. She died September 25, 
1689. Children, all by first wife: Elizabeth, 
married James Rising ; Barnabas, born No- 
vember 13, 1639, mentioned below; Samuel, 
about 1641-42; Gamaliel, March 5, 1642-43; 
Mary, February 14, 1644; Experience, Jan- 
uary 23, 1646; John, January 2.J, 1647-48: 
Ephraim, September 26, 1650. 

(II) Barnabas, son of Deacon Robert Hins- 
dale, was born November 13, 1639, probably 
at Dedham, baptized November 17, 1639. He 
went with his father to Hadley and lived for 
several years at Hatfield. He removed to 
Deerfield in 1674, when he sold his Hadley 
homestead, and lived on lot No. 9 in Deerfield, 
also owning lot No. 15. On May 3, 1667, ne 
was one of the petitioners for a church at 
Hatfield. He was killed at Bloody Brook. 
He married, October 15, 1666, Sarah (White) 
Taylor, of Hatfield. She married (third) 
February 3, 1679, Walter Hickson, and died 
August 10, 1702. Children of Barnabas Hins- 
dale : Barnabas, born February 20, 1668, men- 
tioned below ; Sarah, married Deacon Samuel 
Hall; Elizabeth, born October 29, 1671, died 
March, 1672; Isaac, born September 15, 1673; 
Mary (posthumous), March 27, 1676. 

(III) Barnabas (2), son of Barnabas (1) 
Hinsdale, was born February 20, 1668, at 
Hatfield. He was admitted an inhabitant of 
Hartford in 1693, and died there of a "great 
sickness," January 25, 1725. He was an or- 
iginal proprietor of lands at Harwinton, in 
western Connecticut. His grave is in the 
Centre Cemetery, back of the First Church, 
Hartford, and a stone marks the spot. He 
married, November 9, 1693, Martha, daughter 
of Joseph Smith, of Hartford. Children : 
Barnabas, born August 28, 1694; Martha, 
February 17, 1696 ; Jacob, July 4, 1698 ; Sarah, 
July 22, 1700; Elizabeth, January 9, 1702; 
Mary, July 13, 1704: Captain John, August 
13, 1706, mentioned below ; Daniel, May 15, 
1708; Amos, August 24, 1710. 

(IV) Captain John, son of Barnabas (2) 
Hinsdale, was born August 13, 1706, bap- 
tized at South Church, Hartford, August 18, 
1706. He married, November 8, 1733, Eliza- 
beth born March 18, 171 1, died July 5, 1784, 
daughter of Nathaniel Cole, Jr., of Hartford. 
He settled in Berlin, Connecticut, and owned 
a farm there. He and his wife were received 
into Kensington Church soon after their mar- 
riage. In May, 1749, he was appointed en- 
sign of the Fifteenth Company or train band 
in the Sixth Regiment; in 1752 he was made 
lieutenant ; and in May, 1759, captain. In 
1766 he was one of the standing committees 
of the church, and in 1775 a constituent mem- 
ber. He was moderator of the second church 
meeting in their new meeting house. About 
1780 he went to New Britain, Connecticut, and 
united with the First Church. In 1781 he 
bought of John Richards his homestead for 
£900, and John Richards and his son signed 
the deed March 3, 1781, for seventy acres, 
with house, formerly the Skinner house, and 
other buildings. Captain John Hinsdale was a 
blacksmith, and had his shop near his house, 
opposite the Methodist church, in Berlin 
street, New Britain. In 1788 he sold to Dr. 
Smalley ten acres and sixty-two rods of land. 
His will is dated July 26, 1792. and he died 
December 2, 1792, aged eighty-six. His son- 
in-law was executor of his will. He was a 
man of rare military and literary ability. 
Children: John, born August 19, 1734, died 
October 13, 1743; Elizabeth, June 29, 1736; 
Theodore, November 25, 1738, mentioned be- 
low; Lucy, July 16, 1741 ; Elijah., April 1, 
1744; Lydia, August 11. 1747; John, August 
21, 1749. 

(V) Rev. Theodore, son of Captain John 
Hinsdale, was born at Berlin, November 25, 
1738. He graduated from Yale College in 
1762, and was ordained a minister at North 
Windsor, Connecticut, April 30, 1766, dis- 



missed March 4, 1795. He married, July 14, 
1768, Anna Bissell, born March 11, 1748, died 
.at Hinsdale, Massachusetts, March 14, 1817. 
He removed there in April, 1795, and or- 
ganized a church December 17, 1795, with 
twenty-three members. The town was named 
Hinsdale, after him, and was incorporated 
June 21, 1804. He was fifty-eight years old 
when he entered upon his work here. He 
served the church at North Windsor for 
twenty-eight years, and was a man of marked 
ability and strong will. He died at Hinsdale, 
December 29, 18 18, aged eighty years. There 
is a handsome monument to his memory near 
the gate of the cemetery at Hinsdale upon 
tbe left, and the inscription is as follows: "A 
lover of hospitality, a lover of good men, 
sober, just, holy, temperate, holding fast the 
faithful word as he hath been taught, that he 
may be able by sound doctrine both to exhort 
and to convince the gainsayers." He taught 
for several years after his graduation from 
Yale College, and was twenty-nine years old 
when ordained a minister. For several years 
he was a justice of the peace. Children: 
.Anne or Nancy, born at Windsor, April 16, 
1769; Lucy, at Windsor, December 31, 1770; 
Theodore, at Windsor, November 12, 1772 ; 
Josiah Bissell, at Windsor, November 15, 
1774, mentioned below; James, September 28, 
1776 John, November 10, 1778; Levi, No- 
vember 29, 1780; Altamira or Altemira, No- 
vember 8, 1782 ; Daniel, March 22, 1785 ; Ho- 
ratio, November 3, 1787; William, at Wind- 
sor, March 5, 1790. 

(VI) Josiah Bissell, son of Rev. Theodore 
Hinsdale, was born at Windsor, November 
15, 1774, baptized November 20, 1774. He 
died at Rochester, New York, February 6, 
1866. He married Temperance, born May 3, 
1772, died August 13, 1813, daughter of Rev. 
Timothy and Temperance (Clap) Pitkin. He 
came to Winsted in 1800, where he carried on 
a large and for many years a prosperous busi- 
ness selling goods, buying and slaughtering 
cattle for the West India trade, also making 
potash and buying cheese for the New York 
market. In 1826 he became involved in the 
failure of his brothers, John and Daniel, of 
Middletown, on whose paper he was an en- 
dorser for a large amount, and his business 
was ruined and his property swept away as a 
result. In 1842 he moved to Rochester, New 
York, where his two daughters lived, and car- 
ried on a commission business for several 
years. At middle age he made a profession 
of religion, and led a faithful, consistent 
Christian life. Children : Theodore, born De- 
cember 2"], 1800, mentioned below ; Ann, Oc- 
tober 16, 1802 ; Mary Pitkin, January 10, 

1805; Timothy Pitkin, May 5, 1809; Charles, 
May 23, 1812. 

(VII) Theodore (2), son of Josiah Bis- 
sell Hinsdale, was born at Colebrook, Decem- 
ber 2j, 1800, died November 27, 1841. He 
married, April 26, 1826, Jerusha, daughter of 
Solomon and Sarah (McEwen) Rockwell. 
She married (second) December 10, 1843, 
John Boyd, widower, of West Winsted. He 
was born at Winsted, March 17, 1799, son of 
James and Mary (Monro) Boyd, and he died 
December 1, 1881, at Winsted. He compiled 
the annals of Winchester, a work of six hun- 
dred and forty pages. Theodore Hinsdale 
graduated from Yale College in 182 1, and 
read law for a short time with Seth P. Staples, 
Esq., of New Haven, afterward studied at 
Andover for one or two years. In 1827 he 
went into the manufacturing business with his 
father-in-law, in the firm name of Rockwell & 
Hinsdale. After the death of Mr. Rockwell, 
in 1837, he was associated in the same busi- 
ness (scythe making) with Elliot Beardsley, 
under the firm name of Hinsdale & Beardsley, 
until his death. He had charge of the school 
funds of the town. He was a prominent and 
energetic citizen and business man. He was 
a commanding person, with a fascinating per- 
sonality and a native oratory which made him 
widely known and admired. He was con- 
stantly sought as a presiding officer or speaker 
at large public gatherings, and was noted for 
his zeal in advocating a cause. Mr. Hinsdale's 
profound interest in the industrial develop- 
ment of this country was far reaching in its 
effect, and as a member of the Connecticut 
legislature in 1837 he framed and secured the 
passage of the "Connecticut Joint Stock Act." 
In an address delivered by the late Edward 
Everett Hale, D.D., before the Phi Beta Kap- 
pa Society of Brown University, and repeated 
before the Adelphi Union of Williams Col- 
lege, Dr. Hale refers to the above-mentioned 
act as follows : 

"The whole history of government in America 
from 1620 to this time is one illustration of the 
people's success in doing what no statesman or 
theorist, though he were John Locke or John Ad- 
ams, could do single-handed. You start with the 
charter of a trading company. You come out at 
the end of a hundred and thirty years with organ- 
ized, constitutional government. In that one hun- 
dred and thirty years you have not one Numa, or 
Solon, or Lycurgus, but you have the people. One 
experiment is tried, and fails. Another experiment 
is tried and succeeds. Failure produces nothing, 
but success produces success. And the end comes, 
better than the beginning, because you relied on this 
simple law. 

"I had better take one simple instance. Here is 
our modern system of associated work, organized 
in our several states under what we call the gen- 
eral corporation acts, what is called in England the 



limited liability act. Now that the thing is in easy 
running order every one says that it is a perfectly 
simple contrivance. It gives you almost all the 
advantages claimed for socialism, and you pay none 
of the penalties. Three men, six, ten or a hundred 
men, who want to work together, can combine as 
much as they want to, and their corporation moves 
as one person, with law and freedom. Who in- 
vented this system? Did Robert Owen? or Charles 
Fourier? or the Count St. Simon? Not they. They 
did not know enough. They tried and they failed. 
Look in the books for its history. You will have 
better success than I have had if you find it there. 
For we gentlemen scholars who write the books are 
a little apt to pass such trifles by. It came to life; 
it uttered its first cry in the state of Connecticut in 
1837. If it lived — well; if it died — no matter. It 
chose to live. It lived and grew strong. It 
came to stay. 'I attribute to it,' said one of the 
first authorities in that state, 'much of our manu- 
facturing success. It has always been a useful law.' 
It lived. It did not die. So it was copied here. 
It was copied there.. It is now in force, in some 
form or other, in almost every state of the Union. 
It is in force, in principle, in the English limited 
liability law of 1855, which is confessedly taken 
from it. Now, what scholar or statesman invented 
it? Did you find it in Adam Smith? Did you 
learn it from Say or from William Cobbett? 'I 
never heard who got it up,' this was the answer 
made to me by the same accomplished writer in 
Connecticut, when I asked him, 'or anything about 
its origin.' I had the same answer from one of 
the veteran statesmen of that day, who was in pub- 
lic life the year in which it was passed and lives 
to an honored old age. This is what happened : A 
pure democracy like the state of Connecticut needed 
such an arrangement. This pure democracy was 
intelligent enough to know what it needed, and it 
had the power in its hands to fill the need. Your 
grand questions about the history and genesis of 
such a statute are answered as Topsy answered 
Miss Ophelia's theological question: 'I 'specks it 

Since the delivery of this address in Provi- 
dence a very interesting letter has come from 
Mr. Abijah Catlin, a member of the Con- 
necticut legislature of 1837, and gives the 
full detail of the origin of the act : 

"Theodore Hinsdale, a representative from the 
town of Winchester, introduced and advocated the 
bill, and. so far as I know, was the author thereof. 
Mr. Hinsdale was a gaduate of Yale, as I believe, 
and was in the business of manufacturing scythes in 
Winsted, Connecticut, with his father-in-law, Solo- 
mon Rockwell. 

"The manufactory still exists, under the name of 
the Beardsley Scythe Company. Mr. Hinsdale was 
a gentleman of fine appearance, of pleasing man- 
ners and of fluent speech. He was an ardent advo- 
cate of manufactures and of their encouragement. 
In advocating the bill he had no personal interest, as 
he and his father-in-law were able to carry on their 
manufactory without the aid of additional capital. 

"In 1837 the dominant political party was strongly 
opposed to the chartering of corporations unless a 
provision was made for the liability of individual 
stockholders for the debts of the corporation. The 
joint stock law of 1837 was intended to enable men 
of small means to combine together for the effi- 
cient execution of their project, and has been, as 
you know, acted upon very extensively in this 

This letter shows that to Mr. Theodore 
Hinsdale the thanks of half the working peo- 
ple of the world are due for an act of great 
simplicity, which sooner or later is a help 
to so many of them. 

The following paragraph in reference to 
the Connecticut Joint Stock Act is from John- 
ston's "American Commonwealths," edited by 
the late Horace E. Scudder : 

"Apart from the peculiarly state features of the 
industrial development, at least one feature of it has 
had a national and international influence, as Mr. 
E. E. Hale has pointed out. The Connecticut Joint 
Stock Act of 1837, framed by Mr. Theodore Hins- 
dale, a manufacturer of the commonwealth, intro- 
duced the corporation in the form under which we 
now generally know it. Its principle was copied by 
almost every state of the Union, and by the Eng- 
lish limited liability act of 1855, and the effects of 
its simple principle upon the industrial development 
of the whole modern world are quite beyond cal- 
culation. All that can be done here is to notice the 
wide influence of a single Connecticut manufactur- 
er's idea, and to call attention to this as another 
instance of the close connection of democracy with 
modern industrial development." 

In the midst of Mr. Hinsdale's career of 
usefulness he was struck down by typhoid 
fever, and died November 27, 1841, aged 
forty. Children: Sarah McEwen, born April 
2, 1827, died August 17, 1833 ; Mary Pitkin, 
December 11, 1828, mentioned below; Solo- 
mon Rockwell, August 25, 1835, died No- 
vember, 1908 ; he was in the treasury depart- 
ment, Washington, D. C, and married Julia 
Merritt Jackson, and had one son, Theodore 
Rockwell Hinsdale, of Seattle. 

(VIII) Mary Pitkin,- daughter of Theodore 
(2) Hinsdale, was born December 11, 1828, 
in Winsted, Connecticut. She has always 
lived in the house where she was born, the 
old Rockwell homestead. She is a member 
of the Colonial Dames, and of the Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution. 

Sebastian Karrman was 
KARRMANN born in Germany. He 

came to the United States 
when a young man and was a weaver and 
woolen manufacturer at Plymouth, Connec- 
ticut. He died in 1882. He married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John Winter. Children: 1. 
John, died in infancy. 2. Katherine K., mar- 
ried Frederick Adt ; children : Frank, Ever- 
nor and Howard Adt. 3. Elizabeth, married 
John Adt ; children : Ida and George. 4. 
George, married Eleanor Shepard and had 
daughter Elizabeth. 5. Charles, married 
Caroline Shyra and had daughter Clara. 6. 
Albert, married Ella Rugg. 7. David, un- 
married ; enlisted in the civil war at Prospect, 
Connecticut, in Company H, Twentieth Con- 
necticut Regiment Volunteer Infantry ; was 



adjutant; took part in Sherman's "March to 
the Sea" ; died in 1867. 8. Ellen, married 
Charles Carr, of New Haven, Connecticut ; 
children: Alice, Mary and Lillian Carr; fam- 
ily living in Cheshire, Connecticut. 9. Dr. Ed- 
ward W., mentioned below. 10. Henry Se- 
bastian, married Lotta Hurd; children: 
Ruth, Charles, Margaret, Milton, Henry, Sa- 
rah. 11. William, died at the age of sixteen 

(II) Dr. Edward William Karrmann, son 
of Sebastian Karrmann, was born at Ply- 
mouth, Connecticut, June 29, 1852. He at- 
tended the public schools there and at Water- 
bury, Connecticut. He was a student for one 
year at Bellevue Hospital Medical School, 
then for one year at the Long Island Medical 
College and finally entered the New York 
Medical School, graduating in 1884 with the 
degree of M.D. He began to practice his pro- 
fession at Morris. Connecticut, and continued 
to study under private instruction. 

After a year he removed to Norwalk, Con- 
necticut, and thence, after a short time, to 
Bridgeport. After four years in that city he 
went to Central 'America in 1890, and took a 
course at the Honduras Medical College, from 
which he received the degree of M.D. in the 
class of 1892. He settled in Central America 
and practiced there for ten years. In 1898 
he returned to the United States and became 
surgeon of the Fourth Missouri Regiment of 
Volunteers in the Spanish war, being with the 
regiment in camp in South Carolina. After 
the close of the war he came to North Wood- 
bury, Connecticut, and practiced about two 
years, but since 1904 has been in general prac- 
tice at Cheshire, Connecticut. He is a mem- 
ber of the New Haven County Medical So- 
ciety ; of Lodge No. 55, Free and Accepted 
Masons, Torrington ; of Darius Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, of Litchfield, Connecti- 
cut. In politics he is a Republican. 

He married. October 25, 1900, Ida May 
Fuller, born February 14, 1874, daughter of 
William and Mary Ellen (Leavenworth) 
Fuller, of West Haven. Child, David Fuller, 
born May 27, 1906. Mary Ellen (Leaven- 
worth) Fuller was daughter of Edmund 
Smith Leavenworth (see Leavenworth VI). 

(The Leavenworth Line). 

(III) Thomas (2) Leavenworth, son of 
Thomas (1) Leavenworth (q. v.), was born 
at Stratford. He married (first) Betty 
Davis, who died April 24, 1758. He mar- 
ried (second) October 10, 1758, Rhoda Olds, 
who died at Watertown, May 1, 1794, aged 
sixty-seven years. He owned the half-way 
covenant, December 7, 1760, in the First Con- 

gregational Church of Woodbury. He re- 
ceived by deed from his father, July 6, 1748, 
one right in the commonage of Woodbury and 
other property there. In 1727 he was collector 
of rates. He was a tanner by trade, in busi- 
ness at Woodbury. He removed to the 
Wyoming Valley and was driven from home 
at the time of the massacre in 1778, and as 
the family fled they saw the house in flames. 
They made their way back to Connecticut, 
and settled at Oxford. He died after 1795 
and is buried at Shepherd's Point. He spent 
the winter of 1795-96, it is said, with his 
grandson, David Leavenworth, at Canaan, 
New York, and returned to his son David's 
at Hamden, Connecticut, in the spring. Chil- 
dren: Asa, born 1744; Triphena, July 3, 1746; 
Gideon, 1751 ; Samuel, 1751 ; David, Febru- 
ary 1, 1756; Betty, October 28, 1760; Isaac, 
baptized March 7, 1762; Abel, baptized Feb- 
ruary 10, 1765 ; Thomas, baptized December 
28, 1766; Dorman, October 28, 1770. 

(IV) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) 
Leavenworth, was baptized December 28, 
1766, at Oxford, Connecticut. He married 
(first) Ruth, daughter of Alexander John- 
son. She died at Charlotte, Vermont. He 
married (second) Mary Moiser, at Charlotte, 
daughter of Jesse Mosier, of New Milford, 
Connecticut, and later of Charlotte. He 
spent his early life at Huntington, Connecti- 
cut, removing in 1797 to Towanda, Pennsyl- 
vaia, but soon returned to Connecticut, and 
settled at Pines Bridge in the town of Ox- 
ford. Later he removed to Charlotte, Ver- 
mont, and lived there until 1817, when he 
removed to Huntington, Vermont. In 1838 
he went to Stockholm, New York, and thence 
to Brandon, Franklin county, New York, 
where he died July 18, 1850. He was the 
last of four generations bearing the name 
Thomas Leavenworth. Children : Isaac, men- 
tioned below; Calvin, born March, 1793; Polly 
married Erastus Johnson ; Sarah, married 
Philemon Treat ; Rosette, married Dawnes S. 
Thompson ; Betsey, lived at Rockford, Illi- 
nois ; Maria, married Elander Stevens ; Seth ; 
Mark, born April 5, 1814; Ruth, born 1815, 
married Judson Wakefield; Mary, 1818, mar- 
ried Isaac Staples; Minerva, 1819, married 
Judson Wakefield. 

(V) Isaac, son of Thomas (3) Leaven- 
worth, was born October 9, 1791. He was a 
blacksmith by trade, and three of his sons 
were augur makers in Connecticut. He mar- 
ried, November 8, 1812, Ruth Clark, born 
July 30, 1793, died July 29, 1864. Children, 
born at West Haven, Connecticut: Levi C, 
April 12, 1814, died June 3, 1814; Edmund 
S., mentioned below ; Caroline E., February 

$rjp ^J^T^mA^^^^y 



26, 1818; John L., December 15, 1821, died 
1859; Clark, May 12, 1827, lived at Chester. 

(VI) Edmund S., son of Isaac Leaven- 
worth, was born at West Haven, Connecti- 
cut, October 1, 1815. He was an augur maker 
and lived at West Haven, Connecticut. He 
married, February 25, 1841, Ellen Almira 
Thomas. Children, born at West Haven : 
Edson Hobart, August 14, 1843, died 1843 ! 
Mary Ellen, December 19, 1846, married 
William Fuller, their daughter, Ida May, mar- 
ried Edward William Karrmann, M.D. (See 
Karrmann II.) Eddie Smith, September 8, 
185 1, died 1854; Isaac Stanley, October 31, 
1855, died in January, 1879; Etta Flelena, 
April 29, 1865. 

William Fuller, father of Ida May (Fuller) 
Karrmann, was born in Vermont, October 
24, 1836, son of Richard and Maria (Par- 
rott) Fuller. He was a soldier in the Fifth 
Connecticut Regiment, served as sergeant in 
Company D, was honorably discharged in 
1863, he was a prisoner four months at Libby 
Prison. He died in 1877. He married Mary 
Ellen Leavenworth ; children : Ellen Maria, 
and Ida May Fuller. Ellen Maria married 
(first) Timothy P. Reynolds, and had two 
children : Vida Grace and Maud Agnes Rey- 
nolds ; married (second) S. D. Walker, of 
Waterville ; child, William Walker. Ida May 
Fuller married Dr. Edward W. Karrmann, 
October 25, 1900 ; child, David Fuller Karr- 


The name Bidwell is of 
BIDWELL Saxon origin, the spelling 
Biddulph meaning War Wolf. 
From Biddulph the following names are de- 
rived: Bedwelle, Bydewell, Bidewell, Bidwell, 
Bidwill, Bidwelle, Bidle, Biddle, Bidel, Biddel, 
Biddell, Biddol. Biddoll and Biddulps. Those 
now in use are Bidwell, Bedwell, Biddel and 
Biddulph. One of the oldest castles in Eng- 
land is the Biddulph castle, in Norfolk county. 
It was built about 1066, and tradition says 
that one of William the Conqueror's generals 
married the Biddulph heiress of that time and 
assumed her name. In 1400 Sir William Ber- 
dewelle is mentioned in Thetford, Norfolk 
county, as having given a legacy. In 1426 
lands were let at Gashorp to Robert Berde- 
well, Esq., at twenty shillings per annum. The 
following coat-of-arms is given in Burke's 
"Encyclopedia of Heraldry," as belonging to 
the Bidwells of Thetford : "Gyronny of 4 
or and gules 4 roundles each charged with as 
many martletts all countercharged. Crest a 
martlett proper." 

(I) Richard Bidwell, immigrant ancestor, 
was an early settler of Windsor, Connecticut. 

He is called Goodman Bidwell in records, and 
died December 25, 1647. Children: John, 
mentioned below ; Hannah, born October 22, 
1644 ; Joseph, Samuel, Richard. 

(II) John, son of Richard Bidwell, mar- 
ried Sarah, daughter of John and Mary Wil- 
cox. She died June 15, 1690. Her father, 
John Wilcox, died before October, 1666. His 
wife survived him, and her will is dated 
March 4, 1668-69, Hartford. John Bidwell 
was an early settler at Hartford, and had four 
acres of land allotted him in the division of 
lands there in 1639. In 1640 he had a house 
lot on the east side of Trumbull street, near 
Pearl, and in 1666 had land allotted him at 
East Hartford. In 1640 he owned a tan yard 
on an island in Little river, in what is now 
Bushnell's Park. November 9, 1670, he was 
"freed from Training Watching and Warde- 
ing by the town of Hartford." He and his 
wife Sarah were original members of the 
Second or Centre Church, February, 1672. 
May 13, 1669, John Bidwell and Joseph Bull 
had granted to them two hundred acres of 
land "in the next commons to the place where 
their Saw Mill stands, with liberty to take 
timber out of the common for the improve- 
ment of their saw mill as their need shall 
require." October 13, 1669, in a list of free- 
men on the north side of Little river, John 
Bidwell, Sr., is mentioned. His will was 
dated February 10, 1680, and mentions his 
wife Sarah, sons John, Joseph, Daniel and 
Samuel, and daughters Sarah House, Han- 
nah Waddams and Mary Meekins. He died 
1687. Children: John, born about 1641, men- 
tioned below; Joseph, died 1692; Samuel, 
born 1650; Sarah, Hannah, Mary, Daniel, 

l6 55- 

(III) John (2), son of John (1) Bidwell, 

was born about 1641, died July 3, 1692. He 
married, November 7, 1678, Sarah Welles, 
born 1659, died 1708. She was a daughter 
of Thomas and granddaughter of Governor 
Welles, being mentioned in the latter's will. 
John Bidwell lived in Glastonbury, Connecti- 
cut, and had the first saw mill there, 1667. 
Later he lived at Hartford, and his father 
willed him all his lands and buildings west of 
the Connecticut river. He had at Hartford 
a saw, grist and fulling mill, six other saw 
or grist mills, three at Hartford, one each at 
East Hartford, Wethersfield and Middletown. 
He was also an engineer, and was selected 
by the town of Hartford to deepen the chan- 
nel in the Connecticut river between that town 
and Wethersfield, 1686. He and his wife Sa- 
rah were admitted to full communion at the 
Second or Centre Church, Hartford, Febru- 
ary 21, 1685. He was buried in East Hart- 



ford. He left an estate of one thousand and 
eighty-one pounds, and his widow was admin- 
istratrix. In March, 1704, his widow Sarah 
gave to her son John land on the east side 
of the Connecticut, and her son Thomas wit- 
nessed the deed. Children : John, born Sep- 
tember 1, 1679; Hannah, August 31, 1680; 
Sarah, August 19, 1681 ; Thomas, December 
27, 1682, mentioned below; Jonathan, March 
5, 1684; David, 1687; James, 1691, died May 
7, 1718. 

(IV) Thomas, son of John (2) Bidwell, 
was born December 27, 1682, died 1716. He 
married, March 28, 1707, Prudence, daughtei 
of Edward Scott, of New Haven. She was 
born 1683, died February 14, 1763. Thomas 
Bidwell lived in Hartford, and had a store 
north of the state house, between Exchange 
corner and the Bank. He was also 
owner of trading vessels, and was lost at sea 
in 1716, while on a voyage to the Barbadoes 
for rum and sugar. August, 171 1, he is men- 
tioned in a list of persons whose goods were 
impressed for the expedition to Canada. Chil- 
dren: child born May 29, 1710, died same 
day; Thomas, May 16, 171 1, mentioned be- 
low; Abigail, August 18, 1713 : Jonathan, 
January 12, 1715; Adonijah, October 18, 1716. 

(V) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) Bid- 
well, was born May 16, 171 1, died 1746. He 
married Perhannah Pinney, died 1776. She 
married (second) Ephraim Wilcox. He re- 
moved with his family from Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, to West Simsbury, about 1740, and set- 
tles on the premises which were later left 
to his son Thomas, and remain in the posses- 
sion of the family until the present time. His 
will was dated December 7, 1746. He was 
buried in New Hartford, upon town hill. 
Children, Abigail, born 1734; Perhannah, died 
1814; Thomas, born 1738, mentioned below - 
Prudence, 1740; Jehiel, died ypung; Martha. 

(VI) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) Bid- 
well, was born 1738, died December 3, 1802. 
He was born, lived and died in Canton, Con- 
necticut. He married Esther Orton, born 
May 22, 1738, Farmington, died October 17, 
1823, Canton. He served during the revolu- 
tion. January 24, 1778, in the militia roll, 
at Hartford, he lost his baggage, and collected 
from the state for it one pound, six shillings, 
two pence, May 30, 1778, in pay rolls of of- 
ficers of the militia from Connecticut, he is 
mentioned as Captain Thomas Bidwell, in the 
Bennington alarm list. Children : Jehiel, 
1760; Riverius, August 20, 1762; Thomas, 
1764; Norman, 1768; Lois, May 22, 1772; 
Jasper mentioned below. 

(VII) Colonel Jasper, son of Thomas (3) 
Bidwell, was born 1775, Canton, died 1848. 

He was a farmer and lived and died in hia 
native place. He held the office of town 
treasurer. He married Lucy Richards, of 
New Hartford. She died in 1872, aged nine- 
ty-two years. Children : Sherman, Edmund, 
mentioned below. 

(VIII) Edmund, son of Colonel Jasper 
Bidwell, was born in Canton, 1799, died 
October, 1848. He attended the district 
schools, and academies in the vicinity, but his 
desire for knowledge led him to seek a more 
liberal education by private study. He taught 
school for a time when a young man and 
followed farming in later years. He died 
at East Granby, Connecticut, where he had 
lived, after 1840, on a farm that he bought. 
He was a member of the Congregational 
church. In politics he was a Democrat, of the 
Andrew Jackson school. He married, in 1834, 
Charlotte Dyer, of Canton, Connecticut, born 
1816, died 1891, daughter of Captain Zenas 
and Sally (Chidsey) Dyer. His widow died 
1891. Children: Cerulia, died in infancy; 
Jasper Hamilton, mentioned below ; Daniel 
W., born February 4, 1845, a hardware mer- 
chant at Collinsville, Connecticut. 

(IX) Jasper Hamilton, son of Edmund 
Bidwell, was born January 6, 1843, in East 
Granby, Connecticut. When he was four years 
old he went with his widowed mother to the 
town of Canton. He attended the public 
schools of Collinsville, and at the age of four- 
teen went to East Hampton, to attend Wil- 
liston Seminary, graduating in the class of 
i860. In April, 1861, after he had worked 
some months in the office of Adams Express 
Company, in Norwich, he enlisted for three 
months in Company C, Second Connecticut 
Regiment Volunteer Infantry. He took part 
in the defence of Washington and in the bat- 
tle of Bull Run. In August, 1862, he en- 
listed in Company E, Sixteenth Connecticut 
Regiment, and was company clerk. His regi- 
ment proceeded to Virginia to join the army 
of McClellan. At the battle of Antietam he 
was struck on the right shoulder by a frag- 
ment of shell that burst over his head, and 
the missile penetrated several folds of his blan- 
ket, rolled with his overcoat. He was climb- 
ing over a wall when struck, and the shock 
injured his back and shoulder severely, but 
he managed to keep up with his comrades 
until night. On examination by the surgeon 
it was found that his right arm was paraly- 
zed, and Colonel Beach appointed him his or- 
derly for the remainder of the engagement, 
his duty being to carry messages on horse- 
back. After the battle he was sent to the 
hospital, and while there assisted in caring 
for his captain, Babcock, of Collins- 



ville, shot through the neck. He rejoined his 
regiment, but after a time was taken sick and 
left at the home of James Brown, near Snick- 
er's Gap, Virginia, where he remained six 
weeks. The family was "secesh," but the sick 
soldier was kindly treated, and when Mosby's 
guerrillas were reported in the vicinity was se- 
creted in the house of a relative. When he 
was able to return north he was guided one 
night to Berlin by a young girl of the family, 
the journey being made on horseback. He 
made himself known to the provost marshal 
and was sent to a convalescent camp near 
Alexandria, but did not regain his health suf- 
ficiently to join his regiment, and was dis- 
charged in February, 1863. He was in the 
battle of South Mountain also. When he re- 
turned home he weighed but a hundred 
pounds, but gradually regained his health and 
strength. He returned to the employ of 
Adams Express Company at Norwich, Con- 
necticut. After about a year he went to Ti- 
tus, Pennsylvania. He was associated with 
O. B. Miller and Simeon Leland, of the Met- 
ropolitan Hotel, owning a patent for driving 
wells with tubing. For one year he was in 
the hardware business with his brother, at 
Collins ville. In 1865 he became a clerk in 
the office of the Collins Company, at Collins- 
ville, continuing there four years. He then 
became clerk in a general store at Collins- 
ville. In 1874 he became a clerk in the H. 
S. Collins Bank, and in 1886 was admitted 
to partnership in the banking business by Mr. 
Collins, under the firm name of H. S. Collins 
& Company. In 1899 M f - Bidwell organized 
the Canton Trust Company, which succeeded 
to the banking business of his firm, and of 
which he has since been president. The build- 
ing in which the bank is located belongs to 
the Collinsville Savings Society, and the stock 
of the Trust Company is owned in the town. 
Mr. Collins retired from the bank at the 
time of incorporation, on account of advanced 
age. Mr. Bidwell is a director in the Clinton 
Creamery Company, the Collinsville Water 
Company and the Farmington Valley Tele- 
phone Company, and is connected with the 
Columbia Telephone Company as a stock- 
holder. He is a Democrat, and for thirty- 
five consecutive years was town treasurer, 
1875- 1910, and for ten years judge of probate. 
The Republicans always endorsed his nomi- 
nation for public offce, paying him one of 
the highest compliments in political life. In 
1896 he did not vote with the Bryan democ- 
racy and at other times has displayed his in- 
dependence from party. He is a member of 
the Masonic Lodge and is prominent in social 

He married (first) Dora Kasson, who died 
soon after marriage. He married (second), 
in October, 1874, Corinne Beckwith, born 
April 10, 1853, died July 30, 1902, daughter 
of Oliver A. Beckwith. He married (third) 
Nellie B. Wagner, of Collinsville, born Au- 
gust 12, 1868, daughter of Joseph C. and 
Nellie Bugbee Wagner. Children of third 
wife: son, died at birth; Ruth, born Septem- 
ber 18, 1909. Mr. Bidwell brought up in 
his family Oliver R. Beckwith, nephew of his 
second wife, now an attorney in Hartford. 

The history of the old province 
DAKIN of Bretagne or Brittany, in 

France, by Morier, mentions the 
surname "de Acquignay," pronounced De 
Akeny, as existing at or near Louviers, in 
the province of Normandy, in the year 802 
A. D., and states that one Herveius De Ac- 
quignay lived ; n the year 1058. A village 
called De Acquignay now exists in France. 
The names spelled De Acquignay, Deacuns- 
Akeny, D'Akeny, Dakeyne, Deken, De Akin, 
and Dakin are connected armorially. One 
Baldwin Dakeny fought in the battle of Hast- 
ings in 1066. 

The families of Dakeyne, Deakune or Da- 
kyns are of considerable antiquity in county 
Derby, England, and at an early period held 
large possessions in Bedford, Buckingham, 
Cambridge and Norfolk counties. William 
Deken, grandson of Baldwin Dakeny, men- 
tioned above, was lord of Wrighton, Norfolk, 
in the reigns of Richard T and John, which 
title and estate his son, William Deken or 
De Akeny, forfeited by his rebellion in the 
reign of Henry III. The motto of the wide- 
ly-extended family of Dakin, "Dakeyne, strike 
Dakeyne — the devil's in the Hemp," is said 
to have originated in an incident in a sea fight. 
The motto was used in the time of Edward 
VI, probably much earlier. 

(I) Thomas Dakin was perhaps son of John 
and Alice, who came to America in 1635, in 
the ship "Abigail." John was born in Eng- 
land in 1607. Thomas Dakin was born in 
1624, and was living in Concord, Massachu- 
setts, before 1650. He died there October 

21, 1708. He married (first) Sarah , 

who died in 1659. He married (second) Su- 
san Stratton, widow, who died in 1698. Child 
of first wife: Sarah, born August 8, 1659. 
Children of second wife : John, born March 
2, 1661 ; Simon, 1663, mentioned below ; Jos- 
eph, 1669, died 1744. 

(II) Simon, son of Thomas Dakin, was 
born in Concord, 1663, died in Concord, Jan- 
uary 11, 1719. He married Elizabeth , 

who survived him. Children : Simon, born 



May 25, 1694, mentioned below; Ebenezer. 

(III) Simon (2), son of Simon (1) Dakin, 
was born in Concord, May 25, 1694. He mar- 
ried Huldah, born 1699, died 1789, widow of 
Rev. Timothy Worcester. Children : Simon, 
born January 27, 1720, mentioned below ; 
Timothy, March 29, 1723 : Huldah, May 29, 
1725 ; Benoni, March 16, 1726-27. 

(IV) Rev. Simon (3), son of Simon (2) 
Dakin. was born January 27, 1720. at Con- 
cord, Massachusetts, died at North East, New 
York, September 19, 1803. He located at 
Phillips Patent, thence removed, in 1783, to 
North East, in Dutchess county. He was a 
Baptist preacher, a pioneer in church and 
town. The church at North East was begun 
under Whitefield, Tennat and others. A num- 
ber of Presbyterians withdrew and joined one 
in the neighborhood at a place called South 
Precinct, of the Congregational order, who 
held to open communion. Among the dissen- 
ters was Simon Dakin, who soon became a 
Baptist, and formed a church in 1751, being 
ordained its pastor three years later. No his- 
torical account of this church has been pre- 
served, because the records were taken away 
when the Harveys left the locality. But we 
are informed (Benedict's "History of the 
Baptists," p. 546), that Mr. Dakin's ministry 
was greatly blessed and that a numerous 
church arose, which branched out to different 
places. Some removed to what is now North- 
East town, where a church was gathered un- 
der James Phillips, who, after serving it sev- 
eral vears, went to Fishkill. To this place 
Mr. Dakin repaired in 1775 ; many of his 
church in Franklin, it seems, came to him ; 
what were left behind fell in with a southern 
branch which arose under the ministry of Mr. 
Nathan Cole. In North East town Mr. Da- 
kin spent the most of his long and pious min- 
istry. He was born in Concord, 1720, came 
with his father to this region at the age of 
sixteen, and died in 1803, in his eighty-third 
year and the fiftieth of his ministry, leaving 
behind him a character "fair, amiable and un- 
spotted." He married, December 16, 1742, 
Rebecca Perry, of Sandwich, Massachusetts. 

(V) Joshua, son of Rev. Simon (3) Da- 
kin, was born April 22, 1744. He lived in 
the town of North East, New York. He was 
a soldier in the revolution from Dutchess 
county, and his name appears in the official 
list of those entitled to land bounty rights. 
("New York in the Revolution.") 

(VI) Jacob, son of Joshua Dakin, was born 
in North East and lived there all his life. He 
was a prosperous farmer. He married Olive 
Clark, of North East. Children: Orville, 
Harriet, Joshua, Maria, Myron, mentioned 

below ; Mary Ann, De Witt C, mentioned 
below ; Emeline, George, Cornelia and Caro- 

(VII) Myron, son of Jacob Dakin, was 
born 1808, in North East, New York, died 
1883. He was a farmer and prominent in 
public life. He held various town offices and 
was a representative to the state legislature. 
In politics he was a Democrat, in religion a 
Baptist. He married Lucretia A., born at 
Lima Rock, Connecticut, 1818, died 1887, 
daughter of Ralph Butler. Children : Daugh- 
ter, died in infancy; Edward M., lives in Iro- 
quois, Canada, William and Webster (twins) ; 
William, died in Woodbury, Connecticut, Jan- 
uary, 1910; Webster, died aged about four 
years ; Charles B., mentioned below. 

(VIII) Charles B., son of Myron Dakin, 
was horn at Sharon, Connecticut, October 21, 
1857, in what is called Sl"^ron Valley. He 
attended the public schools ot his native town. 
Until seventeen years of age he worked with 
his father on the homestead, since then has 
been in mercantile business. Since 1882 he 
has been in business on his own account as 
a general merchant in Sharon. The business 
was incorporated in 1892, under the name of 
the H. B. Dakin Company, of which Mr. Da- 
kin is treasurer and his son president. In 
politics he is a Democrat. He is a member 
of the fire association of the town. In religion 
he is a Congregationalist. He married, 1880, 
Hattie E., died April, 1909, daughter of Ebe- 
nezer Hamlin, of Sharon, Connecticut. They 
had one son, Harold Butler, born September 
T3, 1882, educated in the public schools and at 
the Eastman Business College, at Poughkeep- 
sie. New York ; married Florence, daughter 
of Edward B. and Lillian (Moorehouse) St. 
John, and has one son, Myron Edward, born 
April 20, 1910. 

(VII) De Witt C, son of Jacob Dakin, 
was born in North East, May 6, 181 1, died 
May, 1868, in Sharon, Connecticut. He had 
a common school education, but was largely 
self educated and self made. He lived in his 
native town most of his life. He came to 
Sharon a short time before his death. He 
was a well-to-do farmer and an influential cit- 
izen. He married, 1844, Eliza, born in Salis- 
bury, Connecticut, December 26, 1825, died 
November 15, 185 1, daughter of James Reed. 
Children: James R., born September 4, 1845, 
contractor and builder in Mount Kisco. New 
York, married Roselia Eggleston ; Emma 
Jane, August 22, 1847, married Sanford Eg- 
gleston ; Frank Whalen, mentioned below ; 
Anna Eliza, September 23, 185 1, died March 
18, 1874 ; Charles, October 3, 1853, farmer 
in Sharon, Connecticut, married Hattie Bar- 



nett: Hattie C, February 18, 1855, lives in 
Millerton, New York; Libbie, October II, 
1856, died July 12, 1890; De Witt Clinton, 
June 22, i860, married Grace Paine. 

(VIII) Frank Whalen, son of De Witt C. 
Dakin, was born July 23, 1849, m North 
East, New York. He was educated there in 
the public schools, and at Fort Edward, New 
York. He worked during his boyhood on his 
father's farm, and for a number of years, 
when a young man, had charge of said farm. 
In 1868 he came to Sharon, and followed 
farming there until 1877. Since then he has 
resided in the village of Sharon and has been 
in business as a builder and contractor. He 
is a director of the Sharon Sewer Company, 
the Sharon Telephone Company, and a trustee 
of the Hotchkiss Public Library. In politics 
he is a Republican. He has served the town 
on the board of selectmen and board of edu- 
cation. He represented the town in the gen- 
eral assembly of the state, 1875-76, serving 
on the committee on incorporations. At the 
present time he is judge of probate in this 
district. He is a prominent member of the 
Methodist church, a trustee and treasurer of 
the board. He married, 1875, Frances 
daughter of Fitch and Olivia (Eggleston) 
Landon, of Sharon. They have one child, 
Florence, born October 3, 1880, married A. 
W. White, of Sharon, who is associated with 
Mr. Dakin in the building business. 

The Ripley family trace their 
RIPLEY descent through various lines to 

the earliest settlers in this coun- 
try, notably in a direct line to Governor Wil- 
liam Bradford, of "Mayflower" fame. 

(I) William Ripley came from England 
with his wife, two sons and two daughters 
in 1638 and settled in Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, where he was admitted a freeman, May 
18, 1642. His death occurred July 20, 1656. 
The death of his first wife is not recorded, 
but he married (second) September 29, 1654, 
Elizabeth, widow of Thomas Thaxter. She 
married (third) John Dwight, of Dedham, 
and died July 17, 1660. His children were 
all born in England, and the names on record 
are: John, Abraham and Sarah. 

(II) John, son of William Ripley, was born 
in England and died in 1684. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of the Rev. Peter Hobart, 
first pastor of the church at Hingham, Mas- 
sachusetts. Children : John, Joshua, Jeremiah 
and Peter. 

(III) Joshua, son of John and Elizabeth 
(Hobart) Ripley, was born May 9, 1658, died 
May 18, 1739. After his marriage he lived 
for a time in Hingham, Massachusetts, re- 

moving to Norwich, Connecticut, October 10, 
1688, and to Windham, March 23, 1691. At 
the first town meeting in Windham, June 11, 
1692, he was chosen clerk and treasurer of 
the town, and also served as a justice of the 
peace. He married, November 28, 1682, Han- 
nah Bradford, born May 9, 1662, died May 
28, 1738, daughter of William Bradford, Jr., 
deputy-governor of Plymouth colony, and 
granddaughter of Governor William Brad- 
ford. Children : Alice, born September 17, 
1683 ; Hannah, March 2, 1685 ; Faith, Sep- 
tember 20, 1686; Joshua, (see forward) ; Mar- 
garet. November 4, 1690 ; Rachel and Leah, 
twins, April 17, 1693; Hezekiah, June 10, 
1695 ; David, May 20, 1697 ; Irene, August 
28, 1700; Jerusha and Ann, twins, November 
1, 1704. 

(IV) Joshua (2), eldest son of Joshua (1) 
and Hannah (Bradford) Ripley, was born 
May 13, 1688 died November 18, 1773. He 
married, December 3, 171 2, Mary, daughter 
of John and Mary (Bingham) Backus, of 
Windham, Connecticut. Children : Mary, born 
November 18, 1714; Phineas, November 21, 
1716; Hannah, January 12, 1719; Nathaniel, 
June 30, 1721 ; Elizabeth, November 4, 1724; 
Joshua, October 30, 1726; Ebenezer (see for- 
ward) ; William, February 12, 1734; John, 
March 31. 1738. 

(V) Ebenezer, son of Joshua (2) and Mary 
(Backus) Ripley, was born June 22, 1729, 
died at Windham, June II, 181 1. He mar- 
ried, June 11, 1752, Mehetabel Burbank, who 
died in Windham at the age of eighty-four 
years, May 20, 1813. Children: Hannah, born 
April 28, 1753, died February 16, 1803 ; Elea- 
nor, August 16, 1754; Jerusha, May 28, 1756. 
Juliana, July 31, 1757; Justin, January 1, 
1759; Abraham February 25, 1761 ; Abiah, 
December 12, 1762; Dwight (see forward); 
Ebenezer, March 26, 1766; Thaddeus, Octo- 
ber 22, 1767: Anna, June 20, 1770; Horace. 
August 20, 1772. 

(VI) Major Dwight, son of Ebenezer and 
Mehetabel (Burbank) Ripley, was born Au- 
gust 7. 1764, died in Norwich, Connecticut, 
November 18, 1835. He formed a partnership 
in the drug business with Benjamin Dyer in 
1793 and removed to Norwich, the firm con- 
ducting business under the style of Dyer & 
Ripley. This partnership was not a lengthy 
one, the firm name being changed to Ripley 
& Waldo ; dry goods and groceries were 
added to the stock, and the firm became the 
pioneer in the wholesale trade in Norwich. 
For almost half a century Major Ripley was 
engaged in Norwich as a merchant and drug- 
gist, and during this period many improve- 
ments were made in the town owing to his de- 



ten-pined efforts in its behalf. The house in 
which he resided for forty years was locate' 
on Broadway, and the Young Men's Christian 
Association building now occupies the site 
Major Ripley married, February 24, 1796 
Eliza Coit, who died July 30, 1846, daughte 
of William Coit, a captain of militia in th' 
revolutionary war, a resident of Norwich 
She was a woman of exceptional gentlenes c 
refinement and amiability. Children : Martha 
born March 15, 1797; Eliza C, April 3, 1798- 
William D., September 2, 1799; George Bur 
bank (see forward) ; Lucy C, January 11, 1803 
Joseph, August 17, 1804; James L.. March 
18. 1806; Eliza, March 22, 1808, married 
Hon. William A. Buckingham, governor an' 1 
United States senator; Harriet, April 7, 1810 
Daniel C, July 8, 18 12, died in Washington 
District of Columbia, October 27, 1893 ; Jane 
born May 16, 181 5, died in Norwich, Decern 
ber 1, 1891. 

(VII) Hon. George Burbank Ripley, son of 
Major Dwight and Eliza (Coit) Ripley, was 
born in Norwich, March 13, 1801, died in that 
town, July 9, 1858. He was graduated from 
Yale College with the class of 1822, which 
contained a number of other distinguished 
members, studied law under the perceptorship 
of Judge Swift, at Windham, Connecticut, 
until the latter's death, when he continued his 
studies in the office of Judge Staples in New 
Haven. He was admitted to the bar in 1824, 
and for a time was engaged in the practice 
of his profession (with a very satisfactory 
amount of success). His love of nature and 
an outdoor Hfe appealed to him too strongly, 
however, to be resisted, and he turned his at- 
tention to farming, in which he was also suc- 
cessful. His intellectual attainments were of 
an unusually high order, and his ability as 
a conversationalist won him many friends and 
admirers. He. was not permitted to live a life 
of retirement, as he was elected to a number 
of public offices by his fellow townsmen, who 
felt their interests could be in no safer hands. 
He served as judge of the probate court for 
the Norwich district for a number of years 
between 1850 and his death. Judge Ripley 
married, October 19, 1825, Hannah Gardi- 
ner Lathrop, born March 9, 1806, died Sep- 
tember 17, 1897, daughter of Thomas and 
Hannah (Bill) Lathrop (see forward). She 
was a woman strikingly beautiful in person 
and character. Children: 1. William Lath- 
rop, born April 30, 1827, died at Sauga- 
tuck, Michigan, April 8, 1878 ; he was en- 
gaged in mercantile business in Michigan, and 
during the civil war was in the commissary 
department and held the rank of major in a 
Michigan regiment; he married, 1854, Jerusha 

Gilchrist ; children : i. Mary Lathrop, borrr 
January 15, 1855, died April 2^, 1874; if 
George Bradford, born February 19, 1857 
died in Minneapolis, Minnesota ; iii. Charles 
Dwight, born February 23, 1858; resides in 
Minnesota. 2. Dwight, born June 8, 1829; he 
was a member of the firm of Crane, Hamilton 
& Ripley, merchants in New York ; he was 
living in the south at the beginning of the 
civil war. joined the Confederate forces, was 
on duty in Texas and Mexico, and attained 
the rank of major ; at the close of the war he 
became a member of the firm of Melius, Trask 
& Ripley, of New York City; he married. 
July 9, 1873, in Loudoun county, Virginia 
Eliza Chinn McHatton ; one child, Elise, born 
in New York, May 23, 1874; married, April 
5, 1902, Joseph Ripley Noyes; children- 
Katherine, born December 15, 1902; Eliza- 
beth, born December 26, 1903 ; Helen Ripley, 
born September 7, 1908. 3. Hannah Lath- 
rop, born November 4, 1830 ; resides in the 
family homestead at Norwich. 4. Harriet, 
born September 6, 1832 ; is an artist by pro- 
fession, and also resides in the family home- 
stead. 5. James Dickinson, born November 
14, 1837, lost his life during the destruction 
of the steamer, "Commonwealth," by fire, at 
Groton, Connecticut, December 29, 1865 ; he 
was a medical student of uncommon promise 
at Bellevue Hospital at the time of the civil 
war, but immediately tendered his services to 
his country ; altogether he served for a period 
of three years ; first as hospital steward, act- 
ing as assistant surgeon of the Eighteenth 
Connecticut Regiment. 6. George Coit, born 
August 24, 1839; he was graduated from Yale 
College in 1862; enlisted in the Tenth Con- 
necticut Regiment, was appointed aide to Gen- 
eral O. S. Ferry, and served as a member of 
his staff until the close of the war ; after the 
war he studied law with Judge Kelsey and' 
became a brilliant lawyer, winning some noted' 
cases ; he married, at Harrisburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, November 14, 1867, Lizzie Mann ; chil- 
dren : i. Faith, born August 10, 1869, mar- 
ried, at Buenos Ay res, Argentina, South 
America, September 10, 1900, Howard E. 
Atterbury, of New York ; ii. Eleanor Bucher, 
born February 8, 1872, died at Colorado 
Springs, Colorado, May 2, 1893. 7. Emily 
Lathrop, born June 15, 1841 ; married, May 
23, 1871, Charles Avery Collin, who was 
graduated from Yale College in 1866, was law 
professor at Cornell for seven years, and is 
now a member of the firm of Collin, Wells 
& Hughes, lawyers in New York City ; chil- 
dren : i. Dwight Ripley, born January 26, 
1873, was educated at Cornell University, and' 
is at present an architect in the employ of 


the New York Central railroad, New York; and William, each one-third part of the Pe- 
he married, at Buffalo, New York, October qtianeck lands, with other lots in addition 
16, 1901, Julia Townsend Coit; children: To his sons, Samuel and Joseph, he gave his 
Charles Avery (2), born August 10, 1902; lot, house and barn, with other property, to 
Frank Coit, January 2, 1904; Dwight Ripley, be divided equally among them. His wife 
July 4, 1906; ii. Grace Lathrop, born March Margaret was made executrix, and he left her 
22, 1874; graduated from Smith College with sixty pounds, and the use of his house while 
the class of 1896, and from Columbia in 1899. she remained a widow or until the sons, Sam- 
She is a journalist and author, and makes her uel and Joseph, were of age. He left money 
home in New York City. and moveable property to his daughters. Chil- 
dren, not recorded in order of age ; probably 
(Lathrop and Bill Lines). a] j by his wife Margaret: 1. Moses, died 

(I) John Bill, the earliest known ancestor. 1696 or 1697. 2. Richard, mentioned below. 

(II) Philip, son of John Bill. (Ill) Samuel, 3. William, a minor in 1678; died November 

son of Philip Bill. (IV) Samuel, son of Sam- 4, 1699. 4. Samuel, younger than William ; 

uel Bill. (V) Ephraim, son of Samuel (2) died 1732. 5. Joseph, probable youngest son ; 

Bill. (VI) Hannah, daughter of Ephraim died March 16, 1698. 6. Hester, oldest 

Bill, married Thomas Lathrop. (VII) Han- daughter; born as early as 1658, died 1699. 

nah Gardiner, daughter of Thomas and Han- 7. Betty (Elizabeth), born about 1660. 8. 

nah (Bill) Lathrop, married George Burbank Hannah, born after 1659. 9. Abigail, born 

Ripley. after 1659, probably youngest child ; died 

(I) Rev. John Lathrop came from England March 6, 1698. 

to Scituate, Massachusetts, in 1634. (II) (II) Richard (2), son of Richard (1) 

Samuel, son of Rev. John Lathrop. (HI) Lyon, was born in Fairfield, about 1653. He 

Samuel, son of Samuel Lathrop. (IV) Thorn- married Mary , whose maiden name 

as, son of Samuel (2) Lathrop. (V) Joshua, was Frye. His land adjoined that of Mihill 

son of Thomas Lathrop, married Mercy Eells, Frye, from whom he received a legacy of ten 

whose father was a chaplain in the war of the shillings. He lived in Fairfield, but late in 

revolution. (VI) Thomas, son of Joshua and life went to Redding, where he died in Janu- 

Mercy (Eells) Lathrop, married Hannah, ary, 1740, aged eighty-seven. His wife was 

daughter of Ephraim Bill. (VII) Hannah a charter member of the Congregational 

Gardiner, daughter of Thomas and Hannah church organized in Redding in 1729. He 

(Bill) Lathrop, married George Burbank united with the same church in 1733. Chil- 

Ripley. dren : Samuel, born December 27, 1688 ; Sa- 

rah, February 14, 1690 or 1693; Ebenezer, 

Richard Lyon, in company with mentioned below; Daniel, October 3, 1697; 

LYON two brothers, Henry and Thomas, Hannah, May 14, 1701 ; Nathan, November 

came from Glen Lyon in Perth- 28, 1703; Jonathan, May 1, 1708. 

•dure to the Colonies in 1648. The story is (III) Ebenezer, son of Richard (2) Lyon, 

that these three, who were Scotch soldiers in was born in Fairfield, August 15, 1694. The 

Cromwell's army, were on guard before the place and date of his death are not known, 

banqueting house at Whitehall, January 31, Fie was one of the pioneer settlers in Nor- 

1648, and witnessed the execution of King wich, Connecticut, in 1722. He married, in 

Charles I. Immediately after the regicide Fairfield, January 9, 1717, Ellen Fanton. 

they fled to America. Henry Lyon went to Children, born in Fairfield : Stephen, men- 

Milford, Connecticut; Richard Lyon settled tioned below; Ellen, born November 27, 1718 

in Fairfield as early as May, 1649. H e had (Eleanor); Ebenezer, June 10, 1722; Abel, 

a house and lot recorded in the land records (IV) Stephen, son of Ebenezer Lyon, was 

of Fairfield (Fayrefield) in January, 1653, baptized November 17, 17 17. He married, in 

and was made a freeman there m 1664. In Fairfield, July 21, 1747, Grace Webb. Chil- 

1673 he had recorded five acres of land at dren: Nehemiah Webb, mentioned below; 

Barlow's Plains, and eighteen and one-half Stephen. 

acres "on the Rocks." He was chosen com- (V) Nehemiah Webb, son of Stephen 
missioner for Fairfield, May, 1669. The will Lyon, was born in Weston, Connecticut, Au- 
of Richard Lyon, made April 12, 1678, pro- gust 16, 1759, died there in his one hundred 
bated October 17, 1678, is almost the only and first year. He was a revolutionary sol- 
c ource of information about his family. He dier, having enlisted in Najah Bennet's corn- 
gave to his son Moses, one-third of his land pany in 1781. He was recorded as a pen- 
in Pequaneck (Bridgeport), as well as other sioner in Fairfield county in 1832, and in 
property. He also gave to his sons, Richard Weston in 1832, and remained on the pension 



roll until his death in i860. He married, Au- 
gust 26, 1778, Sarah Treadwell. His chil- 
dren nearly all lived to a good old age. Chil- 
dren : David, born June 22 or January 29, 
1779; Samuel, August 27, 1780; Huldah, Jan- 
uary 4, 1783; Clarissa, August 11, 1785; Levi, 
September 14, 1788; Walker, May 23, 1790; 
Sarah, May 2, 1793 ; Hanford, mentioned be- 
low ; Jarvis, died May 24, 1799, aged fifty- 

(VI) Hanford, son of Nehemiah Webb 
Lyon, was born in Easton, Connecticut, Rock 
House District, July 27, 1795, died December 
21, 1879. Until fourteen years of age he 
lived on his father's farm. He was then ap- 
prenticed in Danbury to Elijah Sanford, and 
six years later established a saddlery busi- 
ness in Bridgeport. He became a member of 
Fairchild, Lyon & Company in the same line 
of business, and later was principal in the 
firm of Lyon, Wright & Company. He was 
one of the most prominent citizens of Bridge- 
port, occupying many positions of responsi- 
bility. He was a director in the Connecticut 
Bank, director and president of the Old 
Bridgeport Bank, director in the Pequonnock 
Bank, first president of the City Savings 
Bank, and director and president of the City 
Light Company, now Bridgeport Gaslight 
Company. He was originally a Whig in poli- 
tics, but anti-slavery in sentiment, and during 
the civil war an ardent and powerful suppor- 
ter of the Union government and a Repub- 
lican in politics from the organization of that 
party. He was an alderman of the city. He 
was a member of the First Congregational 
Church of Bridgeport. He married (first) 
Hetty Ann Thompson, born in 1805 at Strat- 
ford, died April 22, 1842, at Bridgeport, 
daughter of John and Alice (Benjamin) 
Thompson. She is buried in the Mountain 
Grove cemetery at Bridgeport. Alice Ben- 
jamin's father kept a tavern. Once, during 
the revolution, when she was a young child, 
she was picking berries in a field near home 
when she was startled by the appearance of a 
stranger, who, after reassuring her, asked the 
way to an inn. She led the way to her fath- 
er's tavern, the man was George Washington 
who met General Lafayette on his way from 
New London to West Point. After supper 
the child remembered being held on the knee 
of General Washington and receiving fatherly 
advice. Mr. Lyon married (second) Anna 
Mackay, daughter of Daniel M. and Ann 
(Butler) Frye, of New York City, and sis- 
ter of Major Frederick Frye. Children of 
first wife : Frederick H., mentioned below ; 
William, deceased; Sarah J., deceased, mar- 
ried Judge Edward I. Sanford, of New 

Haven ; Josephine, married Henry T. Shelton, 
son, Harry ; Adelaide, deceased. Children by 
second wife: Edward H., deceased; Frank C, 
resides in Bridgeport; Charles G., resides in 
Bridgeport ; Alice Cheever, married May 4, 
1874, General Thomas H. Watson. 

(VII) Frederick Hanford, son of Hanford 
Lyon, was born September 20, 1827, at 
Bridgeport, Connecticut. He was educated 
in the public schools of Bridgeport. His 
business training began as a clerk in the 
Bridgeport Bank. In 1849 he embarked in 
business on his own account in the firm of 
Holcomb & Lyon, hardware dealers, Bridge- 
port, and after five years he bought the in- 
terests of his partner and continued the busi- 
ness alone. Subsequently he admitted to part- 
nership William Kellogg, the firm being Lyon 
& Kellogg. In 1864 Mr. Lyon retired from 
the business to devote his time to the man- 
agement of the real estate that he had largely 
inherited from his father. He is one of the 
best known citizens of Bridgeport and one 
of the oldest men in business in that city. He 
has always been a quiet citizen, avoiding pub- 
lic life and declining office, but having many 
friends and possessing much influence in the 
community. In religion he is a Congrega- 
tionalist ; in politics a Republican. He mar- 
ried Betsey A. Hawley, born in Bridgeport, 
daughter of Captain Abijah Hawley. Chil- 
dren, born at Bridgeport: I. Hanford, de- 
ceased. 2. Frederick Sanford, born February, 
1852, died unmarried in 1897. 3. Julia M., 
married Frank W. Wilson, of Bridgeport. 
Children : Arthur M. and Edith. 4. Josephine, 
unmarried. 5. Henry Meigs, born 1858, died 
1888. 6. William Kellogg, born 1859; un- 
married. 7. Helen Clinton, born 1862 ; mar- 
ried Charles Dudley Mills ; one child, Charles 

The surname De Witt is of Dutch 
WITT origin and the progenitor of the 

distinguished family of this name 
in New York was Tjerck Claezen De Witt, 
born at Grootholdt in Zunderland, Westpha- 
lia, in 1620, settled in New Amsterdam (New 
York) in 1656, son of Nicholas De Witt. He 
removed to Esopus, New York, now in Ulster 
county. It is conjectured that the Witt family 
of Massachusetts may have assumed that De 
Witt was the original name of their ances- 
tors, but the tradition that the ancestry was 
Dutch must have been on fairly convincing 
grounds or some of the family would not have 
adopted that spelling. In the early records 
of Massachusetts, however, the De Witt spell- 
ing is not to be found. Moreover, the immi- 
grant, though of Dutch stock, probably came 



from England, for no Dutch-speaking immi- 
grants were known at Lynn at the time the 
immigrant came. There was a prominent 
family named Witt in Lancashire, England, 
having this coat-of-arms : Argent a grifhn 
segreant sable. Crest : A dexter hand coupe 
in fesse apaumee. This is the only Witt coat- 
of-arms given by Burke. The origin of the 
English name Witt is given the same as 
White, from the Anglo-Saxon hwit. The 
name appears in the Domesday Book in 1086 
as Alvin Albus (White of Witt), alias Wit 
and also Unit and Unite. The name is not 
uncommon in England. But there is no rea- 
son to disbelieve the tradition that the ances- 
tors in England were Dutch and dropped the 
prefix De. 

(I) John Witt, emigrant ancestor, settled 
in Lynn, Massachusetts, about 1630. He 
came probably from Holland. He married 

Sarah , and is said to have had two 

wives. He died at Lynn, December 2, 1675. 
Children : John, mentioned, below ; Jonathan, 
married, Mary Dimond, of Lynn, probably 
daughter of John Dimond ; Ann, married 
■ Barnes ; Elizabeth ; Sarah ; Mary ; Mar- 
tha, born at Lynn, March 5, 1659; Thomas, 
born at Lynn, July 25, 1661, married, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1685, Bethia, daughter of Nicholas 
Potter; Ebenezer, born April 6, 1665, died 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Witt, was 
born probably about 1650 in Lynn. He mar- 
ried. January 14, 1676, Elizabeth Baker. They 
resided in Lynn where all their children were 
born, not all being recorded. The children 
given in Lynn records : Elizabeth, born Au- 
gust 9, 1677; John, June 3, 1679, mentioned 
below ; Mary, August 14, 1681 ; Jonathan, 
married, in Marlboro, Lydia Mathews ; Abi- 
gail, born February 10, 1687 ; Samuel, Octo- 
ber 20, 1691, married (first) Elizabeth Breed, 
of Lynn, married (second) Susanna Pierce; 
Ebenezer, August 8, 1693 '> Thomas, Febru- 
ary 18, 1696, married Mary Ivory; Persis, 
May 2, 1698. 

(III) John (3), son of John (2) Witt, 
was born at Lynn, June 3, 1679. He mar- 
ried Mary Dane. They settled in Marlbor- 
ough, Massachusetts, in the northeast part 
near the Indian plantation, about 1707. He 
died there about 1743. His will was made 
March 6, 1741. proved May 16, 1743. It 
mentions his wife Mary ; sons, William, Elias, 
Joseph, John and Ebenezer ; daughters, Mary, 
Dike, and Elizabeth ; granddaughter, Rebecca 
Goodell. Children: William, born May 13, 
1708; Mary, July 29, 1710; Elias, June 30, 
1714, married, March 31, 1742, Elizabeth 
Marble: Rebecca, 1715, married, January 17, 

1733, Eleazer Goodell, of Sutton ; David, 

April 11, 1720, married Sarah , son\ 

Thomas, born April II, 1745; Ebenezer, 
1722, baptized June 22, 1722, married Lydia 
Woodbury; Elizabeth, married Benoni Bailey; 
John, mentioned below. 

(IV) Lieutenant John (4), son of John 
(3) Witt, was born at Marlborough, Massa- 
chusetts, on the place settled by his father, 
where the descendants have since lived. He 
was a nephew of Captain Ebenezer Witt, of 
Brookfield, and he came to North Brookfield 
to settle as early as 1744, with his wife Sa- 
rah. They lived on what is lately known 
as the Cheever place. John Witt sold his 
farm to Samuel Cheever, July 19, 1769. He 
was one of the forty-eight charter members 
of the Second Church, formed May 28, 1752. 
He was a lieutenant in the militia in the In- 
dian wars. Four of his children only are 
recorded at North Brookfield, as follows: 
Benjamin, born August 15, 1750; Ivory, Oc- 
tober 20, 1752; Stephen,' August 15, 1754; 
Joseph, mentioned below. 

(V) Joseph, son of Lieutenant John (4) 
Witt, was born at Brookfield, January 3, 1757. 
He was a soldier in the revolution from 
Granby, in Captain Barton's company, Colonel 
Porter's regiment, in 1780, when he gave his 
age as twenty-two, his height as five feet seven 
inches. He was also in Captain Job Alvord's 
company. Colonel S. Murray's regiment in 
1780. His brother Ivory also came to Granby 
and served in the revolution from that town, 
and his brother Stephen was a soldier from 
South Hadley. Joseph remained in Granby 
and according to the census of 1790 had a 
family consisting of one male and one fe- 
male, doubtless himself and wife. John ac- 
cording to the same record had three sons 
under sixteen and three females in his family. 

(VI) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) Witt, 
was born after 1790 in Granby, died there in 
1856. He attended the district schools of 
his native town. He was a farmer all his life. 
Before his death he divided his property by 
deed among his children. He married (first) 
Mary Witt, his first cousin, thought to be 
daughter of Irving Witt; married (second) 
Rebecca Winship Tish, of Kingsbury, New 
York. Children all by first wife, born at 
Granby : Holland Joseph, died unmarried, 
aged twenty-one years ; Horace, mentioned 
below ; Henry, lived at Granby ; Louisa, died 
unmarried; Nancy, married Henry Graves, of 
Belchertown, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Horace, son of Joseph (2) Witt, 
was born in Granby, in January, 18 17, died 
there in December, 1876. He was educated 
in the public schools of his native town, and 



worked on his father's farm during his youth. 
After he came of age he followed farming 
on his own account in Granby. He was a 
progressive and enterprising man and pros- 
perous in business. To all his children he 
gave a good education. He was interested in 
public affairs, and was for many years a mem- 
ber of the school committee and an assessor 
of the town of Granby. He was highly re- 
spected and honored by all his townsmen. He 
was prominent also in the church. He mar- 
ried (first) Irene Smith, born in 1815, at 
Granby, died in 1863, daughter of Medad and 
Pamelia (Dickinson) Smith. Her father was 
a farmer in Granby. Married (second), 1865, 
Hannah Marshal, of Mechanic Falls, Maine. 
Children, all by first wife, born in Granby: 
1. Joseph Holland, born April 26, 1846, living 
in Denver, Colorado, has a son Webster and 
daughter Irene. 2. George Lucas, born Au- 
gust 20, 1848, farmer at Belchertown ; has 
one son, Joseph, and daughters, Mary, 
and Clara. 3. Mary Emma, born May 4, 
1 85 1, now living at Bridgeport, Connecticut. 
4. Edgar Clifton, born December 14, 1856, 
lives at Belchertown, a farmer ; has had six 
children ; four living: Henry, Effie, Earle, Clif- 
ton. 5. Maynard, born January 21, 1861, died 
June, 190 1, at Bridgeport; he assumed the 
prefix De, which, according to tradition, was 
formerly part of the name, and which the 
Worcester county and other branches of the 
family have also resumed ; was secretary of 
the Belknap Brass Company of Bridgeport, a 
well known and successful business man ; 
married Julia Stewart, who died in 1898; of 
their three children, Marshal Stewart, born 
March 5, 1894, is living with his aunt, Mary 
Emma Witt, of Bridgeport. 

The Pierpont line is traced 
PIERPONT back' to Robert de Pierpont, 

who came with the Con- 
queror to England. The seventh in descent 
from Robert was Sir Henry, of Holme Pier- 
pont, in right of his wife Annora, daughter 
of Michael Manvers, Lord of Holme. From 
this Henry it is ten generations to Robert, 
who was created Earl of Kingston, 1628, 
whose last male descendant was Evelyn Pier- 
pont, second duke of Kingston, who died 1773. 
The above Robert had a younger brother Wil- 
liam, supposed to be the father of James, 
mentioned below. 

(I) James Pierpont, immigrant ancestor, 
came to America with two sons, John, men- 
tioned below, and Robert. 

(II) John, son of James Pierpont, was 
born in London, England, in 1619, died in 
1682. He came to America with his father. 

He settled in Roxbury, Massachusetts, and 
married Thankful Stow. Children : Thankful 
born November 26, 1649, died young; John, 
July 22, 1651, died young; John, October 28, 
1652 ; Experience, January 4, 1655 ; Infant, 
August 4, 1657, died young; James, Janu- 
ary 4, 1659-60, mentioned below ; Ebenezer, 
December 21, 1661 ; Thankful, November 18, 
1663; Joseph, April 6, 1666; Benjamin, July 
26, 1668. 

(III) Rev. James (2), son of John Pier- 
pont, was born January 4, 1659-60, in Rox- 
bury, and graduated from Harvard College 
in 1681. He was ordained pastor of the First 
Church in New Haven, July 2, 1685, the suc- 
cessor of John Davenport. He remained here 
for thirty years, and became one of the 
founders of Yale College. He died November 
2, 1714, and is buried under the present Cen- 
ter Church. A memorial tablet in this church 
has upon it the chief facts of his life, the 
engraved arms of the Pierpont family, and 
the following inscription : "His gracious 
gifts and fervent piety, elegant and winning 
manners were devoutly spent in the service 
of his Lord and Master." He married (first) 
October 27, 1691, Abigail, daughter of Rev. 
John Davenport; she died February 3, 1692, 
aged twenty. He married (second) May 
30, 1694, at Hartford, Sarah, daughter of 
Rev. Joseph Haynes ; she died October 7, 1696 
aged twenty-three. He married (third) 1698, 
Alary, born July 3, 1673, died November 1, 
1740, daughter of Rev. Samuel Hooker, of 
Farmington, and granddaughter of Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, of Hartford. Child of sec- 
ond wife: Abigail, born September 19, 1696. 
Children of third wife: James, May 21, 1699, 
mentioned below ; Samuel, December 30, 1700, 
Mary, November 23, 1702; Joseph, October 1, 
1704; Benjamin, July 18, 1706, died Decem- 
ber 17, 1706; Benjamin, October 15, 1707, 
graduated from Yale College, 1726; Sarah, 
January 9, 1709, married Jonathan Edwards, 
the noted divine; Hezekiah, May 6, 1712. 

(IV) Rev. James (3), son of Rev. James 
(2) Pierpont, was born May 21, 1699, died 
June 18, 1776. He graduated from Yale Col- 
lege, 1718, became a professor in Yale, and 

a minister. He married (first) Sarah , 

who died September 28, 1753, aged forty- 
three. He married (second) March 28, 1754, 
Anne Sherman. Children of second wife: 
Evelyn, born March t6, 1755 ; Robert, June 
13, 1757; James, July 27, 1761, mentioned be- 
low; David, July 26, 1764. 

(V) James (4), son of Rev. James (3) 
Pierpont, was born July 27, 1761, in New 
Haven. He settled in early life in what is 
now the town of Morris, Litchfield county, 


Connecticut, where he was engaged for years educated in the public schools of his native 
in the manufacture of woolen goods. Later town of Litchfield, and in 1859 removed to 
he was occupied in farming. He married Paxton, Illinois, with his father and family, 
(first) September 28. 1782, Elizabeth, daugh- He graduated from the Bryant & Stratton 
ter of Charles and Anne (Huntington) Col- Business College in Chicago, Illinois, in 1867, 
lins. She died July 28, 1815, aged fifty- and engaged in mercantile life in Paxton, Illi- 
nine. He married (second) December 1.6, nois, until 1870, when he returned to Connec- 
1816, Lucy Crossman. Children of first wife: ticut for a visit, and being urged to remain 
Sherman, born June 29, 1783; John, April 6, east entered the grocery store of his cousin, 
1785: Sally, January 11, 1787; James, March the late Cornelius Pierpont, where he con- 
2. 1789-90; Elizabeth, May 28, 1792; Sarah, tinued until 1886, when he bought out the late 
July 21, 1795; Abby, October 13, 1797; Mr. Broderick and the firm of Curtiss & Pier- 
James, June 23, 1800. Child of second wife: pont was formed, which has later developed 
Leonard, mentioned below. into the large business called The Curtiss & 

(VI) Leonard, son of James (4) Pierpont, Pierpont Company with which Mr. Pierpont is 
was born October 28, 1819, in Litchfield, Con- still actively connected. In his youth he uni- 
necticut, and died in Paxton, Illinois, April ted with the Congregational church in Paxton 
10, 1874, where he had removed in 1859 with and brought his letter to the old College 
his family. He married Cynthia, daughter Street Church (Congregational) in New 
of Elisha and Lucretia (Mason) Turner. Her Haven. In more recent years he has been 
Grandfather Mason was a soldier in the rev- a devoted member of the Dwight Place 
olution. Children of Leonard and Cynthia Church in New Haven, serving as one of its 
Pierpont: 1. Leonard, born May 15, 1842. deacons. He married (first) October 12. 
Never married ; enlisted in the seventy-sixth 1875, Esther, daughter of William J. Pratt, 
Illinois Infantry Regiment at the beginning of New Haven, Connecticut. She died in 
of the civil war, and served all but one month 1885. He married (second) Mrs. Caroline G. 
of his period of enlistment, dying at Galves- (Moulthrop) Holbrook, December 29, 1891. 
ton, Texas, July 16, 1865 > to °k P art m the He na ^ one daughter by the first marriage, 
battle of Vicksburg and other battles. 2. Charlotte Cynthia, born November 30, 1878, 
Walter, born September 9, 1843 I never mar- now a teacher in the Dwight Training School 
ried ; enlisted in the first Connecticut Cavalry, of New Haven. His second wife had a 
Colonel Blakeslee, and was killed in one of daughter by her first marriage, Sara Moul- 
the engagements near Richmond, Virginia, throp Holbrook, born January 31, 1879. 
June 1, 1864. 3. Edward Sherman, born No- 

vember 22, 1844 ; never married ; enlisted in The exact origin of the Tif- 
the civil war in the Eighth Illinois Regiment TIFFANY fany family is difficult to as- 
of Volunteer Infantry and served about a year ; certain, but it is believed the 
killed in the charge on Fort Blakely, Mobile name and family originated in Italy, about 
Harbor, Alabama, April 9, 1865. 4. J. New- the time of the early crusades, and that some 
ton, mentioned below. 5. Mary Hooker, born member of the house, returning, settled in 
March 30, 1849; married, October 10, 1872, Brittany, France. From the time of the Nor- 
Henry C. Hall, of Paxton, Illinois ; children : man Conquest to 1730 the English left Brit- 
Clara W., born October 2, 1874, died May 24, tany at different periods, and it is from some 
1880: May Turner, born February I, 1877, of these English Tiffanys that the Americans 
married, December 26, 1899, George Shaw ; of that name are descended. The name is 
Bertha Melvina born June 23, 1879 ; Edith still frequently found in Brittany and Nor- 
Pierpont, born April 24, 1882 ; Henry Pier- mandy, and also in England and Ireland. Ac- 
pont, born June 14, 1885, died February 26, cording to one authority on English surnames 
1907. 6. Lucy, born January 20, 1853 \ mar- the name Tiffany is a corruption of Theopha- 
ried, January 23, 1884, W. Carey Foley ; chil- nia, a woman's first name, meaning light- 
dren : Mary Esther, born October 23, 1885, hearted, gay and spirited. Another authority 
died September 23, 1893 I Leonard Burnside, gave it as the name of a thin cloth, an equiv- 
born October 18, 1887 ; Vera Pierpont, born alent for "taffeta, a fine, smooth, silken stuff, 
March 13, 1893. 7- an d 8. James and John, remarkably glossy." Some other authorities 
twins, born October 22, 1855 ; James mar- on English surnames have devoted consider- 
ried, December 5, 1900, Bertha Augusta Yac- able space to prove that the name was taken 
kee, and John married, February 19, 1885, from Epiphany, with reference to the Feast 
Mattie H. Foley. of the Epiphany, the church festival, also 

(VII) J. Newton, son of Leonard Pier- called Twelfth Day, concluding the Christmas 
pont, was born February 6, 1847. He was holidays. The name as applied to a silk would 



thus mean Epiphany silk, or holiday silk. The 
coat-of-arms is as follows : Argent, chevron 
gules, three lions' heads, erased, of the sec- 
ond. Crest: A greyhound's head, erased, with 
a stag's foot in the mouth. Motto : Patria 

(I) Squire Humphrey Tiffany, immigrant 
ancestor, came from Yorkshire, England, it 
is supposed, and was in Massachusetts Bay 
Colony about the year 1660. In the records 
of the town of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, un- 
der date of January 22, 1663, appears the fol- 
lowing: "Humphrey permitted to be a so- 
journer and to buy or hire." At this time, 
therefore, he became a citizen of the town. 
Later he was a resident of Swansea, as ap- 
pears from the Swansea items in the Ply- 
mouth Colony records, as follows : "Sarah, 
the dau. of Humphrey Tiffany, and Elizabeth, 
his wife, was born sixth July 1683. He was 
killed by a stroke of lightning while on his 
way from Swansea to Boston." The follow- 
ing account of his death is given in the diary 
of Samuel Sewell, Publications of tne Massa- 
chusetts Historical Society, vol. 5, fifth series, 
page 88: "Wednesday, P. M., July 15, 1685. 
Very dark and great thunder and lightning. 
One Humphrey Tiffany and Frances Low, 
daughter of Antony Low, are slain with the 
lightning and thunder about a mile and a half 
beyond the Billinges Farm, the horse also 
slain, that they rode on and another horse 
in Company slain and his rider who held the 
garment on the Maid to steady it at the time 
the Stroke a coat or cloak, stoned, but not 
killed. Were coming to Boston. Antony Low 
being in Town the sad Bill was put up with 
(regards) of that solemn judgment of God; 
Fast-day Forenoon, July 15, 1685, 2 persons 
2 horses." Another record states that he was 
killed by lightning between Swansea and Bos- 
ton, and that for a long time a metal tablet 
was affixed to the tree beneath which he 
sought shelter. There was an inscription on 
the tree setting forth the incident and con- 
cluding with the following : 

Squire Humphrey Tiffany 

And Mistress Low 
By a stroke of lightning 

Into Eternity did go. 

His wife, "Mistress Elizabeth Tiffany," 
qualified before the general court as execu- 
trix of her husband's estate. Children, re- 
corded in Swansea : James ; Thomas ; Ebene- 
zer ; Consider, mentioned below ; Sarah, born 
July 6, 1683 ; Hezekiah, drowned in the 
Swanzey river, December 4, 1685. 

(II) Consider, son of Humphrey Tiffany, 
married (first) . He married (sec- 

ond), in Lyme, Connecticut, January 23, 1753, 
Mary Davis. Little is known of him except 
that he was a landholder and a farmer. A 
deed dated Lyme, Connecticut, July 13, 1756, 
identifies Sergeant Consider Tiffany as his 
eldest son. Children of first wife : Consider, 
born March 15, 1730, mentioned below; Dan- 
iel, Samuel, 1740, Lyme. Children of second 
wife: Timothy, born November 24, 1754; 
Lyme: Titus, May 9, 1755, Lyme. 

(Ill) Consider (2), son of Consider (1) 
Tiffany, was born March 15, 1730, in Lyme, 
died at Hartland, June 19, 1796. He married, 
in Lyme, Sarah Wilder, born August 13, 1738, 
Lyme, died November 7, 18 18, Hartland, Con- 
necticut. He lived in Lyme until after the 
birth of his first three children. Here he 
was a farmer and carried on a small business 
as storekeeper. At Hartland, where his other 
children were born, he was engaged in the 
same business but on a much larger scale. He 
transacted a great amount of business and was 
always careful to enforce his rights. At one 
time he was a school teacher, and it is said 
that when he entered upon this work it was 
the first time he had ever been in school. It 
is further stated that he was a good teacher 
and a close student. He was something of an 
astronomer, and is said to have calculated an 
almanac, but no copy of it has been found. 
He was also a writer of prose and poetry, 
and kept diaries in which he recorded his daily 
adventures. One of these covers the period 
of the French and Indian war, in 1756, and 
another the revolution. On his death he left 
the latter to his eldest son, with instructions 
that it was to be transmitted from eldest son 
to eldest son, as an heirloom. It is now in 
possession of Henry Tiffany, of Clyde, Ohio, 
and forms a valuable addition to the revolu- 
tionary history of the country, written from 
the Tory standpoint. He was a member of 
the Church of England and had little patience 
with the dissenting sects. During the revo- 
lution he was loyal not only to the English 
church, but also to the English crown. In 
1778 he was confined to his farm in Hart- 
land because of his outspoken Toryism and 
remained there for fifteen months. At the 
end of that time, hearing that he was about 
to be released, he wrote to the chairman of the 
committee, asking that he might be allowed 
to remain where he was, as he still retained 
the same sentiments and had no intention of 
being drafted for the continental army. Dur- 
ing the French and Indian campaign in 1756 
he was sergeant of Captain William Lamson's 
company, and after his return joined another 
military company, which probably had its 
headquarters in Boston. He had an extensive 



library for those times. A list of the books 
contained in it in 1788 has been found in a 
book of sermons in his own handwriting. His 
will, dated February 7, 1778, is a character- 
istic document and has been preserved. Chil- 
dren : Jemima, born October 12, 1756, Lyme; 
Ephraim, November 8, 1758, mentioned be- 
low; Dorothy, June 19, 1762, Lyme; Levi, 
April 2$, 1766, Hartland ; Consider, March 
12, 1769, Hartland ; Betsey Wilder, February 
25, 1772, Hartland. 

(IV) Ephraim, son of Consider (2) Tif- 
fany, was born November 8, 1758, in Lyme, 
and married, in Hartland. February 27, 1783, 
Anna Harger. born 1758, died December 17, 
1824, Barkhamsted, Connecticut. He died in 
Barkhamsted, April 7, 1818. Children, born 
in Barkhamsted : Timothy, November, 1783 ; 
Joel, June 29, 1785, mentioned below; Sally; 
Russell, 1789 or 1790; Ephraim, 1792; Philo- 
men, May, 1801 ; daughter, died young; 
daughter, died young. 

(V) Joel, son of Ephraim Tiffany, was 
born June 29, 1785, at Barkhamsted, died 
September 15, 1870. He married there 1804- 
05, Hannah Wilder, born January 18, 1783, 
Barkhamsted, died November 20, 1853. He 
was a carpenter and joiner by trade. He was 
blind in the later years of his life. Children, 
born in Barkhamsted : Anna, May, 1806, died 
September, 1807 ; Henry, September 8, 1807 ; 
Elijah, January 8, 1810; Joel, September 6, 
1812; James, November 6, 1814; William, 
January 12, 1818, mentioned below ; Ann Wal- 
lace, December n, 1819; Hannah. November 
27, 1823. 

(VI) William, son of Joel Tiffany, was 
born January 12, 1819, died March 29, 1899. 
He received a common school education, and 
was in the lumber business most of his life. 
He was representative to the legislature for 
a term. In politics he was a Republican and 
an Abolitionist. He married, January 25, 
1846, Elizabeth Maria, born Simsbury, April 

21, 1823, died in 1895, daughter of George 
and Edna (Case) Cornish. Children, born in 
Barkhamsted : Frances Elizabeth, November 

22, 1847; Leverett Williams, September 21, 
1850, mentioned below ; Ellen Jane Torbett, 
December 27, 1855 ; Mary Edna, May 4, 
1859; Dwight, March 21, 1861. 

(VII) Leverett Williams, son of William 
Tiffany, was born at Barkhamsted, Connecti- 
cut, September 21, 1850. He attended the 
public schools of his native town, and at the 
age of nineteen entered into a partnership with 
his brother-in-law, conducting a general store 
at Barkhamsted from 1869 to l &7 2 < and at 
New Hartford from 1872 to 1881. In 1882 
Mr. Tiffany and Mr. Taylor established the 

Winsted Hosiery Company, of which Mr. 
Taylor was agent and Mr. Tiffany secretary. 
The original capital stock was $50,000, and 
the mill was a frame building two stories and 
a half high, fifty by a hundred feet. Much 
of the time of Mr. Tiffany was devoted to 
the selling of the goods. In 1888 Mr. Tif- 
fany organized the New England Knitting 
Company, with a capital of $50,000, and be- 
came the general manager. This company has 
been highly prosperous, having two mills and 
employing about two hundred hands. Mr. 
Tiffany is also manager of the Winsted Yarn 
Company, director of the Winsted Hosiery 
Company, of the New England Pin Company, 
of the Carter & Hakes Machine Company, and 
of the Hulbert National Bank. He owns a 
farm of one hundred and thirty-five acres, 
part of which lies within the borough of Win- 
sted, and resides there. He attends the First 
Congregational Church. He married, No- 
vember 6, 1873, Katherine E., born at Ber- 
lin, Connecticut, daughter of Rev. John Rob- 
inson and Catherine (Riley) Freeman (see 
Freeman VIII). Children: Mabel Freeman, 
born June 3, 1875, Canterbury, Connecticut, 
died October 7, 1898; Harold Freeman, born 
at New Hartford, June 6, 1881, died Septem- 
ber 9, 1881 ; Helen Freeman, January 3, 1889; 
Margaret Cornish, born at Winsted, Novem- 
ber 15, 1891 ; Katherine E., March 30, 1896. 

(The Freeman Line). 

The surname Freeman is of ancient Eng- 
lish origin. The coat-of-arms : Three loz- 
enges or. Crest: A demi-lion rampant gules, 
holding between his paws a like lozenge. Mot- 
to: Liber et audax. 

(I) Edmund Freeman, immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England in 1590, and came in the 
ship "Abigail" in July, 1635, with wife Eliza- 
beth and children Alice, Edmund, Elizabeth 
and John. He settled first in Lynn, Massa- 
chusetts, as early as 1635. Lewis says in his 
history of Lynn: "This year (1635) many 
new inhabitants appear in Lynn, and among 
them worthy of note Mr. Edmund Freeman, 
who presented to the colony twenty corslets 
or pieces of plate armor.'' He was subse- 
quently of the Plymouth colony, and with nine 
associates was soon recognized by the gov- 
ernment as a suitable person to originate a 
new settlement. He was admitted a freeman 
at Plymouth, January 2, 1637, and after being 
a short time a resident of Duxbury settled in 
what was incorporated later as the town of 
Sandwich. Most of the grantees of this town 
were formerly of Lynn. Freeman had the 
largest grant and was evidently the foremost 
man in the enterprise. He was elected assist- 

1 62 


ant to the governor and commissioner to hear 
and determine causes within the several con- 
tiguous townships. He was one of the first 
judges of the select court of Plymouth county. 
During the persecution of the Quakers he op- 
posed the course of the government, and was 
once fined ten shillings for refusing to aid in 
the baiting of Friends under pretence of the 
law. "Pre-eminently respected, always fixed 
in principle and decisive in action, neverthe- 
less quiet and unobtrusive, a counselor and 
leader without ambitious ends in view, of un- 
compromising integrity and of sound judg- 
ment, the symmetry of his entire character 
furnished an example that is a rich legacy to 
his descendants." He died in 1682, at the 
advanced age of ninety-two. His will is dated 
June 21, 1682, and was offered for probate 
November 2, 1682. He was buried on his 
own land, on the hill in the rear of his dwell- 
ing house at Sandwich. It is the oldest burial 
place in the town. His grave and that of his 
wife are marked by two boulders which he 
himself placed in position after his wife died, 
and they are called, from a fancied resem- 
blance, "the saddle and pillion." His home 
was a mile and a quarter west of the town 
hall and near the junction of the old and 
new county roads to the cape. He married 

Elizabeth 1, who died February 14, 

1675-76. Children : Alice, married Deacon 
William Paddy ; Edmund, mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth, born 1625; John, 1627; Mar}-, 
married Edward Perry. 

(II) Edmund (2), son of Edmund (1) 
Freeman, was born in England about 1625. 
He was a planter at Sandwich, and deputy 
to the general court from that town in 1669 
and six years afterward. He married (first) 
Rebecca, daughter of Governor Thomas and 
Patience (Brewster) Prence, granddaughter 
of Elder William Brewster, of the "May- 
flower" Pilgrims. Governor Prence and El- 
der Brewster were famous historic characters 
in the early colonial days. A sketch of Gov- 
ernor Brewster will be found elsewhere in 
this work. Edmund Freeman married (sec- 
ond), July 18, 165 1, Margaret Perry. Chil- 
dren, born at Sandwich: Rebecca; Margaret, 
October 2. 1652; Edmund, mentioned below; 
Alice, March 29, 1658 ; Rachel, September 4, 
1659; Sarah, February 6, 1662; Deborah, Au- 
gust 9, 1665. 

(TTI) Edmund (3), son of Edmund (2) 
Freeman, was born at Sandwich, October 5, 

1655. He married Sarah . Children, 

born at Sandwich : Edmund, mentioned be- 
low ; Benjamin, January 6, 1685-86: Mary, 
March 13, 1687; John, June 12, 1693; Thom- 
as, March 26, 1696. 

(IV) Edmund (4), son of Edmund (3) 
Freeman, was born at Sandwich, August 30. 
1683, died June 1, 1766. He removed with 
his family to Mansfield, Connecticut, late in 
life. His will was dated May 28, 1765, proved 
June 12, 1766. He lived in the south parish 
of Mansfield. He married Keziah Presbury, 
who died at Mansfield, April 20, 1764. Chil- 
dren, born at Sandwich : Edmund, March 14 
1708-09; Lydia, April 8, 1710; Edmund, Sep- 
tember 30, 1711; Prince, March 13, 1713; 
Stephen, mentioned below ; Sylvanus, Sep- 
tember 7, 17 16; Nathaniel, March 31, 17 18; 
Keziah, July 7, 1719; Sarah, January 17, 
1720; Deborah, April 17, 1722; Skiffe, De- 
cember 28, 1723; Thomas, August 17, 1725; 
Abigail, February 20, 1726-27 ; Margaret, 
August 21, 1729. 

(V) Stephen, son of Edmund (4) Free- 
man, was born at Sandwich, August 14, 1714 
died May 16, 1776. He removed from Sand- 
wich to Mansfield about 1738. He married. 
October 3, 1736, Hannah, daughter of Joseph 
and Lydia (Howland) Jenkins, of Great 
Marshes. Children, born at Sandwich and 
Mansfield : Keziah, September 24, 1737 ; Jo- 
seph, August 15, 1739; Stephen, January 13. 
1740; Thomas, mentioned below; Elizabeth, 
July 19, 1745; John, March 15, 1747; Han- 
nah, December 19, 175 1 ; Deborah, November 
1, 1753, and one other. 

(VI) Thomas, son of Stephen Freeman. 
was born May 1, 1743. He married Sarah 
Southworth, of Ashford. She married (sec- 
ond) — Dimmick. Children of Thomas 

Freeman, born at Mansfield, but not re- 
corded: Stephen, died young; Sarah, died 
young; Nathaniel, mentioned below; Stephen 
died in Vermont ; Sarah ; Southworth, and two 

(VII) Rev. Nathaniel, son of Thomas 
Freeman, was born at Mansfield. He mar- 
ried Mary Fox. They had eleven children, 
among whom were : Harriet, resided in New 
York ; Rev. John Robinson, mentioned be- 
low ; Dr. Nathaniel ; Sophia. 

(VIII) Rev. John Robinson, son of Rev. 
Nathaniel Freeman, was a minister at Chap- 
lin, Connecticut. He married Catherine Riley, 
Their daughter, Katherine E., married Lev- 
erett W. Tiffany (see Tiffany VII). 

Anthony Home was born at 
HORNE Galleen, Kings county, Ireland. 

September 15, 1808, died at 
Winsted, Connecticut, April 3, 1873. He had 
a thorough education in his native parish. His 
ancestors were of an old English family, com- 
ing' to Ireland from England about 1685, and 
had larg-e landed estates there. He was a 



large landowner. He came to America in 
1849 and located at Winsted, Connecticut, 
where he spent the remainder of his days. For 
twenty-five years he was in the employ of the 
Naugatuck railroad. He retired from active 
business a few years before he died. He was 
a member of the Protestant Episcopal church. 
He married, November 10, 1837, Ann, born 
at Ballykillmurry, county Kings, Ireland, May 
10, 1808, died in -Winsted, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1882, daughter of James and Mar- 
tha Belton. She was the seventeenth child 
of twenty-one born to her parents, and four of 
her brothers were officers in the British army. 
Children of Anthony Home: 1. Matilda, 
married Henry Abel, and had William H., 
George F. and Henry B. Abel. 2. William 
A., druggist in Los Angeles, California; mar- 
ried a daughter of General Price, of Missouri, 
and has two children. 3. Colonel Samuel Bel- 
ton, mentioned below. 4. John J., of Winsted, 
was in the civil war ; married Lucy Roiden- 
bow ; children r John Belton, graduate of 
Harvard College, chief engineer of the West- 
ern Electric Company ; Agnes, married John 
Spittle, superintendent of the Torrington Gas 
and Electric Light Company ; Elizabeth B., 
professional nurse in the Roosevelt Hospital, 
New York. 5. Robert E., farmer, Colebrook, 
Connecticut ; served in the civil war and was 
twice wounded ; married Sophia Hulbert ; chil- 
dren, Alice and Emma. 

(II) Colonel Samuel Belton, son of An- 
thony Home, was bora at Balleek, parish of 
Durrow, county Kings, Ireland, March 3, 
1843. Through his mother he is descended 
from the Stuarts of Scotland, and his grand- 
uncle was on Wellington's staff and was 
wounded at the battle of Waterloo. He was 
a young lad when the family came to America 
in 1850, following the father, who the previous 
year came to make his home here. He at- 
tended the public schools of Winsted, Con- 
necticut, but when he was eleven years old 
began to work in the knife shop, bolt shop 
and pin shop in Winsted. He left the work 
bench to enlist in the Union army in the civil 
war. Winsted was the first town in Connecti- 
cut to hold a war meeting and call for volun- 
teers, April 15, 1861, the very day on which 
President Lincoln's call for seventy-five thou- 
sand troops was telegraphed over the country. 
Horne was the first to enlist in what became 
Company K, Second Regiment Connecticut 
Infantry, for three months. He took part in 
the battle of Bull Run and was discharged at 
the end of his period of enlistment, in Au- 
gust, but re-enlisted October n, 1861, for 
three years in Company E, Eleventh Regiment 
Connecticut Volunteers. He was promoted 

step by step and became captain of his com- 
pany. He was twice wounded at the battle of 
Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864. When he re- 
turned to duty he was appointed provost- 
marshal of the Eighteenth Army Corps and 
assigned to the staff of General Ord. He was 
in charge of Fort Harrison, Virginia, Sep- 
tember 29, 1864, when he was ordered to de- 
liver a message to the advance line in action, 
and his horse was struck by a cannon ball 
while on the dead run. When the horse fell, 
Horne was thrown to the ground, breaking 
three ribs and causing severe internal in- 
juries, but. crashed and bleeding, he made his 
way forward and delivered his message near 
the fort, then fell in a faint. On account of 
disability from his injuries, he was discharged 
November 17, 1864. For his heroism he was 
awarded a Congressional medal of honor. 
But five of these medals are held in this state. 
This is the official notification of the award : 

Subject, Medal of Honor. 

War Department, Washington, November 4, 1897. 

File No. R. & P. 488,835. 

Captain Samuel B. Horne, 

Bureau of Labor Statistics, Hartford, Conn. 

Sir : You are hereby notified that, by direction 
of the President, and under the provisions of the 
Act of Congress approved March 3, 1863, providing 
for the presentation of medals of honor to such offi- 
cers, non-commissioned officers and privates, as have 
most distinguished themselves in action, a "Con- 
gressional Medal of Honor" has this day been 
presented to you for Most Distinguished Gallan- 
try in Action, the following being a statement of 
the particular service, viz: 

"At Fort Harrison, Va., September 29th, 1864, 
this officer, then serving as captain of the Elev- 
enth Connecticut Volunteers, and acting as aide- 
de-camp to General Ord, while carrying an im- 
portant message on the field was wounded and 
his horse killed, but, notwithstanding his severe 
wounds and sufferings, he continued on his way, 
delivered the order, and then joined his General, 
but had to be taken to the rear on account of in- 
juries received." The medal will be forwarded 
by registered mail as soon as it shall have been 
engraved. Respectfully, 

R. A. Alger, 

Secretary of War. 

Afterward Captain Horne became a volun- 
teer aide on the staff of General Weitzel, com- 
mander of the Eighteenth Army Corps, and 
with him and his army entered the city of 
Richmond the morning of the evacuation. 
Later he was again commissioned captain of 
his old regiment, and assigned to duty as pro- 
vost-marshal of Pulaski county, Virginia. 
After the war he attended Fairview Seminary, 
and studied law in the office of Florimond D. 
Fyler, of Winsted. He was admitted to the 
bar of Litchfield county in 1869, and began 
to practice at Grand Rapids, Michigan, where 
he continued for ten years in partnership with 
Judge William K. Reck, under the firm name 



of Reck & Home. He was master in chan- 
cery in Michigan. He returned to Winsted, 
May 30, 1879, an d since then has been in gen- 
eral practice in that town. He has been dis- 
tinguished not only in military life and in his 
profession, but in public life. He is a Repub- 
lican of prominence. In 1884 he represented 
the town of Winchester in the general assem- 
bly. He has been a prominent campaign 
speaker and a delegate to many county and 
state conventions of his party. He was on 
the staff of Governor Lounsbury in 1888-89, 
and has the rank of colonel. He was for four 
years consul to the Danish West Indies, 1890- 
94, and made an excellent record in this 
service. In 1895 he was appointed labor com- 
missioner of the state of Connecticut and 
served four years. He is a prominent mem- 
ber of the Grand Army of the Republic and 
was the first commander of the local post, 
and commander of the Grand Army of the 
state, being now commander of Palmer Post, 
No. 336, Grand Army. He is a member of 
the Military Order of the Loyal Legion, and 
has been senior vice-commander of the Medal 
of Honor Legion of the United States. He 
is a charter member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, of Winsted. In re- 
ligion he is an Episcopalian. He has been a 
member of St. Andrews Lodge of Free 
Masons since 1864. His home is at Belton 
Terrace, a beautiful country estate in Win- 
sted, and he has large real estate interests in 
the town. He has traveled extensively here 
and in Europe, South and Central America, 
and spends his winters every year in Florida. 

"Colonel Home," said the Hartford Post, 
June 27, 1909, "is one of the best-known men 
in the state, a former member of the legisla- 
ture, state labor commissioner, ex-United 
States consul to the Danish West Indies, 
prominent in the highest Grand Army circles, 
and active in professional and social life, has 
an army record of which any man might well 
be proud, and is one of the five wearers in 
Connecticut of the Medal of Honor, corre- 
sponding to the Victoria Cross, conferred for 
heroism on the field of battle. And, as be- 
comes the real hero, he not only makes no ex- 
ploitation of this distinguished honor, but 
never refers to it in conversation unless the 
subject is brought up by others." 

He married, October 11, 1871, Etta D., 
Bartlett, born October 23, 1854, in South 
Wayne, Maine, a descendant of General Israel 
Putnam, of revolutionary fame, daughter of 
John F. and Sarah (Frohock) Bartlett. They 
had but one child, Belle B., born July 2, 1872, 
married Edward F. Lawton, superintendent 
of the Hartford Electric Light Company, and 

they have one child, Edwin Home Lawton, 
born January 8, 19 10. 

Edward Thurston, immi- 
THURSTON grant ancestor, was the 

first of the name in the 
colony of Rhode Island, and must have been 
there some time before 1647, at least long 
enough to attend to the preliminaries of his 
marriage, which took place in June, 1647. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Adam Mott, 
who came from Cambridge, England, when 
thirty-nine years of age, with his wife Sarah, 
aged thirty-one, four children by a former 
wife, and Mary Lott, a daughter of Sarah by 
a former husband. They were passengers 
from London for New England, in the "De- 
fence," in July, 1634. Elizabeth, born 1628, 
married Edward Thurston, and in the Cod- 
dington burying ground, Newport, stones of 
Elizabeth and their sons Daniel, Samuel and 
others are still standing. Their marriage was 
the third on the record of the Society of 
Friends at Newport. Edward Thurston is 
mentioned in the colonial records as a free- 
man in 1655. He was also commissioner, 
assistant and deputy from Newport from 1663 
to 1690. On August 26, 1686, he, with others, 
signed an address from the Quakers of Rhode 
Island to the king. His wife died September 
2, 1694, aged sixty-seven, and he died March 
I, 1707, aged about ninety. Children: Sarah, 
born March 10, 1648 ; Elizabeth, February, 
1650; Edward, April 1, 1652, mentioned be- 
low ; Ellen, March, 1655 ; Mary, February, 
1657; Jonathan, January 4, 1659; Daniel, 
April, 1661 : Rebecca, April, 1662; John, De- 
cember, 1664; Content, June, 1667; Samuel, 
August 24, 1669; Thomas, October 8, 1671. 

(II) Edward (2), son of Edward (1) 
Thurston, was born in Newport, April 1, 
1652. He married Susanna, daughter of Wil- 
liam Jefferay, who married, about 1640, Mary, 
died after 1675, daughter of Jeremiah and 
Priscilla (Grover) Gould. William Jefferay 
was born in 1591, at Chiddingly Manor, Sus- 
sex county, England, where his father and 
ancestors lived, and took his degree at Cam- 
bridge ; he was at Weymouth, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1623 ; he was a friend of Rev. 
William Blackstone, it seems ; was at Salem 
for a time, and went to Newport earlier than 
1652 ; died January 2, 1675, and was buried 
at Newport ; was son of William, son of 
Thomas, son of William, son of John, son of 
William, son of Syom. Edward Thurston 
was a freeman in Newport, May 6, 1679, died 
December 7, 1690, aged thirty-eight. Chil- 
dren : Edward, born 1678 ; William, 1680 ; 
Abigail, April 3, 1686; Priscilla, married. 



April 16, 1713, Job Lawton ; Jonathan, men- 
tioned below. 

(III) Jonathan, youngest child of Edward 
(2) Thurston, was baptized at Newport, Oc- 
tober 9, 1719, in Trinity Church, adult. He 
married (first) Phebe, sister of William and 
John Holmes, and she died March 31, 1734, 
aged thirty-nine. He married (second) Au- 
gust 26, 1736, Mehitable Claghorn, who died 
September 7, 1745, aged thirty-eight. He died 
April 13, 1749, aged sixty-one. His will was 
dated March 31, 1749, proved May 1, 1749. 
He was a merchant in Newport. He handed 
down the family coat-of-arms to his son Jona- 
than. Children : John, born August 17, 1723, 
mentioned below; Mary, May 2, 1725; Jona- 
than, baptized May 2, 1725; Peleg, baptized 
July 16, 1727, died October 20, 1727; William, 
born October 7, 1728; Peleg, baptized Decem- 
ber 20, 1729, died December 29, 1729; De- 
borah, baptized June 27, 1731. died Novem- 
ber 20, 1749; Thomas, baptized July 3, 1737; 
Phebe, baptized June 22, 1740; Peleg, bap- 
tized April 4, 1742, died August 16, 1742; 
Edward, baptized August 28, 1743, died Sep- 
tember 20, 1759. 

(IV) Captain John, son of Jonathan Thurs- 
ton, was born in Newport, August 17, 1723. 
He married, May 10, 1746, Elizabeth Oxx, 
born June 14, 1725, died March 25, 1793. He 
was a sea captain in Newport, and died Au- 
gust 6, 1794! He had the family coat-of-arms. 
Children: John, born May 31, 1747; Phebe, 
April 14, 1749; Samuel, June 4, 1751 ; Peleg, 
May 28, 1753: Jonathan, April 25, 1755, men- 
tioned below: Edward, April 12, 1759. 

(V) Jonathan (2), son of Captain John 
Thurston, was born at Newport, April 25, 
1755. He married Hannah Beebe, who died 
September 8, 1789, aged forty-one. Children: 
Edward, born October 29, 1778, mentioned 
below ; Christopher, about 1780. 

(VI) Edward, son of Jonathan (2) Thurs- 
ton, was born in Newport, October 29, 1778. 
He married (first) in June, 1806, Catharine 
Hubbard, of Catskill, New York, and he mar- 
ried (second) October 7, 1810, Eliza Fair- 
child, who died April 10, 1839. He died July 
8, 185 1. He lived in Brooklyn, New York. 
Children : Henry Christopher, born March 
24, 1807, mentioned below; Robert F., July 
8, 181 1 ; Hannah Beebe, November 15, 1813; 
Mary, October 10, 1816, died August 6, 1817; 
Mary Eliza, born February, 1820. 

(VII) Henry Christopher, son of Edward 
Thurston, was born in Brooklyn, New York, 
March 24, 1807. He married (first) Novem- 
ber 28, 1830, Catharine Smith, of Catskill, 
New York, who died March n, 1840, aged 
thirty-two. He married (second) July 6, 1842, 

Almira Allen Smith, of Green River, New 
York. He was a merchant at Ashley Falls, 
Massachusetts, and died June 6, 1875. His 
wife died September 6, 1879. Children: 1. 
Henry Smith, born January 18, 1832, a book- 
keeper in Westfield, Massachusetts ; married, 
April 7, 1855, Jennie Colton ; no children. 
2 and 3. Harriet and Marietta (twins), born 
May 9, 1834 ; Harriet died September 23, 
1835 ; Marietta died May 30, 1834. 4. Har- 
riet Evaline, born July 3, 1836, married, July 
6, 1852, Eugene Decker, a carpenter in Falls 
Village, Connecticut ; children : Alice, John, 
Frank, Madge and Ina Decker. 5. Mary E., 
born November 10, 1844, married, 1874, 
Charles S. Cook, a farmer in Palmerstown, 
Connecticut ; no children. 6. Alice Rosa, born 
May 26, 1847, married, June 29, 189 1, Joseph 
Petit, of Winsted. 7. Esther Anna, born Oc- 
tober 23, 1849. 8. Albert, January 8, 1853, 
died March 20, 1853. 9. William A., men- 
tioned below. 

(VIII) William A., youngest child of 
Henry Christopher Thurston, was born at 
Ashley Falls, Massachusetts, March 13, 1854. 
He was educated in the public schools, at the 
academy at Ashley Falls, and the Eastman 
Business College, at Poughkeepsie, New York. 
He worked as clerk in his father's store at 
Ashley Falls until he was nineteen years old, 
then went to Rochester, New York, where he 
learned the trade of tinsmith and plumber. In 
less than two years he came to Connecticut, 
and worked at his trade for four years at 
Norwich. He embarked in business on his 
own account at Mill River in 1880, and had 
a plumbing and tinsmith shop there until 1883, 
when he came to Norfolk, Connecticut, where 
he has been in the same line of business to 
the present time. He has been successful in 
business and is a substantial and influential 
citizen. Fie has, in addition to his plumbing 
and heating business, a hardware and house- 
furnishing store. In politics he is a Republi- 
can, and is one of the board of selectmen of 
the town of Norfolk (1910). He has been 
constable of the town and member of its board 
of relief. He represented the town in the gen- 
eral assembly in 1909, and served on the com- 
mittee on capitol furnishings and grounds. 
He is a member of Western Star Lodge, No. 
37, Free and Accepted Masons, of Norfolk, 
of which he has been worshipful master ; of 
Royal Arch Masons ; of Royal and Select 
Masters of Winsted ; of Laurel Chapter, Or- 
der of Eastern Star, of which he has been 
patron, and of Wangum Council, Royal Ar- 
canum. In religion he is a Methodist. He 
married, December 25, 1875, Frances E., born 
October 14, 1852, daughter of Frank and 



Lucy (Mason) Hubbard. Children: Clara 
May. born February 8, 1879, died June 17, 
1880; Lena May, born March 18, 1881, mar- 
ried Harry Atwood, of Norfolk, a carpenter; 
Ruby Belle, born January 5, 1884. 

Rev. George Tyler Hewlett 
HEWLETT lived at Bristol, England. 
(II) George Tyler (2), son 
of Rev. George Tyler (1) Hewlett, came 
from Bristol, England, in 1857, and settled at 
New Haven, Connecticut. He married Mary 
Ann, daughter of Rev. William Bartlett Stad- 
dan, of Bristol, England. 

(Ill) Major George Tyler (3), son of 
George Tyler (2) Hewlett, was born at New 
Haven, September 19, 1861. He attended the 
public schools of his native city. He began 
his business career as a boy in the employ of 
Sargeant & Company of New Haven, and for 
a few years he was with a New York import- 
ing house. Since 1883 he has been employed 
by the board of education and has been its 
secretary since 1902. He is well known in 
military circles. He became a member of the 
Second Company, Governor's Foot Guard, 
May, 1895, and successively attained the rank 
of corporal, sergeant, fourth, third, second 
and first lieutenant, and captain of that ancient 
and celebrated organization. He was commis- 
sioned major in August, 1909. A magnificent 
military ball in honor of Major Hewlett was 
given in the armory early in the winter fol- 
lowing. The Governor's Foot Guard was 
called into being by the imminence of civil 
war. Sixty-five gentlemen "of influence and 
respectability met at New Haven" December 
28, 1774, and signed article of agreement to 
form the company, meeting thereafter every 
week and drilling faithfully. A uniform was 
adopted February 2, 1775, and the Governor's 
Second Company of Guards was chartered by 
the Colonial Assembly, March 2, 1775, being 
the second corps chartered in Connecticut, and 
the third in the United States. Benedict Ar- 
nold, the same Benedict of infamous memory 
in later years, was the first captain. When 
the Lexington alarm came, the company voted 
to march to Cambridge and offer its services 
to the patriots' cause. Rev. Jonathan Edwards 
addressed the company and a large throng of 
citizens on the day the company marched 
away. Captain Arnold had to threaten to use 
force before the selectmen of the town would 
deliver the keys of the powder house and al- 
low his men to provide themselves with pow- 
der. The people of New Haven were not all 
of one mind respecting the war. At Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, the company was quar- 
tered in the fine old mansion of Lieutenant- 

Governor Oliver, who was a Loyalist, and it 
being the only company in the American army 
in uniform, it was assigned to special duties 
which to the soldier's eye required a uniform. 
Arnold was nominally captain until May, 
1777, when he was promoted to colonel and 
later to general. A dozen men from the 
Guards joined Arnold's ill-starred expedition 
against Quebec. Hezekiah Smith succeeded 
Arnold as captain. The company returned to 
New Haven and thereafter took orders direct 
from the governor. During all the history of 
the organization it has been made up in mem- 
bership from the most substantial citizens, 
merchants, manufacturers and professional 
men, and it has had a long list of distin- 
guished men as officers. In 1809 the Second 
Company of Governor's Horse Guard was 
organized, and since then the older company 
has been designated as the Foot Guard. The 
charter was amended in October, 1809, to per- 
mit the enlistment of one hundred and eight- 
een instead of sixty-five men, and making the 
officers comprise eight corporals, eight ser- 
geants, four lieutenants and a captain. The 
company was active in the war of 1812, doing 
good service during the riots and on the alarm 
of 1814. It enlisted as Company K, Sixth 
Connecticut Regiment, in the war of 1861-65, 
and also enlisted for the Spanish-American 
war of 1898, but was not mustered into serv- 

Major Hewlett married, December 12, 1883, 
Nettie Laura Wilson, born November 2, 
i860, died November 8, 1894, daughter of 
Granville Wilson, of Fairhaven, Connecticut. 
Children : George Wilson, born November 27, 
1885 ; Samuel Tyler, August 6, 1887; Horace 
Barnes, June 2J, 1889 ; William Staddan, July 
10, 1891. The family resides at 443 Edge- 
wood avenue, New Haven. 

Robbins is a very old and nu- 
• ROBBINS merous surname in England, 
derived from the personal 
name, Robin, and identical with Robinson in 
derivation. There have been many prominent 
men of this family both in England and 

(I) John Robbins, progenitor of this fam- 
ily, lived at Hedingworth, Leicestershire, 
England, and his ancestors doubtless lived 
there for generations before him, though the 
lineage has not been traced. The name was 
common for many generations in that section. 
He was a large landowner and a man of sub- 
stance. He died at Hedingworth, August 12, 
1680, probably about ninety years of age. His 
wife Hester was buried there August 7, 1697. 
Children : John, mentioned below ; Nicholas, 



settled in Duxbury, Massachusetts ; Thomas 
settled in Duxbury ; Samuel, settled in Salis- 
bury, Massachusetts, where he died in 1665, 
leaving a will from which the remainder of 
the family is identified and the relationship 
established ; Joseph, remained in England. 

(II) "Gentleman" John (2), son of John 
(1) Robbins, was born at Hedingworth, Eng- 
land. He settled at Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
as early as 1638. He was a man of means 
and high social standing, whence the title 
'"gentleman" given to him by historians. He 
had a grant of land at Wethersfield, October 
10, 1638, and other grants later. He was 
selectman in 1652 ; deputy to the general court 
in 1653-56-57-59. He died June 27, 1660, and 
his inventory amounted to five hundred and 
seventy-nine pounds, nineteen shillings, four 
pence. He married, about the middle of Sep- 
tember, 1639, Mary, daughter or sister of 
Governor Thomas and Elizabeth Welles. The 
estate was distributed to the children by order 
of the court dated June 5, 1662. Children: 
Mary, born January 20, 1641-42, married 
Elizur Kimberly, schoolmaster ; Hannah, 
April 30, 1643, married Deacon William 
Warner; Comfort, October 12, 1646, married 
Theophilus Sherman ; John, April 29, 1649 > 
Joshua, mentioned below ; Samuel, born and 
died November, 1659. 

(III) Captain Joshua, son of "Gentleman" 
John (2) Robbins, was born at Wethersfield, 
October 21, 1651-52, died there December 15, 
1738. He held various offices of trust and 
honor in the town between 1678 and 1703, 
and was a prominent and useful citizen. He 
married, December 24, 1680, Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Elizabeth Butler. His wife 
died April 24, 1736, aged about seventy-one. 
Children, born at Wethersfield : Joshua, born 
October 21, 1681, mentioned below; Elizabeth, 
December 29, 1684, married Nathaniel Tal- 
cott ; Hannah, June 10, 1688, married Joseph 
Welles ; Mary, January 10, 1692, married Jo- 
seph Treat ; Captain Jonathan, December 28, 
1694; Abigail, June 12, 1697, married, No- 
vember 30, 1716, Silas Belden ; Comford, 
1699, married John Coleman ; Sarah, Decem- 
ber 31, 1703, died December 29, 1710. 

(IV) Joshua (2), son of Captain Joshua 
(1) Robbins, was born at Wethersfield, Octo- 
ber 21, 1681, died there May 30, 1733. He 
was a large land holder in Wethersfield and 
vicinity. He bequeathed his homestead at 
Stepney to Joshua. His widow married Cap- 
tain Thomas Welles. She died December 3, 
1744, aged sixty-two years. Children, born at 
Wethersfield: Nathaniel, September 7, 1708, 
mentioned below; Zebulon, May 2, 1710; 
Sarah, January 25, 1712, died April 28, 1753, 

married John Morton; John, March 31, 1731 ; 
Hannah, March 3, 171 5, married Elisha 
Treat; Joshua, June 19, 1717, died May 30, 
1726, married Mary Welles ; Elizabeth, Sep- 
tember 23, 1719, died June 3, 1733; Abigail, 

October 9, 1721, married (first) 

Loomis, (second) Hon. Jonathan Trumbull, 
the revolutionary governor of Connecticut, 
known as "Brother Jonathan." 

(V) Deacon Nathaniel, son of Joshua (2) 
Robbins, was born in Wethersfield, September 
7, 1708, died there October 5, 1783. He was 
a farmer in Wethersfield. He married, De- 
cember 11, 1735, Mary, his cousin, daughter 
of Richard and Martha (Curtis) Robbins. 
She was born March 10, 1713, died Novem- 
ber 7, 1 78 1. His will was dated May 14, 
1781, proved April 23, 1784. The inventory 
amounted to one hundred and forty-three 
pounds, five shillings, ten pence. Children, 
born at Wethersfield : Sarah, born December 
x 3> 1 73^>' clied March 8, 1739-40; Richard, 
September 24, 1738, mentioned below; Joshua, 
February 9, 1739-40, removed to Pittsfield; 
Sarah, August 7, 1742, married John Deming; 
Nathaniel, August 27, 1745 ; Mary, born May 
24, 175 1, married John Bulkeley, March 2, 
1777; Eunice, August 22, 1755, married, De- 
cember 13, 1775, Benjamin Butler. 

(VI) Richard, son of Deacon Nathaniel 
Robbins, was born at Wethersfield, September 
24, 1738, died there October 28, 1783. A 
Richard Robbins was a soldier in the revolu- 
tion in Colonel S. B. Webb's regiment in 
1780. He married, December q, 1762, Abi- 
gail Warner, who died September 18, 18 19, in 
her seventy-sixth year. He left an estate 
valued at over two thousand pounds. Chil- 
dren, born at Wethersfield: Elijah, Septem- 
ber 30, 1763, mentioned below ; Enos, June 25, 
1765 ; Rhoda, October 4, 1767, died unmarried 
January 17, 1854; Warner, May 17, 1769, died 
young; Warner, September 7, 1772, died No- 
vember 7, 1805 ; Roger, twin of Warner, died 
September 13, 1772; Abigail, September 10, 
1773 ; Rachel, August 29, 1776. died April 1, 
1854; Roger, September 25, 1778, lost at sea, 
November, 1801 ; Mary. February 26, 1782, 
died unmarried. 

(VII) Elijah, son of Richard Robbins, was 
born in Wethersfield, September 30. 1763, died 
probably September 30, 1815. He married, 
July 22, 1787, Martha, daughter of Captain 
William and Martha (Tapley) Griswold. She 
died November 13, 1810-11, in her thirty- 
ninth year. Children, born at Wethersfield: 
Richard, August 30, 1788, mentioned below ; 
William, January 10, 1790; Augusta, Febru- 
ary 29, 1792, married, January, 18 17, James 
Robbins and had children, Martha and Sarah ; 

1 68 


Benjamin, July 2, 1794; Martha, born August 
29, 1796, married George O. Chambers; Rev. 
Loren. February, 1799, graduate of Yale Col- 
lege and of Andover Theological Seminary, 
resident at Oxford, Massachusetts, went west ; 
Edward, March 11, 1801 ; Sally, April 28, 
1803, married James Robbins ; Mary, October, 
1808, died January 23, 1809-10. 

( VIII) Richard (2), son of Elijah Robbins, 
was born at Wethersfield, August 30, 1788, 
died there March 16, 1858. He married a dis- 
tant relative, Chloe, daughter of Jacob and 
Eunice Robbins, April 29, 1819. She was a 
first cousin of Noah Webster, the author of 
the dictionary. She died in February, 1861, 
aged seventy-two years. Children, born at 
Wethersfield : Silas Webster, October 2, 
1822, mentioned below ; Edward Griswold, 
February 8, 1824 ; Richard Austin, Septem- 
ber 20, 1826. 

(IX) Silas Webster, son of Richard (2) 
Robbins, was born at Wethersfield, October 2, 
1822, and was educated there under the Rev. 
Joseph Emerson, who had an excellent private 
school in Wethersfield. Mrs. Emerson, the 
principal teacher, was a sister of Mrs. Hazel- 
tine, principal of the famous Bradford Acad- 
emy of Bradford, Massachusetts. So high 
was the reputation of the school that pupils 
came from all parts of the country. While 
Mr. Robbins was a student, a niece of Henry 
Clay and a niece of Francis P. Blair were 
among the pupils. He started upon his busi- 
ness career as a clerk in the market and pro- 
vision store of Fox & Porter, Central Row, 
Hartford, but before he was twenty years old 
he began business on his own account as a 
general merchant in his native town, and con- 
ducted it with marked success for forty years. 
He was instrumental in establishing the seed 
firm of Johnson, Robbins & Company, which 
gained a national reputation. He was one of 
the incorporators of the Hartford & Connecti- 
cut Valley Railroad Company and of the Hart- 
ford & YVethersfield Horse Railroad Company. 
He has been a director of the American Na- 
tional Bank of Hartford since September, 
1858, of the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance 
Company since 1889, and has been a trustee 
of the Mechanics Savings Bank. He was for 
many years treasurer and director of the 
Wethersfield Novelty Company : director of 
the Merrick Thread Company of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, and president of the A. D. 
Vorce Company. 

When Mr. Robbins was eighty-seven years 
old the Hartford Times said of him : 

"The Hon. Silas Webster Robbins of Wethers- 
field, the great pioneer importer of Jersey cattle, be- 
gan his work in that direction in 1859. and for forty 

odd years he was the leading authority concerning 
Jersey herds in the United States. Mr. Robbins, 
who will be eighty-seven years old October 2, 1909, 
is the oldest resident of the town engaged in active 
business at the present time. His noted herd of 
Jerseys was dismantled seven years ago July 2. 
It was known at that time as the oldest and most 
in-and-in bred Coomassie herd in the country. Mr. 
Robbins had spent the greater part of his life de- 
veloping the Jerseys which had been raised on his 
Wethersfield farm. The breaking up and scatter- 
ing of the herd was due mainly to the fact that his 
son, Elisha Johnson Robbins, had died, leaving the 
burdens of the continuance to the founder, who 
was then eighty years old. 

"Mr. Robbins bought imported Victoria April 25, 
1859, from John A. Taintor, of Hartford. He 
spared no pains in securing the best stock, paying 
liberally for the selections. In April, 1883, he paid 
five thousand dollars cash for Ona's Kofree, only 
twenty-eight days old. The breeding of his herd 
was attended with tragedies. Burnett's Boy was 
the most beautiful bull that Mr. Robbins owned dur- 
ing the period in which he was a Jersey breeder. 
On one occasion he gave orders for the sale of one 
of the bulls in the herd. The overseer in charge 
selected the wrong bull, and Burnett's Boy was sent 
to the slaughter house. James O. Sheldon paid 
$3,000 for a Short-Horn calf bull, called "4th Duke 
of Geneva. 

"In recent years Mr. Robbins has become a breed- 
er of English pheasants — an occupation that has af- 
forded him unlimited pleasure and recreation. The 
bulk of the work comes at morning and night, and 
the daily tasks are undertaken with interest and 

"Mr. Robbins is known through the country, not 
only for his success with Jersey cattle, but as a 
breeder of various kinds of thoroughbreds, includ- 
ing Shorthorns and Guernseys as well, and of Cots- 
wold, South Down and Shropshire sheep. He was 
one of the founders of the American Jersey Cattle 

"Ex-Senator Robbins," says the Times in 
the same article, 

is a man of great taste and culture. His home is 
rich in paintings and works of art. One of the 
finest illustrations of antique furniture is the Chip- 
pendale secretary that was loaned for the St. Louis 
fair. It was imported by John Robbins of Rocky 
Hill, in the neighborhood of 1765, when he built the 
famous home in Rocky Hill from the first brick 
made in Connecticut. The secretary is made of 
mahogany and is of great value as a specimen of 
ancient furniture. The grounds surrounding his 
residence on Broad Street are laid out with the 
utmost taste and, art and indicate the character and 
refinement of the owner." 

In public life Mr. Robbins has had a dis- 
tinguished and honorable career. He was a 
Whig in early life and cast his first presiden- 
tial vote for Henry Clay. When the Repub- 
lican party was organized in 1856 he became 
a member, and has supported the principles 
and candidates of that party since. For many 
years he was postmaster of Wethersfield and 
town treasurer. In 1888 he was elected state 
senator from his district (the old second) by 
a plurality of four hundred and sixteen and 

&fZ&^ 7fce/-4/ZC /?cnf-^ 




served on various important committees, giv- 
ing evidence of unusual ability as a legislator. 

He is a prominent member of the Congre- 
gational church of Wethersfield. A man of 
the strictest integrity in all the dealings of 
life, of strong and sterling character, sound 
judgment, public spirit and exemplary life, he 
has the entire confidence and esteem of the 
community in which his long life has been 

He married, February 14, 1854, Sophia 
Jane, born November 9, 1834, daughter of 
Captain Elisha and Hannah (Cushman) John- 
son. Her father was the head of the firm of 
Johnson, Robbins & Company and an able and 
successful merchant. Captain Johnson was 
the first manufacturer of thread in the United 
States, his works being at Wilmington, and 
he was one of the incorporators of the Wil- 
limantic Thread Company. He was also an 
incorporator of the Merrick Thread Company 
of Holyoke. "Mrs. Robbins," says the Times, 
"was a woman of fascinating traits of char- 
aster and an ornament to the church and so- 
ciety in Wethersfield. Soldiers from the town 
of Wethersfield who enlisted in the Civil War 
were recipients of her interest and encourage- 
ment. Colonel John B. Clapp and Robert H. 
Kellogg were favorites with Mrs. Robbins. 
Captain Elisha Johnson, the father of Mrs. 
Robbins, took a cordial interest in the young 
men of the town and left nothing undone that 
could insure their promotion and success. 
Most of them have passed away, but the sur- 
vivors hold the names and memories of ex- 
Senator and Mrs. Robbins as among the rich- 
est treasures of the Civil War period. Mr. 
Robbins is deserving of the title of the Grand 
Old Man. His life is as gentle as that of a 

Children, born at Wethersfield : Elisha J., 
born January 12, 1857, married Ida M. 
Adams ; daughter, Jane Johnson, born June 
19, 1882; Julia J., May 7, i860; Katharine 
Chester, June 30, 1863 ; Anna Cushman, Octo- 
ber 1, 1874, married, April 4, 1899, Wilfred 
Willis Savage : child, John Robbins Savage. 

(II) Nathaniel Chitten- 
CHITTENDEN den, son of William 

Chittenden (q. v.), lived 
on Crooked lane, now State street, Guilford, 
Connecticut. He died in June, 1691. He mar- 
ried Sarah . Children: Nathaniel, 

born August 10, 1669, mentioned below ; Sar- 
ah, March 2, 1672-73. Mary, February 6, 
J ^7S' Joseph, September 6, 1677; Hannah, 
March 15, 1680-81; Deborah, October 15, 
1682; Cornelius, 1685. 

(Ill) Nathaniel (2), son of Nathaniel (1) 

Chittenden, was born August 10, 1669. He 
married Elizabeth, born July 14, 1668, died 
November 15, 1738, daughter of Thomas and 
Mary Fletcher Stevens, of Killingworth. 
Children : Phebe, born January 23, 1691 ; Tim- 
othy, August 19, 1694; Elizabeth, March 7, 
1699; Nathaniel, mentioned below. In 1689 
he removed to Killingworth. 

(IV) Nathaniel (3), son of Nathaniel (2) 
Chittenden, was born June 6, 1701. He lived 
in Killingworth, and died in Havana, August, 
1762. He married, January 6, 1725, Lucy 
Nettleton, who died in July, 1762. Children: 
Rebecca, born September 28, 1727; Daniel, 
August 27, 1729; Nathaniel, June 21, 1731, 
mentioned below; Lucy, April 25, 1736; 
Lydia, July 21, 1740. 

(V) Nathaniel (4), son of Nathaniel (3) 
Chittenden, was born June 21, 1731, died in 
Winthrop, Connecticut, January 11, 1820. He 
married Mehitabel Beebe, born December, 
1733, died November 25, 1805. Children: 
John, born October 7, 1757, mentioned below; 
Mary, 1759; Solomon, September 14, 1761 ; 
Asahel, January, 1764; Cornelius, April 6, 
1766; Joseph, 1768; Hetty, married George 

(VI) John, son of Nathaniel (4) Chitten- 
den, was born October 7, 1757. He lived in 
Westbrook and died there, July 10, 1841. He 
married, February 26, 1783, Rebecca Merrils, 
born August 20, 1764, died April 13, 1834. 
Children: Julia, born July 18, 1784; Daniel, 
July 28, 1787; Rebecca, July 26, 1789; 
Amelia, January 26, 1792; Fanny, August 13, 
1794; John, May 24, 1797; Alfred, April 15, 
1799; Una, March 15, 1801 ; Charles, August 
29, 1803, died October 4, 1805; Rev. Charles, 
September 2j, 1805 ; Horace-, August 24, 

(VII) Alfred, son of John Chittenden, was 
born April 15, 1799. He married, October 31, 
1822, Anna Platts, born January 10, 1799. 
They lived in Westbrook, where he died, No- 
vember 22, 1882. Children: Daniel A., born 
September 16, 1823 ; Sarah Ann, October 22, 
1826; Horace H., born April 2, 1829, men- 
tioned below; Eunice M., June 1, 1831 ; 
Charles Alfred, November 28, 1835. 

(VIII) Horace H., son of Alfred Chitten- 
den, was born April 2, 1829. He lived in 
New Haven. He married, September 23, 
185 1, Emily A. Doane, born March 10, 1830. 
Child, Russell H., mentioned below. 

(IX) Professor Russell Henry Chittenden, 
son of Horace H. Chittenden, was born in 
New Haven, February 18, 1856. He attended 
the public schools of his native city and com- 
pleted his preparation for college in Mr. 
French's private school, earning a large part 



of his tuition by giving instruction to pupils 
in the lower classes in Greek, Latin and 
mathematics, and even at that time he mani- 
fested a characteristic aptitude for imparting 
knowledge and inspiring others to work. His 
preference at that time was for the classics, 
but natural sciences came to have a fascination 
for him and he planned a course of study to 
fit himself for the study of medicine. The 
course he determined upon and pursued has 
since been adopted substantially in all medical 
schools, and it devolved upon him as a life 
duty to develop the idea in Yale University 
and set the example for other colleges to fol- 
low. Chemistry as applied to physiology was 
his special study. When he was a student a 
biological course had been planned at the 
Sheffield Scientific School, but facilities were 
lacking for the proper study of the subject. 
In his senior year, however, an independent 
physiological chemistry laboratory was pro- 
vided and while, nominally, it was in charge 
of a professor, the practical management of it 
fell to the student, Russell H. Chittenden, who 
so keenly appreciated its value and needs. He 
held the appointment as laboratory assistant. 
He was graduated from the Sheffield Scien- 
tific School of Yale in 1875 with the degree of 
Ph. !>., and his thesis was accorded the honor 
of publication in the American Journal of 
Science, and of translation into German for 
publication in Liebig's Annalen der Chemie, 
Leipsic. After graduation he was assistant 
and instructor in physiological chemistry in 
Sheffield until 1882. when he was appointed 
full professor. He spent the year 1878-79 in 
Europe, chiefly at Heidelberg University, 
where he studied under Professor Kuhne. 
Even at this time his writings on the subject 
of his research attracted widespread interest 
among scientists. A series of papers was pub- 
lished in the American Chemical Journal, ex- 
tending over a period of several years. In 
the summer of 1882 he accepted the invitation 
of Professor Kuhne to return to Heidelberg, 
where a long summer vacation was devoted to 
a joint investigation into the physiology of 
digestion. Though constrained to return to 
his duties at Yale in the fall, this was but the 
beginning of a long period of collaboration 
with Professor Kuhne. Some of their results 
were published in Munich in the Zcitschrift 
fur Biologic, and eagerly welcomed by stu- 
dents of chemistry and biology as a substan- 
tial contribution to the .knowledge of the 
world. His work as a teacher grew in impor- 
tance as the work of research and the fruits 
of physiological study in many laboratories 
was made available. His classes grew large 
and his instruction essential to all the medical 

students. He was a member of the governing 
board before 1898, and since then he has been 
director and treasurer of the Sheffield Scien- 
tific School. Six years later was appointed 
treasurer of the board of trustees. In addi- 
tion to his duties at Yale he was called upon 
to lecture at Columbia University, New York, 
from 1898 to 1903. Another field of useful- 
ness in which Professor Chittenden rendered 
distinguished service was on the national com- 
mittee of fifty for the investigation of the 
drink problem. He investigated particularly 
the influence of alcoholic drinks upon the 
chemical process of digestion and the effect 
upon secretion, absorption, etc. 

He received the degree of Ph.D. from Yale 
in 1880; LL.D. in 1903 from the University 
of Toronto ; Sc.D. from the University of 
Pennsylvania in 1904. Indefatigable in lab- 
oratory investigation, Professor Chittenden 
has displayed equal ability in the presentation 
of his results in literary form. He became as- 
sociate editor of the English Journal of 
Physiology in 1890 and of the Journal of 
Experimental Medicine in 1896. He was ac- 
tive in establishing the American Journal of 
Physiology, of which he is also an associate 
editor. He is on the staff of the Journal of 
Biological Chemistry. He published "Studies 
in Physiological Chemistry" (three volumes, 
1885-89), a record of the investigations of 
himself and pupils, furnishing material which 
has been utilized in all standard text-books 
since then. He published in 1894 "Digestive 
Proteolysis," and in 1901 "Studies in Physio- 
logical Chemistry," Yale Series ; in 1904 
"Physiological Economy in Nutrition," and 
in 1907 "Nutrition of Man." He has written 
a multitudes of papers for periodicals and 
learned societies on a wide range of subjects, 
and he has been in constant association with 
leaders in research and thought in chemistry 
and physiology. He became a member of the 
National Academy of Sciences in 1890. He 
is also a member of the American Physiolog- 
ical Society, of which he has been on the coun- 
cil since 1887, and was president 1895-1904; 
of the American Society of Naturalists, of 
which he was president in 1903; of the Con- 
necticut Academy of Arts and Sciences, and 
in 1907 he was president of the American So- 
ciety of Biological Chemists. 

As an indication of the standing of Profes- 
sor Chittenden among scientists, it is appro- 
priate to repeat the sentence from the address 
of President Daniel C. Gilman, of Johns Hop- 
kins University, at the semi-centennial cele- 
bration of the Sheffield Scientific School; 
"Nowhere else in this country, not in many 
European laboratories, has such work been at- 



tempted and accomplished as is now in prog- 
ress on Hillhouse Avenue, unobserved, no 
doubt, by those who daily pass the laboratory 
door, but watched with welcoming anticipa- 
tion wherever physiology and medicine are 
prosecuted in the modern spirit of research." 
In 1908 he was appointed by President Roose- 
velt a member of the referee board of consult- 
ing scientific experts to aid the secretary of 
agriculture in deciding questions connected 
with the pure food laws of the country. 

In politics he is a Republican ; in religion a 
Protestant Episcopal. A lover of nature, he 
takes delight in outdoor recreation, especially 
in fishing. His home is at 83 Trumbull street. 

Professor Chittenden married, June 20, 
1877, Gertrude L., daughter of Charles F. and 
Hannah Maria (Bradley) Baldwin, who came 
from county Kent, England. Children: 1. 
Edith Russell, graduate of Smith College in 
1899. 2. Alfred Knight, Ph.B., Yale, 1900; 
M. F., Yale. 1902. 3. Lilla Millard, born 
March 31, 1885. 

(Ill) Josiah Chittenden, 
CHITTENDEN son of Thomas Chitten- 
den ( q. v.), was born 
1677, and married, January 8, 1707, Hannah, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Sherman, of 
Woodbury, Connecticut, baptized July, 1680. 
She died July 30, 1744, aged sixty-four. They 
lived in the eastern part of the old Chittenden 
Homestead, in Guilford, which had come to 
him from his father. He died there, August 
28. 1759. Children born in Guilford: Josiah, 
May 21, 1710, died August n, 1729; Simeon, 
December 28, 1714, mentioned below; Joanna, 
January 2, 1716; Mehitabel, July 28. 1719; 
Mary, September 14. 1721 ; Abigail, October 
31, 1723, died August 21, 1732. 

(IV) Simeon, son of Josiah and Hannah 
(Sherman) Chittenden, was born in Guilford, 
December 28, 17 14, and married, January 26, 
1737, Submit, daughter of John and Mary 
(Norton) Scranton, of Guilford, born June 
18. 1712. She died April 15, 1796. He re- 
moved to North Guilford, and acquired a 
lar re landed property there. He was chosen 
deacon of the church there, October 25, 1760. 
He served in the revolution, Lexington 
Alarm, Captain Noah Fowler's Company, 
seven days. He died April 12, 1789. Chil- 
dren: Mabel, born November 5, 1737; Josiah, 
November 13, 1739: Simeon, April 13, 1742, 
mentioned below; Submit, December 9, 1744; 
Mary, October 12, 1747; Abel, November 2, 
1750; David, 1755. 

(V) Simeon (2), son of Simeon (1) and 
Submit (Scranton) Chittenden, was born 
April 13, 1742, and married, December 15, 

1773, Sarah, daughter of Selah and Rachel 
(Stone) Dudley, of Guilford, born Decem- 
ber 3, 1746. She died March 12, 1841. He 
lived in North Guilford, where he was a farm- 
er by occupation and noted for his kindness 
and liberality to the poor. He was killed by 
a vicious bull, September 22, 1812. Children: 
born in Guilford : Josiah, October 14, 1774, 
died September 23, 178 1 ; Sally, January 9, 
1776; David, September 23, 1777; Abel, Au- 
gust 31, 1779. mentioned below; Simeon, 
1781, died March 4, 1782; Lucy, March 19, 
1783; Ruth, January 19, 1785; Rachel, April 
28, 1787; Simeon, January 3, 1791. 

(VI) Abel, son of Simeon (2) and Sarah 
(Dudley) Chittenden, was born August 31, 
1779, .in Guilford, and married, June 19, 
1804, Anna Hart, daughter of Timothy and 
Olive (Norton) Baldwin, born February 8, 
1784. She died June 4, 1845. He lived in 
Guilford on the lot ocupied by the first Will- 
iam, and died there December 5, 1816. Chil- 
dren, born in Guilford : Henry Baldwin, No- 
vember 9, 1805, died June 27, 1806; Olive 
Norton, April 21, 1807; Sarah Dudley, De- 
cember 21, 1809; Anna Hart, April 14, 1812; 
Simeon Baldwin, March 29, 1814, mentioned 
below ; Henry Abel, April 29, 1816. 

(VII) Simeon Baldwin, son of Abel and 
Anna Hart (Baldwin) Chittenden, was born 
in Guilford, March 29, 1814. and married 
(first), May 10, 1837, Mary Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Sherman Hartwell, of Warren, Connec- 
ticut, born September 29, 1818 ; died Septem- 
ber 3, 1852. He married (second), October 
11, 1854, Cornelia Baldwin, widow of Rev. 
Walter Colton, of Philadelphia, chaplain in 
the Navy, and daughter of Oren and Mary 
R. Baldwin Colton, of Philadelphia, born 
February 13, 1817. Mr. Chittenden was for 
the greater part of his life a merchant, and 
carried on a successful and extensive business 
first in New Haven, and, after 1842, in New 
York. LJntil his retirement in 1874, his firm 
was second to none in financial standing and 
business enterprise. In the fall of that year 
he was elected member of Congress from the 
state of New York, and continued in that of- 
fice by successive re-elections until 1881. He 
was a ready and forcible speaker, and had 
sound views on subjects of national interest, 
especially in financial matters ; on that ac- 
count, he exerted a wide influence in the di- 
rection of public affairs. Children : Mary H., 
August 18, 1840; Simeon B., June 6, 1845, 
mentioned below; Charles S., August 11, 

(VIII) Simeon B., son of Simeon 
Baldwin and Mary Elizabeth (Hartwell) 
Chittenden, was born June 6, 1845, U1 Brook- 



lyn. New York, and married, May 21, 186S, 
Mary Warner, daughter of John Joel Hill, 
of Brooklyn, New York. She was born in 
Albany, New York, May 22, 1847. Her moth- 
er was Mary Elizabeth McMurdy of Albany, 
and was from an old family of Albany. Sbe 
is a descendant of John Howland and Eliza- 
beth Tilley, and through them is a member of 
tbe Mayflower Society. She is also a member 
of tbe Colonial Dames of New York State. 
Mr. Chittenden graduated from Yale College, 
in 1865, and became a lawyer in New York 
City. His winter residence is in Brooklyn, 
New York, 212 Columbia Heights. In sum- 
mer he lives in Guilford, Connecticut. Chil- 
dren: 1. Alice Hill, born June 27, 1869, un- 
married. 2. Mary Hartwell, January 28, 
1872, widow of Augustus F. Holly, Jr. 3. 
Anna Gansevoort, February 2, 1876, married 
Charles Martin Thayer of Worcester ; no 
children. 4. Simeon Baldwin, April 7, 1879; 
married Grace Chapman ; children : i. Alice 
Fay. ii. Lydia Barrett. 5. Paul, deceased. 

Robert Latimer, immigrant 
LATIMER ancestor, came first to New 

London, Connecticut. He 
married Mrs. Ann Jones, widow of Nathan 
Jones, and daughter of George Griggs, Es- 
quire, of Boston. Children : Robert, born Feb- 
ruary 5, 1664, mentioned below; Elizabeth, 
married Jonathan Prentis. 

(II) Captain Robert (2), son of Robert 
(1) Latimer, was born February 5, 1664. He 
was rich in landed estate ; he owned a home- 
stead in New London, and town lots, also a 
large tract of swamp and cedar land in the 
vicinity of New London, and an unmeasured 
quantity of wild land in the northwest part 
of New London, afterwards occupied by his 
descendants. He also owned a tract of land 
in Chesterfield on which some of his descend- 
ants afterwards lived. He held many offices 
of trust; deputy in 1706 and for several years 
in succession; in 1717 was a member of the 
governor's council, and was again chosen in 
1720, and held the position until his death. He 
died in New London, November 29, 1728. He 

married Elizabeth . Children : John, 

married Elizabeth ; Robert, married, 

June 17, 1 73 1, Mary Huntley; Jonathan, born 
about 1698, mentioned below; Samuel, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Hallum ; Peter, married Han- 
nah Ricket ; Ann. 

(III) Captain Jonathan, son of Captain 
Robert (2) Latimer, was born about 1698. He 
married, April 6, 1721, Barodell, daughter of 
George Denison, and great-granddaughter of 
Jonathan and Lucretia Brewster (see Brew- 
ster II). Captain Jonathan Latimer settled 

in New London, and was, like his father, a 
wealthy landholder. He owned a large tract 
in Chesterfield, inherited from his father, and 
another on the west side of Niantic river, now 
in the town of East Lyme. The site of a 
dwelling-house, on the latter tract of land, 
formerly occupied by one of his sons, was in 
1882 still visible, and a spring from which 
water was taken to supply the house is still 
known as "Latimer's Spring." A ledge of al- 
most perpendicular rocks, lying along the west 
bank of the river, has since been called "Lati- 
mer's Rocks" and a beautiful white sand beach 
at Black Point in Lyme, formerly owned by 
him, is still called "Latimer's Beach." Chil- 
dren : Anne, born about 1723; Jonathan, May 
27, 1724, mentioned below; Elizabeth, Sep- 
tember 16, 1726; Mary, April 16, 1729; Amos, 
December 5, s i73o; Robert, February 26, 1732; 
Henry, February 28, 1737; Daniel, August 
16, 1739; John, December 21, 1741 ; Barodell, 
baptized February 21, 1744. 

(IV) Jonathan (2), son of Jonathan (1) 
Latimer, was born May 2j, 1724. He mar- 
ried Lucretia, born March 26, 1731, daughter 
of George Griswold. He lived in New Lon- 
don in Chesterfield society on land which he 
had inherited from his father. He served in 
several campaigns against the French on the 
northern frontier and during the revolution 
was much of the time in the field of service. 
He was colonel of the Third Regiment of 
militia in Connecticut at the time of Arnold's 
raid on New London in 1781, and at that time 
was censured for not taking a more active 
part in bringing forward the forces under his 
command to meet the enemy. Colonel Lati- 
mer with seven sons removed from Montville 
to Tennessee about 1790. They moved in an 
emigrant wagon drawn by oxen, and took with 
them articles and provisions for use on the 
way. He himself did not live to reach his 
destination, but died on the journey, and was 
buried at the place where he died. The sons 
settled in that state, and became the ancestors 
of numerous descendants now living in the 
western states. It was a tradition in the fam- 
ily that Colonel Latimer and six of his sons 
measured forty-two feet, and their descend- 
ants have always been noted for their height 
and stalwart muscular frame. Children : 
Hannah, born September 19, 1747; George, 
July 29, 1749; Barodell, December 13, 1750, 
died young; Jonathan, April 12, 1753; Baro- 
dell, April 12, 1755; Wetherel, March 18, 
1757; Charles, June 30, 1759; Robert, Novem- 
ber 2, 1760; Nicholas, June 8, 1763; Gris- 
wold, September 8, 1764; Joseph, January 8, 
1766, mentioned below; Nathaniel, February 
25, 1768; Daniel, May 4, 1771. 


l 73 

(V) Joseph, son of Jonathan (2) Latimer, 
was born January 8, 1766, in New London. 
He moved with his parents in 1790 to Ten- 
nessee. He married, November 10, 1796, 
Anna Dobbins, born in Lancaster county, 
South Carolina, May 10, 1776. She also re- 
moved to Tennessee when quite young. Chil- 
dren : Mary, Barodell, Elizabeth, Jonathan, 
Sarah, mentioned below, Alexander, George 
G., John C, David T. Susannah P. 

(VI) Sarah, daughter of Joseph (2) Lati- 
mer, was born May 13, 1805, near Nashville, 
Tennessee. She married, January 17, 1822, 
Richard F. Boren. Children : Mary Ann, 
born November 25, 1822, married, November 
23, 1843, Arthur A. Denny, mentioned below; 
Carson Dobbins, December 12, 1824; Louisa, 
June 1, 1827. (See Denny.) 

Arthur A. Denny was of Scotch- 
DENNY Irish descent, his ancestors hav- 
ing originally removed from 
Scotland to Ireland, and thence to America 
at a very early epoch in the history of Penn- 
sylvania. David and Margaret Denny were 
the progenitors of the. family in the United 
States. They had a son, Robert, see forward. 

(II) Robert, son of David and Margaret 
Denny, was born in 1753. He served in 
Washington's command in the revolutionary 
war. In 1787 he removed to Frederick coun- 
ty, Virginia, and in 1790 married Rachel 
Thomas, who was a daughter of one of the 
revolutionary heroes. Soon after their mar- 
riage they removed to Mercer county, Ken- 
tucky, where their son John, see forward, was 

(III) John, son of Robert and Rachel 
(Thomas) Denny, was born in Mercer 
county, Kentucky, May 4, 1793. He was 
reared amid the wild scenes of pioneer life, 
and in his twentieth year served his country in 
the war of 1812, being a Kentucky volunteer 
in the regiment commanded by Richard M. 
Johnson. He was an ensign in Captain Mc- 
Afee's company and fought under General 
Harrison, being present at the defeat of Gen- 
eral Proctor and at the death of the noted 
Indian, Tecumseh, who is said to have been 
killed by Colonel Johnson. In 1816 Mr. Den- 
ny removed from Kentucky to Indiana, and 
later to Illinois, becoming one of the distin- 
guished men of the latter state and a repre- 
sentative in the legislature of 1840-41, being 
a colleague of Lincoln, Yates and Baker. In 
1 85 1 he crossed the plains to Oregon, and was 
the first candidate of his party for governor of 
the state in 1858. He was a most able speak- 
er, strong in argument and logical in his de- 
ductions, and he kept thoroughly informed on 

all questions concerning the welfare of city, 
state and nation. He married, August 25, 
1 81 4, Sarah Wilson, a native of Bladens- 
burg, near Washington, D. C, born February 
3, 1797. She was of Scotch lineage, although 
her people were among the early settlers of 
America. She died March 25, 1841, while 
the honorable and ureful career of Mr. Denny 
terminated over thirty years afterwards, in 
July, 1875, m the eighty-third year of his 

(IV) Arthur Armstrong, son of John and 
Sarah (Wilson) Denny, was born June 20, 
1822, near Salem, Washington county, In- 
diana. He obtained his education in a little 
log schoolhouse in Illinois. He also pursued 
an academic course and learned surveying, a 
knowledge of which was of much value to 
him in the days of his early residence on Pu- 
get sound. In 1851 Mr. Denny crossed the 
plains to Oregon, starting from Illinois, April 
10, and making the journey across the plains 
with horse teams. They were attacked by 
Indians near the American Falls, but succeed- 
ed in escaping and keeping the red men at 
bay, although they were fired upon many 
times by the savages. Perilous incidents were 
met and hardships endured, but at length the 
journey was safely accomplished, reaching 
Portland, Oregon, August 22, 185 1. Mr. 
Denny's health being poor, he determined to 
go to the coast, so acordingly he and his party 
took passage on the steamer, "Exact," and 
November 13, 1851, was landed at what is 
now known as Alki Point on Puget sound, 
where they built log houses and spent the win- 
ter. At least fifteen hundred Indians spent 
the winter in that vicinity, some of them oc- 
cupying part of the ground which the pioneers 
had cleared, but the latter thought it unwise to 
antagonize the red men by refusing them the 
privilege of camping in this district. In the 
spring Mr. Denny and some of his friends be- 
gan to seek more favorable locations for 
claims, and accordingly located three hundred 
and twenty acres of land, upon which a por- 
tion of the city of Seattle now stands. Here 
they built log houses, and a post office was es- 
tablished soon after, Mr. Denny being made 
postmaster, caring for the mail in his little 
log cabin for several years. His next resi- 
dence was a frame house of six rooms, and 
for a number of years this was the headquar- 
ters for all newcomers. Mr. Denny was a 
lifelong Republican, and from the time of his 
arrival in Washington took an active part in 
political affairs. He was elected a member 
of the first legislature of the territory, and 
was also elected a delegate to the United 
States congress, where he did much for the 



territory in promoting its interests and wel- 
fare. As a citizen he was known as an active 
factor in nearly every enterprise that contrib- 
uted to the growth, progress and prosperity 
of the city. He assisted in organizing the 
First Methodist Church ; for years he was an 
active member of that denomination, but in his 
later days was more closely identified with 
the Congregational church. He always took 
a deep interest in all religious work, and was 
ever ready to asist in Christian and educa- 
tional enterprises. He died in January, 1899. 
While Seattle stands his memory will be re- 
vered and his name will find an honored place 
on the pages of its history, for he was its 
founder, and for almost a half century was 
connected with the majority of the interests 
which contributed to its welfare and progress. 
Arthur A. Denny married, as aforemen- 
tioned, November 23, 1843, Mary Ann Boren. 
Two children were born to them in Illinois : 
Catharine Louisa, now Mrs. George F. 
Fraye, and Margaret Lenora, who resides with 
her mother in Seattle. Their eldest son, Rol- 
land, was born in Portland, Oregon, Septem- 
ber 2, 1 85 1, and their second son, Orion, was 
the first male white child born in Seattle ; 
Arthur Wilson and Charles Latimer were also 
born in Seattle. 

(The Brewster Line). 

( i ) William Brewster Sr. lived in Scrooby, 
Nottinghamshire, England, as early as 1570- 
71, in which year he was assessed in that town 
on goods valued at three pounds. In 1575-76 
he was appointed by Archbishop Sandys re- 
ceiver of Scrooby and bailiff of the manor- 
house in that place belonging to the bishop, 
to have life tenure of both offices. Some time 
in the year 1588, or possibly before, he was 
appointed to the additional office of postmaster 
under the Crown. He was known as the 
"Post" of Scrooby, and was master of the 
court mails, which were accessible only to 
those connected with the court. He died in 
the summer of 1590. His wife was Prudence 
■ . Child, William, mentioned below. 

(I) Elder William Brewster, immigrant 
ancestor, who came in the "Mayflower," was 
born during the last half of the year 1566 or 
the first half of 1567, the date being fixed by 
an affidavit made by him at Leyden, June 25, 
1609, when he declared his age to be forty- 
two years. The place of his birth is not 
known, but is supposed to have been Scrooby. 
The parish registers of Scrooby do not begin 
until 1695, and no record of Brewster's birth, 
baptism or marriage has ever been discovered. 
He matriculated at Peterhouse, which was 
then the "oldest of the fourteen colleges 

grouped into the University of Cambridge," 
December 3, 1580, but does not appear to 
have stayed long enough to take his degree. 
He is next found as a "discreete and faith- 
full" assistant of William Davison, secretary 
of state to Queen Elizabeth, and accompanied 
that gentleman on his embassy to the Nether- 
lands in August, 1585, and served him at court 
after his return until his downfall in 1587. He 
then returned to Scrooby, where he was held 
in high esteem among the people of that place, 
and did much good "in Promoting and fur- 
thering religion." In 1590 he was appointed 
administrator of the estate of his father, who 
died in the summer of that year, and suc- 
ceeded him as postmaster, which position he 
held until September 30, 1607. While in 
Scrooby he lived in the old manor-house, 
where the members of the Pilgrim church 
were accustomed to meet on Sunday. When 
the Pilgrims attempted to remove to Holland 
in the latter part of 1607, they were impris- 
oned at Boston. Brewster was among those 
imprisoned and suffered the greatest loss. Aft- 
er he reached Holland he endured many un- 
accustomed hardships, not being as well fitted 
as the other Pilgrims for the hard labor which 
was their common lot, and spent most of his 
means in providing for his children. During 
the latter part of the twelve years spent in 
Holland, he increased his income by teaching, 
and by the profits from a printing press which 
he set up in Leyden. When, after the twelve 
years, it was decided that the church at Ley- 
den should emigrate to Virginia, Brewster, 
who had already been chosen elder, was de- 
sired to go with the first company. He was 
therefore, with his wife Mary, and two young 
sons, among the passengers of the "Mayflow- 
er," which landed in Plymouth harbor, De- 
cember 16, 1620. Here he bore an important 
part in establishing the Pilgrim republic, was 
one of the signers of the famous compact, and 
believed to have drafted the same. He was 
the moral, religious and spiritual leader of the 
colony during its first years, and its chief 
civil adviser and trusted guide until his death. 

His wife was Mary . She died April 

17, 1627, somewhat less than sixty years old. 
Elder Brewster died April 10, 1644, i n Ply- 
mouth, and a final division of his estate was 
made by Bradford, Winslow, Prence and 
Standish, between Jonathan and Love, his only 
remaining children. Children : Jonathan, 
born August 12, 1593, at Scrooby; Patience, 
Fear ; child, died at Leyden, buried June 20, 
1609; Love; Wrestling, came in the "May- 
flower" with his parents and brother Love ; 
was living at the time of the division of cat- 
tle, May 22, 1627. 


l 75 

(II) Jonathan, son of Elder William Brew- 
ster, was born August 12, ifi93, in Scrooby, 
Nottinghamshire, England, and came over in 
the ship "Fortune," 1621. He married Lucre- 
tia Oldham, of Darby, April 10, 1624, doubt- 
less a sister of John Oldham, who came to 
Plymouth about 1623. She died March 4, 
1678-79. There is some reason to believe 
that he had married before at an early age, 
and buried his wife and child by this marriage 
in Leyden. He moved from Plymouth to 
Duxbury about 1630, and from there was 
deputy to the general court, Plymouth col- 
ony, in 1639-41-43-44. From there he re- 
moved to New London, about 1649, an d set- 
tled in that part later established as Norwich, 
his farm lying in both towns. He was admit- 
ted an inhabitant there February 25, 1649-50, 
and was deputy to the general court of the 
colony in 1650-55-56-57-58. He engaged in 
the coasting trade, and was master of a small 
vessel plying from Plymouth along the coast 
of Virginia. In this way he became acquaint- 
ed with Pequot harbor, and entered the river 
to trade with the Indians. He was clerk of 
the town of Pequot, September, 1649, an d re- 
ceived his first grant of land in that town in 
the same month, from Uncas, Sachem of the 
Mogegans, with whom he had established a 
trading house. At this latter place, which is 
still called by his name, Brewster's Neck, he 
laid out for himself a large farm. The deed 
of this land was confirmed by the town No- 
vember 30, 1652, and its bounds determined. 
In 1637 he was a military commissioner in 
the Pequot war, in 1642 a member of the Dux- 
bury committee to raise forces in the Narra- 
gansett alarm of that year, and a member of 
Captain Myles Standish's Duxbury company 
in the military enrollment of 1643. He was 
prominent in the formation of the settlement 
of Duxbury and in the establishment of its 
church ; sometimes practiced as an attorney, 
and was also styled gentleman. He died Au- 
gust 7, 1659, anc l was buried in the Brewster 
cemetery at Brewster's Neck, Preston. A plain 
granite shaft, about eight feet high, was erect- 
ed in 1855 to his memory and that of his wife. 
The original footstone is still in existence, 
and leans against the modern monument. No 
probate papers relating to his estate have been 
found, but bills of sale are recorded, dated in 
1658, which conveyed all his property in the 
town plot, and his house and land at Poque- 
tannuck, with his movable property, to his 
son, Benjamin, and son-in-law, John Picket. 
His widow was evidently a woman of note 
and respectability among her fellow citizens. 
She had always the prefix of Mrs. or Mis- 
tress, and was usually recorded in some use- 

ful capacity as nurse or doctor, as a witness 
to -wills, etc. Children, the first three born 
in Plymouth, the fourth in Jones River, the 
others in Duxbury. William, born March 9, 
1625; Mary, April 16, 1627; Jonathan, July 
17, 1629; Ruth, October 3, 163 1 ; Benjamin, 
November 17, 1633; Elizabeth, May 1, 1637; 
Grace, November 1, 1639, married Captain 
Daniel Wetherell had child, Mary, married 
George Denison (see Denison IV) ; Hannah, 
November 3, 1641. 

(The Denison Line). 

(I) William Denison, immigrant ancestor, 
was born at Bishop's Stortford, county Her- 
ford, England. He was a liberally educated 
man, and reputed to have been a general in 
the British army. He came to New England 
•with his wife and three children in 1631, and 
settled in Roxbury, Massachusetts. He was 
chosen by the general court, constable of Rox- 
bury, November 5, 1633 ; he was authorized 
to impress men for the building of the bridge, 
October 27, 1647; was a deputy to the general 
court. His sons became very prominent citi- 
zens. He was buried January 25, 1653, and 
his wife Margaret, February, 1645. His son, 
the famous Major-General Daniel Denison, 
left a sketch of the family history (see N. E. 
Gen. Reg. XLVI). William Denison mar- 
ried in England, November 7, 1603, Margaret 
Mon'ck. Children : John; Daniel, baptized at 
Bishop's Stortford, October 18, 1612; Ed- 
ward, baptized November 3, 1616; George, 
mentioned below. 

(II) Colonel George, son of William Deni- 
son, was born in Bishop's Stortford, in 1618, 
baptized December 20, 1620. He came to this 
country with his parents in 163 1. He was 
thoroughly educated for his time, and had as 
tutor the famed John Elliot, who followed 
Roger Williams as missionary among the In- 
dians. He went back to England and served 
as an officer under Cromwell in the parliament 
army, won distinction and was severely 
wounded in the battle of Naseby, and was 
nursed at the home of John Barodell, whose 
daughter he afterwards married. He returned 
to Roxbury, but later settled in Stonington, 
Connecticut, where he had a long and honor- 
able career. He was always engaged in civil 
and military affairs, became a captain while 
in Roxbury, beside managing his large estate 
of five hundred acres. His house in Stoning- 
ton was surrounded by a stockade fort against 
the Indians, and he also had a stone fort with- 
in the stockade. He commanded numerous 
expeditions against the Indians and was al- 
ways most successful when commander-in- 
chief. He participated in the famous and de- 


structive Narragansett Swamp fight in De- was born July 18, 1646, in Roxbury, and set- 

cember, 1675. In the following February, tied in Stonington. He married Phebe, daugh- 

1676, a series of forays was commenced ter of Richard Lay, of Saybrook. Children : 

against the Narragansetts, who had identi- Phebe, born 1667; John, 1669; George, 1671, 

fied themselves with Philip. These partisan mentioned below; Robert, 1673; William, 

bands were commanded by Denison and 1675; Daniel, 1680; Samuel, 1683; Ann, 

James Avery, and were composed of volun- 1684; Jacob, 1692. 

teers, regular soldiers, Pequots, Mohicans and (IV) George (2), son of John Denison, 

Niantics. The third of these excursions be- was born in 1671 in Stonington; married, in 

gan in March and ended April 10, 1676, re- 1693, Mary (Wetherell) Henry, widow of 

suited in the capture of the last sachem of the Thomas Henry, and daughter of Daniel and 

Narragansetts, Canonchet, by Denison, and Grace (Brewster) Wetherell (see Brewster 

his men, a little above Pawtucket. The death II). George Denison died in January, 1720, 

of Canonchet is one of the most touching aged sixty-one. His wife Mary died in 171 1. 

tragedies in American history. The follow- Children: Grace, born 1694; Phebe, 1697; 

ing June, Colonel Denison commanded a com- Hannah, 1699; Barodell, 1701 ; Daniel, 1703; 

pany against the Indians in Massachusetts and Wetherell, 1705; Ann, 1707; Sarah, 1709. 

moved as far north as Northampton. After 

a short rest he marched to the northwest of Joseph Driggs, immigrant an- 
Providence, which only three months before DRIGGS cestor, was born in 1686 in 
had been laid in ashes. He then went south England, died November, 1748, 
to Point Judith and along the coast to Ston- at East Haddam, Connecticut. He came to 
ington. In these marches he made a brief America in 1712, and settled first at Saybrook, 
bait on Kingston Hill, to which his soldiers Connecticut; from there he removed to Mid- 
gave the name "Little Rest." He afterwards dletown, and in 1746 to East Haddam. He 
marched into Plymouth colony and then married (first) September 13, 1716, at Mid- 
pushed west to the Housatonic. He and dletown, Mrs. Elizabeth (Martin) Boarne, of 
Avery conducted no less than ten expeditions Middletown, widow of Joseph Boarne. She 
and broke forever the hostile Indians' power, was the daughter of John and Elizabeth Mar- 
In these he bore a conspicuous part and won tin, of Middletown, and was born there Sep- 
for himself undying fame. Numerous tracts tember 24, 1689, died there March 3, 1725- 
of land were given him for his military serv- 26. He married (second) Martha Holland, 
ices, so that at his death he owned several of Middletown. She was living March 2, 
thousand acres in Stonington, Norwich, \Y T ind- 1750, at East Haddam. Children: Joseph, 
ham and the western part of Rhode Island, born July 5, 1717, died in infancy; Joseph, 
From 1661 to 1694 he represented Stonington September 10, 1718, mentioned below; Eliza- 
for fifteen sessions of the general court. He beth December 17, 1719, died January 10. 
married (first) in 1640, Bridget, daughter of 1740, unmarried; Daniel, May 17, 1721, died 
John Thompson, Gentleman, of Preston, January 30, 1798, married Elizabeth Strick- 
Northamptonshire, England. She died in land; John, January 26, 1724-25, probably 
1646, and he married (second) Ann, daughter died young. 

of John Barodell, in whose home in England (II) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) Driggs, 

he was nursed after being wounded in the was born September 10, 1718, at Middletown, 

battle of Naseby. Both he and his wife Ann died there August 23, 1797. He was buried 

were distinguished for magnificent personal in the Farm Hill burying ground. By occu- 

appearance, and for force of mind and char- pation he was a farmer. He married Rachel 

acter. At Stonington she was commonly Johnston, May 22, 1746, at Middletown. She 

called "Lady Ann." She died September 26, was born December 24, 1726, died December 

1 712, aged ninety-seven years. Her hand- 6, 1802, at Middletown. She is also buried 

some slate headstone can still be seen in the in the Farm Hill burying ground. Children : 

Elm Grove cemetery, Stonington. He died Joseph born April 30, 1747, died October 24, 

in Hartford, Connecticut, while there on pub- 1748; Joseph, May 31, 1749, died November 

lie business, October 23, 1694, and was buried 27, 1827, married Chloe Beach; Hannah, 

in the yard of the First Church (Center). June 12, 1752, died October 9, 1754; Israel, 

His granite monument is in the Elm Grove October 10, 1754, died June 20, 1756; Rev. 

cemetery with that of his wife. Children of Israel, April 10, 1757, died August 26, 1821, 

first wife: Sarah, Hannah. Children of sec- married Persis Robards ; Elisha, February 1, 

ond wife: John, mentioned below; Ann, Baro- 1760, died January 28, 1813, married Charity 

dell, George, William, Margaret, Mercy. Dakin ; Samuel, July 21, 1763, died October 

(III ) John, son of Colonel George Denison. 31, 1814, married Sarah Norman; John, 

v . c/ Ay'^ri/ L P<jxf 



April 30, 1767, died November 19, 1826, mar- 
ried Amy Markum ; Benjamin, mentioned be- 

(III) Benjamin, son of Joseph (2) Driggs, 
was born September 27, 1773, at Middletown, 
died of a fever at Jibacoa, province of San- 
tiago de Cuba, on March 12, 1828, and was 
buried there, in the southeast corner of the 
churchyard. He was a shipmaster by occu- 
pation. He married, March 20, 1797, at Lis- 
bon, Portugal. Joanna, daughter of James 
M alone, the English consul at Lisbon. She 
was born in 1780, at Cork, Ireland, died Au- 
gust 26, 1 87 1, at Cheshire, Connecticut. In 
early life Benjamin Driggs was under the care 
of his brother Joseph. He ran away and went 
to sea, and subsequently became captain of a 
ship, about the time Napoleon was at war 
with England. His vessel, bound for Portu- 
gal, was confiscated by the French, and he 
himself was detained in Lisbon for some time. 
It was then that he met his future wife and 
married. He made his home later in Middle- 
town, Connecticut, but subsequently moved 
his family to New York City, where his name 
first appears in the city directory in 1820, and 
continues to appear every year until 1828. 
He owned several vessels and traded exten- 
sively .with Cuba. His name is associated 
with the founding of Jibacoa, and he was the 
principal mover in establishing the first lodge 
of Free and Accepted Masons in that section 
of the country. He was a brave, jovial, open- 
hearted sailor, hospitable to the last degree, 
and of that old type who were too unselfish 
for their own good. Children : Asa Johnston, 
born in 1805, mentioned below; Benjamin; 
Mary Ann, 1810; Frederick Fairchild, March 
20, 1820, died April 24, 1878, married Sarah 

(IV) Dr. Asa Johnston, son of Benjamin 
Driggs, was born 1805, at Middletown, died 
March 16, 1878. at Cheshire, Connecticut, 
where he is buried. At above sixteen years of 
age he became a pupil of the Episcopal Acad- 
emy of Connecticut, of which he was after- 
wards a trustee. He graduated from the 
medical department of Yale College in 1826, 
and commenced the practice of medicine at 
Cheshire. He married, 1829, Sarah Maria, 
daughter of Reuben Ives, then rector of St. 
Peter's Church ; was rector of the church 
thirty-two years in Cheshire, graduate of 
Yale College, 1786. She was born in 1804, 
died October 25, 1829, at Cheshire, where she 
is buried. After her death, Dr. Driggs went 
to Trinidad, Cuba, where he practiced his pro- 
fession, and had charge of several plantations. 
He returned to Cheshire after a few years' 
residence in Cuba, and lived there most of the 

time until his death. He was an able and 
successful practitioner, a man of marked char- 
acteristics, affable in manner, and of a hum- 
orous disposition. Child, Theodore Ives, men- 
tioned below. 

(V) Theodore Ives, son of Dr. Asa John- 
ston Driggs, was born October 25, 1829, in 
Cheshire. He graduated from Trinity Col- 
lege in 1848, at the age of nineteen. That 
same year he removed to Waterbury, as as- 
sistant to Charles Fabrique, then principal of 
the academy. He was prominent in organiz- 
ing the Centre school district of Waterbury, 
and in the establishment of the high school, 
of which he was the assistant principal in 
1851-52. After four years of successful teach- 
ing, he was compelled to give it up, on acount 
of throat trouble, and in 1853 became book- 
keeper for Abbott & Wardwell, button manu- 
facturers. In September, 1855, he took charge 
of the books of the American Pin Company, 
and was responsibly connected with that com- 
pany till his deiith. In 1865 he was made sec- 
retary, and later was elected president. In 
October, 1848, he became the organist of St. 
John's Church, and served continuously un- 
til 1873, when he was compelled by illness to 
retire. He resumed this work in 1876, and 
continued it until the illness which preceded 
his death, June 28, 1893. As an organist he 
showe 1 exceptional ability, and as a choir- 
master his training was most thorough and 
effective. He was one of the founders of the 
Mendelssohn Society, which until 187 1 was 
the principal musical association in this vi- 
cinity. He was elected president of the Har- 
monic Society at its organization in 1889, and 
continued to hold that office until his death. 
He always took an active interest in educa- 
tional matters. Pie was for many years a 
member of the board of education, and as 
chairman and treasurer introduced many im- 
portant reforms. He was the secretary and 
one of the trustees of St. Margaret's School 
from its organization until his death. He 
was a member of the committee appointed in 
1868 by the common council for the formal 
acceptance of the gift of Silas Bronson for a 
public library, and later became a member of 
the board of agents of the library and secre- 
tary. In politics he was a Republican, and at 
different times represented his ward in both 
branches of the common council. In religion 
he was an Episcopalian, a vestryman of St. 
John's Church for many years and agent of 
the parish until April 18, 1892. 

Theodore Ives Driggs married (first) July 
3, 1854, at Waterbury, Connecticut, Sarah 
Ellen, daughter of Thomas Watson and Sarah 
(Osborn) Shepard. She was born December 

i 7 8 


2 1836, at Northampton, Massachusetts, died 
March 20, 1857, at Waterbury, and is buried 
in Riverside cemetery, Waterbury. She had 
one child, Mary Ellen, born December 27, 
1856, died July 23, 1857. Her father, Thomas 
Watson Shepard, was a printer, and the son 
of Thomas and Lydia (Watson) Shepard, of 
Worcester, Massachusetts, and was born Sep- 
tember 26, 1793, at Worcester. He was a 
grandson of Nathaniel Watson, of Cambridge, 
Massachusetts. He married, October 8, 1823, 
at Danbury, Connecticut, Sarah Osborn. She 
was a daughter of Levi and Miriam (Dibble) 
Osborn, and was born August 16, 1800, at 
Danbury. Levi Osborn was a son of Moses 
and Sarah (White) Osborn, of Danbury, 
grandson of David and Rachel (Keeler) Os- 
born, and great-grandson of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Whitney) Keeler. He married (sec- 
ond) April 9, i860, at Waterbury, Margaret 
Sophia, daughter of George and Frances 
Jeanette (Scott) Pritchard, of Waterbury. 
She was born July 1, 1840, at Waterbury, 
died April 8, 1906, at Waterbury. Her fa- 
ther, George Pritchard, was a son of Isaac 
and Lucina (Baldwin) Pritchard, and was 
born May 25, 1816, died July 31, 1877, at 
Richfield Springs, New York. He married, 
February 19, 1838, Frances Jeanette Scott. 
His father, Isaac Pritchard, was a son of 
Isaac and Lois (Bronson) Pritchard, and was 
born July, 1772. He married, February, 1795, 
Lucina, daughter of Major Noah and Eliza- 
beth Ives Baldwin. Lois Bronson was daughter 
of Isaac and Eunice (Richards) Bronson. 
Theodore Ives Driggs died June 28, 1893, at 
Waterbury, and is buried in Riverside ceme- 
tery, Waterbury. Children: 1. George Asa, 
born February 17, 1861, mentioned below. 2. 
Martha Rathbun, December 7, 1863 ; lives 
at Waterbury ; unmarried. 3. Henry Peck, 
December 23, 1873, died July 10, 1907; un- 
married ; graduate of St. Paul's school, Con- 
cord, New Hampshire, 1891 ; Yale, 1895; 
Harvard Law School, 1898; member of the 
firm of Sawyer & Driggs, New York City, 
where he died, is buried in Riverside ceme- 
tery, Waterbury. 4. Helen Ives, February 
22, 1878; lives at Waterbury; unmarried. 

(VI) George Asa, son of Theodore Ives 
Driggs, was born February 17, 1861, at Wa- 
terbury, and is now living there. He is at 
present president and treasurer of the Ameri- 
can Pin Company. He married (first) June 
9, 1883, at Waterbury, Annie, daughter of 
Thomas Campbell and Jennie (Hall) Mor- 
ton, of Waterbury. She was born April 4, 
1866, at Waterbury, died April 4, 1897, at 
Hartford, and is buried at Waterbury. He 
married (second) March 14, 1900, at New 

York City, Anne Buel Heminway. Children : 
1. Morton Campbell, born March 5, 1884, died 
March 3, 1900. 2. Theodore Ives, March 6, 
1885; married, October 12, 1907, Louise 
Green, daughter of Thomas Thacher ; chil- 
dren : i. Louise, October 12, 1908; ii. Eliza- 
beth, October 6, 1909; iii. Sarah McC. Green. 
These children were born in Tenafly, New 

John Wilson, believed to be a 
WILSON grandson of Francis Wilson, 

of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
born 1660, at Woburn, son of John Wilson. 
He was born about 17 10 and settled in Cov- 
entry, Connecticut. Children born at Coven- 
try : Abigail, August 10, 1738; Dorothy, died 
June 2, 1739-40; John, died September 10. 
1740 ; Joseph, mentioned below. 

(II) Lieutenant Joseph, son of John Wil- 
son, was born at Coventry, March 31, 1745, 
died at Tyringham, Massachusetts, August 9, 
1818. He was a soldier in the revolution in 
Captain John Collar's company. Colonel John 
Ashley's regiment of Berkshire county, in 
1779, and in Captain Jeremiah Hickok's com- 
pany, Lieutenant-Colonel Sears' regiment in 
1 78 1. He came from Tolland, Connecticut, 
about 1770. He bought land in Tyringham, 
April 11, 1770, of Theophilus Street, a hun- 
dred acres, lot No. 95 (see Deeds 8, p. 189). 
His wife Betty died August 25, 1812. The 
births of three children are recorded at Tyr- 
ingham, but their names are missing. They 
were: Son, July 24, 1773; child, September, 
1775, and son, June 13, 1781. His sons were 
James, John and Oliver. 

(III) James, son of Lieutenant Joseph Wil- 
son, was probably the son born July 24, 1773, 

at Tyringham. He married Achsah . 

He bought lot No. 90 of Job Jenckes at Tyr- 
ingham in 1795 and other land in that year 
and later. Children, born at Tyringham : Al- 
mira, September 20, 1794; Amanda, July 12, 
1796; Joseph H., mentioned below; Achsah 
"Jr.," July 15, 1799; Annlle (?), April 12, 
1801 ; James, April 5, 1803; Julia (twin), 
March 4, 1805 ; Abigail (twin) ; John, June 
3, 1809; Amarilla, February 28, 181 1. 

(IV) Joseph H., son of James Wilson, was 
recorded as Joseph "Jr." probably to distin- 
guish him from his grandfather. He was 
born July 15, 1799, at Tyringham. He mar- 
ried Sally, born in 1800, daughter of Dr. 
Daniel Herrick, of Preston, Connecticut (see 
Herrick IV). 

(V) Dr. Grove Herrick Wilson, son of 
Joseph H. Wilson, was born in Stockbridge, 
Massachusetts, March 25, 1824. He attended 
the public schools at Tyringham, and Lee 



Academy, Massachusetts, and was fitted 
for the profession of teaching, which he fol- 
lowed for a period in Massachusetts and in 
Delaware. He took up the study of medicine, 
was graduated in 1849 from the Berkshire 
Medical Institute, and located at North 
Adams, Massachusetts. He adopted homoe- 
opathy in his practice two years later at North 
Adams and Conway. In 1857 ne came to 
Meriden, Connecticut, where he continued to 
practice his profession with great success un- 
til the time of his death, January 10, 1902. 
From a village of three thousand people 
Meriden developed into a great manufactur- 
ing city during the years Dr. Wilson lived 
there and he took an active and influential 
part in its development and government. He 
was well known throughout the state and no 
physician in Meriden had so large a practice. 
He contributed frequently to medical publica- 
tions and was recognized as a learned, skill- 
ful and able physician and surgeon and a 
brilliant student and scholar. He published 
a monograph in 1882, proving the epidemic 
nature of intermittent fevers in New England. 
He lectured frequently on natural science and 
incidentally expounded the principles of the 
telephone and phonograph two years prior 
to the production of the instruments by Edi- 
son. He invented the aural masseur, an in- 
strument for treating deafness by vibration in 
the internal ear. 

Notwithstanding the large demands upon 
his time, Dr. Wilson devoted much time and 
energy to tbe public schools of the town, and 
as a result of his efforts the rate bill was 
abolished and the public schools became free 
to every child in the town, in 1863. The suc- 
cess of the plan brought about legislation at 
Hartford that made all the public schools of 
the state free. He was a member of the state 
board of health for many years, and was 
medical examiner of Meriden. In 1880 and 
1882 he represented the town in the general 
assembly and distinguished himself as a legis- 
lator. He was a member of the Meriden 
board of education almost continuously from 
the time of founding the high school to the 
end of his life, and much of the credit for hav- 
ing the high school is due to his initiative. In 
1892 he was elected mayor of the city and his 
administration was in every way creditable to 
himself and to the city. In politics he was a 
Republican. Dr. Wilson was a prominent 
Free Mason, a member of Meridian Lodge, 
of Keystone Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, 
and Hamilton Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters. He was the first commander of St. Elmo 
Commandery, Knights Templar, and he was 
afterward grand commander of the Grand 

Commandery. He took the thirty-second de- 
gree in Lafayette Consistory. He was a 
member of Pyramid Temple Mystic Shrine. 

Dr. Wilson was broad and liberal in his re- 
ligious views, an earnest, consistent, practical 
Christian. He served on the building com- 
mittee of the First Congregational Church of 
Meriden, one of the finest in the state, and 
architects of the structure were materially 
aided by his artistic tase and discriminaion. 
He designed the capitals himself. He was 
highly esteemed in social life. He was a good 
talker, of wide information and keen wit. He 
was kindly and attracted friends in all walks 
of life, giving freely in charity and good 

He married, November 30, 1848, Margaret 
Ann Adams, of Pencader Hundred, Delaware, 
born May 5, 1826. Their only child, Dr. Ed- 
gar A., is mentioned below. 

(VI) Dr. Edgar Adams Wilson, son of Dr. 
Grove Herrick Wilson, was born at Conway, 
Massachusetts, December 4, 1853. He came 
with his parents to Meriden from Conway, 
when he was four years old, and attended the 
public schools, private schools and the Corner 
School. He prepared for college at Phillips 
Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire, and en- 
tered Yale, from which he was graduated with 
the degree of A.B. in the class of 1877. He 
studied his profession in the Medical School 
of the University of Pennsylvania and re- 
ceived the degree of M.D., in 1882. From 
1883 to 1888 he was engaged in general prac- 
tice at Rockville, Connecticut. From 1888 
to 1893 he was associated in practice with his 
father at Meriden. In 1893 he became clin- 
ical assistant surgeon at the Manhattan Eye 
and Ear Hospital, and continued for four 
years. Since then he has made a specialty of 
diseases of the eye and ear with offices in 
Meriden. He was for five years health of- 
ficer of the city of Meriden and since 1893 na? 
been health officer of the town of Meriden. 
Since the organization of the New Haven 
County Public Health Association in Decem- 
ber, 1890, he has been its secretary. He is a 
member of the American Medical Association, 
the Connecticut State Medical Society, the 
Alumni Association of the Manhattan Eye and 
Ear Hospital, the New England Association 
of Alumni of the University of Pennsylvania. 
He is on the staff of the Meriden City Hos- 
pital and the Connecticut Masonic Home at 
Wallingford. He is a member of Meridian 
Lodge, No. yj, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Alfred Hall Council. Royal Arcanum, and 
of the Home Club of Meriden. In politics he 
is a Republican. 

He married, January 23, 1883, Ida May, 



born December 22, 1857, daughter of George 
and Lydia (Redfield) Beach, both natives of 
Branford, Connecticut. Children: 1. George 
Herrick, August 8, 1884; died March 25, 
1 891. 2. Leslie Adams, July 23, 1886, edu- 
cated in the public and high schools, Willis- 
ton Seminary, Easthampton, Massachusetts, 
and the Yale Medical School from which he 
was graduated with the degree of M.D. in 
1910. 3. Grove Herbert, June 17, 1892, died 
September 1, 1892. 

(The Herrick Line). 

The Herrick family in England is descended 
from a Danish chief known as Eric, the For- 
ester. As the line has been traced in England, 
it begins with Eric or Eyryk, of Great Stret- 
ton and of Houghton, Leicester county, and 
continues through Henry (II), son of Eyryk 
(I), John (III), son of Henry (II) ; Robert 

(IV), who married Joanna , and had 

William, mentioned below; John, Robert and 

(V) Sir William Eyryk, Knight, son of 
Robert Eyryk, was commissioned to attend 
the Prince of Wales on his expedition to Gas- 
cony, 1355; he was a distinguished man. 

(VI) Robert Eyricke, son of Sir William 
Eyryk, was of Houghton, about 1400. By 
his wife Agnes he had Robert and Thomas. 

(VII) Thomas Herrick, son of Robert 
Eyricke. was of Houghton, of Leicester coun- 
ty. The first record there is of him is 151 1 ; 
his will is dated August 25, 15 17, and he is 
buried in St. Martin's Church. 

(VIII) John Herrick, son of Thomas Her- 
rick, was born 1513, died April 2, 1589. He 
resided in Leicester. He married Mary Bond 
and they lived together as husband and wife 
for fifty-two years. She died 161 1, aged 
ninety-seven years, leaving one hundred and 
forty-two descendants. A detailed epitaph on 
his gravestone in St. Martin's Church gives 
much information about his family. They had 
five sons and eleven daughters. 

(IX) Sir William (2) Herrick, son of John 
Herrick, was born in 1567, died March 2, 
1652-53, aged ninety-six years. He lived in 
Leicester, London and Beau Manor Park; he 
was a member of parliament, 1601 to 1630; 
he was knighted in 1605. He become a cour- 
tier about 1575, in the court of Queen Eliza- 
beth ; he was an ambassador to the Ottoman 
Porte on an important mission. He carried 
on the business of a goldsmith. His son 
Henry is the ancestor of the American family. 

(I) Henry Herrick, immigrant ancestor, 
fifth son of Sir William (2) Herrick, was 
born at Beau Manor, Leicester county, Eng- 
land, in 1604. He was named by command 

of the unfortunate Prince Henry, the eldest 
son of James I., we are told. He probably 
went first to Virginia and then came north. 
He was among the first settlers of Salem, and 
he and his wife were of the thirty who found- 
ed the First Church of Salem in 1629. He 
was a proprietor of the town in 1635. He 
was admitted a freeman on May 18, 1631. He 
removed to Wenham, and then to Beverly, the 
Cape Ann side of Bass river. He bought 
large tracts of land in Beverly and gave farms 
there to his sons : Zachariah, Ephraim, Jo- 
seph and John, at Brick Plains and Cherry 
Hill. He was called a good and honest dis- 
senter from the doctrines of the Church of 
England; he was a friend of Higgenson, but 
not so bigoted as some of the Puritans, for 
he was fined a few shillings in 1667 with oth- 
ers for "aiding and comforting an excom- 
municated person." He and his wife were 
among the founders of the church at Bev- 
erly. He married Editha, daughter of Hugh 
Laskin. He died in 1671, and the inventory 
of his estate taken March 15, 1670-71, was 
presented by his son Henry. The widow 
Editha deposed November 28, 1672, concern- 
ing some land her father, Hugh Laskin, sold 
"before he went away 25 years ago." She 
gave her age then as about sixty years, indi- 
cating that she was born about 161 2. Chil- 
dren of Henry and Editha Herrick : Thomas ; 
Zacheus, born in Salem, baptized December 
25, 1636; Ephraim, mentioned below; Henry, 
baptized at Salem, January 16, 1640; Joseph, 
baptized August 6, 1645; Elizabeth, baptized 
July 4, 1647; John, baptized May 25, 1650; 
Benjamin, died about 1677. 

(II) Ephraim, son of Henry Herrick, \va'- 
born in Salem, baptized February 11, 1638, 
died September 18, 1693. He settled on a 
farm in Beverly, Massachusetts, given to him 
by his father at Birch Place. He was admit- 
ted a freeman, April 29, 1668. He married, 
July 3, 1661, Mary Cross, of Salem. Chil- 
dren, born at Beverly: John, May 31, 1662; 
Ephraim, August 13, 1664; Mary, June 14, 
1667; Stephen. March 15, 1670; Sarah; Sam- 
uel, June 4, 1675, mentioned below; Timothy, 
January 4, 1681 ; Anna, November 20, 1683. 

(III) Samuel, son of Ephraim Herrick, wa< 
born at Beverly, June 4, 1675. He settled in 
1702, at Preston, Connecticut. He married, in 
1698, Mehitable Woodward. Children: 
Ezekiel, born November 6, 1699; Samuel, 
March 24, 1703; Stephen, February 12, 1705: 
Daniel, mentioned below; Joseph, March 1, 
171 1 ; Keziah, April 30, 1715; Priscilla. mar- 
ried Kinney. 

(IV) Daniel, son of Samuel Herrick, was 
born December 9, 1708, at Preston, Connecti- 



cut. His granddaughter, Sally Herrick, of 
Preston, married Joseph H. Wilson (see Wil- 
son IV). 

John Wilson was born in Eng- 
WTLSON land, was educated and spent 
his boyhood there. He came 
when a young man to Canada, where he fol- 
lowed the trade of carpenter. He was 
drowned in a lake, in 1839, when in the prime 
of life. He married Elizabeth Smith, widow. 
Children : James Alexander, mentioned below ; 
daughter, twin of James Alexander, died 

(II) James Alexander, son of John Wil- 
son, was born September 13, 1835, in New 
York City, died in Bridgeport, 1893, is buried 
at Newtown, Connecticut. His father died 
when he was only four years old. He re- 
ceived his education in the public schools, and 
then taught school until he was twenty years 
old. He then began to study law, first by him- 
self, then in the office of Theodore Kellogg, 
of Cornwall, Connecticut. He was admitted 
to the bar and began to practice at Newtown, 
removing after a time to Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut. He became interested in the manufac- 
ture of rubber goods in Bridgeport and es- 
tablished himself in that business, which his 
widow continues, she being treasurer of the 
company which he organized under the cor- 
porate name of the Housatonic Rubber 
Works, and his son, Justin A. Wilson, is 
president of the concern. His legal training 
and natural business ability contributed to 
make him prominent in the business world. 
He was conscientious and thorough in his 
work, charitable and hospitable by nature, 
giving freely of his means and winning the 
esteem of men in all walks of life. He was 
a soldier in the civil war, enlisting in Com- 
pany I, Fifth Connecticut Regiment, and hav- 
ing the rank of corporal of his company. He 
was taken prisoner by the Confederates and 
confined in Belle Isle military prison and hos- 
pital. He was a prominent member of Elias 
Howe Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of 
Bridgeport. He represented the town of 
Newtown in the general assembly and served 
on important committees. He was a member 
of the Free and Accepted Masons, Royal Arch 
Masons, Royal and Select Masters, Knights 
Templar, and had taken the thirty-second de- 
gree in Scottish Rite Masonry. He was a 
member of Seaside and Algonquin clubs. In 
religion he was a Congregationalist, and in 
politics a Democrat. 

He married Phebe A., November 13, 1867, 
born at Newtown, September 15, 1850, daugh- 
ter of Cyrenius and Christa Ann (Beardsley) 

Curtiss (see Curtiss VII). Children: 1. 
Lynn, born in Stoughton, Wisconsin, June 19, 
1870; married (first) Maud Blakeney; (sec- 
ond) Mrs. Alice Peckham Booth; children of 
first wife : Curtiss and Allen Wilson. 2. Clyde, 
died at nine years of age. 3. Justin A., born 
January 24, 1874; president of the Housa- 
tonic Rubber Company of Bridgeport ; mar- 
ried Lucy McDonald. 4. Lee, born January 
19, 1877; he is a Boston journalist; married 
Edith Hermine, daughter of Leo Lyon. 5. 
Enid Lynette, born November 12, 1884; mar- 
ried Bradford Tilden Seney, of Centerville, 

(The Curtiss Line). 

The ancient English surname Curtis is also 
spelled Curtiss, Curtesse, Curteis and Curtoys. 
Stephen Curtis was of Appeldore, Kent, about 
1450, and several of his descendants were 
mayors of Tenterden, a town where many set- 
tlers in Scituate, Massachusetts, came from. 
The family has also lived from an ancient date 
in county Sussex. The ancient coat-of-arms 
is thus described : Argent, a chevron sable be- 
tween three bulls heads caboched, gules. 
Crest; A unicorn pas, or, between four trees 

(I) William Curtiss' ancestor lived in Eng- 
land and probably died there. His widow 
Elizabeth and sons John and William settled 
in Stratford, Connecticut, in 1639. In the 
Stratford town records she is generally called 
"Widow Curtiss," and first appears in a list 
of property owners about 1650, with her two 
sons. Her lot was near or adjoining that of 
Rev. Adams Blakeman. She died June, 1658, 
and her will was proved November 4, 1658, 
at Fairfield, Connecticut. Children : John, 
born in England, 161 1; William, mentioned 
below ; Thomas, born in England, had a 
daughter Mary, mentioned in his mother's 

(II) William (2), son of William (1) 
Curtiss, was born in England, 1618. He mar- 
ried (first) Mary ; (second) Sarah, 

daughter of Matthew Morris, of Hartford, 
and widow of William Goodrich, of W'ethers- 
field, Connecticut. He came to Stratford with 
his mother and brother John, and his name 
appears among the list of property owners in 
1650. He was an original proprietor and 
was a most prominent man. As early as 1650 
he had attained the rank of sergeant and rep- 
resented Stratford in the general court almost 
continuously from 1667 to 1686. May 9, 
1672, liberty was granted by the general 
court to him and his associates to begin a 
plantation at Pomeraug (Woodbury), and he 
was one of the original grantees. In June, 
1672, he was appointed captain of the train 

1 82 


band of Stratford and at the same time the 
general court declared him the second mili- 
tary officer of Fairfield county. In August, 
1672, he was appointed one of six commis- 
sioners, togther with the governor, deputy- 
governor and assistants, as a war council 
against the Dutch at New York "to act as the 
Grand Committee of the Colony in establish- 
ing and commissionating Military Officers — 
and to manage, order and dispose of the 
Militia of the Colony in the best way and 
manner they can for our defense and safety." 
Tn October, 1675, during King Philip's war, 
he was appointed to command those forces 
raised in Fairfield county, with power to ap- 
point his own inferior officers. In 1676 he 
was a commissioner of both Stratford and 
Woodbury. In May, 1676, he was chosen an 
assistant or member of the governor's council. 
He died in Stratford, December 21, 1702; his 
wife in 1701. His will was entered for pro- 
bate, December 31, 1702, at Fairfield. Chil- 
dren born in Stratford : Sarah, October 10, 
1642; Jonathan, February 14, 1644; Joshua, , 
October 1, 1646; Abigail, April 21, 1650; 
Daniel, November 16, 1652; Elizabeth, Sep- 
tember 13, 1654; Ebenezer, July 6, 1657; 
Zachariah, November 14, 1659; Josiah, men- 
tioned below. 

(III) Josiah, son of William (2) Curtiss, 
was born August 30, 1662, in Stratford. In 
May, 1714, the general court appointed him 
captain of the train band, and in 17 16 he was 
a deputy to the general court. December 29, 
1725, liberty was granted him and John Wil- 
coxson, Jr., to erect a sawmill on the half- 
way river. He died in 1745, his widow in 
1759. His will was probated November 20, 
1745, at Fairfield. He married, July, 1692, 
Abigail, daughter of lieutenant Joseph and 
Sarah Judson, of Stratford. She died in 
1697, and he married (second) Mary, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin and Mary Beach, of Strat- 
ford. Children born in Stratford : William, 
September 22, 1693; Abigail, 1695; Anna, 
1697; Eunice, August I, 1699; Abraham, May 
10, 1701 ; Josiah, January 6, 1702-03; Benja- 
min, December 15 or 25, 1704, mentioned be- 
low; Peter, April 1, 1707; Matthew, Decem- 
ber 16, 1708, died young; Mary, July 25, 
1711; Matthew, December 1, 1712; Charles 
(twin), January 1, 171 5-16; Mehitabel (twin). 

(IV) Benjamin, son of Josiah Curtiss, was 
born December 15 or 25, 1704. He and his 
brothers, Matthew and Josiah, settled in New- 
town about 1728, where he became a promi- 
nent man. He represented his town in the 
general court. He died July 28, 1782, and his 
will was filed August 6, 1782, in Danbury, 
Connecticut. He married (first) Elizabeth, 

daughter of Abel and Comfort Welles Bird- 
sey, of Stratford, August 27, 1726. She died 
February 24, 1773. and he maried (second), 
June 17, 1773, Bathsheba Ford, of Stratford. 
Children, born in Newtown : Nehemiah, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1728; Phebe, October 5, 1729; 
Eunice, January 13, 1731 ; Elizabeth, October 
26, 1733; Salmon, died May 9, 1735; Benja- 
min, mentioned below ; Abel, born February 
7, 1738; Abijah, January 31, 1740; Sarah, 
born March 25, 1744. 

(V) Benjamin (2), son of Benjamin (1) 
Curtiss, was born February 14, 1736, in New- 
town. He was a private during the revolu- 
tion in Captain David Smith's company, April 
21, 1776. He died February 20,. 181 7, in 
Newtown, and his will was filed December 16. 
181 7, in Danbury. He married (first) Novem- 
ber 23, 1758, Phedenia, daughter of Nathan- 
iel Nichols, of Newtown. She died Febru- 
ar y I 5» l 773' aged thirty-five, and he married 
(second) Mary Devine, 1774. She died Au- 
gust 23, 1795, and he married (third). May 6, 
1801, Phebe Toucey. She died in 183 1. Chil- 
dren born in Newtown: Philo, June 27, 1760; 
Elizabeth Birdsey, September 21, 1766; Anna, 
December 20, 1769; Benjamin, February 15. 
1772; Sarah, November 24. 1775; Artemesia, 
May 5, 1778; Aurilla, November 30, 1780; 
Alfred Devine, January 24, 1783, mentioned 
below; Epenetus, October 4, 1786; Phedenia. 
married, November 9, 1791, Daniel Clarke, of 
Southburv, Connecticut. 

( VI) Alfred Devine, son of Benjamin (2) 
Curtiss, was born January 24, 1783, in New- 
town, died September 30, 1850. He married 
Sarah, daughter of Nirom and Sarah Hard, 
of Newtown. She died April 6, 1855, aged 
seventy-five years. Children born in New- 
town: Sophia, September 7, 1802; Nirom 
March 28, 1805; Phebe, May 24. 1807; Mary. 
May 3, 1809; William. September 14, 1811; 
Cyrenius, December 5, 1814; Alfred, June 8, 
1817; Sarah, September 5, 1819; Edwin Au- 
gustus (twin), January 25, 1825, died same 
day; Edward Augustus (twin), died Septem- 
ber 12, 1825. 

(ATI) Cyrenius, son of Alfred Devine Cur- 
tiss, was born December 5, 1814. He married 
Christa Ann, daughter of James Beardsley. 
of Monroe, Connecticut, May 15, 1838. She 
died May 11, 1891, aged seventy-six years. 
He died May 27, 1890, in Bridgeport. Chil- 
dren born in Newtown : Alfred, December 3. 
1839, died January, 1850; William, August 
20, 1842; Joseph, April 5, 1844, died June 14,. 
1910; Sara Matilda, November 7, 1846, died 
aged thirty-seven; Phebe Ann, September 15, 
1850, married James A. Wilson, November 
13, 1867 (see Wilson II) ; Bertha Celia. May 



20, 1853, in Branford, Connecticut; Eva 
Adelaide, May 17, 1856, died aged eleven 

William Hull, born in Somerset- 
HL'LL shire, England, 1574, was one of 

four brothers, of whom three came 
to this country in the first part of the seven- 
teenth century. William graduated from St.' 
Mary's Hall, Oxford, and was instituted 
vicar of Colyton, in Devonshire, in 161 1, un- 
der the patronage of the dean and chapter of 
Exeter, and as the immediate successor of 
Rev. John Eedes, one of the translators of 
the King James' Bible, who had married 
Alice, daughter of Henry Hull, Esquire, of 
Exeter. John Hull was doubtless the John* 
Hull made freeman August 7, 1632, and men- 
tioned in Dorchester, Massachusetts, records. 
Joseph Hull, apparently the youngest brother, 
matriculated at St. Mary's Hall, Oxford, May 
12, 1612, aged seventeen years; took his first 
degree of A. B., November 14, 1614, and was 
instituted rector of Northleigh, diocese of 
Exeter, Devonshire, April 14, 1621. He re- 
signed in 1632, and March 20, 1635, sailed 
from Weymouth with his second wife Agnes, 
seven children, three servants, and a colony 
of over one hundred persons. They arrived in 
Boston Harbor, May 6, and settled at Wessa- 
guscus, which they named Weymouth. Some 
of his descendants settled along the coast of 
Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, 
and New York, and became some of them 
captains of sailing vessels, some eminent mem- 
bers and ministers of the Society of Friends. 
Two or three of his children moved to Maine, 
where he died November 19, 1665. 

(I) George Hull, the immigrant ancestor, 
was the second brother, and was born in 
Crewperne, Somersetshire, England, in 1590. 
He sailed from Plymouth, Devonshire, March 
30, 1629, in the ship "Mary and John," Cap- 
tain Squeb. He settled at Dorchester, where 
he was made a freeman, March 4, 1632, and 
a representative for the town to the first great 
and general court held in the colony, May 14, 
1634. He was also a member of the first 
board of selectmen of Dorchester, and in 1633 
and 1634 was appointed "to fix the rate." He 
appears to have been allotted two acres from 
the "Common," and later the meadow that 
"lyes before his doore — down to the sea, mak- 
ing a sufficient passage that way." In 1636 
he removed to Windsor, Connecticut. He 
was a surveyor by profession, and surveyed 
both Windsor and Wethersfield. He was a 
representative to the general court which met 
at Hartford in 1637 and declared war on the 
Pequot Indians. Some time after 1646 he 

removed to Fairfield, and was again repre- 
sentative to the general court of Connecticut 
for a great many terms. He was a personal 
friend and political adherent of Governor 
Roger Ludlow. He had come from England 
with him in the same ship, moved with him 
to Windsor, and jointly with him obtained 
from the general court of 1638 a monopoly of 
the beaver trade on the Connecticut river. He 
also followed him to Fairfield, and in 1651, 
1653 and 1654 was appointed by the governor 
as associate magistrate for the towns by the 
seaside. His first wife is supposed to have 
been Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Russell. 
The latter made his will January 28, 1640, 
proved October, 1640, and in it names "wife 
Jane, and only child, Elizabeth Hull." She 
died about 1646, and he married, after 1654, 
Sarah, widow of David Phippen, of Boston. 
Another authority gives as his wife, Tham- 
zen, daughter of Robert Mitchell, of Stock- 
land, England. He died 1659, aged about sev- 
enty years. He is described as public-spirited, 
active and intelligent, and as legislator and 
magistrate was instrumental in establishing 
two of the free and enlightened common- 
wealths of New England, Massachusetts and 
Connecticut. Cotton Mather distinguished 
him with a place in his great book, and also 
places his brother Joseph in his First Classis, 
or List of First Good Men. The inventory 
of his estate and that of his widow were pre- 
sented on the same day, August 25, 1659, and 
his will was admitted to probate, October 20, 
1659. Children: 1. Josiah, born in England; 
died November 16, 1675. 2. Cornelius, born 
April 9, 1628, in England, mentioned below. 
3. Elizabeth, married Samuel Gaylord, of 
Simsbury, Connecticut. 4. Martha. 5. Naomi. 
(II) Lieutenant Cornelius Hull, son of 
George Hull, was born April 9, 1628, in Eng- 
land, and came with his parents to Dorchester 
in 1629. He removed with them first to Wind- 
sor and then to Fairfield. He married, No- 
vember 19, 1653, Rebecca, daughter of Rev. 
John Jones and Sarah. She was born, 1633, 
in England. Her father was born in Wales, 
ordained in England, and came to Massa- 
chusetts in 1635, in the ship "Defense." He 
was ordained pastor of the church at Con- 
cord, Massachusetts, April 6, 1637, removed 
with many of his parish to Fairfield in Sep- 
tember, 1644, an( l became pastor of the first 
church in that town. Cornelius was a sur- 
veyor, and a large landholder in Fairfield. 
He was a deputy to the general court for 
eight terms, 1058- 1667. He was made lieu- 
tenant for Fairfield county in May, 1661, also 
lieutenant of the Honorable Major Treat's 
Life Guard, February 25, 1675. This was the 

1 84 


best corps of the Connecticut levies. As re- 
ward for his war services the town of Fairfield 
granted him large and valuable lots of land. 
He died between September 16 and October 
7, 1695. His will was dated September 16, 
and proved October 7, 1695. Children: 1. 
Samuel, married (first) Deborah Beers; (sec- 
ond) Jane (Hubbell) Frost, widow. 2. Cor- 
nelius, mentioned below. 3. Theophilus, mar- 
ried Mary Sanford. 4. Rebecca. 5. Sarah, 
married Robert Silliman, ancestor of Pro- 
fessor Robert Silliman. 6. Martha, married 
Cornelius Seator. 

(Ill) Cornelius (2), son of Cornelius (1) 
Hull, was born about 1655, an< 3 married, 
1684, Sarah Sanford, daughter of Ezekiel and 
Rebecca (Wicba) Sanford. She was born in 
1666. and died in 1753. Both he and his wife 
were admitted to full communion April 20, 
1701, in Fairfield. In 1725 Greenfield Hill 
was made a parish, and his name heads the 
list of members. He was elected constable of 
Fairfield and held the office for four years. 
Hull's Farms, a village in the town of Fair- 
field, was so named because he was the first 
person who had a farm there. He died May 
7, 1740, and was buried in Greenfield Hill, 
where his gravestone may still be seen. His 
will was dated January 21, 1734-5. Children: 
1. George, born in 1686. 2. Sarah, baptized 
August 26, 1694. 3. Rebecca, baptized, August 
26, 1694. 4. Nathaniel, baptized April 7, 1695. 
5. Ebenezer, baptized January 20, 1697-8. 6. 
Elizabeth, baptized October 15, 1699. 7. 
Martha, baptized July 13, 1701. 8. John, born 
about 1703. 9. Eleanor, baptized September 
15,. 1706. 10. Cornelius, born May 14, 1710, 
mentioned below. 

( tV) Cornelius (3), son of Cornelius (2) 
Hull, was born May 14, 1710, and married, 
August 24, 1731, Abigail, daughter of Robert 
and Anna (Bastaid) Rumsey. She was born 
in 1716, and died in 1776. He lived at Hull's 
Farms, and died December 26, 1788. 

(V) Lieutenant Jedediah Hull, son of Cor- 
nelius (3) Hull, was born July 24, 1732; 
died February 14, 1796. He was a soldier in 
the French and Indian war, in the invasion of 
Canada in 1759, Captain David Wooster's 
company. He was also in the revolution, a 
lieutenant in Captain Dimon's company of 
Fairfield, in May, 1775. He married, April 2, 
1760, Mary Chapman, born 1730, died 1774, 
daughter of Rev. Daniel and Grissell (Covel) 
Chapman of Greens Farms. He married 
(second) in 1778, Mary Osbqrne, born 1736, 
died 1796. Children: Denny C. (mentioned 
below), Eunice, Chapman, Molly, Cornelius, 
Jedediah, Henry C. and George. 

(VI) Denny C, son of Lieutenant Jedediah 

Hull, was born January 7, 1762, and died 
March 6, 1828. He settled in Redding, Con- 
necticut, and lived also in Greenfield Hills and 
Danbury, in that state. He married, April 2, 
1786, Mary, daughter of Obadiah and Thank- 
ful (Scudder) Piatt. Children : Mary, Denny, 
mentioned below, Isaac Piatt, and Eunice. 

(YII) Denny, son of Denny C. Hull, was 
born May 15, 1789, and died July 22, 1859. 
He lived at Danbury. He married /\nna, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Katherine 
(Beatys) Selleck. Children: 1. Jarvis Piatt, 
born June, 1809; died 1892. 2. Edward S., 
born January 29, 181 1 ; died January 13, 1880. 
3. Isaac Piatt, born June 4, 1813; died August 
25, 1883. 4. Clarissa Ann, born May 4, 1815; 
died 1875. 5. Natbaniel Selleck, born March 
31, 1817; died June 3, 1888. 6. Mary Jane, 
born 1823; died February 23, 1878. 7. Denny, 
born 1831, died January 5, 1900. 8. Josephine, 
born 1833; died February 13, 1866. 

(YIII) Nathaniel Selleck, son of Denny 
Hull, was born March 31, 1817; died June 3, 
1888. He lived at Danbury, Ridgefield and 
Norwalk, Connecticut. He married, in 1840, 
Angeline Barber, born 1824, died 1886, daugh- 
ter of Azor and Abigail (Stevens) Barber, of 
Danbury, Connecticut. Children: 1. Azor 
Barber, born November 2"], 1842. 2. William 
Francis, born June 13, 185 1. 3. Denny, born 
September 1,1861. 

(IX) Azor Barber, son of Nathaniel S^'- 
leck Hull, was born November 27, 1842. He 
lived at Redding and Danbury, Connecticut. 
He married, June 13, 1866, Mary Elizabeth, 
daughter of John C. and Elizabeth (Bun- 
nell) Collins, of Norwalk, Connecticut. Chil- 
dren: 1. Frederick Collins (mentioned below). 
2. Angeline Elizabeth, born June 8, 1875. 

(X) Frederick Collins, son of Azor Bar- 
ber and Mary Elizabeth (Collins) Hull, was 
born in Ridgefield, Connecticut, August 10, 
1868. In 1880 he moved with bis parents to 
Danbury. He was educated in the public 
schools of Ridgefield and Danbury, and was 
graduated from Ellis Academy of Danbury. 
He came to New Haven in 1889 and engaged 
in manufacturing. In 1897 he went to De- 
troit, Michigan, and engaged in manufactur- 
ing, also banking. In 1904 he returned to 
Connecticut, and since that time has been resi- 
dent manager in New Haven, Connecticut, for 
Bertron, Griscom & Jenks, bankers, of New 
York and Philadelphia. He is a member of 
the Union League Club, the Chamber of 
Commerce, and several organizations whose 
endeavors are for the betterment of New 
Haven's social and business conditions. In 
religion he is a Congregationalist, and in poli- 
tics a Republican. He married, April 15, 



1897, Jennie Maria Hunt, daughter of James 
R. and Maria ( Linsley) Hunt, of New Ha- 
ven, Connecticut. They have no children. 

The chief of this family went 

LAFLIN into Ireland with several Nor- 
man and English families be- 
fore the thirteenth century. By the sameness 
of its heraldic ensigns it is evidently of the 
same origin as the families of Laweleyn, 
Lamelin, Launceleyn, Lancelin, all of county 
Bedford, of Fishburn of Durham, of Lee of 
Fishburn, county Durham ; of Gayer of Fox- 
ley, county Berks ; of Levesholm and of Lea 
of Levesholm, county Chester and of Mordon 
of Pluckley. 

In county Bedford, according to the 
''Doomsday Book," Leofwire, who was pro- 
prietor of the fief of Caddington and Streat- 
ley, witnessed a charter of St. Albans in 1070, 
for Hugh de Beauchamp, ''Victorian History 
of County Bedford," vol. i, p. 198. Passing 
from this beginning we find that : 

Thomas Lavallin, spelled on one of the rec- 
ords Lawelyn, was sheriff of Cork in 1369. 
The next mention made in the line of this 
family in "Cork Historical and Archaeolog- 
ical Society's Journal" is as follows : 

Richard Lavallin, mayor of Cork in 1455, 
whose daughter Mary, according to Burke's 
"Genealogical Dictionary of the Landed Gen- 
try," vol. 1, p. 458, married Edward Galway, 
Esq., of Dunganon, county Cork. "Waters- 
town Castle after 1598 passed to this family 
of Lavallin. It is situated in county Cork, on 
the 'Great Island' of the Blackwater. A 
lawsuit about the property was afterwards 
carried to the House of Lords." Cork His- 
torical and Archaeological Society's Journal, 
Waterstown Castle. 

James Lavallin, his wife Frances, James 
and Philip Lavallin, their children, were the 
appellants, and Christian Gould, executrix of 
Elinor Baggott, widow, the respondent. In 
this case James Lavallin, on behalf of himself 
and family, sought to rid himself of the mone- 
tary claim made on the estate of which he was 
owner by Elinor Baggott, widow of his fa- 
ther's eldest brother, Patrick Lavallin. His 
grandfather, James Lavallin, in his lifetime, 
had held in fee the lands of Waterstown and 
several others in county Cork and had three 
sons, Patrick, Peter and Melchior. He re- 
solved to disinherit his eldest son Patrick, 
who had greatly disobliged him, and did by 
deed of October, 1679, settle and convey to 
Patrick's children, failing which to his other 
heirs. Patrick died without heirs and his 
widow brought suit for her portion. "In 1687 
his brother Melchior was under twenty-one 

years of age. Peter died without heirs. Mel- 
chior had a son James. The property dwin- 
dled away in litigation and the family van- 
ished from the locality." 

James Lavallin, of Waterstown, must have 
had other children because there is a record 
in Burke's "Dictionary of the Landed Gen- 
try," vol. 11, p. 1 133, of Catherine, his daugh- 
ter, marrying, in 1672, Edward Roch, Esq., 
of Trabolgan, and Philip Lavallin had chil- 
dren, because in Burke's same work, vol. i, 
p. 35, is the record of his daughter Jane mar- 
rying Robert Atkins St. Leger, who assumed 
the naive of Atkins by request of his grand- 
father's will (Robert Atkins, of Hatfield, who 
bought the estate of Waterpark and was 
sheriff of Cork in 1722 and mayor of Cork in 
1726), whose heir he was. Again, in Burke, 
same work, vol. ii, p. 1139, there is the rec- 
ord of the marriage of a Miss Lavallin of 
this family to Joseph Rogers, of county Cork, 
about 1750. This James Lavallin, the grand- 
father, was a royalist in the war that the 
Puritan demagogues and republicans waged 
against the King, Charles I. 

James Lavallin was one of the officers who 
served King Charles I, before 1689 in Ire- 
land, and as a punishment for his loyalty and 
devotion to the King, constitution and legiti- 
macy, the usurping Puritan parliament, that 
succeeded in England by murdering the King 
in 1648, and overthrowing the constitution 
and the fundamental laws of the land, confis- 
cated his property with that of other loyal 
participants for King and country. Some of 
this property was in the barony of Fermoy, 
as was also that of his relatives, John and 
Melchior Lavallin ; John owning also in Cork. 

In the acts of settlement and explanation, 
however, of 1661-65 on the overthrow, in its 
turn, of the hateful, tyrannical, corrupt and 
illegitimate parliament by the restoration of 
the monarchy in the person of King Charles 
II, James Lavallin was recompensed by a 
grant of land as compensation for the same 
from the Crown. No doubt in the above rec- 
ords the John and Melchior named therein 
were his brothers. The line then descends 
from him in the following manner : 

(I) James Lavallin married and had chil- . 
dren: I. Patrick, married Elinor Baggott and 
left issue. 2. John. 3. Peter, married and 
left no issue. 4. Melchior, of whom below. 
5. Catherine, eldest daughter, married, in 
1672, Edward Rock, Esq., of Trabogan. 

(II) Melchior, son of James Lavallin, born 
in 1664, married and had issue: James, of 
whom below. 

(III) James (2), son of Melchior Lavallin, 
married Frances and had : ] . James. 

1 86 


2. Philip, whose daughter Jane married Rob- 
ert Atkins St. Leger Atkins. 3. Charles, 
of whom below. 

(IV) Charles, son of James and Frances 
Lavallin, is reputed to have gone to America 
with his relatives, Samuel and Joseph Atkins, 
who, according to Burke's "Dictionary of 
Landed Gentry," went off about this time to 
America, and the Cook Historical and 
Archaeological Society's Journal, in the arti- 
cle on Waterstown Castle, testifies to the dis- 
appearance of the family about this time 
(1740-42) from the community, and here his 
record ends. 

Undoubtedly the son of James Lavallin 
who came to America with the Atkins broth- 
ers was Charles Laflin. He is the only one 
of the name who came to America any time 
hefore the year 1740. Arms. Argent, a fleur- 
de-lys sable. 

(The Family in America). 

Charles Laflin, above-mentioned, settled at 
Oxford, Massachusetts. He came over in 
1740 from Ulster, Ireland, to escape from the 
renewal of parliamentary persecutions, from 
which so many suffered and which has been 
the direct cause of the expatriation of so 
many worthy families not only from Ireland 
but from England and Scotland. He bought 
land in Antego, afterward Southwick, in 1740, 
which he sold to his son Matthew, in 1757, 
for £240. His name is spelled in various ways 
in old deeds, and Laflin, the final spelling, re- 
calls only by sound the original name of La- 
vallin. He died in Oxford, Massachusetts, 
December 28, 1769. His son was: 

( V) Matthew Laflin, of Southwick, born 
June 13, 1735, in Ulster, Ireland, died at 
Southwick, March 15, 1810. He is described 
as an "Irish Protestant." He was lieutenant 
in the militia and selectman from 1776 to 1786. 
He engaged in the manufacture of gun- 
powder. He married, at Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, November 5, 1761, Lucy, daughter 
of Benjamin Loomis. Issue: 1. Lucy, born 
1763, married David Campbell. 2. Matthew. 
of whom below. 3. Charles, born 1767. 4. 
Herman, married Clarissa Rising. 
. (VI) Matthew (2), son of Matthew (1) 
Laflin, born in Southwick, July 2, 1765, died 
there December 2, 1828. He married Lydia, 
daughter of Amos Rising. Issue: 1. Roland. 
2. Luther, of whom below. 3. Winthrop. 4. 
Matthew. 5. Walter. 6. Emeline, married 
Charles Jessup, of Dalton, Massachusetts, and 

has issue. 7. Charlotte, married (first) 

Case; (second) Smith, and had issue 

by both. 8. Electa, married Joseph M. Boies, 
of Saugerties, New York; issue: H. M. : M. 

Laflin ; Mary L., married and lived in Canada; 
Ella L. 

(VII) Luther, son of Matthew (2) and 
Lydia (Rising) Laflin, was born at Southwick, 
Massachusetts, December 27, 1789. He was 
educated in private schools and began his busi- 
ness career as a merchant, conducting a gen- 
eral store at Blandford, Massachusetts. In 
1832 he joined his brother, Matthew Laflin, 
who was a citizen of Southwick, Massachu- 
setts, and built a powder mill at the Pounds 
near that town. This partnership continued 
prosperously, under the firm name of L. & M. 
Laflin, producing from thirty thousand to fifty 
thousand kegs of powder annually and em- 
ploying from twenty to thirty hands. About 
five years after this partnership was formed 
another brother, Winthrop Laflin, built a 
powder mill at Saugerties, on the Cauterskill 
creek, and the firm of L. & M. Laflin became 
half owners thereof. Later Solomon A. Smith, 
of Southwick, Massachusetts, became inter- 
ested in the business, and the firm name was 
changed to Laflin & Smith. Under the shrewd 
business direction of Luther Laflin, who dis- 
played executive abilities of a high order, the 
business rapidly increased. Later another 
partner, Joseph M. Boies, was admitted to the 
firm. In 1849 Matthew Laflin disposed of his 
interest, which was purchased by Sylvester H. 
Laflin, a son of Luther Laflin. In that year 
the firm met with a severe loss, nine of its 
principal buildings in Saugerties being blown 
up, killing eight of the workmen, and involv- 
ing the firm in a heavy financial loss. Mr. 
Laflin and Mr. Smith having acquired a com- 
petence, declined to continue the business by 
rebuilding, and thereupon Joseph M. Boies 
purchased an interest and consolidated to this 
the Saugerties and Cauterskill mills under one 
management. The interest of Luther Laflin 
was assumed by his sons, Fordyce L. and 
Colonel Henry D. Laflin. The business con- 
tinued to increase steadily, but an enormous 
impetus was given thereto by the inauguration 
of the civil war, when large orders were re- 
ceived from the government. The firm ac- 
quired the powder mills at Plattsville, Wis- 
consin, and put them in charge of two 
brothers, Solomon and John Turck, who had 
been in the Laflins' employ since boyhood. 
Additional mills were erected at Scranton and 
Carbondale, Pennsylvania, and two mills at 
Esopus and Newburg, New York, owned by 
Laflin & Rand, were absorbed by the firm, 
which was then incorporated as the Laflin 
Powder Company, with a paid-up capital of 
$3,000,000. Another consolidation took place 
under the name of the Moosic Powder Com- 
pany, of which Henry M. Boies was president . 


In 1867 the firm of Laflin & Rand Powder Previous to the civil war, Colonel Laflin had 

Company was organized by consolidating the become associated with different military or- 

various interests with A. T. Rand, president, ganizations, and at the outbreak of hostilities 

and a capital stock of $1,000,000. In 1871 the he became a member of the celebrated Ells- 

Schaghticoke mills in Rensselaer county, New worth Zouaves, of which Colonel Laflin was 

York, were purchased, and the present capa- second in command. In Saugerties he has 

city of the various mills of the Laflin & Rand been a potent factor in the development and 

Powder Company is four thousand and fifty the upholding of the community. He has held 

kegs per day. Mills were also built in the various positions of honor and trust, being at 

town of Laflin (named after Henry D. Laflin), one time president of the village. He has 

New Jersey. As stated above, Mr. Laflin always taken ah interest in the fire department 

retired from active participation in the busi- of the city, and in earlier years personally 

ness in 1850, spending the remainder of his superintended the fire drill. He was one of 

life in the enjoyment of a well-earned for- the earliest members of the Republican party, 

tune. He was an active member of the Dutch being a strong advocate of the principles of 

Reformed church and contributed largely to Abraham Lincoln, and assisted in firing the 

its support, maintaining missionaries and col- first gun from the top of the Tremont House 

porteurs. in Chicago, in honor of Abraham Lincoln's 

He married. February 20, 1820, Almira, first nomination for the presidency. Colonel 

daughter of Captain George H. Sylvester, Laflin married, September 7, 1853, Josephine 

of Chesterfield, Massachusetts, and died at Banker, of Hyde Park, New York. Issue, 

Saugerties, New York, October 19, 1876. Mrs. one daughter, who died at the age of ten 

Laflin died September 15, 1882. Issue: 1. Syl- years. 

vester H., married Anna Weaver; issue: (VIII) Almira Jane, daughter of Luther 

Addison H., Jennie Weaver, Sylvester H., Jr., and Almira (Sylvester) Laflin, was married 

Anna Bell, Jessie, Nellie. 2. Fordyce Luther, in i860 to Dr. Calvin Edwards Hull. She has 

born March 9, 1824, died April 27, 1887 ; mar- been for many years prominent as a leader of 

ried, September 25, 185 1, Helen Miranda society in Brooklyn, New York. She is also 

Burtt; issue: i. Marietta King, married, Jan- most favorably known for the successful man- 

uary 30, 1878. Charles Davis; issue: Byron agement of large charities. She arranged the 

Laflin Davis, born December 14, 1878 ; John famous charity balls that have been given in 

Winne Davis, died young ; Helen Burtt Davis ; Brooklyn for many years. A lover and a 

Harriet Laflin Davis ; ii. Hattie Elmendorf , student of music, she has been the patroness 

married, December 8, 1894, Harry Cooper of large musical entertainments. She has in- 

Fero ; issue : Mildred Laflin Fero ; iii. Luther, herited many of the qualities that made her 

born February 6, 1859, married, April 25, father successful in business life. She has in- 

1888, Lucy Boise Bigelow ; iv. Helen Eliza- vented several articles that have been of ben- 

beth. 3. Helen M., married, June 16, 1847, e ^ to tne people at large. Among these in- 

Nathan Kellogg: issue: i. Luther Laflin, a ventions may be cited the openings in glass 

member of the New York bar ; ii. Fordyce gas-globes, which have been in constant use 

Laflin ; iii. Susan E., married, June 2, 1886, since the time that she designed them ; no 

Colonel William A. Roessler, a graduate of chandelier now being considered perfect with- 

West Point ; issue : Nathan Kellogg Roessler, out them. She also invented and patented a 

born August 27, 1888, died November 6, 1903 ; ladies' chiffonier and cabinet. Mrs. Hull was 

Jennie Laflin Roessler ; Edward William the prime mover in having ladies remove their 

Roessler, born November 28, 1904 ; iv. Jennie hats at all places of public amusement, per- 

Laflin Hull, died at the age of twenty-four sonally interviewing the New York and 

years. 4. Henry Dwight, of whom below. 5. Brooklyn theater managers, who welcomed the 

Marietta K., died young. 6. Almira J., of proposition and aided in the reform. She was 

whom below. the prime mover in having drafted and intro- 

(VIII) Henry Dwight, son of Luther and duced the law for expectorating on the side- 

Almira (Sylvester) Laflin, was born in Bland- walks in the city of Brooklyn, and this law 

ford, Massachusetts, February 12, 1830. At was later introduced and carried into effect in 

the age of seven years his parents moved to nearly all the large cities in the United 

Saug'erties, New York, where he attended the States. Mrs. Hull has drawn to herself a 


public schools of the village. Later he pur- large circle of intimate friends, who admire 
sued his studies in the Boston Latin School, her for her cheerfulness, her unostentatious 
and at the Plainfield, Massachusetts, Gym- courtesy, her hospitality, and her many ad- 
nasium. He was actively interested in military mirable qualities. Mrs. Hull was deeply inter- 
affairs and in the drilling of military bodies, ested in the Memorial Hospital, and was for 

1 88 


fifteen years its vice-president. She is a mem- 
ber of the executive committee of the Home 
for Consumptives, in which she has endowed 
two beds at a cost of five thousand dollars. 
She is a member of the Guild of Plymouth 
Church, of the Daughters of the Revolution 
and the Colonial Dames. She is very prom- 
inent in literary and musical circles, and is a 
member of the Apollo Club, the Rubenstein 
Club, the Mozart Club, the Chiropean Club, 
the Urban Club, the Smile Club, and the 
Health Protection Club. Dr. Calvin Edwards 
Hull was born in Haddam, Connecticut, Oc- 
tober i, 1813, son of Nathaniel and Sally 
(Tibbals) Hull, both natives of Connecticut. 
His business career was largely devoted to the 
manufacture and sale of patent medicines 
throughout the south. At the time of the war 
he amassed a fortune, but a portion of his 
property was seized by the Confederate gov- 
ernment. He then discontinued business and 
lived a retired life in New York City, but the 
last years of his life were passed at his home 
in Brooklyn. 

In 1864, while she was driving with her 
husband, Mrs. Hull saw a beautiful tract of 
land at Black Rock, Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
which commanded a beautiful view of Long 
Island Sound. Upon her earnest solicitation, 
the ground was purchased and a beautiful 
mansion built thereon in 1865, an ^ here she 
held her wooden wedding. This beautiful 
home is still in the possession of Mrs. Hull, 
and there during each summer she passes her 
time, dispensing generous hospitality to all 
who come within the shadow of her home. 
She is a lover of all that is artistic and beau- 
tiful in art and in nature, and her greenhouse 
at Black Rock daily supplies her city home 
with rare and beautiful flowers. In the beau- 
tiful home at Black Rock, November 13, 1901, 
Dr. Hull passed away in death. He is buried 
in Greenwood cemetery, Brooklyn, and the 
monument that marks his last resting-place 
was erected after a design executed by Mrs. 
Hull. The married life of Dr. and Mrs. Hull 
was ideally beautiful and happy. Dr. and Mrs. 
Hull have no issue. 

William Richardson was 
RICHARDSON born in England in 1540 

and died there in 1581. 

(II) Thomas, son of William Richardson, 
was born in England, and died there in 1643 > 
he married (first) at St. James Church, Lon- 
don, Ann Rice; (second) Elizabeth Clark. 

(III) William (2), son of Thomas and 
Elizabeth (Clark) Richardson, was baptized 
at St. James Church, London, February 3, 
1637, died May 1, 1691. He is buried at St. 

James' Churchyard, Clerkenwel, London. He 
married, in 1680, Elizabeth Goodell. 

(IV) William (3), son of William (2) 
Richardson, was baptized at St. James, June 
16, 1684. He married Anne Reid. 

(V) William (4), son of William (3) 
Richardson, was baptized at St. James, De- 
cember 7, 1712; married, February 2, 1742, 
Prudence Heath, who died July 4, 1775. 

(VI) Thomas (2), son of William (4) 
Richardson, was born in London, England, No- 
vember 3, 1742, died May 11, 1806, at Salis- 
bury, Connecticut. He was educated in Eng- 
land and learned the trade of shoemaker. He 
came to Quebec, Canada, in 1775, and was a 
soldier in the army of General Burgoyne when 
he surrendered at Saratoga. After the war 
he settled at Salisbury, Connecticut, where 
he followed his trade as shoemaker and har- 
ness maker, and lived there the remainder of 
his life. He married, February 14, 1771, at 
Colmonell, Ayrshire, Scotland, Abigail Lloyd, 
born in Colomonell, May 4, 1750, died in Sal- 
isbury, February 7, 1803. She came to Amer- 
ica with her husband and was with him in 
the service in the British army. Children : 
Thomas, born in Colmonell, December 8, 1772, 
died at Woodbridge, Connecticut, September 
29, 1825; William; John, mentioned below; 
Abigail ; Betsey. 

(VII) John, son of Thomas (2) Richard- 
son, was born near Saratoga, New York, May 
8, 1777, died at Sharon, Connecticut, July 2, 
1834. He was an ironworker by trade. He 
lived for many years in Essex county, New 
York, in the town of Willsboro. Later he 
came to Connecticut and lived at Canaan for 
a short time. He received an injury at the 
iron works there that shortened his life. He 
spent his last days at Sharon, Connecticut. 
He married, May 15, 1798, Dorothy, born at 
Norton, Massachusetts, April 5, 1775, died 
in Sharon, Connecticut, January 11, 1859. 
daughter of Nathan, Jr., and Abigail (Shores) 
Cobb. Children : Charlotte, born at Fort 
Anne, Xew York, April 13, 1801, died April 
5, 1876; Henry Earle, born at Fort Anne, 
New York, January 28, 1803, died February 
28, 1869 ; James, born at Fort Anne, Octo- 
ber 28, 1805, died July 13, 1846; Leonard, 
mentioned below ; Lucy D., born at Sharon, 
Connecticut, January 24, 181 3, died August 
10, 1861. 

(VIII) Leonard, son of John Richardson, 
was born at Willsboro, Essex county, New 
York, September 10, 1808, died at Lime Rock, 
Connecticut, January 4, 1864. He came to 
Lime Rock, in the town of Salisbury, when 
about seventeen years old, and engaged in 
business a few years later with his father-in- 




law, Milo Barnum. This business was estab- 
lished in the thirties. An account of this firm 
is to be found in the sketch of the Barnum 
family in this work. Milo Barnum retired 
from the firm in 1852, and Mr. Richardson be- 
came senior partner, the firm name being 
changed to Richardson, Barnum & Company. 
In 1858 the firm bought the Beckley furnace 
at East Canaan, Connecticut, and in 1862 the 
Forbes furnace in the same place. About the 
same time a foundry at No. 64 South Jeffer- 
son street. Chicago, was acquired, and the 
firm name was incorporated as the Barnum 
& Richardson Manufacturing Company, for 
continuing the business there. Leonard Rich- 
ardson was the controlling force in the con- 
cern until his death, in January, 1864. In 
May following the Barnum-Richardson Com- 
pany was organized, the heirs of Mr. Rich- 
ardson retaining their share in the business. 
Since then the works have been enlarged from 
time to time and large holdings in mines and 
furnaces acquired. The third furnace at East 
Canaan was built in 1872, with many improve- 
ments. In 1870 the second foundry was built 
at Lime Rock. A new car-wheel foundry 
was built at Chicago in 1873. The foundry 
at Chicago uses the Salisbury iron and has a 
capacity in two shops of three hundred wheels 
a day. The company also uses the Salisbury 
iron at Lime Rock, the shops having a capac- 
ity of one hundred wheels a day. In 1840 
there were four blast furnaces in operation, 
using an average of 600 bushels of charcoal 
and producing three tons of pig iron a day 
to each furnace. Before the death of W. H. 
Barnum, who was afterward president of 
the corporation, there were used twelve hun- 
dred bushels of charcoal in each of the blast 
furnaces then in operation, each of which pro- 
duced twelve tons of pig iron daily. These 
furnaces are within a radius of eight miles of 
Lime Rock, two at East Canaan, and one at 
Lime Rock, manufacturing Salisbury iron. 
This iron is valuable in manufacturing ord- 
nance and railroad work and for malle- 
able and other manufacturing uses, on ac- 
count of its tensile strength. The company 
has a large export trade, especially with 
South America. 

Mr. Richardson was a Democrat in pol- 
itics and creditably represented his town 
in the general assembly in 1849 an d 1 &6?>- 
In religion he was an Episcopalian. He 
married, April 16, 1832, Lucy Ann, born 
at Sharon. Connecticut, July 18, 1814, died 
at Lime Rock, Connecticut, June 9, 1899, 
daughter of Milo and Laura (Tibbals) Bar- 
num (see Barnum VI). Children: Milo Bar- 
num, mentioned below ; James Leonard, born 

March 21, 1852; Caroline Barnum, April 20, 

(IX) Milo Barnum, son of Leonard Rich- 
ardson, was born at Lime Rock, in the town of 
Salisbury, Connecticut, February 13, 1849. 
He was educated in the public schools of his 
native town, in private schools, and in Ed- 
wards School at Stockbridge, Massachusetts. 
He came into the office of the Barnum-Rich- 
ardson Company when eighteen years old, be- 
ginning as clerk. He was made assistant 
treasurer, and upon the death of Hon. Wil- 
liam H. Barnum, in 1889, was elected presi- 
dent of the corporation, a position he has held 
with conspicuous ability and success since 
that time. He is a director of the National 
Iron Bank of Falls Village, of which, his 
father was president ; also a trustee of the 
Hotchkiss School, of Lakeville ; trustee of the 
Connecticut School for Imbeciles ; director of 
the Caledonia American Insurance Company, 
of New York, etc., etc. He represented the 
town in the general assembly in 1874-75, and 
was state senator from the nineteenth district 
in 1881-82-84. In politics he is a Democrat. 
He was for four years on the staff of Gov- 
ernor Charles R. Ingersoll, with the rank of 
colonel. He is senior warden of Trinity Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church, of Lime Rock. He 
married, May 2^, 1872, Ellen Caroline, born 
September 22, 1848, Falls Village, Canaan, 
daughter of Uriel Holmes and Caroline Eliza 
(Canfield) Miner. She is a descendant of 
Governor Welles on the maternal side, and 
is a member of the Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution and of the Colonial Dames. 
Children: 1. Lucy Caroline, born April 22, 
1874, died July 19, 1903 ; married, November 
14, 1901, Robert Winch Harwood, manufac- 
turer and banker, son of Harrison Harwood, 
of Natick, Massachusetts ; child, Richardson 
Harwood, born July 17, 1903. 2. Jessie, born 
November 28, 1876, died August 11, 1877. 
3. Milo Barnum, Jr., born January 26, 1879; 
educated in the public schools, the Hotchkiss 
School of Lakeville, and Yale University, 
from which he was graduated in the class of 
1902 ; secretary and assistant treasurer of 
the Barnum-Richardson Company ; married, 
December 28, 1909, Edith, born December 13, 
1883, at Brooklyn, New York, daughter of 
Edward Cuyler and Caroline Charlotte (Fay) 
Vanderlip, of Brooklyn, New York. 4. Ed- 
ward Miner, born February 19, 1883 ; edu- 
cated in the public schools, at the Hotchkiss 
School at Lakeville and the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology of Boston, class of 
1907 ; general salesman in the automobile de- 
partment of the American Locomotive Com- 
pany, New York. 



Amos Richardson, im- 
RICHARDSON migrant ancestor, was 

born in England, and 
came before 1640 to Boston, Massachusetts 
Bay Colony. He was a proprietor of Boston 
in 1645, an( -l was administrator of the estate 
of James Smith in 1653. He married (first) 

Sarah ; (second) Mary , who 

was admitted to the Boston church, Decem- 
ber 25, 1647, ar, d died m J 6&3- He removed 
to Stonington, Connecticut, where he was a 
proprietor and ship builder. He was a tailor 
by trade also. His son John was a minister 
at Newbury, Massachusetts, and to him he 
deeded a farm called Quanaduck, October 12, 
1673. He deeded to son Samuel lands at 
Stonington. He was sued by Major Mason 
for calling him a traitor to the colony and 
one hundred pounds in damages awarded. He 
was a man of strong convictions and energy, 
great respectability, enterprise and consider- 
able estate. 

His children, all born in Boston, were: Rev. 
John, December 26, 1647; graduate of Har- 
vard, 1666, minister at Newbury; Mary, mar- 
ried John Godliff; Amos, baptized January 
20, 1650. By second wife : Stephen, men- 
tioned below ; Catherine, January 6, 1655 ; 
Sarah, July 19, 1657 ; Samuel, February 18, 
1659-60; Prudence, January 31, 1661-62. 

( II ) Stephen, son of Amos Richardson, was 
born in Boston, June 14, 1652. He manned 

Lydia . Children, born at Stonington : 

Stephen, baptized June 19, 1681 ; Mary, bap- 
tized June 19, 1681 ; Amos, settled at Cov- 
entry ; Samuel, baptized March 18, 1683 ; Ra- 
chel, baptized March 30, 1686; Lemuel, bap- 
tized August 12, 1688; Prudence; Jemima, 
baptized June 19, 1692. 

(III) Stephen (2), son of Stephen (1) 
Richardson, was born about 1678, baptized at 
Stonington, June 19, 1681. The record of 
children has not been found. 

(IV) David, son or nephew of Stephen (2) 
Richardson, was born in 1728, died at Somers, 
Connecticut, August 5, 181 1, aged eighty- 
three (gravestone in Somers north cemetery ; 
vol. iii, Enfield records, p. 241 1). His wife 
Rachel died January 13, 180.7, m ner seventy- 
ninth year (gravestone at Somers). The 
monument to David and Rachel was erected 
by their grandson, May 20, 1817, according to 
the inscription. 

(V) Stephen (3), son of David Richard- 
son, was born about 1750-60. According to 
the census of 1790 he was the only head of a 
family of this name in Somers, Connecticut, 
and had three sons under sixteen and four fe- 
males in his family. Mrs. Richardson died 
at Somers, October 22, 1784, in her twenty- 

eighth year (gravestone). The family came 
from Willimantic to Somers. 

(VI) Stephen (4), son of Stephen (3) 
Richardson, was born 1790- 1800. He settled 
at Somers. He married Eunice Wright. Both 
died at Somers. Children : William Alanson, 
mentioned below ; infant, died at Somers, No- 
vember 20, 1825 ; A valine, died at Somers, 
January 19, 1832, aged one year, eight months, 
five days ; Sophronia, died 1835 ; Henry, died